The Topicless Thread

Both Lahori food and Peshawari food is amazing. Best in the country in my opinion.

Completely different but equally sumptuous. :81:

Both Lahori food and Peshawari food is amazing. Best in the country in my opinion.

Completely different but equally sumptuous. :81:

I visited Peshawar once back when I was 6-7.. Even then, it was just a day visit.. I'd love to have try it, though!

As for Lahore - well, food is a crucial part of the Lahori identity. You are not a true Lahori if you don't eat/accept/know food the way it should be known..

Like I said, I'm pretty jazbati about food.. Especially about now (having not tasted halal meat/fast-food/ghar-ka-khana since more than a year!)

Nihaari sasta parta hai? :msd

sasti*

Nihari is a larki, bro :yk2

Well, you said he's kanjoos. He should serve nihaari because it is inherently "heavy on the stomach" --> less people will eat it --> means lesser servings --> greater savings...

Yes, true. Food is one of the few things associated with Lahore.

Which country are you in now?

I typed sasti first but Nihari and sasti together doesn't sound right.

Nihari sasti

Nihari sasta

hmmmm. I don't know genders of objects, but normally muzakkar and muannas don't sound right when used improperly. :yk2

Oh yes especially Peshawari Namak Mandi karahi is just amazing. Lots of good food to eat in Lahore especially Hareesa. Nihari in Pakistan is the best in Karachi especially at a place called Javed Nihari in FB Area.

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk

Nihari sasti

Nihari sasta

hmmmm. I don't know genders of objects, but normally muzakkar and muannas don't sound right when used improperly. :yk2

We know you are pathan:D

Till 7th grade I was in Army public school where there is no Pashto and all my friends were Punjabi, mostly from Army families. I have proper Urdu accent, you can't tell if I am Pathan when I speak but grammar is a bit weak. :msd

Wow!army school..

Well,that's not cricket you don't have pushto accent:ahmed

Would you speak Punjabi in your childhood?:P

Zarur:D

Nihari parta nahin parti hai,mere khyaal main.:yk

Durust! :)

Nihari sasti

Nihari sasta

I was going to say the same :D

Aww, man.. I even miss those Pathan shopkeepers near Defence-mor.. With their accents and messed up grammar! :))

Last year, I went upto this place - picked up a piece of digital print silk.. And this guy randomly jumped up and said "Ba-jeeeee! mein batata hu tum isko kaisay silwanaa.."

He dictated a pretty sweet design.. My mother asked him to seriously pursue designing.. his reply: "Bajee, dil tou baraa karta hay - magar yeh humara bara Khan nahi maanti.. kehti hay yeh zanaani ka kaam hay.."

And of course, technology wasn't too far off either!

"Ba-jeee! Ab tou meraaa maal feys-boook (Facebook) per beekjata hay."

Wow!army school..

Well,that's not cricket you don't have pushto accent:ahmed

Would you speak Punjabi in your childhood?:P

My mother is hindko speaking so I understand it. Hindko and Punjabi are quite similar to an extent so I don't have any issues with it.

I would speak Urdu at school.

Aww, man.. I even miss those Pathan shopkeepers near Defence-mor.. With their accents and messed up grammar! :))

Last year, I went upto this place - picked up a piece of digital print silk.. And this guy randomly jumped up and said "Ba-jeeeee! mein batata hu tum isko kaisay silwanaa.."

He dictated a pretty sweet design.. My mother asked him to seriously pursue designing.. his reply: "Bajee, dil tou baraa karta hay - magar yeh humara bara Khan nahi maanti.. kehti hay yeh zanaani ka kaam hay.."

yes the Pathani Urdu accent is hilarious. My brother is the same. He went to a normal school not an Army one. :hafeez

My Dad is normal too because he was in Aitchison.

Hahahahaha,unfortunately you can't see me laughing so hard..:)))

My mother is hindko speaking so I understand it. Hindko and Punjabi are quite similar to an extent so I don't have any issues with it.

I would speak Urdu at school.

I see many pathans who can understand Punjabi and speak as well.

Topic-less thread

Hahahaha:)):)))!

Similarly, I imagine Mamoon bhai saying to his girl, "Khuda kasam, hum tumse pyar karti hai."

yes the Pathani Urdu accent is hilarious. My brother is the same. He went to a normal school not an Army one. :hafeez

My Dad is normal too because he was in Aitchison.

Your brother probably must speak like :junaid, no?

