The official Pushto learning thread

What did the Leader of a group of ANP supporters equipped with AK-47's say to the scrawny Londa's of MQM .

"Spee-Zoia" .

Wruq Sha.
It's interesting how many expressions in Pashto end in the word 'Sha'. For example, if you want to congratulate somebody, the Pashto expression is (correct me if I am wrong):

Mubarak Sha Gul Khaana.

But only say this when the person you want to congratulate is named Gul Khan. :yk

It's interesting how many expressions in Pashto end in the word 'Sha'. For example, if you want to congratulate somebody, the Pashto expression is (correct me if I am wrong):

Mubarak Sha Gul Khaana.

But only say this when the person you want to congratulate is named Gul Khan. :yk
"Gul Khana" ....in urdu wouldnt that mean go eat flowers?

cricket_fever said:
"Gul Khana" ....in urdu wouldnt that mean go eat flowers?
Never thought of it this way, but you are right it does. :))

kashkey delta we = wish you were near here

dont ask me how i know :P

saj001 said:

dont ask me how i know :P

Oh dear me....i think we all have a pretty good idea :))

saj001 said:
Excellent. Now would you tell me how to say, "wish you were far from here (at your mother's house)"?

kashkey dizana lery ve

Momo if you have anything else to ask...make a list and get it to him before Saturday evening :P

Anyone know (basically) what the lyrics are saying in this song?

[UTUBE]hkfohOK8QFY[/UTUBE]

Mohsin said:
Anyone know (basically) what the lyrics are saying in this song?

[UTUBE]hkfohOK8QFY[/UTUBE]

you are too late now otherwise i would have

I think it should be "oh maa'ma, kana dey" in which case it would mean "oh mother, give me food". :yk

Abdullah22 said:
Tassa da tarjoma ka-wo-lay shei? Does "ma-na-na" means thank you in pashto

Thank you....thashakur or meherbani
Khabri420 said:
Great song

I bet all the Pathans are blasting this full-volume in their cars in the middle-east :afridi

You should see the 'dudes' in Peshawar....wale wale :yk

This can never fail to bring you into a romantic mood (its effect on myself -on every occasion - has been very satisfactory). Enjoy:

[utube]PkiVBX01mns[/utube]

wah ji wah larki pooche to jhat se jawab aur hum poochain to ek lambaaaaaaaaaa intezar :( yeh kahan ka insaf hai ?

Looney said:
no lolz , it is from rahim shah's new song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cl4PBaAnC_k

listen @ 1:05

it would be even better if someone could actually translate the whole song :D

Ok dear, here comes a lose translation of the mama song.

Start of the song:00:0Asalamalaykom, Rahim shah from karachi, Yusuf from London, Chawak and Shah Jahan from Germany are her because mamas(Moms brother are called mama) son is getting married.

Mama daaaaaaaai. = MAma hai

Chi khandi khoshali gee pa jamo ke na zayegi, da khpalo khorayano sara har zai tah rasigi, mama dai. translated: He is smiling(laughing) and is so happy that he cant be in his clothes(
He is going/reaching everywhere with his khorayan(khorayan is, if you have a sister his childrens are your khorayan). THe blue one could also be translated as he is matching his khorayan in anything...

1.05: here they are just saying mama dai, mama dai and that means its mama its mama or thats mama.

1:40:Nazar pa har sari sathi, bedari we har wakhte. = He is(the mama) keeping an aye on everyone and is attentive all the time.
1:44:Khowai worsara wolar we leka khysta da chinar lakhte: Khowai i cant hear that one clearly don't know what it is. This sentence is something like you stand stright with him = stand at attention.
1:47: ka zad de worsara woko no bya ba tri na takhti: That means if you don't obey him or refuse what he say or contradict him then you must run away.
1:52: Allah de worta khai woke, da zal numbar de cha dai: Allah must spare him whose number it is this time.
2:00 they sing mama dai mama dai mama dai

2:37; pa stayle andaz ke pa maza maza rawan wi: He walks with style and andaaz. maza maza rawan we = means you enjoying the moment and is in no hurry.

3:27: yow khabara wowra chi da de kar saray dai, pa umar ke ba zyad we kho pa zra bande zalmay day: Notice one thing, he is a man of work, he may be old but his heart is still young.

3:35: chi kodi wortha nakri bya lamba akhli litka dai: Very dificult to translate.

