"This fitness issue is not a new one - how fit were the players in the old days?" : Kamran Akmal

Abdul

"This fitness issue is not a new one - how fit were the players in the old days?" : Kamran Akmal

Kamran Akmal speaking on television

"This fitness issue is not a new one - how fit were we in the old days?"

"If fitness was the only criteria then as Shoaib (Akhtar) said, he wouldn't have played even once for Pakistan"

"Fact is we are fit and our fitness cannot be judged by making us run as match fitness is more essential"

"In the old days, Rana Naveed and Shoaib Akhtar were not bothered about fitness but focused on practicing on match skills alone"

"Every player is fit enough and Umar Akmal just played here in such hot weather in the Pakistan Cup"

"Umar passed the yoyo test here and I believe Inzi Bhai conducted that himself"

"I have no idea what's happened in England and only the team management can tell us more"

Shoaib missed half the matches he played and is no benchmark for success

Disgusting statements. I will not support his selection again in any format just for these comments alone. Rana Naved and Shoaib Akhtar are his benchmarks for fitness, and a test conducted by 'Inzi bhai' himself. Wow.

I'm done with him.

As expected Akmal brothers are always full of excuses only! Perhaps these guys should work hard when they're bored and have nothing to do but instead they spend time thinking about excuses.

I understand it that when you're overweight etc it's very tough to start exercising as you need motivation to start working out but here it seems like that Akmal brothers are completely happy with their bellies and have no desire to lose weight in the first place despite being professionals which is just sad.

Is he real brother of umar or what.??

if this is what he is teaching his younger brother than only god can save umar international career

he should help his brother rather than moaning on tv

:))) our fitness cannot be judged by makig us do fitness test.

Omgg this is going to be my signature

Fitness standards have changed this is the age of making 400 par scores in one days which was unheard of in old days. Shoaib lost his steam in his second spells because of his poor fitness he was a joke.

Pakistan is lagging behind because our fitness levels are wayyyy behind other nations . . and as a matter of fact, fitness does make a huge difference in your performance on field in todays game!

The fact that Kamran Akmal can give such irresponsible statements about the topic of fitness is sad . . and the reason why we are so far behind in the modern game

Inzi is getting exposed he's such a hypocrite he's not even ashamed of open favoritism to akmals.

Fitness is essential in cricket. Anyone who says otherwise has probably not played the sport at club level.

Fitness is essential in all 3 aspects of the game. Batting, bowling and fielding.

In bowling, a bowler is required to bowl long spells. Plus, he needs to be there mentally in the game.

A very good example is wahab riaz and sohail khan.

Skill wise sohail khan is better then wahab riaz.
But wahab riazs fitness allows him to come back anytime in the game and take wickets. For example, if wahab has to come and bowl in the 4th spell, he will be still as effective as he was in his first spell.

Sohail khan will bowl wonderfully in his first spell, but as ask him to bowl in his 3rd or 4th spell, the guy will have no idea what he is doing.

See the difference? Wahab could never bowl a first spell like sohail does, but because wahab could actually last a game he will get a go head in place of sohail khan.

In batting, running between the wickets show your fitness. A player who could convert singles into doubles and doubles into tripples shows how fit he is.
Umar akmal is the worst player in running between the wickets. I have seen many times when he runs or sprints he gets tired very easily.
There is a video on youtube where misbah literally cusses at.umar akmal for not being able to take a double.
When players cant run, they resort to shots, which is why umar akmal ends up throwing his wicket.
Thus poor fitness in batting resulta in scoring less runs and throwing away wickets.

In fielding, players with low fitness dont bother to sprint towards the ball that is rolling to the boundary. Have you guys ever seen bredan mcculm or misbah who speints from mid on? Thats fitness. Unfit players dont go for sprints.

West indies vs pakistan series showed how fir our plaer was in the field

This should be the final nail in the coffin for anyone with the Akmal surname.

Ah yes, the halcyon days of allegedly world class players who never actually won anything because they were too busy choking and/or match-fixing.

We really need to look to those sides for inspiration.

Its extremely unfortunate that inspite of having role models like Younis and Misbah in the team,who extended their career for that long with supreme fitness that still these Akmal brothers are not getting inspired.

