[VIDEOS] Karachi Crowd Watch!

Heck it's free entry, people should be desperate to get into the ground. I'm not joking that if the PCB had this tournament in England and it was free entry, every match would be a sellout and there would be thousands locked out.

Agree that every match would be sellout, but it would be very expensive to host this tournament in England ( ECB will charge PCB to host this tournament? i am not sure?), i believe better solution would be to have this tournament all across Pakistan, instead of having the whole tournament in one city. each team will get home advantage and this will guarantee sellout games.

I disagree, Lahore should be given a chance to host it soon.

i disagree, i think neither Lahore nor Karachi deserve to host this tournament for couple of years. cities such as Pindi, Multan, Faislabad should be next in line to host this tournament.

I've not read every single one of his posts, as you obviously have.

Had you read all of his post, you would have probably never written this.

What's wrong with him stating a fact that the crowds have been disappointing?

The easy and rather ignorant way of some seems to be call someone a hater if they dont agree with what the other person is saying.

you would have probably written this.

Guys don't turn this thread into a pro and anti Karachi thread.
Stick to the discussion and that is about the lack of crowd for a large part of the tournament.

If problem was Karachi , the stadium would not be filled for Moin Khan tournament that too when recent violence was at its peak !

The lack of maintenance of NSK and other stadiums as well as lack of advertising has led to poor crowds . Only a few days before the venue was changed from one city to another . Karachi should be thanked for stepping up with almost no preparation .

But no , we are too busy blaming Karachi even before the tournament started . Refer to the LCCA guy Khawaja Nadeem or whatever his name is , maybe he along with others should have promoted the tournament and the fact that the venue had been changed . Wherever the tournament is played , it is happening in Pakistan and Pakistanis will be coming to watch it lekin aise hi waqtoN sab ka taasub saamne nikal ke aata hai . Learn to think beyond your regions and your cities !

This!!

I have to admit that the crowd response has been nothing short of abysmal throughout. Karachi must not be given the rights to host a major domestic tournament for the next three years at least. Too much cricket has evaporated interest among the public.

Let Pindi, Sialkot, Hyderabad, Gujaranwala etc. be given a chance act as future hosts. The crowd response will be phenomenal there I bet :)

what about peshawar, quetta, i think guys here should think little more than punjab thing

you can get good talents from KPK and balochistan, the most neglected provinces

what about peshawar, quetta, i think guys here should think little more than punjab thing

you can get good talents from KPK and balochistan, the most neglected provinces

I included Hyderabad in the list as well. It isn't in Punjab you know.

The security situation in Peshawar and Quetta is pretty bad at the moment. Although I would love to see both cities hosting domestic tournaments in the near future. :)
Mirpur( Azad Kashmir) has a pretty good stadium. I'm not sure about the cricketing structure in Abbottabad though.

It's highly unfair to see Karachi and Lahore getting the major chunk of cricketing action, be it domestic or international.

people hitting there heads on walls for no crow, should again start doing hitting their heads on walls, even though there is no karachi or sindh team playing, still people have filled the entire stadium to cheer for the final

and cheering equally for all teams, not like faisalabad where the crowd cheered for only rawalpindi team last time

Great crowd today way better than i expected and i guess Ascher will disappear for another day now. Another thing i find a little annoying is that half of PP was on this thread criticizing the Karachi crowd(rightly so) but those same people are avoiding this thread and are not giving the crowd the credit they deserve

attachment.php

^^ khairaat main mile hue tournament main itni crowd

i agree legend, its because they hate karachi, they crticise when they get change and dont appreciate when its due, it cant be anything but hate

PCB should become punjab cricket board infact all punjab member want this, karachi should have another cricket board in international cricket

karachites love cricket and its proved from today, but PPers cant resist taking all touraments to lahore and punjab[
/QUOTE]

Its nothing like that man, you can't blame a entire province because the action of some idiots like Ascher

Kudos to the Karachiites.

Fantastic to see the NSK packed to the rafters today and everyone enjoying themselves.

A brilliant atmosphere, and a proud day for Pakistan cricket.

The stadium is absolutely jam-packed not even one empty seat left, great stuff from the Karachites

does anybody remember last time in faisalabad, when karachi dolphins was taking the wickets, the crowd went silent, even though there was no faisalabad team

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUqX-2tK2ck

now the current final in karachi, the people are both cheering for the boundaries as well as falling of wickets, i mean they are not biased when cheering for the two finalist teams???

Yes it was a little sad to see the Faisalabadi crowd only supporting the Rams but good on the Karachi crowd for equally supporting both teams

Despite the last minute arrangement and pathetic maintenance with 100 yrs old roof which will fall at any time Karachiites have come out in large numbers to support non karachi teams. Fail thread.

great crowd for the final, really made the occasion. well done karachi walo.

Jam-packed NSK + String's song "Hai koi hum Jaisa" playing after every over = An AWESOME atmosphere!

