Umar Akmal versus Virat Kohli

Really sad to see what has happened to umar where as virat is already a legend and league of his own.Still have hopes from umar he is only 27.Hopefully he works on his fitness return a better batsman!

Here's some bitter truth for Pakpassion'ers.

Umar Akmal was never supremely talented in the first place. I'm sorry but no, he isn't the most talented player we've had in the last 25 years. No, he's not even the most talented player we've had in recent times. And for the last time, no, he was never comparable to Virat Kohli. A couple of fluke innings at the start of his career don't make him the best player we have. His ODI career of a 100 matches, after his debut series has had nothing noteworthy.

I disagree with most posters and fans who are depressed of his "regression" as a cricketer because he was never talented in the first place. Its not like he had some super start to his career. A century in his second match and nothing else after that except a few innings where he "dominated" weak or struggling units trying to reorganize themselves with a couple of 50's. How many cricketers have we seen with brilliant starts to their careers? Yasir Hameed, Elahi to name a few. Why don't they get the attention he does? Even Fawad Alam and Azhar Ali who averaged close to 50?

Even Ahmed Shehzad has had a much more illustrious ODI career and yet Umar Akmal is considered leaps and bounds ahead of him. Umar Akmal's entire career has been nothing but whining, blaming, crying, cheating, refusing to participate in fitness sessions, refusing to give his fitness importance and disrupting the unity.

Sure, you can compare two batsmen but frankly, I would even rate Ahmed Shehzad a better batsman and its high time we accept that he didn't live up to his "expectations" because we were wrong to associate expectations with him the first place. He never had the talent, the skill, the composure or the hunger. He's fine being a below average player and making money off of his odd-fluke innings in Twenty20 competitions.

I'm not advocating for him to dropped, honestly, I don't even care about whatever happens in the Pakistan squad anymore. I've been nonchalant but I just want everyone to accept the fact that he was never a good player anyway and see the reality.

Hmmm, ok fine, but he had the potential to be a great, as he was averaging above 50 in FC and above 40 in List A, at the start of his career, which clearly showed he had in him to be a great, but he wasted himself.

Perhaps he was in a good run of form. I refuse to buy the story that he had the potential to do good just because he had a good start. There's something called beginners luck, you know. And to add to that, even if he stopped performing in international cricket, he should've maintained his performances in the first class tournament however, it took him more than half a decade to register his next century.

I have nothing against anyone wanting him back in the team but frankly, the phenomena that he was destined for greatness has nothing to support itself and is all a myth. However, he could play the role of an average batsman in our team filled with mediocrity, although he needs to work extremely hard for that. Lose 15 kilograms. Get stronger. Work on his technique. Work with a sports psychologist on the ways to absorb pressure and not give in to some stupid shot and score at least a 100 runs in a First Class tournament averaging 50+.

Akmal for me, he is more funny, his twitter posts brings a smile to the faces of millions, he keeps PP a busy place and keeps fans busy with his antics, his fashion statement is mashallah .. Kohli just focuses on his game which is no fun..

Kohli has nudged ahead slighltly in terms of fitness and run scoring after so many pages of discussion.:faf

:)) Kohli is a do takkey ka player

Umar Akmal is ten trillion times better than him, it's doesnt seem that way because he can't get a stats boost on paratha wickets like Kohli babu

Some very interesting posts at the start of thread.

If I remember correctly there used to be a Umar Akmal vs Tendlkar comparison thread .... right ?

There are instances in one's life when he is left speechless. This thread has given me the same feeling.

Both are talented, no doubt about that.

Kohli is a future captain material, but like Praveen Kumar, he seems angry all the time.

At the end of their careers:

Tests: Kohli = Umar
ODIs: Umar >/_ Kohli (Umar better or equal)
T20s: Umar >> Kohli (no doubt)

So I would pick Umar Akmal.:D

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

Wow how have times changed....

2010 seems like decades ago.

Feel sorry for Umar Akmal after his decline throughout these years - even if much of it was his own doing.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

Wow how have times changed....

2010 seems like decades ago.

Feel sorry for Umar Akmal after his decline throughout these years - even if much of it was his own doing.

could not even beat him in body fat content weight ... Kohli will be as fit as a 27 yr old UA even when he is 40 yrs old .

Some people must be hiding into the cave for their pro UA comments which they made 7 years ago....

If Kohli was brought up in the Pakistani system, he would be in the exact same position that Umar Akmal is in today. I'm not sure if it's all on Umar, they don't have the right system in place to guide these players from becoming good to great.

Here's some bitter truth for Pakpassion'ers.

Umar Akmal was never supremely talented in the first place. I'm sorry but no, he isn't the most talented player we've had in the last 25 years. No, he's not even the most talented player we've had in recent times. And for the last time, no, he was never comparable to Virat Kohli. A couple of fluke innings at the start of his career don't make him the best player we have. His ODI career of a 100 matches, after his debut series has had nothing noteworthy.

