[VIDEOS] Aamer Jamal - International performance thread

Fdv6XB9WQAEN8JQ

The first few balls he has faced - not too impressive.

Nervous start with the bat

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/e4pty9" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Babar not trusting him with any overs so far. Should get a chance to bowl a couple

Should get other 2 games as well.

But in the place of a batsmen.

A looong batting at the cost of bowling is a cowardly strategy that never works.

Not a very eventful debut so far. Looks like Babar doesn't trust him yet in this low scoring chase.

First ball at 138kph...

and then a wicket

Gets Sam Curran as his first international wicket. Good on Waseem jnr to not drop that even though they're in direct competition

Nice bowling action.

I didn't see what speeds he was hitting, but he looked decent.

Insh Allah one of if not both our fast bowling all rounders kick off at this level. Last one who was worth his weight was Abdul Razzaq. It’s been so long.

Nice bowling action.

I didn't see what speeds he was hitting, but he looked decent.

His wicket

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/m67l2z" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I dont see harm in giving him some games in the future, see if he is truly a fast bowling all rounder to invest in- 1 game does not tell us the full story. After 6-7 games you can get more of an idea of how he will be, if he truly fits in the team set up or not.

Given the last over of the match.

Thrown into the lion's den.

Amazing effort at death.

Give this guy a long rope. He can be the elusive AR we seek.

What a tremendous over on debut.

This guy can be special. Need to blood him in after the WC.

I was more nervous than him chilling on my sofa. Well down young lad! Ma sha Allah.

Exceptional temperament shown on debut. Even when he was batting he was hitting it well until got out on a slow short ball (One can argue was an unlucky dismissal). Seems to have gelled right into the team's culture as well which is always really positive.

Itny fast bowlers ma team ma jaga banana aur phir last over krwana "this beast has nerves of steel bowled a amazing last over under pressure" :akhtar

We need mentally tough players like him , he can bowl yorkers at will even in pressure situation, that skill alone will make him walk in any playing XI we churning out these days , didn't look much good with the bat at this level so far but it was a very low sample, must play all the remaining games.

What an over on debut man. Credit to Babar for backing him. He delivered.

Where has he been? He's played so little cricket for his age. Late bloomer or terrible talent identification at domestic level?

Exceptional temperament shown on debut. Even when he was batting he was hitting it well until got out on a slow short ball (One can argue was an unlucky dismissal). Seems to have gelled right into the team's culture as well which is always really positive.

I agree. Let's hope he gets more batting chances this series.

He can be a great addition to our side.

A fantastic debut in the end:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Nasser Hussain "Incredible that. 4 out of the balls in the last over Aamer Jamal absolutely nailed the wide yorkers. The pressure he was on in that last over, he was brilliant, absolutely brilliant" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvENG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvENG</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1575190262988435457?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 28, 2022</a></blockquote>

Where has he been? He's played so little cricket for his age. Late bloomer or terrible talent identification at domestic level?

He said in some interview :

"I struggled a lot to reach here. I played for Pakistan U19 and then had a gap of 4 years. But I kept working hard and never gave up. I thank god that this season went well and now I am making my debut for Pakistan."

Had a clear death bowling plan and kept a cool head. Hope we give him more opportunities.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Babar Azam "Aamer Jamal was full of confidence and he had full belief that he could defend the runs. He was outstanding. We won the match due to his self-belief" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvENG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvENG</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1575193588438159360?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 28, 2022</a></blockquote>

Really happy for him

Hopefully he bats up the order

Nothing wrong in giving him confidence to bat at 3 or 4

Thats how the highly talked about departmental structure was, lack of talent identification and development in last 15 years or so at departmental level was pretty evident and the team combination in 2015 and lack of options manifested that. He couldnt play much for PTV and missed few years, even Abdullah Shafique was out of domestic cricket for more than a year after U19 setup and numerous such examples. When domestic teams and regions fall under directly under PCB with considerably less politics (Departmental setups for too self indulged and sometimes politics was much more) and people who atleast know some cricket are controlling everything in domestic teams, there is more limelight for performing players things look much better.

Guys with mental strength can make up for limited talent and it looks he is not short on talent as well.

He has played here with some local folk I know, always been a class act, hope he is given more chances after this because he works hard

Nasser Hussain "Aamer Jamal's never played a PSL game. He's played just 12 games in domestic T20s. The pressure he was under to nail those wide yorkers. He was just outstanding"

I was like, what is Babar thinking, throwing in the debutant to bowl the last over?

I am not convinced Babar knew what he was thinking either, but Jamal did extremely well.

He would have been vilified if England won off his over.

Not the smartest move from Babar, but he got lucky this time.

I was like, what is Babar thinking, throwing in the debutant to bowl the last over?

I am not convinced Babar knew what he was thinking either, but Jamal did extremely well.

But atleast we got to see the temparent of Amir Jamal this way.