How is your Punjabi? Do you speak Punjabi with a Pathan accent? :))

Hahahahaha,unfortunately you can't see me laughing so hard..:)))

Oh, no I can totally imagine! I burst out laughing at this whenever I think about it myself :D

Not as bad as Junaid but you can definitely know that he is Pathan. Punjabi and Hindko isn't fluent though :/

Topic-less thread

A friend emailed me this wonderful quote earlier today:

"Let someone love you just the way you are – as flawed as you might be, as unattractive as you sometimes feel, and as unaccomplished as you think you are.

To believe that you must hide all the parts of yourself that are broken, out of fear that someone else is incapable of loving what is less than perfect, is to believe that sunlight is incapable of entering a broken window and illuminating a dark room" – Marc Hack.

That is an extreme case. Educated Pathans aren't that bad because they have better understanding of the grammar and accent.

But that is exactly how the shopkeepers speak :)))

Its funny but annoying.

Not as bad as Junaid but you can definitely know that he is Pathan. Punjabi and Hindko isn't fluent though :/

Right...

I hate saying this, but my Punjabi is just guzaray-layk. I've no major issues with conversational Punjabi, but I can't understand (most of) pure Punjabi - makes reading sufi poetry very hard, unfortunately :(

Younis Khan is the perfect example of how normal Pathans speak Urdu and Junaid is the perfect example of the shop-keeper urdu. :msd

Her Urdu is likely to be bad because she hasn't had much exposure to it. That is a turn off for me but I will deal with it.

Oho, I don't mind, to be very honest - but PP can be a pretty tight knit community.. which is why I'll hold off answering that question (just dont be offended, or anything! :) )

Let's just say its very cold, here :yk2

Pre-med is tougher than Commerce-based subjects (that I had).. Anyhow, about exams, all I can say is that the time is gone for learning (for most part) - now its all about perfecting your application. I say ditch the books and master those past papers, as many as you can.

For my A level accounting (God, how I hated that subject) - our book contained pastpapers from the 1980s, and we pretty much did them all. 2 weeks before the exam, my teacher emailed us some 20 extra practice questions from ACCA exams. Needless to say, majority of the class aced it (even though Accounting is one of the toughest subjects to write in A levels - and the rumours are true: Accounts paper 4 is at times, technically incorrect.. so there).

But do allow yourself some breathing room. I'm not sure if it works for everyone, but I personally require some down time before an exam to gather my senses about me. Over-preparation has let me down more times than I'd like to say (in fact, Pak Studies [specifically Geography] was one instance where I messed up even though I knew everything).. The aim of the game is to assure yourself you know everything (which you probably do) and that you can handle anything thats thrown at you.

The fact that you've taken so many exams that you feel used to it - I think thats great. Completely puts off exam pressure, and helps dealing with nerves.

As for when you are practically sitting in the hall, taking your exam - and you feel tired and exhausted in the middle (like I did today's exam, in the middle of my 21-page marathon) - just buck yourself up immediately. Remind yourself you've toiled so hard for this moment, and it's all under control - you will not let it slip away like that. Time management is everything in O/A levels - you get that right, you're practically in the B+ category..

Aw man. Now I miss my O/A level days.... :'D

Cold? I guess that rules out Mexico then.

Thanks for the advice. I really appreciate it, even though my short post probably isn't doing your efforts justice. All I can say is thanks a lot!

You people must think I'm a bad student... Seeing how I'm always on PP and complaining about studying. Not that I care. :P

A friend emailed me this wonderful quote earlier today:

"Let someone love you just the way you are – as flawed as you might be, as unattractive as you sometimes feel, and as unaccomplished as you think you are.

To believe that you must hide all the parts of yourself that are broken, out of fear that someone else is incapable of loving what is less than perfect, is to believe that sunlight is incapable of entering a broken window and illuminating a dark room" – Marc Hack.

That is very beautiful and very inspiring, Dhoni-bhai! Thanks for sharing :)

That is an extreme case. Educated Pathans aren't that bad because they have better understanding of the grammar and accent.

But that is exactly how the shopkeepers speak :)))

Its funny but annoying.

It's not that bad - I think most people just enjoy it :)

Can you differentiate between the Urdu of Karachite and that of a Lahori?

Cold? I guess that rules out Mexico then.

Thanks for the advice. I really appreciate it, even though my short post probably isn't doing your efforts justice. All I can say is thanks a lot!

You people must think I'm a bad student... Seeing how I'm always on PP and complaining about studying. Not that I care. :P

HAHAH noooo! :))) No, Mexico is not it, my dear (how I wish it were - its freaking 0 degrees outside right now!)

No, don't thank me at all, and don't worry about it :)

Just hang in there and do your best, inshAllah you'll make us proud :19:

Speaking of Army schools, they really do instill discipline in you and when you move from an army school to a regular one, you will be shocked initially.

