"The tough days and low points made me come back stronger" : Shoaib Malik

If someone is good enough and performing than they should be there plain and simple. Hafeez had the best batting year of his career in 2020 in T20Is, and Malik showed his worth in a number of games in the World Cup. On top of that, both are domestic + PSL performers.

Pakistani fans get up in arms when a player fails in one game and develop amnesia regarding said player's performance even a couple of weeks ago. Then someone like Malik will play another crucial innings in another match, or a young player will fail and the same people will be bumping threads left and right about how Malik still has it. Its an endless cycle and I've seen it far too often.

World cup?
Apart from that knock vs NZ (game we won due to Asif hitting 2 sixes) what was malik doing at the WC performance wise?

Please enlighten us.

He is shameless

Couldn't hit Naveen ul Haq. Malik will be thrashed in Australia. Joker Malik fans shouldn't quote me at all.

And what exactly has he performed?
Can you please show us?

Nope. That's not my job.

Go look up his T20I batting numbers for Pakistan from 2017 onwards.
Go look up his numbers in the last PSL.
Go look up his numbers in the last National T20 Cup.

World cup?
Apart from that knock vs NZ (game we won due to Asif hitting 2 sixes) what was malik doing at the WC performance wise?

Please enlighten us.

Oh I dunno, he just smashed the fastest 50 of the tournament, which also happened to be the fastest 50 for Pakistan ever. He also held Pakistan's chase together against Afghanistan and smashed Rashid Khan for a six at one of the most crucial points of the match. Without his innings in that game and the game against New Zealand, Asif Ali would never have had the freedom to go after the bowling the way he did in both games.

You're the only one who needs to be enlightened. No one else asked me to enlighten them.

Something certain fans will never be able to grasp about Malik is the personality he is to the players. Regardless of what you may think about him, he has had a 22 year career and has experienced alot (good and bad). So for him to be able to pass his wisdom and experiences to the current crop of players is something vital he brings to the team.

And thing is guys like Babar, Shadab, Hasan and others have been positively impacted by his presence according to their own admission. There's a reason Babar is such a big proponent of having him in the team and my feeling is that he has been like a mentor to Babar and certain other players too.

And its the little things that show what a valuable asset he is to the side. Stuff like going upto Hasan Ali and checking on him after he dropped the catch against Australia in the semi-final. Or giving a motivational speech to the team after Pakistan lost to India in the 2017 Champions Trophy group game and were demoralized.

On top that he is performing and fitter than ever.

Just because you have bent up rage and hatred for Malik from previous years, doesn't mean Malik is the same player he was in 2010 or 2014. He has evolved as a player and a person and has come a long way being an "aloof" young captain to now the elder statesman of the team.

Something certain fans will never be able to grasp about Malik is the personality he is to the players. Regardless of what you may think about him, he has had a 22 year career and has experienced alot (good and bad). So for him to be able to pass his wisdom and experiences to the current crop of players is something vital he brings to the team.

And thing is guys like Babar, Shadab, Hasan and others have been positively impacted by his presence according to their own admission. There's a reason Babar is such a big proponent of having him in the team and my feeling is that he has been like a mentor to Babar and certain other players too.

And its the little things that show what a valuable asset he is to the side. Stuff like going upto Hasan Ali and checking on him after he dropped the catch against Australia in the semi-final. Or giving a motivational speech to the team after Pakistan lost to India in the 2017 Champions Trophy group game and were demoralized.

Just because you have bent up rage and hatred for Malik from previous years, doesn't mean Malik is the same player he was in 2010 or 2014. He has evolved as a player and a person and has come a long way being an "aloof" young captain to now the elder statesman of the team.

Do you see him performing next year in WT20 in Australia... ??

Its foolish to make a prediction for something that is so far away. He may be or he may not be. Neither me, nor you has a crystal ball that can predict the future. But that's what the PSL is for, that's what the NT20 Cup is for and that's what T20Is are for. To make that judgment.

Yes and lets not forget he's been Pakistan's best fielder for the longest time, even in the semi Ian Bishop was amazed by his phenomonal fielding and how he was diving around saving boundaries even at the big age of 39

Hearing he's retiring after the Ban series. Not sure if there's any truth in it.

