UP: Teenage Dalit girl, who was gang-raped in Hathras, dies during treatment at Delhi Hospital

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Senior Test Player
The teenaged Dalit girl was in a critical condition when she was admitted to Safdarjung Hospital in Delhi. Previously, she was being treated at AMU's Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College and Hospital.

New Delhi: A 19-year-old Dali girl, who was allegedly gang-raped by four upper-caste men in Hathras district of Uttar Pradesh on September 14, succumbed to her injuries at a Delhi hospital on Tuesday.

The girl was shifted to Safdarjung hospital in Delhi for treatment. Previously, the victim had been undergoing treatment at AMU's Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College and Hospital. The doctors at AMU said the victim was in a critical condition.

Later, she was admitted to Safdarjung hospital after there was no improvement in her condition.

The accused had tried to strangulate the girl as she resisted their rape attempt. Police had recorded her statement on September 22. The victim stated that the accused sexually assaulted her when she had gone to gather fodder for animals.

Based on the complaint filed by the victim's brother, police had earlier registered a case against a man, identified as Sandeep, for an attempt to murder and under sections of the SC/ST Act.

However, after recording her statement, police also added charges of gang-rape to the FIR and booked three more people. So far, police have arrested four accused in the case.

The accused have been identified as Ramu, Sandeep, his uncle Ravi and friend Luv Kush. The victim's spinal cord and neck were damaged in the incident as she was strangled with her dupatta. The accused also allegedly bit the 19-year-old girl's tongue while assaulting her.

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/...ies-during-treatment-at-delhi-hospital/659559

Monstrous. My goodness me the details are so graphic and gory

Absolutely horrible tragedy!

Whatever happened to Beti Bachao Beti Padhao? Just another slogan in long list of slogans being minted in Feku's slogan factory!

When will that fake yogi be taken to task for all these crimes against women in "Uttam Pradesh"? Will Feku for once, show leadership qualities?

Absolutely horrible tragedy!

Whatever happened to Beti Bachao Beti Padhao? Just another slogan in long list of slogans being minted in Feku's slogan factory!

BBBP is not a slogan, but a scheme. As usual, you never do your homework. Also the outrage is directed at the wrong target. When there is a riot, will you show your anger at someone who says hindu muslim bhai bhai?

When will that fake yogi be taken to task for all these crimes against women in "Uttam Pradesh"? Will Feku for once, show leadership qualities?

State can never prevent crimes from happening. The best it can do is to catch and punish the criminals.

Motabhai can provide Y+ category security to someone like Kangana but there is no security for ordinary women from these barbarians.

NCW & Smriti Irani can blabber endlessly about Kangana's office being demolished by BMC and her alleged 'victimization' but won't speak about the deceased girl!

Has Feku found time to speak and take action on this issue? He does have enough time to discuss Delhi chole bhature vendors missing out due to Kohli being fitness freak and commenting about pregnancy of Anushka!

Hathras gang rape: India victim's death sparks outrage

A 19-year-old Dalit (formerly untouchable) woman has died after she was allegedly gang raped by four upper-caste men, sparking outrage in India.

The woman was admitted to a hospital in Delhi two weeks ago with several serious injuries.

The attack occurred on 14 September in the northern state of Uttar Pradesh. Four men have been arrested.

The news of her death has prompted many in India to take to social media and demand justice.

Police told local media that the four men had dragged the victim to a field in Hathras district, where they allegedly raped her. She was grievously injured in the attack.

The victim's brother confirmed her death to BBC Hindi, saying that no arrests had been made in the first 10 days after the incident took place. "She was left for dead. She fought for her life for 14 days," he said.

The family told the Indian Express newspaper that the main accused in the crime had always harassed Dalits in their area.

Opposition parties in the state have condemned the attack.

"The government should provide all possible help to the victim's family and ensure speedy punishment to the culprits by prosecuting them in a fast-track court," Mayawati, former Uttar Pradesh chief minister and Dalit politician, tweeted on Tuesday.

Akhilesh Yadav, another former chief minister, said the government was "insensitive" to crimes against women.

Dalit politician and activist, Chandrashekhar Azad, had visited the victim over the weekend. His party has now called for nationwide protests over her death.

Dalits are some of India's most downtrodden citizens because of an unforgiving Hindu caste hierarchy that condemns them to the bottom of the ladder. Despite laws that protect them, discrimination remains a daily reality for the Dalit population, thought to number around 200 million.

On Twitter, her death is among the top discussion trends, with many calling her the forgotten Nirbhaya, a reference to the gang-rape and murder in Delhi in 2012 that shocked the world.

The 23-year-old physiotherapy student was named Nirbhaya - the fearless one - by the press as she could not be named under Indian law.

Rape and sexual violence have been under the spotlight in India since the 2012 Delhi attack, which led to huge protests and changes to the country's rape laws. But there has been no sign of crimes against women and girls abating.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-54335895

Motabhai can provide Y+ category security to someone like Kangana but there is no security for ordinary women from these barbarians.

NCW & Smriti Irani can blabber endlessly about Kangana's office being demolished by BMC and her alleged 'victimization' but won't speak about the deceased girl!

Has Feku found time to speak and take action on this issue? He does have enough time to discuss Delhi chole bhature vendors missing out due to Kohli being fitness freak and commenting about pregnancy of Anushka!

How many personnel will be needed to provide security to every citizen? Can you provide a ballpark figure?

