The Helicopter shot!

Next what we will see a Taanga shot. :ijaz

What would you call this? :)))
<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/KTyE-Olb12s" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Played some bullet helicopters tonight. I will add this shot to my favorites list. Looks brilliant !

138019.jpg

Makes it look outrageously easy, the power generated is immense. It really is.

I like how he takes his helmet off like some kind of tough guy on pitches where the ball isn't even threatening to bounce above shin height.

It really has to be one of the most exciting shots going around

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="360" src="http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/xlozkr"></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xlozkr_i-e-odi1-to-divx-clip0_creation" target="_blank">i e odi1_to_DivX_clip0</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/Adshah" target="_blank">Adshah</a></i>

Check out the Helicopters @ 6:33 ad 7:04 :19:

I really didnt thought too mch about the shot, be it resulting in a four or a six.. but one shot played by Dhoni tonight was really astounding.
The way he was fully back in the crease and got the ball sailing over for a six.. it was just something to behold.

I'd rather watch Graeme Smith and Neil McKenzie's million hour stand at Lord's in 2008 tbh.

What would you call this? :)))
<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/KTyE-Olb12s" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hahahaha....straight out of the coaching manual..:murali

I really would. Graeme Smith's ungainly leg glance and McKenzie's leave is far more pleasing on my eyes than this Dhoni shot which has the grace of conjoined horses attempting a cartwheel.

Played some bullet helicopters tonight. I will add this shot to my favorites list. Looks brilliant !

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/LE1nP1TV-5s" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/0YoZJOCN2GU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Just Helicopted Lasith Mallinga for six ! :O

:bow: :bow:
Long live The Helicopter.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/uUk1Lss2as8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

AMAZING SHOT, the off balance shot by Bravo was also quite special. Sachin can only dream about playing that shot at this age, Dhoni WHADAPLAYA!!!!

The Sachin bit was quite unnecessary. He does play that shot actually.

#2011 IPL

Dhoni's Unique Helicopter Shots

Was just checking out Dhoni's unique ability to play this incredible Helicopter shot to 150 km/hr yorkers and smash the ball for six. I doubt anybody on earth has this sort of talent to do it. He would have smashed even Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib's yorkers for sixes with the talent he has. India has really been lucky to have had a glorious decade of batting riches. Just look at these shots.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGFSvVU7QkU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MTZVzkx2s4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ar2Ho1XaZD8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bn9NS5cZXho

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nR57JtN_So

Those are just flick of the wrists with elaborated follow through..

Good shots but seriously didn't need to give it a separate name..

They don't merely look like elaborate follow throughs to me, Dhoni seems to generate additional power through those movements. It is not often you see a simple effortless flick shot go for a six. ( and some of them are huge ones). Dhoni has wrists of steel, for sure.

Nice shots, but I hope i'm not the only one noticing that none of those balls were yorkers.

I see the Afghani wicket-keeper replicated it today when Dhoni was standing behind. :yk

I am Dhoni’s biggest fan, and I love the way he bats. I try and copy the shots that he plays and have practiced the helicopter shot at the nets,” Shahzad says. At first, apparently, it wasn’t easy to dig a blockhole ball out, let alone hammer it for a six. “I was missing everything, it’s a very difficult shot to play. But I kept persisting till the time I mastered the shot. Inshallah, you will see me hitting the helicopter shot in the match against India. And hopefully Dhoni will like it too.”

“My team mates often say that the only thing that I did not copy from Dhoni was his hairstyle

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/afghan-ms-dhoni-lays-claim-to-helicopter-shot-too/1003474/2

Before the game.

Now there are two people who can play this shot and both have nick name as M.S. lol.

Mohammad Shahzad claimed it, he did it:19:! The reaction of MS Dhoni was quite funny too:)).

UV's helicopter shot ......:D

actually not a sort of Helicopter shot i called it super flick .....and look at the timing it is on yorker .....

sorry for poor graphics ..

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/fabIAHMgtTI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

If you wanna watch nuclear wrist flicks on the leg side watch Saeed Anwar my friend! I'm also particularly good at this shot but the ball has to be a horrible one... over pitched and on leg (I wish Sami bowled to me) :D

Also, on sachin vs msd helicopter... sachin's just looks horrible and goes for just 1. MSD's looks horrible but goes for SIX! Plus he personalized it. Every shot has been played before, but we just remember those who make it their own. Verdict: Helicopter Shot belongs to MSD

The helicopter shot

First introduced into international cricket by MSD, I haven't seen anyone play this until yesterday when Mohammad Sehzad, from Afghanistan, did MSD.

There has been other shots like the switch hit, reverse sweep and the Dil scoop, upper cut, which many players have mastered. However the helicopter shot still is the patent of MSD.

Sehzad ... Welcome to the helicoptor club !!!!

Hamari thodi bahut dosti bhi ho gayi hai. Dhoni is not just a great player, but he’s a great human being also. He took time to speak to me after the awards ceremony,” says the Afghani. “He was keen to know our story, of how we had come up from Division Five to this elite stage and the situation back home.”

But did he have any questions for Dhoni? “Yes, I asked him how he manages to look so casual while doing something as taxing as keeping wickets. He said, “That’s just my body language. I care deeply about it.” One can be rest assured that when India playes Afghanistan, whether or not the helicopters connect, the ‘casualness’ of Dhoni’s keeping style will surely have an echo when Afghanistan takes the field.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/afghan-ms-dhoni-lays-claim-to-helicopter-shot-too/1003474/2

A list of international matches in which MS Dhoni hit sixes with the helicopter shot

Had to rely heavily on my memory to compile this list, and thus could probably have missed out on a six or two, even though given how much I have followed MS Dhoni´s career, I am pretty sure that this list is hundred percent right.

*Note: Fours/boundaries hit are not included. Also, the sixes´ list is from the international matches only.*

Third ODI versus England in 2005 (the first one) - off James Anderson:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/238190.html

Fourth ODI versus the West Indies in 2007 (he hit two sixes with the helicopter shot in this match) - off Rayad Emrit:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/267709.html

First ODI versus England in 2011 - off Steven Finn:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-england-2011/engine/match/521218.html

Third ODI versus Australia in 2013 - off James Faulkner:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-australia-2013-14/engine/match/647253.html

Seventh ODI versus Australia in 2013 - off Clint McKay:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-australia-2013-14/engine/current/match/647261.html

Total number of international sixes hit with the helicopter shot: Six.

Ball went 102 meters and it went out of the ground in Bangalore. I saw it live and I couldn't believe my eyes that one could generate so much power with his wrists..jharhand ka munda.he he..

Don't know how he does it. One heck of a shot that. Never seen him mistime one either. Just hits it out of the park like he's doing it for fun. Amazing! One of a kind.

Well, Mohammad Shahzad of Afghanistan just hit a six with one unbelievable helicopter shot some 30 minutes ago (against Hong Kong). What a sight it was:bow::14:!

A true fan of MS Dhoni :msd.

UV's helicopter shot ......:D

actually not a sort of Helicopter shot i called it super flick .....and look at the timing it is on yorker .....

sorry for poor graphics ..

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/fabIAHMgtTI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Outrageously talented lad!!

Here is the first helicopter shot.. by Azhar..
Helicopter shot BUT WITH ELEGANCE. Check
out the third Ball of the over
[utube]tbLWaPaeL6k[/utube]

Sent from my HTC Wildfire S A510e using Tapatalk 2

Pandya hits the most electrifying helicopter shot along the current players.

His helicopter 6 to Bravo tonight was mind blowing!