The Zulqarnain Haider Story

can anyone please tell me why does he want asylum in uk. im pretty sure just being a bit part player for pakistan would earn him more money than living off uk government's benefits. aur koi izzat bhi tho hogi bicharay ki!

i think the whole approach thing never happened. come to think of it why would a bookie approach him of all people. saray baaki players mar gaye kya?

secondly the 4th match against sa when we were batting his contribution is hardly something to talk abt. good on him for survivng for 22 balls and scoring 19.. aur kya bookie ko wahi ayee thee keh pakistan will be chasing 275 and will have zulqairnain on strike for the last few overs.? how else does he explain a bookie threatening him BEFORE a match where he got in a situation where he could have had a major influence on the match!

(rant over)

because he claims his life would be in danger back home in Pak, bookies are after him apparently.

Zulqarnain Haider ‘ready to sue’ Pakistan board

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider plans to take legal action against his country’s cricket officials for casting doubts upon his mentality.

A Pakistan Cricket Board inquiry committee was told by some support staff members of the national team that Haider had a complex personality and was a “weak nerve” person.

The wicketkeeper has sought asylum in London since leaving the team hotel in Dubai last November during the series against South Africa, saying he received death threats from match fixers.

Haider wrote on his Facebook page on Monday that he “is ready now 2 (to) sue PCB about mental illness report…”

He also plans legal action against PCB chief operating officer Subhan Ahmed, team coach Intikhab Alam and former security manager Khawaja Najam Javed.

yep if i was in place of zoni i would have already done that. His whole future life depends on this report. if he go for a job interview in future, and someone bring this report up he is finished at that moment. who gave pcb or any organization except psychiatrists a right to declare some one having mental issues?

I feel he wont win the legal battle. but lets see.

It might not even come to court. End outside by mutual discussion.

He might even have said that , just to be in the news.

Any possibility should be considered.

I spoke to someone VERY close to Zoni last week.

This is apparently MUCH bigger than any of us realise.

The scandal goes all the way to the top (including several PCB officials) and the current coaching set-up. And rather than stating who is involved from the team, it is easier to state who isnt - Misbah and Younis.

As for Zoni, he has been to the UK before and played club cricket combined with small cash-in-hand jobs. He knows that the roads in the UK arent paved with gold, and knows he will enjoy a MUCH better standard of living in Pak than he ever would in the UK. Yet he still wants to come... what does that say about his motives?

As soon as he gets his asylum, his contact told me it will all come out. And that Mr Butt & Co are all shitting themselves at the prospect.

The scandal goes all the way to the top (including several PCB officials) and the current coaching set-up. And rather than stating who is involved from the team, it is easier to state who isnt - Misbah and Younis.

As for Zoni, he has been to the UK before and played club cricket combined with small cash-in-hand jobs. He knows that the roads in the UK arent paved with gold, and knows he will enjoy a MUCH better standard of living in Pak than he ever would in the UK. Yet he still wants to come... what does that say about his motives?

As soon as he gets his asylum, his contact told me it will all come out. And that Mr Butt & Co are all shitting themselves at the prospect.

I hope for his sake its true.

Otherwise our cricket is in deeper ****.

I really hope you are right bro (I always suspected PCB was at the helm of the match fixing saga) but right now, all actions of Zoni have pointed to someone who doesn't seem to know anything.

He has made a big media controversy and keep saying I will tell you all, I will tell you all. Yet, nothing of that sort has occurred. Okay, I can understand the threat to your family but don't tell the media but at least tell the proper authorities so they can believe your story and then bring your family over.

I hope this gets resolved soon but as of right now, it just seems like a lot of hot air. The thing that strikes me in your post, is the same rhetoric we have been reading over and over. That it is a big deal, he will tell all later and it appears your friend did not share any details with you. They just keep saying its big and they will tell all soon.

Like I said, I really hope the truth comes out but right now I would not hold my breath. :(

With all due respect, sir - Zoni is the only one who destroyed his own credibility.

If he had such knowledge, then the best thing he could have done was to go to the ICC HQ and revealed all over there. Not run away to England seeking political asylum.

With all due respect, sir - Zoni is the only one who destroyed his own credibility.

If he had such knowledge, then the best thing he could have done was to go to the ICC HQ and revealed all over there. Not run away to England seeking political asylum.

not so easy BL!!

he has to think about his family, they were in danger from the so called underworld.

if he did reveal everything, then surely someone would have been in danger as his confessions might have been fact.

These people who reckon he is a drama-baaz: why would he make stuff up that has finished his career and made his family a target of the underworld?

