Donal Cozzie
- Post of the Week
I remember one song, I think it was called satellite.
So you do know eurovision lol. Checkmate
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QSgNM9yNjo
I remember one song, I think it was called satellite.
That honor is left for smoothcriminalThe best poster on the forum.onting
I don't think paintings sell anywhere a lot, unless you live in this place where money grows on tree, and your name is Van Gogh or Picasso or Monet.
Which is why you'll always be a starving artist.
I've never written anything on a player. Some games yes, but usually it's just something that pops into my mind.
I need a few good prompts to get going again.
Not many.![]()
So what are the Pakistani's thoughts on Krewella?
I will be remembered like them 200 years after my death.
Write something on Junaid Khan
Want me to quote those posts?
EDIT : Once wrote something on my friend's crush on Shoaib Malik (back in 2009)![]()
Cool, now move along your opinion of music means little to me.
The Many Shades of Fandom
Part I – Crushes and Blushes
May 2009
Lying spread-eagle on the couch, I stretched and yawned as the match wore on. Only in Pakistan can a T20 match be boring and one-sided. The champion of the domestic T20 tourney was decided before the final even commenced – Sialkot was going to win this one again, just like it has been doing since the past 4 tournaments. Sighing as I adjusted the cordless between my neck and shoulder and munched on popcorn, I listened to my friend X babble on and on incessantly. Clearly the trepidation of the O level Islamiyat final exam X just gave with me a few hours ago had truly passed the moment the instruction to drop our pens was announced, while I was still reeling from the sheer finality of it, shuddering with fear of the Divine for the stroke of luck I had enjoyed. The thrill of a fresh cricket season erased albeit momentarily, all tensions and fears of the citizens of country in such disarray. X was no exception, and neither was I.
“BL! Mera time! Utha ja ab, mera drama laga huwa hay!” my annoyed sister resounded from the adjoining room. The match was dead rubber, but in no way was I going to stop watching.
“Dor ja!” I yelled back, forgetting X bore the brunt of my vocal chords on the line. I grinned as my sister landed a playful punch on my stomach and took away my bowl of pop corn…
“Haan na.. so I was saying…. BL! BL! UFF did you see that?!” X squealed, clearly taking revenge. Wincing at the endearment I despised, I bogusly looked at the TV screen, only to watch the antics of certain actors in another U-fone ad. I had learned the dialogues 20 commercials back. What was it that interested her so much?
“Faisal Qureshi?” I guessed.
“Nahi yaar! Malik! Oh GOD he’s SUCH a beautiful man… His face is just so…” the babbling continued. Heat crept up my neck and flooded throughout my cheeks. Knowing that no one was hearing from either end, I was still embarrassed by X’s raging hormones. I had taught myself to tune out at her crush stories a long time back. From the way Shoaib Malik blinked his eyes, to the creases that formed when he smiled, to every pore on his skin, the girl knew it better than the back of her own hand. And my tuning out of her “Malik-nama” was the only I could speak with a genuinely nice friend (with a terrible choice in men) and retain my sanity. Yet the embarrassment continued; I felt sorry that God had to witness all this.
My responses of “Mmmms..” and “achas….” continued. It was cricket season. X’s Malik-nama was ignorable – we had a world cup worth winning on our hands. And as X’s beloved Malik lofted a shot into the air for a six, I realised the true beauty lay in the spontaneity of the moment – the rush of adrenaline, the desire to win, not in physical beauty – and in Malik’s case, certainly not from any possible angle.
After a particularly tight over, no one expected the bowler to deliver a juicy full toss slightly outside the line of off-stump. In the span of a second from the point of release of the ball to its quick journey towards the striker’s end, the change of stance was the beauty, not Malik’s height. It was in the aggression that emanated from every fibre of his entire being - not in the ‘depth’ (as X preferred) of Malik’s beady eyes. It was in the way he swung the bat, sheer power and thirst for glory, which sent the ball sailing over the boundary line. It was a delivery worth punishing, and Malik did it beautifully indeed.
“Yaar listen, I do realise you find him terribly irresistible, but you do agree when he’s all maila and gandah from the dirt of the match, he looks more like a cockroach, right?” I questioned, innocently enough. Surely if I could tolerate her "opinion" on Mr. Malik for so long, she could also bear with me for a while.
A frustrated scream resounded from the other end. I had my answer. Grinning, I returned my gaze over to the television. Cricket season was in full-swing indeed.
Part II – ‘Masters’ of Slogging : UMAR AKMAL
The pressure was on. My appetite had deserted me. Sleepless nights followed stress-packed days. I began to look like one of those gruesome zombies in Michael Jackson’s “Thriller”. Cricket-fever was long forgotten as daunting O level finals loomed the calendar. The thought of those days still send chills of trepidation down my spine. A time best forgotten, but remembered for all the ‘Miked’ up reasons, if you will. (That innings by Hussey in the semi-final stills sends shivers down my spine).