I thought it was fake but when I actually watched that video, I was like :facepalm

I think it is pretty clear Modi doesn't have time for ordinary people especially dalits. Compare his speech when there were handful of corona cases to these days when we have already crossed 6 million cases in India. And as I have said multiple times, crimes like these are pretty common in UP and Bihar but most of them don't get the attention from our third class media which is still busy in Sushant's case. They will most probably give 5-10 mins to this since it happened in Uttar Pradesh. Third class state and third class media of India supported by equally third class people in India.

Gareeb and downtrodden are soft targets for perverted hungry frustrated Men. That whole Eastern part of India is an abomination.

I thought it was fake but when I actually watched that video, I was like :facepalm

I think it is pretty clear Modi doesn't have time for ordinary people especially dalits. Compare his speech when there were handful of corona cases to these days when we have already crossed 6 million cases in India. And as I have said multiple times, crimes like these are pretty common in UP and Bihar but most of them don't get the attention from our third class media which is still busy in Sushant's case. They will most probably give 5-10 mins to this since it happened in Uttar Pradesh. Third class state and third class media of India supported by equally third class people in India.
Everything might be fake about him but not him uttering his inane bakwaas about things which doesn't concern 99% of Indians.

My god, I am out of words, how can anyone do this.... Wish I could cut the culprits heads off, ***** ...

Same downtrodden people will flock to vote for him, come elections at any level. And therein lies the biggest problem plaguing our country.

In Kerala where your Rahul Puppu is pretty influential, we recently had an alleged violent rape and molestation in the ambulance done by a male nurse on a sick patient.. SO whats the solution here sherlock...

People not voting according to your wishes may be your biggest problem, but the biggest problem(s) with the country is a corrupt and impotent judiciary and a vague and obsolete constitution.

I was being told that inauguration of Ram temple by the bigot will solve all our problems. Sadly, that wasn't to be.

Was she raped because she was Dalit? The article seems to imply that was the case and other women are safer. I don’t believe so when even a Swedish diplomat was raped.

The whole exercise of repeatedly pointing that she is Dalit is almost like ‘othering’ that woman and putting an image that other women are safe and this problem is not widespread.

Was she raped because she was Dalit? The article seems to imply that was the case and other women are safer. I don’t believe so when even a Swedish diplomat was raped.

The whole exercise of repeatedly pointing that she is Dalit is almost like ‘othering’ that woman and putting an image that other women are safe and this problem is not widespread.

Her caste cannot be ignored in this case, no one is othering that woman, but this seems like a case of discrimination as well.

Its about consequences, and there is discrimination towards Dalits because of the superiority complex among many casteist people.

Her caste cannot be ignored in this case, no one is othering that woman, but this seems like a case of discrimination as well.

Its about consequences, and there is discrimination towards Dalits because of the superiority complex among many casteist people.

Upper Caste women do not go out to work in those backward areas. Its the downtrodden castes that go out to work and become prey to hungry wolves.

I am not too sure about her caste being the reason she was raped unless the rapists know her and where she comes from.

Upper Caste women do not go out to work in those backward areas. Its the downtrodden castes that go out to work and become prey to hungry wolves.

I am not too sure about her caste being the reason she was raped unless the rapists know her and where she comes from.

If you as an internet poster sitting in America know that downtrodden castes go to work in those areas why wouldn’t these locals know her caste?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Contradicting the allegations of the victim's family and FIR, Hathras legislator Rajvir Diler said, “The girl herself told the police she hasn’t been raped. This is not a rape case.”<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GroundReport?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GroundReport</a> by <a href="https://twitter.com/akanksha_kumar3?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@akanksha_kumar3</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/NidhiSuresh_?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@NidhiSuresh_</a>.<a href="https://t.co/Mg0OgcLw34">https://t.co/Mg0OgcLw34</a></p>— newslaundry (@newslaundry) <a href="https://twitter.com/newslaundry/status/1310944922329989120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

“Once he barged into someone’s house and tore off the man’s earlobe in a fit of rage. These boys who are always drunk are spoiling our Thakur name,” he said. “They will bring us all down, they should be hanged. Only then can we live in peace here.”

- Most castes are terrible but Thakurs deserve a separate mention even now they are bothered about their name.

This is why communists fought , anarchy needed to wipe away this society.
[MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] since you will quote as to what discrimination do Thakurs do?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">HAPPENING NOW — <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hathras?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hathras</a> rape victim’s body has reached her native village, Boolgarhi in Hathras, where the horrific incident took place. SP, DM, Joint Magistrate all here accompanying the family. My camera person Wakar and I will get you all the updates all through the night <a href="https://t.co/VxEWDVVpsU">pic.twitter.com/VxEWDVVpsU</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311035509246894080?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> Major ruckus in the village right now. UP cops & officials forcing kin to cremate body overnight. Family begging that let us at least take the girl home one last time. Village people came in front of the ambulance, saying “we will not let you burn our girl forcibly” <a href="https://t.co/gHAv4Oq5Yd">pic.twitter.com/gHAv4Oq5Yd</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311036686160113664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> UP Police officials forcing grieving parents to cremate the body overnight saying “I’m from Rajasthan & in our culture we don’t keep the body for long. Baaki sab aap dekh lijiye”<br>Mother is begging in front of the cops, please let me take the body home once, only once <a href="https://t.co/aQjoTlvSvl">pic.twitter.com/aQjoTlvSvl</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311042247765323776?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> Can’t believe my ears. UP cop giving gyaan to inconsolable family - “riti riwaaz samay ke saath badalte hain. Aur aap log maaniye ki aap log se bhi galti hui hai” <br><br>Family begging “why are you not letting us take our daughter home for sometime? Why are you forcing” <a href="https://t.co/oRkinNmpzS">pic.twitter.com/oRkinNmpzS</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311048680384929797?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE - Right behind me is the body of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> victim burning. Police barricaded the family inside their home and burnt the body without letting anybody know. When we questioned the police, this is what they did. <a href="https://t.co/0VgfQGjjfb">pic.twitter.com/0VgfQGjjfb</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311054885970821121?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

If you as an internet poster sitting in America know that downtrodden castes go to work in those areas why wouldn’t these locals know her caste?

