Tomorrow, people will realize this lineup needs Umar Akmal too

Mamoon

ATG
These are the situations in which we need Umar Akmal in this line up.

at 253/5, we need someone like Umar Akmal to keep the scoring rate going and play a nice little cameo.

But tomorrow, barring a miracle (which I'm hoping for badly), we will be all out around the 300 mark.

At the most 320.

All the good work will go to waste because 300 on this track isn't enough unless we bowl magically.

With better planning and strategy, we could have touched 400.

Why? Sarfraz with his sensational average of 2 will poke around the off stump like a rabbit caught in headlights and will eventually become another Steyn victim.

Shafiq will eventually run out of partners and will be left stranded.

Every major test team has an aggressor in the lower order to capitalize on situations like this. Except for Pakistan.

England - Matt Prior

Australia - Wade

SA - Duminy (though injured at the moment), Du Plessis

SL - Mathews, Perera

NZ - Colin Munro

The batsmen I have mentioned don't need to be sloggers and aren't. For instance, Du Plessis played one of the finest test innings of the year against Australia in the second test back in November but, he is an aggressive player with ODI strike rate of 87 who can accelerate when required.

He will score quite a few run a ball fifties and even hundreds in tests.

A successful team is all about the right balance.

Too much of anything will be harmful for the team.

Look at our middle order/late order,

Azhar
Younis
Misbah
Azhar
Sarfraz

All of them are slow one paced batsmen who will struggle to score a run a ball half century or a hundred which is so often needed in tests especially the second innings, like the way AB played in the last match.

Now Younis does score quickly after settling in and Shafiq does too but they will never be able to score a 50 or a 70 with a strike rate in excess of 75-80.

There is a reason why all of the teams have deployed these batsmen in the number 5/6 positions. They are not the finest batsmen in the country, many better test players are sitting on the sidelines because of them with better FC averages, but they are playing for one reason only- the one I've mentioned already

The solution to this problem is Umar Akmal.

Yes he has his failures and always will have, but he will score regular fifties at a great strike rate like he does in ODIs and that is all he is required in the role he deserves to occupy.

if you argue that will increase the chances of us collapsing in a heap, well to remind you, with a such an excessive defensive minded lineup, we still got bundled out for 49. If you collapse with 4 defensive middle orders, so be it. There is no solution for that.

How would Umar Akmal fit in this team? That is up to the think tank but IMO, Misbah should make way.

Shafiq is ready to take over the anchor role at no 5, leaving no 6 for Umar Akmal.

He has already had as many hundreds in the last 1.5 years as Misbah has all career.

Misbah is a very limited batsman who can't kick on after a 50 odd. That is not good enough. The excuse for him not scoring even a single ODI hundred is that he bats too low but what is the excuse of his lack of test hundreds? simple. He ain't good enough for that and we have upcoming batsmen like Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin who can fit in at no 4 and let Younis Khan drop to no 5 or so as well who will be entering into the last few years of his career which will add much more stability to our middle order than it presently has.

Misbah has a good average but that isn't an average. It reflects exactly what he does, get a 40-50 every innings. Nothing less, nothing more.

it would be much rather appreciable if he gets a few single digit scores here and there but also gets a big hundred along with which he doesn't. Something Younis does and that is why he is so important to the team and has an average in excess of 50.

This is slowly turning into a Misbah bashing thread but that isn't the intention.

I've made my points clear.

Ab. develliers plays this very same role for SA down the order.

He takes on opposition like he did against us in the last match which demoralizes the other team. Quick runs down the order is the last thing any bowling captain wants to see. It hurts the opposition psychologically.

dude no body is denying that Umar has massive amount of talent.

What people are saying is he needs to stop throwing his wicket away. How many times have we seen it, pak needs less than a run a ball, umar is at the crease, and what does he do, goes for a slog straight to the fielder.

Thats not saying that he should be punished for getting out, but he cant be getting out in ways he has been getting out. We need a fighter in the team not a hero, theres a difference.

Same reason why people dont want afridi in the team anymore.

We are not always in this position , we usually are in a position where we have to stay on the pitch for a long time and build partnerships. Umar akmal is good for only 30 runs and after that he will get out. We need stability and umar akmal brings only instability to the test side.

He needs to toil hard in domestic alnd learn four day batting before getting the premier job.

Umar needs to stop being a glory hunter.

There should be a quota of 1 player for players related to the Akmal family :))

Umar Akmal would have made a 25(19) and that's being optimistic.

