The Indian migrant workers crisis during the Coronavirus Pandemic

After Partition, India’s first Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru regularly visited refugee camps. In one of the camps a woman once caught hold of his collar and screamed, “What did I get out of independence?”

Pandit Ji is said to have replied gently, “The freedom to catch your Prime Minister by his neck and shake him for answers.”

But 72 years later, migrant workers cannot catch even a lowly official or a minister by his collar.

Millions of migrant workers, some with wives and children, lost their livelihood overnight because of the lockdown and for no fault of theirs. When the lockdown was not lifted after 21 days, as promised by the Prime Minister, some of them lost hope and clashed with the police.

Others stoically decided to brave the second lockdown of 18 more days. Many more lost their patience and savings when the lockdown was still not lifted. They decided to hit the road, sell what they had to pay for travel and defied the lockdown and began to walk. Who can possibly blame them?

The Prime Minister and his cabinet colleagues did not think it necessary to meet the migrant workers. Even the health minister has not been seen visiting too many hospitals or doctors. He, like the PM and other cabinet colleagues, have been content to take part in video conferences. The Prime Minister in his four televised addresses to the nation has not spared even a word for millions on the road.

But Prime Minister Modi is loath to allow his designer clothes to be soiled. And when Rahul Gandhi sat down on the pavement to listen to passing migrants, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman , who famously had not cared to listen to a kidney transplant patient who had lost all his savings when the Punjab and Maharashtra Co-operative (PMC) Bank went down, described the act as drama. Rahul Gandhi, she suggested, should instead have carried their suitcase on his head and walked with them if he wanted to listen to them.

India lost its soul and moral compass during this Corona crisis. The union government and large sections of the rich and the privileged exposed themselves as uncaring, people with no heart and petty minds. Most rich industrialists did not bother to pay their workers through the first and second phases of the lockdown. Some rubbed salt by announcing that they voluntarily would be taking home 30% less than their annual pay packet of Rupees 15 Crore and more.

When pressure mounted and the Government finally relented and decided to allow special trains to take migrant workers back home, some state governments actually cancelled trains and withdrew requisition for trains. Builders had convinced the Karnataka Chief Minister that construction activities would suffer in the absence of construction workers. It was necessary to detain the workers, the builders’ lobby argued. BJP’s Bangalore South MP Tejaswi Surya described the cancellation of trains as a brilliant move and claimed it would help workers fulfil their dream.

The Coronavirus crisis has brought out the best and the worst in people. But the very worst has been the government’s response. The declaration of a nationwide lockdown with just four hours’ notice without thinking through the consequences was a mistake. Allowing the Home Ministry to supervise the lockdown, instead of Health, and treating the pandemic as a law and order issue was another.

Persistent confusion over standard operating procedures, protocols and benchmark facilities allowed wildly varying conditions in quarantine centres and isolation wards.

With no clarity on OPDs, private hospitals stopped admitting non-Covid patients and insisted on ‘Corona negative certificates’ before admitting them. Similar confusion dogged testing and monitoring. For several weeks the government pretended that the contact tracing app Arogya Setu alone could ensure safety and tried to make it mandatory. Similar confusion about who would pay the train fare of the stranded workers led to workers selling their mobile phones to buy bicycles. The fare itself was arbitrary.

Return of the migrant workers to their home state is clearly not the end of their trouble. Their home states are in no position to ensure gainful employment, which made them leave in the first place. But the large, BJP-ruled states like UP, MP and Gujarat have made their intention to change labour laws to the dis advantage of the workers.

Privatising PSUs, allowing greater foreign participation and diluting labour laws are medium and long term steps that may or may not work out. But in the short run there is little for the workers to look forward to.

If the workers decide against returning to the southern and western states, they might find wheels of industry grinding to a halt. Levels of education and prosperity in these states is such that not many native residents would be interested in taking up the blue collar jobs left behind by the migrant workers.

The workers in turn are unlikely to easily forget that they were abandoned by their employers and the state to their fate and their own meagre resources. They are unlikely to forgive either. In ‘New’ India, they have been left to fend for themselves. They will now look out for themselves. We, the more privileged people of India, deserve that slap on our faces.

https://www.nationalheraldindia.com...forget-nor-forgive-the-hunger-and-humiliation

Bollywood actor Sonu Sood has been helping thousands of migrant workers, stranded in Mumbai due to the Covid-19 lockdown, return home. He is the first B-town celebrity to arrange hundreds of buses and food for daily wage workers amid the lockdown. In an interview with Outlook’s Lachimi Deb Roy, Sood says he will not rest until every migrant worker reaches home safely.

Excerpts:

Tell us a little bit about your decision to help migrants reach home.

Initially, I didn’t have any idea about how to make arrangements to send migrant labourers home. I just saw visuals of hundreds of migrants walking down the highways with their families… the elderly people who could hardly walk, some of them being carried on shoulders. These visuals haunted me. Their faces would appear in front of me every time I would close my eyes.

I thought how could we be so ungrateful to the people who built our homes, our roads. In fact, they are the ones who run the whole country. They are the real heartbeat of the nation. So, how can we let them walk on the roads and just ignore it thinking that if it is not affecting me, why should I bother. So, I spoke to a few migrant labourers and requested them to give me one or two days so that I can get all permissions to send them back home. I assured them that I will make their journey back home as peaceful as possible.

How did you make all the arrangements?

My first step was to connect with government officials, and that’s the time when I sent the first 350 migrants to Karnataka. When I was bidding them goodbye, I was moved to see the smile on their faces and tears in their eyes. I felt that these are the only 350 migrant labourers who have reached home, but there may be millions more who are struggling to reach to their villages. So, I started connecting with a lot of government offices in UP, Bihar and Jharkhand. Finally, I was able to send few more batches of migrant labourers to their homes safely. And as we are talking now, 12,000 people have already reached their native places. I have already made arrangements for another 45,000 workers. I think I was blessed by the Almighty to carry on this task of helping them reach their homes peacefully.

Since crossing the state borders involves several logistic issues, I started speaking with government officials. I told labourers not to lose their faith in the system and to trust me. I made arrangements for their stay and told them not to walk on the highways in this scorching heat. I feel the trust factor is very important to win their hearts.

Who are the people who helped you out in your mission?

I started on my own and slowly there were people willing to help me out. A childhood friend of mine, Neeti Goel, supported me in the ‘Ghar Bhejo’ campaign. We both were running around, making arrangements with the government officials, and arranging for buses, food and stay of labourers. I am glad that I could convince all the migrants that I could take the responsibility of sending them home safely. I am happy that I could speak to the government officials and I could put all these things together.

What arrangement did you make for their food?

To make their journey back home comfortable, we are also making arrangement for their food and water. We are preparing boxes of fruits and dry snacks so that they don’t feel hungry or thirsty during the journey. During this pandemic, we feed almost 45,000 people almost every single day so that their wait is less painful.

I started with the job of sending migrants back home the day lockdown started, and I will not end this task till the last migrant reaches home. We are working day and night to reach out to everyone so that all of them can reunite with their families.

Do the migrants try to get in touch with you after they reach home?

When they reach home, they always call me and make me speak to their families. They send a lot of messages, voice notes. That makes me feel happy. Initially, I used to get sleepless nights to see how eager and desperate they are to reunite with their families. Every day, for about 20-21 hours, I am speaking to them to plan for them to reach home. This is my only job now. I try and reach out to every single call that I get from these migrants. I feel extremely happy to see their pictures they send when they reach home.

There are many logistic issues involved. How you are handling it?

True, there is logistic that is involved in this task and I had to take a lot of permissions. I am glad that I was able to take those. But as I mentioned, this is just the beginning of the journey. There are millions of migrants who are stuck, but I will not stop at this. I will continue to do my duty till the last migrant reaches home. Now, I feel this is my duty, my job, my responsibility and I have to make this happen.

You are doing a fantastic job. How do you feel at the end of the day?

This mission is very close to my heart and I am emotionally connected to every single migrant who gets in touch with me. I won’t let them lose their trust in humanity and the system. The best part of this duty is that I get a good sleep no matter how many hours. It is true that I too get sleepless nights because in the middle of the night I get up to check messages on social media or mail to see if anybody needs my help. I keep telling myself that there are many more people still waiting on the roads and I guess I will be able to complete with my full quota of sleep only when I am able to send all of them back home.

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...he-last-migrant-reaches-home-sonu-sood/353468

Great story and a greater man! He really did make a difference to many people who were left helpless by the Indian government. I hope his actions will be formally recognised.

How Sonu Sood Replies to Migrant Workers on Twitter Deserves Whole New Round of Appreciation
Sending migrant workers to their homes is a big noble gesture by Sonu Sood but how he assures them in tweets that they are definitely going home is truly heartening.

Actor Sonu Sood has won millions of hearts by helping the migrant workers reach their homes in the time when the government and other official authorities failed to care at this wide level. The actor began his Ghar Bhejo initiative in May and has so far sent over 1000 workers from Mumbai to their homes in various states including Karnataka, Maharashtra, UP and Bihar. Trending hashtags are being curated on his name and he’s constantly receiving the blessings and the good wishes of people from all across the country. While Sonu’s noble gesture is worth appreciating, the way he interacts with workers asking them to not worry anymore seems even more heartening. The actor replies to people on Twiter with as much grit and kindness as possible. Also Read - Smriti Irani Praises Sonu Sood For Helping Migrant Workers, Says 'Your Kindness Makes me Feel Proud'

When a labourer tweeted to him saying he would just like to be sent to his home state and he would cover the rest of the way to his home by foot, Sonu said ‘Paidal kyu jaoge dost? Number bhejo‘. A worker who wished to be with his mother during Eid was assured by Sonu that he should let his mother know he’s celebrating the festival with her. Another Twitter user shared a list of people who don’t use a smartphone and can’t tweet themselves for help. Sonu told the man to let all know that their message has been received and they are all going home. Also Read - Sonu Sood Trends on Twitter as People Thank Him For Being The Messiah For Migrant Workers

‘Consider it done’, ‘It’s done’, ‘Don’t worry, you will be home tomorrow’, ‘I am going to make you meet your parents tomorrow’, ‘your home is calling you’, ‘just send the details’ – Sonu’s Twitter timeline is filled with confident responses that keep your faith in humanity still alive and assure the workers that half of their journey to home is completed

https://www.india.com/entertainment...erve-whole-new-round-of-appreciation-4038817/

'She saved me' - daughter's epic cycle ride for father

Injured, jobless and unable to get home, Mohan Paswan feared he might starve after India announced its nationwide lockdown in March.

The auto-rickshaw driver had been recovering from an accident in Gurugram, a suburb of New Delhi but, with no income, he soon ran out of money to buy food and medicines.

But his 15-year-old daughter Jyoti Kumari had a plan - and the determination to pull it off.

With her disabled father on the back of her bike, Jyoti cycled 1,200km (745 miles) in just over a week to their village in eastern India.

Before the journey, which has earned Jyoti international praise, Mohan was sceptical the eighth-grade student would be able to manage the trip.

“But she convinced me. I’m so proud of her. She saved me. We would have died of hunger in Gurugram,” Mohan said.

Jyoti and Mohan are just two of thousands of Indians who have been trying to get home since lockdown restrictions were imposed, leaving many migrant workers stranded, unemployed and penniless.

Two Indian women go into labour on migrant trains

Two women in India went into labour while returning to their homes on two separate trains organised for migrant workers on Sunday.

Both trains were headed to Odisha state. In one case, the woman reported labour pains, prompting officials to halt the train at the closest station, where she gave birth with the help of the railway's medical officer.

Both mother and baby are in a stable condition, officials told Indian media.

In the second case, officials stopped the train and a police vehicle rushed to the spot. The woman gave birth in the vehicle itself, Odisha's director general of police tweeted.

In the coverage it seems as if these people are from different country and it turns out they’re actually Indians

In India we know the difference between those who walk barefoot and those who fly.

As flights restarted in India today after two months because of the coronavirus lockdown, a little boy in Bengaluru airport carrying a "special category" placard was among the most heartwarming sights of the day.
Five-year-old Vihaan Sharma travelled alone from Delhi and walked into the arms of his overjoyed mother at Bengaluru's Kempegowda International Airport. He travelled as a special category passenger.

"My five-year-old son Vihaan has travelled alone from Delhi, he has come back to Bengaluru after three months," his mother Manjeesh Sharma told news agency ANI, holding Vihaan, dressed in all-yellow with a matching mask and blue gloves.

Bengaluru airport tweeted: "Welcome home, Vihaan! #BLRairport is constantly working towards enabling the safe return of all our passengers."

SOURCE

The migrant crisis in India has been a crisis at a very large scale. Imagine being a migrant worker in the city and the city closes down overnight where the Government has neither given enough lag time for you to travel back to your town neither given you the means needed for your travelling. This was and still is the case for plenty of migrant workers across India.

Some reads on this topic that would help grasp the scale of this crisis
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-52360757
https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/29/world/asia/coronavirus-india-migrants.html
https://www.washingtonpost.com/worl...5f3c34-97d3-11ea-87a3-22d324235636_story.html

The sad part in here is that this crisis didn't get much coverage in India itself. The right wing media outlets did not highlight this crisis as the subject matter in their discussion whilst some renowned media channels did point it out like NDTV they end up facing the wrath of trolls.

Indian states witnessing millions of migrant labourers returning from the big cities are recording rising coronavirus infections, officials said on Tuesday, fearing that the pandemic could spread through villages where medical care is basic at best.

