Note: this_feature_currently_requires_accessing_site_using_safari
How can you make a playing 11 from this squad?? I can't even make a Hong Kong Six team!How come no one’s making there playing xi for Sunday
I'll be honest, in the mist and murk of Pakistan cricket, I'm not sure how much say a foreign coach gets. Im going to be brutally honest and say that if Gary Kirsten had full control, Azam Khan wouldn't have been there, but also having said this it's possible he brought into Azams PSL numbers.I wouldn't. He is a coach earning his keep, why select Adam khan? I'm sure he can overrule this. Why not have warm up matches? why not suggest to the PCB to start earlier so he can get acquainted with the team atleast 6-8 months before hand? These tournament coaches are just a big a problem as the players and PCB selectors.
No foresight, only here for the Pay cheque
In which case it's a failure on the PCB once again. If youre going to have a coach, especially someone who has the experience and knowledge as Gary Kirsten then you need to give him the tools to succeed, otherwise just select a player/coach and get on with losing and not taking the game seriously.I'll be honest, in the mist and murk of Pakistan cricket, I'm not sure how much say a foreign coach gets. Im going to be brutally honest and say that if Gary Kirsten has full control, Azam Khan wouldn't have been there, but also having said this it's possible he brought into Azams PSL numbers.
We all know how the PCB functions and exactly how much attention the Pak think tank actually takes into account the thoughts of a coach earning his keep.
jazakallah khair bhai. Yeah it's been a long time. Hope you are doing good.PCT are famous for bringing out of form players back into form, turning garbage into superstars and now looks like bringing ex TP posters back to the forum. We even had a guy making his first post after joining PP 8 years ago. Today is a historic day.
Welcome back.
Weren't you supporting Babar as captain before?But who told you that Pakistan will win matches after Babar become captain again?
And is this is what Amir was brought back for?
I support Babar as captain because he is the only realistic choice. There are no realistic alternatives.Weren't you supporting Babar as captain before?
Dude's proven to be dumb as a rock. Came back running when he was asked to captain again after the humiliation.
How dumb you have to be to accept that after knowing the reason why you got kicked in the first place was because of your dumb captaincy.
Biggest BS. There's Rizwan. There's Fakhar. There's Shaheen. There's Imad.I support Babar as captain because he is the only realistic choice. There are no realistic alternatives.
Haris is best choice bro, I watched acc emerging cup and yes acc emerging cup team in t20 and odi washes our current team, I 100% meant it.Biggest BS. There's Rizwan. There's Fakhar. There's Shaheen. There's Imad.
You can even get someone from domestic Cricket.
Babar: Acknowledge Meeeeeee.@Rana @mominsaigol I think after today's performance USA must be saying this to Pakistan in Roman Reign's voice "ACKNOWLEDGE ME"
Yea sure. But I'm generally in favor of making someone currently in the setup that is performing. Get in Harris and groom him for a year or two and then you can make him as your captain.Haris is best choice bro, I watched acc emerging cup and yes acc emerging cup team in t20 and odi washes our current team, I 100% meant it.
Agree with this, unless they're an absolute world beater, especially in Pakistan cricket culture where age/experience to the older man matters, you have to have played him for a couple of years atleast. Unless he has this big personality and is and absolute world class player who can back up his expectations with performances.Yea sure. But I'm generally in favor of making someone currently in the setup that is performing. Get in Harris and groom him for a year or two and then you can make him as your captain.
Well haris will have a year and onwards to improve.Yea sure. But I'm generally in favor of making someone currently in the setup that is performing. Get in Harris and groom him for a year or two and then you can make him as your captain.
The only positive is that the World Cup is taking place in the US and not in the UK. Otherwise, I would have ended up spending a fortune trying to catch as many matches in person and probably being gutted and angry at the end...this team and especially Babar do not deserve the adulation they get from us overseas fans...should stick to England
Put PSL back in UAE and let more domestic players represent and it'll fix alot of things.Agree with this, unless they're an absolute world beater, especially in Pakistan cricket culture where age/experience to the older man matters, you have to have played him for a couple of years atleast. Unless he has this big personality and is and absolute world class player who can back up his expectations with performances.
The PSL needs to become less diluted too, if Azam Khan, Chacha and Shadab are the best we can produce we are in trouble.
More than that we need leadership and management that recognizes diamonds. Once Harris was recognized as one why was he dropped?Agree with this, unless they're an absolute world beater, especially in Pakistan cricket culture where age/experience to the older man matters, you have to have played him for a couple of years atleast. Unless he has this big personality and is and absolute world class player who can back up his expectations with performances.
