[VIDEO] 2023 World Cup Final Presentation

Saj

Chaotic, disorganised and rather embarrassing wasn't it?

The likes of Ravi Shastri seemed to be in shock that India had lost.

Cummins left with the trophy on his own, Jay Shah seemed horrified at the fact that India had lost.

The umpires for some unknown reason being booed.

The whole day seemed to be geared towards a home win, but it all went pear-shaped didn't it.

It didn't give the tournament great look did it.

Ravi Shastri was presenting as if he had seen a ghost

Jay Shah’s disappointment couldn’t be masked

the awkward moment when Cummins was left alone on the stage without his team for 1 minute…

I think this was because BCCI wanted to avoid Australian players pushing Modi off the stage so that they could get their celebrations going with the trophy.

This whole event was embarassing and should be a wakeup call for the Indian public. The current government cannot do anything right and it includes the people appointed to run cricket in the country.

Compare this to the awesome, memorable event organized by Qatar last year. Now that was a world cup with excellent planning and organization. India is cleary still a third world country and they can never reach that next level until they bring the right people into government.

It was one of the most pathetic ceremonies ever.

It was obvious that the presentation was made towards India winning. They had all the drones making images of India's map (that included pakistani territory for some odd reason), than the Indian flag.

There was no Australian map or flag drawn by the drones.

Than the presentation itself was hilarious. Ravi Shastri standing there with a swollen face trying to get the whole presentation over with, not even smiling. The people smiling were the emirates cabin crew. He rushed trough the whole presentation.

Than, the player of the tournament, Virat Kohli, didnt bother to speak with the presentator. It was all soo rushed. I dont remember if they called Travis Head up aswell or not.

Than the runner ups medallions were rushed in and the Indian team vanished from the ground.

Modi handed over the trophy and made a run for. The captain standing their all alone.

It was as if they had planned everything if India had won, they were soo over confident that they didnt even make a back up plan. I wonder if the trophy ceremony was delayed because they might had ingrained India's name in advance, who knows.

Joke of a ceremony.

Even the commentary was a joke. Compare Ian Smiths commentary of the final, and the Indian commentators commenting every good performance of the Australia player as if they took a single and thats it.

The funny part of all this was, Modi wearing that blue dress and handing over the trophy.

Plus the fact that Amit Shah built an expensive structure to hold 1 lakh 30k indians and name it after modi, invite modi, and than see India lose a world cup final there.

The whole post presentation was embarrassing.

Shastri had to put his teeth back in a few times as he kept stuttering.

Non of the Indian delegates even smiled.
Proba
Rohit didn’t even congratulate the Aus team he started making excuses straightaway.

Why the boos for the umpires.
Probably due to the Bumrah lbw review on Labuschange which was an umpires call on an not out but they conveniently forget Smith was wrongly given out too on lbw.

The whole post presentation was embarrassing.

Shastri had to put his teeth back in a few times as he kept stuttering.

Non of the Indian delegates even smiled.

Rohit didn’t even congratulate the Aus team he started making excuses straightaway.

Why the boos for the umpires.
Indians hate Kettlebrough and often find him as the umpire when they get knocked out. He got the most boos. Even though the guy is a very good umpire.

Than, the player of the tournament, Virat Kohli, didnt bother to speak with the presentator. It was all soo rushed. I dont remember if they called Travis Head up aswell or not.
Bhai jaan, Kohli did not even shake hands with Tendulkar let alone speak with him when collecting Player of the Tournament award. Jay Shah was blanked, and Kohli didn't even give a short interview.

Zabardast.

To be expected. BCCI and India in general don’t handle losses too well. They become incredibly petty. Nothing new.

Seems like they had their team winning as a foregone conclusion, and were left in complete shock when Australia bossed them.

Actually as Pakistanis we should be grateful we didn’t win this World Cup. If they were this chaotic and grim losing at the hands of Australia, can you imagine the reaction if Rizwan hit the last runs and went into Sajdah?

