[VIDEO] "What I will tell my team is "bilkul ghabrana naheen hai" [no need to panic]" : Babar Azam

Babar Azam speaking to the press after 9 wicket loss to England in the 1st ODI

"I don't think this is a very big shock to our system, you get good and bad days and we have played some excellent cricket leading up to this series; I have full confidence and belief in each of our players, and I will also support them and inspire confidence in them when we all sit down together again; What I will tell them is "bilkul ghabrana naheen hai" [there is no need to panic/be worried] as ups and down happen all the time but the sooner we learn from our mistakes, the better it will be for our team and players, and Inshallah we will have good result in the coming game"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Babar Azam "Ghabrana Nahi Hai" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/BxaphtACdr">pic.twitter.com/BxaphtACdr</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1413190212948267012?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 8, 2021</a></blockquote>

"We have seen all of the England players before [so that wasn't a problem] but of course there were a few new faces also; The England bowlers have bowled well today but we will bounce back, God Willing"

"We did not become complacent - unfortunately some wickets fell early so we could not make a comeback and create good partnerships; We dont think about teams like that [take it easy because they are inexperience] - We still consider them a number one team and we were not relaxed against them"

"In the last series Fakhar Zaman batted well, even Imam has done good batting and Rizwan is in good form too; It's my aim to stay on the wicket as long as possible and take the rest of the team with me but everyday cannot be the same - this was a bad day for us and its in the past now"

The loss itself was not shocking (England have great LOI bench strength) but the manner of loss was surprising.

Babar is right though. Panicking doesn't help.

I’ve never been more embarrassed as a Pakistan cricket fan. Losing to a weak England team is disappointing, but getting bowled out for 140 is not acceptable. Misbah NEEDS to go, Mohammad Wasim can join him, and for Waqar Younis there’s no point sacking him as he’ll end up becoming the coach of the team in the next 3-5 years.

Babar Azam speaking to the press after 9 wicket loss to England in the 1st ODI

"I don't think this is a very big shock to our system, you get good and bad days and we have played some excellent cricket leading up to this series; I have full confidence and belief in each of our players, and I will also support them and inspire confidence in them when we all sit down together again; What I will tell them is "bilkul ghabrana naheen hai" [there is no need to panic/be worried] as ups and down happen all the time but the sooner we learn from our mistakes, the better it will be for our team and players, and Inshallah we will have good result in the coming game"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Babar Azam "Ghabrana Nahi Hai" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/BxaphtACdr">pic.twitter.com/BxaphtACdr</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1413190212948267012?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 8, 2021</a></blockquote>

You were humiliated by a third string England team. This should be a very big shock to your system.

If we can bounce back in the next couple games, Babar's approach will be vindicated.

However, if we get thrashed again, he's going to look like a fool for saying this.

That's Imran Khan's line!

Give him some slack - it's the first game and the team was probably rattled by the circumstances.

If the same thing repeats across the tour, then go guns blazing.

Fans need to balance Optimism, Patriotism with some Reality as well. England is the Strongest Limited Overs team for a reason, their bench strength is solid. Pakistan's rankings are in front of us. Anyone expecting a backward playing Pakistan team to come out on top against this Number 1 England team was deluded.

Spoke well to be honest. Kept his calm and said the right things.

Let's see if Pakistan can bounce back. Babar himself will have to score big for that to happen.

Said all the right things after a humiliating loss.

Now they need to go out there, back all the words they have said and put in a performance.

Fans need to balance Optimism, Patriotism with some Reality as well. England is the Strongest Limited Overs team for a reason, their bench strength is solid. Pakistan's rankings are in front of us. Anyone expecting a backward playing Pakistan team to come out on top against this Number 1 England team was deluded.

No ones arguing against that but this shambolic effort of getting bundled out for 140 with loads of overs to spare then losing by 9 wickets.

The lack of competition in cricket is sometime not good for a team. Pakistan were caught cold 🥶. Very cold indeed and after 3 down in 3 overs it was game over really. England finished the job in 50 out off 100 overs.

