The Official POTW Nominations Thread!

kray nominate my post, please and thank you in advance, and then thank you AZ for awarding me the potw award, and thank you everyone in advance for congratulating me. :afridi

Apan log ke saamne yeh sab kuch bhi nahi

Ppers just nominate long essays they do not even bother to read ke bhai itna likha hai tou kuch acha hi likha hoga

I agree with looney slightly, you see alot of posts nominated just for being long. Thats why i nominated savaks. Short, sweet and to the point.

Looney you want me to nominate any of yours ;-) :))

simply not true, you guys have to nominate whatever you feel is worthy.

although long posts do show that the poster has put in some time and effort.

kray nominate my post, please and thank you in advance, and then thank you AZ for awarding me the potw award, and thank you everyone in advance for congratulating me. :afridi

this corrupt method of garnering nominations will never win POTW.

I agree with looney slightly, you see alot of posts nominated just for being long. Thats why i nominated savaks. Short, sweet and to the point.

I agree as well but I think you took it to the other extreme with your nomination. It's just a good strong opinion written in 3 short sentences. If that's all it takes to get POTW, there are many posted every hour.

ok 1000 rupees with it?

joking.

i should have won atleast 5 potw so far on pp. :danish

I agree as well but I think you took it to the other extreme with your nomination. It's just a good strong opinion written in 3 short sentences. If that's all it takes to get POTW, there are many posted every hour.

My nomination was extremely serious. Amir cheated and all we see is people blmaing butt as though butt coerced him into doing it whereas the truth is amir would have known about the dangers and went along with it. People give amir alot of sympathy saying he was only 18 but the thing is he had talent and he knew he was the next big thing yet he took the easy way out and tried making the quick money. We have had younger players in corrupt times (Afridi, Azhar, Abdul razzaq) and yet their names are clean. What Savak said is 100% true.

i do not believe in sifarish but hard work :farhat
simply not true, you guys have to nominate whatever you feel is worthy.

although long posts do show that the poster has put in some time and effort.

this corrupt method of garnering nominations will never win POTW.
aap tou dil per lay rahe haiN :misbah

kia yeh khulla tazaad nahi ? :ekdin

This thread has just reminded me that some time ago, Cover Drive told me that he was nominating me for a POTW (not sure exactly what the post was about). Since mods decide who gets POTW, I thought I had that one in the bag. Turns out it went to someone else! :))

Still, can't complain. I've got one POTW and two QOTW to go with it, with which I am very happy! :D

Why should POTW and QOTW only be rewarded to posts related to cricket? Some people are at the peak of posting in the Time pass and other sections (cough*cough) :P

^
Ah yes. What about some people who have been toiling around in the nuke related threads? :D

You don't want one of them to win POTW. Can you imagine the uproar and counter-argument posts from the "opposite party" on the POTW thread? :D

My nomination for POTW - produced by the great ShehryarK Bhai...

Here's the post...

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3857580&postcount=340

ShehryarK bhai provided a perfect argument to those who question why you support a team if you do not live in the locality, it's a in depth post where the legend put 110% effort in, pure quality, top poster. :14:

Infact the great Waq even admitted that the post should be submitted to a daily newspaper, it's brilliant.

Here's the thread...

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=127987&page=5

My nomination for POTW - produced by the great ShehryarK Bhai...

Here's the post...

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3857580&postcount=340

ShehryarK bhai provided a perfect argument to those who question why you support a team if you do not live in the locality, it's a in depth post where the legend put 110% effort in, pure quality, top poster. :14:

Infact the great Waq even admitted that the post should be submitted to a daily newspaper, it's brilliant.

Here's the thread...

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=127987&page=5

This is my 2nd option if my first recommendation doesnt win (savaks brilliant one line post)

I am going to write the post of the week right now.......

I deserve the award because i am me! as much as you may believe it or not, but i am me! and for this rewason alone, i would be honoured to take the award that may bless my avatar and name.

To be honest, if one of my posts was going to win it, I'd perfer this one :

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=132241

:P Paints Pakistan in a much better light and shows to all fans not to give up hope. We're doing decent.

Wow..i probably missed checking it out!!!

I'm surprised nobody else nominated it though. People should use formal way of appreciation!

The week's for that post is gone and I dont think it'd work now :(...

Wow..i probably missed checking it out!!!

I'm surprised nobody else nominated it though. People should use formal way of appreciation!

The week's for that post is gone and I dont think it'd work now :(...

We're all Pakistani here. Lets bend some rules :))

Not like anyone else got the award that week. Or for the last month. Why is that. POTW is so random!

seconded. Very original use of statistics, but substantiated too.
To be honest, if one of my posts was going to win it, I'd perfer this one :

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=132241

:P Paints Pakistan in a much better light and shows to all fans not to give up hope. We're doing decent.

No offense, this one is fine but your other post was way better.

Well I'm nominating another Majid Bhuta Amir Fan post from this week. Apparently this post has more admirers than the other one emclub nominated.