Someone should start a thread for "Akmals' Epic Quotes".

Aslam Raisani is legend but Akmals are fast catching him.

"Fitness, fitness hoti hay, pass Ho ya fail".

Kami has the makings of a politician. He has all the answers figured out.

"Sir what do you say about the poor healthcare in our country?"
"The health issue is not a new one. How many hospitals were there in the old days?"

"Sir what about the declining economy?"
"Just give me three chances as Prime Minister"

"Sir how will you respond to the opposition leader's allegations of:'Aap Qoum ka paisa khaa khaa ke mote ho gaye hein'."
"These allegations are baseless. The reason I am fat is because my family has special genes due to which we gain"

Disgusting statements. I will not support his selection again in any format just for these comments alone. Rana Naved and Shoaib Akhtar are his benchmarks for fitness, and a test conducted by 'Inzi bhai' himself. Wow.

I'm done with him.

its funny how you support him based on his statements but not based on his abilities and fitness.

Laughable statements.Can't take this guy seriously.He should help his brother but is making it worse.

Grade A clown

That team lost to Ireland and got knocked out of the first round of a WC where the format was designed to ensure that the top teams go through

Certainly no benchmark

:))) our fitness cannot be judged by makig us do fitness test.

Omgg this is going to be my signature

He has a point their. How can you assure me that he won't perform just because he didn't pass the fitness test. These tests are the one's where mediocre players like Sohaib Maqsood take the most and players like Haris Sohail fail.

However, he never deserved a place in this squad by any means.

I agree with Kamran Akmal to an extent, inasmuch as some players are terribly unfit but their skills are so good that you still cannot drop them. Inzamam was an example of that. Umar Akmal is not.

He has a point their. How can you assure me that he won't perform just because he didn't pass the fitness test. These tests are the one's where mediocre players like Sohaib Maqsood take the most and players like Haris Sohail fail.

However, he never deserved a place in this squad by any means.

post no.12

watch sohail khan's bowling performance inthe last 6 months.

and watch this

lack of fitness= less singles and runs being scored

I agree with Kamran Akmal to an extent, inasmuch as some players are terribly unfit but their skills are so good that you still cannot drop them. Inzamam was an example of that. Umar Akmal is not.

Inzamam might have found it a bit more difficult today as with the improved fielding and catching today, he would be more prone to run outs

i think the jhonty rhodes run out was a good example of that

Grade A clown

That team lost to Ireland and got knocked out of the first round of a WC where the format was designed to ensure that the top teams go through

Certainly no benchmark

Yeah but we lost with AGGRESSION

So now benchmark of fitnees from "olden days" are Shoaib Akhtar and Rana Naveed. Mashallah.

Phateechar statement from a phateechar player. Unfortunately for us Inzi the revolutionary is at the helm and his hypocrisy is for all to see and how he favours the Akmals. Kudos to the team management here for not letting Inzi's plan succeed.

The challenge now for [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] is to praise the team management for dropping Akmal but not criticize Inzi for selecting him in the first place.

its funny how you support him based on his statements but not based on his abilities and fitness.

It is not funny because he earned his selection for the WI tour through his performance in the PSL, and he is still a better option than Azhar for Limited Overs. However, this attitude is a no-no. The time has come to part ways with Akmal brothers for good.

Inzamam found fielding and running difficult even back in his own day. If he had been fit he may have been even better than he was. The point is that he was such a good batsman that he could get away with it. Inzamam is not the only example either. Arjuna, De Silva and probably Tendulkar were not the fittest either. But I think they would all still make it into their respective national teams if they were still playing today.

So now benchmark of fitnees from "olden days" are Shoaib Akhtar and Rana Naveed. Mashallah.

Phateechar statement from a phateechar player. Unfortunately for us Inzi the revolutionary is at the helm and his hypocrisy is for all to see and how he favours the Akmals. Kudos to the team management here for not letting Inzi's plan succeed.

The challenge now for [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] is to praise the team management for dropping Akmal but not criticize Inzi for selecting him in the first place.

What challenge ? I've criticised Inzamam's shambolic handling of the Akmal affair in a post where I even tagged you !

