[VID/PICS] Pakistan will stand by Kashmiris even if the world doesn't, says PM upon return from UN

Prime Minister Imran Khan and Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi returned to Islamabad on Sunday after wrapping up their trip to the United States to attend the 74th session of the United Nations General Assembly in New York.

A large number of party workers and supporters gathered at the capital's airport to welcome the premier.

Banners and posters, some praising Imran Khan and others highlighting the plight of Kashmiris who remain under an India-imposed lockdown, were put up at the Islamabad airport and on the main thoroughfares in the city.

Loud cheers could be heard as the prime minister made his way to the main hall to speak to the people.

"First of all, I thank my nation. The way you prayed for me, for us, to be able to present Kashmir's case before the UN," began the prime minister.

"I especially thank Bushra bibi because she prayed a lot for us."

He asked the people to remember that Pakistan is standing with Kashmir. "Whether the world stands with Kashmiris or not, Pakistan is standing by them.

"And we are standing by them because we want to please Allah."

Speaking of the lockdown which has been in place since August 5 in occupied Kashmir, he said: "India has trapped eight million people under a curfew.

"I want to remind you that a struggle goes through highs and low. There are good times and bad times — ghabrana nahi hai (don't worry). Because Kashmiris are looking towards you, and God willing, they will win, they will get independence.

"All Kashmiris, their women and children, are looking to Pakistan and its people. We will expose this fascist Modi's government, this Muslim hating government, on every platform."

"I've said this before to you," said Prime Minister Imran: "Koshish insaan karta hai, kamyabi Allah deta hai (effort is made by man, success is given by God)."

Earlier, senior leaders of PTI welcomed the premier and Foreign Minister Qureshi.

Among the first to greet the premier were Defence Minister Pervez Khattak, chief spokesperson Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan, senior leader Asad Umar and Sindh Governor Imran Ismail.

Ahead of the premier's arrival in Pakistan, Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Information and Broadcasting Dr Awan had announced that members of the party and leaders would give a grand reception to the premier.

PTI leader Jahangir Khan Tareen had also called on people to give Prime Minister Imran a "hero's welcome", saying: "PM IK fought Kashmir's case like a true hero. His unequivocal speech at the UNGA helped transform Pakistan's image globally."

After Imran's maiden visit to the US as prime minister in July, he received a jubilant welcome by senior party leaders and PTI workers amid slogans and applause. His return had coincided with the first anniversary of the 2018 general election.

Technical issue with plane
The prime minister departed from New York on Saturday onboard Saudi Airlines flight number SV20 and reached Jeddah earlier today, where he had a brief layover.

On Friday evening, the prime minister had taken off from New York's John F Kennedy International Airport in a special jet placed at his disposal by the Saudi government, but it flew back in a couple of hours to have a technical fault fixed.

The prime minister, who led the Pakistan delegation at the UNGA, had waited at the airport for some time while technicians tried to fix the fault, but more work was needed and they decided to complete it by Saturday morning.

Meanwhile, Ambassador Lodhi had escorted the prime minister back to the Roosevelt Hotel where he had stayed during his hectic seven-day trip.

Mission Kashmir
During his “Mission Kashmir” visit to New York, the prime minister addressed the 193-member UNGA, attended UN summit meetings, met a number of world leaders on the sidelines of the session, including United States President Donald Trump, addressed think-tanks and interacted with international media.

His speech at UN was widely well received in Pakistan.

Before leaving for JFK for his first attempt to fly out of New York, the prime minister met UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres on Friday and discussed the Kashmir situation with him as well.

A statement issued by the Prime Minister’s Office said Imran commended Guterres “for his clear articulation of the UN position on Kashmir dispute”.

The UN chief during the meeting reiterated his deep concern over the human rights and humanitarian situation in occupied Kashmir, the press release said.

Guterres said that he would “remain engaged on the issue” and conveyed that his offer to help facilitate a peaceful solution of the Kashmir issue continued to stand.

