Not always. No Pakistani batsman was,is or ever will be more talented than someone like RohitPakistani players are always more 'talented' than Indian players. It's due to various factors beyond their control that makes them underperform.

Both are talented, no doubt about that.
Kohli is a future captain material, but like Praveen Kumar, he seems angry all the time.
At the end of their careers:
Tests: Kohli = Umar
ODIs: Umar >/_ Kohli (Umar better or equal)
T20s: Umar >> Kohli (no doubt)
So I would pick Umar Akmal.![]()
Houta hai, houta hai, waq't nahi rukta kissi kay liye. That was analysis 15 years ago, went wrong, I admit it![]()
Yes, I called him the Lahore Dynamite, and at that time he was that. I am not responsible for his lack of attitude and work ethicsUnless my memory has faded, you were the OG who came up with the Lahore Dynamite comparison thread. Or is that another thread?
Erm...Kholi doesn't even get a game for India.
So by default, Akmal.
Not seen anything special in Kohli. Hasn't done much against the big guns and I doubt will get a chance any time soon due to India's strong batting line-up. Umar's recent form shouldn't overshadow the fact that this guy took on arguably one of the fastest pace attack (Tait, Nannes, Johnson) and deposited them to all corners of the ground. You need special talent to do that! Kinda expected him to get bamboozled by the English conditions, specially since he wouldn't have experienced such exaggerated movement so far in his career
Umar Akmal did throw himself away, just reading this post makes it even more sad how good he was in that period.
Chadda sa'ab made plenty of posts hyping young , precocious Pakistani talents vis a vis their Indian counterparts.
Houta hai, houta hai, waq't nahi rukta kissi kay liye. That was analysis 15 years ago, went wrong, I admit it![]()
Lol, but credit to me for not starting this thread. I just posted in itHowever it was not as bad as that thread - "Is Steve Smith the worst batsman you have seen"
Lol, but credit to me for not starting this thread. I just posted in it![]()
Is this guy still active here?Kohli is a do takkey ka player
Umar Akmal is ten trillion times better than him, it's doesnt seem that way because he can't get a stats boost on paratha wickets like Kohli babu
One day people will stop confusing just hitting sixes with talent in cricket. There are so many other aspects of batting which makes a batsman talented.Truth be told when Umar Akmal was hitting Yuvi for sixes in Mohali, I was a bit scared. Great ball by Bhajji to take him out. Munaf also had a great ball to take out Razzaq.
It was a smallish target so even some tulla innings might have gotten them home.One day people will stop confusing just hitting sixes with talent in cricket. There are so many other aspects of batting which makes a batsman talented.
This thread was made in the early days of both Umar Akmal and Virat Kohli.@Hitman
Brother what do you genuinely think of this thread? Does it make you question your existence? Cause it makes me question mine. How has this thread not been shut down by now.
Anyone who saw what kohli did in 2008 shpuld have known who was superior.This thread was made in the early days of both Umar Akmal and Virat Kohli.
Anyone who saw what kohli did in 2008 shpuld have known who was superior.
Secondly, it was made it its early days but how is it still going?
To be honest this wasn’t as ridiculous as it turned out be in the end. When Umar started he did look like a special talent.
The Faheem Ashraf vs Pandya thread was more cringe and ridiculous. Till the final moment up until the last 6-12 months people actually believed Faheem is better. I think some still do. It was only opened because Faheem scored a fluke knock in a practice match vs BangladeshI am not making it up.
To be fair Umar Akmal wasn’t rated on 6 hitting ability alone. He had great balance and timing especially against express pace Bond, Johnson etc.One day people will stop confusing just hitting sixes with talent in cricket. There are so many other aspects of batting which makes a batsman talented.
This is going to be long so apologies.One day people will stop confusing just hitting sixes with talent in cricket. There are so many other aspects of batting which makes a batsman talented.
Reading this post by @Markhor saab is like watching a movie where the hero you love is about to enter into a territory from which there is no coming back and he dies and you know that and dont want him to die.Kohli looks class.India really should nuture that kid,looks special.Great stats too.
http://www.cricinfo.com/india/content/player/253802.html
Averages 43 in ODIs and 47 in List A.
Average of 55 in FC Cricket.
Would welcome him into Pak team any day !
Kohli is a year older than Umar and made his ODI debut a year earlier and Akmal Jr has played a lot of matches away from home in alien conditions such as Australia,New Zealand,South Africa,Sri Lanka and now England.
Even Sachin would have struggled with having to adjust to different pitches,different bowlers right at the start of your career !