Can you differentiate between the Urdu of Karachite and that of a Lahori?

Of course you can!

Karachiites make use of pure Urdu in a distinct accent (maybe its a Sindhi accent? I really don't know). Make frequent use of the words "array" and "bhayya" a lot.

And for the life of me, I don't understand why they say "tafreeh" instead of "ser" - I don't think I ever used tafreeh in my Urdu essays back in my school days!

But overall, I feel Karachiites speak purer Urdu than Lahoris - ours is tinged with Punjabi words here and there (even for a complete non-Punjabi speaker).

Haven't written Urdu for a long time and Urdu newspapers with that extremely small font is always a pain.

@blindinglight you can only be in Canada as it's only there that my friends are complaining about the cold.

Topic-less thread

That is very beautiful and very inspiring, Dhoni-bhai! Thanks for sharing :)

I know this particular woman who keeps sharing such inspirational stuff with me every now and then. She means a lot to me in my life as I view her as like my Guru, or something:).

Karachi Urdu is probably the most closest you can come to Mumbai Hindi. It's a lot of street slang followed by paan thooking lol.

@blindinglight you can only be in Canada as it's only there that my friends are complaining about the cold.

Most Pakistani are going to end up in Canada, Australia, England and USA anyway. :msd

Haven't written Urdu for a long time and Urdu newspapers with that extremely small font is always a pain.

At times, I used to feel so homesick, I'd start taking notes (or adding extra comments) in Urdu during my lectures.

One gem from my course on European history - "Bismarck ek munafiq hay."

Yep. Those were the days...

Actually, the States experienced a pretty rough winter too :)

I know this particular woman who keeps sharing such inspirational stuff with me every now and then. She means a lot to me in my life as I view her as like my Guru, or something:).

That is wonderful - one always needs someone like that in their lives.. I have a friend, and though we've been besties for almost 7-8 years now, we just don't have enough time to catch up and talk to one another.. She's been studying courses on Rumi extensively, and I'm pretty much still trying to get over Plato.. I feel this deep intellectual bond with her that I've never, ever experienced with anyone.. Almost like a feeling of some internal conquest or something, when you talk certain things out..

It's a beautiful feeling, but one that I feel should be a part of everyone's life :)

Most Pakistani are going to end up in Canada, Australia, England and USA anyway. :msd

Personally, never.

There are just some differences you can never erase - Pakistaniyat, as elsuive as it is, just happens to be one of them.

^ I meant going abroad for education.

I am not interested in settling abroad either. I love my country.

:pkflag

^ I meant going abroad for education.

I am not interested in settling abroad either. I love my country.

:pkflag

I took a course on Diaspora and Transnationalism.... It was a huge eye-opener for me..

I'd rather stay behind and work to make my country a better place (whatever it takes) than go somewhere abroad - alienated, alone - forever a stranger.

Re: Topic-less thread

Sense of place is overrated. Once you start travelling for work etc you will quickly realise that you can settle down anywhere.

That said, the sense of wanting to help your own people is a reality. And that should be the one thing that brings you back. Brought me back from the wilderness after 25 year abroad.

I took a course on Diaspora and Transnationalism.... It was a huge eye-opener for me..

I'd rather stay behind and work to make my country a better place (whatever it takes) than go somewhere abroad - alienated, alone - forever a stranger.

Great to hear. :ponting

Sense of place is overrated. Once you start travelling for work etc you will quickly realise that you can settle down anywhere.

That said, the sense of wanting to help your own people is a reality. And that should be the one thing that brings you back. Brought me back from the wilderness after 25 year abroad.

Are you back in Pakistan?

I have traveled across the globe but nothing like Pakistan and home. I guess my perception might change if I start working in some other country which I have no intention to do so by the way.

Younis Khan is the perfect example of how normal Pathans speak Urdu and Junaid is the perfect example of the shop-keeper urdu. :msd

Junaid's urdu in that Pepsi ad :facepalm:

Hey!Junaid's accent is Pashto but he never makes mistake in grammer.

And that was not Junaid's voice,I know very well.Even nobody at my home understands that it's not his voice,I tried my best to make them understand but they don't :faceplam:

I have come to the conclusion that Lahore is not for me. Not only do I not like halwa puri, but I don't like nihaari either and my Urdu is sprinkled with English, not Punjabi. Or rather, my English is sprinkled with Urdu.

You guys don't say tafreeh? =O Why?

Interesting observation, Saqs-bhai..