So hes there to hold babars hand? Babar should be old enough to make and learn from his own mistakes Hes what 27-28 He shouldnt need someone holding his hand at this stage in his career

Frankly hes wasting a valuable space

I didnt see much valuable wisdom from malik when wade was on the rampage and shaheen was running in like a headless chicken

If he was as calming influence on the team as you state he wouldve slowed the game down calmed shaheen down n devised with babar a better plan than bowling leg stump full tosses to wade

Oh and hasan wouldnt have been bowling his full quota of bowling

Its foolish to make a prediction for something that is so far away. He may be or he may not be. Neither me, nor you has a crystal ball that can predict the future. But that's what the PSL is for, that's what the NT20 Cup is for and that's what T20Is are for. To make that judgment.

It's not about making predictions.

Just wanted to know your opinion...do you think he has the game to succeed in Australia against pacers

So hes there to hold babars hand? Babar should be old enough to make and learn from his own mistakes Hes what 27-28 He shouldnt need someone holding his hand at this stage in his career

Frankly hes wasting a valuable space

I didnt see much valuable wisdom from malik when wade was on the rampage and shaheen was running in like a headless chicken

If he was as calming influence on the team as you state he wouldve slowed the game down calmed shaheen down n devised with babar a better plan than bowling leg stump full tosses to wade

Oh and hasan wouldnt have been bowling his full quota of bowling

That's not for you to decide. That's for the players who are in that dressing room to decide.

And your argument is Frankly a childish one. This is like saying having the best coach in the world or the best bowler or batsman in the world should automatically mean you win every tough game.

You are not a player in the Pakistan team nor are you involved in the team management. Therefore you have no idea of what Malik offers as a senior player. All we, the fans, have to go by are what the players actually say about him. Because they are best ones to judge that.

It's not about making predictions.

Just wanted to know your opinion...do you think he has the game to succeed in Australia against pacers

He can. Because he has the experience of playing in the Big Bash and has a good idea of how the pitches there are. But then again, he does struggle against pace which is definitely his biggest weakness. If he recognizes that and works on it, then I don't see why he won't succeed in Australia.

The reason I am not giving you a straight-up prediction in yes or no is because I believe that every player is capable of being the best version of themselves if they work hard enough. We saw that just this year with Rizwan.

Whether Malik will actually work hard enough to be the best version of himself is not something I can say for sure. Only time will tell.

There’s more chance of Rameez Raja doing well in Australia than Malik winning the WC for Pakistan next year.

:malik

That's not for you to decide. That's for the players who are in that dressing room to decide.

And your argument is Frankly a childish one. This is like saying having the best coach in the world or the best bowler or batsman in the world should automatically mean you win every tough game.

You are not a player in the Pakistan team nor are you involved in the team management. Therefore you have no idea of what Malik offers as a senior player. All we, the fans, have to go by are what the players actually say about him. Because they are best ones to judge that.

Well what do you expect the players to say? We dont like him as hes wasting a spot? They are gonna nod and call him shoaib bhai, his experience is great, hes a great mentor etc etc

Babar likes him as a crutch but again thats not a good Hes needs to be his own man and start standing and making his own decisions

Any player in the team must be either worth his spot as a player first and foremost or have the talent to mature into one

Malik falls into neither category and if hes there jist to offer pearls of wisdom then fans every right to call him to to be dropped for good

Well what do you expect the players to say? We dont like him as hes wasting a spot? They are gonna nod and call him shoaib bhai, his experience is great, hes a great mentor etc etc

Babar likes him as a crutch but again thats not a good Hes needs to be his own man and start standing and making his own decisions

Any player in the team must be either worth his spot as a player first and foremost or have the talent to mature into one

Malik falls into neither category and if hes there jist to offer pearls of wisdom then fans every right to call him to to be dropped for good

You speak with such an authority on these players' personalities that it's almost like you know them personally.

Either you started watching cricket or you just don't know that every team needs atleast one or two experienced players in their dressing room that can not only be a a calming presence in the dressing room, but whom you can also rely on to win you games in high-pressure situations. Because they have been in such situations multiple times as opposed to the younger, more inexperienced who may not have.

