The Zulqarnain Haider Story

Some of the slack being given to Zoni here is abit harsh, imo. It's quite clear he has been through a heck of alot throughout his life, losing his loved ones etc. And then when someone as mentally scarred as him will come across a sinister indivdual he apparently did meet, it must have shooken him a great deal.
The same guys who have shown the sympathy for Amir, who, apparently, was involved in something much worse than what Zoni has done, because of his age and vulnerabililty; just try putting yourself in the position Zoni was/is in. After playing a role in leading your side back into the series and then all of a sudden being threatened for doing something right? His life being put under threat, the safety of his family under threat. It just seems that Zoni cracked mentally at that point, due to his inexperience and vulnerability.

I agree, the way he reacted has been a little absurd and ridiculous, but please wait for the full story to be revealed before labelling him a 'retard' and holding him accountable for our series loss against South Africa (as I have seen some posters mentioning over the past few days). Right now, he requires the support from us, Pakistani cricket fans.

Some of the slack being given to Zoni here is abit harsh, imo. It's quite clear he has been through a heck of alot throughout his life, losing his loved ones etc. And then when someone as mentally scarred as him will come across a sinister indivdual he apparently did meet, it must have shooken him a great deal.
The same guys who have shown the sympathy for Amir, who, apparently, was involved in something much worse than what Zoni has done, because of his age and vulnerabililty; just try putting yourself in the position Zoni was/is in. After playing a role in leading your side back into the series and then all of a sudden being threatened for doing something right? His life being put under threat, the safety of his family under threat. It just seems that Zoni cracked mentally at that point, due to his inexperience and vulnerability.

I agree, the way he reacted has been a little absurd and ridiculous, but please wait for the full story to be revealed before labelling him a 'retard' and holding him accountable for our series loss against South Africa (as I have seen some posters mentioning over the past few days). Right now, he requires the support from us, Pakistani cricket fans.

He deserves nothing. He's a weak individual who has caused a big mess all over nothing and further dragged the repuation of Pakistan through the mad. He fears for his families life. They are happy staying in Pakistan! God knows what this idiot was thinking before doing this tamasha.

Everyone goes through stresses and loss of loved ones. No excuse to behave in this manner.

Zoni has put himself and others in a huge mess but I can't help feeling sorry for him and his teammates even more, InshaAllah this thing blows over however unlikely that seems

Feel sorry for him too a bit. Just because hes made some really dumb moves and will gain nothing from them.

me too. at first I was just really really annoyed...but then it struck me that the guy is, however silly he's been, just 24 and a pretty likable character. Still seems to have done a lot of damage

Zoni's supporters as well as his country are headed for some serious disappointment and disenchantment in the coming days.

And I, for one, am very sad about this.

Everything going according to plan for Zoni sahab.

Lashings offer Zulqarnain safe haven in Kent

Lashings are set to offer Pakistan cricketer Zulqarnain Haider a safe haven following his decision to flee Dubai after allegedly receiving threats from match-fixers.

The wicketkeeper helped his country beat South Africa in the fourth One-Day International last Friday, but failed to arrive for the fifth and final game after apparently receiving threats about his match-winning performance.

Zulqarnain arrived at Heathrow yesterday after retiring from international cricket and announced he was seeking asylum, after it's claimed he received threats from match-fixers.

Now Lashings, the exhibition World XI cricket club in Maidstone, confirmed today that they will offer Zulqarnain a place in their squad for next season.

http://www.kentnews.co.uk/kent-news...haven-in-Kent-newsinkent41933.aspx?news=sport

Zoni's supporters as well as his country are headed for some serious disappointment and disenchantment in the coming days.

And I, for one, am very sad about this.

You(and everyone else) should be happy if this happens as that means there was no fixing in the current series and all players are clean

Trust me I would be dancing out on the street if I believed he is going to help clean up our cricket. But he wont.

I have to agree...I'm devastated because not only has he probably wrecked his career but, intentionally or not (and unintentional seems the case), cast a cloud over his teammates

He claims that the person who threatened him at the restaurant was staying at the same hotel as the team. This should be a really quick case now, if he is telling the truth. All it needs is the list of hotel guests pulled up and a photo identification held where Haider can identify the culprit. No?