Long way back for Pakistan in this series. Don’t see them winning a ODI with this team at all.

That should be at least a major eye openers for this Management. All I know is Sarfraz, Hafeez, imad, Wahab and Aamir will be laughing in stitches 🧵

Deluded? Have you actually looked at the team that England fielded today (obv no fault of their own)?

Yes, England's white-ball team is pretty strong and yes, they have decent bench strength, but you seriously believed that Pakistan would lose to them? Pakistan would have to play especially terrible to lose to them, and that is exactly what they did (poking and prodding, instead of committing to shots/defense in the first 10, and then not regrouping). Pakistan should win the series easily, if they aren't complacent (a historical issue with PCT).

If you didn't manage to catch the game, just look at the List A stats of some of the debutants and newbies from Eng, and you'll see why they're not special.

Early loss of wickets is always going to be hard work especially against Top team like England in their home.

Let's hope for a better performance at Lords where Pakistan usually do well . The main problem I can see here is that it could be a washout as rain predicted on Saturday .

This line has become an ironic metaphor for everything in Pakistan including Pakistan cricket.

While everything goes to the dogs, tell everyone to keep calm.

It reminds me of that meme where a cute little cartoon dog is sitting inside a burning house saying: "This is fine".

No need to start crying. Same team defeated SA. Will win this odi series at the end.

Remember india was folded for a low score to austrialia. Not the end of the world

It’s 1-0 down in a three match series, so they need to win two in a row and judging by how demoralized they will be today I cannot see them winning two in a row. Had they taken 5/6 English wickets atleast could have taken some confidence into the next game but It was a serious thrashing and very humiliating. For me this was worse than losing to Bangladesh in 1999, I know most won’t agree but we had probably our strongest team out today on paper that we wanted minus Haris Sohail who hasn’t played much lately so you can’t really count him.

No need to start crying. Same team defeated SA. Will win this odi series at the end.

Remember india was folded for a low score to austrialia. Not the end of the world

Thank you bro for defending the team. Our team has improved so much under Misbah. We would have bowled out under 100 and England would finish this match in 10 over if Mickey was our coach.
Winning is not everything as long as we compete, participate and win heart of English fans.

Such a pathetic and weak statement. He speaks and carries himself like a 15 year old shy boy.

He has no confidence, no charisma - the fact that he is parroting a nonsense statement by Imran Khan sums it up.

He has no star power, no original thought.

Sums up the state of Pakistan cricket when a character like him is the leader.

A fine batsman but he continues to show why he is not a match-changing player.

Such a pathetic and weak statement. He speaks and carries himself like a 15 year old shy boy.

He has no confidence, no charisma - the fact that he is parroting a nonsense statement by Imran Khan sums it up.

Not a leadership material and a proven failure under pressure.

same "team" defeat SA?
Are you sure?

I thought you already gave that credit to Babaa-e-tuk tuk?

Thank you bro for defending the team. Our team has improved so much under Misbah. We would have bowled out under 100 and England would finish this match in 10 over if Mickey was our coach.
Winning is not everything as long as we compete, participate and win heart of English fans.

ROFL

All that is left is now for Babar to rock up with Cornered Tigers T-shirt next match. Imitation complete.

Babar needs to learn from a charismatic and inspirational leader like Virat Kohli who revolutionized the pace bowling attack of his country.

Pakistan need a leader like Kohli who can turn the Shaheens and Naseems into Wasim and Waqar and win games for his country ruthlessly. Babar doesn't seem to be capable of.

Babar needs to learn from a charismatic and inspirational leader like Virat Kohli who revolutionized the pace bowling attack of his country.

Pakistan need a leader like Kohli who can turn the Shaheens and Naseems into Wasim and Waqar and win games for his country ruthlessly. Babar doesn't seem to be capable of.

How many trophies has India won since Kohli became the captain?

Babar is his own man and he should be allowed to lead the side naturally.

Sure, lets Misbah stay and make his $$$...

