[VIDEOS] "Maybe those difficult moments, will make me stronger in future" : Naseem Shah

Brilliant with the new ball and poor at the death. Kind of like Shaheen but not as good.

It’s a shame he hasn’t developed his game with Yorkers and reverse swing, even Mohammad Wasim is a better death bowler than him. Until he sorts that out, he shouldn’t be playing t20s over Zaman Khan or Ishanullah who, despite barely starting their careers, are much harder to get away at the death.

Brilliant with the new ball and poor at the death. Kind of like Shaheen but not as good.

It’s a shame he hasn’t developed his game with Yorkers and reverse swing, even Mohammad Wasim is a better death bowler than him. Until he sorts that out, he shouldn’t be playing t20s over Zaman Khan or Ishanullah who, despite barely starting their careers, are much harder to get away at the death.

I think if we are to pick Imad Wasim he has to bowl the first couple overs and bring in Ihsanullah or zaman for middle/back end off the Innings.

naseem is a rare talent.. he was the one who lead our attack in shaheens absense and bowled well in asia cup and t20 world cup.. he has had some
bad luck going.. he needs support. he isnt a spray gun like wahab and hasnain.. he swings the ball bowls in good areas and generates decent pace..

naseem is a rare talent.. he was the one who lead our attack in shaheens absense and bowled well in asia cup and t20 world cup.. he has had some
bad luck going.. he needs support. he isnt a spray gun like wahab and hasnain.. he swings the ball bowls in good areas and generates decent pace..
Champion at being wicketless.

The sooner we dump this clown the better.

Yeah agreed he needs to be supported.

Needs a couple of games where he takes 3 or 4 wickets for things to click.

Not sure he makes the T20 side ahead of someone like Ihsanullah

Naseem is way more skillful than Ihsanullah. Ihsan is hugely talented but usually bowls on pace deliveries: bumper, yorker, and hard length. I think a quality batter can take him to the cleaners.

Naseem and Rauf have great variations in pace which makes them difficult to line up

If he keeps bowling defensively and keep bowling variation then he will not take much wickets in t20s , he needs to go hard length and bowls his ferocious out swingers and inswingers and bouncers and Yorkers in the power play instead of bowling change of pace and good length deliveries and trying to outsmart the batsmen with his variations.

Bravo used to bowled like this because he was far less skillful than Naseem and Naseem doesn’t have to copy him atleast in the powerplay , may be in middle overs he can emulate Bravo.

Champion at being wicketless.

The sooner we dump this clown the better.

A myth has been developed that he is the next coming of Malcolm Marshall. The reality is he was hyped up to the moon but is just bang average.

If he keeps bowling defensively and keep bowling variation then he will not take much wickets in t20s , he needs to go hard length and bowls his ferocious out swingers and inswingers and bouncers and Yorkers in the power play instead of bowling change of pace and good length deliveries and trying to outsmart the batsmen with his variations.

Cant agree more.. he intentionally bowls defensively , this is his mindset which he told in an interview.. he needs a bowling coach who can change his mindset.. and make him think like a strike bowler. Umar gul hasnt been able to do that with him..in one month of psl and then in Afghanistan series and now here.. and and I doubt Morne Morkel would be able to do that either

Not sure he makes the T20 side ahead of someone like Ihsanullah

I think it all depends how they want to use Imad if he opens the bowling then Nasesm should out of the xi and Ihsanullah should come in replace of him.

Pakistans best ODI bowler by a distance. Not only is he quicker on average than even Rauf, he bowls the most consistent length.
Should be the first name on the worldcup bowling attack.

Gets too much hate. People need to know he is a defensive bowler. Like Kulasekara to Malinga.

In that case I feel cheated, he was introduced as some sort of 150kph+ destructor that was going to put fear into the batsman's eyes.

Well I wouldn't believe a teen on what kind of a player he is before watching him play for myself.
You can still be quick (140+ and bowl defensive lines and lengths - Shanon Gabriel Kyle Abbott etc)

He is a top class bowler but needs some games under his belt where he picks up 3/4 wickets a match to really become more confident.

Well I wouldn't believe a teen on what kind of a player he is before watching him play for myself.
You can still be quick (140+ and bowl defensive lines and lengths - Shanon Gabriel Kyle Abbott etc)

The quote was from Naseem himself that is true but he was sold as something very lethal by the likes of Misbah and Waqar but four years on, hasn't really kicked on.

Outstanding spell of 2/29 in 10 overs

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/3cj79m" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

The quote was from Naseem himself that is true but he was sold as something very lethal by the likes of Misbah and Waqar but four years on, hasn't really kicked on.

His development progress has very pretty slow - Agreed. But we've heard about the new comers hyped all the time. It's a common thing in Asian Cricket. Wasim Akram and Waqar also talked about how good Musa Khan was back in 2019 and he's been extremely poor.

Naseem is a decent LOI bowler. He needs good coaching to get direction. I am sure he does work hard. His action and run has changed a lot as compared to 2019 and it looks much better than it used to. I believe Aizaz Cheema worked on that aspect with him. Now Naseem needs to be hungry to get better and better.

Outstanding spell of 2/29 in 10 overs

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/3cj79m" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Doesn’t matter about the opposition or pitch, to go for just 29 runs in a 10 over spell in this era is incredible really. Take a bow Naseem

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most wickets after first 6 ODIs:<br><br>Naseem Shah 20<br>Matt Henry 19<br>Mustafizur Rahman 18<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1651625072124207120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 27, 2023</a></blockquote>

I know he's not been at his best of late, but his figures today on such a flat deck were absolutely brilliant.

Great control and hardly gave the NZ batters any freebies.

