The Official POTW Nominations Thread!

KU has made it clear that he is a dictator and is not influenced by anyone.

You forgot the iButt or the aZardari smiley there ;-)

S-S: chalo bhai, copy paste nahi... par phir bhi, usool ki baat hai. Posts praising PPP, iButt, DNA, aZardari etc can't be POTW. Them's The Rules.

I would like to nominate this post, even though a lot of people said they would in the thread but I guess they havent done it yet:

Its from this thread: http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?p=3089077&posted=1#post3089077

post no. 9 :))) would probably a controversial POTW, I am sure Afridi fans wont enjoy it

I am an AFRIDI fan and I want this to be post or quote of the week..... my favourite post since I joined PP!

In fact I am going to start a thread....

If every Pak player was an animal.... which would it be...

i would like to nominate the following post for POTW!

Thread: Afridi And Razzaq - Who Is Better?
Poster: Savak

As batters, both bring different attributes to the table. Razzaq obviously is the more consistent and dangerous striker, more reliable to bat for the team and play according to the situation. But Razzaq has his weaknesses against Spin and pace.

Afridi on the other hand is always unpredictable, its easier for the opposition to take him for granted given he doesnt place a high price on his wicket and this can backfire terribly when he just gets it right. Plus fans dont really want Afridi to change, thats the honest truth, they love him for the way he is and have tolerance for his brain farts. If Afridi bats in the powerplays he could have an equally dangerous impact like Razzaq, Afridi doesnt watch the field when hitting.

As far as bowling is concerned. I would rate Afridi as the better bowler because Razzaq used to average 24 in ODI's and after years and years of constant hammerings, his average has risen to 32 in ODI's. Afridi on the other hand can be relied upon to consistently bowl his 10 overs cheaply with a couple of wickets. He used to average in the high 40's with the ball and that has now come down to 35, so not a bad effort at all.

As fielders, Afridi scores easily. In terms of charisma, ability to shout and demand 100% effort from team mates, Afridi scores again.

Afridi has higher brand value than Razzaq.

The reason why Razzaq never got the same media limelight like Afridi and Akhtar is because of his shy, laid back, lethargic personality.

But i would have both in my ODI and T-20 for sure. If only Razzaq could up his bowling, it would add a crucial dimension to our bowling line up.

A GREAT Summary of both afridi and razzaqs role in the team and what attributes they bring to the team and where improvements need to be made.

Just saw this thing last week when one of them won.one more suggestion,u can also include things like "epic fail thread of the week" and "pic of the week thread" just to add some fun.ok these are some pretty gud ones from the last week

1) this analysis shocked me as it did to some others.No one thought he was very gud,but not this bad either.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=96462&highlight=albie

by shaykh1985

A pretty terrible career thus far in ODI's...

It is seriously a ridiculous argument to compare this guy to Razzaq...Razzaq's a shot bowler but he will never be as bad as Albie Morkel...

Proof of how bad he is how well he has performed against us...he averages 24.10 with the ball of 6 matches...

And now the reason for my sarcasm...look at the rest of his performances...I've excluded Bangladesh and Zimbabwe...

His ODI bowling averages:
74.20 against Australia
50.50 against England
72.00 against India
66.66 against New Zealand
105.00 against the Windies

As far all all rounders go these have to be some of the worst bowling stats ever...and those stats are from 31 matches...

We really are terrible against terrible bowlers sometimes...we treated him like he deserved to be treated finally...

His batting is a joke too but is much better than his bowling...

Fortunately we have actually shown him up when hes batted against us...if you discount Bangladesh and Zimbabwe his average goes down to 17.60...

He averages:
12.25 against us
14.00 against New Zealand
11.25 against England
2.00 against India (albeit of 1 innings so a bit harsh to judge)

Like he only seems to be successful with the ball against us his only success with the bat is against the Aussies...a 26.16 with 8 innings and 2 not outs is pretty poor but is infact his most impressive set of averages...

To call him an all rounder is as inaccurate a statement that can be made...

Hes 29 too...when it comes to tried and tested failures they dont come much worse than Albie Morkel...

2) a very important point which was raised in the current situation of commentating

by theKhan

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=110627

Should mediocre cricketers be allowed to become TV experts?
We all saw the game yesterday. Unfortunately, we all had to hear the comments of two so called Pakistani experts.

