[VIDEOS] Jammu and Kashmir pacer Umran Malik

Stop hating lad the whole world is raving about this special kid. And he’s bowling at 96 mph and 155kph consistently which is no joke.

I’ve been following him very closely and he’s bowled some lethal deliveries. Guys here to stay weather you like it or not. He’s in the Brett Lee Shoaib AKHTAR category.

Yeah with a List A average of 98 and a FC average of 41. He hasn't even played 1 international match but he is already in the Lee and Akhtar category lol? :inti

Thanks for posting the stats. So he has to improve a lot before thinking about representing India in test cricket. :inti

Yeah he has to improve a lot. We don't hand out test debuts to teenage sensation and then drop them when they get smashed against the big boys.

Thats also the reason we have the best test bowling attack in the world.

So was Sami and Wahab.

And getting smashed around the park just like them.

He is not in the Brett/Shoaib category yet. You are deluded.

Exactly. Is it so easy to enter in Shoaib and Lee category? They were bowling fast not for one month or a year. They bowled fast for many years and against top class batting lineups in both tests and ODIs. He has a long way to go but our IPL fans do not learn. They overhype every other cricketer and call them next Gilly, Sachin, Wasim or Akhtar these days. :inti

Yeah with a List A average of 98 and a FC average of 41. He hasn't even played 1 international match but he is already in the Lee and Akhtar category lol? :inti

Just sit back and watch the show. He’s a talent who going to shatter many records. I’ve identified many talents on here and have generally been spot on.

Ive also followed cricket for over 3 decades. He’s going to be star weather you like it or not. He is in the Shoaib AKHTAR and Brett Lee category. In 5 years if we’re both around will see

Yeah he has to improve a lot. We don't hand out test debuts to teenage sensation and then drop them when they get smashed against the big boys.

Bhai rehne de. You know nothing about fast bowling. I was talking above improvements, he doesn't have to play 5 years of domestic cricket to earn his India cap. He will slow down and lose his pace. And this is the reason why we never had the fastest bowler in the world because people with mentality like you are looking after these fast bowlers in BCCI. He should tour with A teams for a year. :inti

Shaheen is doing well. :rabada2

Just sit back and watch the show. He’s a talent who going to shatter many records. I’ve identified many talents on here and have generally been spot on.

Ive also followed cricket for over 3 decades. He’s going to be star weather you like it or not. He is in the Shoaib AKHTAR and Brett Lee category. In 5 years if we’re both around will see

So he is going to be a star in 5 years? Then why are you putting him in the Akhtar Lee category now? Can't you wait for 5 years? I am against the overhyping of him and putting unnecessary pressure on him. :inti

Despite all his pace , Umran is far from being a ODI-Test ready. He needs to develops movement and a good slower one so that he can be a deadly prospect. Personally i rather him play T20 only for rest of this year. By 2023 he should be given chance in ODI. Tests should be still far away.

Yes. He should play only T20 this year and then ODIs and tests are atleast 2 years away.

But he should be with India A and India senior team not with J and K team.

You are right. Nobody hypes Jadeja in T20s so even if he is dropped, nobody will care. However Pandya brothers getting dropped from the team is a big thing. Both of them were overhyped by fans like you. :inti

Lol, seriously? Krunal is hardly hyped, he is actually underrated. He is better than Jadeja who mostly plays due to his fielding skills in this format.

Krunal has more variation than Jadeja while Jadeja is more accurate with line and length but that works more in tests and ODIs and that's why Krunal is a better bet than Jadeja with bowl and in this IPL, Krunal has done excellent with bowl averaging 20. He also has better stats in batting than Jadeja in this season and also in T20Is career who has been given so many chances while Krunal has hardly got may chance even though his stats are more than decent.

If you want to argue on stats like you do against Pant, you should do it against Jadeja but obviously you have certain agenda againdt certain players and want to be more of an attention seeking guy so you could care least of that :inti

Lol, seriously? Krunal is hardly hyped, he is actually underrated. He is better than Jadeja who mostly plays due to his fielding skills in this format.

Krunal has more variation than Jadeja while Jadeja is more accurate with line and length but that works more in tests and ODIs and that's why Krunal is a better bet than Jadeja with bowl and in this IPL, Krunal has done excellent with bowl averaging 20. He also has better stats in batting than Jadeja in this season and also in T20Is career who has been given so many chances while Krunal has hardly got may chance even though his stats are more than decent.