The prime minister also presented photographs of sculptor by Pakistani artist Amin Gulgee, which is now placed in the UN rose garden.

“This very beautiful monument of a great artist, Amin Gulgee, will remain forever in the UN premises,” said a statement issued by the secretary general’s office after the presentation ceremony.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1507820/p...-the-world-doesnt-says-pm-upon-return-from-un

5d908cf95ad81.jpg

5d90ad032ac8f.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM Khan has landed in Islamabad after concluding his successful visit to the US where he delivered a historical speech in the 74th session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on Sept 27.<br><br>FULL SPEECH: <a href="https://t.co/g5YJTOuqfJ">https://t.co/g5YJTOuqfJ</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ARYNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ARYNews</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WelcomeHomePMIK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WelcomeHomePMIK</a> <a href="https://t.co/KPXKmCxQEd">pic.twitter.com/KPXKmCxQEd</a></p>— ARY News (@ARYNEWSOFFICIAL) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARYNEWSOFFICIAL/status/1178310940284084224?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 29, 2019</a></blockquote>

Never doubt. Pakistan will always support our Kashmiri brother, Insha Allah.

We will always support their struggle for freedom against fascist Hindu invasion.

Seems like he's won the World Cup again :)

Never doubt. Pakistan will always support our Kashmiri brother, Insha Allah.

We will always support their struggle for freedom against fascist Hindu invasion.

Hindus invaded kashmir? Lolz. Look at where the world has come man. Hindus invaded kashmir. I mean what to reply here. At least respect your ancestors when you speak these sort of things.

Pakistani friends your economy is doomed. pM khan is emotional man.he is only making sure that India fight every inch to make Pakistan suffer everywhere. Pakistan can't afford.

PM of Pakistan
Ambassador of Kashmir
Champion of Humanity
Icon of masculanity
Advocate of Justice

Never has the Asian bloc seen a leader who combined all these aspects after the great Jawahar Lal Nehru.

Pakistani friends your economy is doomed. pM khan is emotional man.he is only making sure that India fight every inch to make Pakistan suffer everywhere. Pakistan can't afford.

When was our economy ever strong?

At least no one is stealing public funds these days. Things will slowly get better for Pakistan.

Doesn't matter what I say is historically accurate or not but the fact remains: Kashmiris will never accept Indian occupation.

PM of Pakistan
Ambassador of Kashmir
Champion of Humanity
Icon of masculanity
Advocate of Justice
Symbol of Sex

Never has the Asian bloc seen a leader who combined all these aspects after the great Jawahar Lal Nehru.

At least he is not incarcerating 8 million people and never participated in murders of a religious minority.

Good luck! That’s been happening for the last 70 odd years after all.

Your own economy is plummeting as well, and before you run your mouth go put your own house in order. You have more poor people than we have people, and half your population is defecating out in the open. So moral of the story do not step out of your auqaat and do not call us "friends"

The only Ind reply seems to be that the world doesnt care and thus we are free to humiliate and kill innocent Kashmiris- hence the brilliant reply by the Kaptaan today. Nobody cared about Apartheid in the 50`sand 60`s, a few began to raise their voices in the 70`s, by the 80`s the world was aware and by the 90`s it was dismantled.

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari on Sunday accused "selected media and commentators" of "hyping up" Prime Minister Imran Khan's speech at the United Nations General Assembly's (UNGA) 74th annual session, saying that the premier did not make a strong case for the plight of occupied Kashmir's residents.

"Our selected prime minister is being appreciated on our selected media, but those who know about the plight of Kashmiris as well as the history of their struggle, understand that Pakistan's government can play a vital role for our Kashmiri brethren," Bilawal said.

The PPP chief criticised Prime Minister Imran's address at the UNGA, saying that it was a "pre-scheduled speech that we knew he will deliver before [India's August 5 move] took place".

Bilawal said that the premier should have focused solely on the Kashmir crisis instead of bringing up other issues. Bilawal also regretted that the prime minister did not emphasise the disputed status of the Kashmir territory in his speech, saying that "some people might think that you have accepted this status quo".