Three months later when everybody will forget the tendu's lbw then Indian fans will say he was more time unlucky then lucky.... Sadly but very truly cricinfo the cheap people played a major role to hide his many lbws from innocent public.
Many my friends asked me the question how cricinfo played a major role to hide his lbws. I answered them, yes they do it with two ways, first whenever there is a huge appeal, cricinfo put 'Huge Appeal' words not in bold font while other all batsmen in bold font and second way to hide lbw appeals against him from public is just remove the word lbw.

Few months ago my many friends asked the question, how they can find tendu's close lbw appeals, I told them if it’s any other batsman then scroll down the whole page and u can see bold letters for either huge appeal or huge shout or u can search for word lbw.. but in tendu's case you may not have these wonderful stupid options, in tendu case only way to search for him is read the all commentary against tendu, though its very hard to ready commentary of past matches but i know some crazy fans still can do it.

Here are the two examples in today’s match.

For tendu no bold font and no lbw words.
56.2 Broad to Tendulkar, no run, 84.1 mph, huge, huge appeal for England. Goodness me. Tendulkar was struck flush on the pad from a fullish delivery angling in towards the stumps. Was it going over? Hope so because it was straight.... No, replays show it hitting. No DRS saves Tendulkar and India. What a moment

For Raina there is bold font and also lbw words:
90.4 Broad to Raina, no run, 85.2 mph, huge lbw appeal, Billy says no. India dodge two bullets in two balls. Raina is again caught on the crease and looks to play with an angled bat to the leg side. He is struck right in front of leg. Bowden thought that was pitching outside leg. It was pitching on middle! Plumb. Unless Raina hit it. Replays say no inside edge for Raina, that wasn't even close to the bat.

That’s why I have been saying it from years that tendu is the only luckiest true man who knows how to take true advantage of rich BCCI and from sold out and career safer umpires almost in every single test match!

This is how the cricket world works!

Thanks

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4020576&postcount=30

I nominate this post by MajidBhuta-Amir Fan (Post #17)

That tells me a lot about the psyche of the general Indian population, one thing i have learnt in my life when something comes good about Pakistan, 99% Indians brain stop working or even they start seeing strange, huge three dimensional objects in front of their eyes and when something comes to Pakistan their brains work 300 times better than their normal brains working.
First thing there is not any comparison about both pairs wasim/waqar and McGrath and Lee.. look at first pair had almost double wickets than the second pair.. how u can compare 600 wickets with 300 wickets when there is a little bit stats differences? If you ask any Aussies he/she even blindly picks wasim/waqar pair from the above list regarding to this thread.

Now I wana tell you how an avg BRAIN should work.
McGrath and Lee Played their 80% matches on very bouncy, fast bowlers heaven and very fast bowling friendly pitches where avg inning score goes to around only 220 while wasim/waqar pair played their 80% matches one very flat, graveyard of fast bowling, spinner friendly, dustbowl, Tendu's heaven pitches where avg inning score goes to 270 and where fast bowler hardly get 2 wicket most of the time while in AUS fast bowlers get most of the wickets in the innings specially with new ball.
I am planning to arrange a wonderful seminar ‘how to control your brain in different situations specially when you see a huge and strange objects in front of you’.. .. i am sure you would love this seminar.

Thanks and see you in my seminar.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=133328

I nominate this as POTW :sachin

Jonathan Liew said:
Gosh.

Hello, everyone. Sorry for not posting earlier, but I have been following this thread with interest. I'm glad that most people - and, indeed, most Indians - got the gist of the blog, insofar as there was a gist to it, which I suppose is still a matter for debate. This is what I have learned from the entire episode, in the list format with which you will now be familiar.

1) It is impossible to write something so ridiculous that someone, somewhere will not believe it.
2) There are a lot of people who do not just worship Sachin Tendulkar like a god, they worship him as a god. (Which raises a couple of tangential points; namely, why does God only average in the late 50s? And why is God such a terrible bowler?)
3) The next time I write something incendiary, I'll be safe, but China is going to get it in the shorts.
4) India TV is not so much a news channel as a meretricious frippery that someone happens to be pointing a camera at.
5) My head is fairly easy to cut out.
6) A wider point about internet abuse. It increasingly seems that the web is being used as an outlet for the basest of intentions. I mean, what sort of sad individual goes on the internet and groundlessly, gratuitously attacks somebody in order to make a cheap point? I'll leave you to ponder that one.

Many thanks for your kind words, and I'll see you back on here soon.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4048156&postcount=211

Wow this guy's very first post is a POTW Nomination.

Well i vote for him to, can't disagree with it.

Vote for president
attachment.php

Add in another vote for Whippy's post # 35 in the test cricket thread.

NH's 99 Centuries is one of the greatest cricket parodies I've ever seen. Has to be potw, definitely.

I think, we need to know a bit of history of that Kingston Test. It's more glory than shame for India if we know the actual story.

