[VIDEOS] Is Shaheen Shah Afridi the best fast-bowler in the world right now?

You know things are bad when your team crashes to 191 all out on a flatbed of Ahmedabad and people take it out on a 23 year old bowler for not bowling magical deliveries to win the match.

Yeah exactly this. Also I feel people were overreacting back when they claimed he was the best bowler in the world, and they’re overreacting now when they now say he’s finished.

He’s talented. He will play for Pakistan for a long time provided he ups his skills and continues to learn.

Fans should remember that more than most, fast bowling is a journey. You need a base of talent, but you need to continuously learn and evolve while accepting injuries.

Edit - all assuming he is actually 23. Of older, even by a few years, the growth opportunity will be more limited.

Shaheen's form had nose dived big time after his comeback from the injury. I think he is still not fully fit but as we have no replacements, we will stick with him no matter what.

Ravi shastri on shaheen afridia today;

He is a good bowler, he can claim a wicket with the new ball. But you have to admit it, if Naseem Shah is not playing and the quality of Pakistan’s spin bowling is like this, then Shaheen Shah Afridi koi Wasim Akram nai hai! Acche bowler hai. Lekin itna bhi jyaada chadane ka koi zaroorat nahi hai. Jab hai theek thak, toh bolna chahiye woh theek thaak hai. Chadha ke nahin bithana chahiye ki bohot zabardast hai. Yeh nahi hai! Yeh maan na padega. (Shaheen is not Wasim Akram. He’s a good bowler, but there is no need for us to hype him so highly as well. If a player is simply a good player, we should restrict our praise to saying he is a good player. He’s not a great player, we need to admit that),” Shastri said pulling no punches.
I read it in his 2 peg down Indian uncle tone..
But some harsh realistic analysis.

Ravi Shastri about Shaheen Shah Afridi:
"When Naseem Shah is not playing and this is the quality of spin... Shaheen Shah Afridi is no Wasim Akram. He is a good bowler with the new ball and can pick wickets, but there is nothing special about him. He is only a decent bowler. He's no big deal. You have to accept the truth,"

Hindustan Times

Another over hyped bowler whose balloon was bursted by Indians yesterday as well as in the Asia Cup. He is a good new ball bowler and has a lot of areas to develop on. Age is on his side and he'll become a dependable bowler. But please no way anywhere worlds best and all that.

His pace is down since the Asia Cup, he is clearly not fit and been made to play due to Naseem’s absence.

Quite sure the story will come out in the near future.

Never have I seen Shaheen bowl below 130 KPH ever in his very short career.

Naseem’s injury seems to have hurt him too, as he is not fit and he is just trying too hard to bowl those magic deliveries.

"When Naseem Shah is not playing and this is the quality of spin... Shaheen Shah Afridi is no Wasim Akram. He is a good bowler with the new ball and can pick wickets, but there is nothing special about him. He is only a decent bowler. He's no big deal. You have to accept the truth,"

That was ruthless from Ravi.
I would be hurt to read this if I was SSA and would want to prove my talent in the upcoming matches

Hindustan Times
I have video of this 👍🏻 how can i upload that

That was ruthless from Ravi.
I would be hurt to read this if I was SSA and would want to prove my talent in the upcoming matches
Who in the right mind would ever think SSA is equivalent to WA? Akram is once a generation pacer

I just saw the highlights. First ball to Rohit Sharma in last two games has been flicked for boundary. It says two things. One Shaheen is not thinking. If Rohit has got out to him twice with in ducker, do you think Rohit will keep falling for it ? At some point one has to revise the strategy or set up the batsman. You can see Rohit has changed his stance early on to be more side on. He is setting himself for swinger. And Shaheen is delivering exactly.

Best bowlers in the world don't do this. It is also becoming clear that as sides play each other more often the novelty factor is wearing. Now it's just sheer quality of teams coming through.

He's a good bowler. Shastri is correct. Factually.

He said he's good, he said he can pick wickets with the new ball but he isn't special; his form for about a year would support that, mainly the lead up to and since injury.

When there's nothing going for him, he doesn't have the discipline to keep it simple. He's not economical and he's not moving the ball. His wickets were gifted shot attempts, one arguably off a bad ball.

