Suryakumar Yadav - A name that will live in infamy

I would like to thank SKY for taking a game of cricket - an area where sane people could enjoy a sport they love with a sense of escape - into an indecent battleground of political one-upmanship.

Everybody knew that India and Pakistan had just come out of a mini-war, everyone knew how each side feels about the other but was there a need to bring this Bollywood Tamasha into a cricket field? If he felt so bad, he should have stayed home and boycotted the tournament as a mark of respect.

Not shaking hands, bringing the conflict into a post-game presser - all done to gain some brownie points at home so that people can call him a hero but to what cost?

All that did was bring out the worst in the opposition.

What were the Indians expecting from Pakistan after such unfriendly gestures at the start of the game? Bouquets? Gulab Jamans?

Haris Rauf's antics at the boundary were in poor taste but I can understand how incensed Pakistan players were after India's inability to follow the basics of sportsmanship on the field.

Hope SKY and his friends can laugh themselves to the IPL bank accounts but I for one have lost all respect for this Indian team.

They may have skills but as sportsmen, they belong at the lowest rung of the sporting world.

SKY didn’t say one below the belt thing. He is a Mumbai ka chokra, knows how to touch a nerve without saying anything offensive.

Innocent people from his country died in Pehelgam, he dedicated the win to them.

If some Pak player had dedicated to flood victims of Pakistan, who would care? Even that can be spun as political statement because govt mismanaged etc if you want to.

What exactly are Pakistanis denying? Pehelgam never happened?

Had he explicitly said Pakistani govt sent terrorists etc or something like that you have a point. I would agree with you infact. He never used the word “Pakistan” in both his press conferences.

Pakistani cricketers from what I have seen go below the belt and attack religion etc or get very personal and have a different decorum from what I have seen especially the cricketers who don’t seem to have a lot of education or civic sense.

1. Refuse to shake hands with the opposition
2, Made a political statement

Pak captain could have mentioned, BLA attacks etc but he did not because there is a place and time

If Mumbai ka Chokras do this then they should stay in Mumbai.

SKY didn’t say one below the belt thing. He is a Mumbai ka chokra, knows how to touch a nerve without saying anything offensive.

Innocent people from his country died in Pehelgam, he dedicated the win to them.

If some Pak player had dedicated to flood victims of Pakistan, who would care? Even that can be spun as political statement because govt mismanaged etc if you want to.

What exactly are Pakistanis denying? Pehelgam never happened?

Had he explicitly said Pakistani govt sent terrorists etc or something like that you have a point. I would agree with you infact. He never used the word “Pakistan” in both his press conferences.

Pakistani cricketers from what I have seen go below the belt and attack religion etc or get very personal and have a different decorum from what I have seen especially the cricketers who don’t seem to have a lot of education or civic sense.
It’s not below the belt but was definitely politicised and orchestrated from the Indian side. No two ways about it.

You guys are not understanding, I think the screw is turning against you and now people are seeing you for who you are. War breeds hatred but Indians are becoming a nuisance everywhere. People are realising this even though you guys don’t.

Pakistani fans and players are the last ones to complain about mixing sports with politics, when they are already guilty of it.

During the 90s they started it when they showed a political banner during india vs pakistan match.

Afridi already talked about Kashmir during the toss.

Rizwan dedicated the victory to Gaza people's

Forget about this your interior minister is PCB chairman who is also ACC chairman.

ICC is spineless otherwise like how they banned Lanka board for mixing poltics in cricket they should have banned PCB long ago .

It’s not below the belt but was definitely politicised and orchestrated from the Indian side. No two ways about it.

You guys are not understanding, I think the screw is turning against you and now people are seeing you for who you are. War breeds hatred but Indians are becoming a nuisance everywhere. People are realising this even though you guys don’t.

@Local.Dada please realise this. Give respect to Faheem Ashraf and hate to Suryakumar Yadav.

Sky dedicated the Indian win to Pehalgam terrorist attack was not a political statement.

SRT did same thing after Mumbai 2008 attack when we played a test series vs England just after Two weeks but guess ECB or England player didn't had any problem with that statement.

I would like to thank SKY for taking a game of cricket - an area where sane people could enjoy a sport they love with a sense of escape - into an indecent battleground of political one-upmanship.

