The Zulqarnain Haider Story

Intikhab Alam told Geo that some players have also confided in him about Zoni's behavior in the team and he has come to the conclusion that Zulqernain is a bit mentally unstable. :)))

He was right about them being retards. Looks like he is really on to something again this time! :))

:110:
Yeh ho kya raha hai??!!!!

Zoni according to his interview to SUN was running like a couple of killers were running after him with bare swords dripping blood on Sheikh Zayed road in Dubai. Perfect scene from Ram Gopal Verma's film.

It's strange because from what I've heard and seen personally in the UAE, crime is extremely low

Intikhab Alam told Geo that some players have also confided in him about Zoni's behavior in the team and he has come to the conclusion that Zulqernain is a bit mentally unstable. :)))

He was right about them being retards. Looks like he is really on to something again this time! :))

I think Intikhab Alam made a bad career choice. Instead of cricket he should have been a psychiatrist. He seems to have the mental diagnosis down pat. :inti

It's strange because from what I've heard and seen personally in the UAE, crime is extremely low

I am living in UAE since 2003, it is next to impossible that he was threatened to such an extent in Dubai and that too by allegedly Indian guys. Indian here are so afraid of the authorities that they even dont speak loudly.:sami

We are talking about high-profile bookies here who have underground links, not an average Indian.

Then again he might be right, he might be wrong. I'd still wait for him to open up fully before i make my judgement.

And Secondly, was it not the UAE where a Palestinian official was recently murdered in a 7 star hotel.

lol at comparing bookies with assassins.

Its obvious that bookies have connections with all kinds of people. Its known to everyone.
Its just the extent to which Zoni is making it seem to be, which is questionable.

And as for the assassin part, i was just making a point that no country is safe. Not even the UAE.

And Secondly, was it not the UAE where a Palestinian official was recently murdered in a 7 star hotel.

He was murdered by none other than Mossad. I think that kind of spy agency is not involved in cricket fixing.

I know that. Im just giving my opinion that UAE isnt as safe as sometimes people deem it to be.
Zoni might not be wrong on receiving death-threats. Everyone knows that UAE has underground activities taking place within it. And betting IS a part of these activities.

You may be right that betting is part of the activities in the underground UAE you refer to ... but no matter how dangerous you deem the UAE to be it is at least 100x safer than Britain. I'm sure research would support the fact.

you may be right that betting is part of the activities in the underground uae you refer to ... But no matter how dangerous you deem the uae to be it is at least 100x safer than britain. I'm sure research would support the fact.

+1

You may be right that betting is part of the activities in the underground UAE you refer to ... but no matter how dangerous you deem the UAE to be it is at least 100x safer than Britain. I'm sure research would support the fact.

Yup would have to agree to that.

Article is interesting...
As far as what Inti said, It seems like he wants people to stop believing Haider as Haider has mentioned that he will take names once he feels secure.
I think there is ALOT that will come out in the next few weeks..
Ladies and Gentlemen, Get ready for the ride.

Zulqarnain to reveal everything to British Media soon

Zulqarnain going to answer all questions to the British Media in a Press conference to be held soon.
Source : Dunya News

Upon being asked by host, whether did he consider the respect of the nation when he did such a thing Zoni replied, "He will reveal everything to the British media in the press conference, and earn the respect of the nation back".

So expecting all the fixers in hierarchy to be named in this press conference. :ibutt

Supposedly he has 15 journalists on his face book page. I just hope for his sake he doesnt become a media whore vying for all the attention he can get and lather himself in self pity and try make himself out to be a hero when he isnt.

He said he'll respond to allegations of him taking 35 million for fixing a game.
His words :

"Main aise paise pe lanat bhejta hu, pehle bhi sookhi roti khayi hai ab bhi khaloonga".

Can Mods merge all Zulqurnain's thread so that we don't have every other thread with his name in it.

Nothing can be said about him if he is right or wrong at the moment but each of these thread start the same old this.

Some will say he is traitor, coward and God knows what and other will say he is Hero, Whistleblower and honest with motherland. :(

Breaking news :

Zoni to have press conference in 2-3 days...

I Have a feelin we should get ready for all hell to break lose in pcb headquarters !!!

