[VIDEOS] Azam Khan - Performance Watch

Who said I’m comparing with England, Australia and India? I am comparing with all walks of life.

Provided you have the basic necessities to survive, you should always chose the option which pays less but gives you a significantly better opportunity for the future instead of choosing the short term cash. Azam is from the rich cricketing family so clearly he does not have to worry about food on the table (no joke intended).

And it’s not like the t10 is paying a life changing amount of money.

Well said.

But this seems to be the problem in Pakistan cricket these days - make a quick buck, over genuine progress.

Well said.

But this seems to be the problem in Pakistan cricket these days - make a quick buck, over genuine progress.

Saj bhai,

I think it'll be a persistent problem atleast for the next few years since the abolishment of departmental cricket. The current domestic contracts just aren't as attractive as playing in these t10/t20 leagues. One hopes that as the PCB can inshAllah generate more durable revenue streams (like the new broadcast deals, PSL revenue and a possible OTT platform), they'll be able to pay the domestic players more and in exchange ask for more dedicated commitments to the Pakistani domestic season.

Ideally Azam would have for gone this T10 tournament and kept for Sindh atleast till the semis of the Pakistan Cup, especially with Sarfraz away with Pakistan. He should have bet on himself to do well in the upcoming PSL and then get further t20 contracts in tournaments post the PSL and pre the 2021-22 Pakistan season.

Aside from the lack of development from T10, I dont think the performances in T10 hold any weight for potential scouts of the CPL, Canada T20 or the Natwest Blast teams, which would be his next choice.

And he’s less likely to get one if he keeps going off to play these SLPLs and t10 leagues.

I think he feels he isnt near the national team. If the selectors are thinking about him then they need to tell him. A phone call isn't difficult to do and then its upto him.

It just shows how short sighted these players are.

Anyone sensible would forgo a short term income to improve their game and have a better overall career. Even if he thinks from a solely financial perspective - spending more time in domestic, improving his skills and playing for Pakistan give him a better chance to earn more from his career.

Well said Theres too much short sightedness and players wanting it all now at the expense of building a base for future earnings

Is a few quid extra more necessary for azam at this stage in his career or giving priority to developing his game to play for pakistan in the next 2-3 years?

I think he feels he isnt near the national team. If the selectors are thinking about him then they need to tell him. A phone call isn't difficult to do and then its upto him.

Completely agree that the selectors can do better by providing guidance to prospective future players. However, Azam isn’t dumb. He must know that we lack a dynamic keeper for the limited overs game. And he knows that, provided he performs well at the domestic level / PSL, he will play for the national team. However he has chosen to ignore this opportunity for now and instead play a t10 tournament.

It’s just incredibly short sighted and unfortunately shows his mentality. There’s just no reason for him to prioritise t10 other than the fact he is not serious about his career. Combined with the fitness issues that’s now two concerning factors.

Well said Theres too much short sightedness and players wanting it all now at the expense of building a base for future earnings

Is a few quid extra more necessary for azam at this stage in his career or giving priority to developing his game to play for pakistan in the next 2-3 years?

Exactly. Completely putting quality aside if this was playing in the IPL or the 100, it would be worth it purely from a financial perspective. But it’s a random t10 league.

Like I said, this, combined with his fitness issues, start to paint the picture of a guy who is incredibly talented but not willing to put in the hard yards to play international cricket and perform well for Pakistan.

May be another Umar Akmal. Not that his attitude/ temperament is that bad but then neither is he as talented as Umar was in his shot making.

Well said.

Begs the question ... who does this kid have around him that’s giving him this advice too..

His dad. He is the coach for his t10 side.

Even more unacceptable in that case. Clearly he’s not in a position where he’s using Azam to earn money.

But thanks for confirming that, it makes a bit more sense. Still completely ridiculous though and Moin Khan must know he’s hindering his son’s chances of playing for Pakistan.

Completely agree that the selectors can do better by providing guidance to prospective future players. However, Azam isn’t dumb. He must know that we lack a dynamic keeper for the limited overs game. And he knows that, provided he performs well at the domestic level / PSL, he will play for the national team. However he has chosen to ignore this opportunity for now and instead play a t10 tournament.