One of them was an opener and probably one of the worst fielders and runners Pakistan has ever produced. Needless to say confidence wise he was bankrupt.

The other one was a medium-fast bowler who had a hard time making his place permanent in Pakistan team in any format of the game. His only valuable contribution to Pakistan cricket appears to be assisting Inzimam-ul-Haq beating up a totally out of line Indian fan in Toronto. The fan had a loudspeaker on the ground and was yelling ungentlemanly comments about Inzimam's mother over it.

Yet when these so called cricket experts were commenting yesterday, they implied that Fawad Alam and Razzaq are selfish players, they are only trying to save their positions for the next game, and it was even suggested that they are practicing for test games.

Should these mediocre cricketers of the past be representing Pakistan in a commentary box?

The reason I bring it up is because the opener generously criticizes the technique of other players. However, I can’t remember a single cover drive ever played by this opener. Forget covers, I can’t remember a single off drive. Furthermore, I kid you not; it was a torture to see this opener batting against the spinners. Also, it disappoints me that he was so generously putting down the caution of Fawad and Razzaq a the middle stages of the innings, specially because he was a team member of the Pakistani team which came out of the exactly similar situations in the past and he played extremely cautiously. In 1987 this opener played really slow and Saleem Malik had to come down the order and take Pakistan to victory by scoring 72 of 32 balls (I could be wrong with number of deliveries faced). There was a similar situation in 1992 semi-final when Inzimam saved the day. Also, I remember few one day games against England when this so called expert played all the 50 overs and failed to score a century.

The lesser said about the medium-fast bowler, the better.

The issue is…….should, people who have never played a big role in making teams come from behind and win, be given the roles of experts? They have never done it themselves. They believe that no one can do it. Although a team’s history might be staring right into their eyes but they fail to see it. Pakistani cricket has many innings in the past to vouch its stubbornness. Javed Miandad, Saleem Malik, Asif Mujataba, Manzoor Elahi, Inzimam-ul-haq, etc. Australians (Michael Hussey) and English (Alan Lamb) may have done it only once but the Pakistani team has been doing it for a while and will continue to do it.

I ask gain…..should mediocre players be representing Pakistan as experts in the commentary box? They only see cricket from the talent they possessed. Their hope is fragile. Specially, because they critique players who are far much more talented than they ever were themselves.

3)last one.just saw this post by robert a bit later.

post no 98

Great Khan,
You say that white Anglo-Africans are picked by England ahead of
British Asians, while forgetting that Aftab Habib, Monty Panesar, Owais Shah, Adil Rashid, Sajid Mahmood and Samit Patel all got in ahead of KP and Trott. Those British Asians all underachieved, while KP and Trott were immediate succeses. Bopara was an immediate success for England but twice had to be removed from the side because of confidence issues. At least Ravi has never made excuses for himself as did Ramprakash, and looks to have a good future in the ODI side at least.

Habib looked hopeless; Monty had a good run but can't field, lacks understanding of field-placing and went backwards as a bowler because he doesn't even know the LBW law; Ace can't field, is anti-authoritarian and blew most of his many opportunities with the bat; Rashid is not even that effective for his county let alone England and was overpromoted; Saj is not good enough; Patel would have kept Swann out of the England ODI side if he had not been so lazy about his fitness.

First you say that British Asian players don't get a fair chance to get picked or a good run in the side when picked, then you insinuate that the paragon of Brit-Asian success in English cricket is an Uncle Tom! The one Brit-Asian who was talented enough and had enough drive and commitment to England to maximise his talent is a race traitor to you. How do you think Nass would feel if he heard you? With 'fans' like you, Brit-Asians don't need institutional racism to hold them back.

QOTW-most of them were funny ones.mods select the best one or best ones.

1) http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=110540

hashbb-post no 48-

Twitter update:

I drop catch lol

Update

Tsobe easy for me

update

AstagfirAllah

update

Today i did an awesome cover drive in tennis

update

@Stuartbroad, Morne Morkel.. I am married now , i sorry

I did MBA

2) http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=110334

AMIR-The only balance he brings is to the other side.(post no 2)-

this because the opening post was such a long post an the next post was a one line delivery lol.

3) http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?p=3089077&posted=1#post3089077

of course the wolf fox post pointed above by idone

4) http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=110839

post no 15 by umar akmal fan - i saw pommie mbangwa last week

post no 30-free hit - I want to share this horrific moment I had about few weeks back......