Officials from the home and railway ministries said at least 4.5 million workers had migrated home from economic hubs in the two months since prime minister Narendra Modi declared a lockdown.

On Tuesday, India had recorded a total 145,380 infections and a death toll of 4,167, low figures for the world’s second-most populous country when compared with some countries in Europe.

But the eastern state of Bihar registered more than 160 infections on Monday, its highest one-day rise, taking its tally to more than 2,700 cases. In the past 36 hours, more than 75 people tested positive in Odisha and 35 in three isolation homes in the desert state of Rajasthan.

The latest cases have forced authorities to stretch limited testing resources.

“Dozens of labourers who travelled from New Delhi have tested positive. We are ensuring that no one enters their village with this infection,” said Gaurav Sinha, a senior health official in Bihar’s capital, Patna.

Source Reuters

Bollywood actor Sonu Sood has been helping thousands of migrant workers, stranded in Mumbai due to the Covid-19 lockdown, return home. He is the first B-town celebrity to arrange hundreds of buses and food for daily wage workers amid the lockdown. In an interview with Outlook’s Lachimi Deb Roy, Sood says he will not rest until every migrant worker reaches home safely.

Excerpts:

Tell us a little bit about your decision to help migrants reach home.

Initially, I didn’t have any idea about how to make arrangements to send migrant labourers home. I just saw visuals of hundreds of migrants walking down the highways with their families… the elderly people who could hardly walk, some of them being carried on shoulders. These visuals haunted me. Their faces would appear in front of me every time I would close my eyes.

I thought how could we be so ungrateful to the people who built our homes, our roads. In fact, they are the ones who run the whole country. They are the real heartbeat of the nation. So, how can we let them walk on the roads and just ignore it thinking that if it is not affecting me, why should I bother. So, I spoke to a few migrant labourers and requested them to give me one or two days so that I can get all permissions to send them back home. I assured them that I will make their journey back home as peaceful as possible.

How did you make all the arrangements?

My first step was to connect with government officials, and that’s the time when I sent the first 350 migrants to Karnataka. When I was bidding them goodbye, I was moved to see the smile on their faces and tears in their eyes. I felt that these are the only 350 migrant labourers who have reached home, but there may be millions more who are struggling to reach to their villages. So, I started connecting with a lot of government offices in UP, Bihar and Jharkhand. Finally, I was able to send few more batches of migrant labourers to their homes safely. And as we are talking now, 12,000 people have already reached their native places. I have already made arrangements for another 45,000 workers. I think I was blessed by the Almighty to carry on this task of helping them reach their homes peacefully.

Since crossing the state borders involves several logistic issues, I started speaking with government officials. I told labourers not to lose their faith in the system and to trust me. I made arrangements for their stay and told them not to walk on the highways in this scorching heat. I feel the trust factor is very important to win their hearts.

Who are the people who helped you out in your mission?

I started on my own and slowly there were people willing to help me out. A childhood friend of mine, Neeti Goel, supported me in the ‘Ghar Bhejo’ campaign. We both were running around, making arrangements with the government officials, and arranging for buses, food and stay of labourers. I am glad that I could convince all the migrants that I could take the responsibility of sending them home safely. I am happy that I could speak to the government officials and I could put all these things together.

What arrangement did you make for their food?

To make their journey back home comfortable, we are also making arrangement for their food and water. We are preparing boxes of fruits and dry snacks so that they don’t feel hungry or thirsty during the journey. During this pandemic, we feed almost 45,000 people almost every single day so that their wait is less painful.

I started with the job of sending migrants back home the day lockdown started, and I will not end this task till the last migrant reaches home. We are working day and night to reach out to everyone so that all of them can reunite with their families.

Do the migrants try to get in touch with you after they reach home?

When they reach home, they always call me and make me speak to their families. They send a lot of messages, voice notes. That makes me feel happy. Initially, I used to get sleepless nights to see how eager and desperate they are to reunite with their families. Every day, for about 20-21 hours, I am speaking to them to plan for them to reach home. This is my only job now. I try and reach out to every single call that I get from these migrants. I feel extremely happy to see their pictures they send when they reach home.

There are many logistic issues involved. How you are handling it?

True, there is logistic that is involved in this task and I had to take a lot of permissions. I am glad that I was able to take those. But as I mentioned, this is just the beginning of the journey. There are millions of migrants who are stuck, but I will not stop at this. I will continue to do my duty till the last migrant reaches home. Now, I feel this is my duty, my job, my responsibility and I have to make this happen.

You are doing a fantastic job. How do you feel at the end of the day?

This mission is very close to my heart and I am emotionally connected to every single migrant who gets in touch with me. I won’t let them lose their trust in humanity and the system. The best part of this duty is that I get a good sleep no matter how many hours. It is true that I too get sleepless nights because in the middle of the night I get up to check messages on social media or mail to see if anybody needs my help. I keep telling myself that there are many more people still waiting on the roads and I guess I will be able to complete with my full quota of sleep only when I am able to send all of them back home.

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...he-last-migrant-reaches-home-sonu-sood/353468

Great story and it restores faith in humanity. Well done Sonu you are a real star.

In the coverage it seems as if these people are from different country and it turns out they’re actually Indians

No, they are just poor. In both Ind and PK the poor are sub human, they lose all their humanity because they don't have the cash.

'She saved me' - daughter's epic cycle ride for father

Injured, jobless and unable to get home, Mohan Paswan feared he might starve after India announced its nationwide lockdown in March.

The auto-rickshaw driver had been recovering from an accident in Gurugram, a suburb of New Delhi but, with no income, he soon ran out of money to buy food and medicines.

But his 15-year-old daughter Jyoti Kumari had a plan - and the determination to pull it off.

With her disabled father on the back of her bike, Jyoti cycled 1,200km (745 miles) in just over a week to their village in eastern India.

Before the journey, which has earned Jyoti international praise, Mohan was sceptical the eighth-grade student would be able to manage the trip.

“But she convinced me. I’m so proud of her. She saved me. We would have died of hunger in Gurugram,” Mohan said.

Jyoti and Mohan are just two of thousands of Indians who have been trying to get home since lockdown restrictions were imposed, leaving many migrant workers stranded, unemployed and penniless.

It's these stories that want to make you cry.

coronawatch-x1280.jpg

The nationwide tally of Covid-19 cases crossed 1.45 lakh on Tuesday with states like Bihar, West Bengal, Assam and Odisha reporting a significant rise in their numbers amid the large-scale return of migrant workers from other states.

The numbers also rose further in the worst-hit states including Maharashtra, Gujarat and Tamil Nadu, while Delhi, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh, among other states and union territories, also reported more new cases.

Indian Railways has ferried over 44 lakh migrant workers on board 3,276 'Shramik Special' trains since May 1. According to Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Puri, an additional 41,673 people had traveled to their home states via flights till 5 pm on Tuesday.

To control the fresh spike in cases created by the mass movement, several states on Tuesday announced mandatory institutional quarantine on arrival for all.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court directed the central and state government to immediately provide adequate transport arrangements, food and shelters free of cost to migrant labourers stranded across the country due to the Covid-19 lockdown.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi said that the Modi government failed in controlling Covid-19 outbreak through the nationwide lockdown. The Congress leader asked the Centre to share it's Plan B to contain the pandemic.

Nationwide tally breaches 1.45 lakh cases

In its latest update, the ministry said the Covid-19 death toll has risen to 4,167 and the number of cases has climbed to 1,45,380 in the country, registering an increase of 146 deaths and 6,535 cases since Monday 8 AM. It put the number of active cases at more than 80,000 and recoveries at over 60,000.

The Union Health Ministry, however, said the recovery rate for COVID-19 cases in the country has seen an upwards trend and is better than many other countries, while the fatality has fallen further.

At a press briefing, Health Ministry Joint Secretary Lav Agarwal said, "The recovery rate in the country continues to improve and is presently 41.61 per cent. The COVID-19 fatality rate has reduced from 3.3 per cent on April 15 to 2.87 per cent which is among the lowest in the world."

India is now among the ten worst-hit countries by the novel coronavirus and several experts have attributed the surge in cases to easing of travel restrictions and movement of migrants besides enhanced testing capacity.

The coronavirus death toll in Delhi itself has mounted to 288, while 412 fresh cases of COVID-19 infection were reported during the day, taking the virus tally in the city to 14,465.

In West Bengal, the tally crossed the 4,000-mark with 193 more people testing positive for the disease. Besides, at least five persons have died due to the infection in the last 24 hours, taking the death toll in the state to 211.

Assam also reported 47 new cases, taking its total to 595.

In Kerala, 67 new cases were reported, the highest single-day spike so far. The total Covid tally in the state has touched 963 with 415 presently under treatment and over 1.4 lakh under observation.

Tamil Nadu saw its tally of confirmed cases rising to 17,728 and the death toll to 127.

According to AIIMS Director, Randeep Guleria, the present rise in cases has been reported predominantly from hotspot areas but there is a possibility of further rise in the number of COVID-19 cases in the coming few days due to increased travel.

"Those who are asymptomatic or are in a pre-symptomatic stage will pass through screening mechanisms and may reach areas where there have been minimal or less cases," Guleria said.

He said there was a need for more intense surveillance and monitoring in areas where migrants have returned to contain the spread of the disease.

The Union health ministry suggested to the five states - Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh- reporting a surge in COVID-19 cases over the last three weeks to analyse the trends in containment zones and adopt course correction measures through proper implementation of micro-plans.

Fresh spike in cases due to migrant movement

Several states have been attributing the increase in their tallies to the arrival of people from outside in special trains, being run since May 1 to ferry migrant workers to their native places, and special international flights that began on May 1 to bring back stranded Indians and expatriates from abroad. Besides, domestic flights have also begun since Monday in a phased manner.

During a review meeting on the COVID-19 situation in Odisha, which saw its tally rising to 1,517 with 79 new cases, CM Naveen Patnaik said a new strategy would be needed to deal with the pandemic.

"With flight and train services having been restored, the next 15 to 30 days will be challenging, but I am sure we will be able to handle it all in a professional manner," he said.

More than three lakh people have returned to the state in Shramik Special trains and buses in a span of just 24 days.

Some experts flagged there is a need for more intense surveillance and monitoring in areas where migrants have returned to contain the outbreak.

Commenting on the partial resumption of rail and road transport services and migrants returning to their native places, Dr Chandrakant S Pandav, former president of the Indian Public Health Association and Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine, said the floodgates have been opened.

"This is a classic case of creating an enabling environment for coronavirus to spread like wildfire. In the coming few days, the number will rise dramatically. While it is true that lockdown cannot go on forever, the opening up should have been in a measured, calibrated and informed manner," he said.

Overall, Indian Railways has ferried over 44 lakh migrant workers on board 3,276 'Shramik Special' trains since May 1, according to official data.

The maximum number of these trains have originated from Gujarat, Maharashtra, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Delhi, while the highest number of those have terminated in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha and Madhya Pradesh.

The Delhi government has sent around 2.41 lakh people back to their home states in 196 trains since May 7, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia said on Tuesday. Of these, nearly 1.25 lakh people were sent to Bihar, 96,610 to Uttar Pradesh, 3,000 to Jharkhand, 2,500 to West Bengal and 2,100 to Madhya Pradesh.

Also read | No major side-effects of HCQ: ICMR recommends its use under 'strict medical supervision'

Over 40 thousand passengers return home via flights

Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Puri said that at least 41,673 passengers had returned to their home states by 5 pm on Tuesday - day 2 of flight operations in India since the lockdown on March 25.

Hardeep Puri said that airports in India handled 325 departures and 283 arrivals by Tuesday evening.

Even as the minister claimed smooth operations on the airports, a case of Covid-19 among passengers on a flight to Coimbatore had set off the alarm bells. A doctor, who travelled on Chennai-Coimbatore Indigo flight Monday, later tested positive for novel coronavirus. The doctor has been shifted to ESI Hospital for treatment and flight staff has been grounded for 14 days, while the airlines is tracing everyone who was on the flight with the doctor.

Also read | Hotel quarantine for foreign returnees only for 7 days, can't charge more: MHA to states

States toughens quarantine rules for returnees

Several states have decided to toughen up the quarantine rules for people returning from various parts of the country via trains and flights. The Assam government has decided that home-quarantine will not be allowed to people coming from outside and they will be sent for institutional-quarantine, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary said Tuesday, as the number of coronavirus cases rose by 95 to reach 643.

ADVERTISEMENT

He said the state Cabinet stressed the need for strict quarantine of people coming from outside.

A meeting of the Council of Ministers, chaired by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, decided that quarantine norms would be strictly enforced in view of the spike in the number of positive cases in Assam, Patowary said after the meeting.

It was decided that people coming from outside will be sent for institutional-quarantine and no home-quarantine will be allowed, he said.

Rahul Gandhi terms lockdown failure

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi said the four phases of the nationwide lockdown have "failed" and not given the results that Prime Minister Narendra Modi expected.

Addressing an online press conference, he urged the Centre to spell out its strategy for "opening up" the country and expressed concern that India is the only country which is relaxing the lockdown when the virus is "exponentially rising". Watch Video

The ruling BJP, however, said the doubling rate of coronavirus infection has fallen to 13 days from three before the lockdown and called it a "success" of India.

BJP leader and Union minister Prakash Javadekar said the Modi government's decision to impose the lockdown has ensured that India suffered much less than countries like the US, France and Spain. He took a swipe at the Congress, saying it is doing politics at a time when the nation is fighting the COVID-19 pandemic.

