[VIDEO] The Legend of Maula Jatt (remake)

Can't think of even one worthwhile Pakistani actress. Most of them look like malnutritioned llamas.

Are you talking about Depeeka?
My favourite Pakistani actress currently is Mehwish Hazat. In past there were many.

FZ4ei9mXgAY2OMX

<iframe width="800" height="400" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/sBWdUf7wfaE" title="The Legend of Maula Jatt (2022) - Official First Look Trailer" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Man I was so looking forward to his movie and then forgot during the pandemic. This is not even out yet? Good. I guess a few more months?

Visually this is the best looking Pakistani movie I've ever seen. The sets look insane for a Pakistani production. I just hope the story is good.

This and The Glassworker are the highest quality Pakistani movies coming out.

Almost everyone's accent is spot-on except for maybe Mahira's but she did a decent job for someone that doesn't speak Punjabi as their first language. I was surprised by how well Humaima spoke Punjabi considering she's Balochi.

FZ4ei9mXgAY2OMX

<iframe width="800" height="400" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/sBWdUf7wfaE" title="The Legend of Maula Jatt (2022) - Official First Look Trailer" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Note the official release date

They will never beat the original version :)

Classic film, with legendary acting.

Sultan Rahi and Mustafa Qureshi's acting in the film will never be matched.

The trailer appears to be of international standards. Here's hoping the product is that too.

It looks better to me then the original. The outstanding cinematography gives a Hollywood feel to it moreover lets face it Fawad is far handsomer then Sultan Rahi could dream off. Maula would have John Rambo for breakfast:jofra. This film should easily become Pak's most successful one ever and yes although Mahira appears cool dressed as Punjabi gypsy girl i sense Humaima Malik has outperformed her. Lastly how us Pakistanis speak Punjabi is much better and cooler and sweeter then how Indian's do:125: I have even heard many Indians admit to this.

This has to make atleast more than 100cr+ considering the hype it's generating. Most Pakistanis aren't the types that would go to the cinemas I hope this movie changes that to some degree.

They will never beat the original version :)

Classic film, with legendary acting.

Sultan Rahi and Mustafa Qureshi's acting in the film will never be matched.

Which was the original? I only ever saw one Maula Jatt film, and it was the Noori Nat one with Nanna in it, was a bit of a spoof but it was really funny.

This remake does look great in the original trailer where it's set to a poetic narration, but I'm a bit concerned the dialogue in the film proper won't match up.

This film only beats the original on modern picture quality , special effects and fighting scenes

The original will have better dialogue , Barkay , acting and facial expressions you simply can't beat the original actors .

What made maula was the raw pind dialogues and your not gonna beat rahi or qureshi

Which was the original? I only ever saw one Maula Jatt film, and it was the Noori Nat one with Nanna in it, was a bit of a spoof but it was really funny.

This remake does look great in the original trailer where it's set to a poetic narration, but I'm a bit concerned the dialogue in the film proper won't match up.

Ever heard of "Maula Jatt in London" a sequel of the original from 1984 that is hilarious and entertaining:yuvi Maula roams around London with his lover taking care of business like only he can. Sultan Rahi and a much softer Mustafa Qureshi now on crutches after the original are doing their thing again:klopp Watch it here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0mi10Mw1X8&t=543s

After dropping its first official look in 2018, Bilal Lashari’s The Legend of Maula Jatt, a magnum opus featuring Fawad Khan, Mahira Khan, Hamza Ali Abbasi, Humaima Malik and several other actors, disappeared from the public eye.

With Fawad Khan as protagonist, joined by Mahira Khan as his love interest, and Hamza Ali Abbasi as the antagonist playing characters that originate from the old days of cinema - albeit in a refreshing take by director Bilal Lashari - the teaser teased fans but soon the film got further delayed. Then came Covid-19 and shifted everything as the world including Pakistan grappled with the virus.

Years later, it looks like The Legend of Maula Jatt is getting ready to release.

The film is directed by Bilal Lashari and produced by Ammara Hikmat under the joint vnture of Encyclomedia & Lashari films in association with AAA Motin Pictures. The filmmakers have partnered with Geo Films as their presenting partner, the largest media group and key contributor of the revival of cinema in Pakistan.

It will be locally distributed by Nadeem Mandviwalla of Mandviwalla Entertainment, who is well known for his contribution to cinema. Internationally, the film will be distributed by MovieGoers Entertainment.

The anticipated all-star film has dropped a slick new trailer and one that is unlike the teaser.

With a running time of 2 minutes and 46 seconds, the film whose true crux is the rivalry between Maula Jatt (Fawad Khan) and Noori Nath (Hamza Ali Abbasi) takes us back to the beginning. It delves deeper into the storyline as well as how the two men cannot reign at the same time. It showcases the rage of Maula Jatt, the tribal clans and how decisions were made. The arrival of Noori Nath could mean the end of Maula Jatt. The former appears in shackles and embodies a kind of cruel arrogance that’s almost visible in his eyes while Maula Jatt appears just as confident, aching for vengeance but not nefarious.

Apart from Fawad’s Maula Jatt and Hamza Ali Abbasi’s Noori Nath, other actors such as Mirza Gohar Rasheed, Faris Shafi, Mahira Khan, Nayyer Ejaz, Ali Azmat, Humaima Malick, Shafqat Cheema, Raheela Agha, Zia Khan and Saima Baloch make up the rest of the cast. And many can be seen in the trailer if you focus.

Through the trailer, released earlier this month, what is palpable is how relationships are written in blood and loyalties come into question as the binary rivalry from time immemorial of good versus evil appears to be the main theme. If Noori Nath is the strongest warrior, Maula Jatt with his zeal for vengeance appears to be just as ferocious.

While the film is based on characters that are very Pakistani, the film also features iconic dialogues by Nasir Adeeb and is essentially Lashari’s take on the story, not an imitation.

With Fawad Khan’s appearance in Ms. Marvel, Mahira Khan’s release from 2022, Quaid e Azam Zindabad, both are active on the acting front. Though this film is not exactly about their shared romance on the big screen, it is a prelude to a future project where the two will star opposite each other in focus. But that’s later.

The Legend of Maula Jatt has survived issues of copyright and legal matters, and director Bilal Lashari (and the film’s producers) have finally confirmed a release date, which is October 13, 2022 across Pakistan and worldwide.

The kind of response the teaser trailer got, looked to be the start of what may be the most ambitious Pakistani film to date. Will it receive a glorious response from the audience given that the film has employed Punjabi language substantially will be the real litmus test. Though the quotient of violence is higher than in your typical Pakistani film, it also looks like the strongest Pakistani film – in terms of cinematography, the omission of every genre that’s as confusing as it is hilarious and the casting coup alone.

However, only the full film will tell us if it lived up to expectations and the hype or not. The physique of the actors, accent and diction is working in the film’s favor, so, who knows? Watch out for this anticipated film that has been years in the making.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/tns/detail/983949-the-legend-of-maula-jatt-now-set-to-release-in-october

Movie industries across the world are having a tough time, cinema is not even a culture in Pakistan , to keep the cinemas in business there has to be new local releases almost every week due to streaming availability.

Banking on one movie will not help, footfalls are down across the world including India(except Telugu states).