This obsession with age is utterly ridiculous and has no basis in logic or common sense. Cricket is team game and at the end of the day what matters most is what a player brings to the team. And right now, Malik brings a great deal to the Pakistan team.

Yes and lets not forget he's been Pakistan's best fielder for the longest time, even in the semi Ian Bishop was amazed by his phenomonal fielding and how he was diving around saving boundaries even at the big age of 39

I don't know if he's the best fielder. Shadab would be the best for me. But he's not far behind. And always gives 110% on the field.

When I look at a player, two things that tell me that this guy is serious and wants to succeed are; his fielding and fitness. And Malik ticks both boxes.

Always dud against quality teams and pace, needs to retire gracefully. We don't need another 2019 WC.

You speak with such an authority on these players' personalities that it's almost like you know them personally.

Either you started watching cricket or you just don't know that every team needs atleast one or two experienced players in their dressing room that can not only be a a calming presence in the dressing room, but whom you can also rely on to win you games in high-pressure situations. Because they have been in such situations multiple times as opposed to the younger, more inexperienced who may not have.

This obsession with age is utterly ridiculous and has no basis in logic or common sense. Cricket is team game and at the end of the day what matters most is what a player brings to the team. And right now, Malik brings a great deal to the Pakistan team.

Im not against experienced players who add value to the team on and off the pitch The perennial question thats asked for malik is tho is he that good with the bat to be in the team at 40 batting at 5 and 6?

Im against someone whos been avge to mediocre with the bat throughout whos career and whos been repeatedly in and out of the team dozens of time

You and babar obviously have a different school of thought But for me we shouldnt be taking a 40ryr old who bats at 5-6 for bilateral t20 series Esp against lowly opposition, its a waste of spot and can be used to develop other players who have more of a future than a veteran who against has been great debate around for 20 plus years in the first place

Malik has played 12 matches in BBL and has an average of 14.30 with a SR of 115.3. No wonder he doesn't play there or doesn't get picked by any team. Loves playing in BPL, PSL and CPL . He is crap on bouncy pitches. He has played only 1 international T20 in Australia in which he flopped.

I have been watching cricket for last 20 years, I know enough that he will flop hard in Australia. Ifithar Ahmed scored runs in Australia in last tour, and He performed better than Malik in National T20 . He is also a better bowler than Malik, he deserves to play ahead of Malik.

Relax everyone, Malik will not be in the squad for Australia world cup. I think he wants to retire in front of home crowd so hopefully, the next series against WI will be his last one.

More tough days.

Left out of the squad for the series against West Indies.

PCB trying to send him a message?

I don't think its a bad idea for him to miss out, clearly backing Ifti and/or Nawaz as potential replacements and players for the next WT20 in Australia, where Shoaib Malik is absolutely anonymous.

Time to move on. He should be inducted as a consultant for the T20 team because it seems he is well liked by the other players

More tough days.

Left out of the squad for the series against West Indies.

PCB trying to send him a message?

I wonder if he was just left out like that, or if the selectors had a talk with him prior to the announcement telling him that he wont be selected, but the door is still open.

Like the energizer bunny!

3zaFVpJ.png

Shoaib Malik's power-hitting practice session!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/eea1hf" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Shoaib Malik's power-hitting practice session!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/eea1hf" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55357;&#56633; 11,867 runs in 446 international matches &#55356;&#57295;<br>&#55357;&#56633; 218 wickets ☝️<br><br>Wishing Pakistan's Shoaib Malik a happy birthday &#55356;&#57218; <a href="https://t.co/7PMZhojEqe">pic.twitter.com/7PMZhojEqe</a></p>— ICC (@ICC) <a href="https://twitter.com/ICC/status/1488504962703400962?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

As per media report:

Veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik, despite being the mentor of the Pakistan Junior League (PJL), is also available for the selection of the Pakistan men's team for the T20 World Cup in Australia.

According to details, PJL and World Cup will take place in October 2022. The 40-year-old has not retired yet and is available for selection in Pakistan cricket team as well. If Malik is picked in the World Cup squad, PCB will look to appoint another mentor as Malik's replacement.

When contacted in this regard, PCB Media Director Samiul Hassan Burney said that Shoaib Malik has not retired from international cricket yet, so he is available for the selection of the national team. PCB will appoint another mentor as his replacement if he is picked for the world cup.

