Ohh yes ofcourse, the Pakistani in denial comes out with the what ifs.......
Kohli himself acknowledge Amir greatness. Also Kohli was a bunny of junaid earlier.
Ohh yes ofcourse, the Pakistani in denial comes out with the what ifs.......
Kohli himself acknowledge Amir greatness. Also Kohli was a bunny of junaid earlier.
Umm what the heck does this post have anything to do with post 239 ?
He talked about Amir so I described in detail. Is this not allowed?
You know the best thing I liked about his innings today is when he got to his 50, rather than raising the bat up..he went and asked umpire if thats one bouncer for the over. I know its a very small thing but what presence of mind. Many batsman would have waved bat etc. but in his mind the target and balls left was the only thing going. Great batsman.
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Kohli's Pak innings greater than this one?
Not a chance in hell.
This was something else.
There he just needed to stay not out and runs were coming in.
Here he had to stay not out, score runs without having to resort to sixes (which were risky).
This knock is leagues above the knock Kohli played against Pakistan.
Its not the hitting that makes this knock the one it is.
Marlon came in at a tough situation and started smashing it.
While that is awesome, those knocks have been done.
Raina's 80 odd in 29 balls in IPL was an insane knock.
But its not about that.
What do you do when
1. Its a knockout game
2. You are the ONLY wicket opposition needs to take (even Kohli knew that if he was gone, India would lose like 99% - Marlon didn't have that pressure - not his fault but just saying)
3. Hitting sixes was OUT OF QUESTION due to big grounds and ball stopping
4. Faulkner and Watson slowing everything up and everyone was looking clueless
5. Req run rate at 10 for 10 overs
6. Fielders guarding the boundaries on a BIG BIG ground (third man and fine leg brought up). Since ball wasn't coming on to the bat, scooping would be hard to execute.
And still Kohli chased with 1 over to spare.
Add everything up.
This is easily better than Marlon's knock which was supreme too.
Gayle's hundred in the England game could be called better as he got more runs faster in a group game that gave the same amount of points to WI as this game did to India. This was a spinning pitch where Smith gave Zampa only 2 overs making it a flattie for 18 overs (discounting the part-timer Maxwell) as there was nothing for the Aussie pacers. [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] I'd like to see your one-line paragraphs on that.
You've confused Samuels' 78 off 50-odd balls in the final where only 238 runs were scored with some other innings. Samuels' smashing Malinga ( the same guy who choked India in the next final) for 40 runs in 2 overs when only 32 were scored in the 1st 10 overs is in itself greater than this innings.) at you saying Samuels came in in an easier position or he started slogging from the word go. The rest of the windies batsmen scored <50 runs altogether. Your signature is affecting your posts, I recognise the great pace bowling legend having an effect.
Actually no in my humble opinion.
Gayle's knock against England was brilliant but it was not even 50% as good as this and I watched that. It was a good knock but Gayle has played a lot of knocks like that. I have seen tons of knocks like the one Gayle played in IPL. If that's the criteria, Raina's IPL 80 off 29 balls was insane.
But its not that.
I gave my reasoning for this knock in several of my posts bro. Check it out.
As for spinners not being used, Smith had his reasons.
I will tell you why.
He had 2 spinners Zampa and Maxwell.
This pitch was NOT a turner. But post 10 overs, the ball was gripping. India controlled Aus cos Maxwell was in woeful form who couldn't even put away some average deliveries by Yuvi. Jaddu was tight but it didn't turn much.
Now coming back to Maxwell and Zampa.
Maxwell is the kind of part timer you would be careful to use. One extra over and he could lose you the game. The moment Kohli took on Maxwell, Smith knew that its a wild risk to bowl him again and didn't bowl. If you notice Kohli's shot against Maxwell, he ACTUALLY GOT BEATEN BY FLIGHT but since the ball didn't turn much, he connected well and it went for a sixer.
Zampa is a far better bowler but for some reason he was not that accurate yesterday. Yuvi got a juicy full toss which he smashed for a six and then he missed out on a short delivery which could have gone for sixer too.
Smith knew that giving Zampa the over would either fetch him wicket or he could be taken to the cleaners. India was getting desperate and they needed someone to release it so Smith decided to not give them an opportunity to release. Why do that when Faulkner and Watson were slowing it up and making life hell for India.
When Yuvi got out to Faulkner slow delivery, we needed 67 runs off 36 balls with one small thing.
The MOMENTUM was fully with Australia and not India.
Then Watson bowled an over. Dhoni got a ncie boundary and we scored 8 runs off it.
59 off 30 balls needed.