If you want to argue on stats like you do against Pant, you should do it against Jadeja but obviously you have certain agenda againdt certain players so you could care least of that :inti

It seems you are trying too hard to put words in my mouth. As I said earlier, you can drop Jadeja for all you want, I hardly care lol. I neither hyped him, nor I care if he doesn't play in T20s. Real fact is he is way above Pandya brothers in the format you respect the most ie test cricket. Case closed. :inti

Will any other nation keep the fastest bowler in the world away from the national team?

It seems you are trying too hard to put words in my mouth. As I said earlier, you can drop Jadeja for all you want, I hardly care lol. I neither hyped him, nor I care if he doesn't play in T20s. Real fact is he is way above Pandya brothers in the format you respect the most ie test cricket. Case closed. :inti

Then say that he is way better in test format. Don't say he must play in T20 Team for India ahead of Pandya because he is not better than him in T20s, he is one of the worst T20 players India had and one of the major reasons why India didnt won anything in WT20s after 2007.

Yes. He should play only T20 this year and then ODIs and tests are atleast 2 years away.

But he should be with India A and India senior team not with J and K team.

I agree , he has already played for India A against South Africa A.
https://www.espncricinfo.com/series...-a-1st-unofficial-test-1277076/full-scorecard
21 overs , 90 runs 1 wicket.
It was a 4 day match with last last washed out. Both team played only 1 inning.
JK team seems weak for him to grow. He needs to be in stronger Ranji team.
If we manage him well then in 1-2 years he will be great international prospect.

I agree , he has already played for India A against South Africa A.
https://www.espncricinfo.com/series...-a-1st-unofficial-test-1277076/full-scorecard
21 overs , 90 runs 1 wicket.
It was a 4 day match with last last washed out. Both team played only 1 inning.
JK team seems weak for him to grow. He needs to be in stronger Ranji team.
If we manage him well then in 1-2 years he will be great international prospect.

That team is pathetic in terms of selection. Didn't play Umran in the SMA trophy. Its a highly influenced team.

You are getting too emotional now. There is a process and he should go through that process before getting selected for national team. :inti

Nah...a fast bowler can be fast tracked. That is how Pakistan produce so many good fast bowlers bcoz they pick them raw and put them in international cricket. Too much polishing of a fast bowler in domestic circuit can actually harm its natural ability.

For batsman its totally different. You cant fast track them (unless your name is Tendulkar) as there is always a scope for a batsman to improve their technique in domestic cricket. 2 season of first class cricket is mandatory for any young batsman to make their debut.

Having said all that, I simply dont understand the hype for Umran Malik. Granted he has got pace but he is getting butchered in most matches. He has now given 120 odd runs in last 3 games. Kane Williamson had to hide him in last match and only gave him 2 overs. Likes of Kartik Tyagi, Mukesh Choudhary, Khaleel Ahmed, Arshdeep Singh, Natarajan everyone out bowled him but no one talks about them.

IPL has allocated 1 lakh rupee per game for fastest bowler and Umran is simply aiming for that every game. But he is definitely not good enough for international cricket IMO.

"156 Will Go For 256 Off The Bat": Ravi Shastri's Stern Warning To Umran Malik

IPL 2022: Ravi Shastri has issued a stern warning for young pacer Umran Malik.

Umran Malik lit the IPL 2022 season up with his raw pace, but his form has dipped and he has been hit for plenty as SunRisers Hyderabad have found themselves on a four-match losing streak. Before their defeat against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Sunday, Malik had conceded 100 runs for no wickets in his last two outings. Former India head coach Ravi Shastri issued a stern warning for the young pacer and said that his pace would be of little help in the shortest format if he does not use it well.

Asked what can be done to get Umran Malik to develop more control over his bowling, Shastri told Star Sports ahead of SRH's match against RCB: "When someone tells him on his face it's all good to have 156, it's exciting, it's brilliant, we all love it, you have a great future, you're going to play for India very soon. But if you don't get it right that 156 will go for 256 off the bat. And that is exactly what is happening."

"The pace is good, but you got to get it in your mind that you have to get it in the right areas. Otherwise, just hold yourself back and use that space sparingly, to surprise the batter. Those kinds of thoughts should go through your mind," Shastri advised the youngster.

"If you don't get it right, you are going to fetch and fetch big time. It goes off the bat at 250 to 300 knots!" he warned Umran Malik.