It’s just incredibly short sighted and unfortunately shows his mentality. There’s just no reason for him to prioritise t10 other than the fact he is not serious about his career. Combined with the fitness issues that’s now two concerning factors.

Money trumps all. As a WK bat, he is the X factor we need at 5 or 6 in the T20 team and even the ODI team., but he seems not to care. I along with most on here thought he was a proper parchi but the guy has so much time to play his shots. He still needs better shot selection, he is often Satisfied with a quick 30 and that stops jim batting in tight situations to win games and get that experience you need going forward.

It just shows how short sighted these players are.

Anyone sensible would forgo a short term income to improve their game and have a better overall career. Even if he thinks from a solely financial perspective - spending more time in domestic, improving his skills and playing for Pakistan give him a better chance to earn more from his career.

Exactly hopefully the financial aspects improves for domestic players so we dont see more players go to these little tournaments overseas

The exchange rate will never allow that. You would need to quadruple salaries in Domestic cricket to get some sort of parity

Thats not going to happen realistically but they should try pay more and increase it by yearly.how much do indian domestic earn compared to Pakistan domestic players obviously it won't be the same but want to know difference

What hitting today

He is a great batting talent. He made Amir look like a club level bowler

Dont be fooled by this T10 low quality tournament.

He hit some top level bowlers. Amir, Viljoen. Boundaries were pretty short but there was this one massive massive six over cover with the toe end of the bat, in a way that I’ve never seen any batsman hit before.

Dont be fooled by this T10 low quality tournament.

He scored against Hardus Viljoen and Muhammad Amir yeah the quality of the tournament isn't great. I don't think it is difficult to understand that he is talented

Azam Khan seems to have some connection with franchises named "Gladiators"

He played for Quetta Gladiators in PSL, He also played for Galle Gladiators in LPL and now he is playing for Deccan Gladiators in the UAE T10 League

Azam Khan seems to have some connection with franchises named "Gladiators"

He played for Quetta Gladiators in PSL, He also played for Galle Gladiators in LPL and now he is playing for Deccan Gladiators in the UAE T10 League

The Galle franchise is owned by Quetta Gladiators. So they sent their own players to Sri Lanka.

Deccan Gladiators is a separate franchise, but their head coach is Pakistani, Mushtaq Ahmed. He’s close friends with Moin Khan and highly rates Azam too, who is perfect for the T10 format. So no surprises that he was picked by them.

Should have stayed and played domestics in that case, because there's no way anyone can take this tamasha seriously when talking about a world cup.

Well I beg to differ. T10 presents a unique opportunity for him to get experience in pressure situations which might mimic what we might find ourselves in, in the world T20 requiring to go at +10 RPO. The quality of the domestic Pakistan cup is quite mediocre and none of the top players are taking part in it anyways since they're away on national duty. At least he's facing international-level bowlers in the T20 (Amir, and Viljoen today).

Lmao "pressure". Nah. You get the bucks from the contract, now you don't need.to give a damn about how you do.

Players build their reputation based on their performance. If he keeps on getting better, every league(except IPL) would want him so there is pressure to perform.

Not the right idea to avoid domestic tournament especially when you are considered for national team .

His father has potential to destroy his potential international career .Pcb sour relationship with moin might also goes against azam khan

Did M Wasim miss a trick by not selecting Azam for the T20I series?

If this guy is not a spotsman enough , he should not be playing for national team. Why cannot he lose weight if he is otherwise healthy.

Did M Wasim miss a trick by not selecting Azam for the T20I series?

I think he missed a trick by not selecting the highly underrated Rohail Nazir, I'm sorry but Azam is way too fat and needs to lose the weight.

Yep, nobody is asking for a Floyd Mayweather like physique, he needs to just cut back on calories, running and high intensity training. Nothing hard about that.

If this guy is not a spotsman enough , he should not be playing for national team. Why cannot he lose weight if he is otherwise healthy.

I think his big body has to do with genetics, his mother is also very goal matol in her youth. I think he will always look over-weight even if he is actually not.

MOIN KHAN WITH WIFE.jpg

He really is a clean hitter but a bit too big for international cricket. If you're Kenya cricket team you could get away with it but lets be honest, its not going to work.