Just be glad our players are home safe.

BCCI exposed big time, and just by behavior you can’t put foul play beyond them in future, because now they will be more desperate than ever to get a trophy for their team.

To be expected. BCCI and India in general don’t handle losses too well. They become incredibly petty. Nothing new.

Seems like they had their team winning as a foregone conclusion, and were left in complete shock when Australia bossed them.

Actually as Pakistanis we should be grateful we didn’t win this World Cup. If they were this chaotic and grim losing at the hands of Australia, can you imagine the reaction if Rizwan hit the last runs and went into Sajdah?

Just be glad our players are home safe.

BCCI exposed big time, and just by behavior you can’t put foul play beyond them in future, because now they will be more desperate than everIy to get a trophy for their team.
Its a horribly hosted tournament, its just a sideshow for everyone else bar team India rather than a celebration of cricket. Hope they don't get to host it for another good few WC's.

Truly was a terrible presentation.

Everything was geared for an Indian win and clearly they were shaken by the time they had to present the trophy. Just bizarre and in a way all of this meddling and sideshow stuff is why they lost the final (i.e. pitch manipulation).

My Pakistani friends, I want to put forward both sides of the picture.

I’m quoting from The Guardian a newspaper I have always loved:

Out of the silence came the most soothing of noises as the blue shirts around the ground stood to applaud, more and more of them as Head leapt and punched the air, sending a generous ripple all the way around the tiers.

At the end defeat was accepted graciously, with fond applause for the winners from those who stayed behind for at least an hour so that Narendra Modi himself could finally turn up to hand over the trophy

These paragraphs reflect both that the Indian crowds were prepared (even if near the end) to give credit to the oppo, as well as the arrogance of the current political regime.

It’s the hype masters - Modi, Jay Shah, etc -who are in the dock and I am glad.
This entire mega drama, the pitch interference, with the assumption that we were inevitable winners and all preparations were to be geared to that outcome. Arrogant.

As an Indian I have never ever said the lines that “we deserve to lose”, but yesterday I came close. This should be a reality check for the increasingly reactive, think skinned, nationalist and superiority ridden Indian fans who are being swept away by a shrill, fake patriotism.

It’s a great pity about because I have never in my lifetime seen a better Indian team and they played beautifully through the tournament.

There was no plan for an Aussie win. I hate to agree with Mickey Arthur here but he was correct. It all seemed quickly cooked up for Australia as the elaborate arrangements were reserved for the home team winning. Sad as Australia also came to play but were not even factored in .

My Pakistani friends, I want to put forward both sides of the picture.

I’m quoting from The Guardian a newspaper I have always loved:

Out of the silence came the most soothing of noises as the blue shirts around the ground stood to applaud, more and more of them as Head leapt and punched the air, sending a generous ripple all the way around the tiers.

At the end defeat was accepted graciously, with fond applause for the winners from those who stayed behind for at least an hour so that Narendra Modi himself could finally turn up to hand over the trophy

These paragraphs reflect both that the Indian crowds were prepared (even if near the end) to give credit to the oppo, as well as the arrogance of the current political regime.

It’s the hype masters - Modi, Jay Shah, etc -who are in the dock and I am glad.
This entire mega drama, the pitch interference, with the assumption that we were inevitable winners and all preparations were to be geared to that outcome. Arrogant.

As an Indian I have never ever said the lines that “we deserve to lose”, but yesterday I came close. This should be a reality check for the increasingly reactive, think skinned, nationalist and superiority ridden Indian fans who are being swept away by a shrill, fake patriotism.

It’s a great pity about because I have never in my lifetime seen a better Indian team and they played beautifully through the tournament.
Respect to you brother for keeping it real.

As you said, the team is solid. If they did lift the cup, it would’ve been a top 5 ODI team to lift the cup in history.

However, the current Indian regime and brainwashed jingoistic people (I’m sure not all Indian fans are like this) who support it makes it hard to root and support India from the outside.