I know these cases because I was brought up in India and well aware of how landlords and big farmers take advantage of landless poor laborers from dalit community.

The culprits knew her.. Thakurs raping Dalits surely isn't surprising if caste is involved.

BJP UP govn... the body was taken without the consent of the brother who was at the hospital as reported by "Republic BJP ke Dalley TV channel" itself and has been burnt???

Yogi dhongi showed his caste bias after all.

“Once he barged into someone’s house and tore off the man’s earlobe in a fit of rage. These boys who are always drunk are spoiling our Thakur name,” he said. “They will bring us all down, they should be hanged. Only then can we live in peace here.”

- Most castes are terrible but Thakurs deserve a separate mention even now they are bothered about their name.

This is why communists fought , anarchy needed to wipe away this society.
[MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] since you will quote as to what discrimination do Thakurs do?

Sometimes a question is just a question, not a denial or a challenge to a statement.

You are mixing the naxalites with the 5 star communists. I have always supported naxalites and maoists, even though they are declared as terrorists by the govt. Not the wine sipping, constitution flashing urban communists which you see nowadays.

BJP UP govn... the body was taken without the consent of the brother who was at the hospital as reported by "Republic BJP ke Dalley TV channel" itself and has been burnt???

Yogi dhongi showed his caste bias after all.

Are you equally offended by rapes with other identities or is this your bias when the victim and perpetrators identities fall in this particular category?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">HAPPENING NOW — <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hathras?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hathras</a> rape victim’s body has reached her native village, Boolgarhi in Hathras, where the horrific incident took place. SP, DM, Joint Magistrate all here accompanying the family. My camera person Wakar and I will get you all the updates all through the night <a href="https://t.co/VxEWDVVpsU">pic.twitter.com/VxEWDVVpsU</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311035509246894080?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> Major ruckus in the village right now. UP cops & officials forcing kin to cremate body overnight. Family begging that let us at least take the girl home one last time. Village people came in front of the ambulance, saying “we will not let you burn our girl forcibly” <a href="https://t.co/gHAv4Oq5Yd">pic.twitter.com/gHAv4Oq5Yd</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311036686160113664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> UP Police officials forcing grieving parents to cremate the body overnight saying “I’m from Rajasthan & in our culture we don’t keep the body for long. Baaki sab aap dekh lijiye”<br>Mother is begging in front of the cops, please let me take the body home once, only once <a href="https://t.co/aQjoTlvSvl">pic.twitter.com/aQjoTlvSvl</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311042247765323776?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> Can’t believe my ears. UP cop giving gyaan to inconsolable family - “riti riwaaz samay ke saath badalte hain. Aur aap log maaniye ki aap log se bhi galti hui hai” <br><br>Family begging “why are you not letting us take our daughter home for sometime? Why are you forcing” <a href="https://t.co/oRkinNmpzS">pic.twitter.com/oRkinNmpzS</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311048680384929797?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE - Right behind me is the body of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasCase?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasCase</a> victim burning. Police barricaded the family inside their home and burnt the body without letting anybody know. When we questioned the police, this is what they did. <a href="https://t.co/0VgfQGjjfb">pic.twitter.com/0VgfQGjjfb</a></p>— Tanushree Pandey (@TanushreePande) <a href="https://twitter.com/TanushreePande/status/1311054885970821121?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Nothing is shocking in fake yogi's Uttam Pradesh. Yeah, we are a democracy!

If heads don't roll over this complete lawlessness in bhogi's pradesh and that too at seniormost level, then it basically means we are worse than North Korea.

Thank you bigot! You'll rot in hell!

According to the family, the police had at first accused the woman of lying about her injuries. The police had initially registered an attempted murder case but added rape charges only after the woman's formal statement a week after the incident, when she was able to speak.

This is horrible, absolutely horrible!

Where is justice for SSR gang? Can they direct even half of their efforts & time for this deceased girl?

According to the family, the police had at first accused the woman of lying about her injuries. The police had initially registered an attempted murder case but added rape charges only after the woman's formal statement a week after the incident, when she was able to speak.

This is horrible, absolutely horrible!

Where is justice for SSR gang? Can they direct even half of their efforts & time for this deceased girl?

Why should justice for SSR group do everything. Where are the other citizens who should be doing their duty instead of asking one group to do everything?

Absolutely horrendous this. The state is out to get you. Run for your lives.

Last rites of body performed against the wishes of family, at a place where family doesn't wish. Where have i heard this before?

Indians think that what they do in Kashmir will never be done to them.

Absolutely horrendous this. The state is out to get you. Run for your lives.

Last rites of body performed against the wishes of family, at a place where family doesn't wish. Where have i heard this before?

Indians think that what they do in Kashmir will never be done to them.
Blind bhakts will still find ways to defend this complete lawlessness. They're not bothered by anyone's plight, let alone Kashmiris.

