Umar Akmal versus Virat Kohli

This comparison is as stupid as comparing Akram with Irfan Pathan. Umer is just a slogger and Kohli is proper batsman. Don't embrass the pakistani fans anymore with these baseless claims.

Jr is a slogger?

Chalo ye bhi theek he ho ga.

This comparison is as stupid as comparing Akram with Irfan Pathan. Umer is just a slogger and Kohli is proper batsman. Don't embrass the pakistani fans anymore with these baseless claims.

Pretty much sums it for me.
Umer Akmal is no where near the kinda the focus Kohli has.

These little dramas of faking an injury may be a little one but it goes a very long way to show what's your actual worth and how serious are you to play your game.

The kind of shots Umar plays tells he is a special talent. But he tries to hit out too many too soon. As someone mentioned here, his batting slot may not be the right one. Perhaps no.4 could be the ideal position for him.

Just watch the innings he's playing vs NZ
Every shot is of absolute top class

against two spinners and who are they??woodwok and nathan?and that's just a warm up game,relax

Virat Kohli is a gem for India.. lucky they found such a great talent.

Umar Akmal still needs to prove that he can comfortably score runs for Pakistan but iA the older he gets the better

Who cares. The strokes still all ooze class, something Umar can dream about.

and once they brought back medium pacer he is gone already.Who cant smash these spinners who are not even spinning on flat surface.

Umar needs to play at no.3 position before we compare the two. Umar can two modes, one is that he can take singles and looks for runs, the other is the slog mode which is what he is doing nowadays. It doesn't suit his type of playing and where wasting him lower down the order, when he could be better up the order.

+ Kohli is out.

Umar needs to play at no.3 position before we compare the two. Umar can two modes, one is that he can take singles and looks for runs, the other is the slog mode which is what he is doing nowadays. It doesn't suit his type of playing and where wasting him lower down the order, when he could be better up the order.

+ Kohli is out.

True, given a chance to play a longer innings, we may see better shots from him. But whenever I've seen him he's always trying to manufacture silly shots when he comes under a little pressure.

for me both have been gifted with immense talent and they should make full use of it.Both should be legendary players in their respective teams after 10 years.

and once they brought back medium pacer he is gone already.Who cant smash these spinners who are not even spinning on flat surface.

Did you even see his innings against South African bowlers like Steyn on South African pithces? If you had, you wouldnt have commented about his ability against seamers

I am not doubting his abilities.He has a great talent but so has Umer akmal.It hurts when people call him a slogger knowing he bats way down the order because of our batting plan.We have a totally different batting plan compare to Indian team.Umar is not being asked to bat till 50th overs or make century .His job is to score quick 40s or 50s according to lift run rate :afridi.

Now both bat at different positions so comparing them would be ridiculous ,some will say Umer slogs and Kohli is Sachin because of their different batting positions but if you have any cricketing knowledge ,you will understand that both have different jobs.sometimes Umer even play as wk batsman

Umer has batted at no.3 in few T20s and Masha Allah he has scored 50s twice without slogging which give you a better Idea about his ability of developing his inning.Umer can play with cautious ,remember when we needed 21 runs with 4 wickets left against England.When Ball was reversing and spinning ,Eng were on top but he remained cool and calm and played sensible match0winning knock.

Akaml is far far better talent
the only thing going for kohli is indian batting and teams performance for past few seasons
i ve seen better talent then kohli who played 4 india but coz india was poor back then so they got dropped or they didnt make many runs just like akmal is doin now.
but if ur just talking abt talent akmal is miles better then kohli.

even a rat is lion on his home turf..
all of kholi most recent so called good inings have been in india or asia
where as akmal yet to play a match in pak
do i need 2 say more

taxi please!

Akaml is far far better talent
the only thing going for kohli is indian batting and teams performance for past few seasons
i ve seen better talent then kohli who played 4 india but coz india was poor back then so they got dropped or they didnt make many runs just like akmal is doin now.
but if ur just talking abt talent akmal is miles better then kohli.

even a rat is lion on his home turf..
all of kholi most recent so called good inings have been in india or asiawhere as akmal yet to play a match in pak
do i need 2 say more

taxi please!

