Post pics or videos of streets foods from South Asia

Kata kat, Karachi, Lahore

India:

sandwichoftheweek_pavbhaji.jpg

Some yummy looking sweet dish (Delhi)

171257_192210714131407_3932448_o-1.jpg

M%C3%B3n-Daulat-ki-chaat.jpg

Wanted to ask you a question:

Are you someone who has lived in both India and Pakistan?

You seem a perfect mix of Indian and Pakistani. Just feel that way based on your posts.

Jang bhai, I think this thread will be a hit if you change the title to: Whose street food is better, Pakistani or Indian?

Wanted to ask you a question:

Are you someone who has lived in both India and Pakistan?

You seem a perfect mix of Indian and Pakistani. Just feel that way based on your posts.

I have actually lived in neither, only visited Pakistan many times. My family is originally from Karachi, but I was born and raised in Dubai, now living in Canada. In Dubai most Indians and Pakistanis get along very well. I tried most of the indian cuisines in Dubai, which I probably would never get a chance to try If I was living in Pakistan

Jang bhai, I think this thread will be a hit if you change the title to: Whose street food is better, Pakistani or Indian?

Both are good, I have tried both. Both Pakistan and especially India are so diverse when it comes to food

I have actually lived in neither, only visited Pakistan many times. My family is originally from Karachi, but I was born and raised in Dubai, now living in Canada. In Dubai most Indians and Pakistanis get along very well. I tried most of the indian cuisines in Dubai, which I probably would never get a chance to try If I was living in Pakistan

Oh cool. Thanks for your answer.

What are the North Indian street foods? am aware of "Chat" food only. like Vada pao, Pao Bhajji, Paani Poori(Gol Goppae), Kachories etc. any Non-Veg food which is commonly available?

Street food is supposed to be unhygienic. There's no such thing as hygienic street food.

I remember in my childhood there used to be this guy selling naan cholay. I have never tasted cholay as good ever.

The taste is just undescribable.

Anda Shami Burger....

I have tried it many times. It usually costs 40 Rupees and it is delicious. It is unhygienic though.

Yaar those anda shami burgers with paani wali ketchup are amazing

Watery ketchup, watery yoghurt sauce, sliced onions and chopped tomatoes, double shami kebab, and the anda. And toast the end product on the pan with some desi ghee. Bliss!

Great with "fresh" (aka fountain) cola, and spicy "finger chips."

Watery ketchup, watery yoghurt sauce, sliced onions and chopped tomatoes, double shami kebab, and the anda. And toast the end product on the pan with some desi ghee. Bliss!

You just ruined my Roza :))

The anda shami burger is bliss! Someone should open a franchise and market it worldwide :waqar

Womderful! Lovely! :heart:

My favorite street food is the samosa chaat. Easy to do, difficult to get just right. Too many vendors over-complicate it. My favorite was from Corner Chaat House in Wah.

Two samosas, a splash of chanay ka saalan, a splash of dahi, and a sprinkle of pungent chaat masala.

Each ingredient was just right: the samosas were golden, freshly fried, filled with potatoes only, not the potato and pea mix found in the frozen samosas one finds here. The chanay ka saalan was just that: it really could be eaten as a curry by itself. The dahi occupied the sweet spot on that spectrum between liquid and solid. And the masala was not the Shan variety, it had distinct notes of paprika in it.

Pairs well with bottled cola, bought from the cigarette khokha nearby.

Mark my words, when done right, and only then, the humble and unassuming samosa chaat is the uncrowned yet undisputed king of street food.

Alas, at so many other places, the dahi is actually raita, there are chopped veggies, tamarind sauce and whatnot. Simple is best.

Sure it gives you heartburn, but fruit salts and antacids were invented for a reason. I recommend Eno. Orange flavor, not lemon.

Staying with samosas, there's the Rawalpindi classic: Karim's.

They don't bother with chaat. Just the samosas and their secret sauce. Their samosa crust is thick, and is never flaky. It's like eating a savory/spicy pastry.

Here it is. It's an unassuming place in Saddar.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1404702491.728496.jpg

Staying with samosas, there's the Rawalpindi classic: Karim's.

They don't bother with chaat. Just the samosas and their secret sauce. Their samosa crust is thick, and is never flaky. It's like eating a savory/spicy pastry.

Here it is. It's an unassuming place in Saddar.

View attachment 46403

Had that ,,,,was amazing...

Lahori Samose wala near Imam bara / Urdu Bazar - Rawalpindi also had amazing samose when I was a teenager :)

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] Corner Chaat House's chaat is considered a delicacy. Everybody loves it and it's a great addition to one's tea tray. Although I had been having some every alternate day for breakfast prior to Ramadan :)

Karim's samosa quality has fallen, unfortunately. The pastry is the same as ever but the filling has lost flavour over the years. Despite that, it's still miles ahead of the competition. No one makes samosas like Karim.

