[VIDEOS] Long may the Babar-Rizwan partnership continue

Interesting that when the opening stand was broken today, the score was 101 from 12.3 overs.

So that was a run rate of 8.08.

The required runs then were 73 off 45 balls - a required run rate of 9.73

Just looking at today's match skews perception because Babar played briskly today, above his usual pace. A SR of 138 which kind of compensated for Rizwans struggles

Look at Rizwans stats independently. He reached his 50 at a rate of 7 RPO. Whilst the required rate from the start was almost 9 RPO.

You simply can't afford to do that no matter what the middle order after you looks like. If Nawaz hadn't come in with that Cameo, we would have lost the match probably and then who would you put it down to?

Just watching the highlights now. They were 73-0 after 10 in a chase of 174 !

Sorry but that lack of intent even vs Bangladesh in a dead rubber is appalling regardless of the ineptitude of our middle order.

Interesting that when the opening stand was broken today, the score was 101 from 12.3 overs.

Exactly It was more than manageable No idea why some ppers are making out like the openers went to slp leaving too much to make up once again

For those who claim the reason these bat this slowly is the non existent middle order, can you honestly tell me they'd be playing any differently if our middle order consisted of Sky, Pandya, Marsh and Maxwell?

No they won't. Simply because they're not capable of it. I would even venture on to say that their slow starts aren't the biggest problem, it's their failure to accelerate after a start. Everytime you see them trying to go harder after the 8th over, inevitably a wicket falls. When did you last see Babar or Rizwan accelerating meaningfully after the initial 35-40.. almost never. They'll either continue the same way to a 50-60 or get out immediately attempting to score quickly.

The middle order is our biggest issue, no doubt about that. That however doesnt mean the opening pair is optimal. If anything it only adds to the middle order problems at times. The best power hitters in the world will struggle to jump from an innings RR of 7 RPO to 10-12 immediately, what chance do the likes of Chacha/Khushdil have, coming in between overs 12-15 and trying to jump start a dead battery.

Check out Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood’s batting when they play for Multan Sultans. They have Maqsood, Rousow, David and Khushdil to follow. Two of those 4 are international stalwarts. Rousow has two 40 ball tons in T20i cricket for South Africa. Tim David is the most dangerous lower hitter in world cricket right now.

Rizwan bats in the exact same way.

Rizwan and Masood would aim for 100 in 13 overs. It was Tim David who’s brilliance would take them to 220 scores

I have studied this guy to the core! He will bat the exact same way regardless of who is to follow!

Sorry but that lack of intent even vs Bangladesh in a dead rubber is appalling regardless of the ineptitude of our middle order.

You missed the best part..Rizwan was 54 of 45 at the end of the 15th over. This in a run chase that required 9rpo from the word go.

No matter how incompetent the middle order is, how can such an approach from an opener be helpful ?

You missed the best part..Rizwan was 54 of 45 at the end of the 15th over. This in a run chase that required 9rpo from the word go.

No matter how incompetent the middle order is, how can such an approach from an opener be helpful ?

I once made a thread here “Is Mohammad Rizwan on a different planet in his mind”

I stand by it. I don’t think his mind is on what’s going on in a game. His general game awareness is extremely poor!

Playing in this dead rubber is extremely selfish itself!

So what if Rizwan gets injured tonight and Harris has to play the whole World Cup?

The statspadder cheerleaders will not let you talk about that. Hurrah! we won so just talk about that. After 10 overs Bangladesh fielding was joke. Dropping dollies of Rizwan again and again and misfielding. I have never seen such rubbish fielding. We still had to be bailed out by Nawaz 45 off 20 balls despite such poor fielding by Bangladesh.

Anyone who thinks Rizwan or Baber bat slow because of middle order they have not seen Rizwan bat in Asia cup final. That was the most bizarre innings I have ever seen after that Mohali knock by Misbah. Rizwan didn't show any intent until when asking rate went over 15 runs.

It's simple fact that this guy is very overrated and very limited player. Stats will always show him like a goat. In short you can see his performance in the last game and then see who got the man of the match. This is his career in short. He plays for stats and milestones. Nothing else.

There's a very simple to way to judge an innings/partnerships.