"This is a compromise that Pakistani people cannot tolerate," Bilawal said. The lawmaker said that while it was important to highlight the human rights violations in occupied Kashmir, the premier should also have talked about UN's resolutions that grant Kashmiri residents the right to self determination.

Bilawal repeated his party's stance that the prime minister had not done enough to highlight the situation in occupied Kashmir, that has been under an unprecedented lockdown since India repealed the region's special status on August 5.

"How many countries has he [prime minister] visited since" Article 370 was repealed, Bilawal asked.

"No matter how much our selected media and commentators laud and celebrate the premier's speech, Pakistani public does not feel the same passion, they are disappointed."

On Friday, Prime Minister Imran had lashed out against India's Hindu-nationalist government in his maiden address at the UNGA session for its atrocities against Kashmiri residents and the ongoing lockdown in occupied Kashmir. In his 50-minute speech, the premier had also discussed climate change, Islamophobia and international tax havens.

"You know how in North Korea, every time the leader makes a speech or issues a statement, people are made to line up on the streets, and they clap [for the government], anchors are made to sit before cameras on TV and they laud. This is what is happening in Pakistan," Bilawal told reporters in Sehwan. His remarks came less than an hour before Prime Minister Imran returned to Pakistan from a busy New York visit.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1508027/b...h-criticises-selected-media-for-creating-hype

So I did watch the return earlier today. I was so pleasantly surprised to expressions of the public gathered to greet him. The general public not only packed that limited space at airport but were so genuinely happy it just bought a smile to my face seeing them express their expressions.

Imran is getting to a stage where he will be regarded as a world leader.

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari on Sunday accused "selected media and commentators" of "hyping up" Prime Minister Imran Khan's speech at the United Nations General Assembly's (UNGA) 74th annual session, saying that the premier did not make a strong case for the plight of occupied Kashmir's residents.

"Our selected prime minister is being appreciated on our selected media, but those who know about the plight of Kashmiris as well as the history of their struggle, understand that Pakistan's government can play a vital role for our Kashmiri brethren," Bilawal said.

The PPP chief criticised Prime Minister Imran's address at the UNGA, saying that it was a "pre-scheduled speech that we knew he will deliver before [India's August 5 move] took place".

Bilawal said that the premier should have focused solely on the Kashmir crisis instead of bringing up other issues. Bilawal also regretted that the prime minister did not emphasise the disputed status of the Kashmir territory in his speech, saying that "some people might think that you have accepted this status quo".

"This is a compromise that Pakistani people cannot tolerate," Bilawal said. The lawmaker said that while it was important to highlight the human rights violations in occupied Kashmir, the premier should also have talked about UN's resolutions that grant Kashmiri residents the right to self determination.

Bilawal repeated his party's stance that the prime minister had not done enough to highlight the situation in occupied Kashmir, that has been under an unprecedented lockdown since India repealed the region's special status on August 5.

"How many countries has he [prime minister] visited since" Article 370 was repealed, Bilawal asked.

"No matter how much our selected media and commentators laud and celebrate the premier's speech, Pakistani public does not feel the same passion, they are disappointed."

On Friday, Prime Minister Imran had lashed out against India's Hindu-nationalist government in his maiden address at the UNGA session for its atrocities against Kashmiri residents and the ongoing lockdown in occupied Kashmir. In his 50-minute speech, the premier had also discussed climate change, Islamophobia and international tax havens.

"You know how in North Korea, every time the leader makes a speech or issues a statement, people are made to line up on the streets, and they clap [for the government], anchors are made to sit before cameras on TV and they laud. This is what is happening in Pakistan," Bilawal told reporters in Sehwan. His remarks came less than an hour before Prime Minister Imran returned to Pakistan from a busy New York visit.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1508027/b...h-criticises-selected-media-for-creating-hype

This filth needs to shown his place too.

I'm just waiting for him to slip a cornered tiger reference to burn all the haters.