Tour Match: England A v Pakistan [Updates & Post Match]

Typical hyterical over reactions from Pakistan supporters as usual.

Yes, thats the end of Day 1.

In my opinion, poor day for Pakistan.

A sad day too, for Kamran.

I'll pretend that this day never happened, and I hibernated through it. I don't think we've experienced this in a FC match for a LONG time.

Easatheman said:
Whippy, Rob, do you guys think that Key will play @ Lords? He doesn't have any Test experience so it might be a bit of a risk. If Shah scores some runs in the 2nd innings, do you think he will be preffered to Key since he's had an excellent test debut?
Key - no test experience, you must know nothing about English cricket. Big Bob Key is an illusion. He looks amazing in one innings and then gets starts in the ones after and never goes on.

Without any doubt Cook will play so it's not really worth discussing.

Rob H said:
Key - no test experience, you must know nothing about English cricket. Big Bob Key is an illusion. He looks amazing in one innings and then gets starts in the ones after and never goes on.

It was a simple question from easa. You didn't have to try to be a smart alec while answering it.

Whatever happens I doubt R Key will play because they are too worried about his throwing arm or something ridiculous like that......I am not too worried about Cook (or Key for that matter) so it doesn't bother me which one plays anyway.

I completely forget about Key playing Tests. He also played a few tests in South Africa, IIRC?

No need to fret pp'ers, its a really flat deck.

Easatheman said:
I completely forget about Key playing Tests. He also played a few tests in South Africa, IIRC?
ay. He played 4 against the west indies in 2004 and 4 in the Ashes in 2002/03. He has also has played in some other tests dotted around the place.

Rob H said:

why should he know about english cricket anyway ? not like they are the best cricket team on the planet...;)

what ever the case, would love to see shah back in the team Asap.

if it were up to me , i would either play strauss/ or cook not both in the same team , will have bell n shah in my test team .

shah has not done too bad to be honest.

Rob H said:
ay. He played 4 against the west indies in 2004 and 4 in the Ashes in 2002/03. He has also has played in some other tests dotted around the place.
who need's cric info when you have Rob around.

this match is ideal for some valuable practice for our batsmen, hope they just bat, bat n bat and make atleast 1000 runs :D

If I was an English fan, I'd want Shah to be picked ahead of Key.

Interesting to see Darrell Hair stand in this match. It is not usual practice for an 'overseas' umpire (albeit that Hair is now resident in Britain) to stand in these types of games. Usually the ECB picks umpires from its own panel.

Oh dear... I have just come back from work and checked the Pak match score and what a sad state of affairs it is. I know it's only a practicse match but the fact is this is England's second team and if we are struggling bowling to them then what chance have we got at Lord's? Inshallah Pak had an off day and will turn it a round tommorow and especially for the tests and odi series. It's better I suppose to have a bad day now that later but realistically it doesn't look good :(

Fessel- dissapointing post from someone like you.

You need to relax.....

1. It is just a warm up game.
2. The pitch is about as flat as a pancake
3. The players would not be putting in as much effort into this as they would to a test match at Lords.
4. Winning is not important......what is important is that our bowlers get into some sort of a rythmn and our batters get some time in the middle.

Fessal said:
Oh dear... I have just come back from work and checked the Pak match score and what a sad state of affairs it is. I know it's only a practicse match but the fact is this is England's second team and if we are struggling bowling to them then what chance have we got at Lord's? Inshallah Pak had an off day and will turn it a round tommorow and especially for the tests and odi series. It's better I suppose to have a bad day now that later but realistically it doesn't look good :(

koi preshani ki bat nahi hai, we are slow starters and it might be a good batting wicket. we will be fine inshallah

Key has eyes on Ashes tour spot

Key hit 16 fours and two sixes on his home ground on Thursday
Robert Key says a touring spot in the Ashes squad is "in the back of his mind" after a century against the tourings Pakistan side at Canterbury.
Key said: "I took the Kent captaincy to try to help get me back in the England side. My name would be in and around there somewhere and it depends where.

"A good end to the summer and you never know. The selectors are watching."

Key had only passed fifty three times in first-class matches during the first half of the ongoing season.

On Thursday, he hit his first score of three figures and added: "This is definitely a step-up from county level, you have an England shirt on again and it is a good format.

"It was a pretty flat pitch and it was one of those were once you get in it was going to be hard to get out."
Key, recovering from shoulder reconstruction, was handed a life on 30 when wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal fluffed a chance created by Mohammad Asif.

Akmal was clearly impaired by a blow to his left index finger, however, and did not return to the field after lunch, although the damage was not serious.
"He got hit on the end of the finger and has slight bruising in the top joint," said coach Bob Woolmer.