Poor, poor girl and her poor, poor family.

This is the Ramrajya of Modi and his braindead bhakts

I don't understand why the police were in such a hurry to cremate?

Not to go into a conspiracy mission but could it be a cover up to protect higher ups who commited the horrible acts and end up picking random innocents to blame.

To be honest with you it is more surprising she was raped being a Dalit, as they are normally considered untouchable. Upper castes surely would not even consider eating from the same plate never mind having sexual intercourse from someone from such an impure lineage.

Therefore I am guessing perhaps she was too attractive to be considered as a Dalit in the usual sense, and perhaps these fellows misjudged what they were doing.

To be honest with you it is more surprising she was raped being a Dalit, as they are normally considered untouchable. Upper castes surely would not even consider eating from the same plate never mind having sexual intercourse from someone from such an impure lineage.

Therefore I am guessing perhaps she was too attractive to be considered as a Dalit in the usual sense, and perhaps these fellows misjudged what they were doing.

You have to understand the psycology of caste. When it comes to the display of power, rape is used as a weapon to display absolute domination over the inferiors. It has nothing to do with other rules of commensality or marriage. All it is is show of power and treating the inferior caste people as a petty, expendable commodity as and when the mood of the higher caste person dictates.

Are you equally offended by rapes with other identities or is this your bias when the victim and perpetrators identities fall in this particular category?

I would be aggravated yes, the only reason this is aggravating even more is the police action taken for funeral.

Ok, nothing wrong with having soft corner for a particular identity ( i don't feel the same for everyone). Yes, this was bad. Probably to preserve law and order, but all will be forgiven if there is a police encounter of the perpetrators.

Sometimes a question is just a question, not a denial or a challenge to a statement.

You are mixing the naxalites with the 5 star communists. I have always supported naxalites and maoists, even though they are declared as terrorists by the govt. Not the wine sipping, constitution flashing urban communists which you see nowadays.

So you have issue with college students supporting Naxalites?

You have to understand the psycology of caste. When it comes to the display of power, rape is used as a weapon to display absolute domination over the inferiors. It has nothing to do with other rules of commensality or marriage. All it is is show of power and treating the inferior caste people as a petty, expendable commodity as and when the mood of the higher caste person dictates.

I thought low castes were not even allowed to share the same wells for drinking water as higher caste hindus? Also remember reading something about a teacher sprinkling cow urine over low caste pupils in an elementary school. I thought untouchable literally meant no higher cast would want to touch a Dalit. But then this is of course the English term, perhaps something is lost in translation.

When it comes to punish or instill fear among low castes, there are no rules. Its as simple as that.

Protests have erupted in several parts of India after the body of a gang-rape victim was cremated late at night, against the wishes of her family.

The 19-year-old victim from the Dalit community – the lowest rung of the ancient Hindu caste system – was attacked and raped on September 14 in a field near her home in Hathras district, 100km (62 miles) from the capital, New Delhi, authorities said.

She died in hospital on Tuesday from injuries sustained during the attack. Police have arrested four men in connection with the rape.

The victim’s brother told Reuters news agency neither the police nor government officials sought the family’s permission to perform the last rites for the victim in her native village in Uttar Pradesh state at about 2am (20:30 GMT Tuesday) on Wednesday.

“We begged the authorities and police that we wanted to perform the last rites in the morning but they did not listen to us and the last rites were performed by them,” he said.

“We were put behind the barricades they formed using the police force. We could not even see the face of our dead sister.”

The victim and her brother are not being identified due to laws against naming victims of sexual violence.

Police and government officials in the woman’s home district did not respond to requests for comment.

The crime has caused outrage in India, where violence against women and those from so-called “lower castes” is endemic. The victim’s brother said the accused men were all members of a privileged caste in the village.

Uttar Pradesh, which is ruled by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), ranks as the most unsafe state for women in the country. Last December, a 23-year-old Dalit woman was set ablaze by a gang of men as she made her way to a court in Uttar Pradesh to press rape charges.

Meanwhile, protesters in Hathras were met by police who charged them with batons, a witness said.

Angry protesters, many wearing masks to protect themselves from the novel coronavirus, scuffled with police in New Delhi while in Kolkata, protesters burned a big picture of Yogi Adityanath, the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh who is is known for his anti-Muslim hate speech.

Adityanath has ordered a high-level police inquiry into the incident.

The case was the latest in a string of gruesome crimes against women in India that have given it the dismal reputation of being one of the worst places in the world to be female.

One woman reported a rape every 15 minutes on average in India in 2018, according to the latest government data released in January.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...lash-with-police-after-rape-victims-cremation

The death of a second Dalit woman in a few days after an alleged gang rape has shocked and angered India.

The 22-year-old was dragged into a vehicle after going to apply for admission at a local school and raped, her mother told the BBC.

The news follows the death of another Dalit woman, 19, on Tuesday after an alleged gang rape by upper-caste men.

Dalits are at the bottom of the caste system. Despite laws to protect them they face widespread discrimination.

Both attacks took place in the northern state of Uttar Pradesh. News of the first sparked protests in the streets in the state.

Police have registered complaints of rape and murder and arrested two men in connection with the latest case, which took place in Balrampur district.

The earlier attack happened some 500km (310 miles) away in Hathras district. The victim was grievously injured and died in a Delhi hospital on Tuesday after fighting for her life for two weeks.

Police said on Thursday that according to a forensic report the first victim was not raped. But a Delhi hospital recorded on admission that she was both raped and strangled on 14 September. The woman's family also said she had been raped - her mother telling media that she found her daughter naked, bleeding and seriously injured in a field.

