The Anti-"Match Thread" Thread | Imaginary vs Nonexistent | Fictitious Stadium | February 30, -2015

I know this. This, and the shahsawar one - thanks to me mom's motivational speeches :)

Girtey hein shehsawaar hee maidan-e-jang mein? That one can be quoted for every single catastrophic failure. Flunked exams? Quote the shehsawaar sher. Crashed the car? Quote again. Tripped down a flight of stairs and fell flat on your face will girls watching and giggling with no empathy whatsoever? Quote again. I know this last one from personal experience. Saad Nasim? Quote several times over.

Also, nice thread :p Give me one more week, then I'll go over this in detail :)

Just as well, because in a week's time, there may be all the more reason for this thread.

Mein urdu ki couplets bhool chuka hoon, bus ek Sindhi poem abhi bhi yaad hai.

Haari pyara jawan saghara
mulk mithe ja jiye jiyara
jog bhali te sajhan jor
khet san ne nibhaij tor
tunjhi mehnet laye rang
dukh viye thiye sukh jo sung

anyone else remember this poem?

Could you translate? It sounds like a poem extolling the hari and his hard work. I'm not sure if the tone is socialistic or patronizingly elitist.

Yeah its a poem extolling the farmer, I don't think I could do a better job of translating it than someone who speaks Urdu as well can.

In the Board exams (9th Grade) for the Sindhi subject, there was always 1 question in the Board paper to write any one Sindhi poem, and Hari was everyone's fav to learn (it was easier than the rest). Didnt even bother to read any other poem in the book.
:yk

Mein urdu ki couplets bhool chuka hoon, bus ek Sindhi poem abhi bhi yaad hai.

Haari pyara jawan saghara
mulk mithe ja jiye jiyara
jog bhali te sajhan jor
khet san ne nibhaij tor
tunjhi mehnet laye rang
dukh viye thiye sukh jo sung

anyone else remember this poem?

I do.

One thing I give credit to Junejo/Zia govt. is to make Sindhi compulsory from 6th grade onwards. I remember for one year or so we even had to learn arabic but I think post Zia that got taken off the syllabus. Not sure if Sindhi as a subject is still compulsory. Its such a sweet and simple language. Loved reading that poem. Thanks for sharing. Munjo e nazm dadho suthi lagi aahe.

I do.

One thing I give credit to Junejo/Zia govt. is to make Sindhi compulsory from 6th grade onwards. I remember for one year or so we even had to learn arabic but I think post Zia that got taken off the syllabus. Not sure if Sindhi as a subject is still compulsory. Its such a sweet and simple language. Loved reading that poem. Thanks for sharing. Munjo e nazm dadho suthi lagi aahe.

My parents had to get a special Sindhi tutor for me. I'm glad I never had to learn Arabic. :P

Did you do all your schooling in Karachi, which school did you study at?

My parents had to get a special Sindhi tutor for me. I'm glad I never had to learn Arabic. :P

Did you do all your schooling in Karachi, which school did you study at?

Yes, born and bred, pakka Karachiite.

I was at St.Pauls....right next to St.Josephs ;-) Did my 1st to 10th grade there in the non-uber metric section. The grammar section at our school never got to deal with Sindhi or Arabic. We beat them in cricket so it was all worth it.

We also had a Urdu medium school right across from the main ground...the peeli shalwar kameez type. In the 80's there was a flamboyant opener of makrani decent called Qasim Umar in the national side. He was kicked out by IK for some reason. He studied at the Urdu medium St.Paul's school.

I went to St. Pats, same neighborhood as your school!
St. Pauls was the lesser known, perhaps rough. :afridi2 Why St. Pauls?

We also had a Urdu medium school right across from the main ground...the peeli shalwar kameez type. In the 80's there was a flamboyant opener of makrani decent called Qasim Umar in the national side. He was kicked out by IK for some reason. He studied at the Urdu medium St.Paul's school.

The legend is that once upon a time the Urdu medium and English medium school teams had a cricket match. Qasim Umar was in the Urdu medium side but after the thrashing he gave to the English medium side, he was offered scholarship in the English medium school.