"He has got full movement in it though and we just rested him as a precaution."

As i stated eariler then it might have been batting wicket and KEY confirms that.
Thanks God, kamran is ok, otherwise it would have been a huge blow

True Hash. I am just dissapointed really because of the loss of Shoaib and Rana. Your right I am probably over reacting but I didnt know how the pitch is like. The thing is I want us to win every game in England as I hate it when we lose to them: more than losing to the Indians :D

Fessel- dissapointing post from someone like you.

You need to relax.....

1. It is just a warm up game.
2. The pitch is about as flat as a pancake
3. The players would not be putting in as much effort into this as they would to a test match at Lords.
4. Winning is not important......what is important is that our bowlers get into some sort of a rythmn and our batters get some time in the middle.

Excellent post HASH :14: :14: :19:

Excellent post, Hash, completely agree once again. :19:

Akmal was clearly impaired by a blow to his left index finger, however, and did not return to the field after lunch, although the damage was not serious."He got hit on the end of the finger and has slight bruising in the top joint," said coach Bob Woolmer."He has got full movement in it though and we just rested him as a precaution."

Great news on Akmal.

The second days starts of....Robert Key always looking good I was right yesterday about him he is going to score a hunderd it happen to be so.

Not a good start for Pakistan few boundries have been hit already

284-5 at the moment, Pakistan taking 2 quick wickets this morning. Great going!

I don't think Loudon's going to be around for too long.

Bring back RIKKI cLAKrE

by the way peeps, kamran akmal dropped rob key when he was on 20, a fairly easy catch, he could have taken with his both eyes closed...but not only did he drop him, he unfortunately injured himself as well :|

cavin420 said:
by the way peeps, kamran akmal dropped rob key when he was on 20, a fairly easy catch, he could have taken with his both eyes closed...but not only did he drop him, he unfortunately injured himself as well :|

lol..get up to date !

One thing I fail to understand is why the Pakistan V Leicestershire was covered on live audio commentary when the current ongoing match vs England A, which is arguably higher profile isnt? :20:

yes, a valid point indeed.

im sure there must be someone covering it. :20:

raziiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiiiiii

youuuu lillllllllll lllllll beautyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy yyyyyy

booooowwwwwwwwwwlllllleeeeeeeeeeeeeeedddddddd ddddddddddd dddddddddddd :11:

Gus this is just a general question....

has anyone ever heard of these bats?... CA Stroke master and MB king???

Guys this is just a general question....

Rana said:

yep,

MB king is brilliant, a tad heavy and much thicker then CA sm.

HAFRIDI said:
bowled as well :O

You would have thought his huge frame would have easily covered the stumps and kept out any balls heading towards the stumps. May have come off his pait, which rumbled as it was in need of food and then ricocheted onto the stumps. :16:

cavin420 said:
yep,

MB king is brilliant, a tad heavy and much thicker then CA sm.

cherz cav, my uncle is sending me my Kit wich i will recieve 2moro. it contains these two bats, unfortunatley it also contains an australia helmet :31:

Rana said:

I have an MB Malik Stroke Master :D

cavin420 said:
he should be in the england team, and it should be g.jones batting at no 8 for england A not chris.

In the Test team probably not, I still rate Jones as a keeper-batsman higher than Read in Tests from what I have seen.

In ODIs why Read was dropped still perplexes me to this day! Had it not been for him England would have lost that drawn series with the Windies in the Caribbean. He was the one who literally stole victory from the jaws of defeat in Guyana a couple of years ago.

You would have thought his huge frame would have easily covered the stumps and kept out any balls heading towards the stumps. May have come off his pait, which rumbled as it was in need of food and then ricocheted onto the stumps. :16:

cavin420 said:
he should be in the england team, and it should be g.jones batting at no 8 for england A not chris.

Isnt Read the one that started on our Mushy :12:

Rana said:
cherz cav, my uncle is sending me my Kit wich i will recieve 2moro. it contains these two bats, unfortunatley it also contains an australia helmet :31:
kool, make sure you get some extra grips as well, as sometimes putting on an extra grip does wonder's as far as the bat weight and balance goes , and get one of them protector sheets in the middle of the bat ....if you dont know what im on about then ebay it :19:

come on pakistan , less then 300 all out , you can do it boys !

HAFRIDI said:

If India was playing cricinfo obviously would be covering this with ball by ball commentary together with audio commentary. :12:

yeah, and you would probably get a real time Java applet showing how the wickets went down.....pesky cricinfo.....

You can't spell India without cricinfo...wait a minute :20:

We need to bowl them out as soon as we can so that our boys get a chance to bat, im sure they're iching to get out there in the middle.