Tour Match: England A v Pakistan [Updates & Post Match]

300-6

Btw, is this a 4 day match or what?

Rana, I've heard of Malik Strokemaster and CA King, not the other way around. Both are very decent bats.

Easatheman said:
300-6

Rana, I've heard of Malik Strokemaster and CA King, not the other way around. Both are very decent bats.

Cool, i didnt know Malik Strokemaster is well known. Well i dont think it is

have u played with it?

Easatheman said:
300-6

Yeah, 4 days

Shrewd tactics from England A to bat as long and slow as possible to leave Pakistan undercooked for the Tests

HAFRIDI said:
Cool, i didnt know Malik Strokemaster is well known. Well i dont think it is

have u played with it?

Yeah, I've played with it. Very decent bat, has a nice middle. I prefer my Malik Zulfi though. Awesome bat with great middle and pickup.

And I recommend that anti-scuff sheet that Cav was talking about. Put it on the face of your bat after its been half stroked.

Razzaq has been extremely economical this match.
Code:
Bowlers  	O  	M  	R  	W  	Econ  	 	
Danish Kaneria (lb) 	21.1 	5 	66 	1 	3.11 		(0nb, 0w) 	
Abdul Razzaq (rfm) 	20.0 	8 	36 	1 	1.80 		(0nb, 0w)

i think all players are trying to make a name for the England team, thats why they are taking thier time to prove something

Rana said:
i think all players are trying to make a name for the England team, thats why they are taking thier time to prove something

To prove what? how slow they can be? :D

Easatheman said:
Yeah, I've played with it. Very decent bat, has a nice middle. I prefer my Malik Zulfi though. Awesome bat with great middle and pickup.

And I recommend that anti-scuff sheet that Cav was talking about. Put it on the face of your bat after its been half stroked.

Yes the Zulfi is way better. i have used it and it's just amazing.

However if ur looking for an averaged price bat, the Malik SM is good value for $$

shan said:
To prove what? how slow they can be? :D

maybe to build a decent score for themselves and put themselves in contemption for thursdays game at lords ;-)

btw i suppose R Key has made his spot!

HAFRIDI said:
Yes the Zulfi is way better. i have used it and it's just amazing.

However if ur looking for an averaged price bat, the Malik SM is good value for $$

How much did it cost you to get your SM? My Zulfi cost about 20 KD (40 pounds) with a scuff sheet and a bat cover.

Easatheman said:
How much did it cost you to get your SM? My Zulfi cost about 20 KD (40 pounds) with a scuff sheet and a bat cover.

I got the Malik SM from back home. 1500 rupees :P

edit ..and yes i got a bat cover with it too

Daoud said:
Yeah, 4 days

Shrewd tactics from England A to bat as long and slow as possible to leave Pakistan undercooked for the Tests

Still can't beat what Woolmer and co did to them last winter when they toured Pakistan. 2 bowling wickets in the practice matches, meant their batsmen struggled and bowlers prospered. Then when it came to Multan, present a flat pitch to their confidence-low batsmen and confidence-high bowlers.

Check this pic out from BBC of Gul:

_41859598_gul203ap.jpg

Scary or what!

ok this is getting a bit silly now, why dont they just declare ehh ?

do we really have to bring mohd sami back to finish them off ? :O

this parthership is becoming annoying we need to break it quickly and then mop up the tail

Asif hasn't taken a single wicket, wat happened to his famous off-cutters?

from crapinfo

England A 365/6 (118.0 ov)
Pakistanis
England A won the toss and elected to bat first

Rain Stopped Play England A RR 3.09

Is it poor bowling, gritty batting, or just no help from the pitch now?

Danish strikes! AR Louden gone! I belive it was in the slips, because isnt that where Butt is supposed to be fielding, with Younis not playing?

Loudon gone to Dani.

394-7, Bresnan is the new man in.

Read should play in the 1st test now, this is a good showing by him.

Farhat has bowled 10 overs now.

Wicket is flat as a pancake and very good for batting.
I spoke to YK and Sami at lunch

Eng A are taking the p..s talk about being worried about losing.

they are going at a snails paces and should have really declared by now

Heeeerrreeee's Hoggy!

He can block for hours and hours
He can block for hours and hours and hours and hours and hours
Oh yeah!

Noddy said:

Noddy bhai, pass on our good wishes to the Pakistan team. :)

bye bye Geraint Jones,
your going home,
your going

[to the 3 lions music]

Great to see a big blob in Asif's column and so many overs in the one. The batsmen have done their job, now it's time for Hoggy and Broady to do theirs.