I went to St. Pats, same neighborhood as your school!
St. Pauls was the lesser known, perhaps rough. :afridi2 Why St. Pauls?

Yes, we were the sautela son of St.Pats...playing second fiddle. My parents put me there since my Mamoos went there and my Naana knew the principle.

Yeah, I guess that is how it works. My family went to either St. Pats or BVS, and my parents chose St. Pats for me.

I had a pretty good time at St. Pats, I thought it was a really good school. I dont know how it ranks today, with so many new schools popping up in the last decade.

Where did St. Paul have their Boards? Mine were held at Habib Public.

St. Pats is the one Nadeem Farooq Paracha went to, right?

Isn't St. Joseph's a girls' school? "Miss Josephian" was once a famous stereotype for a snobbish yet pretty upper middle class lass.

St. Pats is St Patricks? I went to St Pats too. Can't say that it was a good school...it was all boys, and we had to scout the junior section for good looking teachers (who were anglo indians).

I had it best then: I studied in a convent. A "convent" isn't actually a convent and not all the teachers were nuns. But their primary section was open to boys too. I was one of those boys.

For kicks, I tell people here in the US I attended a convent and they look long and hard at me. Then I tell them it's a Muslim thing, and that they couldn't possibly understand.

St. Pats is St Patricks? I went to St Pats too. Can't say that it was a good school...it was all boys, and we had to scout the junior section for good looking teachers (who were anglo indians).

The one in Karachi is an all boys school for the most part, but there was a co-ed section on the same campus, AND there were girls in the Cambridge section - again on the same campus. :afridi

We had Loreto Convent next to our school. Our school was basically a dumping ground for whatever the Loreto Girls would make in their home science class. Guys would pay to buy those ugly sweaters made by Loreto Convent girls. I was poor and could not afford to buy, but I would just borrow it for a moment to get a sniff.

Yeah, I guess that is how it works. My family went to either St. Pats or BVS, and my parents chose St. Pats for me.

I had a pretty good time at St. Pats, I thought it was a really good school. I dont know how it ranks today, with so many new schools popping up in the last decade.

Where did St. Paul have their Boards? Mine were held at Habib Public.

I had a lot of friends in St.Pats. Cool kids. I could relate to them much better than kids from St.Michaels or St.Peters. Though, one time we went to a science fair at St.Michaels and my jaw dropped after seeing the beauties over there. We were all boys school so you can imagine the lust factor was super high.

Our boards were at Beaconhouse near Shahrah-e-Faisal. We never went to Habib Public, thought I heard they were a solid school with a very good hockey team.

See, this talk of schools makes me feel so mad. I wished my parents would have put in a little more attention towards my education rather than putting emphasis of convenience. Even putting me in Grammar section at St.Pauls would have been better. I would have loved to go to St.Pats or Karachi Grammar for that matter. Though I despise Grammarians, but its more like despising people from Ivy leagues. You know you want to be like them but are too jealous to admit.

St.Josephs is a school and a college. Have done enough taaro maaro there to know everything about it. ;-)

Thought so. We have family friends who attended it and I was quite sure it was during their school years.

I had it best then: I studied in a convent. A "convent" isn't actually a convent and not all the teachers were nuns. But their primary section was open to boys too. I was one of those boys.

For kicks, I tell people here in the US I attended a convent and they look long and hard at me. Then I tell them it's a Muslim thing, and that they couldn't possibly understand.

We were technically a convent too, like other St. schools. We had more nuns as teachers from 1st to 5th grade. After that our teachers mostly consisted of bald horny Uncles and old decrepit Parsi aunties.

Thought so. We have family friends who attended it and I was quite sure it was during their school years.

My significant other also went there ;-)

Its a great school, probably the best girls school in Karachi.

I had a lot of friends in St.Pats. Cool kids. I could relate to them much better than kids from St.Michaels or St.Peters. Though, one time we went to a science fair at St.Michaels and my jaw dropped after seeing the beauties over there. We were all boys school so you can imagine the lust factor was super high.

Our boards were at Beaconhouse near Shahrah-e-Faisal. We never went to Habib Public, thought I heard they were a solid school with a very good hockey team.