Based on the relationship that he has with Babar, and how highly Babar thinks of him, I think he will be in Pakistan's World Cup squad. He said earlier this year that he and Babar communicate regularly through texts. And that him being out of the T20 team has more to do with giving chances to young players than anything else.

If the t20 was in asain condition you could say that he should be in the squad however he does not warrant a place in SENA conditions and with Babar and Rizwan batting in the top 3 it makes to sense to have malik.

He is very much needed those big sixes against the fast bowlers hooking and pulling with ease are what’s needed if we are to chase high targets the perfect foil to Babar and Rizwan steady approach in the first 10 overs.

Do you know what his stats are away from home ?

Yes in Australia he is ideal against pace and bounce if we are to lose not win an old past it Malik who couldn’t win a WC during his prime is the last thing Pakistan needs especially in Australia.

Shoaib Malik at KPL2

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 51.840%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/7ygn80" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BOOM!!! Check out these massive sixes from the one and only Shoaib Malik. Only 16 days to go <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CPL22?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CPL22</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RoadToCPL22?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RoadToCPL22</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CreameryNovelties?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CreameryNovelties</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CricketPlayedLouder?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CricketPlayedLouder</a> <a href="https://t.co/zyxJXrNiBr">pic.twitter.com/zyxJXrNiBr</a></p>— CPL T20 (@CPL) <a href="https://twitter.com/CPL/status/1559134376348336135?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 15, 2022</a></blockquote>

Shoaib Malik hit four boundaries and two sixes in his 33-ball 54 not out vs Sindh

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/p2noxf" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Shoaib Malik hit four boundaries and two sixes in his 33-ball 54 not out vs Sindh

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/p2noxf" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Unbeaten 54 and the wicket of Saim Ayub - Malik s named player of the match for his all-round performance

Shoaib Malik struck an unbeaten 62 to ace Central Punjab's chase

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/s0bkx8" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Should’ve been picked for the Asia Cup so he could retire on a high note. Now he’ll just fade away like Razzaq.

IMO the tweet was correct but Ill timed

He would have had a very strong point if he made that tweet after Yesterday’s selection howler.

Also it reeks of selfishness because it looks like he was waiting for Pakistan to fail.

He has performed well in the National T20 Cup and the last PSL.

If Khusdil and Chacha get injured then he should be the replacement.

Should’ve been picked for the Asia Cup so he could retire on a high note. Now he’ll just fade away like Razzaq.

The intl pakistan team isnt anybodys personal property and isnt a retirement home that should be used to bid farewells to past it players

Anyway i dont reckon Malik has any intention of retiring Hes been rightly not selected High time we moved on from him

Thanks Almighty we are freed of these leeches anyone thinking that Malik will excel in Australia hasn't followed Pakistan cricket regularly

Speaking on a TV channel:

"Dekhiye mera kaam hain cricket khelna jaha pe bhi mujhe opportunity mile. Select karna, na karna woh team management, selection committee ya PCB ka hain. Mera hain ki jaha opportunity mile main woh avail karne ki koshish karu and acha perform karne ki koshish karu. Mujhe kisise koi problem nehi hain. Main kisike koi against nehi hu kyumki positive rehna has been a major reason behind the success in my career (See, my job is to play cricket wherever I get the opportunity. To select me or me is a team management, selection committee, and PCB’s job. My aim is to do well wherever I get the chance. I don’t have any problems with anybody. I am not against anybody because remaining positive has been a major reason behind my success)"

Speaking on a TV channel:

"Dekhiye mera kaam hain cricket khelna jaha pe bhi mujhe opportunity mile. Select karna, na karna woh team management, selection committee ya PCB ka hain. Mera hain ki jaha opportunity mile main woh avail karne ki koshish karu and acha perform karne ki koshish karu. Mujhe kisise koi problem nehi hain. Main kisike koi against nehi hu kyumki positive rehna has been a major reason behind the success in my career (See, my job is to play cricket wherever I get the opportunity. To select me or me is a team management, selection committee, and PCB’s job. My aim is to do well wherever I get the chance. I don’t have any problems with anybody. I am not against anybody because remaining positive has been a major reason behind my success)"

So what was this post about after the asia cup final loss

Malik wrote, "When will we come out from friendship, liking & disliking culture. Allah always helps the honest..."