Just think about it. He was earning very well by Pak standards, with his international breakthrough (and Akmal's demise), as well as a regular Govt job.

Over here in the UK, the best he can hope for is minor county cricket and some lowly off-season work.

Drama-baazi without foundation just doesnt make sense.

:ibutt has faced bigger cases and issues than zulqarnain. I dont think he will be worried.

Apparently, it the cricket corruption goes all the way to Butt Sahib (and possibly higher), hence why Zoni couldnt take the team management into confidence when he split in the Middle East.

That didnt surprise me. What did shock me was that Mssrs. Waqar, Afridi and Mullah Moyo are alleged to be deeply involved too.

not so easy BL!!

he has to think about his family, they were in danger from the so called underworld.

if he did reveal everything, then surely someone would have been in danger as his confessions might have been fact.

RD - I am a 100% sure given ICC's recent moves in order to protect the integrity of the game, they would have left no stone unturned to ensure Zoni and his family's safety. If he really DID want to blow the whistle, that is.

My take on the whole matter is very harsh and skeptic. I agree I do not live in Zoni's mind to understand what he was going through at that time, but his moves were childish and immature. As were his "watan maa, seniors baap" comment. As was the fact that he called up the media for safety rather than the authorities.

Again, waiting for the whole saga to unfold - I do not know what true or not, nobody does. But it just seems more and more like he did it all for asylum. Thats my humble opinion on the matter.

Apparently, it the cricket cirruption goes all the way to Butt Sahib (and possibly higher), hence why Zoni couldnt take the team management into confidence when he split in the Middle East.

That didnt surprise me. What did shock me was that Mssrs. Waqar, Afridi and Mullah Moyo are alleged to be deeply involved too.

BS- The truth is that Zoni took some money from the fixer but later can not finish the deal. If according to your theory all the players and the management are involved then why the hell they brought Mr. Clean Zuliqarnain into the team. They could have easily selected one of the corrupt WK.

there must be something he has to reveal, surely all of this isn't gibberish. surely. maybe now is not the right time, maybe after the WC. i hope he doesn't let us down.

Ok NOW get the popcorn out.He's ready to sue,lets hear the case put forward by Mr Drama Baazi.

But it just seems more and more like he did it all for asylum. Thats my humble opinion on the matter.

Political asylum in the UK isnt what it was a decade ago, where you got free housing, loads of benefits, etc.

It has changed in recent years because UK got a deserved reputation as a soft touch.

Firstly, they have made it much harder to gain asylum with only 15% of cases in 2010 successfully approved.

Secondly, they have made it very difficult to bring your family over - even if your appeal is successful. That means it could be years before Zoni sees his family.

Thirdly, Zoni wont be allowed to work. And he will get a rubbish property (compared to what he is used to in Pak). And he will only have the most basic (and paltry) benefits available to him.

UK is still the destination of choice for ill-educated asylum seekers from the villages, who have little prospects back in Pak.

But not for someone successful like ZH.

BS- The truth is that Zoni took some money from the fixer but later can not finish the deal. If according to your theory all the players and the management are involved then why the hell they brought Mr. Clean Zuliqarnain into the team. They could have easily selected one of the corrupt WK.

I was giving you Zoni's version. I didnt say whether I believed it or not.

I wish I hadnt bothered now.

Political asylum in the UK isnt what it was a decade ago, where you got free housing, loads of benefits, etc.

It has changed in recent years because UK got a deserved reputation as a soft touch.

Firstly, they have made it much harder to gain asylum with only 15% of cases in 2010 successfully approved.

Secondly, they have made it very difficult to bring your family over - even if your appeal is successful. That means it could be years before Zoni sees his family.

Thirdly, Zoni wont be allowed to work. And he will get a rubbish property (compared to what he is used to in Pak). And he will only have the most basic (and paltry) benefits available to him.

UK is still the destination of choice for ill-educated asylum seekers from the villages, who have little prospects back in Pak.

Then what other reason can you provide for his escapade?

I was giving you Zoni's version. I didnt say whether I believed it or not.

I wish I hadnt bothered now.

I wish you hadn't bothered either.

Maybe he does know something, but if he wants to fix the system or do something good, then he should do it. Don't make posts on facebook, don't give idiotic comments like things will be revealed in 4 days etc.

It does not help his cause by getting other people(like yourself) to be his mouthpiece on PakPassion, because you don't have anything to report either.

We really don't need this

I wish you hadn't bothered either.

Maybe he does know something, but if he wants to fix the system or do something good, then he should do it. Don't make posts on facebook, don't give idiotic comments like things will be revealed in 4 days etc.

