Time to respect Bangladesh in limited overs cricket

Saj

They are producing some high quality cricketers now and have proved that they can be a match for any team particularly in Asian conditions.

Their fielding has improved greatly, their batting has depth and they are producing pace bowlers who are no mugs.

Last 16 ODIs :-

Won : 12 Lost : 3 Abandoned : 1

Whitewashed Pakistan, beat India today and also made it the QFs of the World Cup by outplaying England. Definitely, it is time to give Bangladesh the respect they richly deserve.

Be prepared Saj, give any credit to Bangladesh here and some posters will attack you and will write them off as complete minnows because we're apparently so much better.

Look you can say what you like about some of their arrogant fans (because god forbid Pakistani supporters can never be accused of arrogance right ?) but their team has made major strides forward and their ODI home record in this decade has been better than ours.

Credit must be given where its due.

As they say in Urdu..

"Apnay ghar mein tou kutta bhi shaair hai"

Let's wait till they travel outside of Bangladesh.

The kind of passion I see in Bangladesh fans is absolutely amazing! So many youngsters taking up the game that is heartening to see, I think they are producing some terrific cricketers, they should be a Top 5 team very soon!

Pakistan will beat this India team by 150 runs, so Pakistan is way better than BD

Feeling happy for them tbh.

They are cricket loving nation and it was disappointing to see them ending up on the losing side so often for more than a decade.

Seriously good side at home now, if they can beat Asian team there, they surely can do this with others.

As they say in Urdu..

We did well in WC. Much to our surprise though.

But two things:
1) Beating India in these conditions mean we can easily beat any other side in the world
2) These days the conditions are such that it doesn't really affect us. We have a quality pace attack and our batsman are good against pace.

Haan abhi itni buri tarhan Zimbabwe se harayy

Ufff tch tch tch..

Oh bhai, don't be an ostrich.

The last time we beat a quality team other than Sri Lanka at home (Pakistan/UAE) was in 2005 when we beat England 3-2. Since then, we have lost to India (2007) South Africa (2007, 2010, 2013), Australia (2009, 2012, 2014), New Zealand (2009, 2014) and England (2012), while our only notable wins have been vs. Sri Lanka (2011, 2014) and West Indies (2008).

We also lost to Sri Lanka at home in 2009.

That's a pathetic record. We couldn't even make it to the finals of the 2008 Asia Cup.

A Pakistani should be the last person on earth to mock others for bullying at home in ODIs.

Be prepared Saj, give any credit to Bangladesh here and some posters will attack you and will write them off as complete minnows because we're apparently so much better.

Look you can say what you like about some of their arrogant fans (because god forbid Pakistani supporters can never be accused of arrogance right ?) but their team has made major strides forward and their ODI home record in this decade has been better than ours.

Credit must be given where its due.

I honestly don't think there is much difference between the Pakistan ODI team and the Bangladesh ODI team in any conditions these days.

Yeah India will win by 2-1, it was fluke win, just let Shami back in the team, then will see how these Bangla batsman play him.

India will have a hard time, although yes they might win, but it will definitely not be easy.

I actually very much respect the system Bangladesh has built up - they took on years of being awful but had an eye to the future. That future is developing now, and I respect that. I wish our board had that kind of foresight.

I don't think they're as great as some of their fans proclaim, they have a long way to go before being considered great, but it's not right to call them minnows really. They've earned some respect.

I think the difference with Pakistan is that Pakistan really does have history of periods of greatness, of legendary players. Bangladesh will always be a little underappreciated, because while Pakistan cricket is at a serious low, people have the memories of amazing stuff. There's none of that for Bangladesh, so people can't take the current wins seriously when they're all at home.

We'll see how they do in away tours, but for now they're a tough team to play. Confidence helps too.

As they say in Urdu..

is it really appropriate to refer to us as "dogs"? you have a chronic hatred for BD brother and I do not why.

It says "Apnay ghar mein tou kutta bhi shaair hai" Emphasis on "even". It isn't a direct comparison between a dog and Bangladesh.

Anyway it is a regular idiom. No need to get offended.

It says "Apnay ghar mein tou kutta bhi shaair hai" Emphasis on "even". It isn't a direct comparison between a dog and Bangladesh.

Anyway it is a regular idiom. No need to get offended.

none taken and thanks for clarification. it just sounded very weird in ears.

No No.. its a saying!

I did not mean it in a derogatory way at all..

How do Bangladeshis know Hindi/Urdu?

"Apnay ghar mein tou kutta bhi shaair hai" from here apnay ghar kutta shair (shere-e-bangla stadium) are also used in Bengali. so there a lot of same words maybe with slightly different pronunciation. ghar (hindi) ghor (bangla).

And the effect of Bollywood means everyone knows a little bit of Hindi/Urdu

How do Bangladeshis know Hindi/Urdu?

Alot of Bangladeshi friends who came to Canada for higher studies knew how to speak or understood Urdu/Hindi and they said the only reason they know how to is because everybody in Bangladesh watches Bollywood or Indian TV Series..

Thanks for starting this thread and for all the appreciations. We the avid fan and follower of BD cricket team deserves this!

BD deserves this , they are bringing some new and impressive talents
there should be no question about home or away conditions. they are playing good cricket , and that's the Truth.

Alot of Bangladeshi friends who came to Canada for higher studies knew how to speak or understood Urdu/Hindi and they said the only reason they know how to is because everybody in Bangladesh watches Bollywood or Indian TV Series..

yup. Hindi movies/serials are hugely popular and so the common folks understands common words and sentences. As for me, I understand 70-80% Hindi/Urdu but not confident enough to speak it..