GDP likely to decline by 5 per cent

Many experts have warned that the return of migrant workers to their native places may create a huge labour shortage and further hit the economy, which is facing a deep recession due to the pandemic and restrictions related to the nationwide lockdown, in force since March 25.

Rating agency CRISIL predicted a GDP decline of 5 per cent for the current fiscal and a staggering 25 per cent contraction in the current quarter (April-June 2020).

"About 10 per cent of the gross domestic product (GDP) in real terms could be permanently lost. So going back to the growth rates seen before the pandemic is unlikely in the next three fiscals," it said.

Also read | Coronavirus: India facing its worst recession in current fiscal, says Crisil

SC asks Centre, states to provide free food, shelter to migrant labourers

Taking cognizance of the "unfortunate and miserable" plight of the migrant labourers stranded across the country due to the COVID-19 lockdown, the Supreme Court Tuesday said they need "succour and help by the concerned governments" with regard to free food and shelter.

“The adequate transport arrangement, food and shelters are immediately to be provided by the Centre and State Governments free of costs,” the top court said.

Although the Centre and states have taken measures to provide them relief, there have been “inadequacies and certain lapses”, said the Supreme Court which took the suo motu (on its own) cognizance of the situation.

Referring to various media reports showing the “unfortunate and miserable conditions” of migrant labourers walking on-foot and cycles from long distances, the top court issued notices to the Centre, states and Union Territories and sought their replies by May 28.

Chargesheet filed against 82 Tablighis from foriegn countries

The Delhi Police filed before a court here on Tuesday charge sheets against 82 foreign nationals from 20 countries attending Markaz at Nizamuddin in national capital by violating visa conditions, indulging in missionary activities illegally and violating government guidelines, issued in the wake of Covid-19 outbreak in the country.

The police have filed 20 charge sheets against the foreigners belonging to 20 different countries and Metropolitan Magistrate Saema Jamil has put up the matter for consideration of the charge sheet on June 12.

According to the charge sheet, four of the accused were from Afghanistan, seven each from Brazil and China, five from US, two from Australia, Kajahstan, Morocco, UK, one each from Ukraine, Egypt, Russia, Jordan, France, Tunisia, Belgium, eight from Algeria, 10 from Saudi Arabia, 14 from Fiji and six each from Sudan and Philippines.

Police said that the foreign nationals violated government guidelines issued in the wake of Covid-19 pandemic and regulations regarding Epidemic diseases Act, Disaster Management Act and prohibitory orders under section 144 of Code of Criminal Procedure.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...-death-toll-migrant-crisis-1682254-2020-05-26

why is the deaths-to-cases ratio so high in Gujrat?

also in the US positive-tests/total-tests percentage is at 13% whereas in India it is at under 5%.

Now it could be several reasons:

1) Higher Testing in India. Highly Unlikely because until a few weeks ago India had one of the lowest testing rates in the world

2) The strain in India is weaker so not transmitting as quickly

3) Majority of the tests being conducted are of those already needing to come to hospitals with symptoms so testing bias.

From what I understand. India had one of the strictest lockdown in the developing world. Social distancing rules were mostly broken by migrants who do not form the a significant percentage of the tested numbers for India.

I also dont know how to read this tbh. Has it been controlled and it would have been much worse if no lockdown or is this still very bad? The rate of increase is certainly worrying and in line with Pakistan where the lockdown for many regions was a joke and now there is hardly a lockdown anyway.

Kerala and Punjab as states seem to have done well.

Kerala esp as their testing and coronavirus numbers were high up from the start. Punjab might just be low testing who knows.

Well india is a country of many nations. They're from different nations within India.

also in the US positive-tests/total-tests percentage is at 13% whereas in India it is at under 5%.

Now it could be several reasons:

1) Higher Testing in India. Highly Unlikely because until a few weeks ago India had one of the lowest testing rates in the world

2) The strain in India is weaker so not transmitting as quickly

3) Majority of the tests being conducted are of those already needing to come to hospitals with symptoms so testing bias.

3 would lead to a higher percentage in India

Its a difficult situation to deal with. We could have prepared better. But that's the way it is with the world at the moment.
The government is trying its best to manage the impossibility of it. Sometimes it may simply not be manageable.

Baby Tries To Wake Dead Mother At Station In Unending Migrant Crisis

Patna: A baby plays with a shroud covering its dead mother at a station in Bihar, in one of the most tragic visuals to emerge from the daily reports of migrants stranded by the coronavirus lockdown.

In the clip widely shared on social media, the toddler tugs at the cloth placed over his mother's body. The cloth comes off but his mother doesn't move; she had died of extreme heat, hunger and dehydration moments before.

The clip is from a station in Muzaffarpur in Bihar, where the 23-year-old woman had arrived in a special train for migrants on Monday.

At the same station, a two-year-old child also died, reportedly from heat on top of inadequate food. The child's family had boarded a different train from Delhi on Sunday.

The woman, according to her family, had been unwell on the train because of the lack of food and water. She had taken a train from Gujarat on Sunday. On Monday, shortly before the train rolled into Muzaffarpur, she collapsed.

After her body was laid out on the station platform, her little son kept playing and trying to wake her until an older child dragged him away.

The Railways Ministry says the woman had been unwell and died on the train, after which the family was asked to get off at Muzaffarpur station.

The woman was heading to Katihar with her sister, sister's husband and two children, said the ministry.

Lakhs of migrant workers and their families were left to fend for themselves after India went into shutdown in late March. Without jobs or money, the migrants set out for their homes thousands of kilometres away, walking or on cycles, autos or trucks. Many died before they could reach home, either in road accidents or from hunger and exhaustion.

Earlier this month, the government started special trains to take migrants home, but the process has been vexed by paperwork and glitches, which led to many still making their own desperate arrangements to go home.

In the soaring heat, migrant families have been forced to wait in queues, either for tickets or at centres where they are screened and declared virus-free to travel on trains.

Temperatures have touched 50 degrees in parts of India, adding to the suffering of labourers and families on the move.

A recent home ministry order that stressed that no permission is needed from destination states to run the trains seems to have added to the chaos.

Officials suspected that lack of coordination between the centre and states has worsened the arrangements on the trains and at stations.
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cor...station-in-continuing-migrant-tragedy-2235852

Viral video sparks outcry in India

A heart-wrenching viral video showing a young child with his mother who has passed away at a railway station in India was widely shared on social media on Wednesday. But officials have denied reports that she died of hunger.

The video, reportedly shot at Muzaffarpur station in Bihar state, shows the woman's body on the platform while a toddler repeatedly tugs at a piece of cloth placed on her body.

The woman and her family were on board a special train organised by the government to take home migrant workers left stranded when India went into lockdown to curb the spread of Covid-19. Hundreds of thousands who suddenly lost their livelihood had no way to get back home to their villages as all transportation was halted.

The Indian Railways have said that the woman died of a heart condition, adding that she and her family had access to food and water on the train, an official is quoted as saying to PTI news agency.

It come as India battles public backlash over its harsh lockdown and its effect on the poor and migrant workers. Many have pointed towards the video as the latest example of the growing humanitarian toll as a result of the lockdown, which was announced with just a few hours notice in March.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/India?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#India</a> : Baby tries to wake dead mother at a station; she died due to hunger. This is how India continue to treat migrants. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BJP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BJP</a> Govt is not bothered to save lives. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Indians?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Indians</a> <a href="https://t.co/4UwbM8upFu">pic.twitter.com/4UwbM8upFu</a></p>— Ijaz Malik (@Ijazmalik101) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ijazmalik101/status/1265714866490310656?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 27, 2020</a></blockquote>

What work do these migrant workers do?

Like if economy expected to open up soon why not just stay in the city

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">These Migrant Workers wouldn't have struggled for Work in 2020 if only former PMs Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi and Super PM, MOTHER Sonia Gandhi had worked for India during their rule.<br><br>Didn't they only work for the Gandhi Dynasty, Dear <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RahulGandhi</a>?<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FIRPeCharchaWithSonia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FIRPeCharchaWithSonia</a> <a href="https://t.co/N8fyRYA5Sj">https://t.co/N8fyRYA5Sj</a></p>— BJP Karnataka (@BJP4Karnataka) <a href="https://twitter.com/BJP4Karnataka/status/1264136542798270464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 23, 2020</a></blockquote>

Lol this is supposed to be an official account

Meanwhile...

India's most famous and watched anchor is focused on:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Indian media blame Pakistan for dispatching “terrorist locusts” into the country after ‘spy pigeon’ story <a href="https://t.co/FFtcs1XSUc">pic.twitter.com/FFtcs1XSUc</a></p>— Baba Umar (@BabaUmarr) <a href="https://twitter.com/BabaUmarr/status/1266070699942260741?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

If you are following the news reg the corona migrant situation and it doesn't make your blood boil, then you don't care about India.

Simple as that.

If you are following the news reg the corona migrant situation and it doesn't make your blood boil, then you don't care about India.

Simple as that.
You'll find a lot of them on this forum alone. All they care about approval ratings of their lord and nothing else matters.

On the flip side, see all (at least majority of them) these aggrieved migrants still voting for that bigot.

You'll find a lot of them on this forum alone. All they care about approval ratings of their lord and nothing else matters.

On the flip side, see all (at least majority of them) these aggrieved migrants still voting for that bigot.

Doubt he will get a single vote from any of these affected migrants who had to walk long distances.

But migrants are just a small tiny portion of the voter base.

Doubt he will get a single vote from any of these affected migrants who had to walk long distances.

But migrants are just a small tiny portion of the voter base.

Ok I checked up. I was wrong lol.

They are a big set.

Inter state migrants dunno but total migrants (including intra state) is 37% of our population.

Ok I checked up. I was wrong lol.

They are a big set.

Inter state migrants dunno but total migrants (including intra state) is 37% of our population.
Of course, they are. And they are stupid enough to yet again vote for this bigot despite knowing that he has only made their lives miserable.

However I'll still wish all of them very well and hope their future is far better than what they've experienced so far under that bigot.

Of course, they are. And they are stupid enough to yet again vote for this bigot despite knowing that he has only made their lives miserable.

However I'll still wish all of them very well and hope their future is far better than what they've experienced so far under that bigot.

2014 was ok.

Even 2019 was kinda ok.

But if they vote for this joker on 2024, then they don't have the right to complain if he screws them over.

Even 2019 was kinda ok.
It wasn't. 5 years preceding last general elections were amongst their most miserable years, with demonetization destroying whatever little savings they had. Just because of The 'Balakot operation', if they chose to ignore his misdeeds of last 5 years, then they have only themselves to blame for their current plight.

Most of these migrants are from UP and Bihar and I don't need to tell you the kind of mandate this bigot got from these 2 states in last general elections.

There have been almost 80 deaths on board the Shramik Special trains (for stranded migrant workers) between May 9 and May 27, according to data from the Railway Protection Force reviewed by Hindustan Times.

The trains were launched on May 1, and till May 27, 3,840 have been run, transporting around five million migrant workers back home. On Wednesday, there were reports of nine deaths on these trains over the previous few days, but the rail ministry clarified immediately that most of those who died were “chronic disease patients” many of whom were actually in the cities for “medical treatment” and could come back only after these special trains were launched. It was responding to some reports that claimed the passengers died of exhaustion, heat, and hunger.

This is the first time, though, that details of more deaths are emerging. An RPF official confirmed the numbers and said that an initial list has been complied, however, a final list will soon be issued after coordinating with the states.

A spokesperson for the ministry of railways, upon being specifically asked about the 80 deaths, said the “chairman railway board had responded to the query in the press conference.”

At a press conference on Friday, railway board chairman VK Yadav said: “Anyone’s death is a big loss... Indian Railways has a control system were the train is immediately stopped if someone is found ill and they are sent to the nearest hospital base to try and save their lives. Many such passengers were attended to and many deliveries also took place. I can imagine the plight of labourers travelling even in these conditions. In case of deaths, the local zones investigate the reason and without an investigation, there are allegations that they died of hunger when there was no shortage of food. Some deaths occurred and we are compiling the figures... we will issue the figures in a few days.”

He did not mention any number. To be sure, the RPF data will need to be vetted and validated by the ministry.

According to the data reviewed by HT, the deaths were recorded from May 9 till May 27 across several zones including the East Central Railway zone, North Eastern Railway zone, Norther Railway Zone and North Central Railway zone; and the ages of the dead ranged from 4 to 85. The list also mentions the co-morbidities or accidents that caused the deaths in a few cases. Data between May 1 and May 8 was not available.

There have been 18 deaths in the North Eastern Railway zone, 19 in North Central zone and 13 in East Coast Railway zone. Nearly 80% of total Shramik trains are destined for Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, and ply on these zones.

The Railway ministry, in response to reports of the nine deaths ,said in a statement on Friday morning: “Indian Railways has been running Shramik special Trains on a daily basis throughout the country to ensure that migrants can travel back to their homes. It has been observed that some people who are availing this service have pre-existing medical conditions which aggravates the risk they face during the Covid-19 pandemic. A few unfortunate cases of deaths related to pre-existing medical conditions while travelling have happened.”

“Heat, exhaustion and thirst are among the primary issues faced by the passengers on board these trains. We have seen several of such cases over the past month,” a zonal railway officer said, requesting anonymity, referring to the 80 deaths reported across the country.

According to RPF data, there have been 10 deaths in Northern Railway zone. “I am not aware of the total numbers but in all the cases that we know of there were health conditions like one person had heart valve replaced, one had hypertension. But to say that the primary reason of deaths is hunger is not correct,” said Northern Railways’ spokesperson.