The PSL needs to become less diluted too, if Azam Khan, Chacha and Shadab are the best we can produce we are in trouble.
POTW. Genuinely, This was a quality written post.More than that we need leadership and management that recognizes diamonds. Once Harris was recognized as one why was he dropped?
Why after a successful WT20 he only got handful matches that too on rank turner surface against Afghanistan. On the other hand likes of Saim and Azam got too many. And they still couldn't do anything.
It's not just about looking at last season PSL performers and making your team. You gotta to keep your diamonds close and polish them. As you know they will deliver on the biggest stage as they have done before.
You see in India Hardik doesn't perform as much. He is the captain for MI and Rohit is under him. Despite all this Rohit knows his diamond and fully backs Hardik. When the big stage comes. Hardik delivers.
So in other words, PCT underestimated the americans.
I think it needs to be half and half. You have to give young children something to watch, to look up to , to engage and inspire them into the game. PSL doesn't need to be moved, they just need to create good pitches that help the development of their game.Put PSL back in UAE and let more domestic players represent and it'll fix alot of things.
These pindi road pitches don't help anyone. Pcb is mistaken to think IPL is grooming players. IPL is for entertainment, Indian players improve by playing ranji trophy
two ducks are the Pakistani playersJokes apart. This Netravalakar is not a total journeyman. He has some skill. He took 6 for 9 in the Major league cricket. Look at the wickets he took.
Scotland field much better, run faster between wickets, take catches, far fitter team generally.... in many facets of the game they're much better than Pakistan honestly.From here on I am gonna support my Scotland in the tournament. As least they will try their best. We looked good against England too. Forza Scozia makes us proud I am just fed up with Pak too my back teeth. These bunch of over weight and unfit losers always let us down.
We've always had shambolic and horrendous matches but we lost to the USA! That's a catastrophe and indefensible.A shambolic performance.every single player had a horrendous match.
Good shout, they play with heart, could have beaten Eng if it wasn't for rain. I'm supporting them at the Euros so hope they win against Germany next week opener.From here on I am gonna support my Scotland in the tournament. As least they will try their best. We looked good against England too. Forza Scozia makes us proud I am just fed up with Pak too my back teeth. These bunch of over weight and unfit losers always let us down.
More like BCCI ja saazish hai.Ye amreeka ki saazish hai
We always have been under the control of the US.to be honest every single player Baring Shadab and Naseem were were very poor.We've always had shambolic and horrendous matches but we lost to the USA! That's a catastrophe and indefensible.
Indian team selection is a joke . You need Einstein level thinking to make sense of the team selections.Yes, we have an average team in this world cup. Out of form and declining players are not fit for T20 game.
Is he wrong though?Kamran Akmal on ary news lobbying for umar akmal return.. rip Pak cricket
they made the right choice (sort of) with regards to that. I don't want babar batting in the super over , he isnt an explosive batsmenIs he wrong though?
What is this ? Your captain and his bestie too scared to bat in a super over!
So why is he batting in the powerplay? Why is it his birthright to bat in the powerplay?they made the right choice (sort of) with regards to that. I don't want babar batting in the super over , he isnt an explosive batsmen
I think that’s super unfair to US cricketers but it is what it is.
Bro, I think we are going to beat India.If we play like this vs India we'll lose by 150 runs or 10 wickets and 12 overs
The old format had hybrid model, Some games in UAE and some games in Pakistan. It was the right idea as many times tourmaline are double hosted and players need to get used to travelling excessively amd avoiding jetlagI think it needs to be half and half. You have to give young children something to watch, to look up to , to engage and inspire them into the game. PSL doesn't need to be moved, they just need to create good pitches that help the development of their game.
I used to think it's about a lack of money that the bigger nations can invest in. The PSL brings in millions for the PCB, if they are serious about setting up a good national team they need to make the right investments and remove politics. I think their hand maybe forced soon, if there is a weak national team eventually their cash cow the PSL will suffer.
Only when money is impacted will the fat cats in the PCB actually do something
We just beat Namibia, mubarak ho ! Pak would have lost to them for sure!Good shout, they play with heart, could have beaten Eng if it wasn't for rain. I'm supporting them at the Euros so hope they win against Germany next week opener.
Thank God for Euros.
He can only start his work after the WC. He needs 2 years to prepare a team.Too early to judge Kirsten right now. Needs some time before he begins making tough calls.
It was a ton of fun today. Huge games next week vs India and Ireland, we only need 1 win to go to a super over, but if we play the way you did today against India the chances are there. I can surely say one thing though...Wow!! What a day! A really historic achievement for the USA team. Watched the whole game live and a great match. The most amazing day for me in the USA cricket history. Never thought I would witness this epic day. Honestly it all got very emotional at the end. Seeing your home team win against all odds against a former WC winning team- will cherish this memory for a long long time!!