Irrespective i would probably be seeing this movie in theater as it’s in Punjabi.

Back when Khuda ke liye was actually made i remember it being released next to my college in India and I saw it in theater.. (came to know later it wasn’t released across Pakistan itself) so the revivals keep happening but Pakistan cinema culture ended long ago and that cinematic culture needs a revival.

Above is just my opinion.

Movie industries across the world are having a tough time, cinema is not even a culture in Pakistan , to keep the cinemas in business there has to be new local releases almost every week due to streaming availability.

Banking on one movie will not help, footfalls are down across the world including India(except Telugu states).

Irrespective i would probably be seeing this movie in theater as it’s in Punjabi.

Back when Khuda ke liye was actually made i remember it being released next to my college in India and I saw it in theater.. (came to know later it wasn’t released across Pakistan itself) so the revivals keep happening but Pakistan cinema culture ended long ago and that cinematic culture needs a revival.

Above is just my opinion.

Going by your comments I can tell you really love films.

Pakistan never really had a cinema culture even during Lollywood's "golden days". Pakistanis never come out in big numbers to watch movies, unlike Indians who regularly come out in massive numbers to watch movies in the cinema.

You need to understand that Lollywood has a very very low bar. The peak of Lollywood was in 2018 as far as numbers are concerned. For the first time ever these guys have managed to make something that's gotten people interested in going to the theaters for the first time in their life.

A movie like "The Legend of Maula Jatt" can show a lot of people in Pakistan what good movies are like. Assuming the movie is as good as the trailers suggest it is. If this movie does well at the box office it will motivate more filmmakers to make more ambitious movies.

There's only going up from where the industry is at right now.

Really tempted to watch this, but it can never be as good as the original.

One thing I do recall about the original was the amount of violence and blood - eye-opening to say the least.

Don't you think they overdid it with the violence in the original? I don't think the original's style of shock factor can survive in this day and age.

Kids would be scarred for life. :abbas1

As we inch closer to the release of the much-awaited Legend of Maula Jatt, Fawad Khan fans are anxiously waiting for his big screen return. Prior to doing a handful of Bollywood films like Khoobsurat (2014), Kapoor & Sons (2016), Ae Dil Hai Mushkil (2016), Pakistan last saw Fawad playing a devoted husband in Humsafar (2011) and Zindagi Gulzar Hai (2012), winning hearts both at home and abroad.

Having started off as a lead vocalist in Entity Paradigm, a rock band hailing from Lahore, Fawad was always known for being painfully shy. Born to a Pathan and Punjabi family, he went on to live in Greece, the UAE, and the UK. But becoming a global sensation was never on the cards for him. However, destiny had greater plans for the singer-turned-actor who has now opened up about his retreat from the spotlight in an interview with Independent Urdu. The star has also dished out the struggles he faced while filming The Legend of Maula Jatt ahead of the Punjabi action flick’s release on October 13.
Advertisement

“It has been a long time, yes, but dair aye durust aye. It’s a very nervous time for me because I’m returning after 15 years and a lot has happened in these years. So, the dam is about to break. There will be a barrage of content from my end now and I apologise to everyone who’s been waiting,” the actor shared, humbly.

When confronted about his reputation of being picky choosy, and how that may have been the cause of his absence from the industry, Fawad disclosed, “I am very picky, that’s true. A teacher in our college would say, ‘laziness is a blessing.’ Putting in minimal effort and still getting more work done is always more efficient, I feel. I go through all the scripts I am offered very carefully and my nature is such, that I can’t juggle multiple projects at a time. I prefer sticking to one thing and giving it my all. Many actors we have are so multitasking, they will get off of one set and go to another. I can’t do that. So, I guess that’s a limitation of mine.”

Telling him about how the Pakistani cinema industry needs at least two Fawad films each year to really thrive, the host asked what magic potion would rid Fawad of his laziness. Laughing, he replied, “I don’t think I need anything more than the love I get from the team I work with. Because then I work with love too. A lot of times because of my nature, like I mentioned, when discussing the scripts with producers I feel that I am either not suited for the role or I am not in the right frame of mind to do it. For the sake of it, let’s say I even say yes, the quality of my work will suffer. Because the quality of my work really depends on how much effort I am putting in and I tend to put in a lot of effort and get exhausted. That also happens because of my condition, I am diabetic so a lot of times I have to be careful. If I exert myself, it shows and if I’m not healthy, I can’t do any project.”

When asked how painful the process of putting on and then losing weight for the film was for him, despite being diabetic, Fawad explained, “The journey to gain weight isn’t as painful as the journey to lose weight. When we say Maula Jatt is the most ambitious project our industry has seen, we mean it. This is why everything about it was so time-consuming. Transforming myself for it was time-consuming too. And such transformations aren’t only difficult for people with various health conditions, they’re difficult for everyone.”

The actor then recollected how Jared Leto had to put on so much weight to play John Lennon’s assassin in Chapter 27, that his body ended up producing excess uric acid. Fawad asserted, “He ended up suffering from Gout. So very few people can transform themselves physically for roles, it isn’t something everyone can or should do. And such extreme body transformations aren’t healthy either.”

Delving into the experience of speaking fluent Punjabi in a first for a role, Fawad went on to quip, “When I was told I’d have to speak in Punjabi for Maula Jatt, meri taangen kaanp gaein.” He credited the production and direction team, especially Nasir Adeeb, who wrote the screenplay, for tutoring him.

“The dialect has so many variations just across Punjab, and picking up the accent, directing the actors to nail it, only a person who’s fluent in Punjabi can do that. And I struggle with Punjabi so it was an added challenge for me. I may have spent more time in Lahore but I was born in Karachi. Nobody conversed in Punjabi in our home. And it is unfortunate for regional languages, specifically Punjabi, that they are not taught in private schools. But our villain [Hamza Ali Abbas], Noori Nath, what a performance he’s given, what an actor and a charming personality he is. So, there was that added pressure because if in a scene, one actor is really nailing his part and the other struggles to even speak, he becomes a liability. Thankfully, though, because of Nasir sahab, Bilal [Lashari], Ammara [Hikmat], and all the time and effort they put in, we all were able to pull this off.”

When asked if he’s seen the original Maula Jatt, Fawad shared, “I have seen the original but not in its entirety, again, because I could not decipher who was saying what mostly.” About his action sequences in the forthcoming film, particularly his handling of the gandasa, he dished out, “Handling the gandasa is an art. It’s like a dance move. So, using it while performing modern action sequences – our action team had come from abroad – and taking that Punjabi culture along was a task. The gandasa alone could not be replicated, so I am actually swinging that encumbered weapon which was easily 6-7kgs heavy.”

And about his time working with Mahira Khan, given how popular their onscreen chemistry in Humsafar became, Fawad concluded, “As always, my camaraderie and friendship with Mahira is strong. There is this nervousness but satisfaction that I got to work with an old friend again. Even Humaima. Working with all of these people in a new environment was refreshing. There was that familiarity, of course. So, we have plenty of expectations from our viewers, our fans. I’m sure they have plenty of expectations too. We are only hoping we meet all of them."

Just realised I will probably be in Pakistan at the same time as this is running. Might go watch it there, that should be an experience.