Look at where you stood at the start of the partnership in terms of rrr and compare that to where you stood when it ended. Any partnership that puts you behind your original position is unviable. Yes, you will win matches against weak teams like BD, where you have multiple mediocre bowlers that you can target at the end, but against quality opposition, you'll falter more often than not.

This is why Misbah was failure as an ODI player. He used to come in when the team needed around 5 rpo and used to let that climb to 8/9 rpo.

Babar/Rizwan cannot bat within themselves all the time because quality opposition won't let you accelerate at your will - you need get ahead of the game from the get go!

Anyone who thinks Rizwan or Baber bat slow because of middle order they have not seen Rizwan bat in Asia cup final. That was the most bizarre innings I have ever seen after that Mohali knock by Misbah. Rizwan didn't show any intent until when asking rate went over 15 runs.

It's simple fact that this guy is very overrated and very limited player. Stats will always show him like a goat. In short you can see his performance in the last game and then see who got the man of the match. This is his career in short. He plays for stats and milestones. Nothing else.

Rizwan should be held accountable for that knock. You cannot let him get away with that. A tournament final, and he plays a match losing innings single handedly while almost the entire line-up sits in the dugout? That was criminal.

Honestly, it's beyond me how they get away with it.

The fact of the matter is today has debunked two myths. First one is, "The openers have to play slowly because of the weak middle order".

But more importantly, "they don't have the ability to score any faster". This one in particular is utter rubbish because if you're batting just over a run a ball against a weak bowling attack, then it's a clear indication that Babar and Rizwan are both batting for their stats. They're more than capable of scoring faster but they're more interesting in conserving their 50+ averages. It's easy to see what Misbah instilled into them.

The sooner Babar is axed as captain, the better it'll be for Pakistan cricket.

Honestly, it's beyond me how they get away with it.

The fact of the matter is today has debunked two myths. First one is, "The openers have to play slowly because of the weak middle order".

But more importantly, "they don't have the ability to score any faster". This one in particular is utter rubbish because if you're batting just over a run a ball against a weak bowling attack, then it's a clear indication that Babar and Rizwan are both batting for their stats. They're more than capable of scoring faster but they're more interesting in conserving their 50+ averages. It's easy to see what Misbah instilled into them.

The sooner Babar is axed as captain, the better it'll be for Pakistan cricket.

Rizwan is next in line and he will continue opening with Babar because this Jodi combination with Babar gives him good press. He loves good press and people like this Jodi as if it’s SRK and Kajol.

Also, I’m quite sure that any new coach will want to take the easy way out and keep this combination going because pakistan will most likely continue to play b string sides at home and even away, and Babar/Rizwan will enjoy those bowling attacks and get the team wins. We really are in a very tricky situation now unless we have a coach like Ricky Ponting who will be no nonsense

Original required run rate was 8.7. A run rate of 8.7 after 12.3 overs would mean 109 runs. The openers scored 101. It's not a massive difference when you look at absolute numbers. You'd expect to score 73 off 45 with 9 wickets in hand 95 times out of 100. Ofcourse the RRR would look huge when looked at over smaller number of deliveries. Are we seriously saying that 73 runs in 7.3 overs with 9 wickets in hand is out of control?

The fact of the matter is today has debunked two myths

You might want to educate yourself on the definition of the word 'fact'. 'Conjecture' might be your next word of the day.

I didn't read the rest of it. The 'fact' of the matter is one game against Bangladesh cannot undo a multitide of successful opening stands nor can it compensate for multitide of examples of a failing middle order.

Long may this partnership continue if we don’t want to win any series or win any tournament and at best tie a series before losing the tie breaker or get to the semis or finals of a tournament before getting KOed.

If we want to win consistently, then it’s time to rethink the opening pair, the middle order and begin developing batsmen aged 12+ who are equipped with the mindset and technique to bat in modern day LOI formats

Came across this picture of both in practice and to me this shows clearly how well they get along, and how much mutual respect there is between them.

For Pakistan's sake, long may this partnership continue

3w18SAO.png

FUlPdmsWQAAtdTQ

This is like you are cursing Pakistan instead of well-wishing

Pakistan top 3 combined today:

Balls faced 64
Runs scored 68

Rrr over 10 again today when the top 3 were out.

Babar targeted spinner to up the tempo and edged it.