We are not always in this position , we usually are in a position where we have to stay on the pitch for a long time and build partnerships. Umar akmal is good for only 30 runs and after that he will get out. We need stability and umar akmal brings only instability to the test side.

He needs to toil hard in domestic alnd learn four day batting before getting the premier job.

why call him a glory hunter? Beacuse he plays aggressively.

Azhar
Younis
Misbah
Azhar
Sarfraz

All of them are slow one paced batsmen who will struggle to score a run a ball half century or a hundred which is so often needed in tests especially the second innings, like the way AB played in the last match.

Naaaa shukraaaay fans!

• 66.jpg
    66.jpg
    100.6 KB · Views: 633
Umar is a very good test player, but players like Fawad Alam and Haris Sohail deserve to be in the test side ahead of him.

As far as the attacking lower-order batsman is concerned, Adnan Akmal can play that role well if he replaces Sarfraz. For this match, I guess Tanvir Ahmed can play that role.

Hafeez bowling can't justify his place alone. He is a batsman first and if he is failing to do his primary job than moving azhar in the opening slot is the best option we have. We can't afford our openers exposing our middle order to the new ball everyday. Openers job is to see off the new ball and this guy forget about scoring in difficult conditions, he can't even see off the new ball against a quality bowler.

Well in theory and in practice you must have one aggressive dasher in the team. Our test team is full of players who will graft, tuk tuk but we do not have anyone who will take the attack to the opposition.

Hafeez bowling can't justify his place alone. He is a batsman first and if he is failing to do his primary job than moving azhar in the opening slot is the best option we have. We can't afford our openers exposing our middle order to the new ball everyday. Openers job is to see off the new ball and this forget about scoring in difficult conditions can't even see off a new ball against a quality bowler.

Well it's not like Azhar is doing any better than Hafeez at the moment.

A good thread but saying that Misbah should make way is the height of silliness. Not only is he a consistent performer which we desperately need to balance out the big-score or no-score batsmen like YK and Azhar, he is our greatest test captain since Imran Khan. Like some people already mentioned, if Akmal wants to be in the team he should play as a keeper batsman and stop whining about fitness since a guy with chronic back problems is doing the same. Bringing him in for our best batsman and captain, currently is facepalm worthy. :facepalm:

Mamoon seems to be angry that Misbah didn't take his advice about benching Ajmal! :yk

Well in theory and in practice you must have one aggressive dasher in the team. Our test team is full of players who will graft, tuk tuk but we do not have anyone who will take the attack to the opposition.
Misbah has chosen Tanvir Ahmed for the aggressive dasher in the team role. Lets see if Tanvir repays Misbah's faith. :tanvir

How will you fit him in the team?

Tanvir Ahmed and gul can hit a few big ones IA tomorrow :afridi

Thanks but no thanks. The only Akmal that should be near the team is Adnan.

Misbah is a very limited batsman who can't kick on after a 50 odd. That is not good enough. The excuse for him not scoring even a single ODI hundred is that he bats too low but what is the excuse of his lack of test hundreds? simple. He ain't good enough for that and we have upcoming batsmen like Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin who can fit in at no 4 and let Younis Khan drop to no 5 or so as well who will be entering into the last few years of his career which will add much more stability to our middle order than it presently has.

Misbah has a good average but that isn't an average. It reflects exactly what he does, get a 40-50 every innings. Nothing less, nothing more.

Those consistent fifties have probably prevented many a collapse. While it may be true that he isn't known for kicking on and accelerating into his innings, he certainly is not incapable of it. Remember those successive sixes off Monty Panesar after hours of tuk-tukking? And I won't easily forget the phainty he gave our bowlers in St Kitts, where in an innings of 102* he went on the attack, leading to a declaration at 377/6 before :ajmal :rehman destroyed our pathetic batting in the fourth innings.

Misbah will finally go in 6 months or in an year,there is no need to undermine his contributions as captain or player...

Umar can take his droping from squad positively,and work hard to get into the side..it would be bad luck for Pakistan if a player as talented/skillful as Umar does not make it big....

Hafeez bowling can't justify his place alone. He is a batsman first and if he is failing to do his primary job than moving azhar in the opening slot is the best option we have. We can't afford our openers exposing our middle order to the new ball everyday. Openers job is to see off the new ball and this guy forget about scoring in difficult conditions, he can't even see off the new ball against a quality bowler.