3:40: zmung to tole yar dai aw da har saree ashna dai: He is our friend and is friendly to everyone.

They sing mama dai mama dai again.

This was lose and some pashto proverbs are used so it make it hard to translate.

Wazeeri said:
There are 6 dialects of Pashto and not all Pashtuns can understand each other.

Chai uski
Do you want to drink tea
Is that similar to pick him/her up ?

thelandofthebravepeople said:

Start of the song:00:0Asalamalaykom, Rahim shah from karachi, Yusuf from London, Chawak and Shah Jahan from Germany are her because mamas(Moms brother are called mama) son is getting married.

Chi khandi khoshali gee pa jamo ke na zayegi, da khpalo khorayano sara har zai tah rasigi, mama dai. translated: He is smiling(laughing) and is so happy that he cant be in his clothes(
He is going/reaching everywhere with his khorayan(khorayan is, if you have a sister his childrens are your khorayan). THe blue one could also be translated as he is matching his khorayan in anything...

1.05: here they are just saying mama dai, mama dai and that means its mama its mama or thats mama.

1:40:Nazar pa har sari sathi, bedari we har wakhte. = He is(the mama) keeping an aye on everyone and is attentive all the time.
1:44:Khowai worsara wolar we leka khysta da chinar lakhte: Khowai i cant hear that one clearly don't know what it is. This sentence is something like you stand stright with him = stand at attention.
1:47: ka zad de worsara woko no bya ba tri na takhti: That means if you don't obey him or refuse what he say or contradict him then you must run away.
1:52: Allah de worta khai woke, da zal numbar de cha dai: Allah must spare him whose number it is this time.

2:37; pa stayle andaz ke pa maza maza rawan wi: He walks with style and andaaz. maza maza rawan we = means you enjoying the moment and is in no hurry.

3:27: yow khabara wowra chi da de kar saray dai, pa umar ke ba zyad we kho pa zra bande zalmay day: Notice one thing, he is a man of work, he may be old but his heart is still young.

3:35: chi kodi wortha nakri bya lamba akhli litka dai: Very dificult to translate.

3:40: zmung to tole yar dai aw da har saree ashna dai: He is our friend and is friendly to everyone.

This was lose and some pashto proverbs are used so it make it hard to translate.
Lol Pakhtoon I'm loving the smileys :)))

Abdullah22 said:
What does sangar mean.
"Sangar de Muselman yem"

It means trench/fortress...

It's basically saying "I am a fortress for the Muslims"

Also it is Shpug.

I didn't realize this was a dead thread. My bad.

oh and mohsin dude cheers for starting the thread...do you have msn or facebook? would be good to keep in regular contact...all depending on you ofcourse

Taso sunga yay? = How are you? (respectably, towards an elder)
Or, Sunga yay = How are you? (informal-towards a friend or someone younger)
you can reply Tik Taak, or Za Kha yum = I'm fine
thank you- Merabaani

oh and mohsin dude cheers for starting the thread...do you have msn or facebook? would be good to keep in regular contact...all depending on you ofcourse

No worries, yeah sure of course.

lol well you got the right one, and thanks for the bday message btw

za kha yam prince pathan,...It's arshad afridi....from dara adam khel....tasu koom zaye yo??

ji zama plar tha mardan na de...altha yao kali thay patha nishta che taso aoo re dalay the ya na kho aghay zay num the smaylah (think spelt wrong)

kho zo Swat (Matta) ke lway shaway yuma... dera adam khel is near nowshera isnt it?

Aow yara aman ay...dey khudai shukwar day!! ta waya prince kho da mardan day taso da kam zay?:13:

I speak some pushto thought im not fulent in it since i been living in canada since the age for 3 but my native tongue is hindko. sicne we come from chachh valley in attock district of punjab my family knows pushto i can help you a little bit but not alot

Thanks man! i love this song and being able to understand it makes it even better :D

ji zama plar tha mardan na de...altha yao kali thay patha nishta che taso aoo re dalay the ya na kho aghay zay num the smaylah (think spelt wrong)

kho zo Swat (Matta) ke lway shaway yuma... dera adam khel is near nowshera isnt it?

You mean Ismailiya (Smilaa in Pushto). I am from Village Panj Pir in the same district SWABI.

pakhair man...ao ji swabi nah
yeah i meant smilaa :P matha agha ze spelling na ratlo...smilaa na yam kho **** che pakistan tha talay yam no pekhawar ya mardan ke ussam :D