[VIDEOS] Aamer Jamal - International performance thread

Is it because you can’t give credit to Misbah for his selection?
Misbah wanted Aamer Jamal selected for the test series in Australia and even talked about it on the pavilion. He was against Khurram Shezad being selected on Australia wickets.

I disagree with him.

I don't think the selectors expected Aamer to perform as well as he has done so far. He has surpassed his domestic performances in this series.

The way he plays seems very draining. The excitement of playing his first test series might be giving him a boost. I wonder if he can replicate these types of performances after the novelty of test cricket has passed for him.

Misbah wanted Aamer Jamal selected for the test series in Australia and even talked about it on the pavilion. He was against Khurram Shezad being selected on Australia wickets.

I disagree with him.
Why would I like or dislike Jamal personally?

Because he averages 20 in FC cricket?

Why would I like or dislike Jamal personally?

Because he averages 20 in FC cricket?
i think you can reread my above posts i have given cricketing reasons.

Jamal has done well so far.Let us see how he performs in future.I don’t understand why PCB persisted with Faheem.Why did they selected Shezad?.Sameen Gul and Arshad Iqbal should have been tried.They bowl test match lengths,both are tall and Australian wickets would have suited them.

I hope he continues his good form because having a decent allrounder is a luxury and specially for a weak side like Pakistan

One of the most entertaining knocks by a PAK batsman in AUS. His previous experience playing Sydney grade cricket has been useful.

Long-term, he's a 4th seamer at best. He's too expensive as a 3rd seamer. Even in domestic cricket his ERs has been high.

However he does have some character and I hope we can polish him as he spends more time in the national setup.

In a stellar display of all-around excellence, Aamer Jamal became only the third Pakistani cricketer to achieve the rare distinction of scoring 100+ runs and taking 10+ wickets in a single Test series, joining the ranks of Imran Khan and Wasim Akram.

After a long time, finally we have seen a proper all rounder in the team Pakistan. Hopefully he keeps the tempo up in the upcoming matches too.

I mean he doesn't quite have the numbers with the bat in his FC career and isn't very disciplined when bowling. We need to give time to label him for now.

Although as a side note he does have a few hundreds and 90+ scores in England Club cricket if it means something.

He isn't. He is a good 9, may develop into a decent 8. Its incredibly important that he does develop as a batter but even more importantly, he needs to develop his bowling. It has shown lots of promise but control isn't of international quality. My gut instinct says that he wont develop but I am praying he does.

Aamer jamal's hardwork has paid off. He got Usman khawaja down the le side for 47. Jamal is in some form in his debut series.

1704338225954.png

Ability wise he is strictly average with both bat and bowl but mentality wise he is as strong as you get , reminds me of Shoaib Malik such sorts of players always punch above their weight

Keep him fresh and away from t20s. Use Wasim Jr there and leave Jamal for tests. Give him a platinum contract in pal so he makes good money.

The bowler and the brickie: How Pakistan’s Aamir Jamal made a friend for life in Sydney

On Wednesday, Pakistan tail-ender Aamir Jamal walked slowly off the SCG turf acknowledging the crowd after hitting 82 runs in a rearguard display that kept his side in the third Test against Australia.

Soaking up the applause as he walked past the Ladies’ Pavilion, Jamal caught the eye of his former Sydney grade teammate Pat Lawrence, who knew his gruelling journey to enjoy his moment in the spotlight better than most.

Jamal raised his bat towards Lawrence and smiled. Seven years previously, the two had sat together in the general admission section at the same ground watching Australia play Pakistan in a Test match as housemates and teammates at Hawkesbury Cricket Club. Life had finally come full circle for Jamal, who debuted in this series at 27 years old.

“It makes you emotional seeing him do what he did [at the SCG],” Lawrence said. “He’s one of our own, he’s our brother, you know?”

Lawrence had welcomed the 20-year-old Jamal to Hawkesbury seven years ago, putting him up at the house he shared with his brother, Chris, in South Windsor.

The brickie and the young bowler soon became firm friends. Jamal’s initial shyness dissipated quickly as he learned about life in Australia away from the cricket pitch.

“He was such a friendly person,” Lawrence said. “He was a bit standoff-ish at the start, but once he worked at the Aussie culture and slang, he dove into it really well. We said, ‘Come live with us and you do what you want’, and we sort of dived into his culture a little bit, too.”

Jamal displayed his flair for cooking, preparing his favourite dishes for the Lawrence brothers, while also working regular shifts as a bricklayer alongside Pat.

How did he rate on the tools?

“I was the boss, so I probably gave him a bit of an easy run,” Lawrence admitted. “We wanted to respect his culture, so there’d be certain times he’d need to pray at his room, and we just said, ‘Mate, absolutely’.”

Lawrence was a fast bowler at Hawkesbury alongside Jamal, and the pair kept in touch after he left Sydney to make it in senior cricket in Pakistan. The road to international recognition was long and challenging for Jamal, who took out a bank loan to buy a taxi to finance his dream of playing top-class cricket in his home country.

