"The tough days and low points made me come back stronger" : Shoaib Malik

To hell with this toxic snake, why is he even being talked about ?

He's done nothing in ICC events for over a decade, and cannot handle any pace bowling above 125kph.

I'd rather fail fifty times with newer/younger options than go back to Malik for the umpteenth time.

Apply the same criteria to Chacha and Khushdil and you'll see they will fare even worse.

No one is claiming Malik is a world class player or that he would get into an international team easily every time. The main issue is that to field the strongest possible team in the world cup. And to do that, you have to be blind to not see how there is no competition at all when you compare him vs Shan, Chacha and Khushdil

I agree with you that Khushdil and Ifti don't deserve to be part of squad.

But Malik isn't the answer either....esp in Australia at age of 40.
If WC was in Asia, he would've been in contention.

Malik might be the most rubbish cricketer ever to have played for over 20 years. Even Afridi had more of an impact.

And he has the audacity to complain about selection. Biggest mistake by selectors was letting pathetic cricketers like himself play for as long as he has.

Malik played 8 matches in the 2021-2022 season. He was not selected after the last game against BD.

2021-22
In those 8 matches, he averaged 33(granted it was Inflated by a 54 no against Scotland) at a SR of 175.

2020 - 2021
He was only picked for 5 matches in total over 18 months. He didn't bat in 3 of them and in the remaining 2, he averaged 72 (skewed by a 58 no) at SR of 126

2019-2020
8 matches Average 18 with a SR of 175

2018-2019
11 matches Average 75 SR 169

2017-18
6 matches Average 49. SR 159

It becomes quite clear that lack of performance was not the main reason he was dropped. There was a political underdone to all of it which went on for 3 + years and culminated in Hafeez being forced into retirement and Malik being sidelined.

Man, if I had the chance to play against Scotland, Zimbabwe maybe I'd average that high as well. This guy has played for 22 years and not a single match winning world cup innings or great moment in his history that we can remember.

Yes , it' is sad when those 40 year olds are still way better than the current crop in terms of performance and fitness.

Not to forget the person replacing them currently is almost certainly older than either of them ��. Chacha gee , the youngsta beauty.

"Way better" is a stretch to be fair. We squeezed an extra year out of him for the UAE which was an excellent decision that i wholly supported. However, Malik has a very poor record in Australia.

Hafeez is retired otherwise the case for his inclusion would be a lot stronger and he would probably be there.

Anyone care to share Malik' staggering record down under let alone the big tourneys he was all at sea against Cummins n Co. In Emirates so we will only miss the comedy since Malik is not in the squad will take a proper batsman or bowler over Malik for this WC, heck even Shan Masood > Malik for this tourney atleast Shan has some sort of technique to counter the quicks unlike Malik who is a one foot player

He's done nothing in ICC events for over a decade, and cannot handle any pace bowling above 125kph.

I'd rather fail fifty times with newer/younger options than go back to Malik for the umpteenth time.

He's done. Whatever credibility he had developed among the younger players in the side in the last 6 years (who looked up to him as a mentor) has also turned to dust after his recent comments. What makes me laugh is that he tried to insinuate today that his comments were subtle and done for the greater good of the team. Eventhough everyone and their dog knows who he was talking about, and nobody is buying for a second that this snake was thinking about anyone but himself.

His explanation regarding his tweet on ASports yeah ?

Again such a politician's response. Shoaib bhai all you needed to do was add a second tweet clarifying you weren't referring to yourself. He left that tweet deliberately vague to try and ride a wave of popular opinion back into the team.

He's a very intelligent and urbane individual, keeps himself fit even at 40+ years, but has wasted so much energy in his career playing petty politics.

Again such a politician's response. Shoaib bhai all you needed to do was add a second tweet clarifying you weren't referring to yourself. He left that tweet deliberately vague to try and ride a wave of popular opinion back into the team.

He's a very intelligent and urbane individual, keeps himself fit even at 40+ years, but has wasted so much energy in his career playing petty politics.

Yup.

Thing is, he knows that everyone knows that he's not being subtle. His aim was merely to get the idea out there and get people talking. Which he was successful in doing.

He has a pretty good understanding of the game too, and definitely comes across as someone who has the capability to think deeply about it. But like you said, it means nothing when you're a snake out to politick.

I do think he somewhat failed on the second count though i.e. riding that wave of popular support. He expected most fans would start clamoring for his return. But most fans didn't bite. There were definitely alot of them supporting him but most either didn't want anything to do with him because he's a senior player past his prime or called him out for the snake that he is.

I completely agree with this and hence you are one of the very few posters I respect on the cricket forum side.

Shoaib Malik has done nothing since his return to Pak colours post 2012 he has an abysmal record I love how people cherry pick his record. Yes he has had domestic success but he's failed many a times in international to know that his days are done.

Yes I agree he might have been hard done in the 2000s and constantly picked and droppehowever he had extended runs in 2012 and he failed over and over.

Also Wasn't it once known that this conspiracer is well known loner aloof because of his off pitch semantics.

I hate TTFs with a passion and all I ever see is Pakistani fans want them all to be recalled as soon as newly tested played fails. Once TTFs have failed enough times and have no future due to age etc I believe we should select youngsters n players who haven't played for Pak before over and over again and if they fail go to someone else and that's how the cycle has to be. Once a player passes the age of 35/36 he can bat like Bradman in domestic I don't care he should be nowhere near the team if he had failed to make impact with prior chances simple as.

Alistair cook retired few years ago yet was still smashing every season in county since retirement. No English fan/pundit/journalist asked for him come back.