In '76, at PoSpain, against 3 WI spinners, India chased over 400, which made Loyd simply mad out of his normal composed personality, as he declared on 4th morning after assurance from his bowlers. He abused the 3 spinners after the match & literally shut down the path for WI spinners. During his captaincy, I don't think any spinner ever played Test for the next 9 years (I guess, Clide Butts played one, but replacing Loyd for injury).

The series was 1-1 & the last (4th) Test was at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica; notoriously famous for uneven bounce. WI went with 4 fast men & Holding at 23, was angry enough after the mouthful he got in last Test, for not getting a single wicket, defending 400+. WI Fast bowlers unsporting started to target Indian batsmen with 5/6 men on leg side & the local umpires kept silent. The worst was for Holding & Julien to bowl 5/6 bouncers in a over with the second new ball to the Indian tail. Indian Captain Bisen Bedi, the great character that he was, declared at 306/6 (I guess) to protect his bowlers.

WI took a 80+ lead & in 2nd Innings, & once India closed the deficit, WI became desperate; even beamers were thrown by local boy Holding (He is right, he was lucky not to play during Match Referee days) & the local umpires didn't have the balls to talk with Lyod. 3/4 Indian batsmen were hurt badly & Patel was hospitalized (I am the last person to be convinced that, Gavasker, Vengsarker, Amarnath & Vishwanath were sacred by the pace). In protest to this, Bedi waited till India avoided the innings defeat & declared with four of his bowlers not coming at all in either innings.

I think Bedi was criticized for not attending the podium later, but in his illustrious career, Loyd will never be able to talk eye-ball to eye-ball for that Jamaica Test. If this Jamaica Test is referred as a scared/fixed great collapse, than I have to say that Cricket pornography version (T20) has perverted our taste.

Post number 9 by MMHS in this thread:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=137831

I don't know whether the content is entirely true or not, but if it is then I nominate it for the sheer knowledge it provides. MMHS has come up with many more such great posts in the past. :14:

10 November 2011 in breathless Dehli by all members of Cricindia staff.

Sources have confirmed Sachin Tendulkar did indeed catch a taxi to the airport this morning. Hanish Diwali, currently the fourth ranked Tendulkar statistician in India, has confirmed by email that this was indeed Tendulkar's 1000th trip in a taxi. The man himself, as godlike as he is humble, refused to make comment although he did autograph a bat waved by the fastest running member of the mob following the taxi. It has also been confirmed that the fourth revolving door from the left at the airport did indeed revolve to grant the godavatarcricketer entrance.

Background to the event

It was a typically warm morning in Dehli with barely a hint of the epic event that would unfold, in just a few more hours. The roads were generally congested although the Greg Chappell memorial highway was mostly deserted. A light rain fell in the east but fortunately stayed away from Sachin's accomodation. Local weather expert Rajeev Sharma said it was unlikely the rain would follow Sachin to his destination but that he would be monitoring weather developments and would tweet any significant Sachin related weather news with urgency.

Taxi driver reaction

The taxi driver, who refused to be identified for fear his car would be stolen by souvenir hunters, confirmed Sachin had indeed been in his taxi and that the taxi was ordered by a friend of the deity. He said Tendulkar was quiet and sat in the back left hand seat and looked to be earnestly working something out with a calculator on his mobile phone. Leaked video footage has indeed confirmed this.
Sources have revealed Sachin likes to pay with a blue American Express card, although he sometimes alternates with a green Visa card, both of which are stored in a black wallet. Tailors were unable to confirm the material used in the wallet at the time of print but will confirm in the evening edition of this story.

Worldwide reaction and comment

Shoaib Akhtar confirmed by phone his belief that Sachin was afraid of both taxis and revolving doors during the late 90's. Shoiab is believed to be in hiding at this time.

Shahid Afridi gave a lengthy speech about himself, the taxis he has previously taken and the stare down he gave to a revolving door at an airport in Durban, South Africa.

Others were not reachable for comment, one suspects they were still trying to digest the monumental achievement of the supreme cricketing being.

Stay tuned for more on this breaking story as we bring you updates in 15 minute intervals across all media.....

RA and I aint giving up my day job :D

Post number #1 by Random Aussie in this thread:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4298451&postcount=1

Hilarious!!! :))) :)))

Guys as always, we encourage you to add posts you liked to this thread :)

With respect, its quite a daft post :) If you read the context (and even the content) of Raja's tweets, its clear he's referring to Test Cricket. The discussion at the time was around a two-tier Test championship, and the description of SL (and even NZL) as being a sick unit is in that context.

The poster Shahrukh completely missed that and posted an irrelevant, off-topic and banal response on SL's ODI team! :))

In any case, Ramiz's tweet about SL cricket being "sick" was referring more to their off-field antics and governance, as he made clear subsequently. As he later pointed out, how else would you categorise a set-up, if not "sick", where the players have not been paid by their cricket board for nine months!?

I only see the mehnat and colours, not the point being made. :afridi

Fair enough, my daughter's done some lovely work with crayons - far better quality than this, actually, since it doesn't contain any obvious logical fallacies or other idiocies - woh chalay ga?