Yep.. Wait till he gets all stories straight by 2-3 days.

Instead of going to the ICC to reveal "bad things", he's going to the British Media. Bravo! :14:

If he really cares for his family,he'd stick to his retirement,stay away from cricket and the threats of fixing and reveal the truth to the Anti-Corruption Unit.

But,no.

Mr Drama Queen wants to make a grand return so he can go back to picking up his juicy cheques.

Unbelievable.

^ sorry bro, i just thought its him talking exclusively to a news channel, and that he was responding on the new allegations on him, as a reason i opened a new thread. Mods can merge it if they see fit :)

@ Dunya news : Zoni said his decision to take back retirement was after talking to his father. His decision to go to UK and take retirement, was entirely his own and he had not consulted anything with his family before reaching UK.

He says he doesn't know who threatened him.

I am not very hopeful of his soon-to-be 'blast', tbh.

But definitely would be interesting to hear. Hope it happens soon.

Article is interesting...
As far as what Inti said, It seems like he wants people to stop believing Haider as Haider has mentioned that he will take names once he feels secure.I think there is ALOT that will come out in the next few weeks..
Ladies and Gentlemen, Get ready for the ride.

LOL,how many PPP jiyalas and politicians have said that regarding corruption ?

Typical,like politician like cricketer.

Instead of going to the ICC to reveal "bad things", he's going to the British Media. Bravo! :14:

Isnt it better that he reveals everything to the media?.
I mean think from your perspective, ICC would not reveal anything Zoni talks about and will just take action. Whereas through the media, every single Pakistani and cricket fan will get to know what Zoni actually says and who these fixers are.

What a professional :14:

So he thinks the Sun and the British tabloids are the moral arbitrators of cricket ?

Does he not know the art of picking up the phone and calling the Anti-Corruption Unit ?

I mean think from your perspective, ICC would not reveal anything Zoni talks about and will just take action. Whereas through the media, every single Pakistani and cricket fan will get to know what Zoni actually says and who these fixers are.

That's good. Though please also keep in mind how utterly horrible and disastrous it will be for Pakistan and Pakistan cricket if whatever he says is unfounded or not true.

Keep both sides of the coin in front of your eyes.

going to the media instead of the relevant authorities is a bad move. It'll probably end his career. His earlier reason for not talking to the PCB or the ACSU was that he was afraid of incriminating them or he didn't trust them, or something. Why then is he revealing all to the whole world?

He'd better have proof. I'm fast losing patience with this guy, I've supported him for 2 years but he's behaved like a hyperactive squirrel so far

Reveal it to the ENGLISH media, khudaraa... ?!?!?!
When there is a proper channel set for things, why do you want to do things the other way?
And the media, of all things?! Ab mulk ki izzat ka khayal nahi aaraha?

So he thinks the Sun and the British tabloids are the moral arbitrators of cricket ?

Does he not know the art of picking up the phone and calling the Anti-Corruption Unit ?

This.

hes going to moan about :kami: for hrs ...bacharaa kami ki khar nahi aab

I actually asked Zoni about Kamran Akmal.. here i will post his reply ...

me:-

bhai but if the whole speculation about the Lahore Eagles/NBP is false, then cant you atleast say that its wrong?? all the pakistani greats seem to be taking shots at PCB/and you because they are still waiting on your side of the story.. you have any idea when you might come out with info? just one off the topic question.. is Kamran Akmal clean? yes/no?

zoni :

i dnt knw abt kamran in 2 3 days iam going to have a press conference ...

The best outcome would be if he exposes at least 7 out of 11 playing members in the team. This will cause Pakistan to be banned and Zardari will finally be forced to fire Ijaz Butt and replace him with (Hopefully) Baber Awan. This will be a cornerstone in Pakistan's history and PTI and PML-N will start a long march against the government. During the march, the President House will get invaded by the average hungry public who will bring him to the streets and give him a good phenty, much to the delight of Geo Cameras. Soon after that, Imran Khan will be crowned the Prime Minister of Pakistan and life will be good

That's good. Though please also keep in mind how utterly horrible and disastrous it will be for Pakistan and Pakistan cricket if whatever he says is unfounded or not true.

so everyone who says anything against pakistan is either lying or from Israel...*facepalm*...when will our nation wake up from denial?

pcb must be running around trying to find a way to shut him up, after all he'll put many out of business :ibutt :waqar :zardari

Still have faith in ACU?They ideally should have been doing proper work since 2000 after cronje episode.But considering the number of incidents that have happened afterwards,no use calling ACU.