The former teammates regularly spoke via FaceTime, and so it was that last year Jamal gave the Lawrence brothers the news he was travelling to Australia to make his Test debut, and would sort out tickets for them in Sydney.

Jamal may be a specialist bowler – he has 13 wickets across the Test series, including that of Usman Khawaja on Thursday – but former Hawkesbury president Richard Timbs was not surprised to see Jamal shine with the bat on Wednesday, having witnessed his potential in his grade days.

“Interestingly when he came to us, we thought he would be an opening bowler and maybe a No.6 [batter],” Timbs said. “But as the season went on, his batting really came to the fore. He was a very powerful hitter. So he was hitting lots of sixes and fours. His strike rate was always very good.”

Chris and Pat watched Jamal’s innings at the SCG, receiving some interesting looks as the only two Australians in the crowd cheering loudly for every successful shot by the Pakistani.

“We were sitting in the Ladies’ Pavilion, and we’re around the Australian population and every time he hits a four or a single, we’re up going, ‘Yes, Aamir’, and we’re getting these dirty looks around us,” Lawrence laughed.

“When he finally got out, we were cheering. It was quite emotional, not like you’re upset, but you’re just really happy for him. It’s really good to see him do so well. He finally got that crack at fame.

“He’s been messaging me and telling me how much easier life is for him and his family. He’s actually played for Pakistan now and is that bit more respected in his own community.”

Source : The Age

Please please please don't Hype him , he is not Andrew Flintoff Shane Watson or Ben Stokes,let him be Amir Jamal

Jamal has been brilliant with the ball in his debut series. Trapped Travis Head LBW this time.

1704425938143.png

Jamal has bowled his heart out and has given everything he has got as a cricket player in this series against Australia. What a player

Jamal gets his 3rd wicket straightaway after the tea break. Skipper Shan completes the catch to get rid of the danger man Mitchell Marsh.

Jamal has antoher one. 4th wicket of the innings as Cummins is gone 2nd ball. I think the umpire is blind or he has some problem with Pakistan beacuse it looked like crashing into the wickets but given not out on field.

1704429842053.png

Very proud of Jamal and what a find for Pakistan. Who thought Pakistan had a genuine all rounder waiting in their wings.

He has looked more and more impressive with every outing.

Imagine what an all rounder like Aamir Jamal could have done to the balance of the side at the World Cup! Instead he was kept out of the side, I made this point during the WC as well that despite bowling a brilliant lastbover against England in a T20I, Jamal was never even tried out before the WC, so that he can stake a claim.

Perennial failures like Shadab Khan and Nawaz who couldn't defend 17 in 4 balls were kept in the side.

Jamal has another fifer in this series. Look at his stats as he cleaned the tail in no time.

1704430807277.png

have not seen a performance like this in Australia by any of our players in almost 25 years now. Wow what a player

He is a pace bowling version of Shakib al Hasan , limited ability but nerves of steel , such player will find success even with limited abilities.

Such a good find. Credit to team selection for giving him the opportunity. Clearly a hard worker and genuine all rounder.

Question is will he rise quickly like Shadab, Fakhar, Haris and then fade or will he continue to rise and shine for prolonged periods?

He’s basically what we visioned Faheem to be. Vital Jamal is in all three formats, we lack genuine all rounders.

Hard work and dedication paying off for this guy. What a debut for him. A dream coming true.

Will PCB support players like him and not make flat roads for their home series?

He is officially 27. How was Faheem Ashraf playing ahead of him as an AR?

MashAllah, what a player. He can be a superstar and an ATG if the PCB manages his workload correctly.

Having said that, in every big match and in every format, AJ should be Pakistan's first-choice #7 or #8.

What a find!

Best performance by a Pakistani player in Australia in 30 years!

:ik

Jamal, Shadab, Nawaz, Agha, Faheem, Iftikhar and potentially Shaheen.

Pakistan has several quality all-rounders which is great.

Jamal, Shadab, Nawaz, Agha, Faheem, Iftikhar and potentially Shaheen.

Pakistan has several quality all-rounders which is great.
Never put Jamal’s name in that list again. Agha aside.

Show some respect.

Nice to see a player with some true jazba in the side too. Was giving stares to much more experienced players during his spells. A much needed strong-minded player in the side among meeker characters.

@Mamoon thoughts on this guy? Solid debut series.

2 six fers and an 82 with the bat. Some valuable contributions with bat and ball.

Looks like a gritty player with some fire in the belly unlike most Pak players.

@Mamoon thoughts on this guy? Solid debut series.

2 six fers and an 82 with the bat. Some valuable contributions with bat and ball.

Looks like a gritty player with some fire in the belly unlike most Pak players.
No doubt he had had an impressive series. He has done more in 3 Tests than Faheem has in years.

But longevity is always a problem for Pakistani players. It remains to be seen if he has more than 15-20 Tests left in him.

No doubt he had had an impressive series. He has done more in 3 Tests than Faheem has in years.