Shahid Afridi on a TV channel

“Ham naye ladke ko chance dete hain. Vo perform nahi kar paate toh puraane yaad aane lagte hain. Logon ko Shoaib Malik kyun yaad aata hai? Isliye kyunki koi perform nahi kar raha hota aur fir vo hi hamein achha lag raha hota hai. “(We give chances to new people, and when they don’t perform, we start remembering the old ones. Why are people remembering Shoaib Malik? It’s because the newer guys aren’t performing)

“Mere baare me logon ki rai thi ki Lala aap abhi bhi khel sakte hain. Par main bol deta hu ki bas, ho gaya hai. (People also tell me that I can still play for Pakistan. But for me, that chapter is over),” said the former Pakistan skipper.

Malik has the best average /sr combination of any pakistani player since 2018.

Average of 38 and sr of 158.

This could have been his last world cup.

Malik has the best average /sr combination of any pakistani player since 2018.

Average of 38 and sr of 158.

This could have been his last world cup.

Yep, I would've taken Malik over any of Khushdil Shah and Shan Masood.
Malik is a better fielder, a better batsman, can bowl and has a lot better mental strength to cope with the toughest pressure situations.

Maliks a serial bottler And throughout his career has been tailenderish overseas in places where there is pace bounce and or swing

Theres a reason why maliks probably the most dropped person in the history of pakistan cricket Its groundhog day with him all the time

Like afridi says Maliks name pops up not because hes particularly good but ither options are poor We need to move away from him once and for all He wont add anything in australia where hes historically awful

Whatever his past may be, based on current form he easily walks into our side. We're questioning his record in Australia as if the likes of Chacha/khushdil/Asif have decimated everyone when they've played there.

Everyones looks better when they are out of the team We forget quickly why they arent playing

We dont learn from our mistakes Another world cup where he and his team make noise in the media and the chorus gets louder We Keep bringing back failures to see them fail at the highest level and then we drop them again

Theres a reason why malik for the hundredth time has been dropped and just because asif ali and co are pretty poor doesnt mean someone like malik should be brought back once again only to fail

Its been 20 years How long are we gonna keep doing this Hes 40 plus Lets move on

He's still a valuable player but tweet he posted should be the end of it. It was a disgusting and unprofessional post playing the religious card to mock team loss, and players should be held accountable for such misbehaviour.

I have always liked him as a player but this was uncalled for and should be set as curtains from him so others can learn.

Everyones looks better when they are out of the team We forget quickly why they arent playing

Malik played 8 matches in the 2021-2022 season. He was not selected after the last game against BD.

2021-22
In those 8 matches, he averaged 33(granted it was Inflated by a 54 no against Scotland) at a SR of 175.

2020 - 2021
He was only picked for 5 matches in total over 18 months. He didn't bat in 3 of them and in the remaining 2, he averaged 72 (skewed by a 58 no) at SR of 126

2019-2020
8 matches Average 18 with a SR of 175

2018-2019
11 matches Average 75 SR 169

2017-18
6 matches Average 49. SR 159

It becomes quite clear that lack of performance was not the main reason he was dropped. There was a political underdone to all of it which went on for 3 + years and culminated in Hafeez being forced into retirement and Malik being sidelined.

Malik played 8 matches in the 2021-2022 season. He was not selected after the last game against BD.

2021-22
In those 8 matches, he averaged 33(granted it was Inflated by a 54 no against Scotland) at a SR of 175.

2020 - 2021
He was only picked for 5 matches in total over 18 months. He didn't bat in 3 of them and in the remaining 2, he averaged 72 (skewed by a 58 no) at SR of 126

2019-2020

2018-2019

2017-18

It becomes quite clear that lack of performance was not the main reason he was dropped. There was a political underdone to all of it which went on for 3 + years and culminated in Hafeez being forced into retirement and Malik being sidelined.

Is it possible his omission was not political but based on his past world cup performances?

It's very sad that we must force 40 year old men into retirement in Pakistan.