Had that ,,,,was amazing...

Lahori Samose wala near Imam bara / Urdu Bazar - Rawalpindi also had amazing samose when I was a teenager :)

I've heard of it, never had it. I bought all my (pirated) textbooks from Chik Bazaar ;)

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] Corner Chaat House's chaat is considered a delicacy. Everybody loves it and it's a great addition to one's tea tray. Although I had been having some every alternate day for breakfast prior to Ramadan :)

Karim's samosa quality has fallen, unfortunately. The pastry is the same as ever but the filling has lost flavour over the years. Despite that, it's still miles ahead of the competition. No one makes samosas like Karim.

I'm immensely saddened to hear of Karim's loss of quality. But happy that the Corner Chaat House is still going strong. Are the milkshake shops still there? And the King Burger carts?

Though i like street food in Pakistan......reason for creating such a thread during Ramadan is beyond me...

I'm immensely saddened to hear of Karim's loss of quality. But happy that the Corner Chaat House is still going strong. Are the milkshake shops still there? And the King Burger carts?
Yes it's all there. The King Burger owner is a legend. His business is still going strong.

The shami kabas in the anda burgers are different from regular shamo kababs made at home. I wonder if I can get the recipe from somewhere to try making anda burgers at home :D

Yes, they're more "spreadable" for want of a better term. The shami kebabs that our mommies make are not as spreadable. I think it has to do with the beef to chanay ki daal ratio, but I've had shami kebabs from tea stalls that had too much daal and were hard as rocks. Somewhere between too much meat and too much daal is a happy, spreadable medium.

I think another factor may be the egg wash they dip the kebabs in before frying them. My mother frowns at that practice, because it betrays a lack of skill, using the egg wash to paper over the cracks, so to speak, and to rely on that crutch to stop them from disintegrating. But maybe it locks some moisture in and makes them spreadable. I wouldn't know , since I'm more interested in the eating than the cooking.

Karim's is famous in Delhi (but they don't deal in samosas). When Nawaz Sahab visited Delhi, he asked for directions to Karim's. And Musharraf Ji had also paid a visit to this famous restaurant.

Yes, they're more "spreadable" for want of a better term. The shami kebabs that our mommies make are not as spreadable. I think it has to do with the beef to chanay ki daal ratio, but I've had shami kebabs from tea stalls that had too much daal and were hard as rocks. Somewhere between too much meat and too much daal is a happy, spreadable medium.

I think another factor may be the egg wash they dip the kebabs in before frying them. My mother frowns at that practice, because it betrays a lack of skill, using the egg wash to paper over the cracks, so to speak, and to rely on that crutch to stop them from disintegrating. But maybe it locks some moisture in and makes them spreadable. I wouldn't know , since I'm more interested in the eating than the cooking.

I think you are completely right there, about the daal meat ratio, egg wash etc. They are more spreadable. Now I want one, actually, 2 since its about 3 hours to go till aftari

Chawmin, Egg Rolls and chicken chilly is very famous in our city.
but samosa is the ultimate king of the street food .
and idly and dosa is also very famous.

Karim's is famous in Delhi (but they don't deal in samosas). When Nawaz Sahab visited Delhi, he asked for directions to Karim's. And Musharraf Ji had also paid a visit to this famous restaurant.

That's an imposter. The real Karim's is in Rawalpindi.

Nawaz "Sahab" and Musharraf "Ji"? They don't get that sort of respect in their own country.

There is a Dhaba next to Central Hospital (Now Benazir Bhutto Hosp) , They have the most amazing chai and paratha omlette which they start serving just before fajr time...

Taimoor roll paratha is another famous one or commonly known as TRP...

There is roll paratha guy in Bahria Phase IV, the chicken mayo roll paratha is ufff amazing...

Continental in Gulistan-e-Jauhar has the best chaat, for people from Karachi.

For rolls, Hot n' Spicy used to be the best.

karachi-hot_n_spicy.jpg

Al Bake serves the most famous shawarma rolls in New Delhi , friends colony. Although not street food but it is very cheap.

I prefer kathi rolls when in Del, to shawrmas etc....nothing beats a good kathi roll with pudiney ki chatni!

Seeing as this thread has been bumped, does anyone know if that area in Lahore is still supposedly called Food Street? Do any of the locals actually call it that?

heard a lot about authentic Indian Hyderabadi Biryani but its only available in India?

There is a youtube channel Dil se foodie by Karan Dua. He takes you to small to big street food / fast food restaurant and he is pretty funny too the way he describes things.

a Sample

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_D_Uh1S5EyQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>