Umar Akmal versus Virat Kohli

Umar Akmal is a better pressure player. His innings in 20/20 WC and performances against Bond,Siddle ,Malinga proves it. Kohli has a weakness of failing in pressure situstions as proven in matches against Pakistan, few finals in SL and in last inning in SA.

I dont think BCCI would have even allowed a player like Afridi to feature in the National side for 14 years , so forget the question of handling him better or worse.

Afridi wouldn't have lasted 1 full season with BCCI. Yousuf Pathan was discarded after he failed few times. Yuvraj has been dropped few times. To their credit Indian players fight their way back into the team. Same thing happened with Mighty Virender Sehwag. He was dropped and he came back with a bang. Hasn't looked back ever since.

Even now players like Raina, Pathan and Kohli aren't certain starters. They have to keep performing to stay in Indian team.

Virat Kohli is very talented ,very good player but so is Umer akmal .My point is Umer has played jsut 25 games and more than half games against tough side ,facing quality bowlers compare to Virat who has played 48 and still to face WOrls best bowling side.So its too early to judge both.Give them Two year and we will see who is in top .I am not underestimating Kohli ,he is a very very talented player but give them one or two year before comparing both.

Yes totally. judgement should be reserved on both until they play another couple of years. But on current form Virat Kohli is miles ahead of Akmal. Doesn't matter if Akmal is as talented as younis khan, if he can't back it up with stats its meaningless.

Umar Akmal is a better pressure player. His innings in 20/20 WC and performances against Bond,Siddle ,Malinga proves it. Kohli has a weakness of failing in pressure situstions as proven in matches against Pakistan, few finals in SL and in last inning in SA.

Kohli has been man of the match few times so he does deliver under pressure. Thats why he is number 2 ranked player in the world. Akmal is ranked 44. There is a day light gap between two as it stands now.

OK dude!

keep reading the rankings and enjoy!

Rankings are there to tell us who the number 1 batsman is in the world. I don't think there is any doubt that Amla is number 1 ODI batsman in the world and Kallis and Tendulkar are number 1 TEST batsmen in the world. That also means that there is no doubt who is 2nd highest ranked player in ODI at the moment and who is 44th ranked player in the world.

Rankings are there for a reason. Points are awarded according to how players perform in relation to opposition bowling. It also takes into account how player performed compared to his own team mates. For example if a batsman scores 100 where none of his team mates reach 40, more points are awarded to the batsman. On those basis, Kohli's achievement is even more remarkable. Since he has managed to rise to 2nd place despite playing along side likes of Sehwag, Dhoni, Tendulkar.

Whereas Akmal couldn't even improve on his rankings despite playing in one of Pakistan's weakest batting lineups for a long long time.

How far can you go to defend indian players?:facepalm:

Virat Kohli is ranked number 2 in the world by ICC and Akmal is ranked 44 by same ranking system. Yet you see people here defending Akmal like he is Javed Miyandad, Inzy and Zahir Abbas rolled into one.

I am just putting things into perspective. Kohli is ranked 2nd in the world but still not certain of his place in Indian 11. And Akmal can't hold his place even in pakistan team.

All the talent in the world is no use if you can't produce runs.

Kohli has been man of the match few times so he does deliver under pressure. Thats why he is number 2 ranked player in the world. Akmal is ranked 44. There is a day light gap between two as it stands now.

Kohli failed against Pakistan whenever he played. This shows he cannot handle added pressure. Averages 17 against us so I dont rate him at all. He needs to earn respect Pakistan fans respect by performing against us. Right now hes liek a minnow basher who bottles it at a crunch situation .

The dumbness of some posters is staggering.

Kholi has only played two matches vs Pak :110:

Yes SA are minnows :facepalm:

His highest score is against Aus, another minnow :facepalm:

Afridi wouldn't have lasted 1 full season with BCCI. Yousuf Pathan was discarded after he failed few times. Yuvraj has been dropped few times. To their credit Indian players fight their way back into the team. Same thing happened with Mighty Virender Sehwag. He was dropped and he came back with a bang. Hasn't looked back ever since.

Even now players like Raina, Pathan and Kohli aren't certain starters. They have to keep performing to stay in Indian team.

