The 5th T20I between India and South Africa abandoned due to rain - Series shared 2-2

South Africa's form and fortunes in the five-match series in India have seen a 180 degree turn. That's usually encouraging for touring sides in the subcontinent, but Temba Bavuma & Co. seem to have tread the path in reverse direction. They began by quickly getting on top of two contrasting conditions, taking full advantage of Bavuma's success at the toss. He's won all four of them so far, but when the teams finished up in Rajkot, South Africa were left to rue the lack of what they managed to ace in Delhi and Cuttack - adaptability.

Not adapting to erratic conditions in Rajkot left them with a humbling 87 all out in chase, but they'd tell themselves that they head to the cooler climes of Bangalore with a clean slate. It's the advantage that their bright start to the series has afforded them.

India meanwhile arrive rocking the momentum boat, having turned around a steep deficit through individual brilliance as well as a combined effort. In the context of the series, they'd want to believe they've hit their strides at the perfect time.

Such has been the series that both teams have batted and bowled well on separate occasions. Fittingly, they now square off for the final at a venue that will serve up a true surface and short boundaries to test them on both those facets.

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

5. Report abuse. If you see any post which is inappropriate, report it. Do not respond to it

South Africa played top class cricket in the first two matches especially their batting was pretty good but then they lost the momentum in the next two matches and also dropped few easy catches, I wonder why? :inti

Not watched a single ball of this excuse of cricket. Who has the motivation after IPL?

Any news on the average viewership for this series compared to IPL?

Not watched a single ball of this excuse of cricket. Who has the motivation after IPL?

Any news on the average viewership for this series compared to IPL?

Is that even a question? We know the significance of this series is minute in front of IPL. Had nothing much to do so watched this series.

Hopefully, after IPL, we will soon get to watch the next set of quality cricket when India plays England in the final test. This series only has one positive to look for and that is Hardik Pandya has established himself as the second greatest all rounder to have come from India. :inti

Is that even a question? We know the significance of this series is minute in front of IPL. Had nothing much to do so watched this series.

Hopefully, after IPL, we will soon get to watch the next set of quality cricket when India plays England in the final test. This series only has one positive to look for and that is Hardik Pandya has established himself as the second greatest all rounder to have come from India. :inti

Yeah that is why you were throwing all your toys out of the pram in the first 4 matches of this series. :91:

Pandya's bowling tells a different story though. :inti

Yeah that is why you were throwing all your toys out of the pram in the first 4 matches of this series. :91:

Pandya's bowling tells a different story though. :inti

Stick to the thread rather than trying to attack on me. You assume things a lot and then tell us that we make lot of assumptions. :inti

Pandya has sealed his place as a batsman alone. All he needs to do is to be willing to bowl 2 overs in a match, how he bowls is not very relevant given what he brings in with his batting ability, balance to the team, experience and being a part of the leadership group. He is one of the top three picks as far as Indian T20 team is concerned when he is bowling. :inti

South Africa played top class cricket in the first two matches especially their batting was pretty good but then they lost the momentum in the next two matches and also dropped few easy catches, I wonder why? :inti

Looks like you're disappointed with India's comeback in the series after getting your hopes high up after the first two games. :91:

I wonder why :inti

Stick to the thread rather than trying to attack on me. You assume things a lot and then tell us that we make lot of assumptions. :inti

Pandya has sealed his place as a batsman alone. All he needs to do is to be willing to bowl 2 overs in a match, how he bowls is not very relevant given what he brings in with his batting ability, balance to the team, experience and being a part of the leadership group. He is one of the top three picks as far as Indian T20 team is concerned when he is bowling. :inti

Not assuming anything regarding you. I don't have to. Go back and read all your posts in the match threads regarding Pant and Pandya. The answer lies in those posts.

Pandya bowled in 3 matches out of 4. Got a phainty everytime he bowled. He is a part timer now. He has to bat well to keep his place in the team. Less said about Pant the better. :inti

Not assuming anything regarding you. I don't have to. Go back and read all your posts in the match threads regarding Pant and Pandya. The answer lies in those posts.

