The official Pushto learning thread

I'd prefer Spanish.

I actually have been trying to learn Spanish. I just can't find the time with classes. Maybe we should get a thread going. Espanol, la lengua estivale de Pakistan Passion? (not sure if that's right)

I learnt Spanish in school as a kid, but I'll have to start from scratch now. :facepalm:

Yeah, let's start one, wonder if someone can help us here.

I learnt Spanish in school as a kid, but I'll have to start from scratch now. :facepalm:

Yeah, let's start one, wonder if someone can help us here.

I didn't but I know Latin and French so it won't totally be from scratch.

There was a spanish guy from Barcelona on here. Shan I think.

I used the duolingo app at the start of the year but it got boring because I had nobody to converse with and I wasn't good enough to converse with fluent speakers.

I didn't but I know Latin and French so it won't totally be from scratch.

There was a spanish guy from Barcelona on here. Shan I think.

I used the duolingo app at the start of the year but it got boring because I had nobody to converse with and I wasn't good enough to converse with fluent speakers.
Same here, I had no one to talk to. Result? My Spanish went dooowwwn.

I'll start a thread, fingers crossed on finding a Spanish speaker here.

Haal in Pashto is what haal is in Urdu. Sanga haal de = kya haal hai, word to word.

I figured out the haal part, thanks for sanga and de, [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION].

Acha, tou now, [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], Pashto for thank you and you're welcome now?

Meherbani is most commonly used for thank you and there is no proper word for you're welcome like Urdu I guess.

You are welcome in the khush-amdeed sense is Pakhair raghlay.

Sangala = elbow

Zangoon = knee

stargay = eyes, starga = eye.

Ghwag = ear

Poza = nose

bibi shereeni
zyari gulay rabanday wacha wa
sur shaal joora lasoona :hamster:

[MENTION=134474]Moe[/MENTION] you know Pashto?

And [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], slow down, I can't keep up with that!

:ibutt

What are you trying to say? type it in english, I shall translate.

AH Persian pishoo shaantay khkari. Der khkulay da.

Khaishta can also be used for pretty, along with khkulay.

Yes that's correct.

The word for is depends on the context. For example, what is your name? in Pashto is "sta se num de?

Here the word de is used for is

But if I say that my cat is pretty, I will use da

Zama pishoo khkulay da.

It sounds complex but it isn't. Whatever sounds better is correct. It's like a apple and an apple. A apple just sounds wrong.

Khkulay is pronounced as you would expect it to be.

Zo = mai
Quote = quote
Na = nahi
Kom = karta

Word to word translation in English would be grammatically incorrect.

I don't do quote.

So you're saying that the Urdu and Pashto sentence structures are the same?

That should make things very easy.

Gh is ghwag is pronounced as gh in ghunda.

Ghunda as in ghunda badmash. :mc

A clarification: the pronunciation of "A" (alif) in Pashto - is it the same as in Farsi (i.e., Alif is pronounced as Aww instead of Aaa)?

I heard Afridi speak Pashto on some youtube video, and he said "Afghanist-awn and Pakist-awn" like I've heard Persians say "Ir-awn"..

A clarification: the pronunciation of "A" (alif) in Pashto - is it the same as in Farsi (i.e., Alif is pronounced as Aww instead of Aaa)?

I heard Afridi speak Pashto on some youtube video, and he said "Afghanist-awn and Pakist-awn" like I've heard Persians say "Ir-awn"..

Afridi speaks tribal Pashto which has many variants. It's used in FATA and other areas.

In Peshawar city and it's outskirts, we speak a toned down version. It's pronounciaton of alphabets is like Urdu. Even we find it very difficult to understand tribal Pashto but they speak ours very comfortably.

Afridi speaks tribal Pashto which has many variants. It's used in FATA and other areas.

In Peshawar city and it's outskirts, we speak a toned down version. It's pronounciaton of alphabets is like Urdu. Even we find it very difficult to understand tribal Pashto but they speak ours very comfortably.

Hmm interesting...

Which of our players speaks mainstream pashto? Gul? And how's Shehzad's pashto (in terms of pronounciation - is it like what we call "gullabi" Urdu)? :P

Yes Gul speaks mainstream Pashto as well as Younis.

I haven't heard Shehzad speak Pashto but I think there's a video on YT.

Yes charsi gudd. :mc

Mainstream pashto is I guess, pashto spoken in a main urban center (like peshawar), which is a tad more modernised version as opposed to the pashto spoken in tribal areas.

Think about the UK. The kind of English accent you see being spoken by BBC hosts is the mainstream/generally accepted accent. Other accents (Scottish, Irish, Cockney, what-have-you, etc) are not as popular as the former.

Yes that's correct.

The word for is depends on the context. For example, what is your name? in Pashto is "sta se num de?

Here the word de is used for is

But if I say that my cat is pretty, I will use da

Zama pishoo khkulay da.

It sounds complex but it isn't. Whatever sounds better is correct. It's like a apple and an apple. A apple just sounds wrong.

Khkulay is pronounced as you would expect it to be.
Okay thanks a lot:)

Mainstream pashto is I guess, pashto spoken in a main urban center (like peshawar), which is a tad more modernised version as opposed to the pashto spoken in tribal areas.

Think about the UK. The kind of English accent you see being spoken by BBC hosts is the mainstream/generally accepted accent. Other accents (Scottish, Irish, Cockney, what-have-you, etc) are not as popular as the former.

Yes, exactly.