Rizwan was unlucky to miss a six. It was his area/shot. Simply unlucky.

Even though both got out cheaply, at least there was "intent".

Bas karde yaar!

Even the Japanese were not this resilient to the death in world war 2!

Bas karde yaar!

Even the Japanese were not this resilient to the death in world war 2!

Rizwan is so brilliant even a 30 odd in a final is considered a failure. But he laid the PLATFORM beautifully

Failed again in a series decider that’s the fourth time it’s happened in the last year will they get a chance to rectify it in the next World Cup semi final or final.

Rizwan played 5 overs of PP for 30 runs. Where was this intent you talking about? Lol

Unfortunately there was no intent before that which led to the pressure and dismissals.

For the second match in a row the middle order saved their blushes when both failed.

Rizwan is so brilliant even a 30 odd in a final is considered a failure. But he laid the PLATFORM beautifully

Lol.

Even Rizwan himself would be embarrassed at laying such a beautiful platform.

Lol.

Even Rizwan himself would be embarrassed at laying such a beautiful platform.

Dr Sahib this is our method of winning games. This is cricket and it doesn’t come off every time and that’s when Rona dhona from posters like u looks good. But not today pleasee

There is no place for platform in T20.

You will learn soon.

Tonight, just hush and enjoy the win but at least maintain a sober face when talking about Rizwan today.

You should have seen the panic in the match thread once Babar got out. Pants became wet. Such is the value of these two to the team.

Didn't have best of days today, but their strategy of sticking with Nawaz and Haider playing a gem sealed the game. Asif wasn't needed as usual. Chacha wasn't needed too- did the bare minimum.

Another day, another game- both Rizwan and Babar will be back to their best.

Pakistani fans deserve the likes of Imran Farhat as there opener....

Only these guys can complain about having the worlds best opening pair.

Never in my life had i dreamed that we would get an opening pair which is this strong.

Funny thing is, people want 50s in the middle order int20 format lol.

There is no place for platform in T20.

You will learn soon.

Tonight, just hush and enjoy the win but at least maintain a sober face when talking about Rizwan today.

I can’t over analyse all the time. As a fan I’ve learned to rejoice in every victory that comes our way with our limited resources. I follow this sport for moments like today.
My point is that no approach to winning will come off every time just like much admired England’s gung ho approach backfires every now again.
Rizwan was decent again today I don’t have to do that. He was dismissed trying to hit a six.

I can’t over analyse all the time. As a fan I’ve learned to rejoice in every victory that comes our way with our limited resources. I follow this sport for moments like today.
My point is that no approach to winning will come off every time just like much admired England’s gung ho approach backfires every now again.
Rizwan was decent again today I don’t have to do that. He was dismissed trying to hit a six.

Well I will give you that.

At least he tried after RR hit 10 an over from 8.

By the way, I don't particularly agree with gung-ho approach as well.

Remind me when was the last time Pakistan won the T20 or ODI Cricket World Cup?

So clearly, the approach Pakistan has isn't working.

If it works in the World Cup next month, I will be the first to apologize to you.

Don't worry.

Never in my life had i dreamed that we would get an opening pair which is this strong.

We deserve Sharjeel Khan and Fakhar Zaman as our openers

Misbah fans deserve Rizwan, Farhat, Jamshed type tuk tuk openers

Don’t like Misbah one bit, but this was a master stroke by him. Babar and Rizwan being this strong at the top of the order has allowed us to create a strategy of some sort, no matter how flawed it might be. If we do manage to find players to fit those roles, we will be a lot more dangerous than we currently are.

To be honest he looked tired and definitely low on energy though he was trying hard

Happens when you don't want to rest and want to play even dead rubbers because your alternatives can be more impactful. Insecurity is the reason why our senior players refuse to rest even in meaningless games.

U need a mix of consistency and impact. Not every player has to be an ‘impact’ player. In search of impact we could easily have been 30/3 in a final chasing.
Rizwan and Babar are amazing they give us starts almost every game. It’s part of gameplan. That’s how they want to win.
Mashallah Rizwan has won us two games against India in last year or so.
Previously we had won only 1 in history

U need a mix of consistency and impact. Not every player has to be an ‘impact’ player. In search of impact we could easily have been 30/3 in a final chasing.
Rizwan and Babar are amazing they give us starts almost every game. It’s part of gameplan. That’s how they want to win.
Mashallah Rizwan has won us two games against India in last year or so.
Previously we had won only 1 in history
But why our senior players refuse to rest in dead rubber games against minnows is beyond me. PCB should enforce this. There is no other way we can make replacements if seniors cling on to their spots even in meaningless games.