How many trophies has India won since Kohli became the captain?
Just winning trophiea doesn't show your quality as a team. Indian team has progressed to a whole new level. Whereas we are struggling to defeat a whole rookie team.

This should not come as shocking as we have struggled to beat Zimbabwe in the recent past. This just shows where our standards are as a team. When you have players like Imam, Shadab and Faheem and Hasan you cannot compete with quality teams. They are only good for minnows. This is why our quality as a team is pathetic. These players have zero talent or skills to be successful against even this Eng side.

The fact that since becoming the national team captain he has played 2 PSLs just as a player is not helping his cause as well. He should at least show some courage and demand Karachi Kings captaincy. As Pakistan’s best batsman he should use some leverage. Right now I believe the players just play under him because he is a nice guy and not because he is a charismatic captain.

He is right. No need to panic. It was just one bad day. And the first match rustiness. Happens to every sub-continent team. I am sure the team will bounce back in the second ODI.

Just winning trophiea doesn't show your quality as a team. Indian team has progressed to a whole new level. Whereas we are struggling to defeat a whole rookie team.

This should not come as shocking as we have struggled to beat Zimbabwe in the recent past. This just shows where our standards are as a team. When you have players like Imam, Shadab and Faheem and Hasan you cannot compete with quality teams. They are only good for minnows. This is why our quality as a team is pathetic. These players have zero talent or skills to be successful against even this Eng side.

The Indian team didn’t progress because of Kohli’s leadership, they progressed because they’ve got a good domestic structure and because they don’t pick players based on hype unlike us. We’ll see some kid on YouTube bowling 85 mph and hype him up until he reaches international level.

I’ve never been more embarrassed as a Pakistan cricket fan. Losing to a weak England team is disappointing, but getting bowled out for 140 is not acceptable. Misbah NEEDS to go, Mohammad Wasim can join him, and for Waqar Younis there’s no point sacking him as he’ll end up becoming the coach of the team in the next 3-5 years.

Misbah has brought Pakistan team to ventilator , his job will not be finished as long as Pakistan cricket has the pulse. What a curse on Pakistan cricket this man has been for more than decade.

He is right. No need to panic. It was just one bad day. And the first match rustiness. Happens to every sub-continent team. I am sure the team will bounce back in the second ODI.

This logic would’ve been a lot more easier to swallow if Pak was up against a full strength England side.

Do you understand that this was not even a contest?

With an army of highly paid coaches, this result shouldn’t be acceptable.
Someone should be held accountable and some heads must be rolled.
This is not a joy ride on a pork barrel project.

I saw the match. The Pakistani players looked lost and appeared that they had no clue how to field or bowl.

Pakistan cannot strategize against the new faces in England. How do you plan against a debutant?Not much coaching team can do now.

It has to be the players who have to do the thinking on ground and Babar Azam has to captain them brilliantly and use whatever resources are available

Although I am a big supporter of IK, I do agree that it is quite unfortunate that many of our players, and also people, can't seem to have original thoughts.

Yes, IK was a great leader, but you don't have to copy everything he does to become successful. Just stay true to your personality and back yourself, since there are numerous different pathways to achieving the same goal. This isn't much in relation to Babar's statement here, as "don't panic" is a very common phrase, but more so to the Shoaib Akhtars and Rameez Rajas of the world, who implore players to mold themselves into something they are not.

I hope Babar remains the uncontroversial and gentle self, and not unnecessarily try to alter his personality to gain "star power" (whatever that means). Otherwise, it'll come across as ingenuine and forced. To illustrate my point, imagine if someone like Hashim Amla or Kane Williamson started mimicking Virat Kohli's or Ben Stokes' antics/mannerisms to gain "star power" mid-way through their career. They'd become instantly unlikable, since you know it's put on. While people will still like VK and Stokes, because that's how they innately are.

I can understand your pain. Loosing to an A-side is never palatable. But this is not the first time a top international team lost to a bunch of rookies. Mightier teams have lost to no name teams in cricket before as well. Like I said, this is just one bad day for PCT.