Don't go ahead of your self about BCCI! I know how good BCCI is. they are not very far from PCB. They dropped batsmen because they have many options. why same recycle goes with bowlers like pakistan batsmen? nehra, srisanth, sharma and list goes on.

haha..good ...:D ....if we judge ur players by there performances against us then Shoiab Malik & Salman Butt are way ahead then any of ur stars ...:D.....

and btw Umar Akmal played 2 matches against us ....can u plz tell me what his avg against us ....we a not so good bowling unit as you know ...;-)

I am just surprised Kohli is no. 2 now .....Good on Kohli ...keep it up kid...:)

sad my man got down to 25 ...:( :(

Virat Kohli is ranked number 2 in the world by ICC and Akmal is ranked 44 by same ranking system. Yet you see people here defending Akmal like he is Javed Miyandad, Inzy and Zahir Abbas rolled into one.

I am just putting things into perspective. Kohli is ranked 2nd in the world but still not certain of his place in Indian 11. And Akmal can't hold his place even in pakistan team.

All the talent in the world is no use if you can't produce runs.

You really well know that my post was not about Umar Akmal and Virat Kholi but About Ten Doescathe and Kevin Pietersen...

On topic, Kholi has so far played better than Umar Akmal.
Both look quality players to me. Early days to say who is the best, because both are young and Kholi is not tested in test cricket.
Akmal has not been as impressive as Kholi in ODI's so far.

Kohli averages 48 in his latest Odi series against SA in SA

while Umar averages 25 in his last Odi Series against England in England

Is there even a competition between the two?

Kohli wins it by a huge distance

Kohli is two years elder to Umar guys, give young boy Umar more time :)

at the moment kohli is a lot better player overall and utilises his talent well with good brain whereas umar akmal doesnt use his obvious talent well enough and loses his wicket most of the times due to his utmost stupidity. no comparison at all at the moment ..kohli wins it.

In the future, Kholi will be more a Tendulkar and Akmal a Lara...
I always preffered Lara so i will alaways prefer Akmal.

I dont think BCCI would have even allowed a player like Afridi to feature in the National side for 14 years , so forget the question of handling him better or worse.

Yet the same BCCI (or is it ICB) has allowed rubbish bowlers to play for India for a decade for the national team.

Last nite I saw the high lights of Parthiv Patel in the 5th ODI against SA... man !! what a beauty of a batting style. Even he is 10 times better than Akmal ... talk about Virat Kohli.

I must applaud the second string Indian team who gave a full run to SA for the ODI series win. Its amazing how they keep coming up with such a lovely class of new batsmen. THAT'S what u call talent supported by hard work.

Last nite I saw the high lights of Parthiv Patel in the 5th ODI against SA... man !! what a beauty of a batting style. Even he is 10 times better than Akmal ... talk about Virat Kohli.

I must applaud the second string Indian team who gave a full run to SA for the ODI series win. Its amazing how they keep coming up with such a lovely class of new batsmen. THAT'S what u call talent supported by hard work.

Forget Parthiv even Manish Pandey is better then U. Akmal. And Mainish Pandey has not chance of getting into Indian test team or ODI for another 2 years maybe. Thats the difference between two teams. Umar Akmal can't hold his place in "even current" pakistan team and guys like Manish Pandey don't even get a chance to come anywhere near Indian team.

It also shows the current standing of both teams. India is ranked number 1 in tests and 2nd placed in ODI rankings.

Forget Parthiv even Manish Pandey is better then U. Akmal. And Mainish Pandey has not chance of getting into Indian test team or ODI for another 2 years maybe. Thats the difference between two teams. Umar Akmal can't hold his place in "even current" pakistan team and guys like Manish Pandey don't even get a chance to come anywhere near Indian team.

It also shows the current standing of both teams. India is ranked number 1 in tests and 2nd placed in ODI rankings.

That doesn't work like...
If you want rate a player that doens't get his chance in the national team you will have to rate him by comparing the players already playing...
So if your Manish Pandey wasn't playing when india's midle order was : Dravid, Tendu, Laxman and Ganguly you could have said that this guy is very very good but because of the already strong midle order he can't get a chance.

But sorry this not the case here, in your Test team you have rubbish test batsman named Suresh Raina, and if someone can't play because of Suresh Raina then it's his own fault, he is just not good enough at the moment.