We need to move on from this seniority culture it's a damn disease.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">welcome to <a href="https://twitter.com/KarachiKingsARY?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@KarachiKingsARY</a> family <a href="https://twitter.com/realshoaibmalik?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@realshoaibmalik</a> bhi the real king of t20 cricket 🏏 🤗🤗🤗 <a href="https://t.co/ZjHzJ2t2Z1">pic.twitter.com/ZjHzJ2t2Z1</a></p>— Mohammad Amir (@iamamirofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial/status/1591294144101683200?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 12, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pakistan faced a defeat in the final of the T20 World Cup last month, as England lifted their second title. The Babar Azam-led Pakistan side faced a five-wicket defeat in a closely-contested clash in Melbourne; however, it had a rather dramatic outing in this year's edition of the marquee tournament. Pakistan had faced defeats in their opening two matches against India and Zimbabwe, and required Netherlands to beat South Africa for an easy passage through to the semis.

In an extraordinary result, the Dutch side did beat the Proteas, allowing Pakistan to reach the semi-final where they beat New Zealand in Sydney. In their opening losses, the side's weaknesses in the batting order were exposed and many criticised the PCB selection committee for not including veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik in the squad.

Almost a month after the World Cup, Malik has opened up on his chat with Babar Azam prior to the tournament over his place in the international setup.

“Mujhe nahi pata inside news kya hai, lekin Babar ne mujhe Asia Cup me bola tha ki World Cup me ye hi team jaayegi. Uski side se sab communicate hota raha, vo mere se achhe terms pe hai. Main usko apna chhota bhai samajhta hu, uski grooming ya help out karne me, ya jab bhi usko discuss karni hai cheezein, main hamesha se vahan hu aur rahunga. (I don't know what's the inside news, but Babar told me during the Asia Cup that the same team will travel for the World Cup. He was transparent in communication and he remains in good term with me. I consider him as my younger brother, and I'm always ready to help him out. I will always remain there for him),” Malik said on Cricket Pakistan.

“Main aisa nahi hu ki agar main kisi vajah se team me nahi aaya, toh main naaraz ho jau ya muh bana lu. Main aisa bilkul nahi hu. Main karunga bhi nahi aisa. Meri duaa hai uske saath, main chahta hu vo grow kare aur Pakistan team ko, aur uski performances ko top of the table rakhe. (I don't hold a grudge against him. I'm not like that. I want him to grow and I want Pakistan to be on top),” Malik further said.

While the all-rounder has not formally retired from the game, his last appearance in international colours came in November last year during a T20I against Bangladesh.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...t20-world-cup-revelation-101670483142318.html

12000 T20 runs for Shoaib Malik (during LPL 2022) - only the second batter to reach the landmark after Chris Gayle

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Alhamdolillah ❤️🇵🇰<br><br>I AM NOT DONE YET!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JaffnaKings?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JaffnaKings</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LankaPremierLeague?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LankaPremierLeague</a> <a href="https://t.co/8jIDvhAepG">pic.twitter.com/8jIDvhAepG</a></p>— Shoaib Malik 🇵🇰 (@realshoaibmalik) <a href="https://twitter.com/realshoaibmalik/status/1606360682097541120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 23, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Will Shoaib Malik be back? That would be a step in the wrong direction.

I would like to see him coach our T20 team sooner rather than later. He has a good cricketing brain and understands all 3 parts of the game. I would give him to power to chose the players so that we have accountability

Shoaib Malik 54*(36) for Rangpur Riders

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/qlv72j" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ty6w5h" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Captain's knock by Shoaib Malik 75*(45) for Rangpur in BPL

Two veterans combine to get rid of Shan Masood who looked set for a big score

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/mundnw" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I watched him against the spinners and I can hardly remember him attempting to go big against any of them. He let them bowl their natural lengths and was content with singles.

I agree with [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] he played with no heart and no passion. The guy is nothing but a leech.

I really can’t remember the last time this guy played with heart for his side. Imagine being a Pakistani in the PSL but still acting/behaving like the paid overseas mercenaries

This is what Malik is. I know your international career is over with no real chances of returning, so why not just hang up the boots and let someone who might be invested in his team and country try their hand Malik sab!

Maliks cricketing brain is amongst the better PK ones and he would make a decent coach of the T20 team. In the extra undeserved decade he got as player, needs to be utilised for a better purpose

I really can’t remember the last time this guy played with heart for his side. Imagine being a Pakistani in the PSL but still acting/behaving like the paid overseas mercenaries

This is what Malik is. I know your international career is over with no real chances of returning, so why not just hang up the boots and let someone who might be invested in his team and country try their hand Malik sab!
Cant blame Malik.

Blame the owners who happily wasted their cash buying him.

Malik miscalculated today, he got too secure due to the fast start. He'll be back as he always is, scoring runs across 4 decades.

When you are relying on a 40yr old batsman who was never good enough in his prime then you are in trouble

Yeah he didn't show great intent even against spinners which was baffling to say the least.

He doesn’t care anymore. You can’t blame him when you have been playing for so long. The only reason he is playing is because of money. Winning or losing, scoring or not scoring - none of that stuff matters anymore.

Pakistan is the least talented cricket nation in the world, so you can’t fault the franchises for selecting him because even at this age and stage, he is probably better than most rubbish youngsters coming through the ranks.

Franchises want to win. Youth development and national team interests are not their primary motive. If Malik still brings more utility than most players half his age, he will continue to get offers.

KK say Malik was not fit to take part in today's match against LQ.

Danny Morrison on commentary "I saw Malik at breakfast earlier, he seemed fine to me"