Playing vs Aus and Eng at the age of 20 is incredibly tough.We have to remember he's still a young guy.
Its not Umar Akmal that we tend to dislike,its just the way he gets out that seems to make everyone so judgmental.
Give the two time and they will be top,quality players.
Just letting you know the akmal khandan (Babar, Umar, Kamran) are all naturally gifted.Reading this post by @Markhor saab is like watching a movie where the hero you love is about to enter into a territory from which there is no coming back and he dies and you know that and dont want him to die.
Damn you Umar Akmal, you even made Markhor look bad![]()
na, dont put babar with them. Babar is miles time better than the 3 brothers (Adnan was a good keeper though).Just letting you know the akmal khandan (Babar, Umar, Kamran) are all naturally gifted.
Good techniques, Sweet timers of the ball, very good reaction times.
But for some reason they all keep getting fatter and fatter, decline in reactions and simply turn into clowns on social media.
I'm putting babar with them even if he's 100x better then those 2 as a batsmen since he follows the same trend.na, dont put babar with them. Babar is miles time better than the 3 brothers (Adnan was a good keeper though).
Akmal looked like a top class talent when he came. This thread was appropriate at the time. Sadly his career ended up as nothing. Now he makes cringe tik toks, has plastic surgery abs and eats grapes on Instagram.
Kohli on the contrary has became a GOAT of the game ( certainly in white ball).
Na man. I would disagree.Akmal looked like a top class talent when he came. This thread was appropriate at the time. Sadly his career ended up as nothing. Now he makes cringe tik toks, has plastic surgery abs and eats grapes on Instagram.
Kohli on the contrary has became a GOAT of the game ( certainly in white ball).
4 50+ scores in debut year in 8 matches in NZ and Australia. It looked so promisingOn what basis? One or two innings shouldn't sway you - a solid year at a minimum should be the criteria.
Its shocking how consistent Pakistan is in wasting huge potentials. Almost every promising start stumbles a little, while other countries help the players transition into longer careers, Pakistan keeps wrecking them be it batsmen, or bowlers.4 50+ scores in debut year in 8 matches in NZ and Australia. It looked so promising
They aren't nepo babies I think they struggled and came through.Its shocking how consistent Pakistan is in wasting huge potentials. Almost every promising start stumbles a little, while other countries help the players transition into longer careers, Pakistan keeps wrecking them be it batsmen, or bowlers.
and Akmals are Nepo babies, ordinary background Pakistanis don't even get a chance at the big stage.
Its shocking how consistent Pakistan is in wasting huge potentials. Almost every promising start stumbles a little, while other countries help the players transition into longer careers, Pakistan keeps wrecking them be it batsmen, or bowlers.
and Akmals are Nepo babies, ordinary background Pakistanis don't even get a chance at the big stage.
The point is the endless supply of chances these guys get to shine on the top. In a country of 25 crore people, more than half your top cricketers are bhaanja, bhateja, daaamaad beta of previous cricketers. That's an insane level of concentration of talent in select few families and this is what we notice at top level, imagine the nepotism at school level selections where there is no scrutiny at all.They aren't nepo babies I think they struggled and came through.
I think Akmal would have been a lost cause regardless . He unfortunately suffers from a mental retardation. It's very obvious and there is no chance of success anywhere in Asia with this limitation. What has exacerbated him further is that those around him are equally delusional, sometimes harsh words from a father or brother can keep these personalities in line but the people around him indulged him further.
I remember ibtisam ul haq being forwarded and selected for his school team. We use to be batch mates.The point is the endless supply of chances these guys get to shine on the top. In a country of 25 crore people, more than half your top cricketers are bhaanja, bhateja, daaamaad beta of previous cricketers. That's an insane level of concentration of talent in select few families and this is what we notice at top level, imagine the nepotism at school level selections where there is no scrutiny at all.
He is on a mission to come back and settle the scores
How a batsman can be improved by demoting him at number 7 as a slogger? And improvement in skills is something which is very very rare among the Pakistani players, Akmal is no exception. He was decent in Test but was dropped. And as soon as he was started consistently being send at number 6-7 in ODIs, his batting was even more spoiled as a mid wicket slogger.Na man. I would disagree.
The flaws in Akmals batting were there from the first few series he played.
What happened was that during the 2009 - 2010 period, our batting was soo bad that anyone who scored runs we thought of him of being a great batter.
Even in his first few series, he showed that he plays his shots on the ground, but he was throwing his wicket after getting a score of 40 - 50. This is the same story even today.