Let's see now..

He claims that the person who threatened him at the restaurant was staying at the same hotel as the team. This should be a really quick case now, if he is telling the truth. All it needs is the list of hotel guests pulled up and a photo identification held where Haider can identify the culprit. No?

Let's see now..

ICC/ACSU walay kahan so rahay hain?? :po:

There's nothing for them to do - this is a cartoon show for the kids, the grown-ups are just enjoying it :))

Excuse me?

How can you even dare to disgrace cartoons like that?!

I tuned into Dexter's Lab when Zoni had nothing good to say.

Cartoons >>>> Zoni.

Please do not make the same mistake again. Warna my panda will eat you :16:

First he says he was threatened on messages. Then he says the bookie approached him in a restaurant and threatened him which later were followed by phone/message threats. Now he is telling Geo that he found two letters in his hotel room which he has given to the police in SY.

The more I listen to his stories, the more I am convinced he is lying and is definitely guided by someone.

I am still waiting for someone to investigate the hotel list becasue he claims the guy who threatened him was staying at the same hotel as the team.

First he says he was threatened on messages. Then he says the bookie approached him in a restaurant and threatened him which later were followed by phone/message threats. Now he is telling Geo that he found two letters in his hotel room which he has given to the police in SY.
The more I listen to his stories, the more I am convinced he is lying and is definitely guided by someone.

I am still waiting for someone to investigate the hotel list becasue he claims the guy who threatened him was staying at the same hotel as the team.

Maybe all of that happened?
ORDER:
1) Threats via mobile
2) Threats face to face
3) Threats via letter
If he’s handed over the letters to SY, then I’m sure the letters are genuine. He wouldn’t have the guts to hand over letters to SY if they were fake...

Maybe all of that happened?
ORDER:
1) Threats via mobile
2) Threats face to face
3) Threats via letter
If he’s handed over the letters to SY, then I’m sure the letters are genuine. He wouldn’t have the guts to hand over letters to SY if they were fake...

Where was the mention of letters when he first started talking about getting messages? And if he couldn't say anything about them as they were evidence or the police asked him not to, why is he opening his mouth on it now?

And talking about guts, he has been showing a lot of guts doing everything he has been doing till now.

i dont buy any of it.

legitimate threat or not, as a professional athlete you have to conduct yourself professionally.

if he was threatened during 'breakfast' ... werent there people around? why didnt he yell for help or something. (personally i wouldve beat the s*** out of the bookie right there for talking about my family).

i dont buy any of this, its all a fraud. last time we heard all this crap without any evidence it was ijaz butt and he later apologized.

this whole saga is a joke and zulqarnain has buried pak cricket even deeper into a hole. he didnt go to the ASCU, didnt go to ICC, didnt go to PCB. and he couldve easily held a press conference then but instead waits a week and then holds a baseless conference with no evidence.

life ban for this moron.

Where was the mention of letters when he first started talking about getting messages? And if he couldn't say anything about them as they were evidence or the police asked him not to, why is he opening his mouth on it now?

And talking about guts, he has been showing a lot of guts doing everything he has been doing till now.

Agree on the first bit.

Yeah, he has been showing a lot of guts – but this is Scotland Yard. He knows he has lost his international career already, would he be willing to risk going behind bars too?
Just to seek asylum in the UK or whatever he’s after, I don’t think him or anyone else would do this much just for that.
Just my thoughts, But hey.. Should find out the truth soon enough.

He is saying the letter had 35 thousand, 45 thousand, and names of 5 girls written on it - Geo Super

:79:

Agree on the first bit.

Yeah, he has been showing a lot of guts – but this is Scotland Yard. He knows he has lost his international career already, would he be willing to risk going behind bars too?
Just to seek asylum in the UK or whatever he’s after, I don’t think him or anyone else would do this much just for that.
Just my thoughts, But hey.. Should find out the truth soon enough.