Hafeez and Azhar failure does not translate into U. Akmal's selection. It would not make any sense to drop these two then select another failure. at lease these two have the capability to play a long innings.

if only umar akmal was in the team the team would have powered on at over 3 and a half an over and be looking at a 300 lead
The problem with younis and shafiq is they dont score heavily enough during their purple patches while someone like umar akmal would completely take the momentum away and make newton's second law his own

will you give it a rest please?

yes Misbah, Hafeez, Azhar are not perfect. Neither are the other 3 batsmen but our top 6 in the test lineup are the best available in the country, drill that through your head please ! Umar Akmal needs to prove his worth first before being eligible for a test callup. Right now, he's struggling to keep his place in the LOI setup.

As for your silly logic, SA batted at 2.96 rpo in the first innings of the first test which they went on to win. Go figure !

yes Misbah, Hafeez, Azhar are not perfect. Neither are the other 3 batsmen but our top 6 in the test lineup are the best available in the country, drill that through your head please ! Umar Akmal needs to prove his worth first before being eligible for a test callup. Right now, he's struggling to keep his place in the LOI setup.

As for your silly logic, SA batted at 2.96 rpo in the first innings of the first test which they went on to win. Go figure !

Yeah our captain fantastic misbah has dropped him for future ODI greats azhar and malik. Infact he wanted to drop umar right after his performances in the asia cup. :facepalm:

We already have players for that, got that base covered. Whether they do it or not is another topic. It is like saying Umar will fail once in a while, but we need to equipped for every possible situation.

Yeah our captain fantastic misbah has dropped him for future ODI greats azhar and malik. Infact he wanted to drop umar right after his performances in the asia cup. :facepalm:

ofcourse, its everybody's fault save Umar. Captain Evil Misbah and his cronies have ruined an illustrious career. They're so jealous, its obvious ! :sami

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

Ah, you U.A fans never stop whining about Umar being in the squad.
Well no, we do not want Umar to play the role of a mindless slogger. If he should play in Test Matches he should play responsibly at no.4 or 5 so that he can doesn't necessarily have to attack every time he goes out.

W63L35

Who on earth is talking about averages?

I'm talking about strike rate and a player who can play cameos and score quick runs. None in our middle order can do that.

This thread should be deleted. He should be kept as far away as possible from the team until he learns how to play,matures and stop intrigues and conspiracies. I am sick of hearing about his talent. He has been given enough chances to show it and has been selected so many times only because of his links to corrupt powerful people.People like fawwad alam even after scoring test century get discarded after playing a handful of matches only because he has no connections.

Umar was dropped from the test for no reason at all. He didn't deserve the chop.

Kuddos on ignoring the fact that they played at over 4 runs per over for 60+ overs in the second innings, with Amla and AB scoring runs at 74 and 88 strike rate respectively. We all know who is being silly here. We need to be versatile and have the ability to bad at 2 runs per over as well as 4. At the moment we aren't.

Hafeez and Azhar failure does not translate into U. Akmal's selection. It would not make any sense to drop these two then select another failure. at lease these two have the capability to play a long innings.

We already have batsmen who can play long innings. But no one who can play an explosive cameo. Other teams are equipped in that department.

It is blatantly evident that the Misbah brigade have taken their water pistols out the moment they saw the title, without caring to actually read the opening post.

Umar was dropped from the test for no reason at all. He didn't deserve the chop.

Kuddos on ignoring the fact that they played at over 4 runs per over for 60+ overs in the second innings, with Amla and AB scoring runs at 74 and 88 strike rate respectively. We all know who is being silly here. We need to be versatile and have the ability to bad at 2 runs per over as well as 4. At the moment we aren't.

you're right, everybody knows who is talking silly here with that bolded text !

Oh and we're talking about 1st innings grand pa, learn to walk before you run !

Umar Akmal averages 37 away from home at an SR of 70 yet he was dropped.

I reckon if his SR was 40(where captain likes it) he'd still be in the side.

Umar was dropped unfairly.

Had a brilliant tour of WI where most batsmen failed, including Shafiq.

Then played 1 innings against Zimbabwe where he was out to an unlucky dismissal.

He's only ever played 1 INNINGS in Asia.

You said they batted at 2 runs per over and won the match. Conveniently ignoring the fact that they batted at 4 runs per over in the second innings. Why?

Absolutely. he isn't a tuk tuk prodigy like Azhar and that is why he has been dropped.

