Firebreaker
Shama banaspati?
[MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION]
Yes.Shama Zindagi Ki
Shama banaspati?
[MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION]
You want to be adopted by a rich man so that you can marry her but you are also open to all kinds of relationships. You should be ashamed of your existence.
What if one truly follows the lessons of the match and doesn't watch cricket anymore (thus not being able to actually teach other people lessons from what they learnt from the match)? Or is it only supposed to be anti-match as long as you are still passionate about the match?
wait till you hear my gf's views. we are basically friends, not man and woman.
What match? There's no match. To quote Francis Urquart/Underwood, "you may think that, I couldn't possibly comment."
BL is basically threatening me
You're right, I am special, I'm not nameless, faceless, colourless, formless,... like the rest of those mere mortals. Thanks BL, I have got a new mirror motivational speech.
I'm interested to see your contribution to the luco-endumo-alchemical theory (LEA for the intimate).
Haha, I know that feeling. I'm always supposed to catch all the non-bookwormish experiences the world has to offer after my exams but I just end being too exhausted for any of it.
The match between Mamoon and CC, obviously.
About Frank Underwood, I recently bought a rowing machine. It's the the first step in my plan to become the most powerful man in the world. The rest of the plan is confidential but, if you were really curious, you could hear me muttering all the bullet points while rowing back and forth. My only disappointment is that it doesn't make the same pfishing sound as Frank's...
Guys - I have had to delete a lot of posts and am putting the thread back on for now.
No personal remarks from hereon!
This faceless, nameless, colourless, formless entity will live life through you, snowflake. Seems like the tides have turned - an aspirational psychiatrist looking to live through his patients, finally turning into a unique snowflake and allowing others to live through him. The dialectical struggle is now complete - the slave has become the master![]()
Yeah, well - I'm just slaving away at Mortal Kombat. Playing the storymode. Wish Kenshi had a chapter![]()
Depends on the kind of rowing machine
whats your split?
Some emerge burnished from the baptism by fire, others as ash. Sometimes the best one can do is wait and see what the outcome will be.
Thoughts?
Jalaa hai jism jahan dil bhi jal gayaa hoga
kuredate ho jo ab raakh justaju kya ha?
-Chacha Ghalib
Don't pat yourself on the back just yet, I still want to become a psychiatrist, just a roaming one. I think that there is a real scope for the profession of itinerant psychiatrist. I'll have a roulotte with comfy seats and lots of gypsy trinklets. Maybe even introduce mystical elements to the therapy in order to please the [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION]-like folks.
Although it's pretty insidious from you to use flattery and self-effacement to turn the attention away from your own struggle. Fear not, the first task of the guy who got out of the cavern will be to liberate the rest of the little snowflakes.
Well, tell me what the story of this one is, you have
Interesting. Where did you read it?
Yeah, it's not a water machine.
I just do 8 splits on the middle resistance level for now.
Splits are usually 500m pieces
So you do 4000m in one go? That's impressive for a newbie if you manage to keep it anywhere around 2:00/split
You wound me, snowflake. The ways of the world have changed me. Far from revering or celebrating myself, I will the strength to let my mere image say and do those above things. The said image, my own portrayal, manifests itself in various ways - sometimes Machiavellian, sometimes decidedly altruistic, sometimes apologetically lost, sometimes consciously self-aware. Nevertheless, t'is an image that I am never really fond of. Ever.
Also that sounds like you literally want to be a non-blind KenshiNo kidding, it's what he did/does - in both the games timelines, he converted two major opponents to the light (previously Ermac, and now Scorpion - the guy who is practically the face of Mortal Kombat) - all side events in his own quest to quench his wanderlust
You want me to tell you the story of Mortal Kombat?I think it'd be better if you watch the first movie
I thought a split is just a couple of reps. My machine doesn't measure distances but I doubt it's anywhere near 5 km.
What about you? How long have you been doing it?
did for 5 or so yrs. I used to row.
but haven't done since 2 yrs
Especially with the drought hitting the Western US, you would be up the creek without a paddle. Or with a paddle, but no water. Marooned.