See, this talk of schools makes me feel so mad. I wished my parents would have put in a little more attention towards my education rather than putting emphasis of convenience. Even putting me in Grammar section at St.Pauls would have been better. I would have loved to go to St.Pats or Karachi Grammar for that matter. Though I despise Grammarians, but its more like despising people from Ivy leagues. You know you want to be like them but are too jealous to admit.

The only 'Saintly' schools for boys that I thought were good in Karachi were St. Pats and St. Michaels, with St. Michaels having the edge. The only times the Bishop from St. Michael school would show up at our school assembly was on special occasions like Independence Day event etc.
Reading through your deeply intellectual posts I would have thought you went to one of the elite schools. :najam

We were technically a convent too, like other St. schools. We had more nuns as teachers from 1st to 5th grade. After that our teachers mostly consisted of bald horny Uncles and old decrepit Parsi aunties.

The late lamented Khalid Hasan relates a story about his early education. The principal, he writes, was one Father Scott. An old, kindly cleric. The vice principal was Colonel Tressler, who may be the same Col. Tressler, a strict disciplinarian who was a federal minister during the Musharraf era, or possibly the minister's father.

Col. Tressler's pet phrase was, "you may go Scott free in this school, but by God, you won't go Tressler free."

I'm a sucker for a good play on words. I wonder if they had some sort of joke on the phrase Great Scott.

We had Loreto Convent next to our school. Our school was basically a dumping ground for whatever the Loreto Girls would make in their home science class. Guys would pay to buy those ugly sweaters made by Loreto Convent girls. I was poor and could not afford to buy, but I would just borrow it for a moment to get a sniff.

This sniffing thing reminds me of how the girls in high school, who had their own wing, used our classroom one evening as a dressing room for a school play they were performing in the auditorium next door. Needless to say, we weren't invited to the play.

Next morning though, we scoured the room for any momento of their blessed presence in our room. I found a hairpin. You know the type: black and jagged. I pocketed it and kept it in my box of memorable odds and ends. I think it should still be there in the box. But the box is inside a locked closet in my room in Pakistan.

The only 'Saintly' schools for boys that I thought were good in Karachi were St. Pats and St. Michaels, with St. Michaels having the edge. The only times the Bishop from St. Michael school would show up at our school assembly was on special occasions like Independence Day event etc.
Reading through your deeply intellectual posts I would have thought you went to one of the elite schools. :najam

That's quite a compliment. :) Our school was a mixed bag though. My friends in school consisted of kids whose fathers worked at a shoe or clothes stall in Sadar, sons of Ashrafi brand Atta owners, landlords, civil service type etc. And the christian kids who were always from poor lower class families. I was never around all elitists or rich/middle class kids. Maybe that helped as I feel I am grounded and can relate to the poor as much as the middle class types.

I always thought St.Pats was better academically. St.Michael was a party school full of snobbish burger types. They had cool chicks though.

Well now you know :-) Was it not easy to guess...I may come across as too much of a lafanga tharki type to have a significant other I guess.

I had you down as an eligible yet confirmed bachelor.

I flaunt my tharki buddha credentials shamelessly, yet everyone knows I'm married.

The late lamented Khalid Hasan relates a story about his early education. The principal, he writes, was one Father Scott. An old, kindly cleric. The vice principal was Colonel Tressler, who may be the same Col. Tressler, a strict disciplinarian who was a federal minister during the Musharraf era, or possibly the minister's father.

Col. Tressler's pet phrase was, "you may go Scott free in this school, but by God, you won't go Tressler free."

I'm a sucker for a good play on words. I wonder if they had some sort of joke on the phrase Great Scott.

Lol, thats a good one.

I had you down as an eligible yet confirmed bachelor.

I flaunt my tharki buddha credentials shamelessly, yet everyone knows I'm married.

Alter egos I guess. The character of "Tharki Buddha" is like a superhero for me. I aspire to be one or I guess I am already one. :))

The Buddha part reminds me of Rushdie's Midnight's Children, where the narrator/protagonist says he is nicknamed Buddha, amongst other things.