Bullet Drive

Misbah heads have no answer for that and will conveniently ignore so please stop trying to make sense :)

We already have batsmen who can play long innings. But no one who can play an explosive cameo. Other teams are equipped in that department.

that should be the job of an allrounder or wicket keeper, inclusion of UA will force to not select a batsmen who can use his brain and play a long inning when wickets are going down, and sorry UA has become a younger Afridi.

he was dropped for not scoring centuries batting at number 6.

he was the dropped for shafiq who compared to UA has done better so the replacement is justified.

in the test team i don't see a place for him atm.

he can't open

Azhar and Asad have been progressing better than UA.

Misbah and YK hardly ever take rest or get dropped so where you wan't to play him??

may be its time to just make him permanent keeper.

You said they batted at 2 runs per over and won the match. Conveniently ignoring the fact that they batted at 4 runs per over in the second innings. Why?

dont imagine things I didnt said. I merely stated what SA had scored in the first innings of the first test, which is not a lot faster than what we've done so far. I can see the point you're trying to make, which is a valid one I must admit, but you've got the wrong conclusion. Umar shouldnt be anywhere near the test team right now as he simply doesnt have the tamperment for it. Hell he is lacking tamperment to play the 50 over game too !

Yes it does help to have an aggressor down the order but you're fooling yourself if you think there are better players than Du Plessis & Prior kept waiting only due to lack of attacking ability and other people you've mentioned are nobodys in test cricket

W63L35

Who on earth is talking about averages?

I'm talking about strike rate and a player who can play cameos and score quick runs. None in our middle order can do that.

Why cameos are needed in test matches?

Which player ..... from which team plays cameos in test matches....in positions 3-6?

Dravid? Chanderpaul? Samraweera? Trott? Jayawardene? Laxman? Sachin? Hussey?

Which of the above played cameos that we are missing?

Then played 1 innings against Zimbabwe where he was out to an unlucky dismissal.

Stop embarrassing yourself you should know you are making yourself look bad by supporting Umar Akmal in every other thread.

there is no point going it over and over again. As of now, his stocks are low and is way down the pecking order for test batsmen. That is the harsh reality my friend, face it !

Why cameos are needed in test matches?

Which player ..... from which team plays cameos in test matches....in positions 3-6?

Dravid? Chanderpaul? Samraweera? Trott? Jayawardene? Laxman? Sachin? Hussey?

Which of the above played cameos that we are missing?

We have Azhar, Younis and Shafiq for that. I clearly mentioned in my OP the role which Umar should fulfill in the team. You are completely missing the point.

We have no one at number 6 who can accelerate when needed and get a 60/70 at an 80+ strike rate.

You don't need batsmen making cameo 30/40's at a 90 strike rate in tests I'm afraid. Umar Akmal isn't suited to test cricket with his temperament, end of. Until he learns to be aggressive when he needs to be there isn't much of a case for him in test cricket, 'talent' can only get you so far until performance has to take over!

On a side note, Asad Shafiq can fulfill the aggressors role if asked to, he has all the shots and it wouldn't be hard for him to adapt to such a role, so in fact can Younus Khan who can bat aggressively when needs be. Good test batsman can adapt to any role, Umar Akmal clearly can't

Younus and Shafiq both had a S/R of 30 in the early part of their innings after they got in they took advantage of all the bad balls and scored quickly of the spinner Robin Petersen.
Younus had a S/R of 49 and Shafiq has a S/R of 48.
I wonder when U.A fans will realize that S/R's are irrelevant in Test Cricket most of the times.

Misbah is hell bent on dropping him from every team. First Test, than ODI than he was after him in SNGPL as well. :facepalm:

Don't you ever wonder why?
Has he done enough in Test Cricket to justify his place in the team?

I fail to understand why was U Akmal dropped from the test team in the first place? Yes he had a very poor tour of England but remember the was unfairly given the responsibility of being main batsman in the team after the Y's were dropped and that was a very tough tour for our batsmen. Yes in his next test match against SA he played a very poor shot to get out but then he went to the WI where he had a very decent series and then got out to a freak dismissal in that Zimbabwe test match but since then has been banished from the test team.

I fail to see the logic in dropping him. Maybe batting in test matches will help his ODI batting too? He is often the scapegoat for the pressure created by the no of tuk tukers in our team.

Tomorrow, people will realize this lineup needs Umar Akmal too.