How many times did you flip over during your training days? [emoji12]
Did you go to the rowing club next to Beach Luxury? I went there once with a friend to check it out.
thankfully only once
saw boats capsizing a lot though. and in khi the water was on the dirtier side usually :/
yeah. in Karachi there. Its called Karachi boat club
then here in america
did for 5 or so yrs. I used to row.
but haven't done since 2 yrs
splits normally mean the time to cover 500m distance in rowing vernacular.
its the best workout if you can maintain the intensity. but its tiring and takes out a lot. and rowing machines have been hard to find since I stopped it competitively
but I want to do it again this summer. atleast the machine just for fitness' sake. actually going in water seems unlikely and too muc hassle at this point in life
I was disappointed that my friend didn't want to get in the boat with a first timer. He had been rowing at this club for a few years and had seen his share of newbies flipping it and didn't want to be a part of it.
Instead he joined three other senior rowers in a boat and whizzed away, and I just practiced a bit on the stationary one and left - never to return again. [emoji107]
Don't really understand why people prefer treadmills.
I think not putting a newbie on the boat the first day was good decision for everyone involved lol
atleast a day or 2 on the rowing machine and stationary one is required I feel esp if no coaches are gonna be on the boat with you
problem with rowing is that on a boat you can have a 3(asuuming its a four) very good rowers and if the 4th guy is really bad and has no clue he can still make the boat capsize. So in order to avoid potential curses from the other rowers on the boat he prolly though the risk was not worth it
you missed out though. rowing is an acquired taste
was that the one near shahra-e-faisal?I tried to convince my friends to give rowing a shot but no one was interested.
I then joined Jansher Khan squash center and played one year there. [emoji109]
was that the one near shahra-e-faisal?
never played squash unfortunately. atleast to an extent where it would count as playing
some of my friends are really good and its a exhausting sport too.
Pakistanis have good rep in squash in the US among the tiny %age of ppl who know abt the sport
Always let your conscience be your guide.
-Jiminy Cricket.
But what image does this elusory panchi see in the mirror?
How do you know I'm not blind? Or a master swordsman for that matter.
You tell it better. It's like hearing Nostalgic talk about the beauty of ageing aunties, I don't find them attractive but his passion makes them read attractive.
I try to. Unfortunately I feel I let fear be my guide most of the time.
I usually let the rhythm be my guide. But I make the mistake of choosing syncopated jazz grooves, which really mess things up.
I can see you moonwalking your way to your Saib-job![]()
The Saib naukrani is a mirage. A will o' the wisp.
This is the second time I've thought of the will o' the wisp on this thread, which is strangely appropriate.
I know you're not religious, but I used to be like this as well. Not very long ago. Actually, less than 2-3 months, I'd say. Used to keep zero expectations, would expect failure from myself everytime, would expect the worst of everything so I can be mildly surprised/sated later on.
I read something by Yasmin Mogahed on her instagram page, I think, which completely changed my way of thinking. I'll try to find her exact words, but the gist was something like this - if you let your negative feelings (low expectations, fears, hatred, envy, etc) guide you, then you sabotage yourself of all the good that is and could come your way should you be more receptive of it.
I'm not doing that great of a job summing it up, but the point made was really poignant - so let go of the fear, SB. And let your conscience be your guide![]()
I'm haunted by the thoughts of my own mortality, the constant pressure of making the most out of everything. Knowing that time is passing, yet I can only helplessly watch it slip through my fingers. Even if I live to be a hundred years old, it will still not be enough to truly appreciate nature, to understand the intricacies of even a crumpled and dried up autumn leaf or to grasp the brilliance behind even a single molecule of matter.
Over the last few years though, I've had a bigger problem: thoughts of my parents' mortality. I sit around dreading the sound of the phone ringing. It could ring any moment, bringing with it the ultimate bad news. There are times when it becomes so acute, I start getting premonitions of some tragedy about to strike, and I start mentally preparing myself for booking a flight, getting my bags ready, rushing to the airport...
^ it's a fear I live with as well, specially if parents live in a city like Karachi, where the ambulance has no chance of getting to its destination, because of the utter chaos and lack of empathy by other drivers on the road.
Yup. is your whole family back home in Khi?
Literally, of course, it's just me. Figuratively, I see someone who has very little control of all that is happening around her. And for some strange reason, she has now found comfort in the uncertainty of it all..![]()
You can't be Kenshi. You're endymion. Like that guy in those Sailor Moon cartoons![]()
But since you're flattering me, I'll give it a goIn essence, MK is a fighting game but with a huge, expansive lore that tries to, in it's own weird way, make sense of the crazy-level violence that it portrays and celebrates. The lore in itself is primarily fantasy-based, and pretty interesting at the start - unfortunately, you can tell the points where the devs run out of ideas in its midst.