Rizwan's innings in T20 WC Semi Final was more horrible. In Asia Cup final Pak was 22 for 2 and there was a pressure of chasing target but in WC Semi Final he came as an opener, scored 67 off 52 balls @ SR of 128.84 ang got out in 18th over considering the fact that entire batting was there like Hafiz, Malik, Asif, Imad, Shadab. Top 3 in that semifinal played 118 out of total 120 balls and remaining 3 played on 4 balls

These two are very hit n miss with their strike rates.

If they must open, one of them has to find a way to get out after 4 overs if they are just scratching around.

This strategy won't work against top class teams end of thread we lost by this approach in Asia Cup & Eng Series

Who is this more impactful alternative that actually scores more than 20 runs consistently or even inconsistently?
Only Fakhar can replace one of them but he has been poor recently and is always inconsistent.

Pakistan struggling to reach even 150 without these two. :inti

People are too busy getting happy with a fast start without realizing Babar and Rizwan could probably do the same on this flat pitch with little effort being put in by the English pacers.

The biggest problem is we flop in the middle over even if our batsmen are set.

Shadab’s made some terrible decisions as captain

What business did he have to come at no.3?

Why is Nawaz at 7?

They reached 66-1 in 6 and then 89-2 In 10 without them

Better chance to get to 190 at least
What chance? The net result is worse than when Babar and Rizwan are a part of this line-up.

You can be 90-0 in 6 overs, but if both your openers get out as soon as the powerplay is up, we don’t have the players to carry forward the momentum.

What chance? The net result is worse than when Babar and Rizwan are a part of this line-up.

You can be 90-0 in 6 overs, but if both your openers get out as soon as the powerplay is up, we don’t have the players to carry forward the momentum.

Well

Better to be 66-1 after the first 6 instead of 40-0

It’s a see ball, hit ball game

Well

Better to be 66-1 after the first 6 instead of 40-0

It’s a see ball, hit ball game
Whats the point when we will be six down in 15 overs? :))

The output is worse, these sloggers cannot be trusted to bat more than four overs.

The point is simple for those who are unwilling to listen. Its not a 6 over game its a 20 over game. Babar / Rizwan when they get set they simply don't bat for 6 overs most of the times they bat the length of the innings which is the primary reason we have had success in T20s over last couple of years.

Our middle order is as pathetic as they come and our openers are as supreme as they come.

Go figure how many games Pakistan won when they failed in last 2 years and then go figure how many games Pakistan has won with only these 2 contribution and no one else's.

The point is simple for those who are unwilling to listen. Its not a 6 over game its a 20 over game. Babar / Rizwan when they get set they simply don't bat for 6 overs most of the times they bat the length of the innings which is the primary reason we have had success in T20s over last couple of years.

Our middle order is as pathetic as they come and our openers are as supreme as they come.

Go figure how many games Pakistan won when they failed in last 2 years and then go figure how many games Pakistan has won with only these 2 contribution and no one else's.

Yeah I guess all the commentators commending Pakistan’s intent in the first 6 overs today are stupid?

Whats the point when we will be six down in 15 overs? :))

The output is worse, these sloggers cannot be trusted to bat more than four overs.

Do we know that?

Did we know Pakistan would chase 100 in 9 overs with 8 wickets remaining against NZ?

Did we know selfish Shadab would promote himself to 3 and derail the innings?

Did we know the well connected Khushdil will walk in after being 6 games out and just hand the momentum back to England??

I seriously think if you play this XI, we can win the T20 WC

Rizwan
Masood/Asif
Babar
Fakhar
Nawaz
Shadab
Asif
Wasim Jr
Shaheen
Rauf
Naseem

Tell Masood/Asif to go all guns blazing from ball 1, if they fail Babar is there to consolidate the innings with Rizwan. Power hitting is still available with the likes of Fakhar, Nawaz, Shadab and Wasim Jr, and the lineup has 6 bowling options as well. Iftikhar is too old and unfit to be of any use here, whilst Haider is too poor on the short ball to work as an opener (for similar reasons I’d probably have Masood instead of Asif).