Back in 2010, i remeber calling him out, and his fans just went after me. His fans defended him and never saw anything wrong in this guy.
By 2011 Umar Akmal was completely exposed.
Point is, Akmal never worked on improving jis batting.
Even today, if you watch cringe akmal videos, his main practice is smacking the ball out of the ground. He still doesnt understand that his whole issue was the lack of skill to build an innings
How a batsman can be improved by demoting him at number 7 as a slogger?
Absolute gem.Kohli is a do takkey ka player
Umar Akmal is ten trillion times better than him, it's doesnt seem that way because he can't get a stats boost on paratha wickets like Kohli babu
Absolute gem.
He sucked. He was lucky he was even in the team. He either used to bat at no.5 or no. 6. Not much of a difference, his fans think this one position changed was the reason why he sucked. Infact, Umar held a higher avg at no.6 than he did at no.5. He was barely sent at no.7.How a batsman can be improved by demoting him at number 7 as a slogger? And improvement in skills is something which is very very rare among the Pakistani players, Akmal is no exception. He was decent in Test but was dropped. And as soon as he was started consistently being send at number 6-7 in ODIs, his batting was even more spoiled as a mid wicket slogger.
oh nahi oye yara. Az was a troll around hereAbsolute gem.
To make heartless people insult someone who couldn't deliver on the initial promises he had shown.The point of this thread?
I agree with this. Only difference between them was Kamran and Umar had poor shot selections. Kamran was slightly better than Umar Akmal in that regards. He would look great for a 30 or 40 and out of nowhere a brain freeze. Umar Akmal is obviously an ATG of brain freeze. Babar on the other hand is total opposite, he seems too timid with his shot selection for someone who has natural talent and a way better technique than his cousins.Just letting you know the akmal khandan (Babar, Umar, Kamran) are all naturally gifted.
Good techniques, Sweet timers of the ball, very good reaction times.
The point of this thread?
Totally agree with that ... but its not relevant now.Thread was made in 2010.
I think it was a valid thread at that time since both Kohli and Umar were rookies.
Your love for UA made this happen for Kohli.Comment was made in 2010. At that time, Kohli was a new kid in town and so was Umar.![]()
When Umar debuted, he actually was better than Kohli of that time.
No player from the subcontinent has ever smashed peak express pace bowlers of SENA like Umar did at that time.
He was a sensation.
But in the long run work ethic, perseverance and overall batting culture prevails. Board’s governance too. Kohli excelled in all of that in this marathon.
Btw @Usman Chadda and @IAJ how old were you folks at that time?
Every batsman can't be a good finisher. If guys like Sehwag have born in pakistan, their career would have been over with in 2 years by playing at number 6 and same with Rohit. Whereas batsmans like dhoni, bevan, hussey will adapt to any position as they can play calculatively. Akmal have zero brains and he was expected to play calculatively and finish the games. Utilizing wrong resources at wrong positions is the main problem of pakistan team management since for a long time. They would always prefer batsmans with either ugly defencive technique like azhar ali or a slogger like afridi in top 3.People like Bevan, Dhoni batted at #7 and they weren't sloggers per-se.
Obviously he bats at 6 more so he had better stats to show there. And just check his stats in test cricket as well, he was decent which could have improved. He was begging to play in top 3 in 2015 world cup. But the management was keen to play younis khan and azhar as openers. Younis who had an ugly defence at pace and bounce was was their favorite to open. He should have batted at 5 against the spin where he was the best. And nothing to say about the greateat ODI batter Azhar Ali. Akmal on the other hand was better against pace and bad against spin but was batting in lower middle order. The dillema of pakistan! Their cricketing mindset is opposite to rest of the world.He sucked. He was lucky he was even in the team. He either used to bat at no.5 or no. 6. Not much of a difference, his fans think this one position changed was the reason why he sucked. Infact, Umar held a higher avg at no.6 than he did at no.5. He was barely sent at no.7.
Improvement in batting can happen, it depends upon the player himself. Just because other players didnt care is not a justification.
As for the test batmans, part, he was garbage in test cricket aswell, and there was no way this guy would had been added in the test team that became no.1 with a batting line up of Misbah, Younis, Azhar and Asad. His defence was soo poor that when ever he would be in trouble he used to throw his bat and give away his wicket in test.
People assume he was a good test player because he didnt play that many games. So had he played and showed similar odi stats in test (his sample size shows similar avg), than that would had affected the results of the wins during that time period.
I know but calling Kohli do takey ka player is disrespectful. Used to be a pretty common occurrence back then.Comment was made in 2010. At that time, Kohli was a new kid in town and so was Umar.![]()
I know but calling Kohli do takey ka player is disrespectful. Used to be a pretty common occurrence back then.