And even in ODI's, if you can select Parthiv Patel, Murli Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik then your Manish Pandey is not a world beater at all (at least so far).

LOL How did you figure Manish Pandey is better than U Akmal?
He has been getting some decent runs on Indian wickets, but at times he plays too many cross batted shots - come to think of it, he pretty much bats like U Akmal
yeh he scored a double yesterday... but on a road

^ don't you know?

ten Doeschate > Pietersen.

Pandey > Bradman

Yet the same BCCI (or is it ICB) has allowed rubbish bowlers to play for India for a decade for the national team.

Name those rubbish players who got numerous chances to play for India inspite of being rubbish and if you got further doubts ask any Indian if a player like Afridi could have played 300 Odis for India and even lead the side at Test Level.

Afridi has to be the least deserving person in the history of Cricket to lead the Test Side , can you ever imagine Afridi leading the Indian/African/Australian Test side?

Only shows how lucky he has been to feature in 300 Odis for Pakistan
and how low the standards of players in the team have gone down that even a player like Afridi was allowed to become a skipper

^ don't you know?

ten Doeschate > Pietersen.

Pandey > Bradman

No there is only 1 batsman better then Bradman and its not Manish Pandey. :yk

With regard to KP.. There is difference of just few positions between Ten Doeschate and Pietersen. and that can possibly be put down to bad form of Pietersen.

But there is difference of 40 positions between Kohli and Umar Akmal. That just proves that Kohli if far more talented and consistent batsman then U. Akmal ever was. Akmal's highest rating is like 586.

Lets put this this way.. Amla is not number 1 ODI batsman for his performances and TL cooper of Ireland is number 50 for reason. If Akmal should only be compared to the company that he keeps. 44 is lot nearer to 50 and top 5.

LOL How did you figure Manish Pandey is better than U Akmal?
He has been getting some decent runs on Indian wickets, but at times he plays too many cross batted shots - come to think of it, he pretty much bats like U Akmal
yeh he scored a double yesterday... but on a road

I tell you how.. On the same basis that people are saying Akmal is better then Kohli or in the same league as Kohli. :)

Umar Akmal's fans are bigging him up because they feel that based on his few innings he is supremely talented.

However he fails miserably to convert his lofty talent into runs.

So if batsman are being bigged up based on talent spotters of PP then every tom dick and harry can be brought into discussion.

All the talent in the world counts for nothing if you can't back it up with runs or wickets. Umar Akmal is number 44 in the world for a reason.

Reason why akmal gets dropped from Pakistan team is because PCB feels that he is not good enough compared to likes of Taufiq umar and Moh. Hafeez. Now that is a truth in plain black and white.

Forget Kohli even Taufiq Umar is better then U. Akmal.

That doesn't work like...
If you want rate a player that doens't get his chance in the national team you will have to rate him by comparing the players already playing...
So if your Manish Pandey wasn't playing when india's midle order was : Dravid, Tendu, Laxman and Ganguly you could have said that this guy is very very good but because of the already strong midle order he can't get a chance.

But sorry this not the case here, in your Test team you have rubbish test batsman named Suresh Raina, and if someone can't play because of Suresh Raina then it's his own fault, he is just not good enough at the moment.

And even in ODI's, if you can select Parthiv Patel, Murli Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik then your Manish Pandey is not a world beater at all (at least so far).

Suresh Raina wasn't in India's test team for last 2 matches. He was dropped in last 2 tests against south Africa and replaced by Pujara. Chances are that Raina won't get another opportunity for tests for a while.

Now Pujara is a talent. If he can convert his domestic form into International, he may very well feel giant boots of Indian middle order stalwarts like Dravid or Laxman one day.

bigged up by talent spotters on PP?

pls just have a listen to commentators during his best knocks in his fledgling career, you will hear them regaling is talent.

its not an urbany myth that you think it is.

Umar has been treated unfairly and managed poorly, that is very much the issue.

Virat on the other hand has been given proper grooming, and been allowed to acclimatize himself in batting friendly conditions...that is also a fact that cannot be denied.

he is a tremendous player no doubt, but there's a long yet to go for him.

as for your reasoning of why Hafeez or whoever is in team ahead of him, its quite laughable.