Everybody knew that India and Pakistan had just come out of a mini-war, everyone knew how each side feels about the other but was there a need to bring this Bollywood Tamasha into a cricket field? If he felt so bad, he should have stayed home and boycotted the tournament as a mark of respect.

Not shaking hands, bringing the conflict into a post-game presser - all done to gain some brownie points at home so that people can call him a hero but to what cost?

What were the Indians expecting from Pakistan after such unfriendly gestures at the start of the game? Bouquets? Gulab Jamans?

Haris Rauf's antics at the boundary were in poor taste but I can understand how incensed Pakistan players were after India's inability to follow the basics of sportsmanship on the field.

Hope SKY and his friends can laugh themselves to the IPL bank accounts but I for one have lost all respect for this Indian team.

They may have skills but as sportsmen, they belong at the lowest rung of the sporting world.
According to independent Indian journalists (not Godi Media), SKY is following coach Gambhir's instructions.

Although the latter is no longer a BJP politician but he still follows the political party's line.

Surya is no Kohli or Rohit.

Those two guys had class game, super aggressive, but were also classy on the field, blocking all BJP political pressure to bring politics into the game.

I can guarantee 100% if it was Rohit or Kohli the captains, they would not have given up under immense BJP pressure to pull these kind of stunts on the field.

I personally felt that the whole handshake thing was in poor taste. It should have been completely avoided.
You either okay or don't play.

But it’s nonsense that a handshake should define sportsman ship. It’s not in the best of interests of the game but please stop making this into a bug deal. Some off field characters are strong enough to withhold outside pressure while some aren't. But, the players are not selected based on their off-field jazba.

Its sad that SKY was not able to withhold the outside pressure, but there is no point in demonizing him @MenInG

Indian players interacted with Oman and UAE players and it shows that its not a religious thing @followed

Few things I want to add:

1. It was not Surya Kumar Yadav's decision alone to not shake hands and give tribute to Indian army in post match presentation. He was prepped up to do this by Gambhir and BCCI.

2. PCB should have simply complained it to ICC and moved on. It is the actions they took following 14th Sept match which made them a laughing stock - crying about Pycroft, threatening Boycott and then coming to play in last minute, skipping PC and other childish nakhrey's could have been easily avoided.

2. What Haris Rauf was doing yesterday looked foolish as his team lost badly and his gimmick fell flat at his face in the end.

He has behaved quite poorly but it is reflective of the confused BCCI and GOI policy rather than the player himself. They have elevated these set of matches as revenge for their failed security in Pahalgam, and their subsequent failed operation Sindoor. I posted in another thread on Timepass how the Indian government and media combined have fooled their people.

Unfortunately, when you are caught in a bind regarding so-called martyrs, blood, vengeance, boycott, isolation and all these other cliché words, but also can't turn down some TV dollars, then the only recourse is this type of behaviour. How can we blame him?

Put yourself in his shoes, how would you respond when your media hangs you for shaking hands with an official, they made a small thing as if SKY endorsed India being nuked?

1758554443981.png

So I have some sympathy rather than criticising too much. And I guess it shows the hollowness of India, shake the hand of the one who wanted to nuke you, but don't shake the hand of the one you share a cricket field with. Do we expect any logic from this deranged country?

Jay shah has showed the mirror to Pakistan recently.

We will not play untill Match referee removed - Naqvi

Jay shah - he will not removed but will be match referee in Pakistan vs UAE match as well India vs Pakistan match.

:klopp :kp
Don't see it happening. Jay Shah will have to ban himself first before acting on others

Recap. With zero superfluous commentary, letting the actions speak for themselves

1. India play Pakistan in a game, but refuse to shake hands. Something that’s never happened before AFAIK. SKY dedicates his team’s sporting win to the Indian Army and also the victims of a terror attack.

2. For not having their hands shook, PCB sack their own manager and ask the Zimbabwean referee Pyrcroft to apologise. Plus threaten to pull out of the entire tournament.

4. A former Pakistani players (Moyo) calls SKY a pig.

5. Later Moyo claims that a former Indian player (Irfan Pathan) had associated a former Pakistan player (Shahid Afridi) with a dog.

6. Player Rauf makes aeroplane gestures in the next game.

7. Player Faheem posts a meme on the last warlike situation (not sure when he did this)

8. SKY says that the India Pakistan cricket rivalry is now non- existent even as game viewing is still at a high.

Y’all really want to get charged up over the actions of tools, that’s your privilege.