The second victim also died on Tuesday but national media picked up the news on Thursday, after a heavy backlash on social media over sexual assault and caste violence in India.

Dalits, formerly known as untouchables, have suffered public shaming and attacks for generations at the hands of upper-caste Hindus.

Congress Leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi were stopped on a highway conecting Delhi and Uttar Pradesh while they were en route to Hathras. The leaders have alleged they were not only stopped but also lathicharged and "pushed to the ground". They were on their way to Hathras to meet the family of the gang-rape victim who died on Tuesday.

Gandhis began to march on foot when their cars were stopped by the police. Hathras Dalit girl gang-rape has created a political turmoil in Uttar Pradesh as the opposition and masses continue their protest and demonstration.

Atleast for the Delhi gang rape victim we were able to give a respectful last rite under the “previous government”. Unfortunately this poor dalit girl don’t deserve anything as per Yogiji’s government.

B6E18945-4E26-43AD-81E7-4F637174DFAD.jpg

May Allah ease her and her family’s pain and give her the highest position in heaven.

If Dalits don't rise up now they will never , Bhim Sena Zindabad Yogi Murdabad!

Dalit revolution is badly needed in cow belt states. South India has some issues too. But this kind of barbarity is not witnessed.

Until Hinduism gets rid of caste system completely, Dalit oppression will never go away. Better yet, get rid of these blind meaningless religions completely.

Dalit revolution is badly needed in cow belt states. South India has some issues too. But this kind of barbarity is not witnessed.

Until Hinduism gets rid of caste system completely, Dalit oppression will never go away. Better yet, get rid of these blind meaningless religions completely.

There is issue in South India as well, its subtle but its there, Vaaniyars and Dalits keep fighting.

I'm all for atheism, but freedom of religion means atheism cannot be forced down people's throats, China -Russia showed how a whole society can be transformed only using communism, even our communists are fake and hide behind democracy.

There is issue in South India as well, its subtle but its there, Vaaniyars and Dalits keep fighting.

I'm all for atheism, but freedom of religion means atheism cannot be forced down people's throats, China -Russia showed how a whole society can be transformed only using communism, even our communists are fake and hide behind democracy.

I am not saying Atheism should be forced on everyone. A progressive society will be Atheist anyway or just follows religion nominally.

I am not aware of Tamilnadu caste system. But are Vaaniyars Upper Caste or BC? Most rivalries I have seen is between Backward Castes and Dalits in Andhra Pradesh and Telengana.

I am not saying Atheism should be forced on everyone. A progressive society will be Atheist anyway or just follows religion nominally.

I am not aware of Tamilnadu caste system. But are Vaaniyars Upper Caste or BC? Most rivalries I have seen is between Backward Castes and Dalits in Andhra Pradesh and Telengana.

Yes similarly in TN, I'm all for atheism , rich society doesn't mean atheism, Gujaratis are rich doesn't mean they are atheists, Bengalis are progressive as well but again not atheists...

Monstrous. My goodness me the details are so graphic and gory

wait till the "humane treatment brigade" comes in and starts advocating "Rehabilitative justice" for these sick monsters, you know, lets use OUR tax money to provide them with free daily meals, free room and board, and free mental medical treatment, and then, put them into our communities to walk free among us.

New Delhi: All kinds of gatherings are banned tomorrow in and around India Gate in central Delhi, the police said today. However, a total of 100 people can be at Jantar Mantar, 3 km from India Gate, if they have permission of the "competent authority". "No gathering is permissible around India Gate due to imposition of Section 144 CrPC," the Delhi Police tweeted

A protest meet was planned at India Gate tomorrow for the 20-year-old from Uttar Pradesh's Hathras, whose gang rape and brutal torture had reminded many of Nirbhaya.

The choice of date was significant - October 2 is the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, who was among the first to raise voice for the cause of the oppressed members of the so-called lower castes. The woman, a member of the Scheduled Castes, had died on Tuesday at a Delhi hospital after fighting for her life for two weeks.

The case has evoked shock and outrage across the country and parallels have been drawn with the brutalisation of Nirbhaya, the 23-year-old Delhi woman eight years ago, which had the people hitting the streets in spontaneous protest. The biggest of these protests were held at Delhi's India Gate.

Over the last three days, intense criticism of the state government and demands for justice for the Hathras woman had poured out on social media.

Most political leaders from opposition parties have sharply criticised the Uttar Pradesh government. The list includes Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra from the Congress, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Bahujan Samaj Party's Mayawati, Samajwadi Party's Akhilesh Yadav, Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut among others.

The National Commission of woman has demanded a report from the state government and a plea has been filed in the Supreme Court seeking an investigation by the Central Bureau of Investigation or a Special Investigation Team.

The UP Police is under scrutiny over alleged lapses throughout the case. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said a three-member panel has been set up to investigate the matter and file a report within seven days.

The four alleged attackers of the woman, all belonging to the so-called upper castes, have been arrested.

The UP Police is under scrutiny over alleged lapses throughout the case. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said a three-member panel has been set up to investigate the matter and file a report within seven days.

