Mamoon
ATG
- Post of the Week
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] I hope we're not annoying you... :/
No you are not. :adnan
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] I hope we're not annoying you... :/
No you are not. :adnan
Hmm, okay. Thanks.
Shaantay/shaan = ki tarah,
Khkari = lagta/lagti hai?
Khoob ast, khoob ast!
Hale shema chitori ast?
Khair shey pukhtanao roono, tolo ta salaamoono aur dere duaganey.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] - can you give us a list of basic pashto grammar - words like this, that, she, he, his/her, mine, yours, etc.
This = da
Is this book yours? = da kitaab sta de?
That = agha (not pronounced as the name agha. Can't explain but it's kind of like aghha.
Agha is also used for "wo" in Urdu.
Is that books yours? = agha kitaab sta de?
She/he isn't used like it's in English. The structure like Urdu.
She is a good girl = wo achi larki hai = agha kha jinai da
He is a good boy = wo acha larka hai = agha kha alak de
Da is male and de is female.
Mine = zama
Yours = sta
Daghay is used for both his/her. The "gh" is pronounced as in "ghum".
It's easy. The one that sounds better is the correct one. For example in Urdu, achi kitaab sounds better than acha kitaab.
Similarly in Pashto, kitaab de (male) sounds better than kitaab da (female).
So are Kashmiris.Pathans are beautiful.![]()
You wrote "da kitaab sta de".Da isn't used with kitaab since it's male.
Achaaa, now I get it. Thanks.Oh that.
Da is used for both is and this, depending on context.
Da kitaab sta de = this book is yours.
Da kitaab sta de? = is this book yours?
This "da" is different to the other "da".
De = yours.
Pashto is one tough language.![]()
So are Kashmiris.![]()
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] has got a new customer.On topic, I would like to learn Pushto one day Insha'Allah.
Learning new languages breaks barriers and I think Pakistanis need to learn each others mother tongue.There is no point in learning Pashto.
There is no such word as boldak, you have probably heard it incorrectly.
Spin and torr are white and black, but the spin is not pronounced as spin bowling and neither is it pronounced as speen. It's somewhere in the middle. Perhaps spen will work.
What do you mean by Tareens and rosh?
Not commonly used words though, I'm hearing it for the first time.
Unless someone has studied Pashto literature he won't be able to tell you what these words mean. You should start with less rich words if you want to improve your Pashto.![]()
Which curse words? the list is too big.![]()
Lalaa is elder brother.
Its actually wror. wrora is basically 'hey brother or listen, brother'
It can be used for younger or elder brother, but it is more respectful to call an elder brother 'laala'.
Sorry for the typo in the last post. It is pronounced as laala. Not lalaa or lala.
okay, if you don't mind, could you answer the following questions:
As a native Pashto-speaker can you understand Farsi?Are Pashto and Balochi both mutually intelligible?
Since you've mentioned elsewhere that you live in Pekhawar, did you have to study Pashto at school or is not part of the education policy it?
thanks for the response.....so they don't teach Pashto in government schools either?btw how big is the hindkowan presence in Peshawar, are Hindko and Pashto similar?Nope, Pashto is not part of the curriculum here. In fact hardly anyone one in Peshawar can read or write Pashto and you won't see any billboard or sign in Pashto. Just Urdu and English.
To learn to read and write Pashto and understand the grammar, you will have to pursue it as a separate subject.
Secondly, the Pashto of Peshawar is urbanized. It is Pashto in its basic form and has a lot of Urdu words in it. The classical Pashto used in the villages of KPK or the tribal areas, FATA etc. is classical Pashto which even we cannot understand much.
thanks for the response.....so they don't teach Pashto in government schools either?btw how big is the hindkowan presence in Peshawar, are Hindko and Pashto similar?
That's weird, cause they teach Sindhi in Sindh from what I've heard, and Pashtuns are like more ethnocentric yet they don't teach that.No they don't teach at all. In some village schools yes, but not otherwise.
There are way too many hindko speakers in Peshawar. My mother is hindko speaking and my father is Pathan, so I know both languages but speak Pashto only.
Hindko is almost identical to Punjabi and very different from Pashto.
The Hindko of Peshawaris is quite different from that of the Hazara region.
Yes plenty of non-Pashtuns. Peshawar has evolved a lot over the last few decades and is pretty isolated from the rest of KPK. Its not a good representation of the culture of Pakhtunkhwa at all.
There is no focus on Pashto literature here primarily because learning to read and write Pashto is pretty pointless and serves no practical purpose but I think we should be able to read and write it nonetheless. It always comes as a shock to people when they find out that we don't learn Pashto in schools here.
Yup, happy to be able to communicate in English, Urdu, Pashto, Hindko and Punjabi, Lol.
Manana for your reply(or is that Malala?).
Dear all,
I must congratulate you all for contributing to this quality thread, It has refreshed a lots of words I learnt during my brief stay in Peshawar. Is there any recommended book/software which can be shared just to make this thread a bit more interactive.
Sorry, but I'm not aware of any such medium, but feel free to learn about this fascinating language here. Where did you live in Peshawar and what was your job?
Mamoon,
Not sure if this is pashto, but can you please translate this (if it's pushto)
Goyan keshk aqbat taskeen ast
Awal shor ast aqbat namkeen ast
Har chanz aasiyat sang zeerey
Ee surat-e-beqrar barbin ast
thanks
Sorry, but this looks like Persian to me of which I've no knowledge.
Thank you.
Do you think it is Dari because a Persian speaker said that it's not completely Persian as well![]()
Mamoon,
Not sure if this is pashto, but can you please translate this (if it's pushto)
Goyan keshk aqbat taskeen ast
Awal shor ast aqbat namkeen ast
Har chanz aasiyat sang zeerey
Ee surat-e-beqrar barbin ast
thanks
It is Farsi/Persian language