[VIDEO] "Since our victory in 1992 no opposition takes us lightly" : Mohammad Hafeez

idrizzy

Local Club Star
<div id="selectorElement" style="width:560px;height:330px;">
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qy13A0WR4KM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<script data-cfasync="false" id="EboundAd" type="text/javascript" src="//eboundservices.com/ads/ads.js" width="560px" height="330px"></script>
</div>

Mohammad Hafeez speaking to the media:

"We as a team are ready and crystal clear when it comes to preparation and our roles"

"We are clear about what we have to do and rest of teams are irrelevant"

"As a team we are moving in the right direction and we are gelling well"

"Since our victory in 1992 no opposition takes us lightly"

"We are a team with new members and are ready to take challenge ahead of us"

"Personally I was missing that part of the game (bowling) and I always wanted to bowl when I was playing"

"It is my personal opinion that there is more than one way to score 300+"

"It all depends on match situation and conditions; even 260 is a par score on some pitches"

"We as team are committed to scoring the par score and not worried about 300"

"Lots of news comes through from Pakistan media but it's not necessarily true"

"Since time of Azhar Ali this has been made clear to all that no interference is made in a captains plans"

"If captain wants our advice he will ask for It, we are not to to go to him with our plans"

"Its not about senior or junior, the captain when he wants it can ask for advice from anyone on the field"

"We have made good preparations in nets for the upcoming game"

"The time for worrying about other teams and possibilities is over we simply need to win the next game"

"The batting order is settled as per plan and everyone knows what is expected of them"

"Sarfraz made it clear to the press that he felt that he did not need my services as a bowler in the India game"

"And even I didn't approach him on this as he is captain and he knows best"

The Prof in full flow.

The comments on advice to Sarfraz are very interesting.

Pakistan was not taken lightly before 92 also!!! In fact team which played in 87 WC was better than the team of 92!!!

"It is my personal opinion that there is more than one way to score 300+" "It all depends on match situation and conditions; even 260 is a par score on some pitches"

"We as team are committed to scoring the par score and not worried about 300"

If you read between the lines, what he's really saying is

'we know we are a second rate batting side, and that means I am justified in playing plenty of dot balls as long as I like.'

It was a quarter century back, give it a rest. Imagine, WI players giving such statements while referring to their team in 80s.

Why does the media even entertain this epitome of mediocrity is beyond me !!!!

The batting order remark really irks me

This guy is our biggest problem, his awful batting isn't worth it regardless of what he does with the ball. Him scoring against a weak SL attack will be awful for Pakistan short to mid term future

Weird comments. He seems to think that being unpredictable is a good thing.

Some Pakistani Cricketers give comments as if they are part of a minnow team like Netherlands Or Namibia.

These days 300 is below par and he talks about 260. Pathetic, Should be dropped forever

From what I have seen the only senior player who is going to Sarfraz to offer advice is Shoaib Malik.

Interesting whether Azhar Ali and Mohammad Hafeez have been told not to offer advice or they are not offering him advice deliberately.

I hope he gets banned for chucking again because he is pathetic for a top order batsmen. If the ball is moving just a little bit he is a walking bunny.

Some weird statements made actually,why the hell does he love the tag of being unpredictable ,someone tell him what unpredictable really means,he thinks that as we are unpredictable that's why no one takes us lightly

Reeks of arrogance, and explains why he eats up so many balls.

Pathetic cricketer. We are cursed.

It clearly says , We don't care about 300. We will put 260-270, let bowlers defend, if they can.

The reply to the question regarding strike rotation was deviated by Hafeez quite smartly as he knew he is the one along with Azhar who fails to rotate strike thus started talking about requirements and roles given and he went on saying that we wanted to go to semis,Hafeez Bhai abhi pehle SL ko harana bhi hai!.Only positive from the press conference was that he spoke better English than Sarfaraz :D

What a shameful comment, as if Pakistan is a minnow like Papua New Guinea. With that attitude Pakistan will become a minnow in few years.

From what I have seen the only senior player who is going to Sarfraz to offer advice is Shoaib Malik.

Interesting whether Azhar Ali and Mohammad Hafeez have been told not to offer advice or they are not offering him advice deliberately.
From his response too it look likes that this might well be the case but I feel that tactically Hafeez is decent enough and should be allowed to give Sarfaraz advice if needed,but he said that he didn't even bother to ask Sarfaraz to give him 1 over to him during Ind-Pak match and he came to know the reason only after Sarfaraz went to press conference after the game,all may be not well or it is just me thinking too much

Pathetic cricketer,pathetic mentality.300 is a par score nowadays,your bowlers cannot always win you matches

It clearly says , We don't care about 300. We will put 260-270, let bowlers defend, if they can.

