[VIDEOS] Harshit Rana: From IPL to international acclaim

FearlessRoar

1721385308554.png

1721385332075.png

Harshit Rana is an Indian cricketer. He plays for Delhi in domestic cricket and Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League. In February 2022, he was bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders in the auction for the 2022 Indian Premier League tournament. He made his Twenty20 debut on 28 April 2022, for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2022 IPL. Harshit Rana has won the Indian Premier League playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in 2024.

Indian pacer Harshit Rana has received his maiden ODI call-up for the upcoming Sri Lankan tour in 2024, marking a significant milestone in his cricketing career.

While giving interview to local channel, Harshit Rana said:

“I believed in working hard but whenever I used to get hurt after being overlooked in age-group teams, I would sit in my room and start sobbing. My father Pradeep never ever gave up hope."

“If I have to name three people whom I am indebted to in this beautiful journey of mine, then it is my father, for his efforts, my personal coach Amit Bhandari sir (former India and Delhi pacer) and above everyone else, Gauti bhaiyya (Gautam Gambhir).”

“If my outlook towards the game has changed, a lot of it has got to do with Gauti bhaiyya’s presence in the KKR dressing room and how he changed my mindset. At the elite level, you require skills but more than skills you require the heart to handle the pressure. Gauti bhaiyya would always tell me ‘ Mere ko tere pe trust hai. Tu match jeetake aayega’. (I trust you, you can win the match).”

He has the germs of great batting, look at his average of 49 in First-Class cricket, and he has scored one First-Class century. I'm waiting to see him don the white jersey for India.

I have not seen his bowling much apart from IPL.

What is his average Speed in first class cricket ?

Harshit Rana was fined 100 percent of his Match Fees and Suspended for One Game for Breaching the IPL Code of Conduct when he to the wicket of Abhishek Porel with a full-length delivery, proceeded to almost offer another flying-kiss send-off but gestured his hand towards the dugout.

But today he came back with a twist.

View attachment ssstwitter.com_1725613484964.mp4

Harshit Rana was fined 100 percent of his Match Fees and Suspended for One Game for Breaching the IPL Code of Conduct when he to the wicket of Abhishek Porel with a full-length delivery, proceeded to almost offer another flying-kiss send-off but gestured his hand towards the dugout.

But today he came back with a twist.

View attachment 146086

I see nothing wrong with this celebration

Harshit Rana is an Indian cricketer. He plays for Delhi in domestic cricket and Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League. In February 2022, he was bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders in the auction for the 2022 Indian Premier League tournament. He made his Twenty20 debut on 28 April 2022, for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2022 IPL. Harshit Rana has won the Indian Premier League playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in 2024.

Indian pacer Harshit Rana has received his maiden ODI call-up for the upcoming Sri Lankan tour in 2024, marking a significant milestone in his cricketing career.
How can @Rana Play for India when he spends most of his time here at pakpassion?

Rana needs some game time. Gambo should have released him for Delhi's 1st Ranji fixture. He's literally being a traveling reserve right now instead of actually bowling.

Also, Harshit is possibly a better batsman than Hardik.

Rana needs some game time. Gambo should have released him for Delhi's 1st Ranji fixture. He's literally being a traveling reserve right now instead of actually bowling.

Also, Harshit is possibly a better batsman than Hardik.
He was due a debut in this game but is currently ill.

'I See Myself As A Three-Format Bowler': Harshit Rana Reacts After Earning Maiden India Test Call-Up​

Harshit Rana was on fire for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2024 edition of the Indian Premier League and played a big role in the Kolkata-based franchise’s title win. In 13 matches for the Shreyas Iyer-led side, he picked up 19 wickets to finish as the joint-fourth leading wicket-taker. After impressing with his performance in the 17th edition of the IPL, Rana earned a place in India’s T20I squad for the Zimbabwe series in July and in the ODI team for a three-match series against Sri Lanka in August. But on both occasions, he didn’t get a chance to be part of playing XI.

Harshit maintained his good performances in the Duleep Trophy 2024 and Ranji Trophy for Delhi, and on October 25, he was named in India’s 18-member squad for the upcoming five-match Test series against Australia.

After earning his maiden India Test call-up, 22-year-old Harshit, in a recent interview with Indian Express, said that he wants to play for India in whatever format he gets a chance in, and he sees himself as a three-format bowler.

“The team management is looking after my workload. I just want to play for India, whether it is in T20s, ODIs, or Test matches. I see myself as a three-format bowler,” Harshit said.

The right-arm pacer, who was picked as one of the four reserve players for the ongoing Test series between India and New Zealand, says the experience of travelling and training with the Indian team has been a learning curve for him.