Thanks for the excellent nominations guys.

However, NZPakistanFan wins it this time around.

Please keep posting nominations - I always read them carefully and take them into consideration.

Will try to update the nominations from now whenever free(choices include both personal choices as well as considered potw material by lots as it would be unfair not to include them)

1)http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=111212

post no 13-1137 moiz

week one:

Sehwag--the modern master blaster

week two:

"I try to keep things simple"--sehwag

week three:

Ian Chappell--I want Sehwag to have my kids

week four:

Sambit Bal--Sehwag's genius is that he hits the ball when it is there to be hit

week five:

Cricinfo Performances of the Year: Sehwag's 200

week six:

Ask Steven: Sehwag's boundary count, and a random useless column

week seven:

The List: this week we look at sehwag's boundary count since [insert arbitrary date], and compare it with other so-called greats.

week eight:

Sambit Bal: I'm a supposedly neutral editor but 90 percent of my articles are focused on India. Sehwag is awesome hot and cooler than Viv Richards

week nine:

The Numbers Game:

Can anybody compare to Viru?

week ten:

Sehwag--I try to keep things simple

2) http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=111269

post no 15-mhraja

No Sir, I would not like anything that deprives my countrymen from one of the few source of entertainment they have.

I have been blessed by living in many cities of Pakistan and have seen matches with people who doesn’t own TV sets and sit at a dhabba to watch matches with their fellows. The zeal and zest among those people is beyond anyone’s imagination, leaving all the worries of their lives behind them they pray and cheer for the men who are representing them at world stage. The religious, sectarian, regional, family divides fade away for a few hours and everyone has one and the same thing on mind; Pakistan’s victory. Pakistan cricket must live for sake of not just those who are watching at dhabbas but families watching at home, friends arranging large screens in street, people tuning into cricinfo at their offices, people getting sms score updates while travelling and millions of armchair analysts (like us) who love sitting after the match and discuss the match and future changes.

Now coming to the corruption, it’s no secret that PCB is incompetent and corrupt. With patron of PCB refusing to bring in any changes it does seems like ICC must take things in its hand. I am not sure if ICC can do anything to remove corruption from Pakistan cricket because we must clean our own house. But one thing they can do (and they did threat to do) is to oust incompetent administrators of the Pakistan cricket. Once the competent administrators are here we at least can hope to minimize the effect to corruption to maximum extent.

You are very quite on this issue :)

Bhai, thing is that some people are really thick and there is no point in arguing with them. InshAllah, Yousuf will play in New Zealand and will InshAllah score a century. InshAllah after a century you will see these same people who are criticizing him praising him like no tomorrow. :)

sorry CD, but your admiration for Yousuf is clouding your judgment.

please face the fact that he is in the wrong in this situation.

legend that he is, he has no right to demand to play if he has not bothered to even show up to train with his domestic team.

sorry CD, but your admiration for Yousuf is clouding your judgment.

please face the fact that he is in the wrong in this situation.

legend that he is, he has no right to demand to play if he has not bothered to even show up to train with his domestic team.

Bhai, as TGK first point was that;

"How does rana know yusuf is not fit? is he now a medical professional too?"

As far training with team is concerned then isn't it possible for Yousuf to have commitments? I have seen Yousuf with my eyes practicing at National Cricket Academy even in Ramadhan.

now you are suggesting that entire WAPDA and Rana is hellbent on denying Yousuf from getting an opportunity to play.

please ask yourself if that is a feasible scenario.

now you are suggesting that entire WAPDA and Rana is hellbent on denying Yousuf from getting an opportunity to play.

Anything is possible in pakistan... you should know better!!

Lahore vs NBP...... remember that? Or should I dig out the socrecard for you? Wait as Butt lover you should have it memorised......

How was that match fixed... by the entire management!!

^ :yawn:

no proof, no evidence, PCB investigated that match, and cleared of all wrongdoing.

please do not promote your half-baked affirmations as fact.

What I am saying is that it is possible for Yousuf to be busy with something which had kept him away from training.

If he scores a century in tomorrows match (InshAllah) then what would you guys say? Will you say he is fit?

won't matter, because then Rana would be justified.

and Yousuf's reaction would have been petty and immature.

if you knew how to read you would be able to see CD state the following:

What I am saying is that it is possible for Yousuf to be busy with something which had kept him away from training.