Avg of 35 is not decent. He sucked in test and was not needed.Obviously he bats at 6 more so he had better stats to show there. And just check his stats in test cricket as well, he was decent which could have improved. He was begging to play in top 3 in 2015 world cup. But the management was keen to play younis khan and azhar as openers. Younis who had an ugly defence at pace and bounce was was their favorite to open. He should have batted at 5 against the spin where he was the best. And nothing to say about the greateat ODI batter Azhar Ali. Akmal on the other hand was better against pace and bad against spin but was batting in lower middle order. The dillema of pakistan! Their cricketing mindset is opposite to rest of the world.
Every batsman can't be a good finisher. If guys like Sehwag have born in pakistan, their career would have been over with in 2 years by playing at number 6 and same with Rohit. Whereas batsmans like dhoni, bevan, hussey will adapt to any position as they can play calculatively. Akmal have zero brains and he was expected to play calculatively and finish the games. Utilizing wrong resources at wrong positions is the main problem of pakistan team management since for a long time. They would always prefer batsmans with either ugly defencive technique like azhar ali or a slogger like afridi in top 3.
I didn't get the Fakhar Zaman question. Are you trying to convey something here or asking me?Is fakhar zaman playing at no.6?
Umar sucked. With his kind of pathetic batting there was no way he was ever gonna be asked to play agains the new ball, which is more difficult to do
Your arguments are going nowhere. So, you need a batsman like Younis who jumps like a frog on bouncy deliveries to open in Australia? Limited overs cricket is not played like that nowadays. Come out of Imran Khan's era.Avg of 35 is not decent. He sucked in test and was not needed.
Batting in top 3 is the most difficult task as you need perfect footwork. UA batting at no.3 in Australia?
Pakistan used to collapse alot during those days so playing no. 5 or no.6 did not make any difference.
These are just lame excuses by fans that dont accept Umar Akmal sucked.
Really?When Umar debuted, he actually was better than Kohli of that time.
No player from the subcontinent has ever smashed peak express pace bowlers of SENA like Umar did at that time.
He was a sensation.
But in the long run work ethic, perseverance and overall batting culture prevails. Board’s governance too. Kohli excelled in all of that in this marathon.
Btw @Usman Chadda and @IAJ how old were you folks at that time?
He can still win Pakistan World T20 2026 and World Cup 2027. That will be a good point for him to end his career.He is on a mission to come back and settle the scores
He can still win Pakistan World T20 2026 and World Cup 2027. That will be a good point for him to end his career.
where did i defend Younis Khan?Your arguments are going nowhere. So, you need a batsman like Younis who jumps like a frog on bouncy deliveries to open in Australia? Limited overs cricket is not played like that nowadays. Come out of Imran Khan's era.
Even Sehwag also don't have any footwork and had many flaws in his batting. Guys like Steve Smith also don't have a copy book technique but highly successful. Even a player with a calibre of Lara/Sachin can be destroyed if they are mismanaged the way Pakistan handles its players.
Rehtorical.I didn't get the Fakhar Zaman question. Are you trying to convey something here or asking me?
You didn't get what I was trying to say there. I meant if Sehwag who started his career as a middle order bat, would have never been allowed to play at the top in Pakistan and would have been reduced to a slogger at number 6 as he had a flawed technique but perfect hand eye co-ordination. Fakhar was an opener since the beginning, so the example does not suits here. But even he was dropped down in T20s to make way for Riz-Babar. And in ODIs was never being trusted as per his abilities and was in and out very frequently.Rehtorical.
You said "If guys like Sehwag have born in pakistan, their career would have been over with in 2 years by playing at number 6 and same with Rohit. "
Fakhar Zaman who proved his worth was never moved down.
Umar Akmal played under more than 5 captains, and sucked under all of them
Greats are never self made, they always needs some sort of support from board and management. No doubt they were greats, but that does not means they were not having any flaws. But anyway you can assume whatever you want. Akmals career is already destroyed somewhat by himself and also by management.where did i defend Younis Khan?
Lara, Tendu, and Sehwag are greats of the game, Umar Akmal is not even worth enough to tie their shoes.
Umar Akmal was a crap player, simple as that, and his fans hold on to weak arguments to blame others rather than accept he was bad
Even Suranga Lakmal >> Umar Akmal.
I am talking about their talent with the bat.
He can still win Pakistan World T20 2026 and World Cup 2027. That will be a good point for him to end his career.