You know, I have been forming a tentative theory as to why he would be doing what he is doing. Something Yasir Hameed's brother mentioned when his issue was hot. But I would wait for a while and learn more as facts are uncovered before voicing that theory.

i dont buy any of it.

legitimate threat or not, as a professional athlete you have to conduct yourself professionally.

if he was threatened during 'breakfast' ... werent there people around? why didnt he yell for help or something. (personally i wouldve beat the s*** out of the bookie right there for talking about my family).

i dont buy any of this, its all a fraud. last time we heard all this crap without any evidence it was ijaz butt and he later apologized.

this whole saga is a joke and zulqarnain has buried pak cricket even deeper into a hole. he didnt go to the ASCU, didnt go to ICC, didnt go to PCB. and he couldve easily held a press conference then but instead waits a week and then holds a baseless conference with no evidence.

life ban for this moron.

And no U.K nationality.....should be thrown back to Pakistan...:pissed:

You are Indian, so your logic doesnt count for MJ.

Amazing judgment without knowing anything about me. Your 'lurker' abilities are not that great, after all.

So Zoni keeps saying why would I jeopardize my international career where I could have earned so much more?

Let's talk about international career in Pakistan cricket, shall we?

Can anyone here raise their hand and guarantee that players the likes of Shahid Afridi or Shoaib Akhtar are going to be in the WC squad? Would you bet your house on it?

I dont think anyone who has been observing PCB for a while would do any such thing. A board that habitually announces squads without naming captains (Afridi), which add players to it after announcing the squads (Shahzaib and Wahab), drops players mid-tour (Kaneria), and drops players after announcing squads (Kaneria again). Not to mention, how careers of stars the likes of Yousaf and Younis are dented to the point that they aren't even sure if they will play cricket for national team again.

Do any of you really believe such a board provides any kind of job security to any player? Haven't critics as well as players themselves voiced this concern many many times till now?

How is Zoni so convinced he had an international career after this tour? If anything, Zoni should be one of the last people to fall for this, considering how just recently he himself was sent home mid-tour from England.

You know, I have been forming a tentative theory as to why he would be doing what he is doing. Something Yasir Hameed's brother mentioned when his issue was hot. But I would wait for a while and learn more as facts are uncovered before voicing that theory.

Lets have your theory Maula Jatt.... as I said before, you are a Syaana Banda ....

Amazing judgment without knowing anything about me. Your 'lurker' abilities are not that great, after all.

So Zoni keeps saying why would I jeopardize my international career where I could have earned so much more?

Let's talk about international career in Pakistan cricket, shall we?

Can anyone here raise their hand and guarantee that players the likes of Shahid Afridi or Shoaib Akhtar are going to be in the WC squad? Would you bet your house on it?

I dont think anyone who has been observing PCB for a while would do any such thing. A board that habitually announces squads without naming captains, which add players to it after announcing the squads (Shahzaib and Wahab), drops players mid-tour (Kaneria), and drops players after announcing squads (Kaneria again).

Do any of you really believe such a board provides any kind of job security to any player? Haven't critics as well as players themselves voiced this concern many many times till now?

How is Zoni so convinced he had an international career after this tour? If anything, Zoni should be one of the last people to fall for this, considering how just recently he himself was sent home mid-tour from England.

So that proves that life in england is better for a cricketer, i never questioned that.

I think you are disregarding the fact that people generally dont like to cause an international scene, after which not only them but everyone they know are forced to live a life as a refugee, and always under the microscope.

Once you accuse him for orchestrating this whole thing, and than you make fun of his family's lack of knowledge/disapproval of his actions. Tell me one thing, if he had planned this whole thing, wouldnt he have thought about his family as well. Wouldnt he have wanted his wife and children to live with him. But may be youll say that he wants to live a life of a playboy in England, just because hes that evil.

Answer me one thing, couldnt he have achieved all this at the end of the tour. He could have fabricated a similar story and fled to england with his family?

And why the h*ll did he have his passport on him, why did the management give it back to him.

So that proves that life in england is better for a cricketer, i never questioned that.

I think you are disregarding the fact that people generally dont like to cause an international scene, after which not only them but everyone they know are forced to live a life as a refugee, and always under the microscope.