You know things are bad when your team crashes to 191 all out on a flatbed of Ahmedabad and people take it out on a 23 year old bowler for not bowling magical deliveries to win the match.

Best comment I’ve read here after yesterday’s game.

Imagine taking it out on a bowler who’s who’s not 100% fit and has struggled with injuries over the past 12 months. Not to forget he’s been Pakistan best player in the last 3 x ICC tournaments.

He hasn't regained his full fitness. Needs to work on getting his pace back. Once he achieves that, his swing will come back as well.

Shaheen has been an excellent bowler especially with new ball. I am sure he's struggling with fitness currently

SSA has a brain too.

This is on SSA and not on Morkel.

Bro i have a serious question, hope you answer it honestly.

I was going through next years cricket calender.

SSA will play the ILT20 in Jan-Feb, then PSL in Feb March. Then he flies to England to play County.

Then the T20 WC.

In between he plays whenever pakistan plays.

Where is the physical and mental break for the 24 year old?

He is breaking his back. He is a thoroughbred not a mill pony.

Is this not a big issue?

PCB wants another Saqi like career?

By habit he has been bowling this delivery ball after ball in the past 2 years in the limited overs format.

Shaheen needs to realize that he is not an unknown commodity now. The entire world now knows he is Pakistan's main bowler and if he is nullified, it neutralizes the entire Pakistani bowling effort.

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Kohli have made the adjustment with their stance, footwork, they know exactly what is coming from Shaheen with the new ball in the first few overs and he has no other weapon up his sleeve.

Welcome to facing the real big boys Shaheen. This guy must be the first really tall fast bowler who doesn't have a fearsome bouncer.

It also doesnt help when your trundling in bowling 82 mph. Make these lazy bowlers including Shadab play 4 day cricket. They have no clue how and where to bowl. They are addicted to T20 leauge cricket!

He was upto 87mph against India

You're misguided but that's expected because your reading of the game isn't credible in the slightest, as evident by "economy rates in ODIs are meaningless" and also by how highly you rate Imam.

But as you're so misguided, I'm happy to help you work out where you've gone if you could answer the following questions:

1. Did Shaheen bowl well in the last 3 x ICC tournaments (2019 WC, 2021 and 2022 WT20s)?
2. Who was Pakistan's best bowler in the last 3 x ICC tournaments (2019 WC, 2021 and 2022 WT20s)?
3. During the last WT20, did Shaheen look anywhere near 100% fit?
4. Has Shaheen been struggling for injuries and fitness over the last 12 months?
5. Does Shaheen look 100% fit during this WC?

Look let's cut out the crap. I know exactly where your criticism of Shaheen stems from and it has nothing to do with his performances.

@shariqnoor as expected - you've done a runner and avoided all these questions because you can't back up anything you say, whether it be about SSA, Misbah or Imam, or "economy rates in ODIs are meaningless".

you’re going on 1 limb to prove a point that is simply not true. Apart from a risky and flashy innings by Gill in the last game, I dont remember a single game… ofc you have to desperately go back to a game in 2018 when Shaheen was a nobody debuting.
Gill dominated Afridi even in u 19 world cup where they first met

F8eBF8kWkAAScZQ

Gill dominated Afridi even in u 19 world cup where they first met
This is an even more meaningless stat.

Shaheen is going through his worse patch yet but Gill still found a way to get out to Shaheen in the match yesterday. Zero pressure chasing 191, 130k crowd behind you. But still couldn’t tee off.
In comparison, Abdullah had crowd pressure and red hot Bumrah and Siraj on current form, but he showed much more class and temperament. Very unlucky dismissal as the ball stayed low and didn’t bounce

Bro i have a serious question, hope you answer it honestly.

I was going through next years cricket calender.

SSA will play the ILT20 in Jan-Feb, then PSL in Feb March. Then he flies to England to play County.

Then the T20 WC.

In between he plays whenever pakistan plays.

Where is the physical and mental break for the 24 year old?

He is breaking his back. He is a thoroughbred not a mill pony.

Is this not a big issue?