It is rest what he needed because of the groin strain!! if he says he is fit.....then I would go with him....

28/5....... do not forget

I also don't agree with the nomination

A POTW is normally one where a vast majority of posters agree/ are convinced/ can't argue with the statements made.

That post has too many debatable, and in the opinion of many posters, wrong facts

I want to nominate myself for the incredible contribution I did in the amaizing aviation thread :)

Also I think my thrilling example in that Wahab Riaz thread also deserves some recognition. My hot Pakistani wife would give me a treat then! ;)

I want to nominate this post. I understand the general trend of POTW is from the cricket section, and are usually long - but I think this post, just in a few words, sums up the sub continental mentality. Thanks.

Most western leaders know south Asians(mostly Ind & Pak) are suckers for shallow and empty praises and start drooling the moment they hear anything they think serves their cause. Their MO is very simple, If going to India, praise economy, democracy and say something against Pakistan. If going to Pakistan, praise their contribution to fighting terrorism and efforts in Afghanistan. After perfunctory praises, get down to pursuing self interests.

I've noticed this in both India and Pakistan. The moment a foreign leader says anything, the govt immediately twists it as strong support and it gets trumpeted across the 24/7 media. Then the newsflash goes "Germany Blasts Pakistan", "Cameron takes Pakistan to Task", Saudi Arabia condemns India" blah blah blah.

Really childish!

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3230359&postcount=23

I see that I don't have a single nomination here. Such heresy shall not be tolerated and I would advise immediate corrective action before familiar names start appearing on hit lists all over the world.

I want to nominate this post. I understand the general trend of POTW is from the cricket section, and are usually long - but I think this post, just in a few words, sums up the sub continental mentality. Thanks.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3230359&postcount=23

Length of a post doesn't matter. However, we don't award time-pass posts as our focus is on cricket.

In fact, when I won my POTW award - mine was about the same length as the one you nominated. :)

Length of a post doesn't matter. However, we don't award time-pass posts as our focus is on cricket.

In fact, when I won my POTW award - mine was about the same length as the one you nominated. :)

fair enough bro :) will keep that in mind before nominating next time. Thanks!

I would like to nominate the following post by saltan yusuf for POTW as it was fantastic and instead of focussing on judjing the players as guilty/not guilty he focussed on achieving honor which tbh none have shown and now I realise that (and they should be punished for this alone).

One thing I haven't seen in this whole fiasco by the trio (esp Butt and Amir) is any honour. Whether they're guilty or innocent, your actions can be honourable - all they've done from the outset is play the victim. Slowly, slowly it seems they are proving themselves to be guilty and what's worse is that it is in the least bit honourable. It's as if they realise they have to come clean, but they're still trying to play the victim.

If you're innocent, send a legal notice to the accusers (don't talk about whether you "may issue" it, just do it), keep your mouth shut - don't come on every news channel and talk trash. When the hearing comes, present your case in the best way possible and deal with it.

If you are guilty, then the best thing to do is come clean, apologise to the nation and your fans. Show some damn remorse - if not for the people, at least for yourselves - I know it's a bit of a politically incorrect thing to say, but yes they may not be particularly remorseful, but even fake it if you must, a few tears go a long way. Showing some remorse will help in reducing your sentence and may further your career. The most honourable thing that could have been done is for Salman to come clean, take the blame and walk away from cricket....Cronje did it, but these guys think the whole world operates like pakistan - they think all they need to do get off is bribe a few people, talk trash, accuse someone and everyone of something or the other - sooner or later, everyone will forget everything and life will go on. Well sons, it doesn't quite work like that everywhere else.

I'd say these guys have not displayed any honour, or even any brains or some semblance of guile. They've each just acted like a rabbit caught in the headlights. Whilst that may be understandable given their situation, someone, somewhere should have given them some sound advice. All they've done is blame the world that there is a conspiracy against them.

To be fair, Asif has dealt with this a lot better than the other two - kept his mouth shut to a large extent. Amir is just young and naive - he is showing some honour (amongst thieves) in sticking by his buddy's side. But unfortunately that has not been reciprocated by the weasel that is Butt and definitely the type of honour that everyone wants to see.

Thread:
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=113777

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3249071&postcount=66

Interesting thread. I'll give it a shot.