Suresh Raina wasn't in India's test team for last 2 matches. He was dropped in last 2 tests against south Africa and replaced by Pujara. Chances are that Raina won't get another opportunity for tests for a while.

Now Pujara is a talent. If he can convert his domestic form into International, he may very well feel giant boots of Indian middle order stalwarts like Dravid or Laxman one day.

That doesn't awnser anything my friend.
You did say that Manish Pandey is better than Umar Akmal because he can't even hold a place in Pakistani batting order...

In Odi's that's not true... Since he has started he has played all but 5 matches, and 2 of them where due to injury.
Whereas Manish Pandey can't find a place in a squad with players like Murali Vijay, Parthiv Patel, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina...

Khoili is better than Umar Akmal for the moment but you made a mistake by saying that Manish Pandey is better than Umar Akmal, don't be arrogant and acept it...

Name those rubbish players who got numerous chances to play for India inspite of being rubbish

All their bowler in the last 10 years expect Kumble, Harbajhan and Zaheer Khan.
More recently, Rohit Sharma has played about 50 ODI's...
Raina played 8 tests!
Murli Vijay is playing ODI's...

Manish pandey, most of the times ,is a dumb slogger. We all have seen that many times. Not at all comparable to U.Akmal. U.Akmal also tends to be a dumb slogger sometimes, not comparable to V.kohli .

Last nite I saw the high lights of Parthiv Patel in the 5th ODI against SA... man !! what a beauty of a batting style.

Yep ..even we are surprised by Parthiv's batting in this series .....He really came prepared this time and well deserved another chance he get after his domestic performances.

pls just have a listen to commentators during his best knocks in his fledgling career, you will hear them regaling is talent.

Virat on the other hand has been given proper grooming, and been allowed to acclimatize himself in batting friendly conditions...that is also a fact that cannot be denied.

as for your reasoning of why Hafeez or whoever is in team ahead of him, its quite laughable.

+1 ...Agreed every bit

Well its not just about grooming. Virat grabbed the chances that he got.

Remember he came into the ODI side as an opener and di well in the ODI after the SL series in 2008 when our stalwarts were blown away by Murali and Mendis. He had mnever opened in even domestic cricket before that. Then he was sent in at no 3 and gradually established himself. In fact he has batted from no 1-7 in his brief career but he never complained. Questions were raised about his respect for the game but he has knuckled out and sorted those issues in last one year.

Whereas IIRC Umar Akmal in the few chances he got at 3, blew it . And then there were reports about his behaviour on the Aus tour. For a young player to be involved in those controversies was shocking.

But both these guys are young and have a long future ahead of them. Plenty of time for Umar to sort his issues and do justice to the immense talent he has. Ditto for Kohli. Enough time for him to put the talent to use in being successful in the real form of cricket test cricket.

As far as Test averages are concerned , even Murali Vijay looks like a better player compared to Umar Akmal.

As far as Test averages are concerned , even Azhar Ali looks like a better player compared to Yuvraj Singh.

Averages are not everything!

blown his chances?

made a 50 in his 2nd ODI, a 100 in his 3rd.

made a 100 on Test debut, in NZ vs. the likes of Bond & Vettori.

even as of now his ODI record is quite impressive, has 7 scores of 50+ in 25 innings.

As far as Test averages are concerned , even Azhar Ali looks like a better player compared to Yuvraj Singh.

Averages are not everything!

I dont think Yuvraj will be defended by anyone out here , he is a very crappy player in Tests and Azhar Ali surely must be better than him , same can be said about Umar Akmal who is still riding on his debut performance against NZ after which he is failing big time , even useless players like Raina and Vijay perform as good as Umar in Tests , so why is he being rated as the next big thing for nothing?

I dont think Yuvraj will be defended by anyone out here , he is a very crappy player in Tests and Azhar Ali surely must be better than him , same can be said about Umar Akmal who is still riding on his debut performance against NZ after which he is big time , even useless players like Raina and Vijay perform as good as Umar , so why is he being rated as the next big thing for nothing?

oh! bhai ...calm down calm down ....:D:D

ye thread Virat & AKmal ka hai ...log mere players ko na jaane kyun isme la rahein hain ..wo bechara waise hi form mein aane ki koshish kar raha hai.......

waise ek Waterboy ka thread available hai
....:)

ye thread Virat & Kaml k hai ...log mere players ko na jaane kyun isme la rahein hain ..wo bechara waise hi form mein aane ki koshish kar raha hai.......