On Friday, railway minister Piyush Goyal also issued a statement appealing to people suffering from ailments to avoid travel by Shramik Trains.

“I appeal to people suffering from serious ailments, pregnant women & those above 65 years and below 10 years of age to travel only when necessary in Shramik Trains. Railway Parivaar is committed to ensuring safety of all passengers,” he said.

In several cases reported by the railways the reasons for the deaths are pre-existing illness. In the case of 23-year-old Parbina Khatun, from Katihar District in Bihar the report says, “travelling from Ahmadabad to Madhubani with her sister, died due to her illness. Body was detrained for further action.” She died on May 25.

In West Central Zone, on May 16, Javed Ahmed aged 55 years, was found dead aboard a train. The ministry’s report said: ” He fell unconscious between Itarsi-Piparia of Jabalpur division/WCR GRP Jabalpur took custody of the deceased body for further course of action. District administration has been informed and they are checking his family.”

On Thursday, in an interim order, the Supreme Court said states where the workers are boarding trains and Indian Railways should provide food and water to the migrants.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...amik-trains/story-psJl3EenY4B0uUYMRvkChL.html

2014 was ok.

Even 2019 was kinda ok.

But if they vote for this joker on 2024, then they don't have the right to complain if he screws them over.
Who do you suggest should people vote? Gandhi family? They are worst thing ever happened to India. Even the driver of their family ends up being a CM(nothing wrong) with more than $2Billion(unaccounted). One can only imagine how much have the family looted India. There have been countless scams happening under them.

BJP are brain dead Thugs, and Congress are lying witches. BJP’s agenda of better economic restructure failed, so they gradually shifted their focus on uniting Hindu voters. On the other hand, Congress are led by man child who don’t even have an IQ of 5 year old.

Sadly, we just don’t have any good national leader who could take India further. Lack of any alternatives will work in favour of BJP.

There have been almost 80 deaths on board the Shramik Special trains (for stranded migrant workers) between May 9 and May 27, according to data from the Railway Protection Force reviewed by Hindustan Times.

The trains were launched on May 1, and till May 27, 3,840 have been run, transporting around five million migrant workers back home. On Wednesday, there were reports of nine deaths on these trains over the previous few days, but the rail ministry clarified immediately that most of those who died were “chronic disease patients” many of whom were actually in the cities for “medical treatment” and could come back only after these special trains were launched. It was responding to some reports that claimed the passengers died of exhaustion, heat, and hunger.

This is the first time, though, that details of more deaths are emerging. An RPF official confirmed the numbers and said that an initial list has been complied, however, a final list will soon be issued after coordinating with the states.

A spokesperson for the ministry of railways, upon being specifically asked about the 80 deaths, said the “chairman railway board had responded to the query in the press conference.”

At a press conference on Friday, railway board chairman VK Yadav said: “Anyone’s death is a big loss... Indian Railways has a control system were the train is immediately stopped if someone is found ill and they are sent to the nearest hospital base to try and save their lives. Many such passengers were attended to and many deliveries also took place. I can imagine the plight of labourers travelling even in these conditions. In case of deaths, the local zones investigate the reason and without an investigation, there are allegations that they died of hunger when there was no shortage of food. Some deaths occurred and we are compiling the figures... we will issue the figures in a few days.”

He did not mention any number. To be sure, the RPF data will need to be vetted and validated by the ministry.

According to the data reviewed by HT, the deaths were recorded from May 9 till May 27 across several zones including the East Central Railway zone, North Eastern Railway zone, Norther Railway Zone and North Central Railway zone; and the ages of the dead ranged from 4 to 85. The list also mentions the co-morbidities or accidents that caused the deaths in a few cases. Data between May 1 and May 8 was not available.

There have been 18 deaths in the North Eastern Railway zone, 19 in North Central zone and 13 in East Coast Railway zone. Nearly 80% of total Shramik trains are destined for Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, and ply on these zones.

The Railway ministry, in response to reports of the nine deaths ,said in a statement on Friday morning: “Indian Railways has been running Shramik special Trains on a daily basis throughout the country to ensure that migrants can travel back to their homes. It has been observed that some people who are availing this service have pre-existing medical conditions which aggravates the risk they face during the Covid-19 pandemic. A few unfortunate cases of deaths related to pre-existing medical conditions while travelling have happened.”

“Heat, exhaustion and thirst are among the primary issues faced by the passengers on board these trains. We have seen several of such cases over the past month,” a zonal railway officer said, requesting anonymity, referring to the 80 deaths reported across the country.

According to RPF data, there have been 10 deaths in Northern Railway zone. “I am not aware of the total numbers but in all the cases that we know of there were health conditions like one person had heart valve replaced, one had hypertension. But to say that the primary reason of deaths is hunger is not correct,” said Northern Railways’ spokesperson.

On Friday, railway minister Piyush Goyal also issued a statement appealing to people suffering from ailments to avoid travel by Shramik Trains.

“I appeal to people suffering from serious ailments, pregnant women & those above 65 years and below 10 years of age to travel only when necessary in Shramik Trains. Railway Parivaar is committed to ensuring safety of all passengers,” he said.

In several cases reported by the railways the reasons for the deaths are pre-existing illness. In the case of 23-year-old Parbina Khatun, from Katihar District in Bihar the report says, “travelling from Ahmadabad to Madhubani with her sister, died due to her illness. Body was detrained for further action.” She died on May 25.

In West Central Zone, on May 16, Javed Ahmed aged 55 years, was found dead aboard a train. The ministry’s report said: ” He fell unconscious between Itarsi-Piparia of Jabalpur division/WCR GRP Jabalpur took custody of the deceased body for further course of action. District administration has been informed and they are checking his family.”

On Thursday, in an interim order, the Supreme Court said states where the workers are boarding trains and Indian Railways should provide food and water to the migrants.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...amik-trains/story-psJl3EenY4B0uUYMRvkChL.html

It’s really sad to hear that people with medical conditions are forgotten. Last month in Mumbai, in our community a man with Chronic Kidney Disease passed away due to not able to get his dialysis treatment. He used to visit nearby trust centre for his treatment, but one or two patients were diagnosed with Covid and Maharashtra Govt shutdown the entire facility indefinitely. Many patients like him were left with no alternative, Govt didn’t provide them any dialysis facility. He went to many hospitals for treatment but was turned away. Unfortunately, he passed away in his apartment week later. It’s so pathetic that Maharashtra Govt simply shut downs the entire medical facility leaving so many people just dying. Rather than sanitizing the entire unit and ensuring it’s safe to use, CM thinks it’s best to close the facility.

Lot of people in Mumbai are mad at him the way he is handling this situation. He should simply resign and face charges for so many lives he took simply due to his stupidity. He is worst thing happened to Maharashtra. Leaders like him are costing lives of innocent people.

It’s really sad to hear that people with medical conditions are forgotten. Last month in Mumbai, in our community a man with Chronic Kidney Disease passed away due to not able to get his dialysis treatment. He used to visit nearby trust centre for his treatment, but one or two patients were diagnosed with Covid and Maharashtra Govt shutdown the entire facility indefinitely. Many patients like him were left with no alternative, Govt didn’t provide them any dialysis facility. He went to many hospitals for treatment but was turned away. Unfortunately, he passed away in his apartment week later. It’s so pathetic that Maharashtra Govt simply shut downs the entire medical facility leaving so many people just dying. Rather than sanitizing the entire unit and ensuring it’s safe to use, CM thinks it’s best to close the facility.

Lot of people in Mumbai are mad at him the way he is handling this situation. He should simply resign and face charges for so many lives he took simply due to his stupidity. He is worst thing happened to Maharashtra. Leaders like him are costing lives of innocent people.

Tbh most of them have failed to handle this situation.

That explains why indians from other states want a CM like Kejriwal. Compare everything that is run by a government in Mumbai with Delhi and you will get a reality check. :inti

Tbh most of them have failed to handle this situation.

Still it doesn’t justify shutting down medical facility. I’m sure they could’ve think of something better. I tend to think Udhav Thackeray is completely incompetent being a CM.

Who do you suggest should people vote? Gandhi family? They are worst thing ever happened to India. Even the driver of their family ends up being a CM(nothing wrong) with more than $2Billion(unaccounted). One can only imagine how much have the family looted India. There have been countless scams happening under them.

BJP are brain dead Thugs, and Congress are lying witches. BJP’s agenda of better economic restructure failed, so they gradually shifted their focus on uniting Hindu voters. On the other hand, Congress are led by man child who don’t even have an IQ of 5 year old.

Sadly, we just don’t have any good national leader who could take India further. Lack of any alternatives will work in favour of BJP.

Let's be clear on one thing bro.

Even a half dead MONKEY (with a good intention) would do a better job than BJP.

All you need to do is appoint some HALF DECENT experts and the nation will run itself.

So that's that.

All the economic might that Modi keeps flaunting happened under the Congress govt of Narasimha Rao (& Manmohan Singh) anyway.

Also don't fall into the BJP propaganda of 60 years nonsense.

The situation in India was different back in the day. We can't mock the socialist system from a capitalist lens right now. Or if we have to do it, we gotta be sure we have enough info to make an informed opinion. A random half baked Youtube video or whatsapp forward created by some dumb ***** ain't gonna cut it.

With that being said, Congress has a ton of issues and no one can deny that. But when compared to BJP, it's literally a genius lol.

BJP got overwhelming mandate when our nation was strong and doing well and they bungled it. Imagine what they would do when we were weak, powerless and poor like hell?

Had BJP ruled India for 60 years...imagine what would happen?

Just think.

These anti-national traitors may have broken up our nation by now.

---

To answer your question, I would say Congress RESOUNDINGLY.

Why? Cos they will appoint competent people in important areas which is what truly matters.

If Congress is willing to bring on a solid PM candidate, that would be the best thing to happen.

If we keep voting BJP cos Congress is so "bad", then India may slip so far behind that our future generations would regret it forever.

The only parties that would be worse than BJP over would be those nutcases like Mulayam, Mayawati cos they might loot way too much.

It wasn't. 5 years preceding last general elections were amongst their most miserable years, with demonetization destroying whatever little savings they had. Just because of The 'Balakot operation', if they chose to ignore his misdeeds of last 5 years, then they have only themselves to blame for their current plight.

Most of these migrants are from UP and Bihar and I don't need to tell you the kind of mandate this bigot got from these 2 states in last general elections.

You are right. It wasn't.

I was thinking in terms of opposition being so useless that they thought they would repeat 2004 all over again by default.

Why is it considered that Rahul Gandhi will be a terrible leader?

The only reasons I’m given are that he looked stupid in some interview with Arnab Goswami; and that his Hindi is not fluent

He wud be a great leader actually.

Reluctant leaders usually make the best leaders.

He is fighting his past image.

Dude is not that smart but he is a gem of a person.

Atleast by political standards.

And humble too.

If he is in, we might have Raghuram Rajan as finance minister.

Reg corona, he has been bang on and his social welfare scheme would have been ideal.

With that being said, unless something drastic happens, it's safer to go with outside PM for 2024.

Too risky to fight against Modi one on one.

Fact remains nobody knows yet. He is not the leader of the Congress on merit, but only because he is the next in line of the Nehru-Gandhi clan. The problems that struck UPA 2 predate him in his current role, but he has age on his side and seems to be making some right moves in the background going by the Congress victory in some state elections.

At some point - be it in 2024 or 2029, he will be in the right place at the right time and may become PM. Better him than who the BJP is grooming - Yogi Adityanath.

In any case, since Priyanka's children aren't politically inclined and since Rahul is unmarried we can be rest assured that there will be no more Gandhis given the express pass to lead the Congress.

Even at his absolute worst, Rahul is miles ahead of that bigot in every aspect except in lying and religious bigotry.

Fact remains nobody knows yet. He is not the leader of the Congress on merit, but only because he is the next in line of the Nehru-Gandhi clan. The problems that struck UPA 2 predate him in his current role, but he has age on his side and seems to be making some right moves in the background going by the Congress victory in some state elections.

At some point - be it in 2024 or 2029, he will be in the right place at the right time and may become PM. Better him than who the BJP is grooming - Yogi Adityanath.

In any case, since Priyanka's children aren't politically inclined and since Rahul is unmarried we can be rest assured that there will be no more Gandhis given the express pass to lead the Congress.

What the hell? Yogi as our PM? We need a PM who is a game changer not one who is a name changer. :inti

And lol, if failing to click in an interview is any yardstick then that bigot failed far more spectacularly in that interview conducted by Karan Thapar.

But as I said, he has entire lying and propaganda machinery at his disposal which ensures that nothing sticks to the champion liar excepts half truths and lies about his macho personality and him being vikas purush.

You are right. It wasn't.

I was thinking in terms of opposition being so useless that they thought they would repeat 2004 all over again by default.
It's not about opposition being useless, it's about our gullible electorate who chose this bigot despite him failing spectacularly on all fronts of governance.

What the hell? Yogi as our PM? We need a PM who is a game changer not one who is a name changer. :inti

It is unfortunately the truth. Ajay Singh Bisht as the Prime Minister in making - let that sink in for a bit.

It's not about opposition being useless, it's about our gullible electorate who chose this bigot despite him failing spectacularly on all fronts of governance.

People by default are gullible.

Even in developed countries.

It's the job of opposition to present a good alternative.

In 2019, people asked themselves:

"Well, Modi has not been great. Who else? Rahul Gandhi? Nah. Will try Modi again".

And the rest we know.