PCB wants another Saqi like career?
The problem is not just the workload. His action has fallen apart somewhat. I think his torso is collapsing in the delivery stride and he's not able to get his full momentum towards the stumps.

It's important to invest in a good personal bowling coach and skip a few of these leagues and do the drill work necessary to get his action on point in the off season and get back his pace and late swing.

Currently, he looks worse than Fazal Haq Farooqui with the new ball.

Obviously now that he is in a rough patch everyone is out of their caves bashing him to their heart's content and rewriting history ie. He never was a great bowler etc.

Yes he is down right now, he is clearly struggling, he has lost some 15k of pace, lost his biggest asset (no not swing but laser accuracy with new ball) and doesn't seem fit at all. It doesn't mean he was always like this. We play pacers through injury all the time and Shaheen doesn't seem quite right atm.

My advice to everyone will be just wait for a longer time. He has to improve his physical condition over the next few months and then we can reassess if he really is finished as people here want to believe.

I remember in that Khi test match against Australia where Shaheen was getting reverse swing with the old ball and he bowled a 5-6 over spell where he kept running in and kept bowling the reverse swinging inswinging yorker to Usman Khawaja who was batting on 150 not out ball after ball. Waqar was getting very frustrated with Shaheen for wasting his energy and stated that Shaheen needed to learn the art of setting up a batsman and not being predictable i.e. move a few deliveries away from the batsman, bowl just short of a good length, bowl the odd bouncer, put the batsman on the backfoot and then bowl at inswinger as a surprise delivery.

Its the same story with the new ball, Rohit, Gill and Kohli are very well prepared with their footwork, stance against Shaheen's full blooded inswinging yorker, its embarrasing to see Shaheen not really having any other weapon up his sleeve. He has to look at how Wasim Akram used to set up batters, how he could make the ball move in two different directions inspite of the ball pitching on the same spot.
Shaheen has just lost pace and accuracy with new ball. Nobody has learnt anything. It's infinitely harder to counter that inswinger at near 90 mph with pinpoint accuracy. No so difficult when it's 80mph and drifting down leg side.

Obviously now that he is in a rough patch everyone is out of their caves bashing him to their heart's content and rewriting history ie. He never was a great bowler etc.

Yes he is down right now, he is clearly struggling, he has lost some 15k of pace, lost his biggest asset (no not swing but laser accuracy with new ball) and doesn't seem fit at all. It doesn't mean he was always like this. We play pacers through injury all the time and Shaheen doesn't seem quite right atm.

My advice to everyone will be just wait for a longer time. He has to improve his physical condition over the next few months and then we can reassess if he really is finished as people here want to believe.
lose 10% of pace? thats when you get sent to te minors in baseball.

If it has ti with his knee, and uf he doesn't put aside 6 moths to get 100% fit. he is done.

Might be best for PCB ti put Naseem and SSA once till they are 100%. no t20 leagues every other month either. Deny NOC for 1 ful year.

lose 10% of pace? thats when you get sent to te minors in baseball.

If it has ti with his knee, and uf he doesn't put aside 6 moths to get 100% fit. he is done.

Might be best for PCB ti put Naseem and SSA once till they are 100%. no t20 leagues every other month either. Deny NOC for 1 ful year.
That should be the way. Shaheen has to stop thinking about cricket for a while and just focus on his physical condition. Pcb needs to do everything in it's power to protect its best assets. Deny nocs to both of them I'd be all for it.

Youngest to win the prestigious ICC player of the year in 2021. Low to mid 20 average in all 3 formats. Top 10 in ODI and Test.
A bad patch and few niggles, overreactionary crowd is out with knives. Can’t remember a single world class player with a linear trajectory.

• IMG_2054.jpeg
    IMG_2054.jpeg
    824.5 KB · Views: 8
He may not look at his very best, but this is an impressive streak. Let's see if he can continue this streak against the Aussies

1697453277822.png

You're misguided but that's expected because your reading of the game isn't credible in the slightest, as evident by "economy rates in ODIs are meaningless" and also by how highly you rate Imam.

