That dreaded call from overseas in the middle of the night

Had always thought about it but when it came it blew me away.

This is not me but millions who live away from home must know and dread

My father passed away in his sleep 2 days ago

May Allah SWT in HIS infinite mercy grant my father the highest rank in Jannah Ameen

May Allah SWT give each of us the opportunity to serve our parents and try and repay the overwhelming debt of unconditional love that they bestowed upon us Ameen

Just wanted to discuss the crazy range of emotions that gothrough are minds when something like this happens

Do share your experience

So sorry to hear this. May Allah grant him Jannah.

I dont live away from home but i have friends and cousins who are always worried about their family members.

RIP. Sorry for your loss. I can feel you even though I don't have family overseas, but phone calls from family members and that too late at night do make me a bit nervous.

Inna lillahi wa inna illahi rajiun

this was always my fear

atleast in Middle east youre only few hrs away and can go every couple of months

I remember when my maternal grandma passed away over a decade ago in Pakistan and my mom got that phone call half away across the world, she was devastated. I think stuff like that causes PTSD, so you feel stressed out whenever you hear a phone ring.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un

Surely we belong to Allah and to Him shall we return

ALLAH apko or apki family ko sabar ata kere or apki waalid ko jannat main aala maqaam ata kere.

Inna Lillah wa Inna Ilayhi Raji'oon.

Sorry to hear about your loss.

I've lost all of my grandparents in this manner and it's simply indescribable. I can only imagine how my parents felt.

May Allah SWT in HIS infinite mercy grant my father the highest rank in Jannah Ameen

May Allah SWT give each of us the opportunity to serve our parents and try and repay the overwhelming debt of unconditional love that they bestowed upon us Ameen

Sorry to hear about your loss bro, my prayers and thoughts with you and your family. I had a phone call from my sister in US a few years ago advising our aunty passed away at 1AM and it was shocking I didnt know how to quite handle it considering I spoke to her 2 days prior. Its a terrible feeling I must say, once you deal with the shock then the depression sets in afterwards

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un

May Allah (SWT) grant your father the highest rank in Jannah.

May Allah (SWT) ease you and your family's grief and grant you all strength and patience in your time of mourning.

Ameen.

Inna lillahi wa inna illahi rajiun.

I'm sure your father was exceptionally proud at your accomplishments. May his soul rest in eternal peace and may Almighty give you the strength to bear this irreplaceable loss. Amen.

Condolences for your loss, MIG.

Having been an expatriate for much of my life, the prospect of the dreaded late night phone call is always, always on the back of the mind. It has happened to me on a few occasions, and deep in my heart of hearts, I know there is more on the way, what with the Pakistani propensity of people passing away suddenly because of heart attacks once they reach a certain age, an age which by Western standards is relatively young. And now that I have many relatives, including parents, in-laws, aunts and uncles at that age, there's that perennial sinking feeling, the foreboding, the sense of impending doom.

It has got so acute that every time the phone buzzes, an entire wave of emotions overwhelm you. And it need not be late at night, it can be at any time of the day. Who is it this time? Please, God Almighty, let it not be someone too close. If it is someone in the inner circle, at least spare my parents, just this once. Is my passport valid? There are going to be flights to book, bags to pack, condolence calls to be made... and then the call, text or email turns out to be totally mundane, and I live on to fight until the next call, text or email...

Such is the curse of the expatriate and the first-generation immigrant. It is traumatic, and going to bed each night is an ordeal, because one dreads that call so much, one ends up dreaming about it every so often, and then the belief system that emphasizes dream interpretations takes over: was it really just a case of me dreaming about what I think about during the day, or was it a premonition, a divine hint of an impending calamity? Aren't we occasionally given glimpses of the future in our dreams? What if this is one of those instances? What do the next few days hold?

Looming above this entire inner dialogue is the sinking feeling that the worst is bound to happen. It may not happen today, but it will eventually. Every son knows, deep down, that he will have to bury his parents one day. The realization dawns on us soon after we mature. However, the expat/immigrant may not be there to sprinkle his fistful of earth onto the grave, to not be there to be in the first row of the funeral prayer, and perhaps that is a prospect worse that we dread more than the actual demise.

May Allah grant your father Jannah and give your family sabar through this tough time.

My condolences to your and your family.

Sorry to hear about your loss MIG. Time is the best healer, stay strong.