It also reveals that the lack of strike rotation isn't an accident. The Pakistan batsmen have been given licence to play slowly, presumably because they know they aren't very good, and they are hoping that their bowlers will cover their defensive batting every time.

OMG. Give it a rest. The more you try to bring it up, the more it sounds like that win was indeed fluke.

That press conference sums up why Pakistan are 8th in the World and Hafeez keeps on making the same mistakes. I get the impression this individual is full of self importance and feels he is the backbone of the team along with the other clowns. He needs to retire or be dropped Asap!

why Sarfraz didnt attend presser . isnt captain who will come for presser??

It was a quarter century back, give it a rest. Imagine, WI players giving such statements while referring to their team in 80s.

Not only the 80s, but the WI won the WC twice in the 70s!

Please tell us what your contribution was in the 1992 triumph.

Pakistani player state of mind: oh man, india qualified, now we have to to do the same - too much pressure.

The Professor is extremely deluded to say the least.

Pakistan needs to get rid of deadweight's like him. It seems to me like too many Pakistan players prefer to bask in their past glory while conveniently ignoring the present situation.

Pakistan was not taken lightly before 92 also!!! In fact team which played in 87 WC was better than the team of 92!!!

That's true, 1987 Imran Khan lead Pakistan was the clear favorite and the semi final loss was a massive upset.

What baffles me is how no one in management can see that he is holding back the team? Azhar Ali and Hafeez are the most selfish cricketers in LOI currently for Pakistan.

Reeks of arrogance, and explains why he eats up so many balls.

Pathetic cricketer. We are cursed.

Yes arrogance to the core in justifying his slow batting...Soon let them put him in his place which is outta the team would be better for the team

Not a modern day cricketer nor he will change his attitude ever... even Bangladesh have a lot better batting mindset than these classical batsmen of our Pakistani team...
Hopefully, Pakistan can grow modern style cricketers at the grassroot level

Best of luck for your clash with Srilanka who had shown what modern style batting can do against well set strong Indian team !

Not a modern day cricketer nor he will change his attitude ever... even Bangladesh have a lot better batting mindset than these classical batsmen of our Pakistani team...
Hopefully, Pakistan can grow modern style cricketers at the grassroot level

Best of luck for your clash with Srilanka who had shown what modern style batting can do against well set strong Indian team !

Hopefully Mickey Arthur is reading THIS.

Now listen to Shoaib Malik's interview. Totally different approach and attitude to this guy Hafeez, He himself appreciated way Fakhar played and prioritized to keep the bowlers on the back foot.

Hafeez needs to be kicked out for good.

Hafeez and Sarfaraz don't seem to be gelling too much. Makes me wonder why Sarfaraz doesn't have the guts to drop this useless professor.

Making the same mistake [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] was making in the other thread about SA. Stick to the present. Hafeez is beyond a tool. He's a masquerader who has sucked the blood of the Pakistan team in the last six years which is the last time he was even useful.

I'm sure Sarfraz would love to drop Hafeez. Unfortunately his hands are tied regarding this matter. I think Mickey Arthur has played a master stroke. He knows there are these dead woods in the team who will get exposed on a global stage if they get the chance. Therefore he gave them that opportunity and they blew it ( Azhar, Shehzad, Hafeez ). He knows that if they perform, it's better for the team and if they don't, it will push for a stronger case to get rid of them. Well played Mickey Arthur.

"It is my personal opinion that there is more than one way to score 300+"

The most obvious being you not in the starting eleven.

Bottler who goes missing in each and every ICC event has the audacity to invoke 92. Strange times, indeed. :hafeez

He is having good captaincy skills. If he ain't captain (he should be) then at least Sarfaraz must involve him in decision making and advice seeking. He is aggressive in his captaincy..

There are two things which, while themselves laudable and noteworthy, have become a useful cloak to cover a multitude of ills in Pakistani cricket. The hindsight view of the 1992 win and the Cornered Tigers metaphor.

Overreacting by posters .

All he is trying to say is no team should take us lightly , we can beat anyone.

He could get some runs against Sri Lanka today . I don't want to take him lightly .

Janab 2092 aa jayega 1992 bolte bolte. Best of luck for match against Srilanka.

BTW Why Malik isn't captain? He has good soft skills. Decent tactician. Sarfaraz tries too many things. Not always a good thing.