The sour grapes from the Indian cricket team not watching the trophy presentation was even more hilarious and satisfying.

Basic rule of sportsmanship which is taught from junior cricket. Win, lose or draw, you always respect your opponent and give them their dues. I guess karma really does exist.

Shastri's presentation mood and even his calling on the winning runs really did a disservice to the Aussies.

I mean you have Ian Smith from 2019 who was able to make a legendary clip while having to see NZ lose in that fashion.... but then Ravi's call on Maxwell's shot there was terrible.

At the halfway mark they had performers who were openly cheering for an Indian win, with their song lyrics not even trying to be discreet. It looked like they were singing a war song for their country rather than trying to perform in a sports ceremony for a global tournament. We had an image of a singer having tears in her eyes toward the emotional lyrics echoing an Indian win.

The fun started with Manjrekar making a joke of a comment regarding Suryakumar hitting imaginary boundaries if he batted second.

Then they started showing Pakistani wickets on the Hindu commentary channel.

Then, what looked like Sunny bhai wasn't able to suddenly breathe and talk properly toward the end.

Culminating in one of the worst post match ceremonies you'll see.

In all of this you had Ranveer Singh in the crowd who was not only embarrassing himself but also embarrassing SRK and the others around him. Acted like a clown throughout.

India were stunned that what has happened, only a baffoon like Shah will order to use a pitch for a final which had last game played on 14 October. Harsha was desperate in his whole Commie stint Manjrekar lost for words Shastri shell shocked and Mr. Gavaskar seemed chewing words

Feel sorry for the Indian fans & this Indian team that played brilliantly and deserved to win. They have played an exciting brand of cricket and steamrolled through opponents except on the big day. Definitely one of the most authoritative performances by a team in a World Cup edition.

But the arrogance, jingoistic and downright petty attitude by the Indian government & BCCI left a sour taste in everyone’s mouth. They have degenerated the World Cup into a political show rather than a celebration of cricket. It was a treat watching them and the thug Modi get humiliated and humbled. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Should not expect any better from Jay Shah, the nepo kid.

Real disservice to champs Aussies who won after losing 2 staight games.

t the arrogance, jingoistic and downright petty attitude by the Indian government & BCCI left a sour taste in everyone’s mouth. They have degenerated the World Cup into a political show rather than a celebration of cricket. It was a treat watching them and the thug Modi get humiliated and humbled. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
When you have feku and his chums running any show, result has to be hugely partisan one This WC was no different.

Have people forgotten how feku made G20 meeting all about I, me, myself?

Any video link for this disaster?

See in post#1

It was one of the most pathetic ceremonies ever.

It was obvious that the presentation was made towards India winning. They had all the drones making images of India's map (that included pakistani territory for some odd reason), than the Indian flag.

There was no Australian map or flag drawn by the drones.

Than the presentation itself was hilarious. Ravi Shastri standing there with a swollen face trying to get the whole presentation over with, not even smiling. The people smiling were the emirates cabin crew. He rushed trough the whole presentation.

Than the runner ups medallions were rushed in and the Indian team vanished from the ground.

Modi handed over the trophy and made a run for. The captain standing their all alone.

It was as if they had planned everything if India had won, they were soo over confident that they didnt even make a back up plan. I wonder if the trophy ceremony was delayed because they might had ingrained India's name in advance, who knows.

Joke of a ceremony.

Even the commentary was a joke. Compare Ian Smiths commentary of the final, and the Indian commentators commenting every good performance of the Australia player as if they took a single and thats it.
I was furious when Ravi Shastri declared Australia the winners with such a generic line.

Agree with most of the opinions here except a couple
Richard Kettleborough was singled out for the boos for whatever reason. Don't remember the other umpires being booed.

You have two PMs on stage (why have them is a different question). There are security protocols and you can't just have players rushing onto the stage until they have cleared the area. Then Modi went ahead and decided to shake hands with the Aussies, so it took more time before they could finally join Cummins.