I choose to enjoy the fracas.

I agree with the OP; not a fan of SKY's paindu behaviour at all.

Add to that, he shows off by playing risky shots without even bothering to play himself in. The sooner he's booted from the team, the better.

Gambhir always has an axe to grind, can you imagine his predecessors Rahul Dravid or Ravi Shastri radicalizing young players. They are well-educated and sophisticated enough for not doing that.

KKR team director Joy Bhattacharya gave us a peek into the mindset of Gambhir -

What a toxic loser.
Not a surprise that all these shenanigans are happening under the watch of gambhir

Cricketers are young people who grow up in media glare and are put in public facing roles usually well before they are mature enough to understand responsibility of such a position.

In today's generation with proliferation of social media and all, the glare is even brighter and the cameras follow almost 24x7

I think once they are older in life and have kids of their own who will learn of their parents' public personas from these snippets and statements, then a lot of these players will regret their conduct in last few days.

Rauf behaviour was execrable. SKY's comments on rivalry churlish.
Abhishek's post match comments also could have been avoided. Say what you want to say on field and off the mic and leave those emotions there.

It is only a game that we are playing. Trying to elevate it to a mock war is shameful.

It's disappointing to see cricket being turned into the same cesspool of politics and petty point-scoring that dominates everything else between these two countries. It was only a matter of time I suppose. While I don't think there is any doubt about who opened this door, it's still very unfortunate that we have come to this point. Alot of people watch cricket precisely to escape the kind of nonsense that it is becoming entrenched in now.

If you hate Pakistan so much then just don't play them. Armenia and Azerbaijan don't play each other in football, neither do Russia and Ukraine and a bunch of other countries. But you want to have your cake and eat it too. On one hand you want to continue cashing in on the jingoism and nationalism, but on the other hand you want to literally cash in too and make some money. At the end of the day, it's just the people who are foolish enough to get involved in this and the fighting and abuse, who are being played like a piano. The people on top are right where they need to be, and are laughing themselves to the bank (and the vote bank).

Never thought not shaking hands would create such a fuss. Get over it already.
As far as India is concerned, funny and cringe how obsessed they are with Pakistan.

Was their ever any doubt in the first place..?!??

It’s just pathetic what we are seeing on field and in the pressers.

I think it would be best for cricket fans in both countries that Pak India shouldn’t play each other or as limited number of times as possible until atmosphere between both countries improve

Gambhir always has an axe to grind, can you imagine his predecessors Rahul Dravid or Ravi Shastri radicalizing young players. They are well-educated and sophisticated enough for not doing that.

KKR team director Joy Bhattacharya gave us a peek into the mindset of Gambhir -

What a toxic loser.

Gambhir is a small 5'5'' fella. He should be friendly like Rey Mysterio. Instead, he is always hostile. He should know his limitations. :inti

We have to understand that this is not about Surya or Gambhir.

BCCI and the Indian government have received a lot of criticism from within India for not boycotting matches with Pakistan.

They have been accused, and rightly so, for chasing money and not respecting national interests.

As a result, they have resorted to such dramas to compensate the nation and send a message to the critics that they stand with national interest.

It is laughable because they have already made it clear that money is more important than national interest, and such fake gestures will not appease the critics.

Is it just me or has Pak/Ind made this beloved sport so toxic that I can't follow it anymore without politics being shoved down our throats from both sides. Usually this is how it's going through out Asia cup- one did this, so the other did this and it's justified. So sick and tired of it. If politics is what fans/players want, go do it outside of cricket.

Me personally, I enjoyed watching AFG/SL/BD matches more - no politic involved - only sport drama compared to these two idiotic toxic team. Please do us all a favor and don't participate from next Asia cup. Leave the rest alone from this nonsense. Sure I won't get to cheer for my own team but it's betterment for cricket and sane people who just wants to get lost from real-world problems for 3 hours by watching a match.

Is it just me or has Pak/Ind made this beloved sport so toxic that I can't follow it anymore without politics being shoved down our throats from both sides. Usually this is how it's going through out Asia cup- one did this, so the other did this and it's justified. So sick and tired of it. If politics is what fans/players want, go do it outside of cricket.