Big ground and Smith had taken out spinners whom you could get in position and slog. Pacers were not great quality but were rolling their arms over every second delivery and we couldn't clear the boundary.
This SAME STRATEGY was employed by NZ against India in Champion's Trophy finals in 2000.
We went fro 202-3 in 38 overs to finish with 264 in 50 overs. That's after a monstrous Sachin-Ganguly partnership. We lost the game.
Even Yuvi who was in supreme form in that tournament managed just 18 runs with 94 SR playing completely in slog overs.
http://www.espncricinfo.com/iccct2000/engine/current/match/66179.html
This was the situation. If you try to go for sixes means you are playing a lottery game.
Back to the match. 59 needed off 30 balls. 12 rpo.
Hazelwood bowled to Kohli who moved around the crease to take two doubles . Then again moved across to pierce the gap in midwicket to get a four. Ended the over with two doubles again.
12 runs taken off the over.
Next over Watson bowled. We struggled. But finally a fluke boundary due to edge by Dhoni got us 8 runs off the over.
39 required off 3 overs. Now Faulkner came in who was very hard to get away not only in this match but all matches.
Kohli moved around and got took him apart by smashing him all over the ground. Only risk shot was the straight six which again was not perfectly connected but he did it well enough and it went sailing.
Still 20 needed off 12 balls.
ONLY NOW Kohli got a bowler whom he could genuinely smash in the game due to his bullet straight deliveries.
Nathan Coulter Nile
His cutters weren't that effective.
Kohli smashed him for 16 runs and India just needed 4 to win which Dhoni smashed.
An impossible knock made easy by Kohli.
This was a knock which Viv, SRT, Ponting and ABD would have flopped for sure cos they would have gone for the big hits one too many and got out.
Therein lies the genius of Kohli and that's why I call this the greatest T20 knock ever and the execution (possibly) the greatest ever.
You have a viewpoint and run away with it, the second time today that I feel there is no debate to be had with such extremely different viewpoints. Samuels' knock > Kohli's knock especially when considering the pressure of a final. He hit only one boundary until the 12th over and scored 50 of his last 20 balls in a match where only 1 other batsman got to 30 runs (mahela with 33 off 36). WI were 14/2 after the PP and ended up on 137. He scored 78 of 56 out of 108 scored while he was at the crease while the rest scored only 30 off 47. I rest my case.
Gayle's hundred in the England game could be called better as he got more runs faster in a group game that gave the same amount of points to WI as this game did to India. This was a spinning pitch where Smith gave Zampa only 2 overs making it a flattie for 18 overs (discounting the part-timer Maxwell) as there was nothing for the Aussie pacers. [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] I'd like to see your one-line paragraphs on that.
Was talking about Gayle knock cos you mentioned Gayle.
Fair enough about Samuel's knock. There is merit to it.
But in my opinion, Kohli's was simply a notch higher (talking about quality of a knock in a knockout game). I can expect other ATGs to do what Samuel did. Same can't be said for Kohli's knock.
To each his own.
Kohli scored 80 out of 160 at home, Samuels scored 78 out of 137 in a halfway from home in a final.\
Actually I' rate Hussey's knock against Ajmal, Amir, Afridi and hafeez higher than Kohli's knock..
Thats a very suface level way of looking at things. I wrote a post about that somewhere in this thread.
Kohli had a much tougher pitch against Pakistan yet that knock is not 50% of this.
Its not conditions that make a knock.
Its conditions + requirements.
In Kohli's case its conditions + requirements + compulsions.
compulsions?
Read my posts in this thread bro.
Scroll up or search in prev pages.
He had to do well for the team to win, as did Samuels. I don't see why chases have to be rated higher than 1st innings knocks, see last year's WC Final for an illustration of how important setting a target is.
111 needed off 12 overs.
Viv couldn't have pulled this off. Not with the sluggish pitch for the old ball.
Sachin for sure wouldn't have pulled this off.
Ponting cannot.
ABD sure as hell cannot.
This is sheer jaw dropping batting.
A complete mastery of brains, skills and incredible running between the wickets.
Take a bow Kohli.![]()
No words can do justice to the greatness of this knock.
He had to do well for the team to win, as did Samuels. I don't see why chases have to be rated higher than 1st innings knocks, see last year's WC Final for an illustration of how important setting a target is.
His knock yesterday was very similar to the one he played vs SA in the 2014 WT20 semifinal.
As for the best, Samuels is head and shoulders above every T20 knock.
Final against the home team who also happen to be the favorites, and you take your team to 137 after you were 15/2 in 6 overs, tearing apart their main bowler.