Actually i was also impressed with the calmness he showed whilst batting.

We may have found a gem.

Sky Sports' Nasser Hussain...

"Jamal was brilliant, absolutely brilliant with the pressure he was under. You can debate whether Moeen should have taken the one but with the way he was hitting it, I think he did the right thing. You can't rely on the Pakistan batting line-up but you can on the bowlers."

Nerves of steel from the debutant and I feel like he's got real skill with the bat ... Should get a good run here leading up to the WC

That Jamal over!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/delz8c" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

How can a player debut for international team but is yet to feature in PSL?

PSL need to stop selecting retired players.

Nasser Hussain "Aamer Jamal's never played a PSL game. He's played just 12 games in domestic T20s. The pressure he was under to nail those wide yorkers. He was just outstanding"

Pretty sure PSL contract is coming.

That Jamal over!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/delz8c" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Brilliant over, intelligence used and bowled to a plan.

Pakistan's answer to India's Hardik Pandya? :inti

o nahin bhai, bhai sahib break lagaa lo... aisa mut karo... lets see what he can do after a 10-12 game sample... in the bowling end of things +1... batting ~ untested.... didnt look trashy/hacky...

He was around the 140 mark

Not above 143 I think

who cares about pace, even if he was dibbling dobbling in 120 i wouldnt care if the end result is a good one... mental prowess over speed...

Very hard to judge him after one game.. but he looks impressive!

1st game.. he could have easily lost the plot and bowled a few full tosses especially considering the plan to bowl wide yorkers. He only made one mistake with that slot ball

Time will tell on what else he can offer and will be interesting to see his other variations but at first look he seems he believes in his ability and has got a sound head on his shoulders. Wish him best of luck for future

It needs to be mentioned that there was dew. The ball was wet but still he was able to control Yorkers at death under pressure. Let’s hope he can replicate and be our ace in the chase

Pakistan's answer to India's Hardik Pandya? :inti

As per his stats at least he’s more of a batting all rounder than a bowling all rounder, so perhaps the Pandya comparaison isn’t unwarranted.

And PK precisely needs more of batting than bowling ARs as it’s the batting which obviously remains lacking, esp. in the middle order (but going by reports Aamir is more of a power hitter down the order).

Instinctively I don't like slingy bowlers because most of them lack control and more can go wrong under pressure. Let's hope that this lad develops into a top bowler and creates lots of competition for the other bowlers. We need 8 good fast bowlers and I am hoping he is one of them

What a final over! Amazing concentration.

who cares about pace, even if he was dibbling dobbling in 120 i wouldnt care if the end result is a good one... mental prowess over speed...

Pace matters for the longevity of a fast bowler. Dibbly dobly bowlers will not survive in this format. They fade away.

PCB could have tried Jamal and a few other bowlers and batsmen from domestic teams against smaller teams like Netherlands,Zimbabwe etc but it is scared of losing so it doesn’t make any changes.

Pace matters for the longevity of a fast bowler. Dibbly dobly bowlers will not survive in this format. They fade away.

The fact of the matter is that he touches 140 KPH easily and not a dibbly dobbly bowler. IDK why such things get mentioned that makes no sense to individual on which the thread is created.

He won’t survive in International cricket if he isn’t above 140 as a bowler. That’s a given.

Look at Hassan Ali now. The guy is such a liability due to his lack of pace in comparison to all other pacers in the Pakistan set up.

He won’t survive in International cricket if he isn’t above 140 as a bowler. That’s a given.

Look at Hassan Ali now. The guy is such a liability due to his lack of pace in comparison to all other pacers in the Pakistan set up.

He’s a late 130s bowler, Similar to Early Faheem and Wasim junior. However if he’s given a set role in the team, e.g. two overs at the death, last over in the PP, he can be the type of bowler he can keep the scoring low and get pressure wickets. The more you simplify the game for a newbie, even one bowling at 138, the more consistent he’ll be. And all the while he’s doing this, he can work on other skills, like taking the new ball, bowling knuckle balls, slower bouncers etc, do that he offers more variety as his career progresses.

However, his career will live and die by how effective a batter he is down the order.

That Jamal over!

This is such an impressive over. His 2nd over in international cricket under this kind of pressure in the match, basically nailed 4 of those wide yorkers and at crucial points in the over too. Take a bow!

Disagree when you say that Babar wasn’t being smart here. I would have said the same thing even if we lost. Babar had one of two options - bowl all his main bowlers at crucial times in the hope that they can get the wickets and dry up the runs, leaving enough for the debutant to defend in the last over, or bring on his debutant at the crucial moment potentially risking a Husnain-type moment, where the debutant gives away 20-25 runs and then your main bowlers have no chance to defend what’s left.

Babar made the smart choice by keeping his match-winning bowlers on at those key moments. Had he not done so, this match may have been over well before the 20th over, with a substantial loss.