Later on, he reveals that Buddha is pronounced with a hard D. You know, just in case Western audiences assume he was the second coming of the founder of Buddhism.

Think about it. Tharki Buddha is offensive if pronounced wrong. It's hard to picture the emaciated, fasting Buddha as a tharki.

The Buddha part reminds me of Rushdie's Midnight's Children, where the narrator/protagonist says he is nicknamed Buddha, amongst other things.

Later on, he reveals that Buddha is pronounced with a hard D. You know, just in case Western audiences assume he was the second coming of the founder of Buddhism.

Think about it. Tharki Buddha is offensive if pronounced wrong. It's hard to picture the emaciated, fasting Buddha as a tharki.

Interesting. Never thought of it like that. Buddha can very well be misconstrued as Budha. Maybe his ancestors were from Turkey as well.

In all honesty St. Peters or St. Michaels or St. Pauls are not even on the same planet as St Pats in terms of quality. St. Michael's is probably the best of those three.

Pats' competition has always been KGS eventhough in recent times the standard has been falling unfortunately.

Interesting to read about the views on different schools.

As far as purely girls schools are concerned CJM is the best hands down. St. Josephs is good but I always felt in my interactons during my school year that girls from there werent that worldy and had an intensely narrow one dimensional view of the world. And very shy. Probably lack of exposure to boys didnt help which goes vice versa with guys in metric section at St.Pats, Pauls etc.

I was lucky to be in Cambridge section of St. Pats

In all honesty St. Peters or St. Michaels or St. Pauls are not even on the same planet as St Pats in terms of quality. St. Michael's is probably the best of those three.

Pats' competition has always been KGS eventhough in recent times the standard has been falling unfortunately.

Why are you rubbing salt on my wounds brother.

Yaar in which world is St, Michaels better than Pats at anythng in an academic sense or even non-academic (taking out the lack of girls until A levels)

Even Michalites or whatever the heck they call themselves wont agree to this

Why are you rubbing salt on my wounds brother.

Didnt mean it that way :)

anyways it seems that you are at a professional age and doing well i assume.

in what way would have an O and A levels at St Pats or KGS made a difference to your life right now in terms of advancement which you feel the metric system didnt

T My friends in school consisted of kids whose fathers worked at a shoe or clothes stall in Sadar, sons of Ashrafi brand Atta owners, landlords, civil service type etc. And the christian kids who were always from poor lower class families. I was never around all elitists or rich/middle class kids. Maybe that helped as I feel I am grounded and can relate to the poor as much as the middle class types.

agree with you. Same in St. Pats

I did my A levels from another school and every second person was the son of this or that. I felt poor haha

Interesting. Never thought of it like that. Buddha can very well be misconstrued as Budha. Maybe his ancestors were from Turkey as well.

Speaking of, I wonder if you got around to watching Naeem Bukhari's interview of Arshad Mehmood I posted earlier. He's been interviewing a lot of people recently, and since I've discovered the videos, I've had many hours of fun. Anwar Maqsood, Samina Ahmed, Kishwar Naheed, Abid Ali, Aitzaz Ahsan, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Sheikh Rasheed, Qamar Zaman Kaira, Arif Lohar, Abrarul Haq, Aftab Gul, they were all worth watching, even the ones where I had initially wondered why he was interviewing that person.

Interesting to read about the views on different schools.

As far as purely girls schools are concerned CJM is the best hands down. St. Josephs is good but I always felt in my interactons during my school year that girls from there werent that worldy and had an intensely narrow one dimensional view of the world. And very shy. Probably lack of exposure to boys didnt help which goes vice versa with guys in metric section at St.Pats, Pauls etc.

I was lucky to be in Cambridge section of St. Pats

I know someone who doesn't fit at all to what you have described but than it's a big school so not all students can be placed under one category.

one of the major drawbacks of the metric system i see is the lack of motivation which ties into the lack of ambition displayed by a lot of your fellow students

The imperial units suffer from the same drawback.

Too many Pak greats went to St. Pats, take a look for yourself. :mush
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Patrick's_High_School,_Karachi
St. Josephs is a girls college, not a school. I must have drove past the college a million times. :blossom:

No St Josephs is a school plus college

Same with St. Pats though St Pats college is not tied to the school.