Partying this weekend celebrating the win ! Full of exciting emotions now! Hope we go on to beat ind and Ireland and go to super 8 stage. Still a long long shot to beat ind but we can dewam I guess just like before today's game. Was surprised at the way USA played. Didn't seem to be like an associate nation playing. They actually dominated 90 per cent of the game. Only some nerves at the end slowed them down. Honesty they should have finished it by 19th over itself. But they held their nerve and composure though... still in ecstasy land!! Great day day for USA cricket and USA supporters!!
Yeah a memorable game. Just need one more win to to the next stage. But yes beating Ind would be a huge morale booster and will make the USA believe they belong at the international stage. And will also give them great visibility and eyeballs because any Ind game garners the most eyeballs. It's going to be a cracker jacker of a game if USA turns up and upsets the calculationsIt was a ton of fun today. Huge games next week vs India and Ireland, we only need 1 win to go to a super over, but if we play the way you did today against India the chances are there. I can surely say one thing though...
India may have more talent than us, more skill, more poise, but there isn't a chance in heck they will outwork us. They better have their guard up because this USA team believes in itself and each other.
Yeah a memorable game. Just need one more win to to the next stage. But yes beating Ind would be a huge morale booster and will make the USA believe they belong at the international stage. And will also give them great visibility and eyeballs because any Ind game garners the most eyeballs. It's going to be a cracker jacker of a game if USA turns up and upsets the calculations
Kirsten might be looking for reasons to quit right about now.He can only start his work after the WC. He needs 2 years to prepare a team.
I watched the match on TV. Really it was unbelievable to see the way USA didn’t let Pakistan dictate the game for the most part. In patches their inexperience showed up but they held their nerve in the end. I hope US beats India too and top the group. That would be shock of all time that USA topping the group.The USA played better cricket. It was not Pakistan's fault TBH. It was the USA's brilliance in the field and their FULL-OF-SENSE batting that won them this game. Deserved it. Well done.
Babar made wrong choices as usual. No hopes from this team.
Pak bowling is the worst these days if they are losing to C teams and associates. All of their fitness is dodgyRelax guys, with Pak bowling 140 would be more than enough for USA team aka NRI patel 11 team.
you are comparing ODI team with T20 team. Obviously they were better on paper in ODI cricket.The team that lost against Ireland was a decent team, full of great players (see attached)...the current squad is one of the worst I have seen
Chacha taking his time, Old people are slow after all.Any idea why the batsmen took so long coming out in the super over?
Misbah as team director is suicide. He's the one who groomed Bobby as captain, established the ba/riz opening pair and creating the dosti yaari culture.I know we all are dejected after the shock loss to USA yesterday in T20WC. Of all tournaments in the world losing to a minnow in WC is absolutely not on. However the surprising thing in here is that Pakistan is actually losing one game to a minnow every world tournament for the past 3 tournaments or so, this is a shocking stat.
We all are aware of the problems eating up on Pakistan cricket at the moment. This thread is to prioritise the main problems so that our emotions don't end up spending more time on issues that are lower in priority list. I'm suggesting the priority list as follows: significant and medium/low risk problems where significant needs to be addressed at earliest.
Significant problems:
1. Politics / friendship / influence in Pakistan team: At the moment PCB does not have an authority figure that can end up taking decisions on merit. We have Naqvi blabbing and passing statements with little to no effect on anyone, Wahab acting like a boss in PCB (small man for a big office and results are horrible) and Babar living rent free in his head as captaincy (the guy is absolutely clueless and have no plans whatsoever). To help Pakistan cricket grow we need an authority figure in PCB that can actually hold everyone accountable and on whom we believe to end up taking correct decisions on merit. Not many names come to mind but I would not mind having Misbah as team director, or Hafeez with utmost authority in PCB. The reason I suggest names of Misbah and Hafeez is largely because they had a principled career with no significant controversies and to be honest they are recent players and don't have dinosaur thinking like most officials in PCB.
2. Accountability / bench strength / focus on domestic / cricketing reasons for selections: At the moment I personally believe most of the selections are driven by non-cricketing reasons behind them. Azam Khan having social media influence or hangs out with celebs would have pushed his selection from influence. Shadab, Hasan and Haris have zero accountability over their performances. Quite literally these lads have zero performances and also zero performance in domestic to warrant a continued selection. Imad and Amir literally selected to avoid backlash or them bad mouthing in media in case of non-selection. Usman Khan selected literally after just a handful of PSL games, at least let the guy perform consistently in domestic to ensure he is not one tournament wonder. I have literally listed almost entire XI here now imagine if these many names didn't had any major cricketing reason behind their selection then how can you expect them to do better on cricketing grounds.