Do we know that?

Did we know Pakistan would chase 100 in 9 overs with 8 wickets remaining against NZ?

Did we know selfish Shadab would promote himself to 3 and derail the innings?

Did we know the well connected Khushdil will walk in after being 6 games out and just hand the momentum back to England??

Forget it even that win was down to Rizwan and Babars brilliance and foresight some people will do anything to push their Babar Rizwan agenda forgetting the team has won nothing with their amazing batting.

Even if the team keeps losing in tournaments Babar Rizwan supporters will use new tactics and explanations to deflect the blame onto others.

Yeah I guess all the commentators commending Pakistan’s intent in the first 6 overs today are stupid?
The same commentators criticizing our middle order more then the top order for the last few years aren't stupid either

Well Masood atleast showing the best place to be batting in this format is at the top of the order.

In presser:

“It is not a correct impression that our team is just a two-men show"

“We have players who can win matches and they’ve won games for Pakistan in past. As captain I have full confidence on every member of my side"

Younis Khan on ARY yesterday mentioned that he would prefer Rizwan - Shan to open as it would provide the left-right combo while Bbar can come at 3 to stabilize and hold the innings at one ned while the rest bat throw their bats around him.

That sounds like a disaster to me. Those three all together at the top means the low SR problem at the top will only aggravate.

The opening pair will not change. The management have been dead clear on this. Time to accept that and move on.

That sounds like a disaster to me. Those three all together at the top means the low SR problem at the top will only aggravate.

The opening pair will not change. The management have been dead clear on this. Time to accept that and move on.

Does anyone recall YK being asked to open night before in the 2015 Pak v India game?

Acceptance of mediocrity is our biggest problem.

I don’t care what anyone says. Babar and Rixwan at the top of the order are mediocre.

People are happy with that because they just want to avoid humiliation.

We have such a loser mindset. I can guarantee after a few bad results, we will all of a sudden have this urge to catch up with the rest of the world DURING the tournament without experimenting at all in the last year.

Reality check. Last year’s unknown quantity is now the worst kept secret in the world. People are depending on last year’s performance.

They haven't faced quality swing bowling on a helpful pitch in a long time. They just werent prepared.

The ploy should've been to just see the first few overs off. Into the 5th over and it's already stopped swinging that much

Badly exposed against the moving ball, no selfish fifties today.

This would have worked better today as it would not have exposed Babar to the worst moments of the swinging ball.

They're not going to change the opening pair come what may.

I think any of the Pakistan XI would have struggled in the first few overs today.

Too used to flat tracks and not used to the swinging white ball or the extra bounce.

Currently Rizwan is the 2nd most experienced Pak batsman in T20s after Babar if we see number of balls he has faced. He has faced total of 1921 balls in T20I in his 62 innings which is slightly lesser than total balls played by Shoaib Malik & Hafeez. Fakhar in comparison has faced total 1045 balls in T20I. If he can't rotate the strike from first over even after gaining so much experience, that means there is something wrong with his mindset / technique

The other batsmen such as Shan, Iftikhar, Khushdil, Asif, Haider has played less than 500 balls in their whole T20I career. The point here is after this world cup, Pak team management should allow other players to develop their game by giving them more chances at top order. No need for Baber & Rizwan to play every T20 game and against every team. Even if they want to play, they can come at no. 3 or 4

Babar's average with and without Rizwan.

When Babar bats with Rizwan he averages close to 32.56 (if I heard it right) and when he bats with someone else his averages close to 56.71.

- A Sports broadcast

People keeps saying they're not the problem, and I do agree to a point. But the issue is because the middle order is so bad and poor, having Babar coming in one down will allow for a more solid lower order, instead we see if one of them get out the whole middle order suffers because they don't have the ability to negotiate even a run-a-ball RR.

Either play Haider in the opening spot, or drop him completely because I've not seen one batsman that's looked so poor whenever he's on the field, be it while he fields or when he bats. His confidence looks shattered.

Play him where he's supposedly better, otherwise drop him and be done with it.