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...onary-Performance-Watch&p=9250070#post9250070

As for Kamran's statements - it would be shocking if it wasn't so predictable. The only skills the Akmal brothers have honed over the years is one of constant excuse making.

These two cannot keep deflecting responsibility to others to hide their failings. What a role model this guy must be for his younger brother. Akmals need to grow up.

It looks like inzi will make sure either one of akmals or both akmals will play for pakistan as soon as matters settled down i.e. team management change.

If inzi cleared umar at NCA before pakistan cup then he will do it again.

Why score 300? How many 300 scores were there in the old days? Why use a car? How many cars were there in 1400? Why use electricity? There was no electricity 300 years ago.

Lol Akmal is stuck in the past, why are you in the past, look at the now. Players are fitter than ever, running hard in the field, between the wickets, bowling long spells with the same effectiveness.

expecting [MENTION=142795]zyrus[/MENTION] to come here and defend Kami

Someone tell Kami Bhai your brother Umar Akmal has 91kg weight. Comparing Shobi and Rana Naveed with Umar Akmal keep dreaming Both of them were way better than your brother MR. The truth is he became as useless as you were and not listening to anyone improving himself.

This is no way to play a sport that a bowler only comes to bowl in matches (referring to Shoaib Akhtar), and then goes out of the field to rest in the dressing room while a substitute fielders fields for him...

What an absolutely pathetic attitude towards fitness. Why can't these guys just keep there mouths shut?

Fitness is very important in the modern game.

What challenge ? I've criticised Inzamam's shambolic handling of the Akmal affair in a post where I even tagged you !

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...onary-Performance-Watch&p=9250070#post9250070

As for Kamran's statements - it would be shocking if it wasn't so predictable. The only skills the Akmal brothers have honed over the years is one of constant excuse making.

These two cannot keep deflecting responsibility to others to hide their failings. What a role model this guy must be for his younger brother. Akmals need to grow up.

Sorry I posted the above post from my phone and hadn't seen the one in which you tagged me. :afridi

Shoaib missed half the matches he played and is no benchmark for success

Tell this to fans here... half of them rate him above Waqar, who was a model professional and kept his standards of fitness very high as compared to the former

Mr. Butterfingers trying hard to beat younger brother's statement 'Paani bhi peeta hun to weight gain ho jata hai'

If a competition was held with these two in one corner and the three stooges in the other...my bet is for these two absolute deehati simpletons to win convincingly in any such competition, whether it be in sports or comedy!

On Kamran Akmal, his statements and attitude to fitness can be judged by the fact that when he has leg day, he is wearing slippers to his workout MashaAllah, this from a national athelete who has played for Pakistan for over 10 years..

P.S : there was a picture of Kamran circulated somewhere he was doing work out on his legs with slippers on

In the old days players did not have access to all the high quality fitness gadgets of today. I agree that Shoaib was a disaster as well. As long as you can play then that is good enough for me. It would be good if Pak players did not have pot belly's like Umar Akmal. The fact Kamran is a pathetic fielder and wicket keeper is not a fitness issue. He has always failed in the many chances given to him.

Tell this to fans here... half of them rate him above Waqar, who was a model professional and kept his standards of fitness very high as compared to the former

The problem with the majority of the fans here is that they have selected their heroes and support them blindly and hate any other player who might challenge their hero. You are obviously one of them.

Waqar is a legend, a world class player, an ATG in fact. Not many can reach up to his level. But Shoaib Akhtar is also a world class player, though Waqar was better than him and Waqar also has better stats.

Shoaib Akhtar used to be fit, when he was a youth he was bowling to a wall for many hours daily and he always ran in while bowling. Of course got heavier, struggled with injuries and lost his fitness but he gave it all when he was at the ground and his mere presence was enough to make the batsmen nervous.

I am no a bigger fan of Shoaib than Younis or Misbah for that sake, for me they all are pakistani players whom I support. So stop this nonesense one way traffic.

Shoaib Akhtar and Rana Naved were top performers of their time as well

I'm sure if Umar was as good and consistent a cricketer as either of those guy, some of his fitness issues may have gotten looked over

Also, like others have said, times have changed significantly.. there were times in the 90s where Wasim Akram used to smoke cigarettes in the dressing room

you have to live in the present, not in the past

We are stuck in the old days which is the problem!!