But as you're so misguided, I'm happy to help you work out where you've gone if you could answer the following questions:

1. Did Shaheen bowl well in the last 3 x ICC tournaments (2019 WC, 2021 and 2022 WT20s)?
2. Who was Pakistan's best bowler in the last 3 x ICC tournaments (2019 WC, 2021 and 2022 WT20s)?
3. During the last WT20, did Shaheen look anywhere near 100% fit?
4. Has Shaheen been struggling for injuries and fitness over the last 12 months?
5. Does Shaheen look 100% fit during this WC?

Look let's cut out the crap. I know exactly where your criticism of Shaheen stems from and it has nothing to do with his perform
Every Pakistani bowler for the first couple of years looks a million dollars and then reality sets in.

Shaheen Afridi's novelty lasted till the World T20 in 2021 and that was it because he was only a couple of years into international cricket. Even in the World T20 World Cup 2021, he had zero penetration after that India opening overs blitz. He was just economical. That's it. Didn't take many wickets in that tournament. But that's ok because T20's economy creates wickets for others as well.

With regards to him being injured and not being fit, then that's on him. If he isn't fully fit, he has no right to play. He needs to self-evaluate himself and be honest saying that I'm not ready to give my 100% to the team. By being in the team, while only half-fit, he's actually doing a disservice to the Pakistani team. He's hogging a place for someone who can come in and give his 100%. So your argument that Shaheen isn't delivering because he's injured falls flat. Imagine if Haris Sohail is injured but insists on playing in the team, wouldn't he have stolen a place from Saud Shakeel? Would that have been fair?

Coming to Imam, the way Pakistan cricket team plays its cricket, Imam is actually the most important player in the team. People still do not realize that it was Imam over the past couple of years that was the glue that held the innings together and allowed Fakhar and Babar to unleash. Now that Imam is out of form, we have seen how badly exposed Fakhar and Babar are. If we decide to play a style that mirrors England, then Imam has no place but till the time Pakistan plays the way it currently does, the biggest disaster in this World Cup is Imam going out of form.

For your point about economy rates in ODIs, I stick to what I said. Economy rates in ODIs and Tests don't matter that much. They matter a lot in T20s. The shorter the format, the more important the economy rate. The larger the format, the economy rate starts taking a backseat. You can be most happy with Nawaz's 0-50 in 10 overs. However, I'll take 3-75 in 10 overs from anyone every day of the week and twice on Sundays. Anybody who does not understand this should not be talking about cricket.

And lastly, my criticism of Shaheen simply stems from the fact that he is an overrated bowler. Ravi Shastri said the exact same thing on commentary. Maybe Shastri is also inspired by Misbah, I guess. Shaheen is my fellow countryman. I would never wish ill on him. However, I will also not be oblivious to his shortcomings.

Question really should be:

Is this version of Shaheen the least effective left armer in the whole World Cup?

Every team nearly has got a left armer that’s outperforming Shaheen. Madashanka, Faruqui, Starc, Topley, Shoriful.

Now I’m not saying Shaheen is rubbish, but if he’s this ineffective with whatever injury he has, shouldn’t we really have declared him unfit?

He may not look at his very best, but this is an impressive streak. Let's see if he can continue this streak against the Aussies

View attachment 137719
It’s exactly this type of pointless statistic that keeps our players being happy with mediocrity.

We need to stop this nonsense. Especially so soon after a drubbing against India.

It's pathetic by him, Captain dosti yaari and PCB to continue playing him if he is carrying an injury. It's not only jeopardizing his own future career but also the team's chances in the current tournament.

Question really should be:

Is this version of Shaheen the least effective left armer in the whole World Cup?

Every team nearly has got a left armer that’s outperforming Shaheen. Madashanka, Faruqui, Starc, Topley, Shoriful.

Now I’m not saying Shaheen is rubbish, but if he’s this ineffective with whatever injury he has, shouldn’t we really have declared him unfit?

If he is unfit he should be left out. Fresher bowler probably might do better. Almost all teams have lost some bowlers. Looking at the wickets here you just need a good wicket to wicket channel bowler rather than express bowler.

Again our poor preparation has meant the alternative is Wasim Jr! How he was picked is beyond me!

People aren’t going to like it but Amir anyone? A like for like replacement especially when you know your bowlers have injury issues.

Again our poor preparation has meant the alternative is Wasim Jr! How he was picked is beyond me!