People bringing Dravid and Trott into the discussion :facepalm:

Comparing a one down batsman to an aggressor in the lower order :facepalm:

Younus and Shafiq both had a S/R of 30 in the early part of their innings after they got in they took advantage of all the bad balls and scored quickly of the spinner Robin Petersen.
Younus had a S/R of 49 and Shafiq has a S/R of 48.
I wonder when U.A fans will realize that S/R's are irrelevant in Test Cricket most of the times.

They are not irrelevant. Tell me, how was it irrelevant for SA in the second innings of the first test?

People going on about Azhar Ali must remember Umar Akmal has scored a century in NZ, at the moment Azhar looks completely out of his depth on these non subcontinent wicket. I have never seen Azhar play a pull, hook or cut shot of a seamer. If you cannot play these shots then you are toast on these wickets.

Goodness thought I was reading War and peace for a moment (op). And theres that accursed word strike rate again! the akmal cultists are rolling out the defence of their hero. I mean waht blasphemy is this when thier hero is omitted from the team? where this tuk tuk master Misbah is hell bent on stopping akmal from achieving glory in south africa?

alas the truth is alot simpler. You see scientists have discovered a new phenomena simply from observing Umar akmal bat. Theyve even given it a scientific name. Akmalitis. or the Brainfart for those of us unversed in the langauge of science. A phenomena so insidious that it has the potential to spread and infect other young players. As a result the pakistani team has been advised to keep well away from the Akmals in case of infection.

The original carrier of the disease has not been identified. yet.

They are not irrelevant. Tell me, how was it irrelevant for SA in the second innings of the first test?

It was irrelevant as the match ended on the morning of Day 4.
If they did score at 2 RPO and 3 RPO the match would have had ended on day 5 the result was inevitable and the main reason why the RPO was high was because AB was given a little time to complete his Ton so that SA could declare.

goodness thought i was reading war and peace for a moment (op). And theres that accursed word strike rate again! The akmal cultists are rolling out the defence of their hero. I mean waht blasphemy is this when thier hero is omitted from the team? Where this tuk tuk master misbah is hell bent on stopping akmal from achieving glory in south africa?

Alas the truth is alot simpler. You see scientists have discovered a new phenomena simply from observing umar akmal bat. Theyve even given it a scientific name. Akmalitis. Or the brainfart for those of us unversed in the langauge of science. A phenomena so insidious that it has the potential to spread and infect other young players. As a result the pakistani team has been advised to keep well away from the akmals in case of infection.

The original carrier of the disease has not been identified. Yet.

potw :))):)))

Goodness thought I was reading War and peace for a moment (op). And theres that accursed word strike rate again! the akmal cultists are rolling out the defence of their hero. I mean waht blasphemy is this when thier hero is omitted from the team? where this tuk tuk master Misbah is hell bent on stopping akmal from achieving glory in south africa?

alas the truth is alot simpler. You see scientists have discovered a new phenomena simply from observing Umar akmal bat. Theyve even given it a scientific name. Akmalitis. or the Brainfart for those of us unversed in the langauge of science. A phenomena so insidious that it has the potential to spread and infect other young players. As a result the pakistani team has been advised to keep well away from the Akmals in case of infection.

khan sahab so jao raat hogayi hai. :afridi

Can the 'Akmal brigade' please be realistic? There is no way that he is going to replace one of our best batsman just so he can be a little cameo of 20-30 runs at a SR of 70+. The only spot where he has a feather of a chance of getting in are at #7 as a keeper-batsman.

Barring Azhar, all of our other batsmen have the ability to score quickly if they are in a situation which requires them to do so, that doesn't happen often though which is why people seem to forget that they have the ability to do so.

People going on about Azhar Ali must remember Umar Akmal has scored a century in NZ, at the moment Azhar looks completely out of his depth on these non subcontinent wicket. I have never seen Azhar play a pull, hook or cut shot of a seamer. If you cannot play these shots then you are toast on these wickets.

Call Azhar a FTB if you want, Akmal isn't getting his place though. We play all of our remaining tests after this series in the UAE, Zimbabwe and West Indies and Azhar will start scoring again if he is indeed a FTB.

By the time we play oversees again, Misbah would have retired and then Akmal might get a chance.

khan sahab so jao raat hogayi hai. :afridi

kyon piyaray, teray leeyayto manay gana bhi chun liya hay, now make sure you have all of your akmal posters and pics in the vicinity when singing. Ready?