Let's wait for the series to end before we draw any conclusions.

This logic would’ve been a lot more easier to swallow if Pak was up against a full strength England side.

Do you understand that this was not even a contest?

With an army of highly paid coaches, this result shouldn’t be acceptable.
Someone should be held accountable and some heads must be rolled.
This is not a joy ride on a pork barrel project.

Imagine the reaction if Kohli coming to PC after epic loss and saying "Sab Changa Si" :inti

They are backing him now so give him a long rope, better option for the long term but if it doesn’t work out then you have Riswan. In my opinion, it was a pathetic showing by Pakistan but this England team could easily rank in the top 5 such is the bench strength and I am not remotely shocked, I am a predicting an England win by 2-1 but it will be close, Pak should improve but it all depends on how fast they can adapt, it’s not easy against young lions they have never faced before although Babar doesn’t have that excuse…

felt so sorry for him yesterday

Imagine being unloaded on by a pigeon whilst getting out for zero and your team being bowled out for 141

felt so sorry for him yesterday

Imagine being unloaded on by a pigeon whilst getting out for zero and your team being bowled out for 141

You should feel sorry for the Pakistan fans who paid 200 quid for a ticket lol

My days!

No wonder there were just a handful of them at the ground. Lords is usually sold out for Pak games but apparently there are so many tickets available. I’m playing tomorrow otherwise I would be there

bro, you cant talk logic with these fans.

They believe Pakistan is capable and should win every match. Such hiccups happen. India were defeated to Australia badly yet they were in the finals of WTC.

our fans loved to go over the top. Englanf bowlers at their home bowled really well. Rizwan and Babar got out to very good deliveries and you have to give it to them.

bro, you cant talk logic with these fans.

They believe Pakistan is capable and should win every match. Such hiccups happen. India were defeated to Australia badly yet they were in the finals of WTC.

our fans loved to go over the top. Englanf bowlers at their home bowled really well. Rizwan and Babar got out to very good deliveries and you have to give it to them.

Yeah India were defeated badly and then came back by defeating a full strength Australia at home with their C bowling line up.

We lose to Zimbabwe A and come back by narrowly beating them the next game.

Really it's sad seeing Misbah fans make excuses for our pathetic performances. Are we a rubbish team? Yes. However Misbah has turned this rubbish team into an absolute disgrace of an outfit and he needs to be removed.

Yeah India were defeated badly and then came back by defeating a full strength Australia at home with their C bowling line up.

We lose to Zimbabwe A and come back by narrowly beating them the next game.

Really it's sad seeing Misbah fans make excuses for our pathetic performances. Are we a rubbish team? Yes. However Misbah has turned this rubbish team into an absolute disgrace of an outfit and he needs to be removed.

and we defeated SA full strength squad. so what is your point?

We won one game against a full strength South Africa (the same South African team that lost 5-2 at hom against India with Du Plessis and ABD) and won our second game against South Africa B which is nothing to be proud of.

Anyway if I'm being frank I'd much rather lose a competitive series against a good side instead of fluking a series win against a weakened South Africa, a win which somehow in your eyes justifies the loses we faced under Misbah. These loses btw are: losing 3-0 to SRL at home, losing an ODI to Zimbabwe at home, losing a T20 against Zimbabwe while chasing 120, losing to an England D side and plus many, many humiliating performances against top 5 teams which I do not have time to list.

Are all these loses really worth our fluked series win?

Man oh man, when we win we complain and when we lose we complain. Thats the best advise Babar can give to stay calm. Really hope they win tomorrow

What Babar said isn't new, and no imitation. Any leader in any sport will say the same thing.

Shoaib Akhtar in response to Babar Azam's remarks after defeat:

“It is all lame excuses. There was nothing on the wicket like extraordinary bounce. A little seam movement is expected in England. If you can’t handle that seam, then what will you do?”