I found it more interesting that Cummins, Warner and Maxwell received cheers comparable to Virat and Rohit whereas Modi got the same reception that a Steve Smith received :srt Didn't stop him from waving though at his invisible fans.

Either before the end ceremony started or after it finished, Ian Ward, Nasser Hussain and Mike Atherton where talking and Ian said something like "This was all gearing up to an India win" and Nasser replied with the best and simple comment of the day.. "No one has a divine right to win"

This whole event was embarassing and should be a wakeup call for the Indian public. The current government cannot do anything right and it includes the people appointed to run cricket in the country.

Compare this to the awesome, memorable event organized by Qatar last year. Now that was a world cup with excellent planning and organization. India is cleary still a third world country and they can never reach that next level until they bring the right people into government.
Coming from a citizen of a nation who cant even provide security to an international team despite having number 1 intelligence and military. Pakistanis should not lecture anyone on mismanagement.

Modi was due to make a big speech victory speech but after the result they had a change of mind.

The rest of the presentation then plunged into chaos.

they could have planned better once the indian innngs was over because, by then, the writing was on the wall.

I would assume nobody wanted to break the news to the big boss until the game was definitely over.

The rude and distasteful behaviour shown by Modi reminds us of IK's statement that small people sitting in big offices, it's just sport better team on the day won don't forget Australian team also have legends in the side Warner Starc Smith and add to it Ponting advised Cummins to bowl first

Did Dua lipa perform

I was so looking forward to that

The song lehra doh is a very catchy tune. The singer has sung it with passion, and the person with the lyrics has put heart and soul into it.

Full on loudspeaker vibe. Created a superb atmosphere inside the stadium yesterday.

It was rather odd what happened at the end with Cummins left with the trophy on his own and did anyone see Sehwag anywhere?

:moyo

Shastri was the Indian team coach not too long ago and the guy wears his heart on his sleeve. It's okay for him to be feeling shattered. But the organizers should have chosen someone else to do the post match interviews. There were neutral and brilliant speakers there. BCCI made a huge fuss in 2006 ct final ceremony when Martyn asked the BCCI to move away.

The biggest problem with the presentation ceremony was the way Cummins lifted the trophy. He didn’t even lift it, he just sat.

It was awful to see. The worst trophy lift by any captain in any sport in history.

The biggest problem with the presentation ceremony was the way Cummins lifted the trophy. He didn’t even lift it, he just sat.

It was awful to see. The worst trophy lift by any captain in any sport in history.
He would have blocked players behind him

I loved the way Australia celebrated with the trophy- couldn't have been better. No players fighting to touch the trophy unlike what happens when South Asian teams win

For the Presentation in general, it was only for ONE minute that Cummins had to stand alone while Modi and the Australian deputy PM shook hands with the Australian players

No need to make a big issue out of it

Shastri was the Indian team coach not too long ago and the guy wears his heart on his sleeve. It's okay for him to be feeling shattered. But the organizers should have chosen someone else to do the post match interviews. There were neutral and brilliant speakers there. BCCI made a huge fuss in 2006 ct final ceremony when Martyn asked the BCCI to move away.
True
But its decided beforehand. So couldnt change at the last minute

Next time, maybe NOT get Shastri
But NOT his fault that he was feeling hurt

Not here for any kind of Indian criticism I see.
The whole thing was a shambles

When you left with the trophy on your own and nobody calls the other players on stage even Cummins was confused what to do.

Shastri all the way through the ceremony was trying to hold his frustration not a great choice when the loss is clearly affecting him mentally.

Not here for any kind of Indian criticism I see.
The whole thing was a shambles
indians will think they had the perfect world cup and wont mention issues
they wont talk about the broad cast issues, the issues with the final ceremony and the fact that despite pitch tampering they couldnt win

He would have blocked players behind him

I loved the way Australia celebrated with the trophy- couldn't have been better. No players fighting to touch the trophy unlike what happens when South Asian teams win

For the Presentation in general, it was only for ONE minute that Cummins had to stand alone while Modi and the Australian deputy PM shook hands with the Australian players

No need to make a big issue out of it
Every captain lifts the trophy literally. It symbolizes lifting a trophy. It is a tradition that goes back as far as the first team tournament in any sport.