"The pitches will slow up as the tournament progresses. We've seen seam movement that existed in the first two-three weeks is not there and the pitches are better for batting. So he has got to get it right," Shastri said.

Shastri said that just bowling at high pace is not enough.

"I'm seeing the media and everywhere it say 156, 154 - it doesn't matter in this format. You have to get it in the right areas and he hasn't. If he attacks the stumps he will be far more consistent. 156, 157 - very good, excellent - but channelise it in the right direction," he said.

Against RCB, Umran Malik was again expensive, as he was taken for 20 runs in his first over and was given just two overs in the match as SRH slumped to a 67-run defeat.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2022/15...mran-malik-2958017#pfrom=home-ndtv_topstories

Nah...a fast bowler can be fast tracked. That is how Pakistan produce so many good fast bowlers bcoz they pick them raw and put them in international cricket. Too much polishing of a fast bowler in domestic circuit can actually harm its natural ability.

For batsman its totally different. You cant fast track them (unless your name is Tendulkar) as there is always a scope for a batsman to improve their technique in domestic cricket. 2 season of first class cricket is mandatory for any young batsman to make their debut.

Having said all that, I simply dont understand the hype for Umran Malik. Granted he has got pace but he is getting butchered in most matches. He has now given 120 odd runs in last 3 games. Kane Williamson had to hide him in last match and only gave him 2 overs. Likes of Kartik Tyagi, Mukesh Choudhary, Khaleel Ahmed, Arshdeep Singh, Natarajan everyone out bowled him but no one talks about them.

IPL has allocated 1 lakh rupee per game for fastest bowler and Umran is simply aiming for that every game. But he is definitely not good enough for international cricket IMO.

I am not saying he should play 5 years of domestic cricket. I agree and know that fast bowlers should be fast tracked and not be wasted in domestic cricket but he should tour with A teams for an year before making his test debut. :inti

"156 Will Go For 256 Off The Bat": Ravi Shastri's Stern Warning To Umran Malik

IPL 2022: Ravi Shastri has issued a stern warning for young pacer Umran Malik.

Umran Malik lit the IPL 2022 season up with his raw pace, but his form has dipped and he has been hit for plenty as SunRisers Hyderabad have found themselves on a four-match losing streak. Before their defeat against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Sunday, Malik had conceded 100 runs for no wickets in his last two outings. Former India head coach Ravi Shastri issued a stern warning for the young pacer and said that his pace would be of little help in the shortest format if he does not use it well.

Asked what can be done to get Umran Malik to develop more control over his bowling, Shastri told Star Sports ahead of SRH's match against RCB: "When someone tells him on his face it's all good to have 156, it's exciting, it's brilliant, we all love it, you have a great future, you're going to play for India very soon. But if you don't get it right that 156 will go for 256 off the bat. And that is exactly what is happening."

"The pace is good, but you got to get it in your mind that you have to get it in the right areas. Otherwise, just hold yourself back and use that space sparingly, to surprise the batter. Those kinds of thoughts should go through your mind," Shastri advised the youngster.

"If you don't get it right, you are going to fetch and fetch big time. It goes off the bat at 250 to 300 knots!" he warned Umran Malik.

"The pitches will slow up as the tournament progresses. We've seen seam movement that existed in the first two-three weeks is not there and the pitches are better for batting. So he has got to get it right," Shastri said.

Shastri said that just bowling at high pace is not enough.

"I'm seeing the media and everywhere it say 156, 154 - it doesn't matter in this format. You have to get it in the right areas and he hasn't. If he attacks the stumps he will be far more consistent. 156, 157 - very good, excellent - but channelise it in the right direction," he said.

Against RCB, Umran Malik was again expensive, as he was taken for 20 runs in his first over and was given just two overs in the match as SRH slumped to a 67-run defeat.

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2022/15...mran-malik-2958017#pfrom=home-ndtv_topstories

This is the reason India didn't have express bowlers. Brainless ex cricketer coaches.

Brainless are those who didn't understand his statement.

"When someone tells him on his face it's all good to have 156, it's exciting, it's brilliant, we all love it, you have a great future, you're going to play for India very soon. But if you don't get it right that 156 will go for 256 off the bat. And that is exactly what is happening."