Don't release another Trailer and destroy the story. (second trailer was legendary)

I somehow feel Hamza looks better with his physique and stuff , hopefully Fawad's Punjabi is good enough, probably going to catch it in first week.

We're inching closer to the release of Bilal Lashari and Ammara Hikmat's magnum opus, The Legend of Maula Jatt. The film, starring Fawad Khan, Hamza Ali Abbasi, Mahira Khan and Humaima Malick in the lead roles, will hit the theatres on October 13.

Now, the makers have announced that the revenue from first-day shows will be donated to the flood victims. "This would be our small contribution to the ongoing catastrophe in the country," Hikmat told The Express Tribune. "We had decided to share our preview shows earnings with the flood relief fund.”

The producer also added how the promotions of the film were pushed back in solidarity with the flood disaster. "We had been planning the release for months” Hikmat shared. "But with the ongoing situation of the country, we delayed our promotions as well. It just didn't feel right. We pushed all interviews to the last 2 weeks of release and will leave the rest for the audience to decide.”

For a week now, the cast has been actively promoting their upcoming venture. For the most part, fans had seen Hamza and Fawad pairing together for interviews while Mahira was missing. When fans pointed it out, Hikmat responded, "Don’t worry you will see the entire cast together this week. Especially Mahira Khan and Fawad Khan."

She went on to add, "We postponed our promotional campaign and all interviews post-trailer due to the flood devastation. Mukkho wasn’t around in Pakistan after that. She is here now."

The Legend of Maula Jatt is touted to be the most expensive film to come out of Pakistan. This intense and epic hero origin story, with a screenplay by Lashari and dialogues by Nasir Adeeb, is a hard reboot of the 1979 cult classic Maula Jatt.

The film is directed by Lashari, known for his directorial debut, the box office hit, Waar and produced by Hikmat. The movie’s first look teaser released in 2019 managed to receive a thunderous response worldwide for its cinematic grandeur, exceptional star cast and mega-scale production.

Much like Maula Jatt and Wehshi Jatt, the film is a retelling of Ahmed Nadeem Qasmi's Urdu play Gandasa. Mirza Gohar Rasheed, Faris Shafi, Ali Azmat, Shafqat Cheema and Nayyer Ejaz are some of the other leading names that add to the film’s ensemble star cast.

Express Tribune

“He’s lying!” I overhear Hamza Ali Abbasi’s thunderous laughter from behind as the actor takes a jibe at Bilal Lashari who was already in the middle of a recorded interview with a local magazine. “Whatever Billy’s saying isn’t true.” The filmmaker rapidly jokes back, “Hamza is a terrible actor!”

The atmosphere at The Legend of Maula Jatt’s promotions is electrifying as the duo then sits together for one of many interviews scheduled for the evening. Moments later, Lashari’s Mukkho arrives. Mahira Khan looked breathtaking in her true Jattni ensemble; with long tresses adorning her waist and chunky silver jewellery coupled with a plain black outfit. Sitting alongside producer Ammara Hikmat is Nasir Adeeb, the writer of Lashari’s magnum opus.

“It’s a very different evening than what I am used to,” he tells me as we sit for a chat. Adeeb, who has a glittering career of over 50 years, has written 412 films so far. But 1979's Maula Jatt remains a timeless classic that would always be touted as his best work.

“Bilal came to meet me and told me that he wants to make a film. And not just any film, he wants to make Maula Jatt. I was silent for a while. He asked me the reason. I told him that people in India must have thought about remaking Sholay. But they didn’t because they must have thought about who could nail the role of Gabbar Singh, Jai and Veeru,” Adeeb comments.

Maula Jat (1979)

“Similarly, if you’d make Maula Jatt, fans will think about Mustafa Qureshi and Sultan Rahi. But Bilal was adamant about working on the idea of Maula Jatt. He told me that the characters would be the same, but we will build a new story. We worked on the story together, but once we finished the script, I thought to myself that this story wouldn’t attract the audience,” he further elaborates.

The playwright then comments that he was shown a rough idea of where the film will be shot and what the get-up actors would do. “Bilal’s attention to detail for the film was impeccable. He is a genius when it comes to filmmaking and there was no doubt about it. I knew we had a good project on hand,” Adeeb smiles.

The writer adds how the ideation of his characters from the 70s came alive with Lashari’s brilliance. While there’s no Mustafa Qureshi or Sultan Rahi this time around, Adib is confident Fawad Khan plays a convincing protagonist while Hamza Ali Abbasi is his perfect nemesis.

The jitters set in

“I’m kind of nervous and excited,” the Ms. Marvel star chuckles, as he sits comfortably in an all-black shalwar kameez with a matching waistcoat. The actor, who has been swamped with one interview after the other, looks at ease, even though promotions aren’t his favourite part about the film, he tells me.

“Well, I am more nervous than excited. I have been away from a Pakistani screen for a long time. Not just cinema but just about any medium. I did a few cameos here and there, but I didn’t have to face the music after that. But this is big! I am one of the main casts here, so the pressure is definitely there.”

Breathing life into characters

Talking about his character and how he prepped for it, Khan goes on, “There was no inspiration behind it. And I will tell you why.” He elaborates, "Maula Jatt came out in the 70s, we are now sitting in 2022. The audience is very different as well. The taste has changed and evolved – for better or for worse. So, yes. Sultan Rahi and Mustafa Qureshi are veterans and to emulate what they did would be near to impossible. Especially for a person like me, who’s not fluent in Punjabi and really had a task on hand. I had to learn the language, which I have really forgotten now.”

For his arch-nemesis, nailing the language was the easier bit in the process of getting under the skin of his character. “I was part of this project from the very beginning. I was very excited to do this. I was very excited about Bilal’s vision of executing his idea of Noori. It was easier for me to do this role because I was a part of this project from the start,” Abbasi shares.

Talking about Noori, Abbasi asserts that contrary to the popular belief, the antagonist of this film isn’t as violent or gory as it might seem. “He keeps violence as last resort,” the actor tells me. However, it was very challenging, still. “The get-up of Noori was exhausting, with Lahore’s heat, the beard, the hair. Filling the shoes of Sultan Rahi Sahab was an added pressure. I can call it the most challenging character of my life,” Abbasi adds.

Lashari's Mukkho Jattni shares similar sentiments as her Humsafar costar. The Raees diva plays Maula’s love interest in the film. But it wasn’t the most difficult role she’s played so far. “I think this character was difficult for me because of the language as well. But I learned it. Bilal just wanted me to be myself. He told me to be the girl who’s at her happiest. And when I started speaking Punjabi, my body language changed. I became more robust, more inhibited,” she laughs.

Humaima Malick’s Daro, as per the actor who essays it, is fearless. Malick shares that Lashari got her onboard around the time she was working on another project. Once signed, the Arth star reveals she was asked by her director to not watch the previous Maula Jatt so as to not be confused with the 1970s Daro.

“My inspiration was Eva Green from 300,” Malick comments. “But since I was playing a Punjabi jattni, the challenges were very different. I was always a very slim girl all my life. But I was asked to put on some weight on the film. I enjoyed the process. Daro’s fearless, she’s fire! There’s a difference between being bold and being fearless. She’s confident of her sensuality. She’s proud of it. She’s not auctioning it, she’s owning it!”