They are playing some good cricket at the moment. When you play without any fear you will see more results like this. If they can win the series what an achievement that would be.

Without any doubt. Entertaining team and entertaining support. For the first time in my life, watched a Bangla match which didnt involve Pakistan. That just shows the improvement in their team.

It's not only you, lots of Pakistani follow Bd cricket now a days...

Cricket is better for it. Especially subcontinent rivalries. Added a bit more spice.

What is most impressive about their ODI resurgence is the following key points :

1. Mortaza attacking captaincy and how he has been able to get a group of youngsters to perform for him.

2. They have not been heavily reliant on spinners. But rather focussed on blooding some young seamers, some of them having some pace also.

3. Their fearless young batsmen. Eg Soumya who has a terrible first name, amazing surname and an even more amazing track record of 9 wins out of his 12 ODI games. The winning habit is important to install at a young age I reckon.

My Hindustani is worse than Google Translate, but even I know kutta means dog.

One of the first 7-8 word I learned in Hindi or Gujarati or whatever it is. Most of them have similar swear words anyway.

Bangladeshi players are still not mentally strong as other Asian players. When they were pounding on some u19 teams, you knew Bangladesh was rising. Young SL,Indian, Pakistani cricketers always have ex cricketers to go back, learn valuable lessons and gain motivation. Bengali players really don't that luxury. Bangladeshi has talented players but they will continue to struggle when it comes to winning games away. That process too will take some time.

As they say in Urdu..

in these days most of the teams struggles when they are on away.. definitely they improved a lot in ODI

No. I won't respect them until their players learn the meaning of the word ''shame''.

On behalf of the Indian brotherhood, i freelance_cricketer the beloved bhaijaan of PP offer my sympathies to a supremely gifted Bangladesh team on losing the final due to DK's breathtaking blitzkrieg towards the end. Bangladesh as a team has now joined the big boys and their rivalry with India is now already among the most fiercest in cricket.

Congratulations to the entire Bangla crew on a remarkable performance on this tour.

You will see much better days then this and you will certainly get to hold a major trophy very very soon.

You should be proud of what you have achieved. Don't let this defeat take that away from you.

Lol at congratulations

Congratulate us when we actually beat you.

Loses don't count.

On behalf of the Indian brotherhood, i freelance_cricketer the beloved bhaijaan of PP offer my sympathies to a supremely gifted Bangladesh team on losing the final due to DK's breathtaking blitzkrieg towards the end. Bangladesh as a team has now joined the big boys and their rivalry with India is now already among the most fiercest in cricket.

Congratulations to the entire Bangla crew on a remarkable performance on this tour.

You will see much better days then this and you will certainly get to hold a major trophy very very soon.

You should be proud of what you have achieved. Don't let this defeat take that away from you.

Bangladesh really played well in this tournament. I did not see them as a good t20 side but perhaps now they will be more competitive in this shorter version of game against big teams. And as for the winning of a big tournament it will be like a dream. But hopefully one day that dream will come true.

True . BD are playing good cricket and they will keep improving in the coming years .

There's no doubt that Bangladesh are no longer minnows. But they still aren't a good ODI/T20 team. The only way I can see them beating the big boys (India, England, Australia in particular), is when the simultaneously execute all their plans perfectly and the opposition has an off-day.

The thing what sets Pakistan apart is that while we still aren't as good as those three teams overall, when it's our day, it doesn't matter if they opposition plays their best, they still gonna lost. Bangladesh need to get that extra gear that they don't have right now.

Lol at congratulations

Congratulate us when we actually beat you.

Loses don't count.

My dear brother,

Please understand that being a champion takes a lot of losing initially. No new entrant starts winning big tournaments just like that, From no wins phase (2000-2005) to occasional upsets phase (2005-2015) to winning frequently/advancing to later stages and finals phase , the growth story of Bangladesh has been on the way up and clearly indicates towards a phase where they would start winning more often than not and winning big trophies.

In little less than 20 years, this growth story is nothing to be ashamed of.

Good days will come.

Keep faith.

Stay happy.

Spread love.

Your,
Bhaijaan,.

No that's loser mentality.

Perceptions varies people to people. TO me it is not! I have been an ardent fan of BD cricket since 1997. I still recall the day when Pilot won that icc throphy. There were days when i watched full 90-95 overs(if we bat second) just for those boundaries our batsman could hit or couple of wickets which our bowler could take. I have even missed exams(one was semester final) to be in the stadium to just watch Ashraful, Aftab's batting. Those were gone days. Bangladesh has come a long way from those days. We've still got a long way to go and I am very patient man.

I admire your patience but our cricket isn't heading in the right direction

By the time we become a force cricket will be an unimportant sport

My dear brother,

Please understand that being a champion takes a lot of losing initially. No new entrant starts winning big tournaments just like that, From no wins phase (2000-2005) to occasional upsets phase (2005-2015) to winning frequently/advancing to later stages and finals phase , the growth story of Bangladesh has been on the way up and clearly indicates towards a phase where they would start winning more often than not and winning big trophies.

In little less than 20 years, this growth story is nothing to be ashamed of.

Good days will come.

Keep faith.

Stay happy.

Spread love.

Your,
Bhaijaan,.

We progressed a lot in our first 10 years when cricket was at its peak

Now cricket is filled with mediocre sides and yet Bangladesh haven't won important matches in this decade filled with subpar teams

They will earn my respect only when they win some tournament..beating a young SL team and stretching India c team in the final doesn't cut it..remember they lost to an inexperienced SL team at home recently...so long way to go...