How does one beat that?
Good post, I think everyone in the moment is just in awe of Kohli knock which was brilliant but that Samuels blinder is the greatest. It single handedly won WI the world cup, after the first 10 overs I was thinking SL have won the World Cup but my word what a breathtaking performance. The way he destroyed Malinga was magical, I don't think up until that point I had see anyone smash Malinga like that and Samuels did in a final under immense pressure when his team was knocked out unconscious.
Kohli's thrashing of Malinga in Hobart was wonderful, but Samuels' thrashing was simply out of this world. It was such a calculated assault.
My point of view is something that is sooo misunderstood in this thread.
Even 2 pages back, I accepted that Samuel's knock being called greatest is a fair enough viewpoint.
But having watched so many T20 chases as well as watching Samuel's 2012 knock, Kohli's 2014 knock and Kohli's 2016 knock LIVE, here's my perspective:
There are way better knocks than Kohli's 2016 in terms of brutality and BIGGER STAGE.
How many of you remember the RCB vs Pune Warriors match in IPL where RCB needed 15 runs per over for 8 overs?
Yes....they needed 120 runs to chase in 8 overs.
Gayle was batting slowly and then he picked up the tempo, smashed Rahul Sharma for 5 sixes and then kept on hitting and ABD in the end pulled of a heist.
http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2012/engine/current/match/548327.html
You CANNOT name a greater T20 chase than this ever (unless something more unreal happened in BBL). 15 rpo for 8 overs is unreal stuff. Ok, it wasn't a knockout but quality wise, this was PURE JAW DROPPING hitting overcoming the toughest of odds coordinated by Gayle and ABD.
As I said, I can name 25-30 T20 knocks that are greater than what Kohli did yesterday....THAT IS if you are judging everything based on runs needed, wickets in hand, brutality and how it was chased.
I saw both Kohli's 2014 and 2016 innings live and this knock was SIMPLY a league above. Statistically it may look similar but its anything but that. 2014 knock's momentum started with Rohit and Kohli was clinical but kept the momentum flowing.
What separates the 2016 knock special is that Kohli was squeezed from every possible area with nowhere to go.
Yes, it wasn't finals.
Yes, Kohli didn't get to face someone like Malinga.
But he had to score a mountain of runs and couldn't take the risk of slogging (which was bound to get him out). In fact, even the two sixes he hit were calculated well (but weren't connected perfectly - they still sailed over the rope).
It was an exhibition of the highest quality batting to score runs at a slogging pace without having to slog against average bowlers who had become lethal due to the ball holding up.
This is NO butchery.
No showmanship.
Complete mastery of technical batting of the highest order to do the almost impossible. Every other bat would have tried to slog it from his position and lost his wicket from one too many slogs. Even Kohli if he had gone for a few more sixes would have lost his wicket.
The skills and maneuvering that Kohli exhibited yesterday without going for slogs was something I haven't ever seen done at a level like he did.
That's what makes this knock the most special for me.
It may not be for others (fair enough).
As for making this statement out of euphoria, its not true. My posts about Kohli's overall LOI performance in other threads yesterday would prove that.
This was a knock that I feel was the greatest of them all.
Supreme batting at its very best.
My point of view is something that is sooo misunderstood in this thread.
Even 2 pages back, I accepted that Samuel's knock being called greatest is a fair enough viewpoint.
But having watched so many T20 chases as well as watching Samuel's 2012 knock, Kohli's 2014 knock and Kohli's 2016 knock LIVE, here's my perspective:
There are way better knocks than Kohli's 2016 in terms of brutality and BIGGER STAGE.
How many of you remember the RCB vs Pune Warriors match in IPL where RCB needed 15 runs per over for 8 overs?
Yes....they needed 120 runs to chase in 8 overs.
Gayle was batting slowly and then he picked up the tempo, smashed Rahul Sharma for 5 sixes and then kept on hitting and ABD in the end pulled of a heist.
http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2012/engine/current/match/548327.html
You CANNOT name a greater T20 chase than this ever (unless something more unreal happened in BBL). 15 rpo for 8 overs is unreal stuff. Ok, it wasn't a knockout but quality wise, this was PURE JAW DROPPING hitting overcoming the toughest of odds coordinated by Gayle and ABD.
As I said, I can name 25-30 T20 knocks that are greater than what Kohli did yesterday....THAT IS if you are judging everything based on runs needed, wickets in hand, brutality and how it was chased.
I saw both Kohli's 2014 and 2016 innings live and this knock was SIMPLY a league above. Statistically it may look similar but its anything but that. 2014 knock's momentum started with Rohit and Kohli was clinical but kept the momentum flowing.