:zardari went to st. pats college.
:musharraf went to st. pats school

I'll never forget musharraf coming to school to visit in his first trip to karachi after 1999.

Didnt mean it that way :)

anyways it seems that you are at a professional age and doing well i assume.

in what way would have an O and A levels at St Pats or KGS made a difference to your life right now in terms of advancement which you feel the metric system didnt

Professionally really not much, but I would have been exposed more to English literature. One out of many regrets I have in life is wasting my youth reading stupid urdu Inspector Jamshed series by Ishtiaq Ahmed when I could have very well be reading Dickens. My grammar could have been better too I guess. :(

It looks like this thread is doing the trick. I'm calling it a night. Hopefully I won't be tormented with nightmares about the latest debacle-that-must-not-be-explicitly-mentioned-but-only-referenced-obliquely.

Speaking of, I wonder if you got around to watching Naeem Bukhari's interview of Arshad Mehmood I posted earlier. He's been interviewing a lot of people recently, and since I've discovered the videos, I've had many hours of fun. Anwar Maqsood, Samina Ahmed, Kishwar Naheed, Abid Ali, Aitzaz Ahsan, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Sheikh Rasheed, Qamar Zaman Kaira, Arif Lohar, Abrarul Haq, Aftab Gul, they were all worth watching, even the ones where I had initially wondered why he was interviewing that person.

I've watched a few you have mentioned. Need to watch all of them. Have you seen his interview with Jamal Shah. That was a good one as well, especially him talking about his dad who was in police.

I would sometimes buy these fishes from the street vendors outside St. Pats, but since my parents wouldnt allow me to have a pet fish in the house, I would take it to my relative's house that lived close by.

Once I got this catfish with whiskers, it must be like 4 inches long. It would jump out of the fish bowl, and my relatives would get tired of putting it back in the bowl.

They finally flushed the catfish down the toilet! The worst part was that the catfish somehow swam back up, so they had to flush it again and again. The next few trips to the toilet were really scary for them! :))

I was warned that I could no longer bring any pet fishes to their house either! :(

It looks like this thread is doing the trick. I'm calling it a night. Hopefully I won't be tormented with nightmares about the latest debacle-that-must-not-be-explicitly-mentioned-but-only-referenced-obliquely.

Calling it a night? Its just past midnight for you, and its the weekend! :srt

I've watched a few you have mentioned. Need to watch all of them. Have you seen his interview with Jamal Shah. That was a good one as well, especially him talking about his dad who was in police.

I should watch this one. I've probably told you about my best friend's house in Islamabad being right next to Jamal's Hunerkada institute, and the two of us peeking over the walls at the sculptures of Angeline Malik in various states of undress drying in the sun in the courtyard.

Calling it a night? Its just past midnight for you, and its the weekend! :srt

It had been a really rough week. Inundated by work, spurned by prospective employers, forced to acquiesce to the move to Colorado Springs, and then... yesterday's tragedy.

This morning I'm going to polish off two parathas, and drink my tea with sugar. Seeking comfort where I can find it, and hurt my health. It's a win-win in response to a lose-lose situation.

It had been a really rough week. Inundated by work, spurned by prospective employers, forced to acquiesce to the move to Colorado Springs, and then... yesterday's tragedy.

This morning I'm going to polish off two parathas, and drink my tea with sugar. Seeking comfort where I can find it, and hurt my health. It's a win-win in response to a lose-lose situation.

I though you were looking forward to any move to a state where Mary Jane is legal. What happened?

I should watch this one. I've probably told you about my best friend's house in Islamabad being right next to Jamal's Hunerkada institute, and the two of us peeking over the walls at the sculptures of Angeline Malik in various states of undress drying in the sun in the courtyard.

In the pre-internet claustrophobic Zia era, that must have been the closest thing to erotica that a young boy could get his hands or rather eyes on. I would have started at those statues for hours myself if I could.

Come to think of it, that may hold true even now.....

I though you were looking forward to any move to a state where Mary Jane is legal. What happened?