Shayed Apke player ke abb team main din kam reh gaye hai , uske khelne ke tareeke aur attitude se waisa hi lagta hai . Mere khyal se ager woh wc main nahi chamka to fir lambhi chutti hogi uski team se

sirf aapke khyal se nahi ...mere aur sabke k khayal se...agar WC mein kuch nahi kar paya to team k aas pass nazar na aaye ......:)

waise
he'll perform mera dil keh raha hai ..he'll be our main player there ....both with batting & as a fifth bowler ...:)

ye thread Virat & AKmal ka hai ...log mere players ko na jaane kyun isme la rahein hain ..wo bechara waise hi form mein aane ki koshish kar raha hai.......

bhai aap ka banda hai jo keh raha hai ke Umar Akmal fazool hai.

woh to Pandey Pandey shuroo ho gaya hai! :nehra

Name those rubbish players who got numerous chances to play for India inspite of being rubbish and if you got further doubts ask any Indian if a player like Afridi could have played 300 Odis for India and even lead the side at Test Level.

Afridi has to be the least deserving person in the history of Cricket to lead the Test Side , can you ever imagine Afridi leading the Indian/African/Australian Test side?

Only shows how lucky he has been to feature in 300 Odis for Pakistan
and how low the standards of players in the team have gone down that even a player like Afridi was allowed to become a skipper

For the major part of history India has been a poorer test side, a side that once struggled to win a series overseas for 17+ years, wonder what was the problem with them? if some of the players were not rubbish then how come Indians were constantly failing?
Players like Prasad,Agarkar,Mohanty, and all others who partnered Sreenath were completely rubbish.Even in this period when India is the top team, it still plays with rubbish players like Munaf and Ishant.

I'm not a fan of Afridi and has rarely ever defended him, but when someone constantly rubbishes him yet ask to name a single poor Indian player then the question arises as to how the hell Afridi averaged 47 against India in test matches with three hundreds???
It doesn't interest me if Afridi will ever find a place in Indian team, and i don't see any need to ask any Indian about it, just like i won't be asking any of my country a silly question like Munaf ever getting a place in Pakistan team

I dont think Yuvraj will be defended by anyone out here , he is a very crappy player in Tests and Azhar Ali surely must be better than him , same can be said about Umar Akmal who is still riding on his debut performance against NZ after which he is failing big time , even useless players like Raina and Vijay perform as good as Umar in Tests , so why is he being rated as the next big thing for nothing?

Fortunately not everyone is an idiot to discard a fine talent like 21 year old Umar Akmal on the basis of having a relatively poor average of 35 after just 13 test matches.Fact is that some players takes time to mature, one cannot expect every player to perform remarkably from the very start of his career like Tendukar and Miandad did.Someone like Zaheer Khan was dropped from the Indian team for a long time and was even labeled as a "lazy person" by the coach, yet the same Zaheer Khan returned to the Indian team and is their top bowler now.

Umar has the potential to do well in the longer format of the game, the fact that he's no longer in the test playing 11 is only going to help him sort out his game.

Fortunately not everyone is an idiot to discard a fine talent like 21 year old Umar Akmal on the basis of having a relatively poor average of 35 after just 13 test matches.Fact is that some players takes time to mature, one cannot expect every player to perform remarkably from the very start of his career like Tendukar and Miandad did.Someone like Zaheer Khan was dropped from the Indian team for a long time and was even labeled as a "lazy person" by the coach, yet the same Zaheer Khan returned to the Indian team and is their top bowler now.

Umar has the potential to do well in the longer format of the game, the fact that he's no longer in the test playing 11 is only going to help him sort out his game.

Okay lets see what Umar Akmal has to offer in the upcoming tours .

But for now , Virat Kohli is way ahead of Umar Akmal in terms of Talent as well as performance.

Okay lets see what Umar Akmal has to offer in the upcoming tours .

But for now , Virat Kohli is way ahead of Umar Akmal in terms of Talent as well as performance.