What separates the 2016 knock special is that Kohli was squeezed from every possible area with nowhere to go.
Yes, it wasn't finals.
Yes, Kohli didn't get to face someone like Malinga.
But he had to score a mountain of runs and couldn't take the risk of slogging (which was bound to get him out). In fact, even the two sixes he hit were calculated well (but weren't connected perfectly - they still sailed over the rope).
It was an exhibition of the highest quality batting to score runs at a slogging pace without having to slog against average bowlers who had become lethal due to the ball holding up.
This is NO butchery.
No showmanship.
Complete mastery of technical batting of the highest order to do the almost impossible. Every other bat would have tried to slog it from his position and lost his wicket from one too many slogs. Even Kohli if he had gone for a few more sixes would have lost his wicket.
The skills and maneuvering that Kohli exhibited yesterday without going for slogs was something I haven't ever seen done at a level like he did.
As for making this statement out of euphoria, its not true. My posts about Kohli's overall LOI performance in other threads yesterday would prove that.
This was a knock that I feel was the greatest of them all.
Relax bro..You shouldn't take people like Texaco much seriously. As per him Inzy and Miandad have played much greater T20 KNOCKS than Kohli![]()
Amla's knock in today's game against Sri Lanka comes close. No panic whatsoever. Classy knock.
my point of view is something that is sooo misunderstood in this thread.
Even 2 pages back, i accepted that samuel's knock being called greatest is a fair enough viewpoint.
But having watched so many t20 chases as well as watching samuel's 2012 knock, kohli's 2014 knock and kohli's 2016 knock live, here's my perspective:
There are way better knocks than kohli's 2016 in terms of brutality and bigger stage.
How many of you remember the rcb vs pune warriors match in ipl where rcb needed 15 runs per over for 8 overs?
yes....they needed 120 runs to chase in 8 overs.
gayle was batting slowly and then he picked up the tempo, smashed rahul sharma for 5 sixes and then kept on hitting and abd in the end pulled of a heist.
you cannot name a greater t20 chase than this ever (unless something more unreal happened in bbl). 15 rpo for 8 overs is unreal stuff. Ok, it wasn't a knockout but quality wise, this was pure jaw dropping hitting overcoming the toughest of odds coordinated by gayle and abd.
As i said, i can name 25-30 t20 knocks that are greater than what kohli did yesterday....that is if you are judging everything based on runs needed, wickets in hand, brutality and how it was chased.
I saw both kohli's 2014 and 2016 innings live and this knock was simply a league above. Statistically it may look similar but its anything but that. 2014 knock's momentum started with rohit and kohli was clinical but kept the momentum flowing.
What separates the 2016 knock special is that kohli was squeezed from every possible area with nowhere to go.
Yes, it wasn't finals.
Yes, kohli didn't get to face someone like malinga.
This is no butchery.
No showmanship.
Complete mastery of technical batting of the highest order to do the almost impossible. Every other bat would have tried to slog it from his position and lost his wicket from one too many slogs. Even kohli if he had gone for a few more sixes would have lost his wicket.
The skills and maneuvering that kohli exhibited yesterday without going for slogs was something i haven't ever seen done at a level like he did.
As for making this statement out of euphoria, its not true. My posts about kohli's overall loi performance in other threads yesterday would prove that.
This was a knock that i feel was the greatest of them all.
Not rating chasing better than first innings per se.
Kohli's Aus knock is NOT THAT AMAZING if not for the compulsions. I have seen countless knocks like that in IPL. I am used to seeing close chases due to 7 years of watching IPL.
But what makes Kohli's knock amazing is that:
1. Sixes were taken off the table due to BIG grounds and pitch holding up
2. 10 rpo needed for 10 overs literally
3. No one smashing it from the other end (Dhoni in the end had a couple of boundaries but Kohli did everything)
4. He can't go on a suicide mission cos India would lose if he gets out (very likely)
Still Kohli nailed it with an over to spare without taking risks (except one Faulkner delivery).
I gave you an example of what happened to India when NZ tried it in 2000 finals. From 200-2, we went on to 264 in 12 overs in the death.
I am telling you.
This is a knock that I haven't seen anyone play.
Remove the compulsions and I can name 20-25 T20 knocks better than this if I take time digging them up.
Hope you get my point.
You don't have to agree but if you think about it, you will see where I am coming from.
Maybe even start seeing the greatness of this knock.
Its a knock above all.![]()
111 needed off 12 overs.
3 wickets down.