The match will take place between India and Pakistan [just has to be]. It will be played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore - the leading cricket stadium in Pakistan [60000 capacity]. All five days have been sold out and this match is the talk of the town as most encounters between the two sides are. Cricinfo has a whole page worth of Sehwag and Tendulkar specials and PP members are irate about this.

Its finally match day. The talk will cease and the action will begin under the sweltering Lahori sun. The captains for both sides [Imran Khan and Kapil Dev] are out in the middle and will be participating in the pre-match formalities [toss etc.]. The toss is won by Pakistan and they have decided to bat first as expected in Lahore. Analysts are claiming the pitch will have a bit in it for the seamers at the beginning.

Day 1: The match has begun with Kapil Dev bowling to Saeed Anwar. Saeed Anwar has executed three brilliant square cuts and the crowd is going bonkers. Zaheer Khan is sharing the new ball with Kapil Dev and he is getting it to boomerang around. He beats Aamir Sohail's bat a couple of times and ultimately destroys his off stump. The match is at a fascinating point with Pakistan on 30/1.

The match continues to progress on day 1. Saeed Anwar departs a little while later as he continued his belligerent approach. He has played a rash shot and its gone instantly to first slip where Mohammad Azharuddhin is standing. Younus Khan and Javed Miandad manage to salvage the advantage and commence pushing the pace of the match. Indian spinners [Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble] attempt to slow things down, but they can't seem to.

Pakistan appears to have things going efficiently until Younus Khan and Javed Miandad depart after the mandatory tea break. The score is now 220/4. Zaheer Khan is bowling a respectable spell and is the only one picking up wickets on this flatish track. The Indians are once again fired up after picking up those wickets; Inzamam Ul Haq and Mohammad Yousuf see out the remaining portion of the day. The final score on day 1 is - 280/4.

Day 2: The second day begins with an absolutely shocking collapse by Pakistan. This was expected from Pakistan as these collapses have become well ingrained into their cricketing psyche. The sledging has become intense from the Indians and the only man still fighting out there with the bat is Imran Khan. He bats well with the tail enders and pushes the team's score past 400. However, he falls to Anil Kumble straight one and that is the end of his resistance. Pakistan's final score in the first innings is 410 all out.

India are now coming out to bat. They will be chasing a hefty score, but with their batting resources; the confidence is still high amongst the ranks. This is the battle everyone wishes to see in Lahore; Pakistani pacers vs India's batting lineup. The two batsmen coming out to bat are Virender Sehwag and Sunil Gavaskar. Two contrasting approaches to batting, but they will surely get the blood pumping for both sides. They face the finest bowling pair of all time - Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis first up. Wasim Akram has no trouble beating the bat, but its Waqar Younus' stunning yorkers that dismantle Gavaskar and Dravid. India are reeling at 13/2, but Sachin Tendulkar is out there in the middle with Virender Sehwag.

Sachin Tendulkar is going all guns blazing. He is carting around the Pakistani bowlers. No one is being spared not Wasim, not Waqar and not even Imran Khan. This is frustrating Imran Khan, but he has a spearhead up his sleeves. This spearhead is none other than the fastest bowler on the planet - Shoaib Akhtar. The battle between the fiery quickie and the two batsmen is a prolonged one and it continues throughout the day. However, India have now reached 200/2 and the partnership is blooming. India is starting to get comfortable.

Day 3: Imran Khan has toiled over potential tactics he could employ to dismantle this partnership. He has attempted to utilize Abdul Qadir, but he can't do much due to minimal turn from the track. Shoaib Akhtar is buoyant and Imran notices this and tosses him the ball. Akhtar in a moment's notice is back under Sehwag's ear. They are continuously sledging each other - something about "baap" and "betas". That doesn't last long as Akhtar first gets Tendulkar with a tremendous bouncer that he can't do much about and then he gets Sehwag with a supreme yorker.

The bowling comeback continues as Akhtar is now on a steamroll. Wasim, Waqar and Imran Khan have been sidelined as mere spectators as we witness an inhumane spell from Akhtar where he blows the Indian lineup away. The Indian batting lineup has completely folded in front of the Rawalpindi Express and they have been bundled out for 380. Pakistan go into the second innings with a 30 runs lead. Nothing special, but a lead is a lead.

