The official Pushto learning thread

download link for it please :)

I believe it was most famous when it was sung by a male singer?

do you have a link for that.

No AZ this is a song for girls so I doubt it was ever sung by a male.

can anyone translate the lyrics of "bibi shireeni" and "mung u da khyber zalmi pukhtu" here.

our cable guy keeps on playing these songs here,but i don`t understand what these are about

can anyone translate the lyrics of "bibi shireeni" and "mung u da khyber zalmi pukhtu" here.

our cable guy keeps on playing these songs here,but i don`t understand what these are about

hum hai khyber kai jawan aur pushto hamari shaan hai, ham pashtoon hai aur watan par apna app bi kurban hai. cant remember any more lyrics

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk

btw i need to ask all pushtoo speaker bros

should we be called as pashtoons or pathans or in other words
whats the diff between pathans and pashtoon

We are Pukhtoons in Pashtu's hard dialect, Pushtoons in Pashtu's soft dialect and Pathans in Urdu. So we can be called either of these words. There is no difference just different words in different languages for the same thing.

old is gold!

btw njamal i wonder if ya remember that pushto tone used to be in every pushto drama, that old pashto sad tune

Honestly I don't remember now but I will search it out.

We are Pukhtoons in Pashtu's hard dialect, Pushtoons in Pashtu's soft dialect and Pathans in Urdu. So we can be called either of these words. There is no difference just different words in different languages for the same thing.

thank you bro for clarification.

@njamal....a relative of mine once told me that PATHAN is a derogatory term and he prefers to be called "pakhtun".

njamal.......is the dialect of ORAKZAI`s ,AFRIDI`s and ACHAKZAI`s hard or the soft one.

All the guys i know refer to themselves as "PAKHTUN'

hum hai khyber kai jawan aur pushto hamari shaan hai, ham pashtoon hai aur watan par apna app bi kurban hai. cant remember any more lyrics

these are the lyrics of the song BIBI SHIREENI,PLEASE SOMEBODY TRANSLATE

bibi shereeni
zyari gulay rabanday wacha wa
sur shaal joora lasoona
bibi shereeni
ya me da zana sara zaan ka
ya me sur shaal ka ao
che de proot pa zulfo yama
bibi shereeni
sur shaal joora lasoona
bibi shereeni
raza da zaroono jawari kro
ya ba zra balay
ya ba zra baylam mayena
bibi shereeni
sur shaal joora lasoona
bibi shereeni
janan zama laka mashoom de
mata pa yao khabara
sal qasama khoree na
bibi shereeni
sur shaal joora lasoona
bibi shereeni
janana somra pa ma garaan ye
che ta rawaan ye
za de shmeram qadamoona
bibi shereeni
sur shaal joora lasoona
bibi shereeni

njamal.......is the dialect of ORAKZAI`s ,AFRIDI`s and ACHAKZAI`s hard or the soft one.

All the guys i know refer to themselves as "PAKHTUNS" than "PASHTUNS"

Orakzai & Afridis use hard dialect.
Achakzais use soft dialect.

@njamal....a relative of mine once told me that PATHAN is a derogatory term and he prefers to be called "pakhtun".

I don't think its derogatory but yes we prefer "Pakhtun" because it is in our own language.

Thanks bhai. I think the pakhtun folk here in kashmir is way too orthodox and conservative:afridi (given they fear that they might loose their culture:misbah).