Well, in Colorado, the city of Colorado Springs has a reputation for rabid Tea Party-style conservatism. It isn't Denver or Fort Collins, and it certainly isn't Boulder.

More importantly, the job they're transferring me to (it's a move within the company) is totally unpalatable: it is moving my career in a direction I don't want it to go towards. But with no other options, and the hefty relocation package, I had to say yes.

For now. I plan on retracting it if and when I find something better, which isn't very professional but I must do it if I don't want to be stuck in a job I hate. But time is short. I have to move in late June. The catch with the relocation package too is that I have to stay for two years. I'm not relishing the prospect.

They've told when I get there I could look for something else within the company that I like better, and it is a possibility because the office there is sizable, but the worst case scenario is I won't find anything, and end up doing the proposed job for two years.

Also with my parents in their late 60s now, I wanted something closer to NY, within driving distance. This takes me even further away.

Well, in Colorado, the city of Colorado Springs has a reputation for rabid Tea Party-style conservatism. It isn't Denver or Fort Collins, and it certainly isn't Boulder.

More importantly, the job they're transferring me to (it's a move within the company) is totally unpalatable: it is moving my career in a direction I don't want it to go towards. But with no other options, and the hefty relocation package, I had to say yes.

For now. I plan on retracting it if and when I find something better, which isn't very professional but I must do it if I don't want to be stuck in a job I hate. But time is short. I have to move in late June. The catch with the relocation package too is that I have to stay for two years. I'm not relishing the prospect.

They've told when I get there I could look for something else within the company that I like better, and it is a possibility because the office there is sizable, but the worst case scenario is I won't find anything, and end up doing the proposed job for two years.

Also with my parents in their late 60s now, I wanted something closer to NY, within driving distance. This takes me even further away.

So have you said yes already are you still mulling it over....

In the pre-internet claustrophobic Zia era, that must have been the closest thing to erotica that a young boy could get his hands or rather eyes on. I would have started at those statues for hours myself if I could.

Come to think of it, that may hold true even now.....

Actually it was the Musharraf era, and my friend and I were both 18 or 19 ;)

So have you said yes already are you still mulling it over....

Both ;)

I don't normally act in this dishonest way, I assure you, but I'm desperate. I did have a discreet word with the HR rep and she said unless and until they make me sign something, and I move, and they give me the relo money, I'm not doing anything wrong.

I have been in a similar situation before, stuck in a job with a horrid manager :cigar for 2 years due to a hefty relocation package. I was able to bear the first year, but every day after that got more painful, 6 months into my 2nd year, I found a job in another company and used their sign-in bonus to pay off the money I owed to my employer - and set myself free. :runaway:

Wow. In my case, it's still only verbal between me and the manager, it isn't official until I sign the contract. If and when I do, I won't have a choice but to go. So I'm hoping there's still time.

Both ;)

I don't normally act in this dishonest way, I assure you, but I'm desperate. I did have a discreet word with the HR rep and she said unless and until they make me sign something, and I move, and they give me the relo money, I'm not doing anything wrong.

It's a tough decision. A lot depends on how desperate you are to get out of your current job in Minnesota. If you can wait a while, maybe saying no to Colorado at this time makes more sense. In both cases, I'm sure you'll be fine. :)

The MN job has been terminated, from late June. That's why they want me to take the new one in CO. So I'm leaving MN whether I say yes to them officially, or to someone else.

Colorado is a cool state. Loved my time here. Some nice views in Springs too and the mountains arent too far. An hr 30 min to Denver and a lot of young people. Cant complain

The MN job has been terminated, from late June. That's why they want me to take the new one in CO. So I'm leaving MN whether I say yes to them officially, or to someone else.

So really there is not much of a choice it seems. At least you will be able to get out of the midwestern tundra. Once in CO, maybe try to maneuver into something more palatable.

Yes this about sums it up.

Anyways, I watched the Jamal Shah interview today. I was hoping he would ask more about Balochistan, especially since Jamal said he was a personal witness to Bhutto's 1976 military operation. Also it was funny how Turkey came into the discussion, because Shah has made a movie starring a Turkish actress, who is unmarried, and Bukhari said marrying her would be a way to improve relations with the Turks. A noble, patriotic act indeed.