Though I wouldn't write of sense of place entirely. Perhaps in the capacity of a foreign worker, it is different - you can settle down and be comfortable in your routine, know all the places, etc... But to shift your entire perception of home from one country to a completely different country is not that simple (nor so painless)..

And yeah guys, don't, I repeat, DO NOT make fun of Junaid. Capiche?

That was horrible, horrible dubbing. He actually speaks like an angel. *stares into space*

I prefer Lahore and Peshawar in either order and then Karachi.

I don't like Islamabad at all. Snobbish city.

Of course you can!

Karachiites make use of pure Urdu in a distinct accent (maybe its a Sindhi accent? I really don't know). Make frequent use of the words "array" and "bhayya" a lot.

And for the life of me, I don't understand why they say "tafreeh" instead of "ser" - I don't think I ever used tafreeh in my Urdu essays back in my school days!

But overall, I feel Karachiites speak purer Urdu than Lahoris - ours is tinged with Punjabi words here and there (even for a complete non-Punjabi speaker).

And sayeen too :D

Right 96NotOut?

Okay sorry, but Junaid has a generic Pathan Urdu accent. Check out his interviews.

I have traveled across the globe but nothing like Pakistan and home. I guess my perception might change if I start working in some other country which I have no intention to do so by the way.

Same, and I conclude the same.

I have come to the conclusion that Lahore is not for me. Not only do I not like halwa puri, but I don't like nihaari either and my Urdu is sprinkled with English, not Punjabi. Or rather, my English is sprinkled with Urdu.

Tafreeehhh? WHY? Are you writing an Urdu essay lol? :))

Say shugal. Shugal-mela. Ser-sapata. Ser. I dont know..

Nobody says tafreeh in Lahore (in fact, I dont think anyone outside of Karachi uses that word in this context)..

Dont worry, my Urdu is the same as yours (sprinkled with English). Nobody speaks Punjabi all the time, and middle-to-upper classes definitely don't.

And we have so much more food than nihari and halwa-puri, come on now :P Lahore can accomodate anyone and everyone :)

I may have a serious bias for Lahore though, because half of my family lives there and I spend all my holidays there.

Oh no,I am well familiar with the word tafreeh,and it's a very good place.There are not just Nehaaris and Halwa Puruis rather there is every kind of food you prefer.

That was horrible, horrible dubbing. He actually speaks like an angel. *stares into space*

You know,people get jealous:P.I can feel the smell in the air.

Mamoon not pointing towards you:P

:yk2

Take it easy there, nobody was making fun of JK, lol :D

I prefer Lahore and Peshawar in either order and then Karachi.

I don't like Islamabad at all. Snobbish city.

Meh.. me neither.

They're too girlish. Especially Islamabad-based guys - almost always too girlish *shrugs*

Haven't been to Karachi in a good 10-12 years, though..

And sayeen too :D

Right 96NotOut?

Sayeen is more of a Sindhi-thing, right?

EDIT : ^ Scratch that. Sayeen is also used in Lower Punjab (I've heard it in Siraiki, in Multan)

I've only heard people say saeen a lot after that song came out. I, personally, do not use it.

And the only place in Pakistan I've ever been to is Karachi so there you have it: Karachi is officially the best city in Pakistan and the second best in the world.

I've only heard people say saeen a lot after that song came out. I, personally, do not use it.

And the only place in Pakistan I've ever been to is Karachi so there you have it: Karachi is officially the best city in Pakistan and the second best in the world.

...... You're missing out. I feel sorry for you :msd

I might consider Karachi if they can do something about the paan spitting. Red stains everywhere.

Visit Lahore,you will forget every other city:)

If you don't believe me,ask Blinding light

I actually prefer Karachi over Lahore. My reasoning is that Lahore is too small a city and everybody knows everybody. You can't have privacy in your life at all whether you are a teen, bachelor or married couple. Too much gossiping happening in every corner and I hate that. I lived in Karachi 10 years and it was so flexible to fit in - even though I used to get stares for my Punjabi accent.

Visit Lahore,you will forget every other city:)

If you don't believe me,ask Blinding light

YES :'D

Are you from Lahore too? :D

I actually prefer Karachi over Lahore. My reasoning is that Lahore is too small a city and everybody knows everybody. You can't have privacy in your life at all whether you are a teen, bachelor or married couple. Too much gossiping happening in every corner and I hate that. I lived in Karachi 10 years and it was so flexible to fit in - even though I used to get stares for my Punjabi accent.

Depends a lot on where you were based/what area you lived in..

I could say this is the case in most of Gulberg/Model Town/Shadmaan area..

No way in hell in Defence/Cantt! There lifestyle is completely modern, posh, Westernised..