It does not help his cause by getting other people(like yourself) to be his mouthpiece on PakPassion, because you don't have anything to report either.

We really don't need this

My last post to you because I find you ignorant.

The whole point of a message board like this is to discuss topics, raise differing points of view, and share any knowledge (primary or secondary). Thats just what my 'information' was.

I am not a mouthpiece of anyone, and I havent stated that I believe Zoni's alleged claims. Neither have I said that he is talking bollox. I dont know, and neither do you.

All I was sharing with the BB was an alleged inside into some of Zoni's unpublished claims, pupporting to come from someone who is extremely close to him.

That's all.

RD - I am a 100% sure given ICC's recent moves in order to protect the integrity of the game, they would have left no stone unturned to ensure Zoni and his family's safety. If he really DID want to blow the whistle, that is.

My take on the whole matter is very harsh and skeptic. I agree I do not live in Zoni's mind to understand what he was going through at that time, but his moves were childish and immature. As were his "watan maa, seniors baap" comment. As was the fact that he called up the media for safety rather than the authorities.

Again, waiting for the whole saga to unfold - I do not know what true or not, nobody does. But it just seems more and more like he did it all for asylum. Thats my humble opinion on the matter.

BL - we don't know that fir sure that he did the whole episode for asylum, maybe his life was in threat, maybe he was getting pressurized by the 'mafia' to act or be gone. either way he must have had a very good reason to give up his cricketing career, which was also paying him handsomely. this guy gave up on all that to live in a council estate with basic benefit. something doesn't add up here....

imo he's waiting for the right time - when all is family is over, together with him, then i can see him coming out with everything...

BL - we don't know that fir sure that he did the whole episode for asylum, maybe his life was in threat, maybe he was getting pressurized by the 'mafia' to act or be gone. either way he must have had a very good reason to give up his cricketing career, which was also paying him handsomely. this guy gave up on all that to live in a council estate with basic benefit. something doesn't add up here....

imo he's waiting for the right time - when all is family is over, together with him, then i can see him coming out with everything...

The_Real_Deal - that is exactly what I was told. He has made a full explanation to the UK immigration authorities, but will make a full public statement (naming names) if/when he gets asylum, and brings his family over.

The reason he hasnt said anything to date, as I am told, is because he may still have to return to Pak if his application for asylum is turned down. If that happens, he obviously cant be seen to have named names or his life would be in even greater danger.

As his 'friend' said to me, if it was all about money and fame, then why has Zoni already turned down hundreds of thousands of pounds from the British tabloid media to fling yet more mud onto our country?

This is correct.

I can vouch for this living in Britain.The current Conservative-led Coalition Government are introducing/or have introduced an immigration cap on the number of workers entering UK from outside the European Union.Also asylum applications are indeed harder to approve.The government is also trying to stop people being dependent on the state and on state benefits.

There have been cuts to benefits so the UK is clamping down,which will not help Zulqarnain's case.

The_Real_Deal - that is exactly what I was told. He has made a full explanation to the UK immigration authorities, but will make a full public statement (naming names) if/when he gets asylum, and brings his family over.

The reason he hasnt said anything to date, as I am told, is because he may still have to return to Pak if his application for asylum is turned down. If that happens, he obviously cant be seen to have named names or his life would be in even greater danger.

As his 'friend' said to me, if it was all about money and fame, then why has Zoni already turned down hundreds of thousands of pounds from the British tabloid media to fling yet more mud onto our country?

i agree with your posts jaspa888. its makes sense why he's withholding the information, since his asylum is not 'pakka' yet. Hope it is though soon and he reveals all the corrupt players in the team. we don't need or want these kind of players in the team.

but i know the asylum can be a lengthy process so i'm not holding my breath just yet...

and your avatar looks gross!! :D

He will speak crap just before the worldcup to bring chaos in the team !!

Oh gosh, I didnt think it would go this serious. But the shocking thing is that everyone is involved execpt YK and Misbah (ALLEGEDLY) :O

Zoni just say what you got to say to the media, get this over and done with and stop playing these silly little games.

Why didn't he come to Norway? He could have played for our club. But we already have a WK, so he could stand in the slips next to me... :13:

Why did PP move this back to the cricket forum? Are they also expecting startling revelations?

takes a while, no dates confirmed. but im sure its gone past the 1 month allowed? or do they allow you 3 months?

There is a massive backlog, so can take nearly a year. And then there is the long appeal process if it is rejected...

I dont think we'll hear much for quite some time.