Like Malick, Mirza Gohar Rasheed was also instructed by Lashari to not watch the original Maula Jatt. While many might think Makha is more suited to Rasheed’s career graph, the actor doesn’t believe it to be so.

“There’s this idea in the country that if an actor is good while portraying a role, he or she gets stereotyped for it,” he says. “Every character has its own challenges and the same was the case with Makha and with Bhatti (Rasheed’s character in his last offering, London Nahi Jaunga). They were not easy roles to play. I received a call in 2013, Bilal told me that he wants to cast me for this character, Makha Natt, Noori’s youngest sibling. I was more honoured about being a part of Bilal’s dream project other than being a part of this magnum opus. The process of transforming myself into Maakha Natt was easy, thanks to Bilal. He has this utmost clarity on how he wants all his characters to look, to speak. I just submitted myself to him, I was just following his lead.”

He adds, “One thing I did know after understanding Bilal’s vision of Maakha Natt, is that he is nowhere near the classic character. Muzaffar Adeeb was the actor who played Maakha in the original film. I can’t reveal much but little that I can tell you is that he’s the most mischievous and the naughty one. The weirdest bit was that Bilal wanted me to grow out my hair for the role. And it took a long time to do that and then another three years to keep my hair of that length. God bless women, truly.”

While most of the cast of the film are seasoned actors, there’s an artist who’s set to make his big-screen debut. The moment Faris Shafi stepped into the venue, the cast erupted in a cheer. Rasheed, Abbasi along with the director, Lashari, invited the rapper to join them in an ongoing interview.

“This is exactly how he’d walk into the sets every day,” Hikmat, who was witnessing the reunion, laughs. “He’d come in for shooting the goriest scenes with this infectious energy, a backpack and sunnies on, laughing, meeting everyone on his way in. He brought in so much joy, the swag we needed.”

Shafi, at this point, shakes his head. “She’s telling the truth. I had to bring in my laid-back attitude. But it’s been a lot of fun!” the Muaziz Saarif singer chuckles. Shafi then notes that despite the fun on sets, he does realise it’s a herculean project to take up for a debut. “I would say that it was Bilal and Ammara’s trust in me that they cast me in this huge film,” he says. “It’s been amazing from the beginning. But I wasn’t nervous about nailing Mooda. When I started shooting for it, Bilal had already laid out the plan for me. I just had to follow. When I got on board, the planning stage was already at a very advanced stage. Bilal lets you play around with the character, there are no restrictions."

The focal point

The chemistry between Maula and Noori must be the focal point in the film, Lashari had previously shared. And Khan concurs. The Khoobsurat star adds, “Well, Hamza and I haven’t really known each before Maula Jatt. There was social acquittance, but I didn’t know him very well. Maula and Noori’s relationship is purely antagonistic. It kind of helped that we didn’t know each other too well. I am a bit of a shy, intimidating person while he’s a loud and happening person with being charming at the same time. It just worked.”

Abbasi adds, “It was important for me that the actor who plays Maula be really good at it since Maula and Noori have such an intense relationship because I would feed off of his energy. Fawad has worked so brilliantly that it just worked for us. I think Maula Jatt is also his best performance so far.”

The Verna actor comments that she is very glad to not be headlining this film. “I am glad that the weight of carrying a film isn’t on my shoulders this time. I’m not the main girl, I just know that I gave my all for Mukkho,” she concludes.

Express Tribune

‘The Legend of Maula Jatt’ First Reactions By Cinema Exhibitors Hail a ‘Perfect Blockbuster’

A special screening of “The Legend of Maula Jatt” was held on 7th October at Cue Cinemas in Lahore. The screening had in attendance cinema exhibitors from all over Pakistan where the film generated rave reactions. Exbhitors in attendance are hailing the long-awaited reboot of “Maula Jatt” as the “perfect blockbuster” and “terrific in every conceivable way”. The film is all set for its theatrical release on the 13th October in Pakistan.

According to film journalist Mr. Ehtesham Surhawady, the screening had several moments, which had the audience cheering, and the distributor was thrilled with the way theater owners were responding to the movie. PakistaniCinema.net got the opportunity of talking to the key exbhitors who saw the film.

According to Mr. Farrukh Rauf, the owner of iconic Capri Cinema in Karachi “I was blown away! Nothing like this has been done in Pakistani cinema before. The film is terrific in every conceivable way. The action and sound design is crazy and intense. The story evolves and you are on your edge of the seat throughout the film. I was not prepared for how emotional it was too. The entire cast has performed very well especially Fawad and Hamza. Being Karachi based, I had my doubts that the Punjabi language of the film might act as a hindrance for its business there. However, after seeing the film, I can safely say that it is not the case. I expect the film do great business at the box office”.

Mr. Ashiq Ali, owner of historic Shabistan/Prince cinema in Lahore, also attended the screening. He said, “Interestingly, the original “Maula Jatt” was screened at our Shabistan cinema in 1979 and ran for a good 2 years over here. I had the opportunity of seeing “The Legend of Maula Jatt” and it is legitimately a great film. I loved the cast and it will prove to be another blockbuster by Bilal Lashari. It will satisfy the fans of the original and even will make new ones along the way. Although the plot is very dependent of that of the original, I found the film to be better than the original in almost every way!”

Haji Tariq of Taj Mahal, Cinema Faisalabad echoed the same sentiments “I think the makers have made an international standard film which is highly entertaining and will provide value of money to the audiences. I think, it is the most ambitious film to be made in Pakistan, ever. Each and every scene of the film reflects the hard work of the makers”.

Zain Khan, a young film enthusiast and manager of the posh DHA Cinema, Lahore was severely excited after seeing the film “I cannot come out of the world of “Maula Jatt”. It is magnificent! I cannot wait to re-watch it again. It’s not just that good, it is very good! The dazzling action sequences in the second half are a treat to watch on the big screen. The cinematography is top-notch. Hamza Ali Abbasi’s performance as “Noori Nath” will go down in history. I could not stop myself from whistling in the cinema hall when the iconic dialogue “Nawan Aya Hai Soneya” came in the film. I cannot wait to see the audience reaction to it when the film is released in cinemas. I am sure the audience will go crazy. I am an avid watcher of TV series and films on OTT platforms, but this is a film that is meant to be seen on the biggest screen possible. The haunting background score will be a treat to experience in cinemas. I think, the film is exactly what the cinema fans want!”

Chaudhary Atif Kareem, of Nagina Cinema, Faisalabad said, “The film is a profound cinematic experience. Bilal Lashari has done an outstanding job of conceiving the world of “Maul Jatt”. It is a film, which will be liked by the youth of Pakistan. My heartiest congratulations to the entire team.”

With the film receiving such great comments from the cinema owners, we cannot wait to see the film on October 13.

https://pakistanicinema.net/2022/10/08/the-legend-of-maula-jatt-first-reactions-by-cinema-exhibitors-hail-a-perfect-blockbuster/

Movie making is a business like anything else. We need sustained heavy investment in the industry even if this film does wonders at the box office. We also need to create our own identity like British movies have done vis a vas Hollywood. Pak has the technicians, the talent and movie making skills as can be seen in the trailer of this upcoming film. The raw material is already there.