You must have been sleeping during Kohli's exploits in South Africa against the best bowler in the world on bouncy wickets. Here's what you missed

His innings of 87 and 54 were class

You must have been sleeping during Kohli's exploits in South Africa against the best bowler in the world on bouncy wickets. Here's what you missed

Alright man, keep harping about these 2 innings for the rest of his career. What you fail to understand is that he has played at his home turf a lot more than outside Asian turfs. Compare that to Umar Akmal who has hardly played in these grounds at international level and when he did, he made the most out of those opportunities. I mean I can go on and on about his innings against SL when he literally demolished bowlers like Malinga and Murli so please keep your silly arguments regarding those 2 innings to yourself. Once Virat plays consistently outside India or Asia for that matter, then you will have better argument. Until then enjoy his glory until he is completely exposed outside his comfort zone.

Umar akmal needs to use his brain and thats all hes upthere with all the champs Hopefully he will shine in this WC

Alright man, keep harping about these 2 innings for the rest of his career. What you fail to understand is that he has played at his home turf a lot more than outside Asian turfs. Compare that to Umar Akmal who has hardly played in these grounds at international level and when he did, he made the most out of those opportunities. I mean I can go on and on about his innings against SL when he literally demolished bowlers like Malinga and Murli so please keep your silly arguments regarding those 2 innings to yourself. Once Virat plays consistently outside India or Asia for that matter, then you will have better argument. Until then enjoy his glory until he is completely exposed outside his comfort zone.

Well those innings will be brought up if you keep discounting any runs at home as they were being handed out every time he went to bat.

No one is discounting runs made at home but it does tell you where his comfort zone is. Let him perform consistently outside that and only then it would be a fair assessment. As for Umar, it won't be a fair assessment as he hasn't got a chance to perform in front of his home crowd. At some point, people have got to start realizing it hasn't been an ideal start to Umar's career in term of conditions he has had to play in and adversity he has had to deal with.

Wow .... around 400 posts and 8000+ views on this stupid comparison??

The only commonality between Umar Akmal and Virat Kohli is that both are young and talented batsmen ...

But other than that their batting styles are totally different and incomparable...

- Virat Kohli has a very solid defence, and he can be termed as a new Dravid for India (with more aggression)

- Umar Akmal is a dasher. He doesnt have solid defence, but he is capable of hitting big... If he gets going than opposition team is in big trouble.

If the thread had been something like "Virat Kohli vs Dravid" or "Umar Akmal vs Yuvraj Singh", it could have been much better...

What that also proves is that when given the chance outside of the sub-continent, Kohli has proved himself. In South Africa on bouncy wickets he averages almost 49. That is enough for me to tell that he wouldnt be much discouraged outside his comfort zone

And as for Umar, most of his overseas success has come against NZ so I wouldnt read too much into it either

Wow .... around 400 posts and 8000+ views on this stupid comparison??

The only commonality between Umar Akmal and Virat Kohli is that both are young and talented batsmen ...

But other than that their batting styles are totally different and incomparable...

- Virat Kohli has a very solid defence, and he can be termed as a new Dravid for India (with more aggression)

- Umar Akmal is a dasher. He doesnt have solid defence, but he is capable of hitting big... If he gets going than opposition team is in big trouble.

If the thread had been something like "Virat Kohli vs Dravid" or "Umar Akmal vs Yuvraj Singh", it could have been much better...

such solid defense that he is yet to play first test match :P

Big difference, India's batting is light years ahead of Pakistan. They dont even need Kohli for the Test side. Umar Akmal wont make it into India's ODI side tbh. Umar cant even lace the boots of Kohli.

I am not sure if below stats will convince any of the U.Akmal fan. But this is how players are judjed by experts,

Kohli

ODI's Played = 45
Avg = 46.44
S.R. = 82.12

U.Akmal:

ODI's Played = 30
Avg = 35.73
S.R. = 84.34

Since Kohli haven't played any Test cricket and participated in very limited T20's so any comparsion is irrelevant.