Once you accuse him for orchestrating this whole thing, and than you make fun of his family's lack of knowledge/disapproval of his actions. Tell me one thing, if he had planned this whole thing, wouldnt he have thought about his family as well. Wouldnt he have wanted his wife and children to live with him. But may be youll say that he wants to live a life of a playboy in England, just because hes that evil.

Answer me one thing, couldnt he have achieved all this at the end of the tour. He could have fabricated a similar story and fled to england with his family?

And why the h*ll did he have his passport on him, why did the management give it back to him.

Rest of your points have been answered already.....

As far as the passport, its his property and does not belong to the management!!....They are merely the custodians. He came up with a plausible excuse that he wants to buy a sim card.... Why wouldn't they believe him?

Isn't he asking for his family to be sent to him as soon as possible? And no I never said he is inconsiderate to his family, leaving them behind when there is a threat to their lives. I never said it because I am quite convinced to this point that neither he nor his family was ever threatened in the first place. Just like you have your opinion, I have mine. I'll respect yours, you respect mine.

About the management giving him the passport - the management cannot say No to a valid reason by a player for asking for the passport. I am quite sure it would be illegal. However, our management has once again shown its incompetence by not accompanying him to the store where he was to buy the sim from and taken the passport from him right after. But then again, who could have imagined that he would go ahead and do THIS?

The reason I am not getting in arguments too heavily with people right now about this is because I know many are being emotional about it for various reasons. And I dont argue with people when they are being emotional. I find it a waste of time usually.

So let's wait and see what Zoni comes up with next. Till that time, you are welcome to your opinion and I have a right to form mine, no?

Let's not lurk around and start singling out posters and attack their views out of the blue, hmm?

[/B]

Rest of your points have been answered already.....

As far as the passport, its his property and does not belong to the management!!....They are merely the custodians. He came up with a plausible excuse that he wants to buy a sim card.... Why wouldn't they believe him?
answered by whom?

WT*, you effn serious. There is a reason why the mang. keeps the players' passports, its to avoid instances such as these.

And hes not supposed to be usin another sim, all players' sims are monitered IIRC. So you are saying that the Mgt gave him the passport to break the rules?

Are you trying to pull off a zoni? :13:
Come on, Maula Jutt.. SPILL THE BEANS! :D

nahi yaar, i cant at this point because I am still looking for material to support it. have to say i have been successful till this point. :yk

Why dont you guys (MC, Eagle_Eye, you) also bring forth your theories? Something must have been going through your minds too :13:

aye, boi, i seriously have to say this to u man----u seriously sound very mature for your age. its is a very accurate analysis that u have drawn up.....infact i was thinking on the very same lines as you :)

nahi yaar, i cant at this point because I am still looking for material to support it. have to say i have been successful till this point. :yk

Why dont you guys (MC, Eagle_Eye, you) also bring forth your theories? Something must have been going through your minds too :13:

I am as confused as Zoni himself :))
Itna messed up kar diya hai usnay mera mind!

I feel like supporting him because he did not take money to under-perform etc.. but then I feel like banging his head on the wall for doing whatever he is doing right now!

Even if he is right, he did do the right things the right way. That's for sure.

Isn't he asking for his family to be sent to him as soon as possible? And no I never said he is inconsiderate to his family, leaving them behind when there is a threat to their lives. I never said it because I am quite convinced to this point that neither he nor his family was ever threatened in the first place. Just like you have your opinion, I have mine. I'll respect yours, you respect mine.

About the management giving him the passport - the management cannot say No to a valid reason by a player for asking for the passport. I am quite sure it would be illegal. However, our management has once again shown its incompetence by not accompanying him to the store where he was to buy the sim from and taken the passport from him right after. But then again, who could have imagined that he would go ahead and do THIS?

The reason I am not getting in arguments too heavily with people right now about this is because I know many are being emotional about it for various reasons. And I dont argue with people when they are being emotional. I find it a waste of time usually.

So let's wait and see what Zoni comes up with next. Till that time, you are welcome to your opinion and I have a right to form mine, no?

Let's not lurk around and start singling out posters and attack their views out of the blue, hmm?
I would have respected your opinions aswell, if you werent this condescending.

You have made up your mind before looking at all the facts, i just want this situation to clear up first. Now tell me which one is the emotional option.