I disagree with most posters and fans who are depressed of his "regression" as a cricketer because he was never talented in the first place. Its not like he had some super start to his career. A century in his second match and nothing else after that except a few innings where he "dominated" weak or struggling units trying to reorganize themselves with a couple of 50's. How many cricketers have we seen with brilliant starts to their careers? Yasir Hameed, Elahi to name a few. Why don't they get the attention he does? Even Fawad Alam and Azhar Ali who averaged close to 50?

Even Ahmed Shehzad has had a much more illustrious ODI career and yet Umar Akmal is considered leaps and bounds ahead of him. Umar Akmal's entire career has been nothing but whining, blaming, crying, cheating, refusing to participate in fitness sessions, refusing to give his fitness importance and disrupting the unity.

Sure, you can compare two batsmen but frankly, I would even rate Ahmed Shehzad a better batsman and its high time we accept that he didn't live up to his "expectations" because we were wrong to associate expectations with him the first place. He never had the talent, the skill, the composure or the hunger. He's fine being a below average player and making money off of his odd-fluke innings in Twenty20 competitions.

I'm not advocating for him to dropped, honestly, I don't even care about whatever happens in the Pakistan squad anymore. I've been nonchalant but I just want everyone to accept the fact that he was never a good player anyway and see the reality.

Excellent post

If Kohli was brought up in the Pakistani system, he would be in the exact same position that Umar Akmal is in today. I'm not sure if it's all on Umar, they don't have the right system in place to guide these players from becoming good to great.

Don't blame the system for a player who is just the worst of his kind at the moment, players with lesser talent have done more and achieved more success than Umar has done with what he has...

I'm just sad people used so many words and time to defend Umar Akmal debating his cause against Virat Kohli... who is already an all time great of his age.... a debate that ran for 23 pages.... Wow :kohli2

I can safely say RIP 'Umar Akmal vs Virat Kohli' thread.... from 2010-2017..

You were fun while you lasted, Umar has put all his fans and supporters all this time who believed in him to shame...

This antic was the knockout blow to his career and this thread

At the moment, I'd say Virat Kohli is ahead. Would like to revisit this thread soon.

It's not a comparison. In terms of talent and stroke making Umar is miles ahead. Virat is a minnow basher who can only score runs on tailored pitches.

Umar Akmal is a waste of space, a complete polar opposite of Kohli who works hard day in and day out. Don't see Kohli obsessed over social media as much so it appears to me that Kohli tends to isolate himself a lot to just work on himself which is good.

Kohli is a ttf. Umar akmal is the best batsman in the world. Poor lad always gets the blame when it's PCB fault. Umar akmal scored a 100 on a green sealer on debut in a test match and now he's not even in the test team. Like WTH?? Brainless PCB don't know how to treat an ATG. He is also the fittest man in Pakistan. Poor lad gets all the Masala news that he's unfit. He gets water with loads of calories which isn't his fault.

Broooo
Someone in the PCB has taken a bribe to make sure Umar Akmal doesn't perform otherwise I can 100% guarantee he would score minimum 100 every innings. That's the talent he possesses.

Let's not compare a cricketer who will be remembered about for generations with another who will be forgotten about as soon as he retires.

Its like comparing a five star restaurant with the street vendor who sells four roti for a quid.

The system did let down Umar akmal.

He was innocent, he was fragile. The system failed to protect him. It wasn't his fault. It never was. Yet, the system made it looked like it was.

His brother rightly supported him. Only if their voices were heard......

Has to be Kohli,has a lot of potential,one to watch for the future.

good call

But Id say to any unbiased person who understood a bit of cricket i was clearly evident after firsst 10 games of each player as to which one will go to the top

Kohli comes in the "what to-do" category if one wants to be a great cricketer. Whereas Umar comes in the "what not to-do" category.

Thus, in that sense Umar is more important for any young players, and is a great example and reminder of what happens with poor attitude, behavior and arrogance.

Kohli is a living legend while Umar is the living hack.
This thread needs to be closed now. Comparing Umar with Kohli is a insult to Kohli. Umar was never that great. He would never play this long if he was a player of any test nation with his pathetic attitude and performance. Only in Pakistan player like him or Failsal or Farhat....... can play for years due to political influence

Let's not compare a cricketer who will be remembered about for generations with another who will be forgotten about as soon as he retires.

Come on, kohli won't be forgotten as soon as he retires, although he won't ever reach the popularity of umar akmal who will be remembered for generations as a twitter GOD :harby

Errm Kohli was the one I was on about when I said he will be remembered for generations.

Remember early part of Misba's career? May be he will come back at 35 and become a legend in his own right.

:)) Kohli is a do takkey ka player

Umar Akmal is ten trillion times better than him, it's doesnt seem that way because he can't get a stats boost on paratha wickets like Kohli babu

Cough, cough.

Why does this thread even exist? It's better to compare Kohli's tennis skills to Roger Federer than to compare Umar's cricketing skills to Kohli.

UA should print out this thread and present to PCB, " dekhiye, aaj bhi log muje Kohli se compare karte hai, ek aap log mere talunt ko nahi pehchan pa rahe ho".

This is such an epic thread that it deserves to be Permanently stickied on PP right at the top ... :D

UA can still make something of his career. He is the top run getter of PSL iirc. Kholi's fluke run is almost over.