Big difference, India's batting is light years ahead of Pakistan. They dont even need Kohli for the Test side. Umar Akmal wont make it into India's ODI side tbh.

If Ravindra jadeja can make it to their ODI-T20 side for a year then Why can't Umer akmal ??:asif

whatever pleases you brother but name single batsman yes single batsman other than Kamran and Rohit Sharma who smashed Tait,Nannes,Watson and Johnson in last year's world cup the way Umer treated them.All the best batsmen in the world looked like a walking wickets in front of them and he even smashed South african bowlers in important match in that world cup .He won us that game we would love to have someone likes of him who can play in pressure games than someone who is overrated and struggles to score even 10 runs in big games.

That Means You have dreamed of those shots??? Well, Then go to the Field and Do some Net Practice with those Dream Experience.. That will make you better cricket. ( Isn't it a clever thought?? ))

Umar Does not need to Dream of those Shots He can play few more shots than those Classy shots which Actually Virat Currently Dreaming about. ( It's 11:30 India And Players must have gone to their Beds by now. )

Dream On Virat Kohli.. :D

Big difference, India's batting is light years ahead of Pakistan. They dont even need Kohli for the Test side. Umar Akmal wont make it into India's ODI side tbh. Umar cant even lace the boots of Kohli.

If Suresh Raina can make his debut in tests who can not play short ball that easily and gets out regularly on this shot then why cant Virat kohli who is perfect with strong defense ........ehhhh :shahzaib

tbh Umar Akmal can be very well compared with Robin Uthappa
and i believe that both are good, just that Uthappa doesn't get a chance these days
he's played important knocks for India especially in the inaugural t20 WC
both are talented and good hitters of the ball and inconsistent at times

If Suresh Raina can make his debut in tests who can not play short ball that easily and gets out regularly on this shot then why cant Virat kohli who is perfect with strong defense ........ehhhh :shahzaib

Allowing Raina to debut in tests was a big mistake by the BCCI management. Probably they wanted him to get a chance to correct his problems against the short ball.

Pujara, Badrinath and Rahane are proven performers, far better than Kohli and Raina

First Class:

Rahane avg 67.72 highest 265*
Badrinath avg 62.31 highest 250
Pujara avg 55.81 highest score 302*

Raina avg 43.15 highest 203
Kohli avg 57.59 highest 197

So basically there is no comparison, Rahane, Badri and Pujara light years ahead of Raina and Kohli too considering his highest score is just 197 compared to 250+ of the 3.

Selecting Raina was a big mistake.

I didnt say anything about Kohli having an outstanding defence. Having said, India proceed with a system. They dont play bastmen in positions they are not accustomed to. Raina replaced Yuvraj after he was dropped for poor performance, and Raina was next line for a batting spot in the lower middle order. Kohli's best position 3/4. He's not gonna replace Dravid or Tendulkar while they're still around :ajmal

Its funny how you avoid stats that clearly show Kohli being a better player

Allowing Raina to debut in tests was a big mistake by the BCCI management. Probably they wanted him to get a chance to correct his problems against the short ball.

Pujara, Badrinath and Rahane are proven performers, far better than Kohli and Raina

First Class:

So basically there is no comparison, Rahane, Badri and Pujara light years ahead of Raina and Kohli too considering his highest score is just 197 compared to 250+ of the 3.

Badrinath won't probably get another chance. Its a shame but thats the reality. He got the odd chance (which I agree wasn't fair on him) but he really looked out of his comfort zone against SA.
Pujara looks a pretty solid bat. Rahane will probably get a chance soon.
But don't for a moment discount Kohli, he could be given a chance a lot earlier than you think

And totally agree Raina was a mistake in Tests. Even when we played SL and he scored a ton and a fifty, he still was very suspect against the short ball

not ignoring the stats but comparison is ridiculous considering both have different roles as both bats at different positions.

First Class:

Badrinath averages 21.00 in international cricket.International cricket is 10000x different from Domestic cricket.Scoring away from home is even harder.Umer too made his debut away from home and scored century in his first test inning and second One day international against Bond,Malinga,Murali and Mendis.
http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/player/26806.html

Badrinath averages 21.00 in international cricket.International cricket is 10000x different from Domestic cricket.Scoring away from home is even harder.Umer too made his debut away from home and scored century in his first test inning and second One day international against Bond,Malinga,Murali and Mendis.