these are the lyrics of the song BIBI SHIREENI,PLEASE SOMEBODY TRANSLATE

bibi shereeni Sweet lady
zyari gulay rabanday wacha wa yellow flower cover me with
sur shaal joora lasoona with your arms and red shawl
bibi shereeni Sweet lady
ya me da zana sara zaan ka Either leave me in the cold
ya me sur shaal ka ao or make me your red shawl
che de proot pa zulfo yamaso that I am always there on your hair
bibi shereeni Sweet lady
raza da zaroono jawari kro Come lets play bets of hearts
ya ba zra balay either you will lose your heart
ya ba zra baylam mayena or I will lose mine's
bibi shereeni Sweet lady
janan zama laka mashoom de my lover is like a child
mata pa yao khabara on every petty thing
sal qasama khoree na she takes 100 oaths (Qasam)
bibi shereeni Sweet lady
janana somra pa ma garaan ye Lover! how much you mean to me
che ta rawaan ye when you are leaving
za de shmeram qadamoona I am counting your steps
bibi shereeni Sweet lady

Tried my best Ummer bhai just for you.:afridi

Matha means to me not me. BTW P_P both Swati and Swabi Pashto is the same because both are Yousafzais.:yk

na na roray alagh de :P...kahla che aghi tha mardan wala pukhto aaori no aghi way che taso sa we lol...zo dwaroo banday poyegam oh bya bya spkhal words gad badh kawom lol...

majority classify pathan as an indianised version of pukhtun and pashtun so many do think its bad...iv as usual never had any problem with it...but i feel like changing the pathan to pukhtun if im being honest in my username

but ill be honest again...i dont know how :)))

this is starting to become my favourite thread...will attempt some Pushto with the mates today!

that makes u a legend :P

also since when did marooo mean gay? (just read that in the previous page)

theres a more common word for that which starts with a ku sound and ends like knee lol...definately not marooo

BTW brothers is the translation of below mentioned words right.

malgim = village

samlastal = lay/laid

kenesstal = sit

spin = gold

alwataykam = air plane

BTW brothers is the translation of below mentioned words right.

malgim = village- Kallay

samlastal = lay/laid

kenesstal = sit

spin = gold- Sraa Zar

alwataykam = air plane- Alwaataka

Two of them are right the rest I made correction.

This is awesome, its turning into a really good 'learn Pushto' thread!

this is the one by ismail and junaid isnt it? they are in my uncles class and are first cousins of people i know here in ireland...are we allowed to post download links...give me ur email and ill send u a good quality of it!

I got it already, thanks :)

just to add some controversy

i think pashtoo is more sweeter language than all other languages spoken in Pakistsn.

just to add some controversy

i think pashtoo is more sweeter language than all other languages spoken in Pakistsn.

yes...especially if u hear some of the most poetic songs out there...

i dont find it controversial at all

@ummer khan : im actually not sure...we say rishtidar aswell but ask prof njamal :P

theres spkhal wal but that means our own but some people use it as a relatives term!

damn it i meant khkpalwan...misspelling

but yeah i thought so lol

james bond...swat ke lway shaway yama(matta) kho swabay na yam...zamung kali smayla the...oh mardan ke settle shaway we...kho us pekhawar ke kor the :yk

kho pakistan ke na usam lol

damn it i meant khkpalwan...misspelling

but yeah i thought so lol

james bond...swat ke lway shaway yama(matta) kho swabay na yam...zamung kali smayla the...oh mardan ke settle shaway we...kho us pekhawar ke kor the :yk

kho pakistan ke na usam lol

lol prince pathan. mardan ki kam zay loi shaway yee

na na swat ke lway shaway yama :P mardan ke zama nya family usi

oh smayla ke zama grandad family usi :)

aghay ze num mana completely aer sho

just different ways of saying it...

some people call it pukhto if they emphasise khaa...donkey = khar

some say puhsto as they would emphasise softer shaa sound...donkey = shar

i think he asked because you didnt differentiate between pashto and puhsto dude

which is basically the same thing :P

i think he asked because you didnt differentiate between pashto and puhsto dude

which is basically the same thing :P

i was just wondering that may be there is another language as well

khair iam a proud pakhtoon aw nice to see pakhtoons ruling pp as well lol

just different ways of saying it...