Add to above further we have Abrar who is legit our ace spinner and yet the guy is due to represent Pakistan in a game of importance for almost 2 years that included a WC in subcontinent where he wasn't selected at all. Zaman Khan and Mohammad Wasim have been doing the donkey work for this team as a filler in these embarrassing moment yet they are easy targets to sacrifice. Abdullah Shafique is next big thing in out batting yet struggles to find space above guys like Azam Khan. We have selected Irfan Niazi in meaningless games but was discarded for no reason (btw this guy is an ace fielder something which can help this idiot team). Mohammad Haris is a legit difference maker in T20s yet politics mean he shouldn't be in the team. Maybe if we correct these basic things we can be a principled team that can help us progress.
3. Roles in the team / Think tank: The least PCB can do is hire anyone literally from any nationality who can understand the game and pass on relevant messages. Gary Kirsten is one such person but he needs to have more authority than just be a face in dugout. I distinctly remember Gary passing message immediately in last over of Haris Rauf when catch was dropped by Shaheen suggesting to Babar that Haris is bowling full its best option to have long off rather than mid-off as that is where likely ball is suppose to go at that length. Babar being clueless disregarded that advice and lo and behold where did final ball go for boundary? correct over mid-off. Stupid people taking important decision will result in failure. Authoritative and on merit persons taking such decisions might yield better results.
Medium / low risk problems:
1. Batting order: Its now quite evident that Babar + Rizwan as opening duo hasn't worked for Pakistan in the past 2 world cups so why will it work now? One of them has to bat lower at 3 just to ensure we end up playing full 20 overs and not get bowled out or have Shaheen in the middle by 15th over. Imagine any nation not able to bat 20 overs what level of failure is that. Shadab batting at 5, Shaheen always in the middle by 15 overs. Usman, Azam and Ifti are similar as non-existent cricketers. Everything about our batting just sucks and the worst part is on our best days we are a team not capable of scoring 175+. This means on our best days our batters will still set us up for failures.
2. Where is our spinner: I'm quite perplexed at the constant omission of Abrar from playing XI. We are repeating the same mistakes which is to play 2 spin all rounders i.e. Shadab + Nawaz now Shadab + Imad rather than playing one genuine spinner. Every team has a genuine fielder in their team and Pakistan of all teams should be aware as to how crucial it is to have a full time spinner playing for them. Yet we end up in a situation where we hope that our spin allrounders would give us some runs with bat and ball decent and we end up losing on both grounds yet we repeat our mistake.
3. Fielding, field placements, dropped shoulders, lack of motivation: What are our boys doing in the middle? There is absolutely no one in yesterday's game that seemed interested in the game and wanted to bring out the best. There was a lot of shouting, finger pointing, dropped heads. It seemed players were simply mentally stunned. For god's sake act like a top team and start believing in yourself. The players are more stressed about what is going to happen post game whilst in the middle playing. We need some sort of motivational speaker who can at least bring the best out of this poor bunch.
Lastly from a neutral point of view this is a bunch of individual packaged together as a team yet we are expecting team results from them. When you are an individual and not part of the team your focus is always on individual glory and not team glory. As long as individuals dominate our cricket setup there will be lack of success for the team.
As for me, the only thing that can prop Pakistan cricket out of this mess is someone controversy free with good cricketing intellectual at the helm. I personally believe Misbah is a good choice for that role, hell even Hafeez might be a decent shout. As they say in corporate culture setting the tone at the top helps cascade the message down for everyone. This is exactly what we need right now.Misbah as team director is suicide. He's the one who groomed Bobby as captain, established the ba/riz opening pair and creating the dosti yaari culture.
Chacha was an absolute nobody and wasn't even a centrally contracted player before 2020 but ended up randomly coming back and is now considered as the best finisher ever.
And misbah had multiple controversies and outbursts in interviews. Infact chacha and fakhar opening in superover was a move made by misbah years ago that caused us to lose against Zimbabwe. He was rightfully sacked.
As much as people don't like the answer, YK is the best solution irrespective of Oathgate. He's the only one who can actually keep ego's in check but talking back to him means he'll drag you through the mud with a knife to your throat.
The 2nd option and most likely option is hafeez.
It's obviously they were arguing who should come out to bat.Any idea why the batsmen took so long coming out in the super over?