Me personally, I enjoyed watching AFG/SL/BD matches more - no politic involved - only sport drama compared to these two idiotic toxic team. Please do us all a favor and don't participate from next Asia cup. Leave the rest alone from this nonsense. Sure I won't get to cheer for my own team but it's betterment for cricket and sane people who just wants to get lost from real-world problems for 3 hours by watching a match.
Respect your opinion but it was started by the Indian Bhakts.

Pakistani team and fans have every right to return the favor with interest. It's good in the long run. There are many reasonable Indians who are scared in their own country. When we confront the Bhakts they also take them to the cleaners for their delusional behavior.

Dear @MenInG bhai,

I found the conduct of our T20 captain during the Asia Cup against the very spirit of sportsmanship. Such casual, disrespectful, and politically tinted behaviour from someone in his position is deeply regrettable. Cricket is not only our biggest sport but also the one most heavily invested in, and with that comes a natural expectation of professionalism and dignity from its players, most importantly from the captain.

One could argue that the deterioration in Pakistani players’ behaviour during the second match on Sunday was a direct outcome of the needless provocation, first by denying handshakes, then by making a political statement in the post match interview.

By allowing himself to be used in BCCI’s face-saving exercise, he stooped low and dragged the game’s reputation down with him. If it were up to me, he’d face at least a three match suspension, and the BCCI would be served a stern warning that any repeat of such conduct by future captains would invite even harsher sanctions not only on the players but the board itself.

I say this as someone who was already a critic of cricket resuming between our two nations just months after the May war. Many soldiers and civilians were martyred, their families still grieving. To stage cricket so soon, without a respectful cooling-off period, was insensitive on both boards’ part. What we are now witnessing is simply the ugly fallout of that shortsightedness.

Sports must rise above animosity. Both nations have a responsibility to create the conditions for peace, from which diplomacy can restart and perhaps one day lead to a permanent resolution. Many have given up hope of that ever happening. I haven’t. With vision, even the impossible becomes possible, if not in our lifetimes, then someday.

Until then, let us carry ourselves with dignity.
Wars are tragic, but if they come, let’s fight bravely if we must.
When they end, let us all act with restraint and maintain respectful silence and distance.
But let’s never stoop to pettiness or hatred.

Great men who truly understand the value of peace never add to chaos. They set an example for others to follow.

It’s a shame and real one at that. Many of us Indians are just not aligned with this arrogant approach of Indian board or cricket team. Unfortunately we live in a world where the loudest get their voices heard but mild mannered ones are getting pushed aside. I would have had no issues if India decided to not play against Pakistan but once u decide to play, u better behave professionally. TBH the whole hatred campaign from both sides seem like a forced one and not natural. I am in Singapore for work, met some doctor from Pakistan at a food court who was also here for some conference. We sat together, had food, criticized our respective countries, shook hands and went our ways. I am not at all saying we need to run a Aman ki Asha campaign but the world is such a place now that acting normal seems like an achievement.

100% agree.

There was never a need to purposely demean the opposition. Firstly they’re just athletes like yourself and if you did decide to play, just win and move on without a fuss.

I would refuse to stoop to this level as an Indian captain no matter who came up to me. Previous Indian captains were very good at maintaining a certain decorum under similar political heat yet that’s gone out the window here.

This childish stuff has Gautam Gambhir written all over it though, he was the same as a young player. Among so many classy Indian legends he constantly indulged in overtly expressive antics.

I just seen antics of a Pakistani player on a video making a horrible gesture towards fans from the boundary.

I am all for maintaining professionalism on both sides.

Respect your opinion but it was started by the Indian Bhakts.

Pakistani team and fans have every right to return the favor with interest. It's good in the long run. There are many reasonable Indians who are scared in their own country. When we confront the Bhakts they also take them to the cleaners for their delusional behavior.
You kind of proved by point lol. ***-for-tat situation.

Outside of Pak/Ind, many lives in harmony, and are friends/married and does not reflect what SKY said. I personally have several friends that have Pak background, BD background, SL, AFG, we don't do these nonsense. When petty politics gets in people's lives this is how it looks like.

You kind of proved by point lol. ***-for-tat situation.