If these idiots can't see the importance of fitness in modern day cricket they should be booted out the team without a second thought.

The difference is that the likes of Inzi, Akhtar performed and had the skills to compensate for their lack of fitness unlike Junior

When you create exceptions, then exceptions can be given an example for others to be given the same treatment... thats why you should never create exceptions and make them a part of your folklore

It is not funny because he earned his selection for the WI tour through his performance in the PSL, and he is still a better option than Azhar for Limited Overs. However, this attitude is a no-no. The time has come to part ways with Akmal brothers for good.

and his fitness was there for everyone to see in the tourneys.

Inzi was always fat and obese, but he used to play during those days, in an era when Australia had Boon, Sri Lankan had Aravinda and Ranatunga. Cricket has changed a lot since then, even Inzi or Boon would not have survived these days, not sure about Inzi but Boon would have not even played any domestic matches with that weight.

Inzi would do just as well if not better if he was playing in the present era as well fitness or not.

Kamran Akmal speaking on television

"If fitness was the only criteria then as Shoaib (Akhtar) said, he wouldn't have played even once for Pakistan"

"Fact is we are fit and our fitness cannot be judged by making us run as match fitness is more essential"

"In the old days, Rana Naveed and Shoaib Akhtar were not bothered about fitness but focused on practicing on match skills alone"

Kami Bhaee proving Mamoon, MRSN & Hawkeye Bhaee that why with the World of Talent and shot making skills he was highly inconsistent 25 averaging player.

Dear Kamran Akmal improve your Comprehension Skills. See statements in context and not superficially. Shoaib Akhtar naturally had fitness problems. Flat feet and poor knees never helped him. For majority of his Career he wasn't overweight at all, He used to run in fast. His issue never was stamenna or endurance. In Test Cricket even on Dead tracks He used to bowl 90 mph plus in 4th 5th spells aswell. He did not run out of Gas. Is it possible without Fitness ? Is it possible without optimum training ?

His issue was continous occuring of Injuries. He was a genuine superstar and match winner barring few Tests in Australia. Look at his Stats ? Look at your and your brother Stats ?

Have you forgot about his 95mph thunderbolts in Net ? Have you forgot his training with those heavy tires ? Running in Heat ?

Your Baby bother used to Hide in Moin Khan's arrm pits saying today I don’t have mood to train so please ask the Coach to give me a day off.

Dear Kamran Akmal please watch Shoaib Akhtar's Interview with Aaj Tv when he was as Old as Baby Umar. See the weights He used to lift ? His Tummy ?

Rana Naveed was never unfit. An Unfit pace bowler cannot bowl 5/6 yorkers in an over on Australian wickets where outfield is heavy and your knees, hamstring, groin is tested.

Pcb give this blokes to Maqbool Babri.

Playing better means scoring 30 odds in 50 balls?

With the quality of bowling these days, batsmen friendly conditions, overall poor spin standards etc. I have no doubt, Inzi even as unfit as he was, would do much better than his playing days!

The guy had natural talent that Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal and all these jokers like Ahmed Shehzad etc. cannot even match in their dreams. Plus under pressure, he was the absolute Gun Player.

With the quality of bowling these days, batsmen friendly conditions, overall poor spin standards etc. I have no doubt, Inzi even as unfit as he was, would do much better than his playing days!

The guy had natural talent that Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal and all these jokers like Ahmed Shehzad etc. cannot even match in their dreams. Plus under pressure, he was the absolute Gun Player.

Inzi would score 50-60 ball centuries for fun with just boundaries and sixes without much running. Secondly inspite of Inzi's bulk he was a pretty good runner between the wickets, very under rated, the amount of singles, twos and threes he took were immense. In fact Yousaf has a far worse run out record vis a vis Inzi.

Im glad we have got rid of these parasites who think they have an entitlement to play for Pakistan.

We had a generation of players like Kami,Farhat, Faisal Iqbal,Sohail Tanvir, Gul,Afridi who thought they would play forever without fitness. Gul played many games unfit till he was found out.

Inzi may not be an example of fitness but he can set the bar and a standard as chief selector. Not sure how UA has snuck through or if he is just showing inconsistent fitness but whatever it is its not good enough. An international cricketer cannot be inconsistent with their fitness.