----

Besharam Aadmi.. does anyone believe UP Police had the balls to do what they did without support from top? They burned the evidence , will probably report as she wasn't raped.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hathras incident: Forensic report makes clear the woman was not raped, says ADG (Law and Order) Prashant Kumar</p>— Press Trust of India (@PTI_News) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTI_News/status/1311616157346979842?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What happened here?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is how <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RahulGandhi</a>, top Congress leader, is tackled by Yogi’s police on Delhi-UP border to prevent him from meeting <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hathras?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hathras</a> victim’s family. Democracy in its dying throes! <a href="https://t.co/dwrI7RzSKA">pic.twitter.com/dwrI7RzSKA</a></p>— Sadiq ‘Sameer’ Bhat (@sadiquiz) <a href="https://twitter.com/sadiquiz/status/1311600626015653888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

----

Besharam Aadmi.. does anyone believe UP Police had the balls to do what they did without support from top? They burned the evidence , will probably report as she wasn't raped.

Been there. Done that.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55357;&#56393;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Thread?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Thread</a> on fact-check of another shameful act by UP Police- the Washing machine of UP govt<br><br>&#55357;&#56393;Watch ADG, L̶O̶L̶ Law & Order, saying no rape in Hathras just coz 'no sperms in samples'<br><br>&#55357;&#56393;Fact- In his own admission, sample was collected on Sept 25th, 11 days after the crime<br><br>1/3 <a href="https://t.co/9uCCgkrB8Y">pic.twitter.com/9uCCgkrB8Y</a></p>— Saahil Murli Menghani (@saahilmenghani) <a href="https://twitter.com/saahilmenghani/status/1311659806047064064?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55357;&#56393;Also, no sperm does NOT rule out rape. For example IPC says, any penetration against will to any extent into vagina/mouth/anus is rape. Even applying mouth to vagina/anus is rape.<br><br>&#55357;&#56393;As ADG, the officer ofcourse knows this. Yet, to save UP govt, he calls the victim a liar<br><br>2/3</p>— Saahil Murli Menghani (@saahilmenghani) <a href="https://twitter.com/saahilmenghani/status/1311659809297575936?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55357;&#56393;In her dying declaration, Hathras victim said she was gang-raped. Yet to save govt, Police did a press conference to deny rape<br><br>&#55357;&#56393;Rapes happen pan-India but for Police to rule rape out despite this & its overall cover-up to save its political bosses is what has led to outrage&#55357;&#56391; <a href="https://t.co/IIixzq0NtI">pic.twitter.com/IIixzq0NtI</a></p>— Saahil Murli Menghani (@saahilmenghani) <a href="https://twitter.com/saahilmenghani/status/1311660935749140486?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This fact check by <a href="https://twitter.com/saahilmenghani?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@saahilmenghani</a> needs to be read<br><br>- Samples for sperm detection collected 11 days after the crime<br><br>- Indian Penal Code says penetration against will is rape even without sperm detection<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hathras?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hathras</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HathrasHorror?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HathrasHorror</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Balrampur?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Balrampur</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Bulandshahr?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Bulandshahr</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JusticeForIndiasDaughters?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JusticeForIndiasDaughters</a> <a href="https://t.co/UE2R022KTi">https://t.co/UE2R022KTi</a></p>— Kanishka Raj Singh (@Kanishka183) <a href="https://twitter.com/Kanishka183/status/1311692693169270786?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Looks like some politicians kin may be involved in this rape. The quick cremation of the body and the intimidation of the victims family shows that. Hope the culprits get caught.

This is what I meant in post #40.

Feel sorry for the family to have to go through this and then be suppressed for wanting justice.

wait till the "humane treatment brigade" comes in and starts advocating "Rehabilitative justice" for these sick monsters, you know, lets use OUR tax money to provide them with free daily meals, free room and board, and free mental medical treatment, and then, put them into our communities to walk free among us.

[MENTION=7774]Robert[/MENTION] is one of these people that like to defend criminals without consideration for victims. He is the type of guy that would defend Jon Venables and Robert Thompson in the sad case of James Bulger.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hathras?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hathras</a> | "We have been completely locked up. Official beat up our uncle," says victim's brother. He says he had to run through the fields to hide from Police & speak to media. <a href="https://t.co/W1tKDm47Ha">pic.twitter.com/W1tKDm47Ha</a></p>— Mojo Story (@themojo_in) <a href="https://twitter.com/themojo_in/status/1311908949856116738?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Days after the death of a 19-year-old Dalit woman who was allegedly gang raped and assaulted in India's northern Uttar Pradesh state, a senior state police official appeared to imply the woman was not raped because semen was not found.

Additional Director General Prashant Kumar told reporters on Thursday that the forensic report had found "no semen or semen excretion" in the viscera sample of the victim, and the cause of death was due to "trauma caused by the assault".

Mr Kumar also claimed that the woman's family had not mentioned rape in the initial complaint. But in fact the victim had given a statement to the police in the presence of a magistrate in the hospital saying that she had been gang-raped. A dying declaration by a rape victim is admissible evidence in India's courts.

And he said there had been attempts to stir caste tensions and disrupt peace by "putting out twisted facts in the media" - possibly an allusion to the widespread coverage that the teenager, a Dalit, had been gang-raped and murdered by upper-caste men. Dalits sit at the bottom of India's caste system and are some of the country's most downtrodden citizens. They face widespread discrimination, despite laws to protect them.

Taken together, Mr Kumar's remarks appeared to suggest that the teenager was not raped, and that the reported absence of semen in the viscera sample was significant evidence.

Except it was not.

Seven years have passed since India introduced an anti-rape law which expanded the definition of rape to include oral sex and penetration with objects. The law also says explicitly that the absence of a physical struggle doesn't equal consent.