If that keeps kids happy, i hope then its the case forever.I don't care how better Kohli will eventually be at test level as compared to Akmal.All i want is Akmal to mature quickly and do justice with his talent and become a permanent side of Pak test team.

During the early days of Umar Akmal's career he was regarded as the next big thing for Pakistan considering the superb series he had against New Zealand & Australlia.

However rather than improving and showing his full potential on the pitch, he instead went downhill, started to under-peform and seriously lacked confidence.

And with full confidence I'd blame the PCB for treating the youngster badly and not helping his development either.

If Umar Akmal was under the leadership of BCCI then today he would have been a potentially world-class batsman, as BCCI are 10 times clever and better when it comes to developing youngsters so I guess the biggest disadvantage for Umar Akmal has to be the PCB's handling of Umar Akmal.

For example W63'''s thread "BCCI's handling of Y. Pathan v PCB's handling of Afridi" ideally backs ups my point and my point should be more clear.

This thread :-

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=116643

backs up my point completely about the difference between BCCI and PCB when it comes to developing youngsters.

Sums it up perfectly.

If that keeps kids happy, i hope then its the case forever.I don't care how better Kohli will eventually be at test level as compared to Akmal.All i want is Akmal to mature quickly and do justice with his talent and become a permanent side of Pak test team.

That is... If he has a talent. To early to judge..

Yes he will make a 100 next game against the destructive attack of Southee , Mills , Styris , Woodcock and will be shortly tipped as the " Next Bradman " , only to fail for another 15-20 innings after that.

Yes right, Pakistan is the ultimate litmus test for any young batsmen, thats why Ryder and Vettori are scoring runs against them for fun. Come on dude, be real.

BTW, Kohli was the U-19 captain when they won the U-19 world cup defeating Pakistan so he is no stranger to pressure

Just as it is too early to judge if Kohli is more than just another FTB. He had hardly played outside of India, specially against tough opposition.

Too early to make a decisive judgement on either of them.

How many batsmen in the history of cricket have excelled in South Africa? Even Inzaman didnt. But Kohli did in this series, Thats enough for me, FTB indeed, lol

on the contrary its kids who consider Umar to be even close to Kohli. Most of the experts attest to Kohli's talent and temprament

he is NOT more talented that Umar.

rest I agree, he is ahead.

How many batsmen in the history of cricket have excelled in South Africa? Even Inzaman didnt. But Kohli did in this series, Thats enough for me, FTB indeed, lol

He has just played one series, habtted very well but you can't say on the back of one very good series that Virat Kholi will play well in South Africa.
Especially when that was a ODI series.
At least wait till Virat Kholi start to play Test crickeT.
Everyone hyped Raina a lot before he played Test cricket and now...

On the back of 3 50's you say that he has excelled in South Africa? 3 50's does not a great make. Even Umar averages 49 in South Africa.

He has just played one series, habtted very well but you can't say on the back of one very good series that Virat Kholi will play well in South Africa.
Especially when that was a ODI series.
At least wait till Virat Kholi start to play Test crickeT.
Everyone hyped Raina a lot before he played Test cricket and now...

There's a MASSIVE difference in Raina and Kohli's techniques. Its not like everyone expect Raina to transform his good ODI form to Tests, he got a spot in tests on the back of a really good ODI run.
He was always suspect against the short ball and still is.

What about other Bunty Bubblies of IPL? I think they are better than Akmal too, eventhough they have never played a single international game. Early on you were making little sense b/w Virat and Akmal, then you made horrendous comparison of KP and Ten Doeschate and now this. It's better not to bring up players who get to play only spinners in their domestic cricket.

Right now I rate Virat little ahead of Akmal, but time will tell better.

If I told you Azhar Mahmood's early stats in South Africa then this Virat will look like Chris Martin's batting comparison with Sachin Tendulkar.

Virat is a good batsman, let's keep it to that. No need to compare him with cricketing greats like Inzamam.

on the contrary its kids who consider Umar to be even close to Kohli. Most of the experts attest to Kohli's talent and temprament

Idiotic comments really, comparing Umar to Richard would be immature, but Umar and Kohl are certainly comparable.

Yes he will make a 100 next game against the destructive attack of Southee , Mills , Styris , Woodcock and will be shortly tipped as the " Next Bradman " , only to fail for another 15-20 innings after that.