The Legend of Maula Jatt (Movie Review): “Lollywood” Goes International with This Blockbuster

When making a reboot of a cult-classic, it is a pre-requisite to possess a mega budget, have exhaustive knowledge of the subject matter, possess nerves of steel to handle the gigantic cast/crew and last but not the least, the vision and fortitude to bring a fantasy to life on celluloid in today’s times. You can face instant rejection from the paying public or face trolling on social media. The makers have to walk a tight rope. Everyone is curious to watch, examine, evaluate and scrutinize “The Legend of Maula Jatt”. The stakes are high and so are the expectations.

After watching the film, one can surely say that “The Legend of Maula Jatt” is a spectacular looking film that matches international standards. And it is not merely a stunning looking film, it is well structured too: The love story, the simmering tension, the conflict that ensues, the dramatic altercations, the battle sequences and the nail-biting finale… “The Legend of Maula Jatt” brings the fictional story vividly to life.

When you think of Bilal Lashari, the first thing that crosses your mind are the exquisite frames and gorgeous visuals [recall Jal Band’s “SAJNI”, Atif Aslam’s “HUNGAMI HALAT” or his last blockbuster “WAAR”]. Now we can also say that the young filmmaker has mastered the art of striking the right balance between form and content. “The Legend of Maula Jatt” will not only be talked about the compelling visuals, but taut screenwriting and right pacing as well.

The screenplay is focused; it piqued my interest and kept me involved in the narrative, while the characters are well-etched and powerfully portrayed. In fact, the watertight screenplay, which encompasses drama, action and romance, are beautifully juxtaposed in the narrative. In short, everything blends beautifully like a symphony. The “iconic” dialogues by Nasir Adeeb are clap worthy.

Besides captivating screenwriting, “The Legend of Maula Jatt” is bolstered by strong performances. Fawad Khan is stupendous and clearly in top form. He holds you attentive right from the first frame till the penultimate moments. The effortlessness with which he gets into the skin of the character is noteworthy.

This is Hamza’s second movie with Bilal. Although the actor has delivered sparkling performance in WAAR. you’ve got to watch him as the treacherous, vicious, vindictive and villainous Noori Nath in the film. Actually, Hamza Ali Abbasi doesn’t just play Noori Nath; he inhabits him. It’s an astounding, gutsy performance that will be talked-about and discussed for sure.

Mahira is enchanting as Mukkho and displays the strength as an actor in several pertinent episodes. I’d also like to add that the Fawad-Mahira chemistry appears natural and striking. Humaima’s portrayal of Daroo deserves brownie points. She interprets the character with brilliance as the camera captures every emotion that flickers across her face, proving yet again that she’s amongst the finest actors we have today. Gohar Rasheed is tremendous and his act gives depth and feeling to the character.

“The Legend of Maula Jatt” has a noteworthy supporting cast. Nayyer Ejaz is creepily effective and owns every sequence he’s in. Faris Shafi is fantastic. Shafqat Cheema is first-rate. Raheela Agha, the Lollywood veteran, has delivered an unforgettable performance. Ali Azmat is excellent. Two Lollywood “superstars” have a special guest appearance in the film (their presence has been kept away from the promotions). They add value to the film by their noteworthy performances.

Most movies turn VFX into a gimmicky tool, but Bilal is one of those rare storytellers who knows how to utilize the technology to his advantage and how it can enhance the overall theatrical experience. In this film, I can only state that the VFX results were simply stunning. The action is top-notch. The background score compliments the mood of the film.

On the whole, “The Legend of Maula Jatt” is a remarkable motion picture experience that’s backed by proficient direction, spellbinding screenwriting and superlative acting. For Bilal Lashari, it is the best title on an impressive filmography. It deserves to be seen on the big screen, hail "Lollywood"!

https://pakistanicinema.net/2022/10/13/the-legend-of-maula-jatt-review/

Not carved into packs but built up like a giant, his eyes peep out of a forest of facial hair, lips drown in a desi ale of sorts. From afar he is a monster and up close, a man-child, waiting to be tamed with a soother. The world is scared of his shadow, but to the one he means the word, he is the light in the sky, the sparkle in the eyes, of the prettiest woman in the neighbourhood, who is always there to balm his bruises. The bruises are there for fighting evil, for vengeance, for slashing hoards in seconds, for crushing skulls with a punch, for choosing arms over weapons for the enemy is often not worthy.

What might seem like a page out of Rocky from KGF action drama is actually a scene out of Bilal Lashari’s The Legend of Maula Jatt (TLoMJ) with a lot more devotion to sense than its South Asian parallels. While the overall choice of shots, some sequences and even editing are reminiscent more of Lashari’s love for anime, it is the strange ageing process that TLoMJ has gone through that it now stands, neck to neck, with Rajmoulie and Prashanth league of cinema, at least for the desi audiences.

Save for a few exceptionally directed sequences by Ahsan Rahim in Teefa in Trouble, TLoMJ proves that Lashari is Pakistan’s only master of action. It also proves we also have exceptions like Lashari, who takes his time to helm something truly extraordinary and that too with no filler songs, instead of churning out similar films every year.

An answer to KGF

The best part about TLoMJ, however is not its grandeur and scale; this is also why it is a notch up from the Prashanth Neel brand of cinema – the brilliance derives from a fairly simple plot and execution that doesn’t overcomplicate the narrative or test your bladder. The intermission and the cold open collided just when you thought you wanted the film to go on for another five and the film ends right before you are anticipating another major clash; that grip on the narrative and pace is common to cut scenes in videogames that users can control but leave the cinema audiences, who are there for a collective experience on a unanimous high.

TLoMJ also doesn’t have the advantage of divine interventions and inexplicable miracles, something that not only contemporary South Indian cinema thrives on, but the original Maula and its sequels toyed with. Unlike the Pakistani films of the original Maula Jutt’s milieu, there are no duas, no black magic, just good old stored masculinity, and just like a Pakistani film of any milieu, the stored masculinity and sexuality keep on hitting the gates that never open. It’s a hard reality that stands tall in front of the audiences as they watch a variety of sexually tense moments rush for an outcome.

Sadly enough, they go, as they come… Lashari has made sure that the film is packed to the brim with onscreen male virility that finds no healthy outlet for release. It knocks on the doors of hetero and homo eroticism, of sadism, masochism and sadomasochism, ending up defeated and pleading before the altar of suicide ideation. In repression, it unintentionally reflects contemporary Pakistani attitudes to any and all forms of sexual expression, which some might argue, is responsible for some of our most abhorrent sexual excesses.

This underlying, unnerving, almost volcanic, stored sexual energy isn’t just a cosmetic set-up for a few sultry Humaima moments it sets the ground for an arena full of men willing to slash each other to pieces in the name of honour, revenge and legacy.

A revamp of Maula Jutt was always inevitable; the question was always how are you going to create something new out of it, and Lashari has answered that with no lenience to the woke crowd that is going to find some consolation in Daro's (Humaima Malick) matriarchal authority. That’s it. Expect the rest of the film to be shredded through ‘deconstruction’ as a symptom of our times if the producers can’t come up with a better justification for a film driven by masculine rage being driven by that only; both the audiences and Sigmund Freud are in for a ride.

Going to the point of milieus, the strong detachment even results in a few shortcomings, particularly in the action choreography. While Lashari covers it up with some smart filmmaking solutions, fight choreography emerges as one aspect that may require a few more tries for our industry to get the hang of.