"The law is extremely clear about the definition of rape," Gopal Hosur, a retired senior police official, told me. "Police officers should not jump to conclusions. The presence or absence of semen by itself does not prove rape. We need a lot of other circumstantial and other evidence," he said.

Legal experts believe that remarks like Mr Kumar's might be because some of India's policemen are possibly still not aware of the nuances of the new law, or are carelessly lazy when defining it.

"The majority of officers are aware of the new law. But I think unlearning of the old colonial law has been slow. Even after extensive training, a small percentage of policemen still don't understand the new law," Mrinal Satish, a doctorate from Yale Law School who has extensively researched rape sentencing in India, told me.

Others believe that policemen end up making misleading statements because of media or even pressure from the government.

"India now has a very aggressive and intrusive media and on a day-to-day basis police are forced to answer questions on specific matters," Prakash Singh, a former chief of police in Uttar Pradesh, where the latest incident took place, told me. "When an officer mechanically says no semen has been found in a forensic sample, it's a remark which is neither here nor there and leads to more problems."

Also, doctors question the reliability of the forensic sample taken from the rape victim. The incident happened on 14 September. Eight days later, she gave a statement to the police saying she had been gang raped. The forensic sample - including vaginal swabs - was sent to the forensic laboratory on 25 September, 11 days after the incident.

India's exhaustive 73-page guidelines and protocols for medical examination of victims of sexual violence clearly say that if a woman reports the incident within four days - or 96 hours - of assault, all evidence including swabs should be collected.

The likelihood of finding evidence after three days - or 72 hours - is "greatly reduced", the guidelines say. They add that it is better to collect evidence up to 96 hours in "case the survivor may be unsure of the number of hours lapsed since the assault".

Also, the sperm - which is part of semen - can be identified only for 72 hours after the assault.

"So if a survivor has suffered the assault more than three days ago, please refrain from taking swabs for sperms," the guidelines say, adding that in such cases swabs should only be sent for identifying semen.

"The sample was not taken in time. What use does it have as any evidence now?" said Dr Hamza Malik, who works in the hospital in Aligarh city where the victim was admitted before being shifted to a hospital in Delhi.

Clearly, the latest case of sexual violence that has roiled India is already mired in allegations of tardy investigations, lax forensics and dubious statements by the police.

These factors, taken together, have raised suspicions of a cover-up. The fact that many Indians are still not informed enough about the rape laws doesn't help. "People are not educated about the law, and that adds to the confusion," said Dr Satish.

https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/world-asia-india-54370087?__twitter_impression=true

Seems like some big names are involved and a political cover up is in process

The arrogant patronizing tone of those cops especially the one with the fattened-with-corruption face. These same beggars would be wagging their tails around some bgrade actor.

The lack of sensitivity that they're talking to a family whose daughter has just been killed. Disgusting lowlives. We've all already forgotten the way the police in BJP-ruled states behaved with the public during the lockdowns.

Bisht being pulled up by even Uma Bharti of all people.

Senior BJP leader Uma Bharti urged Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath to allow politicians and media personnel meet the family members of the Dalit women who was allegedly gangraped in Hathras and later succumbed to her injuries in Delhi’s Safdarjung Hospital.

The BJP leader’s long thread of tweet comes soon after a Trinamool delegation which was on their way to meet the family was stopped on Friday. On Thursday, Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi were not allowed to visit Hathras and police cited the imposition of Section 144 as the reason of barring politicians. On Friday, the family members were not allowed to talk to media people as well.

Referring to the Hathras incident, Uma Bharti said she is certain that the CM is handling the situation deftly. “But the way police has locked the victim’s family offers various scope for debate and apprehension,” the veteran BJP leader wrote.

“The women belonged to a Dalit family. Police hurriedly conducted her last rites and now the family has been locked down. I don’t know of any rule that prohibits the family of a victim if SIT probe is going on. This will raise question over the SIT probe only,” Uma Bharti wrote.

Without mincing any word, Uma Bharti denounced the action of Uttar Pradesh Police and said UP police’s action will be tarnishing the image of not only the UP government, but also the BJP government. The BJP leader also alluded to the recent groundbreaking ceremony of the Ram temple in Ayodhya. “We are committed to bring Ram Rajya back in the country,” she wrote.

“Your image as the CM is very clean. I would request you to allow media personnel and politicians, including those from the Opposition to meet the family,” the veteran BJP leader wrote.

Had Uma Bharti not been Covid-19 positive, she would have visited the family members of the victim in Hathras. “After I get released from here, I will definitely meet the family members,” she wrote.

“I am senior to you in the party and I am also like your elder sister. I urge you to not dismiss my suggestions,” she added.

SOURCE

Bisht being pulled up by even Uma Bharti of all people.

SOURCE

Exactly what I just said to my friends, that UMA bharti is questioning Yogi, it has become that bad and my respect for UMA bharti has risen :facepalm: , unable to rationalize my anger.

Maybe the Right wing women are better than the men, if it has to be right wing.

What happened here?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is how <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RahulGandhi</a>, top Congress leader, is tackled by Yogi’s police on Delhi-UP border to prevent him from meeting <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hathras?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hathras</a> victim’s family. Democracy in its dying throes! <a href="https://t.co/dwrI7RzSKA">pic.twitter.com/dwrI7RzSKA</a></p>— Sadiq ‘Sameer’ Bhat (@sadiquiz) <a href="https://twitter.com/sadiquiz/status/1311600626015653888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Rahul Puppu's oscar winning acting right there..