KARACHI: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has vowed to go all-out in its defence in case of a possible legal action taken by former wicket-keeper Zulqarnain Haider. Haider left a message on his Facebook page yesterday, planning to take legal action against the PCB and the members of the inquiry committee for casting doubts on his mental well-being.

“zulqarnain is ready now 2 sue pcb about mental illnes report and on all inquiry peoples,” wrote the wicket-keeper who fled from the team’s hotel in Dubai during the One-Day International series against South Africa in November. Haider claimed to have received death threats from match-fixers and sought asylum in the UK.

The incident was followed by the PCB forming a fact-finding committee to inquire the reasons for Haider’s desertion. The committee submitted a report in which it stated that Haider had a weak personality which might have led to the incident.

PCB ready to defend case

Meanwhile, the PCB legal advisor Tafazzul Rizvi said the board would leave no stone unturned in its defence.

“The PCB is ready to defend any charges,” Rizvi told The Express Tribune. “After successfully defending the case we will seek damages from the wicket-keeper besides filing a defamation case against him.”

The lawyer, however, expressed surprise over what grounds Haider will file a case in a Pakistan court.

“Initially I was surprised to see Haider’s message because he will be filing a case in a country that he has deemed insecure for himself,” said Rizvi.

“Haider himself is a fugitive who broke discipline and put the team in trouble by fleeing away. How can he file a case against the PCB,” said the legal advisor.

Rizvi was also sceptical if Haider’s plans held any value since the report was revealed weeks ago.

“The timing of his comment is also surprising. Why did he think of taking action now when the findings of the committee were revealed weeks ago.”

‘Tactics to gain media
attention’

While Rizvi seemed confident, a top official said that frequent messaging by the wicket-keeper is just an attempt at gaining attention from the media.

“We will not comment until Haider takes any action,” the official told The Express Tribune.

“First, he says that he will announce the names of players he believed were involved in match-fixing and now this.

“Till now all he’s done is talk and not taken any action so we cannot take it seriously. Maybe these tactics will help him in his asylum case.”

Haider, who has applied for asylum in the UK and is currently residing on a temporary residence permit, has also claimed that the PCB is withholding £15,000 in wages although the PCB is yet to get a formal notice over the issue.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/108527/pcb-to-go-all-out-in-its-defence/

KARACHI: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has vowed to go all-out in its defence in case of a possible legal action taken by former wicket-keeper Zulqarnain Haider. Haider left a message on his Facebook page yesterday, planning to take legal action against the PCB and the members of the inquiry committee for casting doubts on his mental well-being.

“zulqarnain is ready now 2 sue pcb about mental illnes report and on all inquiry peoples,” wrote the wicket-keeper who fled from the team’s hotel in Dubai during the One-Day International series against South Africa in November. Haider claimed to have received death threats from match-fixers and sought asylum in the UK.

The incident was followed by the PCB forming a fact-finding committee to inquire the reasons for Haider’s desertion. The committee submitted a report in which it stated that Haider had a weak personality which might have led to the incident.

PCB ready to defend case

Meanwhile, the PCB legal advisor Tafazzul Rizvi said the board would leave no stone unturned in its defence.

“The PCB is ready to defend any charges,” Rizvi told The Express Tribune. “After successfully defending the case we will seek damages from the wicket-keeper besides filing a defamation case against him.”

The lawyer, however, expressed surprise over what grounds Haider will file a case in a Pakistan court.

“Initially I was surprised to see Haider’s message because he will be filing a case in a country that he has deemed insecure for himself,” said Rizvi.

“Haider himself is a fugitive who broke discipline and put the team in trouble by fleeing away. How can he file a case against the PCB,” said the legal advisor.

Rizvi was also sceptical if Haider’s plans held any value since the report was revealed weeks ago.

“The timing of his comment is also surprising. Why did he think of taking action now when the findings of the committee were revealed weeks ago.”

‘Tactics to gain media
attention’

While Rizvi seemed confident, a top official said that frequent messaging by the wicket-keeper is just an attempt at gaining attention from the media.

“We will not comment until Haider takes any action,” the official told The Express Tribune.

“First, he says that he will announce the names of players he believed were involved in match-fixing and now this.

“Till now all he’s done is talk and not taken any action so we cannot take it seriously. Maybe these tactics will help him in his asylum case.”

Haider, who has applied for asylum in the UK and is currently residing on a temporary residence permit, has also claimed that the PCB is withholding £15,000 in wages although the PCB is yet to get a formal notice over the issue.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/108527/pcb-to-go-all-out-in-its-defence/

Interesting :13:

At best you can say he has been naive and badly advised almost to the point that he has lost his credibility.