Pandya bowled in 3 matches out of 4. Got a phainty everytime he bowled. He is a part timer now. He has to bat well to keep his place in the team. Less said about Pant the better. :inti

Pant is the captain of the team that you are watching the game and rooting for. :inti

Just saw our guys warming up. Must say impressive football and ball juggling on display by pant, Ishan Kishan, yuzi, shreyas and 5th guy who looked like someone from coaching staff :)

Team News: India have overcome theirs, but it's the visitors who are piling up on the injury front. Temba Bavuma's injury means Keshav Maharaj will lead in his absence, with Reeza Hendricks expected to open with Quinton de Kock.

South Africa have won the toss and have opted to field

India (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Tristan Stubbs, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj(c), Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje

If we win this, it will be an amazing come back of our D team against a full strength SA side.

True. Wehre r the younger pacemen - Shivm mavi, Nagarkoti, karthik tyagi, mohsin khan, Rajvardhan hangar, this would have been the series to try them out.
instead we have the same old tried tested and flopped Sir bhuvi 120kmph legend , seems like he knows someone high up in bcci

Raining hard. wont help pitch and defo wont help outfield. Mayble Duckworth lewis will come in place for a reduced shootout. what a pity

Rain has stopped and there is activity in the outfield.

Impossible to defend totals at the Bangalore. SA is so lucky to have fielded first 5 matches in a row.

Play to start at 07:50 PM IST, will be 19 overs per side

Innings break duration: 10 Mins

5 toss losses! Kohli would feel himself luckier after looking at the state of Indian captain in this series with the tosses.

Impossible to defend totals at the Bangalore. SA is so lucky to have fielded first 5 matches in a row.

Not sure about other venues. We should've won batting first at Delhi I thought. But at Chinnaswamy, defending a total is a nightmare.

Just like Dubai in the last World T20

Giving the 1st over to a left arm spinner against a left handed batsman who loves to play left side slogs. And that too after the pitch was under the covers for rain.

Have you EVER seen a poorer captaincy?

Gaikwad's batting reminds me of young Rohit Sharma...lazy elegance

The game will be washed off. In Bangalore, the rain will keep coming although it can stop too at any time but then come again.

Rain has continued to fall and no play is currently possible.

M Chinnaswamy Stadium unveils state-of-the-art drainage system

The Karnataka State Cricket Association added a new innovation to its cricket infrastructure at the M Chinnaswamy stadium with the installation of the SubAir subsurface aeration and vacuum-powered drainage system. The INR 4.25-crore project will make Chinnaswamy the first cricket venue in the world to have a state-of-the-art drainage solution. The technology will help prevent water loggin in the outfield during rain and allows for quick resumption of the match as the system is capable of draining water 36 times faster than normal standards.

"It is a matter of pride that KSCA is showing the world how to make use of technology in cricket infrastructure," said Anil Kumar, MD of Great Sports Infra, the marketing arm of the SubAir, USA. "The SubAir system automatically kicks into action the minute it starts raining, thereby not allowing any build up of water on the out field. Water begins to get sucked out at the rate of over 10,000 litres a minute from the moment it begins to rain. The suction system gets activated through signals from the remote sensors embedded in the field," Anil said.

The other advantage of the technology is that the system can pump in oxygen for aeration of the roots and ensure that the grass stays healthy. It also helps in maintaining a better playing field by preventing turf diseases, algae, excessive thatch and black layer. Additionally, there is an inbuilt sprinkler system for watering.

Another positive is that the technology will help in optimising the use of water needed for the turf. The maintenance of the drainage system will cost KSCA Rs 7 lakh annually. "This technology makes tremendous economic and financial sense and many games will be saved in the future," KSCA spokesperson Vinay Mruthunjaya said.

KSCA vice-president Sanjay Desai said: "Fan experience is our primary objective. There is a risk of losing Rs 80-100 crore when a game gets washed out. We believe we have addressed this challenge."

Among the prominent sports venues to have installed the SubAir technology are Wembley (UK), New York Mets, Seattle Mariners, BMO Field (Canada), Etihad Stadium (Manchester City). The system was used for 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil and would also be used in the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

https://m.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news...dium-unveils-state-of-the-art-drainage-system

The current Ind vs SA match is being delayed by rain at this very moment.

o7e1rd78_m-chinnaswamy_625x300_22_September_19.jpg

IND 28/2 (3.3) - No result

==

The game has been abandoned. Series shared 2-2.