If only you knew how different body types work.

Im sorry you cant put his weight down to a different body type

The guy is borderline obese I understand different body types He looks like a endomorph who gentically seems to carry more weight and probably will always be on the chunkier side but at the moment you can clearly see hes carrying excessive body fat for a cricketer

hes in no physical shape or fit enough to be playing intnl cricket Why he cant lose 2-3 stone through some calorie control diet is beyond me

Lmao, performing in the Dubai Pensioner's League and getting hype from Pakistan fans?

He has frankly ruined his momentum by leaving the domestic tournament to go play in the t10 league.

Weight issues aside, this move is a huge insight into his mindset and determination to play for Pakistan. He will never have a good career at the international level.

Im sorry you cant put his weight down to a different body type

The guy is borderline obese I understand different body types He looks like a endomorph who gentically seems to carry more weight and probably will always be on the chunkier side but at the moment you can clearly see hes carrying excessive body fat for a cricketer

hes in no physical shape or fit enough to be playing intnl cricket Why he cant lose 2-3 stone through some calorie control diet is beyond me

He isnt obese lol
Sure he is overweight, but his bone structure and muscle bellies are thick. On top of that he has a lot of lose skin which makes him retain a lot of subcutaneous water.
All of this gives the impression that he is obese when he is not.
If he were, he would not be running around without getting winded and performing well as an athlete.

He sure is overweight still, but he has already lost 32 kilos sincle last year. All of that was done in the off-season.
You cant lose weight during the season as it affects your performance so give him some time for that.

It will take him atleast 2 more seasons to come down to around 90 kilos.
Anything below and he will start to catabolize and hence lose power in his batting.

Stil needs to loose abit more weight hes a genuine power hitter i think he will play the world cup

Don't know if you can take any tournament seriously when Anwar Ali is smacking quickfire 40 too

If he really wants to represent Pakistan then he should prioritise List-A and FC cricket over other leagues. He should prove himself in 2 to 3 seasons of domestic cricket at least. Fast tracking of youngsters just based on few flashy performances must stop. Look at Naseem Shah, he was fast tracked and now he is out of the Test team unaware of his future which will be worrying for him. I can see the same happening to Shaheen in Tests because of almost lack of FC experience he is struggling in Tests.

He isnt obese lol
Sure he is overweight, but his bone structure and muscle bellies are thick. On top of that he has a lot of lose skin which makes him retain a lot of subcutaneous water.
All of this gives the impression that he is obese when he is not.
If he were, he would not be running around without getting winded and performing well as an athlete.

He sure is overweight still, but he has already lost 32 kilos sincle last year. All of that was done in the off-season.
You cant lose weight during the season as it affects your performance so give him some time for that.

It will take him atleast 2 more seasons to come down to around 90 kilos.
Anything below and he will start to catabolize and hence lose power in his batting.

He should never have got to the state he was if he was serious about his cricket

I mean which domestic player is 40-50 kgs overweight? All this and the fact hes prioritising league cricket makes me questionw whether hes serious about playing for pakistan when his priorities are more towards making a quick buck

Danny Morrison "As we saw in the recent T10, Azam Khan doesn't like quick singles"

And he's just run out Nawaz.

Nawaz ran 1.5 runs whilst Azam just stood there :)

Fat blob doesn’t know how to run between the wickets but people want him in the national side :))

Is it only me or has Azam Khan lost quite some wieght. The last i saw him was during the national t20 in October. He seems to have lost quite some weight and mass since then.

So this is him after losing weight now can't imagine what he was like before

The mix-up between Azam and Nawaz:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 49.688%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/unn3t2" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Danny Morrison "As we saw in the recent T10, Azam Khan doesn't like quick singles"

Fitness is so important these days to be quick and alert. He should be nowhere national team unless he works on his fitness

Hes very one dimensional at the moment See ball and hit ball
His game doesnt include turning the strike over regularly n his weight also doesnt allow him

He needs to do lots of work to improve his cricket and approach to become a better player

32kgs

PakPassion.net: What specific goals have you set yourself for the future?