People who admired umar akmals talent are same who think rohit is more talented than kohli. Basically if you can cow lash couple of huge sixes you are talented. Keeping the ball on the ground, picking gaps, temprament to build long innings, understanding and predicting what the bowler will bowl are not skills or talents

If only Umar akmal had as good mentors as Kohli has then he would have been twice as player as Kohli is today. Then we could have probably seen World No.1 player across all 3 formats :(
PCB is to be blamed for all this along with Misbah.

Well rounded post.

[UTUBE]_DwgF_o_MRw[/UTUBE]

i am always disappointed when only hitting sixes is defined as someone's talent. A great batsman has so many shots because he has the talent to keep the ball on the ground. In that case even miscued shots don't get you out. Umar akmals shots were always too risky. Slog over cow corner. Late cuts after late cuts. How often has he got out edging to the keeper trying to cut a ball coming in? No batsman, no matter how talented can middle 100% of balls. But if you play high risk shots you are bound to miss one even of you hit 3 boundaries in that over. The success and true talent lies in keeping the ball on the ground. Compare kohli, smith, root, williamson or any other successful batsmen with the likes of umar, rohit, etc and see who achieve their true potential

[MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION]

Excellent predictions.

The Akmal fans will still argue that Akmal would've been the next Kohli had it not been for evil Misbah/Waqar/PCB/whoever.

One guy works like an animal on all aspects of his game and trains like no tomorrow. The other guy was too busy blaming everyone else and uploading selfies onto Twitter.

After Umar Akmal's first three matches Anyone who thought that at any point in his career Umar Akmal was even in same league as Kohli doesn't understand anything about batting

After first Australia tour I knew Akmal was do takay ka player who doesn't have the brains

Esteemed posters on PP were jumping with joy and hailing him as next Viv after he struck Siddle for a few fours....

After Umar Akmal's first three matches Anyone who thought that at any point in his career Umar Akmal was even in same league as Kohli doesn't understand anything about batting

After first Australia tour I knew Akmal was do takay ka player who doesn't have the brains

Esteemed posters on PP were jumping with joy and hailing him as next Viv after he struck Siddle for a few fours....

Fully agreed. Lots of delusional posters on PP, they do think it does not take any effort to score in bilaterals or in chasing, as all the runs come in those in charity 😀😀😀

We thought he had both gears. He won us a game with gritty 30+ against WI where all others were failing. We couldnt see that he dont have the other gear.

I’m not really an extremist but anyone who needlessly bumps this irrelevant thread should be punished for trolling and spamming.

To put it straight it was not just the Pakistanis who thought Umar Akmal was the next Sachin but many of us neutral fans thought the same. In their first year in international cricket Umar was clearly above Kohli. No doubt he needed to do far more work on his game and attitude than he did at a time when he was busy choosing which lipstick is to be worn the next match to look like the funniest clown in the world but it is also true that the unprofessional Pakistani set up as well as some awful and useless seniors contributed too in him not growing enough

Kohli on the other hand was never the batsman he is today. Go watch his clips from 2005 maybe, he just had a good foundation like Umar did but had a much better work attitude and was blessed to have played with exceptional men like Sachin, Dravid, Laxman, Kumble etc who taught him professionalism and helped him grow as a player. Compare that to the illiterate chikoo tindey Umar played with.

It’s not something to laugh at. To me Umar Akmal’s story remains one of the saddest and most regretful. So I would judge you if you act indecently over it.

I’m not really an extremist but anyone who needlessly bumps this irrelevant thread should be punished for trolling and spamming.

To put it straight it was not just the Pakistanis who thought Umar Akmal was the next Sachin but many of us neutral fans thought the same. In their first year in international cricket Umar was clearly above Kohli. No doubt he needed to do far more work on his game and attitude than he did at a time when he was busy choosing which lipstick is to be worn the next match to look like the funniest clown in the world but it is also true that the unprofessional Pakistani set up as well as some awful and useless seniors contributed too in him not growing enough

Kohli on the other hand was never the batsman he is today. Go watch his clips from 2005 maybe, he just had a good foundation like Umar did but had a much better work attitude and was blessed to have played with exceptional men like Sachin, Dravid, Laxman, Kumble etc who taught him professionalism and helped him grow as a player. Compare that to the illiterate chikoo tindey Umar played with.

It’s not something to laugh at. To me Umar Akmal’s story remains one of the saddest and most regretful. So I would judge you if you act indecently over it.

What a party pooper.. What happened to you?

This is joke of a Thread :P

U Akmal is undroppable. He is part of LQ team and important member of it, whereas Kohli was not good enough to be picked by any franchise.

Kohli was also dropped from T20I against SA and stripped off the captaincy.

Umar should be compared to Don Bradman or Viv Richard :don:uak

This thread is proof that Pakistani batsmen peak during their first year, after which it's an inevitable downhill slide.

Time to watch Babar Azam closely, and the guy that follows. And then the guy after that.

This thread is proof that Pakistani batsmen peak during their first year, after which it's an inevitable downhill slide.

Time to watch Babar Azam closely, and the guy that follows. And then the guy after that.

Applicable to bowlers as well. Many bowlers fizzle out after a while.