Wicket getting harder to play with the old ball stopping on batsmen.
Big ground which makes consistent six hitting ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE.
One man left.
Kohli.
13 runs off 11 balls.
He falls....India falls.
Knockout game.
He smashes the next 69 runs off 40 balls on this BLOODY TOUGH CHASE and makes his team win with almost an over to spare.
No slogging.
Pure calculated run chase with occasional hits over the fence.
Scientific batting if you will.
This is NOT ONLY the GREATEST T20 knock I have ever witnesses (taking into account pressure, conditions, match situation and ground size) but its a knock which I don't think could have been replicated by any of the other ATGs.
Viv couldn't have pulled this off. Not with the sluggish pitch for the old ball.
Sachin for sure wouldn't have pulled this off.
Ponting cannot.
ABD sure as hell cannot.
This is sheer jaw dropping batting.
A complete mastery of brains, skills and incredible running between the wickets.
Take a bow Kohli.![]()
No words can do justice to the greatness of this knock.
What are these compulsions you're talking about? Hussey's knock remains the best in chases while Samuels' knock is the best inn the 1st innings as well as overall, regardless of these 'compulsions' or whatever.
It was a great inning. But I would not call it the greatest T20 knock ever. In fact it is not even the greatest T20 knock of this 2016 T20 WC. Joe Root's knock is still the best T20 knock of this 2016 T20 WC.
Joe Root was chasing bigger target against way better bowlers than what Kohli did yesterday. I am fan of Kohli but I have to be just first.Joe Root had support from openers while kohli did it single-handedly. This is easily the best t20 knock of the tournament and one of the best of all time.
Joe Root was chasing bigger target against way better bowlers than what Kohli did yesterday. I am fan of Kohli but I have to be just first.![]()
Husseys is #1 no doubt about it, to do it against the #1 spinner and the sheet brutality of it, if I was Pakistani I would have felt violated!!
Pakistan have never really recovered from that slaughter in T20's since then, not even making it past the 1st round...
In fact I would put it in terms of impact and the jolt to psyche above Maindad's 6- took India 20 years to recover from there,hopefully the Pakistanis come out of it sooner
Thinking about it, I must say Hussey's is right up there with this.
That was a different kind of brilliance.
Crazy brutality vs controlled genius.
Now please don't change tunes.. you will eat humble pie.
How do you know ? It's your wild imagination about Pakistani psyche. Kuch bhi.
lol.....
bhai facts are in front of you, from being tigers in T20, your team has regressed to being meek kittens....dont say Hussey didnt land blow not only on Ajmal but on whole Pakistani cricket psyche, your bowlers have not been confident killing off games...
sacch bhai kadwa hota hai
You can correlate anything.. Pakistan has regressed because it has lost quality players like Ajmal due to ICC conspiracy. In the next WC Pak beat Australia easily.
Samules innings was batting first , no way can that be anywhere close to being best . The one Hussy played against Pak was a great innings though
Of course Hussey didn't have a "compulsion" to not hit sixes, did he ?
Yes but then you had the great Riaz, Steve Smith was showing his 3 wickets, but we all know it ended up the same way...
Scars take a long time to go....mentally this (Pakistan) team is shot against Australia or anyone in terms of closing a tight game since the Hussey slaughter
Even after I gave you a long explanation, you keep asking the same questions.
You have a differing viewpoint and that's fine.
No he didn't.
That was a high scoring pitch with ball coming on to the bat.
Ajmal's deliveries that he smashed hardly spun. Ball didn't grip on the surface.
What makes the knock amazing is that the REQUIREMENTS for him was too high. Over 15 runs per over needed for 3 overs. Plus only 3 wickets left.
Keep trying hard with logic and I will keep ripping them apart with ease.![]()
ha ha ha.. that was Monday and Kohli played on Sunday.. it is always difficult to hit on Sundays.
It was game set and match long time back.
Thank you for playing.
You didn't give an explanation, you gave me over-by-over commentary and just showed that Kohli scored ~30 runs in 2 overs of Faulkner and Coulter-Nile who are way inferior to the bowlers against whom Hussey scored 60(24) at 250 SR while chasing 192, especially scoring 22 of 4 balls against Ajmal to win the match.
Just like India won an odd game against Pak in the 90's, odd moment of brilliance from UA, would'nt read into itThen how did it beat Australia in the WC T20 2014 ?
With supreme logics like Viv could not have played this.. you surely won it.
Just like India won an odd game against Pak in the 90's, odd moment of brilliance from UA, would'nt read into it
What do people do when they have no words to say?
They clutch at straws.
Thank you for playing again.