In 2019, people asked themselves:

"Well, Modi has not been great. Who else? Rahul Gandhi? Nah. Will try Modi again".

And the rest we know.
You can never win in propaganda and lying war when your competition is with the bigot. Not even Mahatma Gandhi would have succeeded against him. If not Balakot, he'd have found some other lie to befool his blind bhakts.

You can.

If you have the will to fight it and be smart.

No one is invincible if history is anything to go by.

Trust in God and move forward.

Victory is a result of countless actions taken behind the scenes when no one is looking.

Jayalalitha DESTROYED DMK even tho the latter had all the media on its side.

When governance is horrible, propaganda stops being effective.

What Congress has to do is focus on ground level efforts.

No media. No hoopla. Work in radio silence.

Connect with voters. Understand their grievances. And strategize accordingly.

And that's exactly what Priyanka Gandhi started doing in UP. She has setup shop there and is working behind the scenes. Now whether she succeeds or not is something time will tell. I reckon once Congress finds the right template, they will roll the same out to all the other states.

Or they already have.

Now that's the strategic part.

What matters EVEN more is how well its executed.

Time will tell what will happen.

But Congress has 4 more years to prepare and do the ground work.

Let's see if they have what it takes.

All that is true SIF, but this bigot is a different animal altogether, your Jayas etc don't come anywhere close to him.

Plus, he has that magic potion in his hands, fake hindutva and fake nationalism. You can't possibly win in that especially when someone is so adept at lying and changing narrative.

And I fully agree about working silently at grassroot levels. However Congress hasn't been patient enough to do that since long and hence their rout in successive elections.

The problem with the Congress is that once they have lost a state, they have never managed to enter it again. Has it ever happened in the last 30 years?

Be it West Bengal or Uttar Pradesh, it's all the same. It might have happened in Delhi and Andhra Pradesh now as well.

The problem with the Congress is that once they have lost a state, they have never managed to enter it again. Has it ever happened in the last 30 years?

Be it West Bengal or Uttar Pradesh, it's all the same. It might have happened in Delhi and Andhra Pradesh now as well.
It happened in Rajasthan, MP, Karnataka (albeit for short duration due to hunger for power of the fakir) and Chattisgarh as well.

No - I'm talking about losing a state completely, as in not even being part of the opposition. That is what happened in Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, and now maybe in Delhi and Andhra.

In the likes of Rajasthan and MP they lost an election and sat in the opposition.

No - I'm talking about losing a state completely, as in not even being part of the opposition. That is what happened in Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, and now maybe in Delhi and Andhra.

In the likes of Rajasthan and MP they lost an election and sat in the opposition.
Got it now, can't remember any such state where they have made a comeback at least as an opposition. Always ready to cede their political space to political newbies and nobodies.

Let's be clear on one thing bro.

Even a half dead MONKEY (with a good intention) would do a better job than BJP.

All you need to do is appoint some HALF DECENT experts and the nation will run itself.

So that's that.

All the economic might that Modi keeps flaunting happened under the Congress govt of Narasimha Rao (& Manmohan Singh) anyway.

Also don't fall into the BJP propaganda of 60 years nonsense.

The situation in India was different back in the day. We can't mock the socialist system from a capitalist lens right now. Or if we have to do it, we gotta be sure we have enough info to make an informed opinion. A random half baked Youtube video or whatsapp forward created by some dumb ***** ain't gonna cut it.

With that being said, Congress has a ton of issues and no one can deny that. But when compared to BJP, it's literally a genius lol.

BJP got overwhelming mandate when our nation was strong and doing well and they bungled it. Imagine what they would do when we were weak, powerless and poor like hell?

Had BJP ruled India for 60 years...imagine what would happen?

Just think.

These anti-national traitors may have broken up our nation by now.

---

To answer your question, I would say Congress RESOUNDINGLY.

Why? Cos they will appoint competent people in important areas which is what truly matters.

If Congress is willing to bring on a solid PM candidate, that would be the best thing to happen.

If we keep voting BJP cos Congress is so "bad", then India may slip so far behind that our future generations would regret it forever.

The only parties that would be worse than BJP over would be those nutcases like Mulayam, Mayawati cos they might loot way too much.

If you think a half dead monkey could run the nation better then have a look at U.S.(he fits perfectly well with your definition).

I agree with the part with Half Decent leader to run the nation, but Rahul Gandhi or Narendra Modi both doesn’t fit that definition.

I’m no BJP fan and I would like to see them leave office as well, but I don’t want to see Congress in power either. Congress are leech that will gradually suck the life of nation like how they have been doing for decades. I’m not seeing with capitalist lens, I’m just seeing their corruption through a citizen would do. You have fairly criticized BJP for polarizing single community and distrusting harmony in the country, but you failed to even mention once that under congress rule our country were no different. Under them we had 84’ riots, 92 Hindu-Muslim riots in Mumbai, and not to mention countless corruption throughout their history.

Just simply answer me this, How did Kamalnath end up with more than $2 Billion worth of net worth, when not so long ago, he was a Rajiv Gandhi’s driver?

We just need a leader who is less corrupt(ideally would prefer complete honest, but they don’t seem to exists). I would like Ambedkar like leader not some Gandhi’s who just know how to stay in power at any cost.

Mayavati and Mulayam are nothing compared to what Congress leaders are in corruption. Let’s start calling spade a spade( corruption is corruption regardless of who they are).

Lastly, knowing that Rahul is completely rejected by nation, why haven’t Congress appointed someone else a leader who can people of India look upto?

Glad in Pakistan we have a leader who feels for the poor and hungry and has empathy for their miserable state. Hope the poor people in India see a better leader soon. Some of the tweets/vids/pics regarding the plight of the migrant workers have been gut wrenching.

If you think a half dead monkey could run the nation better then have a look at U.S.(he fits perfectly well with your definition).

I agree with the part with Half Decent leader to run the nation, but Rahul Gandhi or Narendra Modi both doesn’t fit that definition.

I’m no BJP fan and I would like to see them leave office as well, but I don’t want to see Congress in power either. Congress are leech that will gradually suck the life of nation like how they have been doing for decades. I’m not seeing with capitalist lens, I’m just seeing their corruption through a citizen would do. You have fairly criticized BJP for polarizing single community and distrusting harmony in the country, but you failed to even mention once that under congress rule our country were no different. Under them we had 84’ riots, 92 Hindu-Muslim riots in Mumbai, and not to mention countless corruption throughout their history.

Just simply answer me this, How did Kamalnath end up with more than $2 Billion worth of net worth, when not so long ago, he was a Rajiv Gandhi’s driver?

We just need a leader who is less corrupt(ideally would prefer complete honest, but they don’t seem to exists). I would like Ambedkar like leader not some Gandhi’s who just know how to stay in power at any cost.

Mayavati and Mulayam are nothing compared to what Congress leaders are in corruption. Let’s start calling spade a spade( corruption is corruption regardless of who they are).

Lastly, knowing that Rahul is completely rejected by nation, why haven’t Congress appointed someone else a leader who can people of India look upto?

First of all, corruption is not the be all and end all of everything.

I should have worded my post better.

Mulayam and Mayavati would be horrible cos their policies would be horrible and they will only care about corruption knowing they won't get a chance again. BJP or Congress have more to lose.

With that being said, EVERY single political party is corrupt. Without exception. Je joh Ambani aur Adani paise achar banane ke liye nahi de rahe. In fact, without corruption, it's IMPOSSIBLE to run a political party. Almost. Also the scams you hear about are a SMALL miniscule of the actual corruption going on. It's like lambasting a guy cheating in a unit test when everyone is cheating in a freaking University exam.

So let's get corruption out of the way. If any party is serious about rooting out corruption, they would bring RTI and allow us to access EVERY single penny of their donations. No one will ever do that cos that's the reality of the situation. India grew inspite of corruption because policies matter more. Of course corruption should be rooted out but not at the expense of policy making.

As for Congress flaws, I have done it a lot of times and I don't think I would need to write a para of disclaimer before talking about BJP. I despise Kamal Nath btw.

Congress with all its flaws STILL moved the country forward.

Did BJP do the same? No.

In 6 years, they have created a situation where Indian citizens downright HATE each other. Give them another 10 and it will get out of hand.

Saying I won't vote for Congress or BJP is all fine but unless there is a real alternative, voting for them or their affiliated parties is what once can do.

Both are KEECHAD.

But one is keechad mixed with acid.

And I know which one to pick with a gun to my head.

India's mass exodus from cities triggers village property disputes

LUCKNOW/MUMBAI (Reuters) - Police in India’s most populous state are dealing with a surge in property disputes, as millions of migrant workers flee to their villages after losing their jobs in the cities, sparking feuds over fields and family homes.

The northern state of Uttar Pradesh, home to some 200 million people, has seen millions of migrants return home during an extended nationwide coronavirus lockdown.

Hundreds of thousands walked, cycled and hitchhiked in the early weeks, but the exodus gathered pace in May, as the government began moving millions of people back in buses and trains.

Driven by hunger and the inability to pay rent, the exodus is causing tensions over limited resources in the villages.

Smriti Singh, an administrator in the village of Ratshar Kalan, said she was juggling between quarantining about 1,000 returnees and tackling family feuds.

“Fights over property happen every day. These cases all have similar a narrative,” said Singh, adding most involved returning families quarrelling with relatives about ancestral homes and property.

Two officials told Reuters that police recorded more than 80,000 property dispute complaints between May 1 and May 20, more than double the 38,000 cases recorded in April.

In comparison, the officials said the state had recorded a total of 49,000 complaints over ownership of homes, commercial properties and agricultural land, between January and March.

The officials, who asked not to be identified as they were not authorised to discuss the matter publicly, said they expect such incidents to keep rising as migrants flock home.

The state government did not respond to a request for comment.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...ggers-village-property-disputes-idUSKBN23B250

Lockdown reveals India's rampant child labour as kids stream home

Vijay Kewat waited patiently at Gaya railway station, ready to receive 100 child workers who were headed home under India's lockdown. He was speechless when 500 streamed off the train instead.

"It was an extraordinary sight, and even officials were stunned," the child rights activist said.

Abandoned by employers and packed with haste onto a special train carrying migrant workers home, the children poured onto the platform at Gaya station in eastern India last week, Kewat said.

And many promptly disappeared into nearby streets, he added.

"That day at the station, everyone realised that there were thousands of trafficked children being sent back home as factories were closed and nobody was documenting this return," said Kewat, who works at the charity Centre Direct.

Over the last two weeks, similar instances have been reported from Rajasthan to Assam to Delhi, all states where children have been rescued and sent to quarantine centres.

India has launched multiple campaigns to check child labour in recent years, cracking down on factories where children are hired to make bangles, stitch shoes or sequins.

The vigilance has only driven the trade deeper underground, child rights campaigners say, with the scale now visible as fearful employers abandon or banish the children, many of whom were trafficked into illegal work.

Indian labour laws ban the employment of anyone aged under 15, but children are permitted to support family businesses outside of school hours. Employers and human traffickers widely exploit this provision, child rights campaigners say.

On the move
With transport starting to resume after the strict lockdown, child workers are being sent back home by their employers, armed with fake identity documents, child rights campaigners say.

Some are accompanied by their traffickers and run the risk of being trafficked again once businesses reopen, they add.

"Since the lockdown began, we have been worried about children trapped in workshops," said Basant Haryana of the Child Rights Watch Group in the western city of Jaipur, where children are used to make popular handicrafts.

"We first spotted them queueing up for food, and then when the lockdown eased, they were just put on private buses and sent home illegally. An opportunity to document them was lost."

Haryana is a petitioner in a case filed in the Rajasthan High Court in Jaipur, asking the state to rescue child workers during the lockdown, citing examples of children who had been beaten and abandoned.

April's death of a 12-year-old farmworker on a 100km (62 miles) trek home in lockdown spotlighted the plight of child workers, who the United Nations believes total some 10 million in India.

"We are taking cognisance of every case we are hearing of," said Priyank Kanoongo, chairman of India's National Commission for Protection of Child Rights.

"We ourselves have been involved in a few rescues," he said. "We want these children accounted for and taken care of."

Homecoming
Three years after he was trafficked into work, Meena Devi's son called out of the blue last month and told his mother he wished he could return home.

Caught in the lockdown, the teenager was not sure of his location or how he could return from his work tending goats.

"They took him saying he would get a good job in Mumbai or someplace and disappeared with him," Devi told the Thomson Reuters Foundation by phone from her village in Gaya district.

"I worried but couldn't do anything and then suddenly he called a few days back. I asked him if he was getting food and was safe. He said 'yes' and asked me to bring him back home."

Children working in hazardous occupations are at higher risk now since no employer will reveal their identities and numbers as employing them is a criminal offence, said Puja Marwaha, CEO of charity Child Rights and You (CRY).

"Child protection services must be made part of essential services," Marwaha said, adding that the government should make special efforts to track all children and their families.

In states such as Bihar, with more than 450,000 child workers, mechanisms are being put in place to map child workers.

"We are trying to track the children returning, especially those who are unaccompanied," said Pramila Kumar, chairwoman of the Bihar State Commission for Protection of Child Rights (BSCPCR).

"This is an organised crime, and we would like to ensure that the children who have returned home do not go back to work."
https://www.aljazeera.com/ajimpact/...-labour-kids-stream-home-200605181251833.html

Migrant worker virus exodus plunges India's factories into crisis

An acute shortage of workers has turned the roar of machines to a soft hum at a footwear factory near New Delhi, just one of thousands in India struggling to restart after an exodus of migrant workers during the virus lockdown.