What's even more sad is that a current 40 years old player is fitter, agile, stronger, active and has more stamina and better current record, and has better nerves to cope with the pressure situations than many that are about, half of his age. Did you notice?

Yes, we saw his experience and toughness vs Aus during the SF, when he didnt bowl, didnt contribute with the bat and was hiding in the field when the charge was on.

What's even more sad is that a current 40 years old player is fitter, agile, stronger, active and has more stamina and better current record, and has better nerves to cope with the pressure situations than many that are about, half of his age. Did you notice?

Yes i did. I think Hafeez and Malik get into this sorry excuse for a middle order on merit. It doesn't mean we should be having non-spectacular 35+ year olds hanging around the international scene though.

Can you list any standout match-winning performance in a crucial game in ICC events in last 10 years.....from this 'fitter, agile, stronger' 40 year old veteran.

He's a serious bottler....go and see his performances in past T20 WCs.

He struggled against pace even during his prime....his record in Australia is tailenderesque.

Khushdil/Ifti being poor doesn't make Malik any better.

Can you list any standout match-winning performance in a crucial game in ICC events in last 10 years.....from this 'fitter, agile, stronger' 40 year old veteran.

He struggled against pace even during his prime....his record in Australia is tailenderesque.

I don't think you know much about this sport called cricket yaar

Who would want this cancer to return, surely kids who started watching yesterday :facepalm:

Is it possible his omission was not political but based on his past world cup performances?
Lol, so he was replaced with players who have performed valiantly at world cups? Chacha and Khushdil ?

Performances specific to an event only ever come up in a comparison when you are selecting players with equal overall performances and then look at factors that might give one of them an edge over the other. That comparison is null and void when you compare Malik with the likes of Iftikhar and Khushdil. Look up their international performances in the same time period and you'll it's night and day. If he's recent performances were bad enough to be dropped then other than the opening pair, no one else in the top 7 deserves to play for Pakistan.

There was an obvious background political agenda at play beginning from 2018 when Malik and Hafeez last played consistently for Pakistan. And it ended in Malik only playing 5 matches (2 innings) in 2 years and Hafeez being forced into retirement.

Apply the same criteria to Chacha and Khushdil and you'll see they will fare even worse.

No one is claiming Malik is a world class player or that he would get into an international team easily every time. The main issue is that to field the strongest possible team in the world cup. And to do that, you have to be blind to not see how there is no competition at all when you compare him vs Shan, Chacha and Khushdil

Just to be clear, I am not even a Malik fan. I know there are stories of him being involved in political games when he was part of the team and his media comments since he's been out tend to depict a resentful/difficult to handle individual. Also he has tended to underperform in crunch games.

My only "agenda" here is a wish for Pakistan to have the strongest possible lineup going into the World cup. With Hafeez already forced into retirement, my hope was that the current management will look over their personal biases and include Malik. Because no sane person will ever be doubt over a Malik vs Shan/chacha/Khushdil question based on their overall and recent performances. That has not happened obviously which clearly shows someone in the think-tank does not want him to play no matter what.

Yes , it' is sad when those 40 year olds are still way better than the current crop in terms of performance and fitness.

Not to forget the person replacing them currently is almost certainly older than either of them 😂. Chacha gee , the youngsta beauty.

2021-22

2020 - 2021

2019-2020

2018-2019

2017-18

Im not interested in his avges but who he has scored those runs against

His last 5 t20 50s have been against the might of Scotland, Bangladesh, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Uae

Even Khushdil and co score runs against some of these

Yes , it' is sad when those 40 year olds are still way better than the current crop in terms of performance and fitness.

Not to forget the person replacing them currently is almost certainly older than either of them 😂. Chacha gee , the youngsta beauty.

Malik has never performed in world cups can anybody show us where are Maliks amazing performances in world cups that he should play in Australia where the pitches with more pace and bounce won’t suit his style of play as it is.

Please announce your retirement from international cricket..Khuda ka waasta & enjoy psl etc for the foreseeable future as you will be around for another few years , very fit man no doubt but we have some interesting options in off spinner all rounders department.. young guys..

Malik has never performed in world cups can anybody show us where are Maliks amazing performances in world cups that he should play in Australia where the pitches with more pace and bounce won’t suit his style of play as it is.

I second that 👍🏽