The crowd booed Ijaz Butt when Sikander Bakht announced his name during the presentation ceremony :P

i aslo think PCB has earned more than it ever can from this tournament else where even in lahore, look at the sponsors like emarites, orient etc certainly not in faisalabad

Karachi Crowd= Win! :14:
Booing every time Ijaz Butt's name was announced= DOUBLE EPIC WIN!! :14: :14: :14: :)))

Booing ijaz butt in presentation ceremony perhaps was the best moment of the tournament.............

Poor Ascher has so many eggs on his face now that he can easily open an egg farm

Congratulations to karachites for at least giving the final what it deserved I.e An electrifying atmosphere ...If only they had provided half of such atmosphere during the whole tournament

Finals, semis and the karachi matches were never my concern ( something that I clearly mentioned in my original post, though thats another thing that just like the pathetic crowd presence during most of the tournament -which even includes SEMIS btw- karachites had very conveniently ignored most of it just to score their khisiani billi khamba nochay kind of trivial points against me)

Moral of this thread/ tournament : Karachi should only host its home team matches or the finals in the future :D

aly, the point is, karachi got very less time to organise such an event in the first place, it was to be held in gaddafi stadium but very last day mr president told the egg head ijaz butt to change the location..

the matches too must have been in evenings, people are busy in the day, they cant attend the matches in the day by leaving their jobs, esp the hot day

Congratulations to karachites for at least giving the final what it deserved I.e An electrifying atmosphere ...If only they had provided half of such atmosphere during the whole tournament

Finals, semis and the karachi matches were never my concern ( something that I clearly mentioned in my original post, though thats another thing that just like the pathetic crowd presence during most of the tournament -which even includes SEMIS btw- karachites had very conveniently ignored most of it just to score their khisiani billi khamba nochay kind of trivial points against me)

Moral of this thread/ tournament : Karachi should only host its home team matches or the finals in the future :D

Aly bhai... ban parne wala hai... jitni anti-Karachi threads bana sakte ho bana do ;-)

Medicine regularly lia kar yar please !!

Would have been great to see good crowds for every game but I couldn't have asked for a better final :)

Bara rondu insaan lagta hai.

Electric atmosphere at NSK, was truly worthy of a final.

Less than 4000 people turn-up for Pakistan's 2nd T20I against West Indies

KARACHI: Former Pakistan captains Wasim Akram and Shahid Afridi urged cricket fans to come to the stadium to watch the T20 series between Pakistan and West Indies after yet another disappointing turnout which was witnessed at the National Stadium in Karachi for the second international.

The evening game hardly had 4000 spectators in the 32,000 capacity stadium although the Pakistan Cricket Board has allowed full attendance after months of Covid-19 restrictions.

"It is really disappointing to see such a low turnout of people for these matches. We were expecting a bigger turnout after reducing ticket prices to nearly half of the usual denominations," a PCB official said

But while the turnout is disappointing there is no doubt that people faced many problems getting into the stadium.

"People say why don't cricket fans come to the stadiums. But coming to a match is like an examination for us. We have to park our cars at a distance from the stadium and walk all the way and then wait in long queues to get in. It is discouraging for cricket fans," Bilal, an avid Pakistan Cricket fan said outside the stadium.

Bilal had come with a group of teenagers to watch the second match and Maham, one of the girls sporting a green Pakistan T-shirt had the same complaints.
"There is too much security and checking and it gets really tiring waiting for so long to just get into the enclosures," she said.

Interestingly, PCB chairman Ramiz Raja just last week in a video statement promised better facilities and experience for cricket fans coming to the grounds for international matches or the Pakistan Super League games.

Ramiz in fact announced the PCB would soon be opening a fans engagement department to facilitate the fans but apparently on Tuesday it was clear a lot of work still remains to be done to this end.
Security for the matches as always has been suffocating with hundreds of policemen, commandos and the paramilitary rangers posted outside and inside the NSK making the process of getting into the enclosures a lengthy one for spectators.

Residents who live around the stadium area have also complained about roads being closed bylanes being blocked with containers making life and commuting difficult for them.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...west-indies/articleshow/88284100.cms?from=mdr

Disappointing crowds so far for the West Indies series.

Why aren't people turning up?

My place in Karachi is 5 min drive from the stadium and i have been told it is a pain to get there due to roads being shut on match days.

I think it could be the lack of convenience.

Imagine you impose such things at Lords.

My place in Karachi is 5 min drive from the stadium and i have been told it is a pain to get there due to roads being shut on match days.

I think it could be the lack of convenience.

Imagine you impose such things at Lords.

Unfortunate, but security comes first before crowd convenience.

After what happened in 2009 Pakistan should absolutely focus on heavy security, even if it gets less people to watch.

Unfortunate, but security comes first before crowd convenience.

After what happened in 2009 Pakistan should absolutely focus on heavy security, even if it gets less people to watch.

I appreciate that, but we are going overboard with some of the stuff. There needs to be a balance.

Teams who dont want to visit (like NZ) will find an excuse anyway regardless of how tight the security is.

Buying tickets in Pakistan for cricket matches ain’t easy.