India is slowly emerging from strict containment measures imposed in late March as leaders look to revive the battered economy, but manufacturers don't have enough workers to man the machinery.

The big cities - once an attractive destination for workers from poor, rural regions -- have been hit by reverse migration as millions of labourers flee back to their far-flung home villages, some uncertain if they will ever return.

New Delhi: Migrant workers should be identified and sent to their hometowns within 15 days, the Supreme Court asked states today, adding that all cases registered against migrants who have allegedly violated coronavirus lockdown orders should be considered for withdrawal.

In its orders, the top court said states and union territories should prepare a complete list of migrant workers who have reached their home states and mention the work they were engaged in prior to the lockdown. It also asked the states and the centre to specify schemes for employment of migrant workers after the lockdown.

States and union territories were directed by the court to collect data for giving them jobs after mapping their skills.

A three-judge bench of Justices Ashok Bhushan, Sanjay Kishan Kaul and MR Shah issued the directions days after passing a series of directions, asking state governments not to charge migrant labourers for their train or bus journeys and asked states to arrange for their food and water.

The Supreme Court said migrant workers who want to go back to their workplaces must be given counselling.

The top court, which had taken up the issue on its own, said the Railways must provide additional special trains within 24 hours of states making the demand for sending the migrant workers back to their home states.

In the last hearing, Solicitor General Tushar Mehta, appearing for the centre, said the railways has run 4,228 special "Shramik" trains till June 3 and taken 57 lakh people home. He said 41 lakh others have gone home by road, taking the total migrants who have left the cities to nearly one crore. Mr Mehta also told the Supreme Court that there have been no deaths due to non-supply of water, food or medicine on board the "Shramik" trains, rather due to existing illness.

The top court today directed all states to submit affidavits on schemes for migrants and their job creation by July 8 when it will take up the issue next.

The special "Shramik" trains were started on May 1 by the centre to take migrants stranded by the coronavirus lockdown to their home states

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ide...-cases-against-them-should-be-dropped-2243061

A story of swollen feet: The physical toll of walking home during lockdown

Across the country, there are men and women with swollen feet. At a quarantine centre in Uttar Pradesh’s Gorakhpur district, there is 17-year-old Baliram Kumar, who had walked from Bangalore over 25 days.

“My feet are cut and scabbed,” he said on the phone, a day after he reached his village. “I had shoes but what good are shoes after a while? I am so tired. My whole body is aching.”

He had left in a group of 15, many of whom got faint and nauseous on the way. The journey turned them into nocturnal creatures. “We walked from 3am to 10am and rested during the day,” he said.

At another quarantine centre in the village school, this time in Bihar’s Katihar district, there is 20-year-old Vinod Yadav. By the time he reached his village, in the sweltering late-May heat, it had been 27 days since he left Bangalore. Part of this journey was made on foot. When the heat grew unbearable during the day, they rested for four or five hours. Otherwise, they walked – all day and all night.

“I got a fever two or three times,” he said. “I would buy medicines from the villages we were passing through and keep going. Sometimes, we rested in the villages for a day or two.”

Their only shelter was the shade of trees. For food, they had carried sattu, a mix of ground pulses and cereals, which did not need cooking, just some water and salt. They also had some ground chickpeas, eaten with salt, chili and turmeric. “If we found any shops open, we would eat there,” said Yadav.

In Rajasthan’s Banswara district, there is 32-year-old Dasharath Yadav, who says he could not walk for days after he got home from Ahmedabad in March. “For 12 days, I had to massage my feet, bathe them in water with neem leaves and apply Moov ointment,” he said.

He reckons he walked about 12 hours that frantic night in March, soon after a nationwide lockdown to contain the coronavirus was declared. There was no food on the way and by the end he was limping. But it was a race against time. He had heard the state border between Gujarat and Rajasthan was going to close. He had to make it before that.

Forgotten bodies
With the nationwide lockdown, declared at four hours’ notice on March 24, the government drew a cordon around the bodies it wished to protect. It halted trains and public transport, pulling up the drawbridges to guard the chosen – those who could afford to stay in. On the bodies of those outside this charmed circle, the lockdown wrought havoc.

They were left without protection against the virus. Most faced hunger or homelessness if they could not work. Vinod Yadav, who did plaster work for houses in Bangalore, had not been paid in weeks when he decided to walk. “We came back crying,” he said. Before lockdown, Kumar had made Rs 300 a day painting houses but now even this meagre income was choked off.

Mostly migrants, they were cut off from the support systems of their homes and villages. So a large number set off on foot, covering fantastic distances – 800, 1,000, 1,500 kilometres. In the initial weeks after lockdown was declared, the government looked the other way, refusing to acknowledge these journeys.

Even after it allowed interstate travel in May, flagging off Shramik trains to transport migrant workers, getting a seat remained a bureaucratic nightmare. Train services were erratic, with long delays and mysterious diversions. While the government advertised the Vande Bharat Mission to fly back Indians stranded abroad, hundreds camped out at railway stations hoping for a train. Well into May, many were choosing to walk.

As men and women set out, children in their arms, belongings balanced on their head, comparisons were drawn to the migrant caravans that crossed borders during Partition. Those journeys, made at the violent birth of two countries, were fraught with other terrors. But as images of walking migrants fill news feeds and TV screens, it grows clear that this, too, is a moment that belongs in history books. It belongs with the great journeys triggered by war, famine or natural calamity, with stories of exceptional suffering and injustice.

Folded into these epic tragedies is a raw, specific experience – the toll that walking such long distances takes on the human body.

Walking home
According to a database that keeps count of non-virus deaths during the lockdown, at least 46 people have died of exhaustion from walking or standing in line so far. Some, quite literally, would not have had the energy to carry on.

It takes 60 to 70 calories to be able to walk a single kilometre, explained Yogesh Jain, a doctor who started Jan Swasthya Sahyog, a low-cost health programme for tribal and rural communities in Bilaspur. “If you have one large meal of 600 calories, you would consume that by walking just eight to 10 kilometres. And these are calculations that have been done in 25 degrees centigrade temperature, when you are not undernourished, lifting weights or stressed.”

Walking migrants covered much more than 8 km to 10 km a day, often with no food. As the months wore on, temperatures soared to 40 degrees and more, especially in northern India and the dry regions of the Deccan.

The human body is not meant to walk more than a few hours a day, explained Jain. As you keep walking, the mechanisms to produce energy slow down. Metabolites, the intermediate products of metabolism, accumulate in the body. These are small molecules which are yet to be broken down to produce energy. “Tiring muscles produce metabolites such as lactic acid, which leads to a feeling of fatigue,” he said.

The production of glucose, the final substance that is metabolised to release energy, falls in tired bodies. “If your blood glucose falls short and there is not enough glucose to run your system, it would cause you to feel drowsy, pass out and die of starvation,” said Jain.

As you walk with the sun beating down on your back, your body dries up and its temperature soars. In other words, you suffer from a heat stroke. Dehydration, or water loss, causes electrolyte imbalance, driving down sodium levels, which can lead to vomiting.

In May, pictures of 24-year-old Amrit Kumar dying in his friend Mohammad Saiyub’s arms went viral on social media. They had been dumped from the truck carrying them back to their village in Madhya Pradesh. Kumar had developed breathing problems and other passengers suspected he had Covid-19. With the help of passers-by, Saiyub managed to rush him to a district hospital where doctors who treated him said he had a high temperature and was vomiting. Saiyub was later told his friend had died of dehydration.

Apart from heat and fatigue, there is the constant friction of asphalt under your feet. There are bruises, oozing wounds, pre-existing conditions that conspire with the scorching sun.

Echoes of the Long March
While the lockdown migration invited comparisons with Partition, it may bear closer resemblance to another journey – the Long March from Burma in 1942. In the thick of the Second World War, the Japanese bombed the city of Rangoon – present-day Yangon – in Burma, then a British colony. By the spring of 1942, the British were in retreat, leaving behind a large Indian population to fend for itself.

This Indian diaspora had settled in Burma over decades, filling the ranks of the bureaucracy, manning the ports, trading in rice, wood and silk. According to the 1931 Census, there were over a million Indians in Burma.

As with the lockdown today, the colonial government’s evacuation plan, such as it was, had no room for the poor. Steamships and aircraft leaving Burma were reserved first for Europeans, then for those Indians who could afford tickets. Eventually, these stopped altogether.

While the current government mulls over how to keep poor migrants in cities to help reboot the economy, the colonial government wanted them to stay on in Rangoon to keep the docks and the municipality running. When Japanese bombs hit Rangoon in December 1941, fleeing Indian workers were encouraged to turn back, writes historian Hugh Tinker. They were promised work, security in government camps and evacuation, should the need arise. None of these promises were kept.

Those left behind had to negotiate perilous river crossings and walk hundreds of miles through jungles and mountains to reach towns in North East India.

Government efforts were initially directed at containing the flood of refugees pouring into the princely state of Manipur, Tinker writes. There was little government relief on the way, the priority being military mobilisation to meet the approaching Japanese. What camps existed became hotspots for epidemic diseases such as dysentery, smallpox, cholera, malaria.

As the monsoon arrived, the journey became harder. A British officer who met migrants entering Ledo in Assam describes exhaustion, emaciation and disease – “all social sense is lost… they suffer from bad nightmares and their delirium is a babble of rivers and crossings, of mud and corpses”.

Few survivor accounts remain. But Narasimha Ramamurthy, who was 13 when he trekked from Burma into Nagaland and Assam, recounted a gruelling routine when interviewed by the Independent in 2012 – start at seven in the morning, stop to cook rice porridge at noon, then walk till six in the evening and finally, more rice porridge for dinner. The only help on the way came from Naga people who carried children through difficult terrain for “a very small sum”. Ramamurthy recalled a man who left his children to die on the road as he had no food to give them and no strength to carry them.

Other travellers recall “Naga sores”, which started as a blister before they became about five inches in diameter and half an inch thick, filled with pus and attracted maggots. When Ramamurthy’s father finally returned, his skin was peeling and he could barely speak.

Tinker estimates between 10,000 and 50,000 people died on the long march.

‘You just walk’
“There is no significant historical lesson to be drawn from the narrative which follows, except the lesson of endurance,” begins Tinker in his essay on the Long March. But should these harrowing journeys be recorded as stories of endurance?

Jain, speaking of the lockdown march, warns against measuring human misery in physical terms. Fascist regimes in the past, he points out, had studied how much the human body could endure before it broke. Typically, these experiments were conducted on dehumanised minorities.

Inscribed in every battered body is a story of institutional failure. But Gargi Goyel, a doctor in Rajasthan’s Udaipur district, is indignant when asked about the physical toll of the lockdown march. To talk about the march as exceptional, according to her, was to forget the way systemic negligence routinely ravaged the bodies of the poor.

Many of her patients in rural Rajasthan walked 10 km to 15 km a day to reach her clinic, Goyel said, one man walked 55 kilometres to see his ailing brother. Most manual labour requires vast reserves of physical strength. The bodies of workers in Indian factories, building sites and workshops have been shaped by disease and physical hardship. “They are already malnourished,” said Goyel. “Already their bodies are trained to deal with minimal food and do strenuous activity.”

Setting out to walk hundreds of kilometres, according to Goyel, was an act of quiet confidence born from a lifetime of suffering. “They’re brave - they know their body can do it,” she said. “They don’t want to wait for the government because the government has done nothing for them.”

Those who walked, however, do not dwell on physical endurance or government failures. What they remember first is the instinct to survive. Ramamurthy, recalling the march of 1942, said, “It was challenging – but you have no other way to go, it is a question of survival of the fittest. You can’t think about it. You just walk.”

Dasharath Yadav, describing a journey made nearly eight decades later, used much the same language: “You have the ‘josh’ to keep going at the time – you keep thinking when will I get home, when will I get home.”
https://scroll.in/article/963641/

Indian Railways is in talks with states to get back labourers for construction work on its biggest infrastructure projects—the dedicated freight corridors.

The project implementation agency, the Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India Limited (DFCCIL), which had been left with about 50% of its workforce after the lockdown for the coronavirus disease (Covid-19) was enforced on March 25, has begun the process of getting back nearly 20,000 labourers, officials said.

DFCCIL has sought help from state governments including those of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Jharkhand to arrange workers for the Rs 81,000 crore project, scheduled to be completed by 2021, officials aware of the development said. DFCCIIL has begun booking special trains in bulk and deploying buses to get the labourers back.

“ We had nearly 40,000 labourers working for us before the lockdown. After the first lockdown was announced, a bulk of migrants went back in the first 15 days. Once the Shramik Special trains began plying, nearly 50% of our workforce {around 25,000 labourers} had gone back. We have major agencies including L&T, Tata, GMR group etc who requested us to get the labour back. We have written to the UP government, we are also talking to the governments of Bihar and Jharkhand for the same as a majority of the workers comes from the eastern states,” said Anurag Sachan, managing director, DFCCIL.

Railways until now has transported more than 6.28 million migrants on board 4,594 Shramik Special trains that began plying from May 1 to ferry stranded migrants to their home states.

“So far around 8,000 labourers have returned and we are arranging transportation for more to return. Several of the special trains that are plying were returning nearly empty, we managed to make bookings in bulk for the labourers. States like UP and Bihar have also made of the migrants and their skills and we are in touch with them. At present we are still at 50% of our total workforce,”Sachan added.

These workers are needed for technical jobs like electrification, mast casting, track works, operating high-end machines and others which cannot be done by local labour. Around 11,000 workers of the total workforce were skilled labour, officials said.