Sorry to hear my condolences to you and your family,My maternal grandfather passed away last year and sadly my mother was abroad and couldn't make it,imo that is the worst when not being there.

Life nowadays is so different and everyone in diff parts of the world it surely takes a toll on children and the parents even more.

RIP
Sorry to hear about your loss; and may Allah grant him a place in heaven.

While I was in the USA I received such a call when my uncle passed away. It's really tough when someone close to you leaves this world.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.

So sorry to hear this, Mig. May Allah (SWT) grant your father the highest rank in Jannah. Ameen.

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION]

Inna lillah e Wa inna eleh e rajeoon

May Allah the almighty grant the deceased a high status in paradise and bestow great comfort and forbearance to you and the entire bereaved family. Ameen

May Allah help and bless you to continue all his good deeds. Aameen

Very sorry to hear this MIG. RIP.
[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] - very thought provoking post.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon. May Allah SWT grant your father a place in Janna and sabr to you and your family.

Condolences for your loss, MIG.

Having been an expatriate for much of my life, the prospect of the dreaded late night phone call is always, always on the back of the mind. It has happened to me on a few occasions, and deep in my heart of hearts, I know there is more on the way, what with the Pakistani propensity of people passing away suddenly because of heart attacks once they reach a certain age, an age which by Western standards is relatively young. And now that I have many relatives, including parents, in-laws, aunts and uncles at that age, there's that perennial sinking feeling, the foreboding, the sense of impending doom.

It has got so acute that every time the phone buzzes, an entire wave of emotions overwhelm you. And it need not be late at night, it can be at any time of the day. Who is it this time? Please, God Almighty, let it not be someone too close. If it is someone in the inner circle, at least spare my parents, just this once. Is my passport valid? There are going to be flights to book, bags to pack, condolence calls to be made... and then the call, text or email turns out to be totally mundane, and I live on to fight until the next call, text or email...

Such is the curse of the expatriate and the first-generation immigrant. It is traumatic, and going to bed each night is an ordeal, because one dreads that call so much, one ends up dreaming about it every so often, and then the belief system that emphasizes dream interpretations takes over: was it really just a case of me dreaming about what I think about during the day, or was it a premonition, a divine hint of an impending calamity? Aren't we occasionally given glimpses of the future in our dreams? What if this is one of those instances? What do the next few days hold?

Looming above this entire inner dialogue is the sinking feeling that the worst is bound to happen. It may not happen today, but it will eventually. Every son knows, deep down, that he will have to bury his parents one day. The realization dawns on us soon after we mature. However, the expat/immigrant may not be there to sprinkle his fistful of earth onto the grave, to not be there to be in the first row of the funeral prayer, and perhaps that is a prospect worse that we dread more than the actual demise.

Imaan taza kar diya bhai.

My condolences.May Allah grant your father the highest rank in Jannah and give you and the rest of your family sabr.

So sorry for your loss My mum is seriously ill at the moment and we are praying and hoping we dont get the dreaded call

May allah grant him jannat and give your family sabr

Sorry to hear abt ur loss Miggy.

Allah aap ko sabar de aur aap k walid ko jannat mein aala maqaam atta farmaye. Ameen

So sorry for your loss and your father be granted a place in jannah.

My situation was that I moved to australia and Christmas day 2012 my family were trying to get hold of me all night no luck as I was on a farm with no mobile reception and the internet via wifi only and but I had no range where I slept do come 730 am see messages call call us. My sister was involved in a crash and her 2 boys passed away as well as an aunt. The hardest flight ever 21 hrs with a 20 month old.

So sorry for your loss My mum is seriously ill at the moment and we are praying and hoping we dont get the dreaded call

May allah grant him jannat and give your family sabr

I hope she will be fine in shaa Allah.

Sorry for your loss. I have been in US for so long that I dont think it will affect me that much. I have mentally prepared myself that it will happen one day, I always wonder and plan how my relation with my siblings would change once my parents are no more.

So sorry to hear about you loss MIG bhai

Inna lilahi wa inna illahi raji'oon

Hope Allah grants patience to you and your family during this time of mourning.

To not get that dreaded calls is one of the reasons I'm moving back to Pakistan.

So sorry for your loss. Most people abroad are fearful of going through this but this is life and all that is good must come to an end. I lost my father 10 years ago when I was 15 years old and I was in USA while he was in Pakistan. It was probably the worst time in my life and I still don't like to talk about it with my family or friends because of regret and anger at myself and the entire situation my family was in.