No one “sits” with the trophy with the way he did and he wasn’t going to block anyone except 1-2 players who were going to stand behind him and in fact, they could have stood in a way that no one would have been standing behind him.

Cummins handled pressure brilliantly throughout the final but totally bottled the celebration.

Qatar World Cup was great except the part where they draped Messi in the black cloak. It was ridiculous.

Also hosting a World Cup in a country like India where matches are being scheduled all over the country is a different challenge compared to hosting it in a tiny country like Qatar with all matches scheduled in closed proximity.

Every captain lifts the trophy literally. It symbolizes lifting a trophy. It is a tradition that goes back as far as the first team tournament in any sport.

No one “sits” with the trophy with the way he did and he wasn’t going to block anyone except 1-2 players who were going to stand behind him and in fact, they could have stood in a way that no one would have been standing behind him.

Cummins handled pressure brilliantly throughout the final but totally bottled the celebration.
Strange take but let's say that he did, would you rather bottle the game or the celebration?

There was nothing odd about it.

Cummins left with the trophy on his own for few mins because PM Modi was shaking hands with all the Aussie players congratulating them on victory. As soon as it got over, players went to the stage and lifted the trophy. Don't understand what is wrong with it?

Seems like it has become a fashion to blame Modi & India for each and everything.

Modi literally shook hands and congratulated every Australian player but I don’t see anyone mentioning that. Clearly this wasn’t part of the script.

There was nothing odd about it.

Cummins left with the trophy on his own for few mins because PM Modi was shaking hands with all the Aussie players congratulating them on victory. As soon as it got over, players went to the stage and lifted the trophy. Don't understand what is wrong with it?

Seems like it has become a fashion to blame Modi & India for each and everything.

You could be right there I only saw the clip not what happened before/after normally you see players standing next to the captain when the trophy is being presented.

Nope, normally guest host handover the trophy to the captain as it is only captain's right to receive it. Once the handover is done, guest host is suppose to leave the podium. The captain then call its lieutenants (aka players) to come to the stage to share the joy with him. This is the protocol of any tournament presentation.

Here Modi handover the trophy to Cummins and left the podium. Then, the great statesman that he is, he personally shook hands of every Aussie player and was congratulating them. It took couple of mins of course and Cummins was made to stand alone. There is absolutely nothing wrong in it. It has become a habit of some to blame Modi for everything. I am not blaming Pakistani's alone here but in India also most left leaning liberal Deshdrohi's are trending #Panauti in twitter since yesterday and blaming Modi for defeat. In Indian forums, some Indian fans are even happy India lost so that Modi could not take political advantage of it. The same people who were hiding under the rock for past couple of months when India was winning all games. Such is their hatred and negativity.

And btw, I am always right...so thank you :)

You do know that you raise something if there is a crowd. The fact that the Indian team and the crowd had ran away, who was Cummins suppose to raise the trophy to?

Along with that, in tournaments, you dont have the head of states security trying to block the passage of the players on the ground. As modi tried to make a run off the podium after the embarrassing ceremony, the saffron guards were blocking the entrance of the players, and Cummins was looking at them like what the hell is this going on.

Once Modi ran off, did the Australian players joined their captain and they celebrated like a team.

Modi literally shook hands and congratulated every Australian player but I don’t see anyone mentioning that. Clearly this wasn’t part of the script.
Because It was not Modi's moment. Modi was not there for his own swearing in, it was Australia's moment and should had been more about them.

Look at the guards standing there blocking the way. Warner already shook the hand of Modi and was waiting for these protocol officers to move aside so he can celebrate their own moment

image.png

Warner than asks, like Mate I have a trophy that I won and want to celebrate can i go now?

image.png

Infact, i went over the video, not all the australians even bothered to shake modis hand. They were waiting for the security personals to move aside so they can got and celebrate. 2-3 guys standing in behind, slipped from the side and went straight to the podium.