“Both Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma asked me to focus on my length. Bowling to them is completely different from what I have experienced before. They train with the same intensity in the nets as they bat in the match. Once you bowl at them, it feels like you were playing a match. I also spoke to Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj about the length that one should bowl in Australia. They have shared their inputs as well,” he added.

The Delhi-based cricketer caught India’s head coach Gautam Gambhir’s attention in the IPL earlier this year and said Gambhir has backed him from the start and always given him right guidance.

“Gautam Bhaiya has backed me from the start. He has always given me the right guidance. He has taken me under his wing in the IPL, and since then I have improved as a cricketer.”

Speaking at the pre-match press conference ahead of 3rd Test against New Zealand, India head coach Gautam Gambhir:

"Harshit Rana is not part of the squad. He has just come here to prepare for the Australia tour, Abhishek (Nayar) made it clear yesterday."

"IPL retention has nothing to be spoken about, we have a Test match here."

India head coach Gautam Gambhir in a pre-departure press conference before leaving for Australia ahead of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25:

"He [Harshit Rana] had played a first-class game against Assam and he did reasonably well in that game. So we all thought that I think he's had enough bowling under his belt rather than just sending him and playing him another first-class game."

"I think for us, I think it is important for a fast bowler to be fish as well. It's gonna be a long tour. It's going to be a five-match series. So the bowling coach and the physios and the trainers thought that he's had enough under his belt. And that was one of the reasons."

making his debut today for India against Australia in Australia. Not gonna be an easy task this. Let's see what he has got.

An absolute unit who looks to ball with real fire. India have the most intimidating pace bowlers on world cricket, possibly rivalling the great West Indians of yore.

A truly remarkable development

An absolute unit who looks to ball with real fire. India have the most intimidating pace bowlers on world cricket, possibly rivalling the great West Indians of yore.

A truly remarkable development
He would instantly be Pakistan's best bowler tbh.

Doesn't change the reality though. He would instantly be Pakistan's best test bowler. That goes for prasidh too tbh.
Whatever rocks your boat. Greatest economy in the world, best cricket team in history but you get your rocks off insulting Pakistan :yk

Has the potential to be an ATG fast bowler. Beautiful bowling action, great build and bangs it in.

However his batting and fielding are equally good.

Rana ji has arrived. What an exception first test wicket. Great delivery to get a very dangerous batter out. Well done.

I get Ben Stokes bowling vibes from him. Hopefully his bowling won’t deteriorate like Ben’s did. Bharat needs his bowling way more than his batting in the future.

Rana ji has arrived. What an exception first test wicket. Great delivery to get a very dangerous batter out. Well done.

I get Ben Stokes bowling vibes from him. Hopefully his bowling won’t deteriorate like Ben’s did. Bharat needs his bowling way more than his batting in the future.
He reminds me of maharana pratap. The guy who destroyed akbar.

Must have dreamt his whole life to bowl on these type of bouncy pitches. It’s a dream come true for Rana. It’s a fact that fast bowlers look way more threatening bowling in Australia when the pitch is supportive. Joy to watch this spell.

But why akshdeep was not preferred over him?
Akashdeep should have played over siraj. But siraj is good On seaming tracks. Not good on flatter pitches. Akash will play in test 3.

For me only bowlers who are good on flat pitches are the goat. So siraj is only good on seaming tracks not flat wickets.

Great debut for young Harshit Rana.

Inspired selection by Gambhir & co.

Harshit Rana credits veteran duo for memorable debut Down Under

India's young pacer Harshit Rana, marked his Test debut with a performance to remember, as India asserted their dominance on Day 2 of the first Test against Australia.

The 22-year-old picked up 3-48 in the first innings as India bundled out the home side for 104.

With seasoned campaigners like Jasprit Bumrah and Virat Kohli guiding him, Rana showcased composure and skill beyond his years, playing a key role in setting up a commanding position for his side.

Making a debut is always challenging, but guidance from the senior duo proved invaluable.

"It helps quite a lot to have advice from Virat bhaiya and Jassi bhaiya. Their inputs on where to bowl and their confidence in me gave me a special kind of self-belief," the youngster added.

One of the standout moments from Rana's debut was the dismissal of Travis Head, a pivotal wicket that exemplified the meticulous planning and teamwork in India's bowling unit.

Head walked in after the Aussies were left tottering at 19/3, following back-to-back wickets of Usman Khawaja and Steven Smith, courtesy of the Indian skipper. The left-hand batter's wicket was a big one given his pivotal role in the lineup and his recent form against India, which included his heroics in last year's WTC Final and the ODI World Cup Final, where he smashed match-winning hundreds.