For the most part, Lashari chooses to mask the violence with character reactions and postproduction blood. Where the fight scenes are allowed some space on the screen, the ‘influences’ make themselves known almost immediately – like the one that imitates the sword and sandals epic Troy. The influences also mean there is no signature choreographic style – think the Matrix franchise's ballet-like sequences versus John Wick's grittiness. Lashari misses the chance to incorporate a local flavour into the fight choreography canon, albeit understandably so.

Although not necessarily a shortcoming, TLoMJ’s visual palette is peppered with anachronisms and idiosyncrasies. While trying to stay true to a Punjab-inspired visual language, Lashari opts for certain set and prop elements that stick out. Anglo-Saxon wood barrels and tables inside a mud structure doubling as a pub.

Bladed weapons that look more in place among thrift store wall hangers than any actual field of battle. The gandasa itself is iconised as something else, ignoring the fact that the implement Sultan Rahi turned into a celebrated weapon was originally a farming tool, much in the same way as the dreaded grim reaper’s scythe. Make of it what you will. In an ideal world perhaps, the makers of TLoMJ could have played more with local visual elements – we have our own iconic swords, shields, axes and whatnot.

Fights and masculinity

On the topic of fights and masculinity, TLoMJ reveals itself to be rather one-note and shallow. Epic tales in heroic tradition explore the pinnacle of masculinity in rather diverse ways. In Greek myths, for instance, where Hercules epitomises brute strength and straightforward solutions, figures like Theseus and Odysseus are known for their cunning.

The ill-fated Oedipus, before his life becomes a nightmare, outwits the Sphinx at her own game of riddles. Orpheus, the original rockstar perhaps, brings a tear to even Hades’ eye through the power of music as he seeks to rescue the love of his life from death itself. The same can be said of other mythic and heroic traditions all over the world.

There is more to men and masculinity than shouting matches and brute force. In the world of TLoMJ, however, there is only one. The only antidote to the masculine terror of its villains is hypermasculinity. No battle of wits, or even resolve and endurance. The answer to violence is more violence.

TLoMJ also misses a chance to explore the forgotten humanist origins of the now-mythical cinematic character. As pointed out in another article for this publication, Ahmed Nadeem Qasmi conceived Maula in a story called Gandasa for a different purpose altogether – to critique a culture that exalts vengeance and total dominance over foes as the only form of masculinity. Instead of returning Maula to his literary roots, Lashari doubles down on making an action entry. Fair enough, the cinema needs all sorts of entertainment, from light-hearted to bloody.

Performances to remember

Pakistani women, especially Mahira Khan, finally gets a role that will be remembered for her on the big screen. Despite limited screen time, she brings the combo of innocence and feistiness alive and shares a few completely arresting moments with Fawad Khan. Thanks to an original ‘Dunya taun apni kahaani’ by Sarmad Ghafoor that appears diegetically as sung by Fawad and Mahira and builds up from a tappa of sorts into an anthem that fades away in no time.

While Mallick was trolled last time, she made a stage appearance alongside Imran Khan (amplifier) at the PSL ceremony; her performance and command over Daro offer salvation for all her sins. Her character is more of a slow burn that seems monotonous in the beginning and melts over time.

Hamza Ali Abbasi as Noori Nath is exactly how you imagined Hamza Ali Abbasi as Noori Nath; he is animated, loud, and makes the most out of his baritone. You can’t find an alternate performer who could look such a giant on-screen and yet retain a sense of humanity without having an ounce of forgiveness for anyone, all at the same time, in every dialogue and each close-up.

Fawad was right to say that he had to perform well to match how well Hamza as Noori and he took quite a few notes. Khan not only delivers back to Hamza but sometimes also overpowers him, thanks to exceptionally well-written dialogues by Naser Adeeb that Fawad delivers with ease and comfort that doesn’t look rehearsed at all. He also gets the advantage of a few short and powerful moments of romantic encounter with Mahira, again aided so well by Ghafoor’s music.

Faris Shafi is a sidekick you expected Gohar Rasheed to play and Gohar is a villainous Maakha you’d have expected Nayyar Ejaz to play had it not been for the age bracket. Both of them leave a mark in the first half and both of them stay with you till the second.

Some might argue that TLoMJ’s comparison to the likes of KGF is unfair; it is only because neither the Pakistani performers nor the audiences are used to this kind of cinema. The scale of action, the play with masculinity and simple themes of revenge, innocence and retribution on the part of a male with a troubled childhood are all too uncanny to ignore.

While the film borrows nothing but the characters and bits of plot from the original, the themes it quite bravely endorses in this day and age call for a broader study of a shared sense of masculinity and rethinking of the box office prospects of South Indian cinema in Pakistan, in a better political climate of course.

I'm going to watch this movie in the cinema today. I'll give my thoughts on it after watching it.

So far the reviews have been overwhelmingly positive so I have pretty high expectations from this movie.

Trailer is not bad. It looks like lollywood has finally copied the standards and production values of Bollywood. The imitation is flattering :)

Just got back after watching the movie. Brilliant film and easily the best Pakistani movie ever made. It was amazing to see the attention to detail and effort put into this.

You can really tell that this movie was high budget and I'd go as far as to say that the action sequences were world-class.

Although people should know before watching that this movie is very violent and it's not suitable for kids to watch.

Trailer is not bad. It looks like lollywood has finally copied the standards and production values of Bollywood. The imitation is flattering :)

Not really. There was no dance number or any of the typical Bolly or other Indian cinema stuff in this movie. Watching it you can easily tell that this movie was made more like a Hollywood movie than a Bollywood one. It had a certain level of realism to it, you could tell that the characters are humans and not some sort of unbeatable superheroes.

This movie had a Game of Thrones type of feel to it. That's probably due to the time period this movie is depicting. There was an awful lot of graphic gore.

Best PK film without a doubt.

Sure beats the recent hollywood films sitting watching fighter jet pilots go pew pew pew.

Must watch! I think if and when it gets released on netflix after its cinema run this could get worldwide traction.

Not really. There was no dance number or any of the typical Bolly or other Indian cinema stuff in this movie. Watching it you can easily tell that this movie was made more like a Hollywood movie than a Bollywood one. It had a certain level of realism to it, you could tell that the characters are humans and not some sort of unbeatable superheroes.

This movie had a Game of Thrones type of feel to it. That's probably due to the time period this movie is depicting. There was an awful lot of graphic gore.

100%

Hollywood level action scenes and styling.

Top film man.

The reason Maula Jatt movies have a chance is that they are based on historical clan rivalry, something about them resonates with the people of Pakistan. I am not a fan of Lollywood or Bollywood, but the only fims of either industry which has ever got my attention are those steeped in history, because they feel authentic and generally are far more passionate because of it.

That said, I'm still holding judgement on this one. The trailer is really well done, but the director is the same one who did Waar which was absolute rubbish in my book. That was the last Pakistani film which raised a lot of hype, but I think this one will be better for reasons given above.

Visually this is the best looking Pakistani movie I've ever seen. The sets look insane for a Pakistani production. I just hope the story is good.

This and The Glassworker are the highest quality Pakistani movies coming out.