People aren’t going to like it but Amir anyone? A like for like replacement especially when you know your bowlers have injury issues.
Without delving into his tiff with Babar , purely from a selection perspective he is not at all a bad pick. You just need a bowler who can think on his feet. You don't have to be bowling 150k thunderbolts here. We have seen what happened to them so far.

Star Pakistan fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi has been laid low by fever, Pakistan media reported Tuesday, in a worrying blow for the team ahead of a key World Cup clash with Australia.

Shaheen, who has struggled to make an impact in his team's three matches so far at the tournament, fell ill on arrival in Bengaluru.

Some players suffered a fever in the past few days and most of them have fully recovered, said a Pakistan Cricket Board spokesman.

Source: Gulf News

Every Pakistani bowler for the first couple of years looks a million dollars and then reality sets in.

This is like saying Shaheen is another Junaid Khan or Hasan Ali. He's not your average Pakistani bowler so in this case what I read here is nothing more than a lazy argument. Hasan Ali faded after the 2017 CT whereas Shaheen was Pakistan's top bowler in 3 x consecutive ICC white ball events over a 4 year period. He was also ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2021. This award began in 2004 and the only Pakistani bowler up until now who's managed to achieve this is Shaheen. This perfectly sums up why your argument is lazy.

With regards to him being injured and not being fit, then that's on him. If he isn't fully fit, he has no right to play. He needs to self-evaluate himself and be honest saying that I'm not ready to give my 100% to the team. By being in the team, while only half-fit, he's actually doing a disservice to the Pakistani team. He's hogging a place for someone who can come in and give his 100%. So your argument that Shaheen isn't delivering because he's injured falls flat. Imagine if Haris Sohail is injured but insists on playing in the team, wouldn't he have stolen a place from Saud Shakeel? Would that have been fair?

I agree that's on him and I covered this extensively, see post 186 in this thread. You see I'm not a blind fan boy of his like you are when it comes to Imam and Misbah. Unlike yourself, I can criticise my favourite players and still remain objective.

Coming to Imam, the way Pakistan cricket team plays its cricket, Imam is actually the most important player in the team

I'm sorry but this isn't a comedy thread. If you're getting bounced out by trundlers on a slow wicket, like we saw against Sri Lanka, there's no way in the world you can be "the most important player in the team". He's always been awful against the short ball and has a very limited shot range, particularly of the back foot. I can't believe what I'm reading here.

For your point about economy rates in ODIs, I stick to what I said. Economy rates in ODIs and Tests don't matter that much. They matter a lot in T20s. The shorter the format, the more important the economy rate. The larger the format, the economy rate starts taking a backseat. You can be most happy with Nawaz's 0-50 in 10 overs. However, I'll take 3-75 in 10 overs from anyone every day of the week and twice on Sundays. Anybody who does not understand this should not be talking about cricket.

This is a very simplistic argument. If I have 2 bowlers with similar wicket taking ability but I have a greater need for someone who can bowl at the death, I will always choose the bowler who's more economical at the back end of an innings. Pakistan doesn't have a single bowler who can bowl at the death, so yes economy rates do matter especially in this context.

And lastly, my criticism of Shaheen simply stems from the fact that he is an overrated bowler. Ravi Shastri said the exact same thing on commentary. Maybe Shastri is also inspired by Misbah, I guess. Shaheen is my fellow countryman. I would never wish ill on him. However, I will also not be oblivious to his shortcomings.

You have always viewed cricket through the lens of Misbah and he openly said that he didn't rate Shaheen, before he was made to eat his words during the 2019 WC.

Your posts are well written however with the greatest of respect you'll never be a good reader of the game until you start broadening your perspective and think outside the Misbah bubble.

This is like saying Shaheen is another Junaid Khan or Hasan Ali. He's not your average Pakistani bowler so in this case what I read here is nothing more than a lazy argument. Hasan Ali faded after the 2017 CT whereas Shaheen was Pakistan's top bowler in 3 x consecutive ICC white ball events over a 4 year period. He was also ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2021. This award began in 2004 and the only Pakistani bowler up until now who's managed to achieve this is Shaheen. This perfectly sums up why your argument is lazy.