In your last post you wanted to see how Umar does against NZ, and now when he's doing better you are still bashing him on the basis of NZ's attack being poor, this proves one thing that no matter what some of you guys will keep on bashing on the basis of one excuse or another.

Was a nice innings by Umar but he is still long way behind Virat atleast in Odis.

In Tests there can be no comparisons as of now , Pakistan batting order is weak and hence even underperforming players like Umar can easily feature in the team however the Indian batting line-up in tests is too strong to even accomodate the 2nd ranked Odi Batsman shows how lucky Umar and unlucky Virat is

Sp how can they accomodate Suresh Raina for 8 test Matches?
That mean they tought that Suresh Raina is more ready than Virat to play test cricket, and once FTB Raina was dropped they choose Pujara...
He is not suffering of a strong batting line up, either Indian selectors have not faith in him for test cricket or he is a lesser player than Pujara and co...

^^ i do not know if follow the Indian domestic circuit or not! but pujara was the replacement if any of the guys in the middle ordered didnt play or is out of form, which was the case with raina!
and kohli was always seen as a odi/t20 player! till recently he has shown the mettle, that he can play Test cricket as well and he will get his chance but pujara deserves it more

Was a nice innings by Umar but he is still long way behind Virat atleast in Odis.

Au Contraire! Virat has been really lucky that he has been able to launch his career mostly at home on relatively easier batting tracks, a luxury that the unlucky Umar Akmal has not had.

And I think your point about the test team was well refuted by the poster who mentioned how Raina, the certified FTB, was able to get in the team ahead of him. This shows that he is obviously considered a work in progress even by the Cricket Authorities in India.

IN test there can be no comparison as VIrat doesn't play for mother India.

If Virat is unlucky then bring ur anger at Indian selectors as Umar has nothing to do with it, and if Umar is lucky to play for Pak, then let him be, this is something that has nothing to do with you guys and shouldn't concern you atall.

Virat kohli vs umar akmal

Both virat and umar are well talented players and both have a bright future......but virat is ahead of umar in terms consistency........virat's shot selection and cool minded aggression makes him a better player than umar akmal........

Akmal vs virat

Yah...mr. Kshitij. I think that u r partially right but not fully......
I think, the shot selection of umar is much more better than virat......
Umar has capacity to play the match winning innings........
However kohli is also a good player but he never played his shots with confidence where akmal plays always confidently.....

Mr.Anshu,if umar akmal had a good shot selection he would have had a better average than kohli.......kohli averages 48 in ODI's and don't forget that he is 2nd ranked ODI batsmen......if you talk about aggression then please note that both have nearly same strike rate of about 83.......u should also know that virat has won more matches for his team than umar........virat is a real match winner and far ahead of umar.......umar stands no where in comparison to virat

its been around 3 years since ganguly retired from test. the number 6 slot available since then. if he was that good, he would have gotten chance by now.

Kohli will be a decent ODI and 20/20 player like Raina. He doesnt have the technique to survive test cricket.

Mr.Anshu,if umar akmal had a good shot selection he would have had a better average than kohli.......kohli averages 48 in ODI's and don't forget that he is 2nd ranked ODI batsmen......if you talk about aggression then please note that both have nearly same strike rate of about 83.......u should also know that virat has won more matches for his team than umar........virat is a real match winner and far ahead of umar.......umar stands no where in comparison to virat

Typical OTT reply from a mere Indian supporter. Let Kohli play against better bowling line ups in difficult conditions first and then and only then you can start talking about Kohli being miles ahead of Umar. I know you are going to bring SA series but that's only one series. First let him perform in places like Aus and NZ or for that matter England, I know UA didn't perform in England but he did quite well in Aus and NZ and has done well in SA as well. So please reserve your Kohli is miles better than UA opinion to yourself. I guess we will find out in WC how Umar can perform on flat tracks. That's what mostly Kohli has done so a fair comparrison would be to compare their performance in WC.

Umar Akmal

avgs 24 in england and 25 in NZ

He has only played one match againist SA and that too in Dubai.

The 4 matches he has played in SA none of them are againist SA.

Kohli avgs 10 points more than Akmal and that too after playing 20 more matches.

Tell you the current difference between the 2 players.