The ministry of railways is implementing two dedicated freight corridors, namely the Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor from Ludhiana to Dankuni (1,856 km.) and Western Dedicated Freight Corridor from Dadri to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (1m504 km.). These corridors are targeted to be completed in phases by December 2021. DFCCIL had completed a total of 500 kilometres till January this year.

The railway ministry last month said the trend of migrants returning by special trains from Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal --states with a high migrant worker population – showed signs of economic activity picking up.

Special trains returning from high migrant population states have shown over 100% occupancy from June 26 till June 30, according to railway ministry data, indicating that many of them may be migrants who had gone back to their home states on Shramik Specials during the lockdown.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...k-labourers/story-DRbFkOwwxwrtMpV0L91Z9K.html

'Milking their misery': Indian state makes returning migrants pay for quarantine

MUMBAI (Thomson Reuters Foundation) - Coronavirus quarantine charges levied by an Indian state on migrant workers who are being flown home from Gulf nations will drive many returnees further into debt and put them at risk of destitution, campaigners and labourers said on Wednesday.

India in May began a drive to repatriate nearly a million citizens from around the world as the pandemic left many jobless and struggling to survive. The arrivals are quarantined in hotels, college hostels or empty houses for about a week.

Most have returned from the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Kwtait, Qatar, Oman, and Saudi Arabia, government data shows.

The southern state of Telangana is charging at least 8,000 rupees ($107) to put its returning citizens in quaranatine at hotels for a week, raising concern among former Gulf workers who have large debts, little savings and few job prospects at home.

Mahender Deepkonda, who lost his security guard job in Qatar in March, said he had to take out a fresh loan to pay for a flight home in May and was falling ever deeper into debt.

“The cycle (of repayment) is broken. My outstanding loan amount has gone up by three times,” said Deepkonda, 38, who paid 15,000 rupees for a two-week hotel quarantine before Telangana reduced the fee and period in May as per government guidelines.

“I earn 500 rupees as daily wages for farm labour in my village,” he told the Thomson Reuters Foundation by phone from Jagtial. “I don’t know when I will be able to repay this loan.”

Arvinder Singh, Telangana deputy secretary for non-resident Indian affairs, said returning workers were charged for travel and quarantine “as per the government of India guidelines”.

The official declined to give further details, and did not specify how many returnees had been charged for quarantine.

An estimated 9 million Indian migrants work in the Gulf states with most of them in low- and semi-skilled jobs, the United Nations International Labour Organization (ILO) says.

About 500,000 overseas citizens have returned home since May, either flown or sailed home by the government or put on chartered flights sponsored by companies and community groups.

Kerala has received the most arrivals of all Indian states - with at least 135,000 people from the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Qatar alone, according to government data - yet the state has not imposed a quarantine fee on its returnees.

“We did not consider charging people at any point ... even though they are coming from abroad, they are poor, they have lost their jobs,” said Amar Fettle, Kerala state’s nodal officer for COVID-19.

Labour unions estimate that about 10,000 Indian migrants have returned from the Gulf to Telangana since May, and are urging the local government to follow Kerala’s example.

“The government should think about the poor in these times, but they are asking for money,” said Guggilla Ravi Goud, convener of the Telangana Gulf Workers Joint Action Committee.

“This is milking their misery for business,” he added.

Cases of COVID-19 continue to rise in India with almost 1.2 million infections, behind only the United States and Brazil.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...ing-migrants-pay-for-quarantine-idUSKCN24N1QR

Indian firms try to lure workers as coronavirus keeps them away

Spurning free air tickets, accommodation and higher pay, millions of migrant workers who fled India's cities when the new coronavirus hit are too scared to return, with grim implications for the already crumbling economy.

Migrant labourers form the backbone of Asia's third-biggest economy toiling in every sector - from making consumer goods and stitching garments to driving cabs.

But when India went into lockdown in late March, vast numbers of them lost their jobs, prompting a heart-rending exodus back to their home villages, sometimes on foot, their children in their arms.

Nearly 200 migrant workers died on the way, according to data compiled by a road safety NGO.

Mumbai's swanky highrises, for example, were built and largely staffed by people from poorer states such as Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Odisha, who worked as security guards, cooks and cleaners.

But as the city became a virus hotspot, about 80 percent of construction workers left the financial hub after work came to a standstill, according to the Maharashtra Chamber of Housing Industry.

Four months on, with lockdown measures eased, some workers have trickled back but more than 10,000 building sites are lying virtually abandoned due to severe labour shortages across the city.

"We are trying our best to bring back migrant workers, even going to the extent of giving them air tickets, COVID-19 health insurance ... [and] weekly checkups by doctors," real estate developer Rajesh Prajapati told AFP news agency. "But it has not reaped any positive signs yet."

Property giant Hiranandani Group, which unusually continued to pay its workers during the lockdown, has had more success. But the company has still only managed to convince about 30 percent of its 4,500 workers to stay on site.

"We looked after them, took care of their food, safety and sanitisation and even had mobile creches for kids," the group's billionaire co-founder Niranjan Hiranandani told AFP.

'Double whammy' for economy

With a colossal slump in growth expected, Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government has steadily eased restrictions on many businesses even as coronavirus cases near 1.4 million.

But analysts say firms are still staring at a bleak future due to battered finances, stalled projects and crucially, a lack of workers.

Real estate demand has plummeted by almost 90 percent in Mumbai, with falling sales and the lull in construction severely affecting access to credit.

"We have a double whammy with the pandemic eroding demand while construction workers are not available," Pankaj Kapoor, CEO of Mumbai-based consultancy Liases Foras, told AFP.

"Credit flow from the lender has [also] stopped because ... credit disbursal is based on construction progress and sales," he said, projecting the turmoil to deepen.

Business owners in other fields paint an equally grim picture.

Aseem Kumar, general secretary of the Garment Exporters Association of Rajasthan, told AFP his sector was "in a mess".

The organisation represents 300 manufacturers exporting clothing to Japan, the United States and Europe. Many have offered workers accommodation, insurance and a 20 percent raise, but to little avail.

"Most of the orders have been deferred to next season as there are no labourers available," he said.

A lack of transport means that even those who are willing to swallow their fear and return to work - many are desperate to do so - are unable to.

Construction worker Shambhu told AFP his family of four was on the brink of destitution after he fled Mumbai, reduced to living on 200 rupees ($2.70) a week.

Unlike his compatriots, the 27-year-old, who goes by one name only, was able to travel by rail to Odisha - a possibility that is now firmly out of reach because most trains are not running.

"Almost 50 percent of people I know are ready to return if trains are restarted," he said.

"It is better to go to big cities and work than sit in villages and starve to death."

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/07/indian-firms-lure-workers-coronavirus-200726070830540.html

Harrowing, harrowing read below.

Talks about the human effects of the ridiculously poorly timed lockdown, how common people left a man to die on the highway and the gut wrenching poverty people go through to decide to to slave in towns thousands of miles away. The one positive is that even in such times of heightened tensions between Hindus and Muslims in India; how a pair of Hindu and Muslim boys stuck to each other till the end.

I really am shaken.after reading this though

A Friendship, A Pandemic and a Death Beside the Highway

DEVARI, India — Somebody took a photograph on the side of a highway in India.

On a clearing of baked earth, a lithe, athletic man holds his friend in his lap. A red bag and a half empty bottle of water are at his side. The first man is leaning over his friend like a canopy, his face is anxious and his eyes searching his friend’s face for signs of life.

The friend is small and wiry, in a light green T-shirt and a faded pair of jeans. He is sick, and seems barely conscious. His hair is soaked and sticking to his scalp, a sparse stubble accentuates the deathlike pallor of his face, his eyes are closed, and his darkened lips are half parted. The lid of the water bottle is open. His friend’s cupped hand is about to pour some water on his feverish, dehydrated lips.

I saw this photo in May, as it was traveling across Indian social media. News stories filled in some of the details: It was taken on May 15 on the outskirts of Kolaras, a small town in the central Indian state of Madhya Pradesh. The two young men were childhood friends: Mohammad Saiyub, a 22-year-old Muslim, and Amrit Kumar, a 24-year-old Dalit, a term for those once known as “untouchables,” people who have suffered the greatest violence and discrimination under the centuries-old Hindu caste system.

merlin_175076706_da9a390c-0f6b-4028-90da-e631a4f4d0f1-jumbo.jpg

Over the next few weeks, I found myself returning to that moment preserved and isolated by the photograph. I came across some details about their lives in the Indian press: The two came from a small village called Devari in the northern state of Uttar Pradesh. They had been working in Surat, a city on the west coast, and were making their way home, part of a mass migration that began when the Indian government ordered a national lockdown to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. Despite our image-saturated times, the photograph began assuming greater meanings for me.

For the past six years, since Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party took power, it has seemed as if a veil covering India’s basest impulses has been removed. The ideas of civility, grace and tolerance were replaced by triumphalist displays of prejudice, sexism, hate speech and abuse directed at women, minorities and liberals. This culture of vilification dominates India’s television networks, social media and the immensely popular mobile messaging service WhatsApp. When you do come across acts of kindness and compassion, they seem to be documented and calibrated to serve the gods of exhibitionism and self-promotion.

https://static01.nyt.com/images/202...a-e631a4f4d0f1-jumbo.jpg?quality=90&auto=webp

The photograph of Amrit and Saiyub came like a gentle rain from heaven on India’s hate-filled public sphere. The gift of friendship and trust it captured filled me with a certain sadness, as it felt so rare. I felt compelled to find out more about their lives and journeys.

On a June morning, I left New Delhi for Devari. The highway was unusually empty. I passed hulking gray towers — tens of thousands of unfinished apartments, monuments to the broken dreams of middle-class home buyers.

The landscape morphed into a monotonous expanse of paddies and drab small towns off the new, impressive highway. I passed an exit sign for Aligarh, a town where I had spent five years at an old public university in the ’90s. A voice on the radio promised a glorious future to prospective students at a new private university. I knew those operations; they took your money and years and left you unprepared for the world.

To travel through a landscape that played a part in shaping you is to also travel through the layers of memories, to revisit the concerns and debates of an earlier life. I thought of my journeys as a reporter in the 2000s on these roads — the debates about India’s economic growth, the comparisons of its newfound wealth and inequality to the Roaring Twenties in the United States, the debates about equal distribution of opportunity, equal citizenship and the campaigns against the violence of the caste system.

This time of hope and aspiration gave way to an aggressive Hindu majoritarianism and strident nationalism with the 2014 election of Mr. Modi. Within a few years, even his electoral promises of economic growth proved to be a mirage.

For the past six years, since Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party took power, it has seemed as if a veil covering India’s basest impulses has been removed.

As the highway crossed a massive bridge over the Sarayu River and past the paddy-green fields and stacks of dried dung cakes, I could see the outlines of the temple town of Ayodhya, where in 1992 a Hindu mob destroyed a 16th-century mosque because they believed it had been built on the exact birthplace of Rama, the Hindu deity.

Mr. Modi’s party campaigned for building Rama’s temple on the disputed site for decades. In November, the Supreme Court of India cleared the way for the temple to be built there, another step toward transforming India into a majoritarian Hindu state. Next week, Mr. Modi will lay its foundation stone.

Along with his devotion to the Hindu nationalist project, a consistent feature of Mr. Modi’s rule has been his penchant for dramatic policy decisions — on everything from Kashmir to currency — without serious consideration of their effects.

That trait was starkly illustrated by the imposition of a lockdown on March 24, which forced factories, offices and educational institutions to close with only four hours’ notice, at a time when India had a mere 600 coronavirus cases compared to the 1.58 million now.

The lockdown struck India’s poor like a hammer. An overwhelming majority of workers — more than 92 percent — lead precarious lives, getting paid after each day’s work, with no written contracts or job security, no paid leave or health care benefits. Most had left their villages to work in faraway cities. Living in Dickensian tenements, they would remit a significant share of their earnings to sustain their families back home.

Within weeks of the lockdown, multitudes who had been employed at construction sites and brick kilns, in mines and factories, in hotels and restaurants or as street vendors couldn’t pay rent or buy enough to eat.

The only place that would offer them shelter and share what it had was the village, the home they had left. The Indian government, seeking to contain the spread of the virus, tried to stop them from leaving the cities, shutting down trains and buses.

The poor defied the government and hundreds of thousands walked or caught rides to their villages: the first wave of coronavirus “refugees” in the world. Between April and June, the images of India’s poor workers returning to their villages evoked comparisons to the great migration accompanying the partition of India in 1947. It reminded me more of John Steinbeck’s “The Grapes of Wrath” and the farmers of Oklahoma leaving the Dust Bowl to seek a future in California, except the Indian workers were fleeing their Californias for their impoverished villages.

Among the millions of migrant workers who made the desperate journey home were Amrit and Saiyub. They were trying to reach Devari, about 920 miles away. It was Mr. Modi’s decision that brought them to that patch of baked earth by the highway.

About an hour from Ayodhya, I got off the highway. I met Saiyub in a bazaar a few miles from his village and he led the way on his scooter. Devari is a smattering of mud and brick homes amid a few miles of sugar cane and rice fields, children loitering about, cows and buffaloes lazing under mahua trees. A visitor can fall for the romance of pastoral community, but an Indian village is a hard place.

The immense expanses of land in rural India might suggest plenty, but most land holdings in Indian villages are incredibly small. The yield of wheat, rice and mustard does not fetch enough to sustain a family through the year. Saiyub’s family owns a third of an acre, which will be divided among three brothers when his father dies. Amrit’s family owns even less: one-twelfth of an acre.