"teray bina kya jeena ohh teray bina kya jeena umar akmaalllll":umarakmal:umarakmal

Akmalitis!! :))) ^ Above post is hilarious as well. 'Akmalitis' patients getting therapy from Khan sahab!

he was dropped for not scoring centuries batting at number 6.

he was the dropped for shafiq who compared to UA has done better so the replacement is justified.

in the test team i don't see a place for him atm.

he can't open

Azhar and Asad have been progressing better than UA.

Misbah and YK hardly ever take rest or get dropped so where you wan't to play him??

may be its time to just make him permanent keeper.

Classic hypocrisy of Misbah fans.

If lack of hundreds is the reason he was dropped, what the hell is Misbah doing in the team? Just 1 hundred since 2007.

Great Khan, you tried incredibly hard to be funny at 4 am. I admire your enthusiasm but sorry to say your attempt fell flat.

Akmalitis!! :))) ^ Above post is hilarious as well. 'Akmalitis' patients getting therapy from Khan sahab!

unfortunaltey some are too far gone and cannot be cured. However i;m hoping the therapy will work for others who have not been exposed for excessive periods of time.

I think the effects of seeing akmal's rippling muscles and green lips must trigger some kind of hormone in some peoples brain. Hence repeating the above mantra may help to snap some of them out of it when they finally realise how stupid the whole thing is.

My research continues!

Great Khan, you tried incredibly hard to be funny at 4 am. I admire your enthusiasm but sorry to say your attempt fell flat.

as I said before , some are too far gone. Intersting phenomena this Akmalitis. Seems to have an effect on peoples humour?

mnnhhh..fascinating.

unfortunaltey some are too far gone and cannot be cured. However i;m hoping the therapy will work for others who have not been exposed for excessive periods of time.

I think the effects of seeing akmal's rippling muscles and green lips must trigger some kind of hormone in some peoples brain. Hence repeating the above mantra may help to snap some of them out of it when they finally realise how stupid the whole thing is.

My research continues!

Similar to how Misbah's aimless tuk tuks leads to orgasms :afridi

These are the situations in which we need Umar Akmal in this line up.

at 253/5, we need someone like Umar Akmal to keep the scoring rate going and play a nice little cameo.

But tomorrow, barring a miracle (which I'm hoping for badly), we will be all out around the 300 mark.

At the most 320.

All the good work will go to waste because 300 on this track isn't enough unless we bowl magically.

With better planning and strategy, we could have touched 400.

Why? Sarfraz with his sensational average of 2 will poke around the off stump like a rabbit caught in headlights and will eventually become another Steyn victim.

Shafiq will eventually run out of partners and will be left stranded.

Every major test team has an aggressor in the lower order to capitalize on situations like this. Except for Pakistan.

England - Matt Prior

Australia - Wade

SA - Duminy (though injured at the moment), Du Plessis

SL - Mathews, Perera

NZ - Colin Munro

The batsmen I have mentioned don't need to be sloggers and aren't. For instance, Du Plessis played one of the finest test innings of the year against Australia in the second test back in November but, he is an aggressive player with ODI strike rate of 87 who can accelerate when required.

He will score quite a few run a ball fifties and even hundreds in tests.

A successful team is all about the right balance.

Too much of anything will be harmful for the team.

Azhar
Younis
Misbah
Azhar
Sarfraz

Now Younis does score quickly after settling in and Shafiq does too but they will never be able to score a 50 or a 70 with a strike rate in excess of 75-80.

There is a reason why all of the teams have deployed these batsmen in the number 5/6 positions. They are not the finest batsmen in the country, many better test players are sitting on the sidelines because of them with better FC averages, but they are playing for one reason only- the one I've mentioned already

The solution to this problem is Umar Akmal.

Yes he has his failures and always will have, but he will score regular fifties at a great strike rate like he does in ODIs and that is all he is required in the role he deserves to occupy.

if you argue that will increase the chances of us collapsing in a heap, well to remind you, with a such an excessive defensive minded lineup, we still got bundled out for 49. If you collapse with 4 defensive middle orders, so be it. There is no solution for that.

How would Umar Akmal fit in this team? That is up to the think tank but IMO, Misbah should make way.

Shafiq is ready to take over the anchor role at no 5, leaving no 6 for Umar Akmal.

He has already had as many hundreds in the last 1.5 years as Misbah has all career.

it would be much rather appreciable if he gets a few single digit scores here and there but also gets a big hundred along with which he doesn't. Something Younis does and that is why he is so important to the team and has an average in excess of 50.