There is nothing wrong in what he said. :inti

Bhai rehne de. You know nothing about fast bowling. I was talking above improvements, he doesn't have to play 5 years of domestic cricket to earn his India cap. He will slow down and lose his pace. And this is the reason why we never had the fastest bowler in the world because people with mentality like you are looking after these fast bowlers in BCCI. He should tour with A teams for a year. :inti

Shaheen is doing well. :rabada2
Calm down. Looks like I hit a nerve.

Where did I say that he should play domestic for 5 years?

Calm down. Looks like I hit a nerve.

Where did I say that he should play domestic for 5 years?
And where did I say that you said 'he should play 5 years of domestic cricket'? Learn to understand what's written before throwing your toys out of the pram.

Read [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]'s post above. A fast bowler can indeed be fast tracked. Although he needs some experience with India A team first. :inti

You are getting too emotional now. There is a process and he should go through that process before getting selected for national team. :inti

And where did I say that you said 'he should play 5 years of domestic cricket'? Learn to understand what's written before throwing your toys out of the pram.

Read [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]'s post above. A fast bowler can indeed be fast tracked. Although he needs some experience with India A team first. :inti

Are you for real.
Now tell me how you disagree with my post quoted above?
Looks like you had a hard time digesting the fact that we have the best fast bowling attack.
Koi nahi, maybe even your supposed teenagers will perform upto our standards some day.

Are you for real.
Now tell me how you disagree with my post quoted above?
Looks like you had a hard time digesting the fact that we have the best fast bowling attack.
Koi nahi, maybe even your supposed teenagers will perform upto our standards some day.

Lol you are looking so confused right now. According to you we don't hand out test debuts to teenage sensation and then drop them, then why are you getting all worked up when I am also asking him to tour with A teams first and follow the process? As I said, he doesn't have to play 5 years of domestic cricket and should be fast tracked into test team after he gains some experience with A teams abroad. Best fast bowling attacks somehow disappoints in global ICC tournaments and in places like NZ and SA. :inti

Haris Rauf type numbers so far at the IPL.

Wickets column is good 15 in 11 matches but the economy rate is terrible 9.10.

Work in progress.

Decent performance 3/33 in 4 overs, best figures for his side in this game

Excellent outing tonight as Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 3 runs

Umran Malik 3/23 in 3 overs

21 wickets now at an average of 20.00.

Economy rate of 8.93.

21 wickets now at an average of 20.00.

Economy rate of 8.93.

He has the second highest number of wickets for a fast bowler in this IPL. Only Rabada at 22 has more.

If he isn't in the team this June. That will be a travesty.

Mumbai: Sunrisers Hyderabad bowler Umran malik amazed everyone with his bowling speed in IPL 2022. Umran holds the record for fastest delivery in the current season so far.

In the match against Mumbai Indians, Umran added another feather in his cap and the pacer became the youngest Indian bowler to scalp 20 or more wickets in an IPL season before this Jasprit Bumrah held the record since IPL 2017.

Umran, after a few expensive spells in earlier games, came into his own, taking three wickets for 23 runs in three overs as SRH halted Mumbai Indians’ chase of 193 in their league game at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday night.

The pacer, who recently clocked the fastest delivery of the season at 157kmph, took out the well-set MI opener Ishan Kishan, Daniel Sams, and the talented Tilak Varma to wipe out the five-time champions’ top order.

Umran broke into the top 5 of the IPL 2022 wicket-takers list as he took his tally to 21 during a match-winning spell for SRH against Mumbai Indians.

Umran is 4th in the list of bowlers with the most wickets in IPL 2022, 3 behind leader Yuzvendra Chahal.

Youngest to 20 IPL Wickets

Umran Malik – 22 years and 176 days

Jasprit Bumrah – 23 years and 165 days in IPL 2017

RP Singh – 23 years and 166 days in IPL 2009

Pragyan Ojha – 23 years and 225 days in IPL 2010

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...ungest-indian-to-reach-this-milestone-1022497

Umran Malik has earned a maiden call-up for the series against South Africa

I haven't watched any full games but have caught a few overs of this guy based on clips people have sent me.

Seems quite expensive and could implode in international cricket if not handled carefully.

The Indians should let him tear in and hope he takes enough wickets in international cricket to cover up his expensive ER in other games.

If he is selected in a world cup they better hope his inevitable 0/52 game comes in a dead rubber and not a knockout.

We should have our expectations in check, he hasn't bowled a lot with Leather balls.. so he hopefully learns from Bharat Arun who hopefully doesn’t over coach him.