This is the worst kind of Punjabi dialect I have heard in my entire life.
Which Part of Pakistani Punjab speaks this kind of dialect ?

Many Pakistanis speak in that dialect like the Gujjars and so forth. The Lahoris addd "jai" to many sentences too, only they seem to do that. There are many forms of Punjabi language in Pak.

Pak cinema is doing much better now because we have realized the importance of soft power. We have understood how the power of cinema influences what outsiders think of any country. The world needs to know that not every Pakistani is religious and million's of Pak ladies do not observe hijab either. The best way to do all this is through cinema and music.

Pak people need to look upon cinema as a business where they can make money. We need to see it as an investment opportunity with a possible brilliant end result in every way. The greater the investment the more likely for the end product to be brilliant.

In many ways this film was heaps better then the original "Maula Jatt". The acting was on par and the technical aspect in a different league. Fawad played the hero and title role but it was Hamza Abbasi who in my opinion took the plaudits with the intensity in how he played Noorie Nath. Mahira appeared wild where as Humaima left an impression too.

"Bol" followed by "Khuda Ke Liye" were the first steps towards the revival of Pak cinema. Now after the release of TLOMJ other movie makers must try to keep on par in terms of quality and production value. Too bad that many or most Pathan's and Baloch's in Pak won't understand the language spoken in the film:ht It is better to produce 20 good films every year then 100 rubbish ones. On a scale of 10 i'll give it 7 and a half at the least.

Now in November Shaan Shahid's much awaited thriller "Zarrar" is the next one to look forward too.

It was Bollywood that copied the original "Maula Jatt" twice. Firstly was the Hindi/Urdu "Jeene Nehi Doonga" followed by the Punjabi "Putt Jattan De". Dharmendra a Punjabi himself loves the Pak "Maula Jatt" so he starred in both the Indian remakes. He even asked Mustafa Qureshi the original Noorie Nath to work with him.

Glad that it doesn't have music and stupid dancing, and that it doesn't follow typical Bollywood garbage that other Pakistani movies had in the past copying lame cringe sar-pakao Indian industry.

Movies have no room for dancing and music, look at our coke studio, when music is good world will appreciate regardless. Hopefully Pak film industry will carry on with this trend going forward.

Glad that it doesn't have music and stupid dancing, and that it doesn't follow typical Bollywood garbage that other Pakistani movies had in the past copying lame cringe sar-pakao Indian industry.

Movies have no room for dancing and music, look at our coke studio, when music is good world will appreciate regardless. Hopefully Pak film industry will carry on with this trend going forward.

Yes, perhaps being British it was weird watching films where after a violent fight, the hero within in seconds would be dancing in some flower field in Switzlerand.

Music should be in movies, and songs but in the background, usually start of a scene. You dont want actors prancing around after being portrayed as Rambo.

Any cinema near Birmingham showing this?

Yes, perhaps being British it was weird watching films where after a violent fight, the hero within in seconds would be dancing in some flower field in Switzlerand.

Music should be in movies, and songs but in the background, usually start of a scene. You dont want actors prancing around after being portrayed as Rambo.

Any cinema near Birmingham showing this?

If the cinema in starcity is not showing it then I'd be very surprised :))

Some words are a little bit off but overall the accent is fine.

Theres some obvious difference with the punjabi from your side but it isn't dramatic. I've seen Singhs from Indian punjab reacting to the trailer and they haven't made any comments about the accent.

If the cinema in starcity is not showing it then I'd be very surprised :))

Not my fav cinema. :))

But yes movie is showing in 3 cinemas here, Star City, Broad St and West Brom.

No doubt this movie will smash all Pak box office records. There is a big market for Pak movies in the west , more should be made but must be high quality.

The Legend of Maula Jatt has collected over 4.3 crores from Pakistan, the US, and the UK on its first day. Unfortunately, the movie still hasn't played in around 50% of the cinemas in Pakistan due to some disagreements over the ticket prices between the cinema owners and the producers. They need to get the contractual issues sorted and they need to stop trying to sabotage this movie's box office.

Overall the total collection worldwide on its first day is probably around the 7-8 crores mark. No other Pakistani movie has ever earned more on its first day.

Just got back after watching the movie. Brilliant film and easily the best Pakistani movie ever made. It was amazing to see the attention to detail and effort put into this.

You can really tell that this movie was high budget and I'd go as far as to say that the action sequences were world-class.

Although people should know before watching that this movie is very violent and it's not suitable for kids to watch.

The best Pakistani movie for its times (late 1970s) in terms of cinematography, direction, acting, aided with good music and songs was Aina starring Pakistani best and biggest star actor Nadeem and Shabnum. This movie was also copied by Bollywood (Pyar Jukta Nahin) asnumerous of his hit movies. The original Mola Jat was also very good due to acting and dialogues. Looking forward to watching this hope it will be another master piece by Lollywood.

The Legend of Maula Jatt has collected over 4.3 crores from Pakistan, the US, and the UK on its first day. Unfortunately, the movie still hasn't played in around 50% of the cinemas in Pakistan due to some disagreements over the ticket prices between the cinema owners and the producers. They need to get the contractual issues sorted and they need to stop trying to sabotage this movie's box office.

Overall the total collection worldwide on its first day is probably around the 7-8 crores mark. No other Pakistani movie has ever earned more on its first day.

This is seriously starting to get annoying, seems like Pakistan is the only country which does it's best to sabotage it's own success. A whiff of money and suddenly all the leeches are jumping in looking to get a share of the cut. It's like the old time taxi drivers with their re-negotiating a fare halfway through a journey.

The Punjabi sounds great.

Is this the same Punjabi the same as Sikhs speak in Indian occupied Punjab?

This is seriously starting to get annoying, seems like Pakistan is the only country which does it's best to sabotage it's own success.

Came here to type that.. the delay towards the movie itself was hurtful as pre covid it could had made so much more successful.

Will watch it Sunday but considering both the critical and commercial success I wonder if it’ll not be the beginning of Pakistan’s own brand of specific cinema like you see in South India esp Telugu industry.

Perhaps other old 80s scripts will be revisited more regularly now but of course with new production values/direction.

Many see the 80s in bad light but if you revamp them you can churn out blockbusters, truth is while the story is important it’s only essential in thrillers (genre which will rarely be successful with our audiences), in other genres you need more of a decent screenplay than a good story (ex. what "too complex" story you need for action genre or historical drama ?), what clicks with peoples are more the characters and even in the old Punjabi movies it was all about the "larger than life" characters.

Excellent direction and cinematography. Dialogues not over the top and language easy to understand.

Bilal Lashari is a star and this movie is a very good watch. Enjoyed it.

Humaima was my favourite.

I was bored sick of all those romcom's that I don't even find funny. Over dressed ladies with 100 layers of make up on showing about 100 weddings in every film were doing my head in!. It is so refreshing to see a rural all action flick with no songs in it.

After seeing Waar, which was the amongst the worst directed and acted film I have seen, I'll give this a pass considering Bilal Lashari will add burger overtones to it.

Looking forward to watching this tomorrow They hype for this is immense

The impact of this movie in the landscape of Pakistani cinema will be epic. This is the sort of movie that even international audience will rate highly. Some of the most likeable things for me in this movie were:

1. Cinematography - this was on point throughout the movie and choreography of the final fight scene was epic. Well done to the team for pulling through some of the most epic images and choreography that you'll see.