I agree that's on him and I covered this extensively, see post 186 in this thread. You see I'm not a blind fan boy of his like you are when it comes to Imam and Misbah. Unlike yourself, I can criticise my favourite players and still remain objective.

I'm sorry but this isn't a comedy thread. If you're getting bounced out by trundlers on a slow wicket, like we saw against Sri Lanka, there's no way in the world you can be "the most important player in the team". He's always been awful against the short ball and has a very limited shot range, particularly of the back foot. I can't believe what I'm reading here.

This is a very simplistic argument. If I have 2 bowlers with similar wicket taking ability but I have a greater need for someone who can bowl at the death, I will always choose the bowler who's more economical at the back end of an innings. Pakistan doesn't have a single bowler who can bowl at the death, so yes economy rates do matter especially in this context.

You have always viewed cricket through the lens of Misbah and he openly said that he didn't rate Shaheen, before he was made to eat his words during the 2019 WC.

Your posts are well written however with the greatest of respect you'll never be a good reader of the game until you start broadening your perspective and think outside the Misbah bubble.
Assalam o alaikum. I have nothing more to say. You can read into this however you want to.

Shaheen's confidence remains quite low until he takes early wickets, and if he doesn't as the game progresses, he tends to become less effective and gets wayward in his line and length.

1697697838703.png
These stats are enough to prove the point that Shaheen is not the same guy who was a beast before his injury. Look at the average and strike rates. So sad to see this decline for one of the most promising young talent.

So sad to see his decline. Maybe take an entire year off. Recuperate and then come back at full strength. Just physio and cardio training till them. He is still young. Long way to go.

Australia captain Pat Cummins speaking in pre-game presser:

[Reporter:]

Hi, Pat. In addition to my colleague's question, what do you make of Shaheen Shah's struggle? Is he lacking fitness and not taking wickets?

[Pat Cummins:]

To be honest, I haven't been watching too much, so I can't really comment on that. But he's always a good competitor. He's always a threat up front. So yeah, hopefully he's keeping quiet tomorrow.

This guy is trundling in at 78 mph totally lost his pace. If he’s injured he needs to sit out. Looks totally innocuous and incompetent I think he’s finished

Sad to see this but PCB has destroyed his career and partially he has himself to blame for bowling 78 pies.

Shaheen is overrated and not the best bowler in the world. But having said that, he is a good bowler and even though he seems to be playing with an injury, he is miles ahead of fraudulent bowlers like Rauf and Shadab.

After the World Cup, he needs to take some time off to recover. But knowing him, he will be playing endless T20 leagues.

No he is not but today he bowled well because he understood the pitch and bowled a bit with his brain. Instead of full deliveries, he went for good length and change of pace which is the way to go on this pitch. Line was also mostly on the wickets.

I mean he might not be the best in the world but says something when he is outbowling the rest of our bowling attack despite being injured. Rauf especially is the second coming of Wahab and Hasan does not deserve to be there, captain dosti yaari could not set aside his ego and select Amir when Naseem got injured.

Good analysis in comms about Shaheen vs Starc's action. While both are class bowlers, notice how Shaheen's weight and head position is wayward. This hinders his swing, pace and consistency, according to Waqar

1697807194517.png

Yet, Shaheen took 5 wickets and Starc began by bowling 4 wides in his first over haha

Anyone who says Shaheen is overrated doesn't know what they're talking about.

Everyone is toothless barring Shaheen. He's the shining light in this team and is Pakistan's best player by a country mile. What makes his performance today is the fact that he's still not even 100% fit.

Was superb during the PP when he kept it tight by bowling back of a good length. He identified the right length to bowl very early in the innings. Deserved to get Warner's wicket but Usama Mir dropped an absolute dolly.

Richly deserved his 5fer. 5-54 is commendable at the Bengaluru especially when your opposition has been batting at approx. 7.5 rpo.

@shariqnoor - time to give him some credit for how he bowled today and I hope you'll acknowledge that he was the only player who had a good day for Pakistan. Everyone else in the team failed.

Seeing Shaheen bowl well gives me some hope that he can get back to past form he had before injury. That drop of Warner early on was brutal.