ACU asked 5 million dollars for IPL.Lalit modi refused and said he dint want those.He was clever.He knew anyhow they were no good and wont find him doing corruption,so why waste money.

and i dont support zoni here,he is still catwoman after he made me bakra yesterday,when i thought he would turn out to be batman.

oh noes!!! not to british media. They will take 1000 other meanings of what he's going to say. What he might mean can be different to what will be understood as his english is poor too! Should have talked to Pakistani media in Urdu and explained them. I really cant see him getting out of this clean and also ruining Pakistan's name & cricket.

Isnt it better that he reveals everything to the ICC Anti-Corruption Unit and the fixers are dealt with AWAY from the public eye ?

This drama-baazi has made things a million times worse for Zoni and his family which he wants to 'protect'.

He's already met them.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/nov/10/zulqarnain-haider-wicketkeeper-asylum-uk

The International Cricket Council (ICC), meanwhile, has met Haider and said it would help the PCB in its inquiries over his sudden exit. The organisation's contact with the cricketer came after its statement last night, when it offered its support to the PCB investigation as well as Haider.

"We have met with the player and we are engaged in following up with the PCB," the ICC chief executive, Haroon Lorgat, said. "Clearly this is in the first instance a team matter for Pakistan cricket but the ICC is willing to provide assistance to the PCB and the player. We understand his plight if reports are indeed true."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/nov/09/zulqarnain-haider-pakistan-betting-scandal

The International Cricket Council said it was a matter for the PCB, though it would offer full support if needed. Haider has said he has spoken to the ICC's Anti-Corruption and Security Unit since he arrived in England. The ICC maintained that given the serious nature of the threats made against the player, it would be compromising his safety if it revealed details of any interaction to the public.

Still have faith in ACU?They ideally should have been doing proper work since 2000 after cronje episode.But considering the number of incidents that have happened afterwards,no use calling ACU.

ACU asked 5 million dollars for IPL.Lalit modi refused and said he dint want those.He was clever.He knew anyhow they were no good and wont find him doing corruption,so why waste money.

and i dont support zoni here,he is still catwoman after he made me bakra yesterday,when i thought he would turn out to be batman.

The ICC Pakistan Task Team and Giles Clarke have been there for us when everyone else was against Pakistan as a cricketing nation.It would have been much better to have confided with them instead of giving the media ammunition.

True as well. But if what he says is with proof, and turns out to be true. Id love some people to be embarrassed on World TV. I just hope whatever he is about to say is with good proof.

I'd rather feel embarrassed and clean out the cricket setup. Then not embarrass myself as a Pakistani and continue watching fixed matches.

so everyone who says anything against pakistan is either lying or from Israel...*facepalm*...when will our nation wake up from denial?

Did I say that?

If he is saying the truth and has proofs against the criminals and crooks within our cricket set up, what can be better for us? We will at last have a clean cricket set up.

But why are you closing your eyes completely to the possibility that he might just not be the savior we all want him to be? If whatever he says unfortunately isn't true or is unfounded, can you even begin to imagine the repercussions of it on not only our cricket, but our country's image in the rest of the world? It is already in the mud. Doesn't need additional efforts. Let me just assure you that in that case, we wont be needing Israel to harm us. We would ourselves be enough.

True as well. But if what he says is with proof, and turns out to be true. Id love some people to be embarrassed on World TV. I just hope whatever he is about to say is with good proof.

I'd rather feel embarrassed and clean out the cricket setup. Then not embarrass myself as a Pakistani and continue watching fixed matches.

People who are supporting Zoni seem to be under the misconception that those who are critical of him are scared of being embarrassed.

The embarrassment factor is there, yes. But not as a result of corruption getting uncovered in our cricket (the world already knows it is corrupt), but because if he is lying, we will end up looking like a nation of greedy people who'd do anything for personal gain.

Yes, I am very scared of that possibility.