This is slowly turning into a Misbah bashing thread but that isn't the intention.

I've made my points clear.

You kinda said that tomorrow we will be out at around 300 (without Umer Akmal) and it would have nice to have a lil cameo of Umer Akmal if he was in the team. Then u said with right planning (which I think means in the inclusion of Umer Akmal) we would get 400.

Now the difference between 300 and 400 is 100 runs. How could "a lil cameo by Umer Akmal" deplete the difference of a 100 runs?

lol, this is the third sarfraz bashing thread for the all mighty akmal family?

lets be clear guys, likes of jamshed, hafeez, azhar and misbah failed miserably

sarfraz prime focus is to prove with his gloves,

let him be set first, the whole world yelled on his sellection, if he concentrates on batting then he cant build up on keeping, and pak really needs safe keeper in this tour,

if likes of azhar and misbah fail dont play the scape goat game with sarfraz, he is performing what he needs to perform in the first place

likes of asad have had a shaky start its very cruel to base ones talents and abilities on few games when they have such immense pressure to prove two times in same match

and he is still to bat tomorrow, lets all reserve our criticism for atleast now if now after SA innings

You kinda said that tomorrow we will be out at around 300 (without Umer Akmal) and it would have nice to have a lil cameo of Umer Akmal if he was in the team. Then u said with right planning (which I think means in the inclusion of Umer Akmal) we would get 400.

Now the difference between 300 and 400 is 100 runs. How could "a lil cameo by Umer Akmal" deplete the difference of a 100 runs?

Shafiq will run out of partners tomorrow (unless, he edges one himself) and having someone like Umar with him could have result in another partnership which could have propelled us to 400.

Point is, our batting as it stands is over when we are 5 down. How ridiculous is that?

Our tail starts from number 7.

lol, this is the third sarfraz bashing thread

lets be clear guys, likes of jamshed, hafeez, azhar and misbah failed miserably

sarfraz prime focus is to prove with his gloves,

let him be set first, the whole world yelled on his sellection, if he concentrates on batting then he cant build up on keeping, and pak really needs safe keeper in this tour,

if likes of azhar and misbah fail dont play the scape goat game with sarfraz, he is perform what he needs to perform in the first place

The days of pure keeping are gone. Nowadays, it is a must for the keeper to be good with the bat and that is why for instance, Wade is in the team where there are better pure keepers than him in Australia and that is why De Villiers has donned the gloves.

He still has proved to be a much better Test Batsmen than U.A till now.

But Shafiq is ready to take over from him and he does that job better than Misbah.

Misbah can't score a hundred in these conditions against this bowling attack all life.

The days of pure keeping are gone. Nowadays, it is a must for the keeper to be good with the bat and that is why for instance, Wade is in the team where there are better pure keepers than him in Australia and that is why De Villiers has donned the gloves.

please bring some devilliers and sangakara and gilchrist to the team but the reality is neither adnan akmal and nor umar akmal are gilchrist and de villiers, sarfraz has a good domestic average and he has already been safe behind the wickets, i think the guy needs some room to develop, and i dont think replacing one guy who can improve with some more average guy like adnan and horrible keeper umar is a nice thing to do, umar cant replace any keeper thats horrible idea, and adnan is no special with the bat even he has very average batting in domestic

i think sarfraz least needs to be given a series or two before we even start judging and we all know sarfraz batting demands he should bat at the middle or the top, hecks like hafeez needs to be pushed down the order

sarfraz is concentrating to be flawless with gloves and failures of azhar and hafeez dont need to be shoved to the poor sarfraz

Shafiq will run out of partners tomorrow (unless, he edges one himself) and having someone like Umar with him could have result in another partnership which could have propelled us to 400.

Point is, our batting as it stands is over when we are 5 down. How ridiculous is that?

Our tail starts from number 7.

Akmalitis has totally driven this patient insane. He has forgot that he was targeting Misbah and has suddenly started targeting Sarfaraz. If Misbah is to be replaced by Umar, how in the world would that change our problem of a long tail?

The only solution as mentioned before is having Akmal bat as a keeper-batsman.

But Shafiq is ready to take over from him and he does that job better than Misbah.

Misbah can't score a hundred in these conditions against this bowling attack all life.

At least he has the capability to bat 2 or 3 hours in these conditions and score a handy 50.