I haven't watched any full games but have caught a few overs of this guy based on clips people have sent me.

Seems quite expensive and could implode in international cricket if not handled carefully.

The Indians should let him tear in and hope he takes enough wickets in international cricket to cover up his expensive ER in other games.

If he is selected in a world cup they better hope his inevitable 0/52 game comes in a dead rubber and not a knockout.

22 wickets in this year's IPL. Only one fast bowler has taken more, thats Rabada with 23.

Most of the time he has gone for runs, its off players who have been dropped off his bowling previously. Powell Faf Livingstone to name a few.

22 wickets in this year's IPL. Only one fast bowler has taken more, thats Rabada with 23.

Most of the time he has gone for runs, its off players who have been dropped off his bowling previously. Powell Faf Livingstone to name a few.

Interesting excuse there but its an old one. Mohammed Sami's and Wahab Riaz's fans also used to give excuses like these. I can only hope and pray that he doesn't end up becoming another Mohammed Sami. :inti

The speedster has made waves in the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League and has been richly rewarded with an India call-up. Here we take a look at why he has been selected to represent the Men in Blue.

New faces aplenty in India's T20I squad

One name that has been on everyone's lips during the ongoing edition of the IPL is that of Umran Malik. In a topsy-turvy season for Sunrisers Hyderabad, the pacer has been a consistent presence throughout, knocking stumps off with his sheer pace. Under the tutelage of bowling coach and South Africa legend Dale Steyn, he has also added discipline to his bowling. Combined with the ability to consistently clock speeds over 150 kmph, Umran has become a prospect too good to ignore.

Now called up to the Indian squad for the five-match T20I series at home against South Africa, the Indian team management will hope to mould Umran into a strike bowler ahead of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia, later this year.

Here, we chart his rapid ascension from a raw prospect in the IPL to earning a selection in the Indian squad.

Injury replacement in IPL 2021

Born in Jammu & Kashmir in 1999, Umran Malik's first taste of the big league was during the 2021 season of the IPL. On the recommendation of fellow statesman Abdul Samad, Malik was roped in as a net bowler, where he impressed one and all with his sheer pace.

An injury to a senior pacer would see him get a breakthrough in the big time. T Natarajan was ruled out of the second leg of the IPL with COVID-19 and Malik was drafted in as his short-term replacement.

The pacer would play three matches in a horrendous year for Sunrisers Hyderabad, where they finished at the bottom of the pile. Malik scalped 2 wickets in those matches, but the talent there was for all to see. This was also recognised by the Indian team management as he was asked to stay back in the UAE as a net bowler for the India team during the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Retention and setting the league on fire

Such was the impression made by the pacer that he was one of Sunrisers Hyderabad's three retentions for the 2022 season of the IPL – the others being Kane Williamson and Abdul Samad.

If there were any doubts surrounding a perceived gamble by the franchise, they were quickly dispelled by his sizzling performances. After a slow start, Umran improved by leaps and bounds in every single game. There was also a tactical shift by Williamson in his use of the pacer, primarily utilizing him in the middle overs to put the batters on the backfoot.

Five Talking Points from India's squad announcement
Some of his highlights from the season include a triple-wicket maiden against Punjab Kings, a five-wicket haul against Gujarat Titans and bowling a 157 kmph delivery against Delhi Capitals.

Malik has consistently been the quickest bowler in the IPL along with Lockie Ferguson who plies his trade for Gujarat Lions.

All in all, Malik has scalped 21 wickets in 13 matches, going at an economy of 8.75 and averaging 22.43 with best figures of 5/25.

The road ahead

Despite his promise, Umran will face some heavy competition to be a regular fixture in the Indian team considering the battery of pacers at their disposal. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh are the other pacers in the squad for the South Africa series, while the likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami have been rested. Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur are also likely to be in the scheme of things due to their ability to contribute with the bat.

But skipper Rohit Sharma and head coach Rahul Dravid will know the value of having searing unadulterated pace in the lineup and will hope to mould him into a pacer who can potentially win India a number of games heading into the T20 World Cup on the bouncy tracks of Australia.

https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2627322

If Bhuvi Arshdeep Harshal are competition for Umran than i have little hope for Indian cricket.

It depends on the lens you apply - agree it sounds ridiculous purely from a “pace is great” perspective.