I see Imran Farhat has bowled 17 overs, anyone know how well he bowled other than his economy
It must be a dead pitch out there as these A boys have scored almost 500 runs, hopefully we will get a good bat in and just keep batting until the end, no need to declare our innings on this **** of a pitch,
The English are probably scared and gave us a flat pitch so we cant get accustomed to the conditions(fair enough we did the same with green seaming wickets in Pakistan)

Noddy said:
noddy bhai, when our batsmen play on the same wicket, they will make it look like a lush green wicket , we will be 50 for 3 i reckon. (hope not!

However flat the wicket this will be tough. Broad and the Hogster will provide a stiff test of our temperment and ability in English conditions.
Remember we also went into this game a batsman short to bolster the bowling!
At the end of the day it doesn't really matter but if Eng A can pick up a couple of early wickets - not out of the question given our openers then the pressure will be on Inzi and Yousuf once again.

inshallah salman will do well
cant really judge asif in this type of game, im sure he'll do well in the test series

More important that Farhat does well rather than Butt as he will in all probability partner Malik in the first test.

This is just getting sweeter. Broad sticking around and annoying the bowlers. Keep it up lad.

Well at least the bowlers have had a really good work out, so there should be little if any rustiness when they play at Lords in the first Test.

in a way its good, come to think of it, they have batted 2 whole days, now let our batters (if they can) bat the whole 2 days, and give our bowler's the extended rest , that they deserve.

Geraint Jones will be under the most severe scrutiny of his career at Lords, now that Chris Read has made a hundred.

Just a practice match fellows, and a belter of a pitch.

Anyway, a rather poor day for Pakistan. They have got far more than I expected or wanted but there are positives too....

The longer our bowlers spend out there and the more overs they bowl, the more prepared they will be for Lords come Thursday. The only meaning to this match is practice......that is all. And our bowlers are getting it.

I have a slight suspicion that the wicket in the tests will be a lot difffrent.

Asif khan said:
Typical pak bowling under inzis captaincy, absolutely no killer instinct!

its all about getting overs under your belt and getting match practise before the main event. im not worried at all.

nah no need for it lads. just get behind the team

I think we'll wrap the tail up quick this morning

I came on here thinking i could share my cricketing knowledge with fellow pakpassioners, but wow, im being called just for giving my honest opinion yet the guy thats called me seems to be getting everybodys backing... that is sad!

Guys, everybody is entitled to his oppinion. I am sure if the same thing happens in tests, lots of people would be calling the same to inzi.

Lets be civilized and let people give their oppinions. This is a cricket forum and everybody can share their cricketing thoughts.

Secondly, tell me if we are not able to get England - C team out, how are we supposed to get the England team out. We had them for 290 odd for 6 i guess, and now they are 500+.
Even if it is a practice match, dont make yourself too happy.

Action has started:

England A 530/9 (162.2)

Sami bowling to Read.

We need to get the last wicket within the first 20 odd minutes and let these idiots toil for next 2 days.

Afridi definitely being missed here... With his variety we could easily get rid of tail.

.......... AFRIDI SHOULD REPLACE IQBAL ......

Asif khan said:
I came on here thinking i could share my cricketing knowledge with fellow pakpassioners, but wow, im being called just for giving my honest opinion yet the guy thats called me seems to be getting everybodys backing... that is sad!

U can yaar, just ignore them :19:

What are England-A upto ? Do they want to score a 1000 runs ? Just tiring up our bowlers i guess, thats alll..

aabbasi said:
What are England-A upto ? Do they want to score a 1000 runs ? Just tiring up our bowlers i guess, thats alll..

The A team is full of players trying to impress the coach, they're not going to throw their wicket away when they're fighting for a first team place.

Well then i think inzi is missing a trick here...
Tell sami, "Boy, You've got pace... Your only task is to unsettle these batsmen... Direct some to chris read/ broad head. Just unsettle them"

... No need of bowling outside off-stump.

In cricket you have got to make things happen.... especially when opposition is in a negative state of mind...

Billy said:
The A team is full of players trying to impress the coach, they're not going to throw their wicket away when they're fighting for a first team place.

To be frank, i dont agree with your theory. The captain is sitting in dressing room and can declare when he wants.. Obviously the strategy is to keep these guys out as long as possible and tire them mentally.

aabbasi said:
To be frank, i dont agree with your theory. The captain is sitting in dressing room and can declare when he wants.. Obviously the strategy is to keep these guys out as long as possible and tire them mentally.

Well obviously they want to do that as well but I'd imagine the selectors would like to see what Broad and Read can do, given that England are need of a bowler who can bat and a good wicket keeper.

the flip side is that our bowlers will get back into the flow quicker after 15 weeks off

This is getting ridiculous now.

89 run partnership for the last wicket!

557-9