But longevity is always a problem for Pakistani players. It remains to be seen if he has more than 15-20 Tests left in him.
We need 8 medium/fast bowlers, atm we have 3 at best. For me HA, Mir Hamza don't add anything for 90% of test wickets they play on. They are solid FC performers but not international quality to get good batters out. I would like to see PK invest heavily in Ihsanullah, Arshad Iqbal( although he is at least Stone overweight), Kashif Ali, both the Zeeshans( Zameer is unfit) and Sirajuddin( if his action is clean).

I think zameers career is over.

Guy vanished after those injuries

Jamal has been really impressive with both bat and ball and he has great attitude.I expected him to be lot more expensive.

He proberly now is fighting his way in the t20 xi.

Someone was saying the first 6fer was a fluke and what about the second 6fer? I still feel he's punching above his weight. He needs to make his bowling action repeatable and that will take him a long way. He has a monster mentality which makes him special especially as its a rare quality amongst Pakistani's

Jamal’s a breath of fresh air in this team of overhyped batters and bowlers. Nothing trumps performance on the field and he had shown the heart in both bowling and batting. Nobody knows what the future holds, but if he maintains this attitude, chances are it’ll hold a lot of good for him and the Pakistani fans.

Faheem Ashraf visited Nawaz Sharif at Avenfield a few months ago. Before you know it he got recalled into the side
not surprised. Heard Imran Farhat might be visiting him soon for a recall lol

Someone was saying the first 6fer was a fluke and what about the second 6fer? I still feel he's punching above his weight. He needs to make his bowling action repeatable and that will take him a long way. He has a monster mentality which makes him special especially as its a rare quality amongst Pakistani's
Love his attitude. Kudos to M Wasim for picking him at Northerns and Wahab for picking him at the national level.

Jamal playing a decent hand with the bat to go with his performance with the ball.

Now will need to step up as he's got the tail to bat with.

Shame that Warner decided to hang his boots against Pak

With the Windies coming now, he could've smashed their attack.

Aamer Jamal won the Player of the Match award in the 3rd test against Australia, playing his debut series. That is some achievement for a guy who is just playing the 3rd test of his career and that too in Australia. One for the future.

Love his attitude. Kudos to M Wasim for picking him at Northerns and Wahab for picking him at the national level.
He was picked by Wasim on international level as well and he performed there but Babar and his group vanished him into oblivion.

We have been whitewashed again by Australia, but Aamer Jamal has proven us all wrong. What a series he had, and undoubtedly, he has become a star.

18 wickets (20 average, 4.1 economy) in this three-Test match series. These aren't ordinary economy rates and averages.

His time at Australia has helped him for sure. How did he end up there?
He apparently started his club career in Islamabad early on but some Islamabad Club Mafia bullied him and essentially not allowed him to play. That's the stories I've heard.

Also I was listening to a radio episode on ABC where the owner of the Australian Club (Hawksbrey I think - I maybe butchering the name) was telling they bring in overseas players each season and in one season they brought in a few Pakistanis (one of which included Jamal).

Aamir was also driving uber at that time in Australia. Not sure specially during what time period of his life. But he continued to play Cricket.

Watching a video interview of Aamir Jamal. This one sentence caught my attention.

"Pressure hamesha hota hai, aur aap pe tb hota hai jb apki ki tayari nahi hoti"
T: "Pressure is always there, but it is on you when you are not prepared"

This reflects how clear and positive his mindset is.

The struggles and downs that he has seen in his life and his never give up attitude has brought not only his rise today but also has made him mentally strong.

He apparently started his club career in Islamabad early on but some Islamabad Club Mafia bullied him and essentially not allowed him to play. That's the stories I've heard.

Also I was listening to a radio episode on ABC where the owner of the Australian Club (Hawksbrey I think - I maybe butchering the name) was telling they bring in overseas players each season and in one season they brought in a few Pakistanis (one of which included Jamal).

Aamir was also driving uber at that time in Australia. Not sure specially during what time period of his life. But he continued to play Cricket.
Quiet a story. Bright future ahead of him.

His debut Test series against Australia where he took 18 wickets in 3 Test matches has allowed Aamer Jamal to move up by 40 positions to be placed at 28 in the latest ICC Test All-Rounder Rankings.

Rise of a quality allrounder or is it still to early to say anything about it?

Test allrounders ? Do they even exist apart from Shakib Al Hasan? An allrounder suppose to have higher batting average in test then his bowling average and have atleast 3.5 wickets per match. I don't think we have such cricketers in the world today.

Jamal's comeback to the T20 side did not go well as he was smashed for 56 runs in his 4 overs in the 1st t20 match against New Zealand.

Lacks control to be effective in shorter format , can be tried in ODIs though , this should definitely be his last T20 for now.

It would be acceptable to have a lack of control if in between he was taking wickets as he did in Aus but without wickets it's extremely difficult to claw the match back.

Considering his T20 record why is he even in the team? Pakistan always select players for performances in different formats and when they unsurprisingly fail in their weaker formats drop them from all formats... madness!