The ICC Pakistan Task Team and Giles Clarke have been there for us when everyone else was against Pakistan as a cricketing nation.It would have been much better to have confided with them instead of giving the media ammunition.

Ya but i consider the role of ACU is mainly prevention of corruption.Consider from the player point of view.When ICC talks big things outside like they recently issued statements where they said they would appoint undercover agents,enforce strict rules,etc and still if some bookie is able to threaten this guy directly(As per his version),how frustrated he may feel and negative thoughts in the form of ICC is also helpless is bound to come.Again no support for him,just trying to say from his angle.

The reason for delaying the press conference for 2/3 days is to make a deal with the PCB. I am almost certain PCB will restore his contract in the meantime and the press conference will be cancelled.

The same anti-corruption unit that needed an expose by a tabloid to be stung into action??

So The Sun are now much more trustworthy than the ACU ? Or even the local police in Dubai ?

People who are supporting Zoni seem to be under the misconception that those who are critical of him are scared of being embarrassed.

The embarrassment factor is there, yes. But not as a result of corruption getting uncovered in our cricket (the world already knows it is corrupt), but because if he is lying, we will end up looking like a nation of greedy people who'd do anything for personal gain.

Yes, I am very scared of that possibility.

thats the whole point to expose ppl who will do anything for personal gain like bowl no balls and sell their country :P

p.s. take off aamirs pic...he doesn't deserve it right now...i was with him but it took him only quarter a year to come out and say something in his defense...i am sorry but if i was accused of something i wouldn't wait 3 months..."if you done it u better get ready to pay for it"

He knew what happened to rashid latif. rashid went to ICC and look what happened to him. he will make money by giving interviews to the British newspapers. If he would go to ICC, he will end up like rashid latif, ataur rehman, qasim umar etc. He knows he won't be listened to any official authority seriously until he spill the beans in front of neutral sources.

Would love to hear Rashid Latif's reaction to this.

Afterall it took NOTW's signature string operation to wake ICC up.

thats the whole point to expose ppl who will do anything for personal gain like bowl no balls and sell their country :P

p.s. take off aamirs pic...he doesn't deserve it right now...i was with him but it took him only quarter a year to come out and say something in his defense...i am sorry but if i was accused of something i wouldn't wait 3 months..."if you done it u better get ready to pay for it"

I feel he is guilty and would support his ban if he is banned. My avatar is no one's concern though.

The best outcome would be if he exposes at least 7 out of 11 playing members in the team. This will cause Pakistan to be banned and Zardari will finally be forced to fire Ijaz Butt and replace him with (Hopefully) Baber Awan. This will be a cornerstone in Pakistan's history and PTI and PML-N will start a long march against the government. During the march, the President House will get invaded by the average hungry public who will bring him to the streets and give him a good phenty, much to the delight of Geo Cameras. Soon after that, Imran Khan will be crowned the Prime Minister of Pakistan and life will be good

subah ho gai mamoo

According to Geo Super, Wajid Shams-ul-Hasan talked to Zoni on telephone. He assured Zoni that he will help him and Zoni has said that he wants to meet Wajid uncle..and that he will tell everything to him when they meet!

Hes not going to be speaking to a newspaper. Its going to be on news channels. "Press-conference" as he called it.

He's already spoken to a newspaper.Now he's adding more spice to his juicy story with a ''Tell-all'' expose in this press conference.

And you believe that the trio are victims of a set-up to malign the good name of Pakistan?

Set-up ? They did the crime and they should serve the time.

Time to nip corruption in the bud,I'm willing to hear what Mr Drama Baazi Zoni has to say in his little tell-all expose press conference but corruption is going to be the end of Pakistan cricket as we know it.

So.. Zoni had accepted applying for asylum, then denied it, and now admits to it again to the english press.

After two confusing days on the run Zulqarnain Haider has decided to apply for asylum in the United Kingdom and revealed why he left the Pakistan team in Dubai.

Haider met officials from the UK Border Agency this morning for a preliminary meeting about his application. "I had my first interview today over the asylum request I have made with UK authorities," he said. "They asked me routine questions during the interview. The next date for my interview is 10 December. Today's interview was the first part of a process where my application would be considered."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/nov/10/zulqarnain-haider-asylum-claim-pakistan