Generally, its one of your typical Earth vs other galaxies/realms/what-have-you. The idea is that there are several 'realms' out there, all vying for supremacy and/or survival, and our 'Earthrealm' is considered a prize, an untouched world with unbound potential and a pure life force (Ha. Go figure). In order to create some modicum of order within this anarchy-ordained set up, the 'Elder Gods' decided on setting up a competition - a fight to the death - by the name of Mortal Kombat. Trained, expert fighters from all the realms would participate in this brawl, all fought with martial arts of course, and the 10th consecutive loser would see his/her realm being taken over by the other contending realms.
When MK first begins, Earthrealm has lost 9 of the previous 10 Mortal Kombats, and is on the verge of being taken over by Outworld (another realm), ruled by the dreaded, ruthless Shao Kahn. A warrior-monk from the White Lotus faction, Liu Kang (your generic Bruce Lee/Ryu type figure) represents Earth in this final kompetition - and defeats Outworld, thereby, maintaining Earth's independence from other realms by the rules of Mortal Kombat. Kahn, after being so close to victory, simply defied the rules and began an invasion on Earth as he disregarded the legitimacy of the said tournament. Massacres were murdered, including Liu Kang and co. but the only way to thwart the invasion was to let Kahn win - only then would the Elder gods intervene. They do so, in the end - destroy Kahn, and the 'thunder god, protector of earth' - Raiden, alongside a few other Special Forces members, are the only people left alive from the original Earth's fighters to rebuild.
Now in this game, we see all these events being manipulated so that a fallen Elder god, Shinnok, could take over Earth, corrupt the Jinsei (remember Earth's pure life force?) and take over the whole universe. And its upto these new fighters and their parents and Kenshi and whathaveyou to stop him.
I had the urge, for no reason whatsoever, to bump this thread, but Endy's beaten me to it. Great minds and all that.
I did sense a great disturbance in PakPassion's code, as if a thread cried out to be freed but was silenced.
When the oceans waves get rough and treacherous and take you from one direction to the other with no end in sight, what is the anchor you use? What is your anchor?
Kashtiyaan sabb ki kinaarey pe pohonch jaati hein
Nakhuda jin ka nahein, unn ka khuda hota hai
Honest answer, I roll out the ol' prayer mat. I need a divine kick up the ass every so often. I'm due one now, the proverbial rope has been stretched for a few months.
So is it your belied in God? Fear of death? The example of the Prophet? What is it that brings you back to the prayer mat?
Crises. At work, in family life, cricket. Could be anything. It's usually an exercise in selfishness. I need something done, and once things fall into place I drift away again.
Human nature.
But you're still just picking at the surface here.
Even in times of crisis, there is an inner belief there is a higher power that can bring you out of your plight.
What about the times when that actual belief is shaken to the core? What then do you use to hang on to?
Really probing, thought-provoking question!
I don't think I've really ever had a true crisis of faith, where my actual belief is shaken to the core and I begin to question it. I do go through phases, and extended ones, where I'm upset and angry at the Almighty, and I give up on practice almost as a protest. But the fact that I'm protesting implies the continued existence of belief.
If I did ever have such a crisis of faith, I would be even more lost that I am now![]()
What about the times when that actual belief is shaken to the core? What then do you use to hang on to?
Indeed, but it may mean that when you rediscover yourself, you end up being much more firm in your belief.
I think every man goes through a crisis of faith. You may have already and not realised.
Then you're lost, nothing really makes sense. You lack interest and you become disenchanted finding it more difficult to be the same. All you encounter is gloom, you've lost any way to untangle yourself.
Or it may mean you lose your faith completely, never to recover. But that's just my opinion, since I'm always so bright and positive and optimistic.
Come to think of it, we are limiting this debate to the divine. If we extend it to the profane, this thread itself is an exercise in how to deal with losing faith in a long-cherished ideal.
It took me weeks to visit this website after a long break, although i get online everyday. T.V or sports pages had been agonizing enough that i could not spare a minute for PP.
The last time i came here weeks ago and i did not bother to open the cricket forum, and now i start with this thread.
Well, there is no charm, excitement and passion left for the game.
For someone with only a rudimentary interest in Chinese culture, hopefully it won't be a yawn fest. Will let you know soon.
How was the Shen Yun concert?![]()