some people call it pukhto if they emphasise khaa...donkey = khar

some say puhsto as they would emphasise softer shaa sound...donkey = shar

Mate,noone calls a khar as 'shar'.you need to understand us southerners.lol.I am from quetta and we dont just convert every kh into sh.There are some rules.The best word to explain this is the word ''Pashtunkhwa''.In pashto it is written as ''پښتونخوا ''.Now the alphabet خ is pronounced as ''kh'' in both the dialects of pashto.The difference is with the alphabet ښ is pronounced as 'kh' by the northern dialect and as 'sh' in the southern dialect. So people in malakand,hazara,peshawar valley,bajaur,momand,khyber etc might call it 'Pakhtunkhwa' but people from karak,bannu,waziristan,zhob,quetta etc will call it 'Pashtunkhwa'.
Noone,believe me,calls it ''Pashtunshwa''.that would be ridiculous.Hope this helps.

^^...we in quetta call it Peshawar...while those from peshawar itself call it pekhawar.

PK is right. There are two basic dialects of Pashto.

Soft Dialect- This dialect is spoken by people from Waziristan, Bannu, Karak, Balochistan, Kandahar etc.

Hard Dialect- This is spoken by people from Peshawar, Swabi, Mardan, Swat, Dir, Bajaur, Charsadda, Khyber etc.

^^mate we take offence at the name 'Balochistan'.if u guys frm peshawar hav a right to name ur lands pashtunkhwa,why not me frm quetta.Afterall,i am as much of a pashtun as you are.for us,balochistan starts from south of sibbi and quetta.Districts like zhob,sherani,musakhel,loralai,barkhan,killa saifullah,killa abdullah,ziarat,pishin,quetta,harnai and sibbi are pashtun lands.these hav been pashtun lands for thousands of years and the last 40 years of amalgamation with the baloch cannot change that.Quetta is as much a part of pashtunkhwa as peshawar is.

^ Sorry for that I didn't meant it that way. Ofcourse you are as Pukhtoon as we in KP are.

Mate,noone calls a khar as 'shar'.you need to understand us southerners.lol.I am from quetta and we dont just convert every kh into sh.There are some rules.The best word to explain this is the word ''Pashtunkhwa''.In pashto it is written as ''پښتونخوا ''.Now the alphabet خ is pronounced as ''kh'' in both the dialects of pashto.The difference is with the alphabet ښ is pronounced as 'kh' by the northern dialect and as 'sh' in the southern dialect. So people in malakand,hazara,peshawar valley,bajaur,momand,khyber etc might call it 'Pakhtunkhwa' but people from karak,bannu,waziristan,zhob,quetta etc will call it 'Pashtunkhwa'.
Noone,believe me,calls it ''Pashtunshwa''.that would be ridiculous.Hope this helps.

dude i have heard it with my own ears

yaaa sharraaaaaa sa ke...

you might not but many do say it :P

but then they call themselves pashtun
we call ourselves pukhtun

but they say pukhtunkhwa and so do we...ill record a convo once of somebody i know from waziristan and trust me...he says sharrrr lol

also certain different ways of saying things...

say if a guest comes and we say - razay dalta kena...
iv heard people say...daltha spkhal kuna wachaway ji lol...really dont know if the rest of you guys have had these experiences

^^mate we take offence at the name 'Balochistan'.if u guys frm peshawar hav a right to name ur lands pashtunkhwa,why not me frm quetta.Afterall,i am as much of a pashtun as you are.for us,balochistan starts from south of sibbi and quetta.Districts like zhob,sherani,musakhel,loralai,barkhan,killa saifullah,killa abdullah,ziarat,pishin,quetta,harnai and sibbi are pashtun lands.these hav been pashtun lands for thousands of years and the last 40 years of amalgamation with the baloch cannot change that.Quetta is as much a part of pashtunkhwa as peshawar is.

+1 yes yes :D :19:

i like this post immensely lol

Moonga za khyber zalmi yoo, pukhtoo zamonga shan day
Moonga pukhtana yoo pa watan hm zan qurban day