Sushma Swaraj warns Amazon after e-commerce firm sells doormats with Indian flag

Gabbar Singh

Throwing a hissy fit over such a minor issue is embarrassing - as the article says "flags of various countries including the US, Canada and Pakistan are all available as designs on doormats".

Ironically I can see sales of these mats increasing dramatically now given all the free publicity Swaraj has given them.

Sushma Swaraj warns Amazon after e-commerce firm sells doormats with Indian flag

Online retail giant Amazon drew ire from India's Minister for External Affairs, Sushma Swaraj, on Wednesday for selling doormats with the Indian flag printed on them. The matter was brought to Swaraj's attention by a user on Twitter, who asked Swaraj to pursue action against Amazon for listing such a product on its Canada website. @SushmaSwaraj Madam. Amazon Canada must be censured and warned not to sell India flag doormats. Please take action. pic.twitter.com/td4KXlDUQL — Atul Bhobe (@atulbhobe) January 11, 2017 Swaraj, usually known for her calm demeanour, adopted an aggressive posture, and went all out after noticing the tweet. She even warned Amazon Canada that she will see to it that the company's officials aren't granted visas, adding that New Delhi will even rescind visas issued earlier. Swaraj did not stop at that, however, and demanded an unconditional apology from the tech giant, along with an assurance that it will withdraw all products featured on its site that insult the Indian national flag. She also tweeted to the Indian Embassy in Canada, directing them to take the matter up with Amazon officials at the "highest level". Indian High Commission in Canada : This is unacceptable. Please take this up with Amazon at the highest level. https://t.co/L4yI3gLk3h — Sushma Swaraj (@SushmaSwaraj) January 11, 2017 Amazon must tender unconditional apology. They must withdraw all products insulting our national flag immediately. /1 — Sushma Swaraj (@SushmaSwaraj) January 11, 2017 If this is not done forthwith, we will not grant Indian Visa to any Amazon official. We will also rescind the Visas issued earlier. — Sushma Swaraj (@SushmaSwaraj) January 11, 2017 The matter had drawn flak from the Indian community abroad even before it was brought to Swaraj's notice. A petition on change.org, terming the product as a "clear insult to more than 1.25 billion Indians living across the world", is already up with over 2,800 supporters on it at the time of writing this report. The petition claims that a similar product was also available on amazon.com, which was taken down after the outrage started. However, amazon.ca still has the product listed. The manufacturer of the product, XLYL, has several designs available, which are also listed on retailer's site. The ad describes it as "personalized durable machine-washable indoor/outdoor door mat with durable heat-resistant non-woven fabric top, sized in 23.6"(L) x 15.7"(W). Dry wet feet, grab dirt, dust and grime". The comments section under the product, which is priced at 35.99 canadian dollars (CDN), also sees several one star ratings and complaints from angry Indians. "A lot of people have lost their lives fighting for my country's flag. There are other countries flags that are also used as a doormat and I'm surprised to see no one reacting to that. I'm proud Indian and this is an insult to my country and all the soldiers that fight for my country. Please don't be ignorant. Take it down ASAP!", reads one of the comments on the page. Another Amazon user said that all such products featuring national flags of any country should be taken down as they are disrespectful. "Amazon should respect all national flags. National flags are not meant to be under foot or to be put on doormats. Astonishing to see such an approach. I appeal to reject such marketing acts," the comment reads. A simple search on the website reveals that flags of various countries including the US, Canada and Pakistan are all available as designs on doormats.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.fi...l-be-rescinded-3199636.html/amp?client=safari

Fury over India flag doormats for sale on Amazon

India's foreign minister has criticised online retail giant Amazon after its Canadian website was found to be selling doormats featuring the Indian flag.

Sushma Swaraj tweeted that Amazon should issue an "unconditional apology" and withdraw the "insulting" products.

Failing this, she said India would rescind current visas for Amazon officials and not grant any more.
Amazon said it had removed the doormats from its site.

In a series of tweets, Ms Swaraj asked the Indian High Commission in Canada to take up the issue with Amazon after it was brought to her attention by another Twitter user.

"Amazon must tender unconditional apology. They must withdraw all products insulting our national flag immediately," she said.

"If this is not done forthwith, we will not grant Indian visa to any Amazon official. We will also rescind the Visas issued earlier.

The doormats, which were being sold by a third-party and described as "personalised durable machine-washable indoor/outdoor items", were removed from the site on Wednesday.

"The item is no longer available for sale on the site," an Amazon spokeswoman said in an email.
Amazon sells doormats featuring flags of other countries but in India desecration of the flag is punishable with fines and imprisonment.

Last June Amazon found itself in a similar controversy over sales of doormats illustrating Hindu gods.
The row comes as Flipkart, India's biggest online retailer, is involved in a fierce battle with Amazon over market share.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-38591291?ocid=socialflow_twitter

Amazon should immediately withdraw the Indian flag doormat and replace it with doormat having a picture of Sushma ji :yk

I didn't care at first (actually had a laugh), but when I saw the pictures of the mat, it wasn't funny anymore. :AR15firin

Warning about visa :(
Pathetic. ...
Message could have been conveyed differently.

Agree with Sushma's views reg national flag but no need to make a show of it on Twitter. :))

Could have handled it with more class and just said they have contacted Amazon authorities to take this down asap.

Doesn't matter if other nations are ok with their flags being used as doormats. Their flag. Their rules.

This over-enthusiasm to show national pride is what ticks me off. lol.

Sushma ji however has done a lot of good work using her Twitter in the past.

You wouldn't be laughing if it was a Pakistani flag will you ?

I was not laughing at the main issue.

I was countring his argument, "people" and specially big businesses copmanies should know how every country think and treat their flag (in this case). it might be normal for america or uk but its not with desi people.

She should be more concerned about her relationship with mining barons who threw a 500 crore wedding party at the heights of demonetization.

Nationalism has become kind of religion in India these days. It is replacing religious fanaticism.

Whats the point of selling Door Mats with Indian flags or any other country's flag on it? Serves no purpose. The best Sushma should have done is ban the sale of that Door Mat in India.

Are these available on Amazon UK? I'm ordering one if so.....

Pretty sure in future Amazon will be selling pictures of Religious symbols on Door mats. Will be fun to watch Billions of people taking down to streets and protesting.

I don't see any problem with it in secular countries, in Britain the public have long considered freedom of expression to mock religion as an important right. See the film The Life of Brian as a superb example. Only Islamic countries or similar would be outraged by non-issues like this.

Not a fan of overt nationalism, but don't think making floor mats of any national flag is a good idea.

I protest peacefully. It's wrong.

Don't play with any country's national flag like this.

Pakistan should protest aswell.

Amazon has removed Indian One but Pakistan's is still available.

Just goes to show the status India enjoys on the world stage. Just a tweet and an american giant bows before us. India as a nation has well and truly arrived. Proud.

Even though selling a doormat is wrong, she didn't need to throw a hissy fit. I mean, as a minister, doesn't she have more important thing to do.

Couldn't the bureaucrats have handled this?

Yes, because the image of a flag that people may potentially step on is really what's holding the country back.

Amazon US now selling Gandhi Flip-Flops. :afridi

I used to have a flip flop with Che Guara's face in the red background. Pretty awesome ..

But given that Gandhi's face is on the most abuse piece of paper in India - The currency notes .... This is way less demeaning ..