I tried booking PSL tickets from the official ticket site last year, the payment would go through but returned moments later. This went on for days, so I’m assuming it’s still the same issue. People are booking tickets, seats get sold out, moments later the money is refunded and you’ve yet to receive a confirmation. But, the only problem is that on the ticket site it still says the seat you paid for has been booked.

Karachi should be stripped of hosting rights. A country of 210 millon can't fill a smal stadium for its main sport?

Seems people want to buy tickets on the day in cash, but that's not being allowed?

Why would anyone go to all that hassle for a match against minnows west indies.it's not simply worth it.

1. It’s a low quality series against a C side of an already weak opponent

2. Karachi people have work to do. Won’t leave work for such a low quality series

3. Majority people don’t even know there’s a series going on. No marketing

4. Cannot buy tickets buy online. That has already taken out vast majority of the population which does not pay digitally and wants to pay cash. No one will hustle to watch this series

5. Heavy security. For a 3 hours match you have to arrive 3-4 hours before

According to media reports:

This time around, there are no hoardings or any sort of advertisement in the city. Branding work for the series has also not started in the National Stadium as of yet.

as per sources only fourth T20I, which is scheduled for September 25 [Sunday], has managed to attract fans but still the house is unsold.

"Weekdays matches in Karachi are not in demand. Fourth match which is scheduled on Sunday has interest of fans. Out of our quota of tickets, no match is sold out as of yet"

The most ungrateful venue in Pakistan. Their board cried so much when Punjab was getting all the matches in Pakistan’s return to international cricket but they struggle to get respectable crowds to the stadium once they get what they want!

2. Karachi people have work to do. Won’t leave work for such a low quality series

4. Cannot buy tickets buy online. That has already taken out vast majority of the population which does not pay digitally and wants to pay cash. No one will hustle to watch this series

Why same people start playing province card when matches against C teams are held in other cities.
Cant imagine less than full house in Multan, faisalabad, lahore,Peshawar,sialkot.
No wonder Karachi not producing talent they used to.

The PCB needs to host matches in other venues ie Faislabad, Pindi, Multan etc

Pindi and Multan are a good shout, however given how flaky the English are when it comes to perceived security, it’s Understandable that PCB have kept it to the two big population centres. Given that SA and WI played in Pindi and Multan respectively, I expect later tours to visit these places inshAllah.

According to sources All Lahore matches are already sold out.That too online.

In a press conference here on Sunday, DIG SSU Maqsood Memon said that they talked to PCB chairman Ramiz Raja and their high-ups to help bring happiness to flood-hit families.

"We talked to PCB chairman Ramiz Raja and Zakir Khan to allow flood-hit families free entry in stadium during matches," he shared.

"Our brothers and sisters are suffering from tough time. Free entry to the stadium will help in brining smiles back on their faces," he added.

Additional IG Karachi Javed Alam Odho accompanied Memon on their visit to National Stadium for security and arrangements check.

Odho said that England's team management expressed satisfaction over the security. "We provided fool-proof security to England team as promised. We talked to England team management and they are pretty satisfied with the arrangements," he disclosed.

Meanwhile, security officials appealed to Karachiites to fill up the stadiums. "Karachi has often proved their liveliness when it comes to cricket. I am sure people of Karachi will come to fill stadium during matches against England," he concluded.

Good crowd in and I heard it's sold out or nearly so for all 4 Karachi matches.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/babarazam258?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@babarazam258</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/iMRizwanPak?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iMRizwanPak</a> now that was some run chase ,destructive and clinical. Hope fans and teams have enough emotional and physical reserves to go through another epic today!</p>— Ramiz Raja (@iramizraja) <a href="https://twitter.com/iramizraja/status/1573172969551319040?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 23, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

[VIDEO] It's Sunday - and time to play cricket in Karachi!

Brilliant video this - Sunday in Karachi and it's time to play cricket!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/841u0k" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Brilliant video this - Sunday in Karachi and it's time to play cricket!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/841u0k" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

The choice of music in this video is fantastic. I think it’s U2 covering Everlasting Love.

It also beautifully sums up the Pakistani fascination with cricket. Deprive us of home series, Indian tours, our players from IPL (and now CSA and UAE leagues) but we will Still. Keep. Playing. Cricket.

In the maidans, on roads and street corners. With electric tape and electric pace. With mystery and gusto. With languidity and lap shots. With broken stumps and broken dreams. We will still keep playing.

“Open up your eyes, then you’ll realise, here I stand with my everlasting love.”

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">4 matches<br>4 full houses<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvENG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvENG</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/di0wG2SM41">pic.twitter.com/di0wG2SM41</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1574080920105148417?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 25, 2022</a></blockquote>

Moeen Ali "that was an amazing game of cricket which went both ways and kept on swinging. I thought the crowd has been electric in all 4 matches here"

A total of 126,550 spectators crossed turnstiles for the four T20Is in Karachi, marking a record 95.3% turnout! PCB donated PKR13million generated from gate revenues from the first T20I to the PM’s flood relief fund.

Karachi gets a lot of stick about empty grounds, but they absolutely showed up here.

To local posters, we’re the tickets for this series the same price as PSL matches? Trying to understand why PSL doesn’t draw such crowds.