And relax this is a virtual cricket forum, i dont think i have attacked you personally. But your persistence ridiculing is very irritating, even more so than your supposed logic.

The keyboard critics, who's only experience probably of facing a threat is a barking dog accross the street (behind a garden fence, with a collar and chain around it's neck) know far better what Zoni should have done, rather than Zoni himself, who actually received the threats, from someone who was very likely a part of some betting ring, and mafia type gang.

answered by whom?

WT*, you effn serious. There is a reason why the mang. keeps the players' passports, its to avoid instances such as these.

And hes not supposed to be usin another sim, all players' sims are monitered IIRC. So you are saying that the Mgt gave him the passport to break the rules?

You think they know rules or in the habit of following them?

I presume the conversation must have gone like this....

Haider - "Babaji... passport Chahiyay, mera fone kharab hogya hay, naee Sim khareedna hay... Soch raha hoon ghar fone maar doon"

Inti - " Ok theek hay puttar yeh lay passport.... laikin aik kaam karna...waapsi pe biryani le ana"

Haider - " Zaroor babaji.... mein abhi Biryani le kar ayaa"

Inti - " Hmmm biryaaani..........."

The keyboard critics, who's only experience probably of facing a threat is a barking dog accross the street (behind a garden fence, with a collar and chain around it's neck) know far better what Zoni should have done, rather than Zoni himself, who actually received the threats, from someone who was very likely a part of some betting ring, and mafia type gang.

The nerve on some people. Rather label the guy as a traitor rather than giving him a fair chance to prove himself.

Haider - "Babaji... passport Chahiyay, mera fone kharab hogya hay, naee Sim khareedna hay... Soch raha hoon ghar fone maar doon"

Inti - " Ok theek hay puttar yeh lay passport.... laikin aik kaam karna...waapsi pe biryani le ana"

Threats to someone's life are a very funny topic for some - Pardon me if I don't join in the laughter.

Hehe quite funny.. But on a serious note; this shows that the theory about big bad Zoni leaving without telln anyone, doesnt really stand.

But seriously wouldnt you want answers to questions such as these before forming your judgement?

I would have respected your opinions aswell, if you werent this condescending.

You have made up your mind before looking at all the facts, i just want this situation to clear up first. Now tell me which one is the emotional option.

And relax this is a virtual cricket forum, i dont think i have attacked you personally. But your persistence ridiculing is very irritating, even more so than your supposed logic.

No, man. I am not condescending. If I came across as such, then I apologize. Instead of being condescending, I am trying to be understanding. Because the kind of defence and logic being followed by Zoni's supporters, reminds me of myself just a couple months ago while I was defending Amir just as passionately. The end result was very painful, to say the least.

Now I like to think I have detached myself from looking at our players emotionally and have accepted them to be humans who can have their faults. And once I did it, I can assure you things make much more sense to me.

So if I am not falling for Zoni's own or his supporters' emotional appeals now, trust me it has more to do with me being indifferent to emotional appeals and less to do with me being condescending. That would never be my intention.

No, man. I am not condescending. If I came across as such, then I apologize. Instead of being condescending, I am trying to be understanding. Because the kind of defence and logic being followed by Zoni's supporters, reminds me of myself just a couple months ago while I was defending Amir just as passionately. The end result was very painful, to say the least.

Now I like to think I have detached myself from looking at our players emotionally and have accepted them to be humans who can have their faults. And once I did it, I can assure you things make much more sense to me.

So if I am not falling for Zoni's own or his supporters' emotional appeals now, trust me it has more to do with me being indifferent to emotional appeals and less to do with me being condescending. That would never be my intention.

No bhai. I actually follow what you post, and kind of expected you to follow Zoni. :) I wasnt targeting you either, just that your posting alot against him.

I understand. But what can I do. I just don't trust his story. My intuition is not letting me, I dont know why. :yk

May be tainted trio's case has caused the fans to be pessimistic.

Yes still cant believe aamir was involved.

But will wait on Zoni though:zoni. Or else ill take up hockey( i am that serious :) )

May be tainted trio's case has caused the fans to be pessimistic.