Outside of Pak/Ind, many lives in harmony, and are friends/married and does not reflect what SKY said. I personally have several friends that have Pak background, BD background, SL, AFG, we don't do these nonsense. When petty politics gets in people's lives this is how it looks like.
I have relatives in India. My siblings have Indian spouse. The issue is not all the Indians, only the Bhakts type.
Indian teams have paid me to play for them in Canada. I have driven my Indian friends to the Airport when they got their deportation letter. I have many Indian colleagues who are non-bhakts and are sick and tired of their own compatriots. That's why I am up to par with the Indian political news.

I could be wrong but I am presuming that you have not played high level pressure-cooker organized cricket.
The idea behind fighting fire with fire when it comes to sledging is to take your own self to a position where you have no choice but to give your absolute best. Take yourself to the point of no return, where your performance has to back your words. It works most of the times with people with talent but not all the time.

I have relatives in India. My siblings have Indian spouse. The issue is not all the Indians, only the Bhakts type.
Indian teams have paid me to play for them in Canada. I have driven my Indian friends to the Airport when they got their deportation letter. I have many Indian colleagues who are non-bhakts and are sick and tired of their own compatriots. That's why I am up to par with the Indian political news.

I could be wrong but I am presuming that you have not played high level pressure-cooker organized cricket.
The idea behind fighting fire with fire when it comes to sledging is to take your own self to a position where you have no choice but to give your absolute best. Take yourself to the point of no return, where your performance has to back your words. It works most of the times with people with talent but not all the time.
I play club cricket in Canada (have not since the last 2 years - life got busy). Our team is a mix of all south-asians so I know what you mean. But since you live in Canada, you already saw the influx or Influx of IND/PAK (mostly IND) who are bringing their home politics in Canada and are not intergrating into the society and are very closed minded so I see it on a daily basis - it's tiring.

I have not done my research on SKY but either he’s politically involved currently or expect him to put on a political robe soon. Has the ingredients like gauti, jaddu..

Actually, Jaddu is just a byproduct of his close ones in politics. Before he got married, his father was (and still is) a strong Congress supporter. His wife was a BJP supporter and rode Jaddu’s coattails (using his cricketing popularity) to propel her political career with BJP. Jaddu just supported his wife but is not really involved in any kind of politics. He’s just a sportsman.

Appreciate the context you provided.

Lately SKY ain’t doing well with the bat and lacking sportsmanship too at least with pak team. This Asia cup has been bad pr for him I think.

GOI and in turn BCCI placed a lot of burden on his shoulders.

Apart from being responsible for cricket performances, they made him responsible for the nations image, give political statements and military statements. In his defence, he has done well to juggle all of this and keep his war mongering public at home happy. It is a tough situation for him to be in, so will I tooh and spit on SKY and curse him, I have some sympathy too.

We have to understand that this is not about Surya or Gambhir.

BCCI and the Indian government have received a lot of criticism from within India for not boycotting matches with Pakistan.

They have been accused, and rightly so, for chasing money and not respecting national interests.

As a result, they have resorted to such dramas to compensate the nation and send a message to the critics that they stand with national interest.

It is laughable because they have already made it clear that money is more important than national interest, and such fake gestures will not appease the critics.
Doesnt matter.

Surya is the one doing the actions, so he is reponsible for what he does

GOI and in turn BCCI placed a lot of burden on his shoulders.

Apart from being responsible for cricket performances, they made him responsible for the nations image, give political statements and military statements. In his defence, he has done well to juggle all of this and keep his war mongering public at home happy. It is a tough situation for him to be in, so will I tooh and spit on SKY and curse him, I have some sympathy too.
As they say, don’t shoot the messenger but that’s what we end up doing anyway. If he had thought of it himself, he wouldn’t have shaken hands with Naqvi. Most likely the message got conveyed to him after that. It was not a choice for him.

I completely stay away from politics part. Just talk about cricket and move on.India and Pakistan rarely meet these days. This is the rare occasion they play 3 times

That was a poor move by SKY. I am glad a significant number of Indian posters see it that way.

I think Surya did not know that he is a former Pakistani legendary spinner... Hypocrisy???

As per reports:

India captain Suryakumar Yadav is facing possible disciplinary action after the ICC acknowledged receiving two formal complaints from the PCB regarding his post-match comments on September 14.

Match referee Richie Richardson confirmed via email to the Indian team management that he had reviewed both the presentation ceremony and press conference remarks.