2010 T20 World Cup was on in the Caribbean – and I am certain the Pakistani cricket team was as apprehensive about it as I was about my finals. Their previous world cup stint at the Caribbean ended with an unimaginable minnow defeat, and the sudden death of a great coach. Under Lala Afridi’s captaincy, the men in green were out to defend their title as champions – and the need for every Pakistani to include a regular dose of World T20 in their lives soon replaced the barest of bare necessities.
The World T20 was a revival of interest in the sport from a fan-base too crushed by the decadent scenario of the country. The promise of rebirth of champions – Pakistan cricket a phoenix rising from the ashes. Leaving behind a past littered with controversy to meet great future ahead (OH the IRONY!).
Amongst the funny flaming birds was a certain “batera” who really seemed to catch ones eye. Literally. Short, strong stature, annoying voice, heaps of talent and an eerily uncanny resemblance to his infamous brother seem to sum up the countenance of Mr Umar Akmal. Or maybe simply green-lipstick would do.
Move over Afridi’s hairstyle, and Aamer’s magical opening spells and Gul’s awe-inspiring death bowling – here comes marching in another of Pakistan’s slogging talents. Bat in hand, tricks up his sleeve, lips smeared with parrot blood (or so it seemed) – this bats-baccha (a term used loosely) could single-handedly put Pakistan in a winning position, leaving the tail-enders to make or break their chances in the match. Holding the middle-order position, Umar Akmal not only adds stability to the brittle batting line-up, but his explosive batting also provides quick-fire runs and dents the fielding sides confidence. His batting drips with the persona he carried – bold, daring and undeterred.
Although not everything about this young gentleman (another term used loosely) is as effacious, albeit eccentric, as it seems. Months into his debut and his name is embroiled in a “fake-injury” controversy; a farce he put up allegedly as a protest against his brother’s exclusion after the disastrous Sydney test. Many deem even his off-field activities as questionable. After Kamran’s name being taken by Mad Maxy – many suspected Umar to be the mysterious “7th” player the tabloid News of the World spoke of. However Kamran was cleared by the Scotland Yard and the ICC (who seem to have conveniently forgotten about his clearance) and now Umar plans to sue Majeed - he claims to not know the fixer-extraordinaire when he was Kami's agent and Umar was photographed with him. So apparently he's not very intelligent as well.. Its either that or the whole world is subject to the latest in Loftus' discovery of "Creation of False Memories."
However he made his presence felt – despite his poor form – at a time when a Pakistani fan needed it the most. After believing without a second thought of Butt and Aamer’s fixing (before asking for a fair trial – the only solace I have), I had to wipe tears when I saw the final day of the Lord’s Test. Here were 2 sportsmen – my favourite players who had the whole world at their feet – and now they had shattered my heart into bits and pieces. Umar Akmal’s 80-odd in that dire situation was more than a breath of fresh air. His drives, his cuts and not to mention, the goofy smile on his face – all made me realise of the endless pool of talent Pakistan (and the Akmal family in particular) would continue to produce. Aamer, Asif and Butt (and Kamran at that time) – need to be treated fairly no matter how heinous the crime they committed. A fair trial was their right. But in case they were guilty – their absence would hurt like anything – my heart wrenches in pain at the mere prospect of it – but there would always, always be people to fill in the gaps and appease the pain. That “shoda” Akmal re-instilled the faith in my cricket team the day I thought that was the final nail in the coffin of our cricket had been struck. Top cricketing talent it seems is written in the destiny of this country – and we can hope the authorities nurture it properly, for the sake of us fans.
But puh-leaaaase! Getting emotional at the mention of Umar Akmal?! It is as hilarious as it gets! Umar’s a top player – in dire need of straightening out his priorities and form – but immense talent as a batsman and as a dancer. Kudos to the chota Akmal!
Wow that's great. You are one talented person.![]()
Was that for me? Its nothing, though.
Your idea is actually brilliant. Don't ever give up on it, Mamoon.
Yes for you. Thanks for the encouragement.![]()
Blinding Light, that is amazing! Honestly, great going girl!![]()
Raat ko phir feast hai.![]()
I always preferred speech writing to essays to be honest. It gives you a framework to work around. In class whenever i did essays id always have cool ideas but never transfer them to paper and id only get a C plus or so. But in my final exam i did a speech on the topic is "the modern world a heroic one" and got 97 percent. Maybe i should get into politics![]()
How many addictions do you guys have?![]()
We're more alike than I thoughtGames
TV
Sport
PP
Internet in general.
Bringing laptop to bed thus wrecking my sleeping patterns
Sleeping till noon
Eurovision
Guys i need help
Names of games.Dota and LoL?
Ah so a console gamer
Have you got a PS4 or Xbox one?
I can't play heavy war type games without getting a headache 20-30 mins in <.<
So it's mostly just Rugby and Fifa for me.
I'm a terrible story teller, which is also rooted in my inability to speak to people, which is why I write.
(How I wish there was a PM option. this is embarrassing)//
FOR 96NO:
and...
Quoted from the Creative Writing thread
Sentences are too long. Word choice is a little awkward at times..
But nothing too shabby, I hope![]()
I'm a terrible story teller, which is also rooted in my inability to speak to people, which is why I write.
You don't have good communication skills?![]()