Yes still cant believe aamir was involved.

But will wait on Zoni though:zoni. Or else ill take up hockey( i am that serious :) )

Haha I know. And you know what. If even a little part of me was convinced Zoni is saying the truth, I would be very happy. Because that would mean that betting mafias are so strong in our set up that players HAVE to do as they say or their lives are in danger.

And that would not only have helped the trio's case, but more so it would have put some of my faith back in our players, especially Amir, that even if they did something wrong, there was a valid reason behind it. So really, I would have latched on to that hope like my life depended on it, if only I could see it. But I dont. :facepalm:

Anyway, I would love to be proven wrong in Zoni's case, for the reason stated above. At this point though, I dont see it.

Haha I know. And you know what. If even a little part of me was convinced Zoni is saying the truth, I would be very happy. Because that would mean that betting mafias are so strong in our set up that players HAVE to do as they say or their lives are in danger.

And that would not only have helped the trio's case, but more so it would have put some of my faith back in our players, especially Amir, that even if they did something wrong, there was a valid reason behind it. So really, I would have latched on to that hope like my life depended on it, if only I could see it. But I dont. :facepalm:

Anyway, I would love to be proven wrong in Zoni's case, for the reason stated above. At this point though, I dont see it.

You will be.

Can't believe the bashing of Zoni here...atlast a person had the guts to come outside of Pakistan and talk about this Sh-it....its no use if he went to PCB as one cannot figure out who is involved!!!!!!

Hats off to this dude...I hope he is safe and the truth comes out because of him.

http://www.testmatchextra.com/Blogs...loggerID=945a8657-c692-4216-b395-5cf672919e26
Published: 10/11/2010 17:00:10 | Modified: 10/11/2010 17:03:31
Author: Andy Wilson | All Contributors
Haider wins sympathy of his former Notts club

Zulqarnain Haider may not have been one of Pakistan’s better-known cricketers before this week’s dramatic developments, but in one picturesque part of Nottinghamshire they can’t speak of him highly enough.

Haider, the 24-year-old wicketkeeper who is seeking asylum in England after fleeing Dubai before Monday’s one-day international against South Africa in fear of his life, spent most of the 2007 summer playing for Papplewick and Linby in the Notts Premier League – where his team-mates included the former England all-rounder Phil DeFreitas.

“The whole thing is so sad, because he is such a genuine person,” said Michael Secretan, the Papplewick chairman.

“I last spoke to him about six weeks ago primarily to discuss the possibility of him coming back to us next season, although that was very unlikely. He stayed at my house when he was over here and he was focused on family and cricket.

“He had waited a long time for this chance in the Test side, so I can’t see any reason why he’d make something like this up.”

Robin Rhodes, the club's vice-chairman who played alongside Haider three years ago, added: “Ask anyone round here and they’d tell you Zully is a lovely bloke, and absolutely straight as a die. He came over with his wife and two children – one of them a babe-in-arms at the time, and the other about four.

"He’d already played Twenty20 cricket for Pakistan so it would have been easy for him just to stroll about, but he came across as a very hard-working cricketer. He got on with everybody, and worked with the kids. I’m convinced there must be something behind this.”
Tags: nottinghamshire | zulqarnain_haider | papplewick_and_linby | notts_premier_league | andy_wilson |

He has spoken to Ijaz Butt. And made a U-turn once again, this time about wanting to get back in the team, which he said on TV himself. His decision seems to come after he is assured that he might get to stay in UK as an asylum.

PCB contacts Haider, assures safety

Karachi: The Cricket Board here has finally got in touch with troubled wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider who also met with the Pakistan High Commissioner in the United Kingdom on Thursday.

Zulqarnain who fled from the team hotel in Dubai last Monday to land in London where he has applied for asylum because of threats to his life said PCB Chairman Ijaz Butt had called him up.

"I got a call from the Chairman today and he inquired about the circumstances leading to my decision to leave the team and come to London," Zulqarnain told PTI.

"I told him everything and he has assured me the board will do everything possible to ensure security of me and my family and will do everything to help me out," the wicketkeeper said.