But A player Only Get a chance to play @ International Level When He proves his Ability in Domestic Circuit.

Those Three really Deserve to Play for India and they are Well Capable players. May not be Exciting Players and thats why not getting any chances.

I used to hear that Vinod Kumbli Was More talented player than Sachin Tendulker, But Who Has got all the fame and Money??

I think I don't need to give any answer.

thanks

Akmal is ranked 42 in ICC odi rankings. His highest ranking score is 586.

Kohli is ranked nmber 2 in ICC ODI rankings. His current ranking is 784. Thats difference of 200 points.

Kohli scores runs and takes fantastic catches. Akmal gets dropped from team for not scoring runs and none of the akmals are famous for catching.

Akmal is just like another Afridi. Can't compared to proper batsman like Kohli.

In any case what use is talent is its backed up with runs. Akmal should score some runs first, he is not even regular in Pakistan team full of superstars like Taufiq umar and M. Hafeez.

India does not rush its players into test cricket. We allow players to settle in international cricket first. Raina played over 100 ODIs before he got his chance. Kohli has time on his hands

What that also proves is that when given the chance outside of the sub-continent, Kohli has proved himself. In South Africa on bouncy wickets he averages almost 49. That is enough for me to tell that he wouldnt be much discouraged outside his comfort zone

And as for Umar, most of his overseas success has come against NZ so I wouldnt read too much into it either

Rubbish, one series doesn't prove anything. Umar has done it in NZ as well as Aus plus his debut inning against SL plus the T20 WC. It was only Englang where things started going the wrong way and that too because of immense pressure being put on him. Umar's first series outside the subcontinent was a success too so Virat averaging 49 doesn't mean anything. Now if he can sustain that then I would be the first one to admit that until then, I'll be waiting for him to play somewhere else like Aus or England or even NZ for that matter.

Ghar aa ja pardesi, tera dais bulaye rey.

Don't worry haven't forgotten you. Forwarded your request to NASA R&D so they can define wicket taking ball in the simplest of terms. You know such details are required to comprehend something if you are Afridi or his supporter:P

Umar A scores in flair; Virat K scores in temperament. No Indian can survive on flair alone, unless he's exceptional like Sehwag.

And those bad-mouthing Akmal take a look at his consistency before the current bad patch -- he's played some amazing knocks.

Another match. Another failure. With performances like this, is there any wonder he can't hold his place in the team. Akmal is not even in the same league as Kohli.

All the talent in the world is no use if you can't score runs.

Another match. Another failure. With performances like this, is there any wonder he can't hold his place in the team. Akmal is not even in the same league as Kohli.

All the talent in the world is no use if you can't score runs.

+1. Shafiq should be given preference above him

Umar akmal is a total waste, Kick him out of the team, let him play some domestic, I hope he won't score over there either.

Sorry dude, But Kohli is far better than umar akmal, He perform in every match unlike this Umar Akmal.

Talent is an over rated and misunderstood term.

Virat promises growth !

Umar akmal is a total waste, Kick him out of the team, let him play some domestic, I hope he won't score over there either.

Sorry dude, But Kohli is far better than umar akmal, He perform in every match unlike this Umar Akmal.

True that. Kohli better than Akmal, by the looks of things.

Akmal is just a waste nowadays. Someone has to give him a good reality check.

Just because Kohli is better than U Akmal, doesn't mean that Umar is a 'waste'. He's a good young prospect who started well, then suffered terrible form, and is now starting to rediscover his form and trying to improve on his batting.

Rediscover his form??. I seriously doubt that. When was the last time he made a real contribution to a game?

Both are talented, but Kohli is doing great and turning into what we hoped Junior would for Pakistan.

have u seen akmals 46* vs windies,when he single handedly won pakistan the game on the green seaming wicket........

and must i tell u that about 90% of akmals innings have been on pitches outside of sub continent........

have u seen akmals 46* vs windies,when he single handedly won pakistan the game on the green seaming wicket........

and must i tell u that about 90% of akmals innings have been on pitches outside of sub continent........