Excellent step by team management to kick out Akmal. They should never be allowed to play for Pak.

Kami you legend

He is right to some extent but question is that these players worth enough that we give leniency on fitness. Definitely, I will give margin to wasim akram or yousuf on fitness

He is right to some extentbut question is that these players worth enough that we give leniency on fitness. Definitely, I will give margin to wasim akram or yousuf on fitness

I am sorry to say this but NO HE IS NOT !!!

They are professional athletes that get paid quite a lot of money to be in optimum shape. If they can't even complete such a basic requisite of being a sportsman then to hell with all these TTFs

He is right to some extent but question is that these players worth enough that we give leniency on fitness. Definitely, I will give margin to wasim akram or yousuf on fitness

Yousuf and Wasim were professionals. They would have sought to achieve better fitness if the coaching regime was serious about it

This is what I imagine Umar and Kamran Akmal do in the gym.

giphy.gif

Inzi would score 50-60 ball centuries for fun with just boundaries and sixes without much running. Secondly inspite of Inzi's bulk he was a pretty good runner between the wickets, very under rated, the amount of singles, twos and threes he took were immense. In fact Yousaf has a far worse run out record vis a vis Inzi.

I think this pretty much takes the cake for delusional commentary.

Wasim Akram was not unfit. He beat a reigning world champion middle-distance runner in an endurance race. He was fit by literally any standard of fitness you could imagine.

Now I know how I stupid I sounded when I defended my academic mediocrity saying "its not like you did any better!!". Loser mentality this from Akmal.

When everyone else is moving forward, I don't know why we have such a resistance to modernising.

The old days were different. Fitness was not considered that important across the board. Things have changed. Now every side is looking to add that extra 1%-2%, and fitness is an important part of that.
If we were the most naturally gifted side in the world, maybe you can make some allowances, but to be honest, we are no where near that either.

Its sad in a way because you then think that if someone like Inzi, or even Tendulkar (whose first instinct when a tour was announced was to book a table at his favourite restaurants), were as dedicated to their fitness levels as some of today's players, then god knows what they could have achieved.

Why is this a surprise to anyone??

Surely the signs were there from the Aussie tour in 2009.

It really should not have taken 8 long years to see what these Akmals are all about.

This attitude is pathetic and shows these Akmals have no intention on improving themselves. They feel they have a reserved spot in the team regardless. It's good Kamran is out and it's time we look forward from Umar as well. The problem with all Akmals is that they always seek excuses and seem to be bigger than the team. It's enough

Wasim Akram was not unfit. He beat a reigning world champion middle-distance runner in an endurance race. He was fit by literally any standard of fitness you could imagine.

Oh yeah how can I forget that

Yousaf, Dravid, Wasim Akram, etc. all of whom much fitter physically (at least by looks) have worse run out records than Inzi and off course the one and only unmatchable Butt-aaah, he is the baap of Bradman when it comes to run outs despite being in pretty decent shape and having a small frame!

I think this pretty much takes the cake for delusional commentary.

Dravid, yes Dravid has much worse run out record than Inzi, so do Wasim Akram, Yousaf, Salman Butt etc.

Inzi's case was more the preception that was attached ever since that 1992 run out by Rhodes and ironic thing is back then he was skinny like a fig by his standards

ok lets just get the Inzi was unfit bakwaas and throw that in the bin. Unfit players do not make triple hundreds on hot days in lahore.

Inzi was a bit comical in his running but if you look at his odi hundreds just have a look at how he used to take his singles and when. It was masterful. Yes he would get runout at times but quite alot of the times it was because of a lack of judgment or a bad call. Not because of his fitness. Even the Jonty rhodes one was becasue of Jonty not Inzi being a slouch.

Akmal is a fat unprofessional who should be dropped so far into the abyss of non selection that we forget who he was. And his useless brother should shut his mouth. He should be showing Akmal the video of his karachi innings not spouting this paindoo bakwaas.

In the current era, only PCB would allow anyone with Inzamam's weight. Other boards are pretty strict and concerned about the fitness. I remember Samit Patel was not allowed to play for England solely due to his weight (he was match fit) inspite of having a successful domestic season.