“I feel sorry for myself and the fans. If Pakistan continues to perform like this, then who will watch them? I will not"

This “ghabrana nahi hai” has become an iconic slogan :))

Now it will be epic if Kohli starts his next press conference with “Mitron” :)

Whenever i listen to him . It looks embarrassing. He has serious issue with his communication

For his team to not "ghabrana", he needed to be at the crease.

Will be interesting to see what he has to say today.

From Mickey’s - “we are a proud team and we hate losing” to Babar’s “ghabrana nahi hai”.

I feel we should have done "ghabrana" - and got our act sorted for the second game.

Babar Azam needs the Stephen Flemming type Job Security from 1997 to 2007.

Think these words from Babar need to be played again and again for his side.

Ghabrana nahi hai because we are going to get whitewashed by England reserves :)))

"Ghabrana nahi hai" because Misbah is not going anywhere with bunch of rockstars like Faheem and Shaheen. Sad day.

Ghabrana nahi hai because we are going to get whitewashed by England reserves :)))

have to say - I think i agree with you for the first time - this series loss cements our place as a mediocre team - maybe we can give afghanistan a fight....maybe

Babar speaking to the press tonight

"The practice games we played seem to give us a lot of positive momentum but it seems we didn't start well in the first game and then made the same mistakes again in the 2nd game; The first half of the game today went off well but in the second part of the game our bowling and fielding was not good and the catches we dropped also contributed to our defeat"

"I don't feel that my inexperience was a factor in this defeat - of course, we all learn in any match we play; Fact is that as a team we did badly due to which we lost the match today; When you play against international sides, the margin of error is very narrow and a few mistakes can make a big difference in the result but hopefully we will improve ourselves"

Q: Shoaib Akhtar said that Pak team does not have superstars - what do u think?

"He may not think that but every player is giving his 100% - think best you ask him who is a star, and who isn't in this team - I have no comments about that"

"Waqar is working with the bowlers but in this series the bowlers did not bowl with the correct line and length; We bowled outstandingly well in the series against South Africa and Zimbabwe; I will back my players because more I back them, the better it will be for the team"

Babar Azam needs the Stephen Flemming type Job Security from 1997 to 2007.

And why should they provide that security ? do you see similarities in Babar’s captaincy with Flemming ?

Yes, being the best batsman in the team with not many great players. Flemming was not a good captain from day one, it took loads and loads of experience for him to develop and grow as a captain. Continous chopping and changing is going to be very damaging for the team in the long run

You can't blame Babar for being professional, calm in the press conferences. As the captain of the side you have to back your troops in public 100% and say whatever you want to say to them in private behind closed doors.

he could respond with a bit more bluntness to make his players understand there are consequences in international sport. he could have said this is not good enough ...we have to re-evaluate but today it seemed like a fractured outfit honestly. i would hate to be babar azam or rizwan in this team.
nothing but mediocrity today.

Nothing great about his captaincy but tbf it is bowling, fielding and batting that is losing games.
Babar is doing a good job with bat and honestly he is the only A++ quality player in this team so should continue as captain without any pressure.

he could respond with a bit more bluntness to make his players understand there are consequences in international sport. he could have said this is not good enough ...we have to re-evaluate but today it seemed like a fractured outfit honestly. i would hate to be babar azam or rizwan in this team.
nothing but mediocrity today.

He should only be blunt with his team behind close doors

Q: Shoaib Akhtar said that Pak team does not have superstars - what do u think?

"He may not think that but every player is giving his 100% - think best you ask him who is a star, and who isn't in this team - I have no comments about that"

"Waqar is working with the bowlers but in this series the bowlers did not bowl with the correct line and length; We bowled outstandingly well in the series against South Africa and Zimbabwe; I will back my players because more I back them, the better it will be for the team"

If that is the literal translation of what Babar actually said in Urdu than that is actually a fantastic response.

That was the best answer anyone can possibly give. Someone needs to ask Shoaib what is the actual definition of a “brand” and a “star” according to him. It was interesting at first, then it was funny for a while but it is just lame and boring now.