Saiyub and I sat on plastic chairs in the courtyard of his modest home. Three goats reclined on a charpoy, a bed woven on a frame, nearby. He had been in fifth grade when his father, a farmer, developed a severe back problem and couldn’t work. Two of his older brothers left for Mumbai to find work. He helped with the chores at home, attended his school indifferently and hung out with Amrit, who lived a few minutes away. Interfaith friendships in India are not as uncommon as the regnant political discourse might suggest.

Amrit was the first to go. His father, Ram Charan, had struggled to make enough from farming and working on construction sites to raise his five children, and could no longer bear the hard labor. So Amrit dropped out of high school and went to Surat to find work.

Surat is a mercantile city in the state of Gujarat, close to the Arabian Sea, an ancient port that is now a major hub for India’s textile industry and the largest diamond polishing and processing center in the world. The city of 4.5 million people employs hundreds of thousands of migrant workers. Amrit found a job in a factory manufacturing cloth and saris.

Every year, when the factory closed for the Diwali holidays, Amrit would come back to visit. The friends would walk about the village, Saiyub told me. He was working construction at the time, whenever there was an opportunity. Amrit spoke about the factory, urging his friend to move to the city. “I will find you a job in Surat,” Amrit promised.

Precise numbers are hard to arrive at, but scholars of urbanization and migration estimate that India has more than a 100 million migrant workers. The majority come from the impoverished northern Indian states which, like the American Rust Belt, have suffered decades of decline. They find work in the manufacturing and services powerhouses in western India; the national capital region, Delhi; and, increasingly, the fast-growing states in southern India.

“Way back from the 1960s Indian government policies encouraged industry in the western and southern areas — India’s major capitalists came from those regions and preferred investing there,” said Rathin Roy, one of India’s leading economists. “Most politicians in the north were rural folk who saw the few pockets of industry as sites for rent-seeking.”

For Saiyub, there were few options other than migrating. In the winter of 2015, he left the village with Amrit. After a 36-hour train journey, they arrived in Surat. They rented a room together for 2,000 rupees, or about $27, a month near Amrit’s factory. A few days later, Saiyub got a job, with Amrit’s help, at a factory that produced thread.

Saiyub started his work at 7 a.m., stopped for a lunch break and continued till 7 p.m. “We would go home for an hour, eat dinner and return at 8 p.m.,” he said. He worked a four more hours, till midnight, returning to his room to sleep for six hours before setting out for the factory again. I was struck by the 16 hour shifts, but he brushed that off. “We could stop for a bit. It is not that bad.”

On his arrival in Surat, Saiyub had some apprehensions about being Muslim and working in Gujarat, Mr. Modi’s home state and the strongest bastion of Hindu nationalism. Throughout the five years he spent there, he read the news of attacks on Muslims in India but avoided speaking about politics in the factory. “Nobody bothered me,” he said. “I did my job. I got paid.”

On Sundays, Amrit and Saiyub washed their clothes, walked around the city, and watched films and news on their phones. “Amrit bought a speaker and we lay on our beds and listened to music,” said Saiyub. They made about 15,000 rupees, or $200, a month each and wired most of it home to their parents. Amrit’s family was able to upgrade from a shack to a one-room brick house with a veranda and he was trying to save enough for his sister’s wedding in the fall.

On March 25, the morning after Mr. Modi announced the lockdown, the factory owners told the workers the factories would close. They wouldn’t be paid while the factories remained shut. Saiyub’s boss gave everyone rice and lentils and about 1,500 rupees. Amrit’s boss offered his workers rice and lentils, but no cash.

Saiyub and Amrit resigned themselves to the situation and stayed in their room most of the time, stepping out briefly to buy food. “We talked a lot and watched videos on our phones,” he said. “Amrit spoke a lot about his sister’s wedding.”

They watched the news of the explosion of the pandemic in India. The dispatches were grim: Workers protesting about lack of food and demanding to be allowed to return home; police in Surat beating and arresting protesting workers; workers walking home in desperation; bodies of people dying of the coronavirus being tossed into hastily dug graves; cases rising steadily despite the lockdown being extended; and even middle-class Indians, who live in spacious homes and can bear the cost of treatment at private hospitals, being turned away from hospitals lacking beds and ventilators.

The Indian government spends just a little over 1 percent of its gross domestic product on health care, one of the lowest rates in the world. Subsidized health care benefits are also tied to a citizen’s domicile — that is, their village — meaning many migrant workers couldn’t use them. Treatment costs because of an illness push more than 63 million Indians into poverty every year.

“We had to get home,” said Saiyub.

On May 1, after intense public criticism for ignoring the migrant worker exodus, the Indian government started operations of the state-owned railway network to transport workers. Amrit and Saiyub spoke to a travel agent to help them get two seats on the trains going to Basti or Gorakhpur, the stations closest to their village. They paid him. Two weeks passed but they could not get a spot. The travel agent promised to call the moment he had their seats booked.

Fifty-one days into the lockdown, on May 14, the two friends were restless, running out of savings and certain that they needed to get home somehow. Amrit met some workers from their region in Uttar Pradesh who had negotiated with a truck driver to drive them home. They would have to each pay 4,000 Indian rupees, or $53. They agreed.

The truck driver would wait for the workers at a secluded spot on NH-48 road, which they would follow north. The two friends packed a bag each, locked their room and set out at 9 p.m. They walked 15 miles through the humid night with about 60 other workers to the designated place on the highway and waited. The truck arrived at 2 a.m.

The workers completely filled the bed of the truck, packed together like sheep. Twelve men were still left, Amrit and Saiyub among them. They were asked to climb into a balcony-like space above the driver’s seat. The journey began. “We could feel the breeze and we were going home,” Saiyub recalled. They caught snatches of sleep while sitting cramped together and repeated their conversations about the pandemic, the loss of work and the solace of home.

The morning came. The truck groaned on through Madhya Pradesh, the huge state in central India best known outside the country as home to the forests and wildlife parks that inspired Rudyard Kipling’s “The Jungle Book.” Around noon they were passing by Kolaras, when Amrit turned to Saiyub. “I am feeling cold,” he said. “I have a fever.” Saiyub suggested they keep an eye on the road and stop the truck when they spotted a pharmacy. The truck droned on. Amrit was shivering, his temperature rising. They climbed down to the bed of the truck to shield Amrit from the wind.

A little later, cramped in a corner among about 50 other workers, Amrit started coughing and sweating. His fellow passengers were alarmed and cries of protest rose: “He is coughing. He has a fever. He has corona.” The voices turned angrier: “We are running home to save ourselves from corona.” “He will infect us all.” “We don’t want to die because of him.”

The driver stopped the truck. The passengers and the driver insisted that Amrit get off. Saiyub asked the driver to stop at a hospital. The driver and the workers were uncertain about the lockdown rules and weren’t ready to lose any time for Amrit. They refused and insisted Amrit get off right there.

“Let him go. You should come home with us,” the driver told Saiyub.

“I couldn’t let Amrit be alone,” he said. Saiyub picked up their bags and helped Amrit off the truck.

A blinding 109-degree afternoon sun baked the road, the fields, the trees in the distance. They sat in the clearing by the highway. Scores of workers went past, following the highway toward their homes. A politician arrived with a few cars and distributed food and water. Saiyub rushed and collected a few bottles of water. Amrit babbled incoherently; his temperature rose. “I was holding him and he was burning,” Saiyub recalled. He poured water over Amrit’s head but his body wasn’t cooling down.

Saiyub asked the politician to call an ambulance. As he waited, he cradled Amrit in his lap, wiping his forehead with a wet handkerchief and pouring handfuls of water on his lips. In that moment, somebody took a photograph of the two friends.

An ambulance arrived and drove them to a small hospital in Kolaras. A doctor found that Amrit had low blood sugar and a high temperature and feared he had suffered a heat stroke. He tried oral rehydration therapy to revive Amrit, whose consciousness was fading. A few hours later, Amrit was transferred to a better-equipped hospital in Shivpuri, a town about 15 miles away, where doctors diagnosed severe dehydration and moved him into the intensive care unit.

He called Amrit’s father. In the village, the news of his son’s collapse shook Ram Charan. He conferred with his family and set out for Basti, the town where the government officials who administer the district were based. The coronavirus lockdown in Uttar Pradesh forbade people from traveling without official permission. Ram Charan requested from officials a pass that would allow him to travel to the hospital in Shivpuri to see his son. They turned him away.

Saiyub stayed with Amrit in the I.C.U. The doctors tested the two friends for coronavirus, sent their samples to a laboratory and put Amrit on a ventilator. In the evening, they moved Saiyub to a quarantine ward. “I was not allowed to leave the quarantine ward and see Amrit till our corona results would come,” he said.

Sleep eluded Saiyub and nightmarish scenarios haunted him: He thought of the reports of strangers burying the bodies of coronavirus victims, tossing them into impromptu graves dug by backhoes. If Amrit died in the hospital, how would he take his body home? How would he face Amrit’s parents, who had no financial support beyond their son’s earnings?

“Around 3 in the morning, I felt terribly sad,” Saiyub recalled. “I felt that Amrit, my friend, my brother, was not in this world anymore.”

In the morning, on May 16, a nurse came to the quarantine ward and confirmed his fear. Amrit had died of severe dehydration. A doctor asked Saiyub to inform Amrit’s relatives of his death and have them collect his body. “His family can’t come here,” he replied. “I will take him home.”

The doctors moved Amrit’s body to the hospital morgue, where it would have to wait till the results of their coronavirus tests arrived. Saiyub grieved alone in the quarantine ward for two days, unable to see his deceased friend. He received several calls from officials who administered Shivpuri, the district where the hospital was located.

The officials in Amrit and Saiyub’s home district had made it clear to the Shivpuri officials that they would not allow Amrit’s body into Devari if he tested positive for the coronavirus. They had urged them to cremate him in Shivpuri itself.

For two days, Saiyub repeated a single prayer: “Ya Allah! When the results arrive let me and Amrit test negative for corona.”

On the afternoon of May 18, the reports came from a laboratory: Both the friends had tested negative. In the evening, after a few hours of paperwork, Saiyub was allowed to return home with Amrit’s body. An ambulance was ready. “The freezer they had kept him had not been working,” Saiyub recalled. Amrit’s body had turned black; his skin and flesh were peeling off. “He was already smelling.”

As Saiyub sat in the ambulance carrying him and the body to Devari, he feared Amrit’s parents wouldn’t be able to bear the sight of their son’s corpse. “I called his father. He agreed that I should take him straight to the graveyard in the village.” Most Hindus cremate their deceased family members but some Dalits like Amrit’s family bury their dead.

The ambulance drove on. Saiyub ignored the numerous calls he was getting from friends and family in the village and stayed in silence beside his friend throughout the nightlong journey. About half a mile from Amrit’s home in Devari, the Dalit graveyard is a single acre of land lush with wild grass and shaded by mahua trees. Amrit was buried there. The plain brown mound of earth about six feet long and three feet wide has no tombstone.

Saiyub walked home from the graveyard. A little later, his phone rang. The travel agent from Surat was on the line. “I have got tickets for Amrit and you,” he said. “The train for your village leaves tomorrow.”

Five weeks had passed since they buried Amrit when I met Saiyub in the village. He was living with his parents, surviving off their meager savings. There was no work in the village for him. He worried more about the fate of Amrit’s family: his parents, his four teenage sisters, his 12-year-old brother.

The home Amrit had helped build with his remittances is a small rectangle of brick walls: two rooms and a raised platform open to the elements. A buffalo and a cow were tied to their pegs beside the house. A few bales of cotton were stacked outside the bedroom; his mother and sisters turn them into quilts for a vendor. Twigs of brushwood lie around a mud oven used for cooking.

Amrit Kumar’s photograph from the Diwali holidays in 2016, hanging on a wall in his parents’ house.
Amrit Kumar’s photograph from the Diwali holidays in 2016, hanging on a wall in his parents’ house.Credit...Vivek Singh for The New York Times
The sole adornment was a framed photograph of Amrit on a wall, a picture taken during the festival of Diwali in the winter of 2016. He is posing in a photo studio against the backdrop of a landscaped garden by water. His eyes are bright, purposeful against his boyish face. His polka dot shirt, his drainpipe denims, a smartphone daintily held in his right hand are a statement of confidence and social mobility. His years of toil in a faraway city had helped the poor young man earn a modicum of freedom from the poverty, humiliation and violence that shadows every Dalit body in the village.

Amrit’s loss had left Ram Charan, his father, a shrunken shell of a man. He spoke in monosyllables, struggling with his words. His eyes were stony, coming alive with occasional flashes of anger and grief at the hand fate and follies of powerful men he would never meet had dealt him. His daughter’s wedding was deferred. The villagers were talking about pooling resources to help out.

Ram Charan gets between 30 to 40 days of work a year through a public works program. Since the pandemic began, he has found three days of work overseeing laborers cleaning an irrigation canal in the village, making 202 rupees, or about $2.70, a day. The future seems uncertain after Amrit’s death. “He was all we had. He kept our family going,” Ram Charan said. “He is not here anymore.”

A narrow muddy path led out of the village, to the town, to the highway, to the cities. Saiyub and I walked together a while. The factory owner in Surat had called the day before. Some of the workers were already back. He wanted Saiyub to return.

“I have to go back. In a month, maybe two,” he said. “Not right now. The heart is not ready yet.”

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/31/opinion/sunday/India-migration-coronavirus.html