"I told Butt sahib why I took this decision, I told him clearly I am under lot of mental stress and pressure but there is no way I regret my decision because I could never be part of any conspiracy to defraud Pakistan cricket," he said.

Zulqarnain later also met with the Pakistan commissioner, Wajid Shamsul Hasan who has assured him even legal assistance.

"The high commissioner was kind enough to offer me legal assistance and also said that apart from seeking asylum if I wanted to stay in the UK they were other ways they could arrange it," he said.

Sources said that the high commissioner met with Zulqarnain after getting instructions from the Presidency to find out why the youngster had fled the team hotel in Dubai.

Zulqarnain said he was hopeful of getting asylum in the UK and for the moment had no plans to return to Pakistan.

He also dismissed suggestions that he wanted to get back into the Pakistan team.

"Right now they are other things on my mind I am not even thinking about playing cricket," he stressed.

http://cricketnext.in.com/news/pcb-contacts-haider-assures-safety/51707-13.html

"Right now they are other things on my mind I am not even thinking about playing cricket," he stressed.

could it be... £££

He wants his whole the family to settle in the UK. So this is the only reason to add in his pre planned story for resident permit that his family is in danger in pak.

well, just look into anomalies in his statement in chronological Order

1. First message that came into public after he went missing was this message on facebook. "Leaving Pakistan cricket because get bad msg fr 1 man fr lose the match in last game". Now, mostly we use message for phone calls, sms/texts, letters but not for face to face threats. He can be excused for his lack of English language skills.

2. When first time on monday morning his brother was contacted he said he has no information of any threat and my brother didnt sound like he was in pressure. but after 2 hours his brother said 'yes i talked to him last night and he told me he received threats' but at no point he said the family has received any threats. But from Tuesday zoni is saying he and his family received threats.

3. Zoni said on geo tv that he was first contacted after 2nd ODI and was threatened after 4th ODI. his exact words were "Match jitane ke baad dhamkian milna shru ho gain". This means two time contact was made but in his press conference he mentioned only one time contact. Now the big question is why didnt he report his first contact to PCB or ACSU. He wasnt threatened at that time. His first statements sounded like he was repeatedly threatened but now he is sounding like "he received a threat after 4th ODI, got scared and ran away". Now i think he changed his story because he might have been asked following questions:
a. Where is the record of phone call/sms
b. Why didnt you report after 1st approach and waited 5 days to run away.

4. He said he was threatened in pakistan while he was playing domestic cricket but he never said he was bribed. Well this thing happens with almost every one who is in some position of authority in Pakistan. Personally IMO if someone was capable of removing him form the post of Captain he had no need to threaten him, not atleast threaten him with life.

5. Now he says two envelops were found in his room containing 80,000 thousand (45k+35k) pound and telephone numbers of 5 girls. Now its not clear whether he received those envelops in dubai or london. Most likely they were found in london because if it was in dubai they should have been in darhams or dollars not in pounds. This is where it gets interesting and i am afraid we might have very dark sunday this week.

well, just look into anomalies in his statement in chronological Order

1. First message that came into public after he went missing was this message on facebook. "Leaving Pakistan cricket because get bad msg fr 1 man fr lose the match in last game". Now, mostly we use message for phone calls, sms/texts, letters but not for face to face threats. He can be excused for his lack of English language skills.

2. When first time on monday morning his brother was contacted he said he has no information of any threat and my brother didnt sound like he was in pressure. but after 2 hours his brother said 'yes i talked to him last night and he told me he received threats' but at no point he said the family has received any threats. But from Tuesday zoni is saying he and his family received threats.

3. Zoni said on geo tv that he was first contacted after 2nd ODI and was threatened after 4th ODI. his exact words were "Match jitane ke baad dhamkian milna shru ho gain". This means two time contact was made but in his press conference he mentioned only one time contact. Now the big question is why didnt he report his first contact to PCB or ACSU. He wasnt threatened at that time. His first statements sounded like he was repeatedly threatened but now he is sounding like "he received a threat after 4th ODI, got scared and ran away". Now i think he changed his story because he might have been asked following questions:
a. Where is the record of phone call/sms
b. Why didnt you report after 1st approach and waited 5 days to run away.