The openers come out to bat the last session of the day. The Pakistan camp realizes they will need ample time to bowl out the Indian batting lineup once again and quick batting is required. Imran Khan orders his openers to play in an attacking fashion. They obliges as they cart the Indian bowlers around the park and have fought all the way to 100/0 before stumps.

Day 4: This could be the day fortunes turn around for both teams. India realizes they require wickets to be taken otherwise this could get ugly. The track has now cracked up and the Indian spinners could weave their magic out there. They do exactly this. Anil Kumble starts going on a tear and has the Pakistani batsmen whiffing at thin air. He traps both Aamir Sohail and Saeed Anwar plumb in front of the stumps and has them sent packing by Simon Taufel.

The pressure is maintained and Younus Khan departs, as well. Kapil Dev has been plugging along attempting to get wickets and has proven to be quite ineffective until his second spell on day 4. His first over is a menacing one where he beats Miandad's bat six out of six times. Dev is fuming now as he can't believe his bad luck. His luck changes in the next over as he rips out the Pakistani middle order. First he sends Miandad's off stump cartwheeling and a few deliveries later its Yousuf's leg stump.

Imran Khan and Inzamam Ul Haq are now batting out there against a once again fired up Indian attack. Pakistan is at 230/5. Pakistan is still feeling slightly comfortable with their position, but realize they require a few more runs. Harbhajan Singh has other things on his mind as he picks up both Inzi and Imran in successive deliveries. He is spinning the ball big time and its getting ugly for the Pakistani batsmen. Singh is on a hat trick and he faces Wasim Akram who has just walked in. The Lahori crowd is stunned at the proceedings and are wishing the hat trick doesn't occur; their wish is not to be. Wasim's off stump is rattled as the doosra rips past his outside edge. He simply hangs his head and trudges off. The remaining portion of Pakistan's line-up is skittled out easily and Pakistan have produced a lead of 280.

Indian openers bat out the remaining potion of the day and end at 50/0.

Day 5: Who will win?! India requires another 230 runs in 90 overs; Pakistan requires 10 wickets. A winner is bound to be found, but who will it be? India's batting vs Pakistan's bowling - this is what its come down to. The series had three tests and the first two were drawn. This is the last test and whoever wins this takes the series and the cup.

Pakistan decide to not show up mentally and see Sehwag and Gavaskar blast them to all parts. India is now at 150/0 and Pakistan is almost completely out of it. The Lahori crowd is still sitting around, but the noise is at an absolute minimal. Libraries produce more excitement than can be heard at the Gadaffi stadium. Abdul Qadir is still not giving up and he manages to pry the wickets of both openers in quick succession. All of a sudden Sachin Tendulkar plays a rash shot and he is sent packing to the wily spin of Qadir. The googly is doing wonders. India goes into team needing 50 more runs with 7 wickets to spare. Surely, an easy chase?!

Imran Khan gives a resounding pep talk to his lads during tea break. He doesn't mind losing, but he wants to see his lads fight till the end. This is what test cricket is all about for him - team spirit. This is what he wants to see and he won't have anything else from his team.

Imran Khan opens the bowling himself after tea. No one has ever seen a spell of fast bowling as the one Lahore witnesses that day. Imran Khan blows the Indian batting lineup out of the water. Six deliveries and six wickets. Imran Khan has bowled the finest test over of all time. Kapil Dev has his head in his hands. He can't believe what he has just seen. His team has capitulated and now required 50 runs with 1 wicket.

The battle is not over. The last pair of batsmen - Zaheer Khan and Anil Kumble continue prodding along. They won't quit knowing the circumstances surrounding the match and they manage to take it down to 10 runs required. Everyone is on the edge of their seats. The ball is tossed to Mohammad Yousuf. Its an unbelievable move by Imran Khan. Everyone is scratching their heads. No one can believe what he's doing, but Imran hasn't flinched even though his teammates are questioning his wisdom. Yousuf ambles in and bowls - VOILA! The wicket is his as he gets Zaheer Khan to scoop the ball up to cover and its over. Pakistan win.

The greatest test ever has just been played. :)

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=113905 :14:

I don't see what's so intolerant? The OP raised a very valid albeit a minor issue. The issue is well-known, those with even a modicum of Islamic knowledge are aware of it. However, its good to have reminders so the OP served that purpose - a short, simple and gentle reminder for Muslims, read it in 30 seconds, move on.