Azam Khan: Obviously, my aim is to score as many runs as possible but what is most important for me is to work on my fitness as I know that this is an important part of any cricketer’s development. I weighed about 140 kgs last year and I have now reduced that to 108 kgs but the idea is to not stop there and further improve this aspect of my overall fitness.

Danny Morrison "He's gobbled that catch up" :)

I think he has reput on some weight. His body type must be very hard to lean out. His brother is much fitter, his father is fitter than him

Hes overweight n youre wanting him to put weight on You can see in the runout its difficult for him to run around n take quick singles Fitness n agility is important n its holding his game back

He still needs to lose a good 20kgs

32kgs

PakPassion.net: What specific goals have you set yourself for the future?

Azam Khan: Obviously, my aim is to score as many runs as possible but what is most important for me is to work on my fitness as I know that this is an important part of any cricketer’s development. I weighed about 140 kgs last year and I have now reduced that to 108 kgs but the idea is to not stop there and further improve this aspect of my overall fitness.

Genuinely looks like he's put a lot of weight back on since we last saw him? I remember seeing him last time out and thinking he's definitely slimmed down but seeing him today he looked bigger then ever. Simply cannot be introduced into national circles looking how he is now. Its completely unacceptable to be this weight and look the way he does and represent your national team as a professional sportsman. He has zero excuse with all the facilities and expertise around him. It shows a lack of dedication and commitment that you can't get into shape.

All the top sides in the world England, Australia, India, South africa etc would never ever ever induct such a player into their national teams no matter how talented he was. Samit Patel a prime example for England. One of country crickets finest performers for well over a decade but was told by Morgan and the new regime in 2015 that he had to lose weight and get fit in order to be considered for national selection. Alas he was never seen in national colours in any form for England after 2015. There are zero overweight players playing for these sides why should we accept azam Khan?

There can be ZERO tolerance for poor fitness and such obese weights at this level. We are already enough of a laughing stock, we simply must not compromise on something basic as good fitness. One could argue he shouldn't even be playing the PSL. It sets a really poor precedent that you don't have to work on your fitness and you'll continue to get selected regardless.

110% unacceptable and he needs to sort it out.

The kid packs power and can hit big.

That said, I'm failing to see why there is even a discussion for him being selected in the National Team?

Azam seems incapable of developing a big inning. I would much rather have a 50 (65) than a 20 (15).

It's ridiculous to even consider him.

Haider Ali, Kushdil, Asif Ali and Iftikhar etc. Atleast show promise in the domestic scene despite not being groundbreaking on the National stage.

His fitness is a concern. It's 2021 and an athletic mindset is needed to succeed in modern day sports. If he can't get that right, how serious is he about his game?

The kid packs power and can hit big.

That said, I'm failing to see why there is even a discussion for him being selected in the National Team?

Azam seems incapable of developing a big inning. I would much rather have a 50 (65) than a 20 (15).

It's ridiculous to even consider him.

Haider Ali, Kushdil, Asif Ali and Iftikhar etc. Atleast show promise in the domestic scene despite not being groundbreaking on the National stage.

His fitness is a concern. It's 2021 and an athletic mindset is needed to succeed in modern day sports. If he can't get that right, how serious is he about his game?

I lost you when I read the names of Khusdil, Asif Ali and Ifthikhar in your post. You have to be joking if you think the three you mentioned are international material. I would take Azam Khan over those three every day.

I don't really rate then mate, that's my point.

I'm just saying what's the difference?

They've shown the same if not better potential than Azam on the domestic circuit. They show more promise with Intl. Experience.

So what makes Azam a better option? I much rather have both Shadab and Imad Wasim. They can bat better and be handy with the ball.

Azam looks right now fatter than he's ever been before. I mean he's making Inzi look like a Kenyan long-distance runner!

Someone who lacks the self-discipline to get fit doesn't deserve even the thought of national selection.

Azam looks right now fatter than he's ever been before. I mean he's making Inzi look like a Kenyan long-distance runner!

Someone who lacks the self-discipline to get fit doesn't deserve even the thought of national selection.

Azam goes to a top notch elite gym in KHI where he has access to the best personal trainers, a lot of celebrities go to that gym as well. The problem definitely is with his diet.