Congress’ Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will meet the family of the 19-year-old Dalit woman, who was gang-raped and murdered in Hathras, along with other leaders on Saturday, a couple of days after they were stopped by the Uttar Pradesh police on their way to her village, the party said.

“Congress MPs under the leadership of former Congress President Shri. Rahul Gandhi will go to Hathras today afternoon to meet the grieving family of the 19-year-old daughter of Uttar Pradesh, who was brutally assaulted, murdered and the body cremated surreptitiously in the middle of night by Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government,” the party said in a statement.

“The Congress delegation led by Shri. Rahul Gandhi and Smt Priyanka Gandhi will meet the family members to hear their grievances and demand justice for the victim and her family who have been denied justice and severely traumatized by the BJP Government in their desperate attempt to hide the truth of the heinous crime perpetrated on the victim,” it added.

Rahul Gandhi and his sister and party general secretary Priyanka Gandhi were briefly detained on Thursday as they tried to visit Hathras on the grounds that there was a ban on public assembly in the area. The police took them to a guest house at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida before escorting them back to Delhi.

On Friday, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra attended a prayer meeting for the victim at a Valmiki temple in Delhi. She was joined hundreds of people, including Congress leaders PL Punia, Sushmita Dev, Anil Choudhary and BV Srinivas, to show solidarity with the woman. Priyanka Gandhi told reporters that she was at the event to express her condolences and offer prayers for the deceased. “We are all here to ensure that the girl gets justice. We will pressure the government to get her justice,” she said.

The state police have deployed officers around the village, preventing journalists from meeting the family amid allegations that authorities seized the phones of the victim’s relatives and put them under surveillance. Since early Thursday, police set up barricades roughly 2km from the village on the main road, blocked off all access paths and deployed policemen on the mud tracks and in the fields to prevent any “outsiders” from accessing the village.

The police have said that Section 144 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, which prohibits the assembly of four or more people, was clamped in the area. A senior officer said the ongoing probe by a Special Investigation Team (SIT) was the reason for the restrictions.

A four-member delegation of the Trinamool Congress, led by senior party leader Derek O’Brien, was also stopped on Friday by the police from going to the village of the gang-rape victim to meet her family.

Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath ordered the suspension of Hathras’ superintendent of police Vikrant Vir and three other police officers for their handling of the case. The chief minister took the decision on the basis of an initial report of the SIT.

The woman was allegedly raped by four dominant-caste men on September 14 when she had gone to the fields in her village to gather cattle fodder. She was left partially paralysed and admitted for treatment in the Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College of Aligarh Muslim University and then shifted to New Delhi’s Safdarjung Hospital when her condition did not improve. She died on Tuesday morning. The woman’s family has said she was forcibly cremated late in night.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...rape-victim/story-dLyGB2JsCXj31oaYEzxCrI.html

Five senior police officers have been suspended over their handling of an investigation into the alleged gang rape and murder of a 19-year-old Dalit woman that has sparked outrage across India and triggered days of protests.

The seriously injured teenager from the Dalit caste, formerly the “untouchables”, was found in mid-September outside her village in northern Uttar Pradesh state and died this week in a New Delhi hospital.

The police have arrested four higher-caste men on charges of gang rape and murder.

But the police have faced criticism for attempting to destroy evidence by cremating the woman’s body in the middle of the night – reportedly using petrol – against the wishes of her family and religious custom.

The teenager’s body was cremated in an open field on Wednesday (21:30 GMT on Tuesday) in Hathras, about 200km (125 miles) from the Indian capital, in the presence of police and other officials.

“We told the administration we want to cremate her in the morning as per Hindu rituals, but they did not listen to us. They locked us inside our home and burned her body,” the girl’s brother told Al Jazeera.

“We kept shouting from inside the house but they did not listen to us and cremated her using petrol. Petrol is never used for the last rites but why would they care?”

The family said they wanted to see the girl’s face once more before her cremation, but the authorities refused.

“The last time we saw her face was just after the post-mortem [autopsy] was done. They did not even accord us the basic dignity of allowing us to watch her face one last time,” her brother said.

A senior policeman on Thursday sparked outrage after claiming that a forensic report and an autopsy had shown that the woman had not been raped.

This contradicts statements from the victim and her mother and reported hospital findings, while experts said the forensic test was carried out too long after the attack.

Hundreds of police have also barricaded the village, preventing the woman’s family from leaving and journalists and opposition politicians from talking to them.

The family’s mobile phones have also reportedly been seized.

Officers suspended
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath late on Friday announced the suspension of the Hathras district police chief and four others.

The Hindu monk and close ally of Prime Minister Narendra Modi also announced that the victim’s family, the accused and the suspended policemen would all undergo lie detector and drug tests.

On Friday evening in the latest protest, approximately 500 people including the capital’s chief minister and a prominent Dalit politician gathered in central New Delhi demanding justice.

“We (women) are not actually free, even though India is independent,” Sanskriti, one of the women at the Delhi protest site told the AFP news agency.

“This is something I want to raise my voice against. And I just wish all the people get united and they understand that it is high time to do something about it,” she added.

The young woman’s death comes months after four men were hanged for the 2012 gang rape and murder of a student on a bus in New Delhi, in a case that came to symbolise India’s sexual violence epidemic.

On average, 87 rapes were reported in India every day last year, according to data by the National Crime Records Bureau, but large numbers are thought to go unreported.

https://www.aljazeera.com/amp/news/...-rape-investigation?__twitter_impression=true