"We had talked as a side about how to set up a batter and dismiss him. The idea was to attack the stumps. I delivered a good ball and got the breakthrough,” Rana explained.

Jasprit Bumrah’s opening spell was crucial in setting the tone for India and Rana was full of praise for his skipper’s fifer. Bumrah’s three-wicket burst not only rattled the Australian top order but also instilled confidence in the debutant.

"His spell made things easier for me. I became calmer. Jassi bhaiya always creates pressure from one end, and that makes it easier for the bowler at the other end."

Rana also addressed a brief on-field banter with Mitchell Starc, emphasising the camaraderie shared off the field. "He’s a very good friend. We play in the IPL together. These things happen on the field. It wasn’t a big deal, just a few words were exchanged."

The 22-year-old also spoke about the role that head coach Gautam Gambhir and his father played in maintaining his composure on debut. “Gauti bhaiya (Gautam Gambhir) kept telling me to be patient and give my best when the time comes. My dad told me, ‘It will happen when it has to happen; don’t overthink.’"

On the other end, Australia’s head coach Andrew McDonald expressed optimism on his side to bounce back, despite the showing that the Indian batters put up on day 2 of the first Test.

“The morale's good. It's a pretty level team, whether it's a good day or a bad day. We've got some problems to solve ahead of us. No doubt we're clearly well behind in the game at this stage. They've (India) got the driver's seat at the moment. There's no saying that tomorrow can't change very quickly. Test cricket, everything flows. We've all been part of a game where we've been well ahead and it can twist and turn.”

Speaking on what he expects out of the second innings, the head coach said the defending World Test Champions will look to counter-attack with the pitch changing considerably on second day’s play.

“The pitch has changed considerably. It was a tough day for batting yesterday (Day 1). It looks different in the second innings. There's no doubt we're going to work on what that method is to combat all their bowlers, not just Jasprit.”

India concluded play on Day 2 at 172/0 from 57 overs and comfortably sitting in the driver’s seat with a clinical 218-run lead.

Harshit Rana becomes the 119th player to debut for India in T20Is.

Harshit Rana is the first player among full-member teams to debut in T20Is as a concussion substitute during the 4th T20I against England.

When Harry Brook hit him for a couple of sixes and four , Nick knight was going "He prefers pace of Rana over slow bowlers" lol

GiotCMebYAE8bT9

Touched 151 kph

Yeah, I was being sarcastic incase you couldn't tell

I knew you were. Since Dube had finished batting and only his bowling part was remaining a pace bowler was allowed as substitute by match officials.

There was no like for like substitute available i guess.

I knew you were. Since Dube had finished batting and only his bowling part was remaining a pace bowler was allowed as substitute by match officials.

There was no like for like substitute available i guess.
What about Ramdeep Singh?

Harshit Rana, while speaking to broadcasters after England's innings in the 1st ODI between England and India:

"They were just looking for room. Their only chance to free their arms and attack was when they got some space. So, that's what Rohit bhaiya (Rohit Sharma) and I discussed that I should bowl as tight as possible. And that's what I tried to do."

"It's a dream life, but I have worked really hard for this, so it feels like I am finally reaping the rewards of that effort."

Happy for him. But there is no way he wouldn't have gotten chances without his connection with Gambhir through KKR.

He looks good but won't be a good fit for team India in future unless he revolutionize his game. Hardik was more fitter and sharper than him when he arrived first on the global stage.

Harshit Rana is the first Indian bowler to take 3+ wickets on his debut innings across each of the three formats.

Tests: 3/48 vs Aus Perth
T20Is: 3/33 vs Eng Pune
ODIs: 3/53 vs Eng Nagpur

He is very raw.There are some good ingredients - reasonable pace, decent bouncer and variations. But he is yet nowhere near intl class as a regular bowler in any format.

He has not yet showcased any batting capability in IPL or intl level but it is known that in nets of KKR and India he has given good account of himself with bat.

Rana has shown that having some amount of batting skill can really be a point of difference for an upcoming India pacer and can leapfrog him ahead of contemporaries. He is getting a lot of chances

I honestly think it is better if he can play some league/county cricket with small team and play full Ranji season to get bowling miles under his belt than travel with Indian squad as fringe member.

Harshit Rana is the first Indian bowler to take 3+ wickets on his debut innings across each of the three formats.

Tests: 3/48 vs Aus Perth
T20Is: 3/33 vs Eng Pune
ODIs: 3/53 vs Eng Nagpur

Not Hardik Pandya level bowler yet but I think he can be a good utility player for India.

Harshit Rana’s replies on the concussion-sub controversy .

Says, "I'm not bothered, I just want to deliver for my country. I don't pay attention to those talks".

Well-done lad.