BUT KOHLI IS MUCH MORE FOCUSSED THAN AKMAL.............. there is no denying the fact

Kohli is a class act! Such a fine innings today. Such a mature player. His determination to score big makes me happy. Love to watch him!

Kohli paced his knock beautifully today !

good hundred :) 5th in just 47 games.

well played virat, miles better then umar akmal, so obvious.

more mature, determination, cool head and better at playing shots with placement.

BUT KOHLI IS MUCH MORE FOCUSSED THAN AKMAL.............. there is no denying the fact

Kohli's 80+ score against SA was much more crucial and classic.

Umar's 46* can't be compared to his 80+ score against a much better bowling line up.

virat has to fight every single match for a place in the team...same is not the case with umar...i think the difference lies there :)

Kohli's 80+ score against SA was much more crucial and classic.

Umar's 46* can't be compared to his 80+ score against a much better bowling line up.

What about akmal`s century against SL spinners.................

Rediscover his form??. I seriously doubt that. When was the last time he made a real contribution to a game?

Yes you're right. I actually meant to put more emphasis on trying to improve and meant that he was 'trying' to rediscover his form.

virat has to fight every single match for a place in the team...same is not the case with umar...i think the difference lies there :)

Yep this may be one of the reasons ....Kohli need to perform consistently to remain in the team ....player like Raina in sub continent warming the bench ..that's speaks volume .

Umar Akmal should be given full confidence to play his shots that's the way he score and give him proper slot to bat on consistently ....

and for this to happen Pakistan 1st need to have proper batting coach .

Is he consistent like kohli?

They have played 70% of their matches on Sub-continent pitches and we have 80% of our matches in England,New Zealand and Australia.Difference lies there.I expect him to fire in this tournament though pitches are not easy in Sri lanka compare to Ban-Ind.

It is kind of risk taking, Putting him in team and if he flops then No use of him trying again and again.

I think we can go around in circles around this one till hell freezes over and still not come to a satisfactory conclusion.

The only proven thing is that both the players have got their roles in their teams and that they are performing.

Also both players are still in the early days of their careers and it is still early days to say if young Umar will develop into a Inzy or Javed for Pak and if young Kohli is not another false dawn for India.

Of late we (India) have had several false starts, with promising starts to careers but only to falter on in their career..ala Raina or Yuvi or even Rohit.

Akmal's got all the shots in the world, but at the moment seems to lack mental toughness to "last" it out in the middle (think some1 like Miandad can help him out in this), whist Kohli does look to have the temprament, but has not played a test match yet-which still is the benchmark in cricket.

In tests I think Kohli would have to wait for Laxman to retire to get his chances. Please dont meke him a no.3 bat in tests... that spot should go to Pujara who has literally worked his socks off for selection.

Think the fans from both sides of the fence, should take a chill pill and sit back and enjoy these two young players when they turn out for their countries.

Hope both of them 10 years on have cemented their place as legends of the game!!

If i am right , Kohli scored a half century against the same Windies on the same greenish Johannesburg pitch in the Champions Trophy.

Can somebody close this thread this thread is an insult to Kohli who is classy batsmen and Umar Akmal is nothing but a slogger who is hit and miss.

It is like comparing Shane Warne vs Ajanta mendis who started well but showed his true clors once people sorted him out.

Same thing with Akmal once he got exposed more to bowlers they have sort him out.

Can somebody close this thread this thread is an insult to Kohli who is classy batsmen and Umar Akmal is nothing but a slogger who is hit and miss.

It is like comparing Shane Warne vs Ajanta mendis who started well but showed his true clors once people sorted him out.

Same thing with Akmal once he got exposed more to bowlers they have sort him out.

thats a complete illogical comparison.

warne and mendis cannot be compared to virat and umar. warne is more experienced and is way older then mendis, whereas virat and umar are similar age and similar in experience.

Umar is capable of doing serious damage but Kohli promises growth.

10 years from now you'll be astonished to see the stats difference between them (if Umar stays that longer)