4. He said he was threatened in pakistan while he was playing domestic cricket but he never said he was bribed. Well this thing happens with almost every one who is in some position of authority in Pakistan. Personally IMO if someone was capable of removing him form the post of Captain he had no need to threaten him, not atleast threaten him with life.

5. Now he says two envelops were found in his room containing 80,000 thousand (45k+35k) pound and telephone numbers of 5 girls. Now its not clear whether he received those envelops in dubai or london. Most likely they were found in london because if it was in dubai they should have been in darhams or dollars not in pounds. This is where it gets interesting and i am afraid we might have very dark sunday this week.

Very well summised

Zoni supporters, please read the post carefully and thoroughly and do ask away questions if anything in there is beyond your comprehension :)

Let's not forget that the third time his brother was contacted, he said it seems Zulqarnain is playing in someone's hands. This was about the time his family got in touch with him and his father told him to get back to UAE.

You have to credit the man for leaving his wife and two daughters to face the death threats alone.

When did this happen?

that was sweet of you ... what about his father , brother .... lol ?

Exactly.But no,he wants his cushy life in the UK alone with no thought of his relatives who brought him up.He could've even gone back to Lahore and hired dozens of security guards and then have applied for asylum for his family abroad.

What the immigration authorities will want to find out that is there actually a genuine threat to him and his family ? If yes,his asylum application will be accepted,if not then he's been lying.

He applied for a job in soap opera but was rejected because he was deemed too dramatic.

Lol.I dont knw why,i liked this guy from the time i saw his name which was nice and good to pronounce, read his backtsory and saw his gritty innings in the england test match.There were certain players like vikram solanki or mark waugh i liked just for their charm,and this guy belongs to those category,even though he made me bakra.

Re: all the questions/doubts about why Zulqarnain didn't go back home to protect his family and fled to the UK instead, the person who threatened him said "If you go back home we will kill you and your family." This is a direct quote from him which you can verify in the video below (unlike some of the ambiguous statements reported as u-turns).

Scroll to the 3min,3s mark:

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/CPO47ZLD230?fs=1&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CPO47ZLD230?fs=1&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Transcript of relevant portion:
Question: "Specifically, what threats were made?"
Zulqarnain Haider: "He said if you work with us we will give you a lot of money. If you can't we will not select it (you) again in cricket and if you go back home and we will kill you and your family also."

Of course, you can still choose to believe he's lying about what the guy who threatened him said, or even about whether the guy exists.

Re: all the questions/doubts about why Zulqarnain didn't go back home to protect his family and fled to the UK instead, the person who threatened him said "If you go back home we will kill you and your family." This is a direct quote from him which you can verify in the video below (unlike some of the ambiguous statements reported as u-turns).

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/CPO47ZLD230?fs=1&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CPO47ZLD230?fs=1&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Zulqarnain Haider: "He said if you work with us we will give you a lot of money. If you can't we will not select it (you) again in cricket and if you go back home and we will kill you and your family also."

Of course, you can still choose to believe he's lying about what the guy who threatened him said, or even about whether the guy exists.

Thanks for pointing that out.

if you look at the quote of Zulqi; the part where he says " If you can't we will not select it (you) again in cricket" surely if the guy has said that we will not select you.. it implies hes linked with the selectors/pcb?? and if so explains why he didnt contact pcb.. hmm

If you have seen/listened all his interviews than you will remember his statement was limited to He said if you work with us we will give you a lot of money. If you can't we will not select it (you) again in cricket . He never said the last part. In fact when he was told by Geo's newscaster that police has been deployed at his house and was asked that is he happy/satisfied with the security of his family now. His answer was very non-commital. He was like "Yeh yeh, ok".

if you look at the quote of Zulqi; the part where he says " If you can't we will not select it (you) again in cricket" surely if the guy has said that we will not select you.. it implies hes linked with the selectors/pcb?? and if so explains why he didnt contact pcb.. hmm

Yeah, that's what I thought. Even if it was just a random (not-even-Pakistani?) person whom he should have otherwise had no reason to associate with the PCB, that comment about selection would surely give him one more reason not to go to the PCB.