2. Music - the little dance sequence corroborated by thay epic music in background was a perfect mix. The music was Hollywood level stuff. Proud of the sound mix in here.

3. Dialogues - thank God this was in Punjabi and the dialogues were super heavy and epic as this movie deserved. I sincerely feel that some of the dialogues of this movie will stand the test of time and will be watched multiple times over on YouTube.

So happy for this movie and Pakistani cinema in general. I really wish this does well so others can follow suit. So far the signs are good as most of the shows have been sold out locally and internationally. Also there are plans to release this on streaming platform after some months which will help reach those audience that weren't previously catered and will get Pakistani actors and movies more recognition which it rightly deserves.

Dancing and Music works for Bollywood, but I am also glad to hear that this film does not have songs and dancing. Pakistani films need to go their own way and not try to be a Bollywood imitation. Otherwise you might as well watch Bollywood.

I always wanted Pakistani cinema to emulate the Iranian one and make critically acclaimed films. However don't think our population is educated enough to appreciate them.

Watched the movie last night, despite all the hype I was a bit unsure it would be as spectacular as the reviews, but I was pleasently surprised that it was indeed a masterpiece in every sense from production, direction, camework, back ground music, and acting with perfect characterisation, especially Hamza Abbassi was awesome and flawless with his delivery. Glad he did not try to copy Mustafa Quershi delivering the legendary sohnya dialogues.
Only let down was Mairya Khan playing Makho, and personallyShan would had been the perfect Mola Jutt instead of Fawad only because Fawad Khan is too good looking to play a rough tough character, but he did justice to his role overall. I would score it 7.5 out of 10, especially coming from not so experienced Pakistani film industry.

The original wasnt a great film per se Saj

It was only sultan rahi and mustapha quereshi star power and the great dialogues that made the film memorable

This film looks a much bettet quality production

Now I feel some "pressure" to watch this movie, every Pakistani I meet here ask me whether I have seen it or not.

Can't imagine , these "mommy daddy" type actors can play the role played by Sultan Rahi and Mustafa Qureshi in the original.

Now I feel some "pressure" to watch this movie, every Pakistani I meet here ask me whether I have seen it or not.

Can't imagine , these "mommy daddy" type actors can play the role played by Sultan Rahi and Mustafa Qureshi in the original.

You should watch it. If nothing else you'll at least enjoy the world-class action scenes and the cinematography in this movie.

lol you should obviously go, I’m myself going on Tuesday due to the Punjabi perspective and many Indian Punjabis are watching it too and except Fawad’s Punjabi everyone seems to have liked it.

Use the AMC tuesdays discounts if its family.

Pretty boy Fawad Khan is just not cut out for roles such as these. Came across meetha for such a tough character.

Just watched it, cinema was full in a Western capital, with many Indians, and everything was on point, the direction, cinematography (you do feel Bilal Lashari the former music video director here), production values/set, background score, ... I honestly can't even find criticism, some would say the story is pretty weak (your cliché revenge tale) but the characterization/writing of all characters is so good that it compensates.

Those who said Bilal Lashari got inspiration or even copied from Bollywood are invited to show me a single movie which is comparable in any aspect (in terms of pure production values they tried with Kalank few years ago, turned out to be one of the worst movies ever.)

South Indian comparisons would fare better, imagine Bahubali (more storytelling than story, impactful characters, OST, ...), but perhaps without the overdoing of slo-mo during action scenes.

I'm a big fan of Punjabi (Indian) cinema but they too will have hard time pulling out something of that scale.

I too thought Fawad Khan couldn't do justice but he basically shut us up, not only he used his baritone voice for the dialogue delivery as expected but even the facial expressions conveyed all the emotions he must as Maula Jatt (complex character with internal demons not some cold brute).

Many in his shoes (and in Hamza's) would have looked like pure parody/sketch.

Pretty boy Fawad Khan is just not cut out for roles such as these. Came across meetha for such a tough character.

Do you seriously think all pirates looked like Johnny Depp, or British spies looked like Pierce Brosnan? It's a film, looks tend to take precendence over pretty much everything else.

A must watch Seriously high quality and production values

Hamza Ali Abbasi Steals the show as Noori

Cant remember the last time someone pulling off such a negative role so successfully as he has

Well done and deservedly going to be pakistans biggest film ever

Just watched it, cinema was full in a Western capital, with many Indians, and everything was on point, the direction, cinematography (you do feel Bilal Lashari the former music video director here), production values/set, background score, ... I honestly can't even find criticism, some would say the story is pretty weak (your cliché revenge tale) but the characterization/writing of all characters is so good that it compensates.

Those who said Bilal Lashari got inspiration or even copied from Bollywood are invited to show me a single movie which is comparable in any aspect (in terms of pure production values they tried with Kalank few years ago, turned out to be one of the worst movies ever.)

South Indian comparisons would fare better, imagine Bahubali (more storytelling than story, impactful characters, OST, ...), but perhaps without the overdoing of slo-mo during action scenes.

I'm a big fan of Punjabi (Indian) cinema but they too will have hard time pulling out something of that scale.

I too thought Fawad Khan couldn't do justice but he basically shut us up, not only he used his baritone voice for the dialogue delivery as expected but even the facial expressions conveyed all the emotions he must as Maula Jatt (complex character with internal demons not some cold brute).

Many in his shoes (and in Hamza's) would have looked like pure parody/sketch.

It’s unfair to compare Indian Punjabi movies , their biggest stars have always migrated to Bombay cinema and many good movies get boycotted.
Also because you mentioned background score and its effect etc mention sound design is by Sreejresh Nair, you would hopefully get to feel the immersive dolby atmos.

It’s unfair to compare Indian Punjabi movies , their biggest stars have always migrated to Bombay cinema and many good movies get boycotted.
Also because you mentioned background score and its effect etc mention sound design is by Sreejresh Nair, you would hopefully get to feel the immersive dolby atmos.

sorry If I appeared a bit dismissive, I'm a huge admirer of Punjabi cinema, in the comedy genre they're unbeatable and they even made me like the rom-com genre (thinking of Amrinder Gill's Angrej).

What I meant is that they don't experiment with the action/thriller genre as they should.

Gippy Grewal is trying to change that with his screenwriting (Warning movies), often in collab with Prince Kanwaljit Singh, probably the most talented Punjabi actor, but that's few individuals, I don't think the industry as a whole would changed its tempo (and why not when they produce box-office hits with these genres.)

I'd like to be proven wrong tho.

You're also right that Hindi cinema somehow "steals" Punjabi talent, if the Kapoor's, Deol's, etc. put more efforts into Punjabi cinema or even the same amount as they do for Hindi picture would indeed be very very different.

I think Punjabi cinema would also gain by opening itself to Pak-Punjabi artists, the comedians they took for the Chal Mera Putt series or Sohail Ahmed for the recent Diljit movie are proofs that audiences love such collaboration, but they can extend the scope way beyond comedians, even lead actors and villains in particular.

I also thought that Shan would had suited more as a punjabi jutt, and he is well experienced with such roles, but despite having a chocolate hero looks Fawad had done well,and I was impressed with his vocals too.