However, Bhuvi, Arshdeep and Harshal are far better in terms of variations and control. I’d give them 19th or the 20th over to defend a target over Umran - they appear to have more guile and skills are the moment.

It depends on the lens you apply - agree it sounds ridiculous purely from a “pace is great” perspective.

However, Bhuvi, Arshdeep and Harshal are far better in terms of variations and control. I’d give them 19th or the 20th over to defend a target over Umran - they appear to have more guile and skills are the moment.

Bhuvi has 12 wickets and Arshdeep has 10 wickets in this IPL. Talking about their economy is moot. Its like saying a batsman who has scored 100 runs in IPL at 200 SR is better than someone with 500 runs with SR of 135.

Harshal is 32 i believe, nearly 10 years older. He is a journeyman cricketer.enjoying a purple patch. Some years ago a similar journeyman Murli Vijay kept on playing for India, keeping KL and then an in form Mayank out. We dont need to make such mistakes again. Another so called skilled control guy Mohit Sharma kept Jaspreet Bumrah out of the side. This Sharma was taken to Australia and taken apart. We want to repeat that?

135kph bowlers with 5 type of slower balls are dime a dozen in the world. 150kph plus are not.

Umran Malik is important for India. Aside of Bumrah, all the other names in T20s reckoning are mostly trundlers so you need genuine pace to ruffle up the batsman a bit.

New bowl bowlers :-

Mohammad Shami
Deepak Chahar
Prasidh Krishna
Mohammad Siraj

Death overs bowler :

Jasprit Bumrah
Harshal Patel
Arshdeep Singh
T Natrajan

Middle over bowlers :
Umran Malik

A fully fit Bhuvi can bowl with both new and old bowl in death overs.

Bhuvi has 12 wickets and Arshdeep has 10 wickets in this IPL. Talking about their economy is moot. Its like saying a batsman who has scored 100 runs in IPL at 200 SR is better than someone with 500 runs with SR of 135.

Harshal is 32 i believe, nearly 10 years older. He is a journeyman cricketer.enjoying a purple patch. Some years ago a similar journeyman Murli Vijay kept on playing for India, keeping KL and then an in form Mayank out. We dont need to make such mistakes again. Another so called skilled control guy Mohit Sharma kept Jaspreet Bumrah out of the side. This Sharma was taken to Australia and taken apart. We want to repeat that?

135kph bowlers with 5 type of slower balls are dime a dozen in the world. 150kph plus are not.

You are getting emotional and desperate now just because Umran bowls 150kph. I won't be surprised if you start putting Umran above Bumrah also. Pretty sure there is more to it than his pace. :inti

BCCI announced an 18-man squad for the five-match home series against South Africa on Sunday night and there was one selection which grabbed most of the headlines. Umran Malik earned his maiden India call-up. The 22-year-old star has been the cynosure through the ongoing 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) following his impressive show and veteran cricketers, impressed with his performance, has all backed him for a spot in the Indian team. Reacting to the big news, BCCI president Sourav Ganguly reserved the ultimate praise for the youngster.

Sunrisers Hyderabad pace sensation Umran Malik has been one of the finds of the 15th season of the cash-rich league. He has impressed the selectors not just with his raw pace, clocking consistently over 150 kph, but also with his wicket-taking abilities. In 14 games this season, he has picked 22 wickets for SRH at a strike rate of just 13.57 and an economy rate of 9.03.

Speaking on the sidelines of a promotional event on Tuesday, the former India captain was full of praise for Umran.

"His future is in hands. If he stays fit and bowls at this pace, I'm sure he will be around for a long time," he said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ik-after-india-selection-101653391029808.html

Pace sensation Umran Malik recently got his maiden India call-up for India's upcoming T20 series against South Africa. The Sunrisers Hyderabad speedster earned a spot in the set-up after a stellar run in this year's Indian Premier League (IPL). The 22-year-old impressed with his raw pace and ability to touch 150 kph on a regular basis, and made waves by winning the 'fastest delivery of the match' award 14 straight times in the just-concluded IPL season. IPL 2022 Full Coverage

Umran, who had a splendid competition with 22 wickets at an average of 20.18 in 14 games, earned plaudits for his sheer speed. The son of a fruit vendor, he rattled many batting attacks and went on to become the fastest Indian bowler ever in the history of the IPL. He clocked 157 kph in the game against Delhi Capitals.