You do know that you raise something if there is a crowd. The fact that the Indian team and the crowd had ran away, who was Cummins suppose to raise the trophy to?

Along with that, in tournaments, you dont have the head of states security trying to block the passage of the players on the ground. As modi tried to make a run off the podium after the embarrassing ceremony, the saffron guards were blocking the entrance of the players, and Cummins was looking at them like what the hell is this going on.

Once Modi ran off, did the Australian players joined their captain and they celebrated like a team.
I understand,we are in their debt otherwise we would have had a huge shortage of Burnol and would be crying left, right and center now, but that is now how trophy celebrations work.

You don’t “lift” only for people in the stands; you also did for the billions who are watching on TV and also because it is a very symbolic gesture because you are lifting the trophy and claiming stamping your success.

During COVID era, plenty of sports teams lifted trophies in empty grounds. Here is Liverpool celebrating their PL title in 2020 in an empty stadium:

Cummins didn’t celebrate it properly when the Australian players joined him on the stage. He just saw with the trophy. It was very awkward.

I think he got a bit confused and didn’t know what to do.

Because It was not Modi's moment. Modi was not there for his own swearing in, it was Australia's moment and should had been more about them.

Look at the guards standing there blocking the way. Warner already shook the hand of Modi and was waiting for these protocol officers to move aside so he can celebrate their own moment

image.png

Warner than asks, like Mate I have a trophy that I won and want to celebrate can i go now?

image.png

Infact, i went over the video, not all the australians even bothered to shake modis hand. They were waiting for the security personals to move aside so they can got and celebrate. 2-3 guys standing in behind, slipped from the side and went straight to the podium.
I understand your sheer elation. You are happier than Australian fans because your own rubbish team is incapable of making you happy which is why you find happiness in other’s disappointment, but while you can celebrate, please don’t overdo it because it only causes embarrassment.

If Modi hadn’t shaken hands with Australian players or congratulated them, you would be criticizing him for not having any grace and not congratulating the Australians

But now that he congratulated we have to put a new spin on it to make him look bad. Please give it a rest.

I understand that Australia is our new Abbu now and we are in their debt otherwise we would have had a huge shortage of Burnol and would be crying left, right and center now, but that is now how trophy celebrations work.

You don’t “lift” only for people in the stands; you also did for the billions who are watching on TV and also because it is a very symbolic gesture because you are lifting the trophy and claiming stamping your success.

During COVID era, plenty of sports teams lifted trophies in empty grounds. Here is Liverpool celebrating their PL title in 2020 in an empty stadium:

View attachment 139303

Cummins didn’t celebrate it properly when the Australian players joined him on the stage. He just saw with the trophy. It was very awkward.

I think he got a bit confused and didn’t know what to do.
Chalo, when india wins an icc trophy during the next 10 years, they should teach us how to do trophy celebration.

Modi was humiliated (deservedly) because his original plan was wiped out.

The plan was to shake hands with the losing team (Australia) on the main stage, give them their runner-up medals, and then cue the fireworks/drones for the winning team (India) to collect their medals, trophies, and mithai.

Shell shocked Modi could barely stomach handing the WC trophy to Cummins, which is why Modi legged it, leaving Cummins stranded on his jack jones, the camera still panned on the main stage, until someone had to remind Modi to shake hands with the winning team, that was Australia, and Modi walked back to do so!

There is however a video of Modi visiting the Indian dressing room dishing out jaddo ki jhupees!

image.png

image.png

POTW for me. It was an absolute farce and the BCCI need to apologise for the way they handled this. It was such a subdued moment for the Aussies.

It was painful to watch Cummins with the trophy in his hand whilst he had to wait an age for his team mates to join him.

If the same thing happened in Gaddafi Stadium, I'm sure we wouldn't hear the end of it from Mamoon.