At worst, there could be some merit to what njamal alluded to and hence the reason for his confusing and guarded statements that were contradicted by his family in Pakistan initially.

There is nothing new in what is being alleged!.... He is bringing up old stories of the situation in the 90s to make that is the situation currently. Entire team was involved in fixing or you would get the boot.... we know that and its fairly well documented.

I am more inclined to believe is that he realised his time in the team will be limited on account of his dismal performances with the bat and gloves in the ODI series and becoming martyr for clean cricket can bring him fame and secure his future better than what he could playing cricket at home on the domestic circuit.

Giving up a fledgling but potentially lucrative international career and a stable Govt job is not an easy decision.

And for what?

A ruined career, loss of earnings, estrangement from his young family, poor standard of living, and some very powerful enemies for him and his family.

he is no frishta that you should believe his every word.We know what he did was wrong and he should be punished and fined for breaking PCB code of conduct just like other.He did ran away before 5th ODI so PCB has a strong case against him.

And BTW What happened to his latter proofs? and ICC also asked him to provide anything he think is a fishy but that fool had nothing to reveal .He was mislead by few idiots ,I would say.

Giving up a fledgling but potentially lucrative international career and a stable Govt job is not an easy decision.

And for what?

A ruined career, loss of earnings, estrangement from his young family, poor standard of living, and some very powerful enemies for him and his family.

My point is that he did not have much of International career to give up. With Pakistan cricket there is a whole list of cricketers who made brief appearances and then never to be seen again. My feeling is that he realised he was going to join that list on account of his woeful performances in ODI series against SA. Ofcourse all this is based on the presumption that he is not telling truth and so there are no powerful enemies to worry about. If that was the case, he should have rang his family before fleeing to make them aware of the impending danger. He chose not to do that.

He is no different to million of young men who leave Pakistan to work abroad, its hard I know because I have a young daughter but its the accepted norm back home. I think he is/was banking on getting a county contract on the back of his celebrity. An average county player earns a lot more than an average Pakistani international and as an overseas player you are provided with very good accommodation etc etc...

Sounds like this person "very close" to Zoni is having a ball making stuff up.

so can you please enlighten as to the fate of Rashid Latif?

Always had my suspicions that it goes to the very top but good to have my suspicion backed by such a high quality source.

Lawl @ Zoni's internet forum defence lawyer.

Maybe he fled because he had no idea that he wouldn't get as good a deal as he would have envisaged in the UK? Judged by his mental capacity, I doubt he would have taken every consideration into account.

And judging by his Facebook escapades he appears to be a spoilt little brat suffering from arrested development. Who in God's name announces on Facebook that they are going to be taking legal action? Who in the world has a press conference in a curry restaurant?

Complete buffoon.

Why do people get so aggressive? I am merely reporting some titbits Ive heard, though can not vouch for its authenticity. I dont necessarily agree with it, but IMO it certainly adds to the debate - hence the reasons for posting it.

All I can confirm is that the source is indeed extremely close to Zoni.

Why do people get so aggressive? I am merely reporting some titbits Ive heard, though can not vouch for its authenticity. I dont necessarily agree with it, but IMO it certainly adds to the debate - hence the reasons for posting it.

Zoni has ZERO credibility.

Any second hand info via Zoni is likely to have ZERO meaning.

The things you've said that apparently came from this source are ridiculous to say the least.

Thank you for posting what you know. You did not have to and as you said, the information will add to the debate.

Shame a few pp'ers cannot show you some basic courtesy.

Zoni latest on FB........... 'i am ready fr difend my self, tafazal rizvi sahab aapp apna karo'

Salaam. This guy... I remeber following him on FB a few years ago he was so pissed that he did never get selected despite not performing, lol. And when he got selected he ran away. A perfect script for a Mahesh Butt ispecial :zoni

and the facebook saga continues.....what a clown......please check his latest facebook status for details :zoni

I agree with Zoni on this some people are insulting him personally.....which's in a poor taste.........

Zoni on facebook " muje dhamkian or galian de rahe hain abb dhekta huin kese dete ho dekho ab tum luguin ke sath kia hota hai basterds"

:))) :))) This guy is too much

He is a idiot and all his life he will regret this mistake he did. What a SORE LOOSER. He really was turning out to be the HeRo for PAKISTAN but idiot blew it big time.

So this is what Rashid Rana wrote:

"Zulqarnain Haider Ager tu ne kuch bola tu i kill you" :zoni

Waise yeh ghalat baat hai...his status was for Eid Mubarak aur ulta gaaliyan par gayi

UA's fan - The barbers in small shops are trying to earn an honest living for their family!