Also Read | 'His mindset is different, tries for wickets with variations': India great slams Ashwin for bowling carrom balls vs GT

The lightning-quick bowler from Jammu has also earned praise from former Australia Brett Lee, who said Umran reminds him of legendary Waqar Younis. In his heydays, the Pakistan pacer decimated the opposition with his speed and the art of reverse swing bowling. Younis picked up 373 Test wickets and 416 ODI wickets in his illustrious career.

"I am a big fan. I think Umran Malik has got a lot of pace to burn. He is a competitor, a top guy, who runs in like a lot of fast bowlers in the past. Waqar Younis is the person who comes to mind," Brett Lee told ANI.

Lee also spoke about Virat Kohli's lean patch with the bat. The star Indian batter is battling his career's worst slump, having managed just 341 runs in 16 IPL games. His IPL 2022 ended after Royal Challengers Bangalore's seven-wicket defeat against Rajasthan Royals in the Qualifier-2.

"I am a massive Kohli fan like a lot of people in the world. I just hope that he really gets his opportunity. He just needs some time out. Spend some time with his family, get reset and hopefully, we can see him scoring some hundreds," said Lee about the former India captain, who endured a subdued IPL season as he scored runs at a below-par average of 22.73 despite opening the innings in most games.

Hindustan Times

Fun to see cricketjoshilla going gaga over pace.

Just shows that the guy was always deperate for pace bowlers and looked at ours with envy :))

We already have a good pace bowling attack. And ofcourse i like a potentially world class cricketing talent from India.

Nothing to envy, its more about changing the system in India. Too many "swing and variations" bowlers picked up.

If i have to envy, i would be envious of the Aussie bowling stocks and their history.

We already have a good pace bowling attack. And ofcourse i like a potentially world class cricketing talent from India.

Nothing to envy, its more about changing the system in India. Too many "swing and variations" bowlers picked up.

If i have to envy, i would be envious of the Aussie bowling stocks and their history.

You have a good seam-up bowling unit.

If Umran makes strides as a permanent fixture, you will have a seam up bowling unit with an Enforcer.

If you have 2 or 3 Umrans you have a “pace attack”

India finally have someone they can have some semblance of comparison to Waqar. Seems like they’ve been trying for years/
They tried it with Prasad once 😂, so progress is being made.

Let’s see if Umran lives up to it. Long way to go. I wish him the best - always good to see a young pace bowler

India finally have someone they can have some semblance of comparison to Waqar. Seems like they’ve been trying for years/
They tried it with Prasad once 😂, so progress is being made.

Let’s see if Umran lives up to it. Long way to go. I wish him the best - always good to see a young pace bowler

You forgot Varun Aaron? :inti

I dont think anyone denies that we admired Pakistani bowlers for their pace but especially for their effectiveness. But I don't think the younger generation does at all.

You have a good seam-up bowling unit.

If Umran makes strides as a permanent fixture, you will have a seam up bowling unit with an Enforcer.

If you have 2 or 3 Umrans you have a “pace attack”

Which means Pakistan doesn't have a "pace attack" in tests

Somewhat in t20s and odis though,lol

Shaheen Shah Afridi:

The recipient of the Sir Garfield Sobers award for the men's cricketer of the year in 2021 said pace won't be able to help you if you can't swing the ball. “Speed can’t help you if you don’t have line and length and swing,” said Shaheen when he was asked about Lockie Ferguson and Umran Malik's mindboggling speeds in the IPL.

Shaheen Shah Afridi:

The recipient of the Sir Garfield Sobers award for the men's cricketer of the year in 2021 said pace won't be able to help you if you can't swing the ball. “Speed can’t help you if you don’t have line and length and swing,” said Shaheen when he was asked about Lockie Ferguson and Umran Malik's mindboggling speeds in the IPL.

Shaheen is right. Speed is overrated these days. :inti

Umran Malik's sheer pace made him one of the standout players in the 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL), despite his team Sunrisers Hyderabad finishing eighth in the 10-team tournament. The 22-year-old was crossing 150kmph regularly in the matches and held the record for the fastest delivery in the tournament, a 157kph scorcher, until Lockie Ferguson crossed it in the final.

This prompted projections that Umran could break Shoaib Akhtar's record for the fastest ball ever recorded. Shoaib had bowled a delivery that clocked 161.3 kmph in a 2003 World Cup match against England. The former Pakistan pacer himself backed Umran to break the record.