Obviously, some "Muslims" don't really care about Islam or Islamic reminders - fair enough, they can ignore the thread.

Nowhere did the OP say or imply this was a big issue or a huge problem. Only an idiot or a biased liberal nutcase with an anti-Islam vendetta would read that into it. It was a minor 30 second reminder.

There are countless threads on Time Pass discussing every silly and trivial aspect of life - about celebrities, about silly pics, about tv shows, about songs, about parts of songs and little segments within those parts etc. . Not even about meaningful trivia, but about useless portions of partial trivia. :)) Do you go around all those threads saying "Oh we should focus on the big issues, oh this is such a waste"?

For those who cannot stomach any Islam or any Islamic reminder, no matter how minor - I have some simple advice. No one is forcing you to read this or similar threads. Focus on the topics you like and that don't seem a waste of time to you. :) There are countless threads to suit all tastes and preferences here.

But no - live and let live is too much for some of these anti-Islam liberal extremists. They have to come into Islamic threads just to make fun of Islam with their snide remarks, their pathetic jibes and their "oh so sophisticated" nonsense. :))
I nominate this post for awesomeness.

The US has 737 military bases in 63 countries around the world. Wouldn't you call that a violation of sovereignty on their part? Having a foreign military force on their soil? Yet they don't complain. Why? Because in today's political reality, almost every nation inadvertently needs the US. This need can be economic or military, but it still needs it.

Pakistan happens to be the unfortunate epicenter of a major war at the moment. Other nations aren't faced with the prospect of being taken over by Taliban hoodlums the way Pakistan is. Whatever the reasons for the militant problem (Russia, CIA etc.) it is still at our doorsteps.

Back in 2001 Richard Armitage told Musharraf that he will bomb Pakistan back into the stone age if he didn't comply with the US. Tell me, you really think Armitage was bluffing? Forget drone attacks, proper F-16s would've shattered the already crumbling infrastructure of our country. It's easy to sit back and say "oh we need ghairat"...but its not so easy when you inherit a leadership position that is back by no money, no power, no economy and no respect.

I nominate this post for POTW

Taha is a top poster, his debating skills are very good indeed and he has the ability to stay very cool, balanced and collected even in what are sometimes very heated situations to put it mildly. I am therefore nominating his above post for what in my opinion will be a very well deserved POTW.

I also nominate that post of Taha, top poster.

that was a fantastic post indeed but unfortunately, only cricket comments/analysis can be candidates for POTW

This should be post of the week! Saj can u plz fwd it PCB or Waqar Younus?

Mods, can I take the liberty to suggest this POTW?

@ cricfan4ever.

Sorry it took me a short while to dig this out.

This a copy of my plan to improve our batting, that I sent to PCB about a year ago.

Major surgery is not the answer unless its a brain implant

Our instinctive response after every failure is,, sack this player, sack that player... sack PCB chairman, sack selectors, shuffle batting order, remove the captain etc etc and I was one of the advocates of this theory.... BUT ... after watching Pak U19 final last nite I am convinced that we need to change our batting approach towards the game..... replacing or shuffling is not the answer... we are all the same level of mental strength

The math is pretty simple, when you are under pressure (say top order is diminished with in 20 runs), you do NOT respond by blocking every freaking delivery and wait for a bad ball to hit a boundary but you MUST respond with singles and doubles.... this requires ability and skill that we seriously lack ... and here is the plan ...

During your practice sessions, you keep 6 fielders inside the circle and make every batsman face 100 deliveries.... Put two batsmen to bat against a mix of fast and spin bowling. If the batsman hits a four or a six in his first 50 runs, these boundary runs should be DEDUCTED from his total score.... so whoever scores the highest runs in 100 balls faced becomes the most successful batsman and will increase his chances of getting into the national squad .... this practice session should be held at least once or preferably twice in a day for every specialist batsman on a non-stop continuous basis.... the emphasis should be on developing the skill of hitting into the gaps and steal singles and doubles and improve running between the wickets .... FORGET ABOUT BOUNDARIES at this point ... once a batsman gets the confidence of creating frustration among the opposition fielders and bowlers and scores a fifty odd runs mostly in singles, doubles and tripples, hitting boundaries becomes a piece of cake for him.

The fielders will also be put to test to be agile and stop the singles and doubles. Good fielders should also get credit.
We will need to generate a database and keep track of all the batsmen for analysis. Good batsmen should be picked and trained how to respond in pressure.