In the email, Richardson stated that Suryakumar’s comments were potentially damaging to the sport’s image and recommended that charges be brought against him for conduct detrimental to the game. Suryakumar now has the option to accept the charge or face a formal ICC hearing.

Who is a legendary spinner according to you from Pakistan????
None! Abdul Qadir whom you try to hype so much averages 49 away from home. That would be akin to a batsman averaging less than 20 away from home.

As for Saqlain Mushtaq, he averages 29.83 in Tests with 208 wickets. Good for you if you consider him a legend. Anil Kumble has 619 Test wickets at an average of 29.65, and yet I won't consider him a legend.

And, Yes, I saw Saqlain's entire career. Fantastic ODI bowler, but that's it.​

None! Abdul Qadir whom you try to hype so much averages 49 away from home. That would be akin to a batsman averaging less than 20 away from home.

As for Saqlain Mushtaq, he averages 29.83 in Tests with 208 wickets. Good for you if you consider him a legend. Anil Kumble has 619 Test wickets at an average of 29.65, and yet I won't consider him a legend.

Well you should read what I said... Pakistani legend spinner... Many consider him one.. Nobody cares about opinions if you like him or not.

But I think you like it when Surya did handshake with a Pakistani yesterday but refused to do it earlier.. Hypocrite.

One thing I've got to give Saqalin thought is that he succeed in Tests in India, which neither Warne or Murali did.

Well you should read what I said... Pakistani legend spinner... Many consider him one.. Nobody cares about opinions if you like him or not.

But I think you like it when Surya did handshake with a Pakistani yesterday but refused to do it earlier.. Hypocrite.
Who? Pakistani fans? Plenty of Indian fans consider Gundappa Vishwanath a legend as well. A fine batsman. Dennis Lillee considers him the best Indian batsman he bowled to.

There's a difference between a good player and a legend.​

Who? Pakistani fans? Plenty of Indian fans consider Gundappa Vishwanath a legend as well. A fine batsman. Dennis Lillee considers him the best Indian batsman he bowled to.

There's a difference between a good player and a legend.​
Consider anyone a legend as you want.. Your personal opinion...

Anyway... thread is about surya and reality is he dida Handshake with a Pakistani.

Consider anyone a legend as you want.. Your personal opinion...

Anyway... thread is about surya and reality is he dida Handshake with a Pakistani.
He will not shake hands with pakistani team as they represent pakistan nation. Simple

He has no issues with general pakistani public. Thats why he did it with mushtaq as well as the Oman guy.
:moyo2

He will not shake hands with pakistani team as they represent pakistan nation. Simple

He has no issues with general pakistani public. Thats why he did it with mushtaq as well as the Oman guy.
:moyo2
General Pakistani public??? Mushtaq is a former cricketer from Pakistan... Oman guys are not even close... LOL

You guys will defend anything.. Carry on

General Pakistani public??? Mushtaq is a former cricketer from Pakistan... Oman guys are not even close... LOL

You guys will defend anything.. Carry on
He will shake hands with you also brother bouncer.
He has no issues with Pakistani publix.

However any institution that represents Pakistan as a nation, then there is a problem

Had Mushtaq been out there representing pakistan as a coach, Surya wouldnt have

Shahid Afridi from 2011 World Cup says hello!!

Recap. With zero superfluous commentary, letting the actions speak for themselves

1. India play Pakistan in a game, but refuse to shake hands. Something that’s never happened before AFAIK. SKY dedicates his team’s sporting win to the Indian Army and also the victims of a terror attack.

2. For not having their hands shook, PCB sack their own manager and ask the Zimbabwean referee Pyrcroft to apologise. Plus threaten to pull out of the entire tournament.

4. A former Pakistani players (Moyo) calls SKY a pig.

5. Later Moyo claims that a former Indian player (Irfan Pathan) had associated a former Pakistan player (Shahid Afridi) with a dog.

6. Player Rauf makes aeroplane gestures in the next game.

7. Player Faheem posts a meme on the last warlike situation (not sure when he did this)

8. SKY says that the India Pakistan cricket rivalry is now non- existent even as game viewing is still at a high.

Y’all really want to get charged up over the actions of tools, that’s your privilege.

I choose to enjoy the fracas.
Yeah the next game needs to descend into an all out brawl