Azam Khan hasn't done much of an improvement after the last PSL. He looks pretty much the same or even fatter. People say that fitness doesn't matter but it tells a lot about cricketer drive to excel in the sport. Misbah during Zimbabwe series talked about Azam's fitness and he had enough time to show improvement.

I wish he perform astonishingly this season and earns a spot in the national team , we are desperately in need of a power consistent hitter.

No matter how talented Azam is, he won't go very far if he does not get fit. Cricket is all mental and you can't think very well when you are huffing and puffing and go out of breath after taking few singles.

Azam was ball watching but there was no run there.

I disagree.

Nawaz was running to the danger end and would have made it.

Azam, well he was just stood there daydreaming. If he had run straight away, there was every chance he could have made it.

Until he learns and appreciates the art of running quick singles, then there is no way this lad should be anywhere near international cricket.

I disagree.

Nawaz was running to the danger end and would have made it.

Azam, well he was just stood there daydreaming. If he had run straight away, there was every chance he could have made it.

Azam played a backfoot shot. Nawaz would have already been backing up and thus outside of his crease by the time Azam hit the ball. It was Nawaz’s call, but there a good chance Azam could’ve been run out at the other end since the ball went straight to the fielder. But I agree, he shouldn’t have been ball watching.

Until he learns and appreciates the art of running quick singles, then there is no way this lad should be anywhere near international cricket.

Again, don’t agree. He is not as slow as he looks, but his role will be to bash runs in the last five from no. 6 - role that Khushdil/Iftikhar/Asif have tried to fill past few years. Main questions for me are — is he the cleanest hitter in Pakistan & can he hit from close to ball 1?

Gayle, Russell, Pollard are good examples of players who were not great runners but dominated this format of the game because of their ability to clear the rope.

Azam goes to a top notch elite gym in KHI where he has access to the best personal trainers, a lot of celebrities go to that gym as well. The problem definitely is with his diet.

Well if he really is training hard, then he must be eating for the whole of Pakistan to maintain this level of clinical obesity. I just wonder how hard he is actually working at that gym and what on earth he is eating.

As is expected for someone of his size, running between the wickets seems to be a foreign concept to him.

Regardless of how many runs he does or does not end up scoring, he does not deserve selection with his lack of motivation to get fit.

Gayle, Russell, Pollard are good examples of players who were not great runners but dominated this format of the game because of their ability to clear the rope.

Sorry but there was a single there if he responded straight away Its t20 cricket quick singles are a must and it was nawazs call so azam shouldve ran

Theres a difference between not being good runners and being severly overweight and hes both at the moment

Pakistan shouldnt be comparing itself or trying to use the west indies players as a template

If pakistan cricket and its cricketers are serious about getting back near the top its players need to get serious about fitness which the best teams dont comprpmise on

Azam just isnt fit enough to play intnl cricket at the moment He needs to lose a lot more weight because it will cost him and his teams Its as simple as that

Sorry but there was a single there if he responded straight away Its t20 cricket quick singles are a must and it was nawazs call so azam shouldve ran

Theres a difference between not being good runners and being severly overweight and hes both at the moment

Pakistan shouldnt be comparing itself or trying to use the west indies players as a template

If pakistan cricket and its cricketers are serious about getting back near the top its players need to get serious about fitness which the best teams dont comprpmise on

Azam just isnt fit enough to play intnl cricket at the moment He needs to lose a lot more weight because it will cost him and his teams Its as simple as that

Well, looks like we will not agree. I will say that the WI players I mentioned have been part of multiple T20 world cup winning squads, and one of them is probably one of the top 3 T20 batsmen in the history of the game. We are talking about T20 cricket here, lets not forget that. We disagree on the single, lets move on. For Azam and intl cricket, I guess time will tell. So let’s see.

Main questions for me are — is he the cleanest hitter in Pakistan & can he hit from close to ball 1?

All time T20 highest strike rate against spin (min 250 runs):

1. Azam Khan - 182.29
2. Thikshila de Silva - 172.27
3. Tom Banton - 165.68
4. Moeen Ali - 165.51