This is one of ways we could get out of this mentality of waiting for the bad ball to hit a four or six and keep on blocking until that comes... which hardly comes and we simply create more and more pressure on ourselves and rest of the batting line .....

Again,,, we have to change the batting culture both on senior and junior level cricket otherwise we will never be consistent performers.

thx Fusedbulb I was about to suggest the same...Decipher really hit home the point! fantastic stuff!

the ability to get singles and doubles after a batting collapse, instead of blocking every single delivery, was something fawad alam brought to the table.

apparently, we as pakistanis, couldnt find room for him in a 30 man probables. go figure.

Younis used to do this very well... but of lately he has lost that touch.

Fawad did this on a consistent basis and we showed him the finger.

Plan is great, but it would never work, pakistani's have too much talent to go for the singles n doubles maann.. its all about the 4's n 6's regardless of the collapse

I don't mind fours as long as they go along the ground the whole way.

i tihnk it i s a revulutionery idea as in batting hte emphasis is on hitting 6s

i think just a normal idea Bhai not That Unique Match Situation Is Totally different from the practicing situation...and it depend on the bowler who you are facing ...

I don't know if my vote counts, because I just have a 100 odd posts.

I want to nominate 2 posters for the 'Poster of the week' title. W63L35 and Ganeshran. Every post of theirs is quite good.

I don't know if my vote counts, because I just have a 100 odd posts.

I want to nominate 2 posters for the 'Poster of the week' title. W63L35 and Ganeshran. Every post of theirs is quite good.

POTW is specific to one specific post, its not based on general quality of posting

Extremely stupid statement. Don't be part of the problem, be part of the solution. I liked Yousuf as both a batsman and a person but after his record breaking 2006 and all the extreme plaudits he got, his ego really shot through the roof and apparently he still carries that attitude.

The ICL harms Yousuf's reputation granted, but it would have been forgivable as a mistake (which we all make; part of life) had he just put Pakistan ahead of himself for the remainder of his career, as has Razzaq who is still appreciated.

The charade of his first retirement [sic] was obviously just a form of blackmail to get back in the team, proven by the numerous statements he made in the media as well as the classic 'I've retired [sic], this is my decision.. for now'. If you've retired, it's final, there is no time limit for you to deliberate upon that decision and once you're gone, you don't come back as you please - it stinks of player power. Retiring with a big press conference and having numerous articles being published about your best career knocks before stating, after a few months, that the tour to South Africa is a possibility is just a joke. Not to mention the embarrassing way the English commentators were mocking Pakistan when he did return at The Oval.

Sure, Yousuf was idiotically banned by the current bufoon who sits at the head of the table but there is a way you deal with a situation. Extremely naive to think the world, let alone Pakistan, is perfect. The players were given an opportunity to protest and reverse the ban, thus making the PCB look even more stupid if there were no grounds for the board's choice in the first place. Younis Khan fought, cleared his name legally and is now enjoying a stable place in the middle order. Being as senior, he could have played the 'I'm going to sulk in a corner and wait for you to come crawling back' card. He didn't. Yousuf needs to realise that 2006 was now a whole five years ago and he can't dine out on that honeymoon for the rest of his career with mediocre performances (36 avg) in comparison to the high standard he's earlier set.

Anyway, I was fully expecting another Moyo retirement [sic] after he was excluded from the WC team but I'm glad he's stayed away from that path this time, so far. It's good to hear that he's remaining positive and is trying to prove the selectors wrong, that's all he can do. I don't think he's a great player but he's certainly a Pakistani great (batsman), has shown form/fitness and should have been in the ODI squad. I also don't think he alone should be blamed for all his mistakes because, education aside, he is obviously [no nice way of saying] very stupid. He should have been managed better by the PCB and I feel that the cricketing craze in Pakistan needs to be moderated unless the achievement is a world cup, in which case you award the TEAM and not one player who wins you a final. Putting individuals on a figurative pedestal only grooms them to expect similar treatment for a long period of time.

Now let's wait for the small-minded brigade to label me an enemy of Islam.

I nominate this post by Sledger, in this thread

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?p=3363554&posted=1#post3363554

Post #52

bump :)

woud like to nominate cricketindianfan's WC Preview for India.

a very comprehensive and through breakdown of Team India's chances at the WC.