They talked about sculptures and nudity at one point, but Bukhari is either unaware of the Angeline Malik ones, or more likely chose not to bring them up.

Can't help but think of Faryal Gohar whenever I hear of Jamal Shah. Not a big fan of this guy though.

Yes this about sums it up.

Anyways, I watched the Jamal Shah interview today. I was hoping he would ask more about Balochistan, especially since Jamal said he was a personal witness to Bhutto's 1976 military operation. Also it was funny how Turkey came into the discussion, because Shah has made a movie starring a Turkish actress, who is unmarried, and Bukhari said marrying her would be a way to improve relations with the Turks. A noble, patriotic act indeed.

They talked about sculptures and nudity at one point, but Bukhari is either unaware of the Angeline Malik ones, or more likely chose not to bring them up.

Have you noticed how Jamal Shah has let himself go. I think he is around Naeem Bokhari's age if I'm not mistaken but has developed this aate ki boori type physique. Sad to see as he was one of the most handsome guy in his times with a very distinctive brutish yet sophisticated look. Naeem on the other hand have managed to not only looked youthful but charming as ever.

Can't help but think of Faryal Gohar whenever I hear of Jamal Shah. Not a big fan of this guy though.

One of my favorite aunties growing up. That role in "Chand Girhan" is probably one of the best female roles played by a lead after you take out all the Hasina Moin's female leads out of the equation. I wonder if they had any kids. Would be interesting to see what these two specimens of beauty and brains managed to produce.

Have you noticed how Jamal Shah has let himself go. I think he is around Naeem Bokhari's age if I'm not mistaken but has developed this aate ki boori type physique. Sad to see as he was one of the most handsome guy in his times with a very distinctive brutish yet sophisticated look. Naeem on the other hand have managed to not only looked youthful but charming as ever.

Well, he still has all his hair, so there's that. I thought he looked rather nice. Has put on weight, but manages to pull off the well-fed, well-dressed look.

One of my favorite aunties growing up. That role in "Chand Girhan" is probably one of the best female roles played by a lead after you take out all the Hasina Moin's female leads out of the equation. I wonder if they had any kids. Would be interesting to see what these two specimens of beauty and brains managed to produce.

I don't think they had any kids. My respect for Faryal went up even further when she went to court about the caged tiger that Maryam Nawaz was parading around her rallies. Nothing happened, of course.

So, here's a question:

"What did the chicken say to the duck when the duck was about to cross the road?"

No, they didn't have any kids.

Faryal Gohar v Atiqa Odho, I'd say the latter.

'Don't do it, they will never let you forget it.'

More or less. The answer I had was "Don't mate, you'll never hear the end of it."

In a little while, we won't hear the end of "it" either.

I don't think they had any kids. My respect for Faryal went up even further when she went to court about the caged tiger that Maryam Nawaz was parading around her rallies. Nothing happened, of course.

Faryal is bit of a nut I've heard but her support for social causes are admirable.

No, they didn't have any kids.

Faryal Gohar v Atiqa Odho, I'd say the latter.

Atiqa is just plain natural beauty. The cherub face, those big brown eyes, that mesmerizing smile. Faryal has that flair, a certain grace and depth in her looks which is so unique. Both are my top two aunties from Pakistan.

Today my chores are replacing the minivan battery, fixing a bicycle chain, and... going to the halal store to buy meat.

You can guess why I'm dreading the last one most. I'll never hear the end of... certain events. I'm thinking of just buying the packaged meat from the supermarket kosher section. I would buy fish, but that brings up certain stereotypes about certain people and the certain people's role in certain events today.

^^^

I had to scan the headlines to figure out what you were trying to say....so we are playing against a certain country who love eating fish...I guess too late to get into it now.

^^^

I had to scan the headlines to figure out what you were trying to say....so we are playing against a certain country who love eating fish...I guess too late to get into it now.

As it happens, the halal meat store is owned by people from the certain country. I would put it off, but I'll need to go some day.

Maybe I'll go vegan until I leave MN.