Inna Lillahi wa Inna Ilaihi Raji'un.

May Allah grant your father the highest place in Jannah - Ameen.

Very sorry for your loss, but always remember that even the greatest to exist also experienced this, and we must all go.

Losing family is the biggest fear of my life. Sorry for your loss MIG.

RIP.

This is why I'm adamant that I will work in Pakistan. I dread losing my parents while I'm not by their side. That's when they need you the most, especially if they are bedridden etc.

Inna lilah wa Inna ilahi Rajioun May Allah forgive him and grant him Jannatul Firdous and give sabr to your family Brother.

I avoided the thread as this is a thought that has crossed my mind a lot before and one that always makes me uncomfortable.

Man is most vulnerable in two periods of his life - one when he's a child and the other when he's near the end of his life. During both periods you need some support as those are the times when you need someone's help the most. For most people, the first part is taken care of by their parents who raise and nourish with all the care in the world, but the last part isn't always taken care of for a lot of people. I've personally seen an old age couple living with health problems on their own near my home after their children neglected them. The husband passed away a few months back and the old lady lives alone now.

My biggest fear is not so much about the demise which is an inevitable phenomenon for everyone and you can't cheat nature. Death, like birth is just a part of the life cycle and an uncomfortable harsh reality which we need to accept, however difficult we may find it to. But the thought that I may not be there when they need me the most during their last few years is probably my biggest fear. I understand that the professional commitments and other life situations may not always allow everyone to be with their parents and I dread such a situation happening to me, which thankfully isn't the case now. I hope I don't find myself in such a situation in the future as I'm sure a pang of guilt will always be in the back of my mind even if the situation is due to something beyond my control.

We all lived in the same city, but I was woken up in the middle of the night by the news of my brother's sudden death. Still feels like I haven't really woken up since that night and trapped in an unending nightmare. Every breath is a chore; every day a haze.

I am very sorry for your loss, MenInG. Sincere condolences for you and your family.

Inna Lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji'un

Extremely sorry for your loss.

Both he and the family are in my duas

Many thanks to all for your wishes and duas

When I started the thread i didn't realise how painful it will become to discuss this topic

Sorry to hear this MiG. Condolences to you.

Inna Lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji'un

May Allah grant him Jannatul Firdous and give sabar to your family

We all lived in the same city, but I was woken up in the middle of the night by the news of my brother's sudden death. Still feels like I haven't really woken up since that night and trapped in an unending nightmare. Every breath is a chore; every day a haze.

I am very sorry for your loss, MenInG. Sincere condolences for you and your family.

Really sad to hear about your brother's loss. Has the pain lessened with time?

I have thought about this very scenario every time there is relatively late call from a family member.

Really sad to hear about your brother's loss. Has the pain lessened with time?

It's been a little more than 2 months. So it's still relatively fresh, but life has taken an unexpected turn that cannot be reversed. It permanently changes every detail of your life or whatever that's left of it for all the days to come.

Bro - I can only pray that the Almighty grants you and family solace at a time of such an unfathomable loss

one year's gone by!

Capture.JPG

Time fly really quick i went through same thing just 2 months before your dad.

my dad passed away on 25th oct.
even though he was in manchester and i was in birmingham and the worst thing is i normally visit hime every 2 weeks but at that time i couldnt come for almost 2 mlnths.

Happened to me today. You know at the back of your mind that it may or may not happen but when it does it’s like everything stops. My nana (maternal grandfather for non Urdu/Hindi speakers) passed away today. Usually I heard other people’s accounts of someone very very close passing away, and now it happened to me for the first time. He was like my father, and someone I aspire to be like as a person. A grounded, light hearted person with drive and good values. I hope I can make him proud.

My condolences man.

inna lillahi wa inallah-e-raji'oon

The exact same thing happened to me last July. It's trauma beyond imagination, especially if it's unexpected. But that's life, one has to take these punches and realize that it's all temporary.

My condolences and prayers for everyone on this forum that has lost a parent.

My condolences and prayers. Stay strong.

Sorry to hear. May Allah give him maghfirat

It happened to me,my grandparents died when I was a teenager I was confused and don't how to react at that time but now I regret it.

Also RIP to MIG's father and everyone else who posted in this thread. Inna Lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.

Originally posted on a separate thread, didn't know this thread existed.