I think 2-2 is a fair result.

India played without their main players. This was their B team pretty much.

India captain Rishabh Pant hailed the fighting spirit of the side after the hosts came back from two games down to take the five-match series against South Africa into the decider, which was washed out here on Sunday. The wicketkeeper-batter said there are a lot of positives to take from the series that ended 2-2. "It might get a little bit frustrating, but there are a lot of positives, especially the way the whole team showed character after the series was 2-0. We are trying to find different ways of winning matches, we are trying to play in a new way.

"Mistakes will happen, but we are going in the right way," Pant said after the fifth and final match was called off due to rain.

"I think this is the first time I've lost this many tosses at the same time, but it's not in my control, so I'm not thinking about it too much," he said when asked about his poor luck in the series, having lost all five tosses.

On his personal form, Pant said: "From a personal point of view I would like to contribute more to making my team win. I can only think about giving my 100 per cent as a player and captain."

India and South Africa shared honours after the last game was called off with only 3.3 overs of play possible.

After being put into bat, a steady downpour delayed the game by 50 minutes. It started raining just when the game was about to start.

The curtailed match did start at 7:50PM but was called off after only 16 minutes of play in which India managed 28 runs for the loss of two wickets.

South Africa skipper Keshav Maharaj, who stood in for injured regular captain Temba Bavuma, said it was disappointing to draw the curtains on such an exciting tour in this fashion.

"Very disappointed we didn't get a full game for the end of an exciting tour. We tried a few combinations. Still a work in progress for Australia. You may still see changes. I am sure the future series against India will be interesting like this one.

"We carried our confidence from past tours and at the same time we didn't want to take anything for granted," he said.

Player of the series Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who finished with six wickets for 85 runs with a best of 4/13, said it's always a proud moment to win the honour in a T20 series.

"When you get Man of the Series, it's always a proud moment, and as a bowler in T20, it's even better. I'm always focused on getting back stronger, whether it's my bowling or my fitness.

NDTV

Bengaluru: The fifth and final T20I game of the five-match series between India and South Africa was supposed to be a cracker at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday. However, the match got abandoned after just 16 minutes of play due to heavy rain. Apart from missing the action, the cricket experts and fans were left frustrated with the poor condition of the stadium as well.

India and South Africa shared the series 2-2 after some remarkable performances across the four enthralling matches. However, it did not stop experts and fans from sharing their frustration about the washed-up fifth and final match.

Former Indian opener and cricket expert Aakash Chopra suggested the Board of Control Cricket in India (BCCI) should use the money to improve the situation of the stadiums in India. He tweeted, “Indian cricket must invest in a couple of stadia with a retractable roof with the quantum of broadcast monies flowing in, it’s imperative to take the weather out of the equation. As much as you can.”

Indian cricket must invest in a couple of stadia with a retractable roof with the quantum of broadcast monies flowing in, it’s imperative to take the weather out of the equation. As much as you can.

Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) June 19, 2022

A lot of cricket fans replied to Chopra’s tweet and stated that a retractable roof is far-fetched when even the stadium’s roof is not in the proper condition.

A fan wrote, “Retractable roof door ki baat hai sir, this is the kind of roof under which we fans were waiting during the rain!! High time [MENTION=14959]bcci[/MENTION] used all the money they have earned to give fans a better experience at the stadiums first.”

Retractable roof door ki baat hai sir, this is the kind of roof under which we fans were waiting during the rain!! ?? High time [MENTION=14959]bcci[/MENTION] used all the money they have earned to give fans a better experience at the stadiums first! pic.twitter.com/QqKk2dhDp1

Another fan suggested that BCCI should do a lot of things to improve the situation. He tweeted, “Good idea. I feel the BCCI need to do 3 things which are 1. As you said retractable roofs. 2. Pay 1st class & test cricketers better who don’t go to the IPL & 3. Allow cricketers with the BCCI to play in all other leagues if they are not clashing with any other game.”

India will now go abroad to play matches against Ireland and England.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...h-t20i-against-south-africa-ind-vs-sa-1027369

I think 2-2 is a fair result.

India played without their main players. This was their B team pretty much.

But alot of Indian supporters don't want kohli or sharma in the team only Bumrah is 100 percent going to start.