Umran, however, has said that he is only focussing on helping India beat South Africa in the upcoming five-match T20I series, for which he received his maiden international call up.

"My focus is not on that record right now. I want to bowl well, bowl in the right areas and help my country win all five matches against South Africa. I want to keep it 150 or above to maintain my body and strength," Umran told News24 Sports.

Umran said that his state team mate Abdul Samad played a big role in helping him bowl at the pace he employs. The two players have been practicing since their childhood and they both play for SRH in the IPL.

"Abul motivated me a lot. Whenever I used to bowl to him, he would say I am bowling slow. So, then I would deliver with more pace. And then the gym and proper exercise helped me in this," Umran said.

HT

Which means Pakistan doesn't have a "pace attack" in tests

Somewhat in t20s and odis though,lol

Yup Pakistan don’t really. With Naseem in it is more of a pace attack. But yes we need more pace.

Shaheen, Naseem and Rauf is a pace attack

Yup Pakistan don’t really. With Naseem in it is more of a pace attack. But yes we need more pace.

Shaheen, Naseem and Rauf is a pace attack

No it's not. It's express. Those 3 are express for tests. 145 plus is express.
India - fast. With umran and prasidh maybe pace attack but not yet
Australia - seam up. Hazelwood is a trundler
Kiwi is trundler attack unless lockie comes then maybe its a seam attack
S.africa - seam up attack. Kabada is a 135 kmph bowler now. Nortje is injured and battered. No longer 145 plus. Ngidi is a trundler and fat.

If he is consistently bowling at this speed currently then surely he is wasting his energy in useless IPL matches lol. He should save it for internationals because IPL will kill his career within next 2-3 years. He will remain unfit for the real cricket matches. :inti

Yes because IPL clubs run a charity and pay you big bucks just to conserve your energy.

Well that was an anti-climax and not quite the debut that many had said would happen.

1 pretty ordinary over for 14 runs.

Lot went against his debut, I highly doubt Pandya-Dravid- Paras will be good for the lad hopefully can work with Bharat Arun/Zaheer in some capacity.

On Irish and English pitches if the line and length is not right then bowlers will be hit for fours and sixes.The batsmen use the pace to their advantage.

Umran's first over speeds :

148 kph
145 kph
143 kph
140 kph
142 kph
143 kph
145 kph

What was his average speed in IPL? :inti

Lot went against his debut, I highly doubt Pandya-Dravid- Paras will be good for the lad hopefully can work with Bharat Arun/Zaheer in some capacity.

Who will turn him into a 145kmh line and length+ swing bowler

I can understand the hype because India never had a genuine quick.India used to field three spinners even in England and a couple of medium pacers.

Only thing he seems to have is pace. Needs better line and length.

Gone are the days when just pace counted.

These days batters have so many tricks up their sleeve, ramp shots etc etc.

Bowlers need a lot more than just pace to cause problems.

How does india justify picking someone like bhuvaneswar kumar and guys like the other scrub over umran? Makes no sense.

Well as i posted a thread. This is the Indian "system and process". First come first serve and the need to have X years as domestic or A team player.

This needs to change if we are going to have a team of proper fast bowlers or express bowlers.

How does india justify picking someone like bhuvaneswar kumar and guys like the other scrub over umran? Makes no sense.

The way Umran was bowling it was pretty much justified. He has pace but not line and length. May be he was super excited yesterday. Let's see how he bowls in the next couple of matches. :inti

No need to hurry anyone in the XI. The first string bowlers are quite clear across formats in Indian team:-

Tests - Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Prasidh, Umesh, Shardul ( as bowl A/R)
ODIs - Bumrah, Shami, Prasidh, D Chahar( as bowl A/R)
T20Is - Bumrah, Bhuvi, Harshal, D Chahar ( as bowl A/R)

No need to hurry anyone in the XI. The first string bowlers are quite clear across formats in Indian team:-

Tests - Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Prasidh, Umesh, Shardul ( as bowl A/R)
ODIs - Bumrah, Shami, Prasidh, D Chahar( as bowl A/R)
T20Is - Bumrah, Bhuvi, Harshal, D Chahar ( as bowl A/R)

Chahar Harshal Bhuvi, this is like Prasad Mohanty and Dodda Ganesh.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] surprisingly you haven't given your views in this thread.

And what do you think about India playing a gully mohala cricketer?