Naseem bowled his heart out today and prevented NZ from scoring 320 plus

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It takes a special performance to have figures of 2 for 29 from 10 overs in a match where nearly 600 runs are scored <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvNZ</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/DN5bAiLBnv">pic.twitter.com/DN5bAiLBnv</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1651651929355722771?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 27, 2023</a></blockquote>

And this was some of the most accurate bowling seen from him

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="OkCmdlz"><a href="https://imgur.com/OkCmdlz">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

And this was some of the most accurate bowling seen from him

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="OkCmdlz"><a href="https://imgur.com/OkCmdlz">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Got the ball to move more than Shaheen. He was our saving grace today.

The joker had an unusually better day. It is just an anomaly.

I dont believe in this guy. He is in the same category as M Sami. Won’t take wickets in crunch games when most needed, and focus on his hair bangs more than anything else.

It was the first time Naseem actually bowled well without his fans pretending that he bowled well.

No wickets apart from the last two balls but the economy rate was fantastic - the only reason New Zealand didn’t post 330+.

I once watched a 5 minute clip of McGrath bowling one line and one length to India in an ODI. Every single ball (bar the odd one) was hit in the same spot

This is the first time I have witnessed something of that consistency on live TV. Excellent bowling

Naseem looking good in the 2nd ODI

qkaH5Dq.png

It was the first time Naseem actually bowled well without his fans pretending that he bowled well.

No wickets apart from the last two balls but the economy rate was fantastic - the only reason New Zealand didn’t post 330+.
Not really he was excellent in Aus test series especially the Lahore test also his first series vs SL he looked a generational talent

He has been bowling well for a while now mate. Economy rate has been in check just not getting wickets.

• Econ of 7.7 in a high scoring PSL
  • Econ of 6 odd in the t20i world cup
  • Averaging under 30 in his last 6 tests on roads
  • 21 wickets in 7 Odis

You can just watch him bowl and know that he has got some rhythm. Repeatable action, good pace, good seam.

Excellent bowling specially the Econ. In this era of slambang cricket where bowlers are taken for granted

He was pakistans best seamer in australia and nz test series . He has been doing well for over a year now and in the two longer formats he is pakistans most reliable pacer.

I think you missed Naseems spell to Williamson with old ball in one of the test matches. Showed his class and quality and bowled with maturity of a veteran.

Even when he bowls well..he doesnt know the art of taking wickets.. this is one area he needs to improve upon…or maybe like in t20s…he intentionally is bowling defensively in ODis too just to control run rate.. but i think its a wrong strategy from him, and someone really needs to change his mindset..and make him think like a wicket taker, instead of just focussing on economy

What art are you talking about. He beat the bat a dozen times on a docile track. A bowler can only create chances, rest is up to the law of averages. On another day he'd have a four wicket haul. Talking about the first odi.

I believe he has 21 wickets in 7 odis. How much more art does one want.

Still highly rate Naseem. In helpful conditions he will be unplayable. We already got a glimpse of that in the Asia Cup and the T20 final in MCG..

He just had two decent games so lets not get overexcited.

Naseem has an art of not taking wickets when it really matters in crunch games.

What art are you talking about. He beat the bat a dozen times on a docile track. A bowler can only create chances, rest is up to the law of averages. On another day he'd have a four wicket haul. Talking about the first odi.

I believe he has 21 wickets in 7 odis. How much more art does one want.

She has a point.

Some players don’t look good but produce the goods. Others look good but don’t produce the goods. Naseem is in the latter category.

For example, there are bowlers who have the knack of taking wickets even if they aren’t bowling well. Naseem is not one of those bowlers.

There are always more excuses when wickets when it comes to Naseem. Flat pitch, misused by the captain, beat the bat numerous times but got unlucky etc.

In Tests, he averages 51 vs New Zealand, 50 vs England and 34 against Australia. Those numbers clearly indicate that he is not a genuine wicket-taker especially against strong sides.

He has had a very good start to his ODI career but he has only played against Netherlands (associate team) and New Zealand so far. Players have their favorite opposition.

When he plays against other sides, there is a high chance that his lack of impotency will resurface. The same impotency that we have been witnessing in Test and T20Is for a long time.

I think you missed Naseems spell to Williamson with old ball in one of the test matches. Showed his class and quality and bowled with maturity of a veteran.

The only thing I remember when you mention Naseem and Williamson is the most expensive wicket-less spell in history of Test cricket.

He went for 6 an over after 25 overs with Williamson spanking him all over the ground en route to a double-century.

Looks like he's in good rhythm at the moment.

The problem like we have for several players is which format(s) to pick him in as I don't think his body can cope with playing all 3 formats.

She has a point.

Some players don’t look good but produce the goods. Others look good but don’t produce the goods. Naseem is in the latter category.

For example, there are bowlers who have the knack of taking wickets even if they aren’t bowling well. Naseem is not one of those bowlers.

There are always more excuses when wickets when it comes to Naseem. Flat pitch, misused by the captain, beat the bat numerous times but got unlucky etc.

In Tests, he averages 51 vs New Zealand, 50 vs England and 34 against Australia. Those numbers clearly indicate that he is not a genuine wicket-taker especially against strong sides.

He has had a very good start to his ODI career but he has only played against Netherlands (associate team) and New Zealand so far. Players have their favorite opposition.

When he plays against other sides, there is a high chance that his lack of impotency will resurface. The same impotency that we have been witnessing in Test and T20Is for a long time.

Those stats you quote are after 3 odd games against each opposition. Usually there is a learning curve at the start of a career for a rookie bowler with no first class experience.

Let's see, the test will be on the Australian tour. If puts a good show people would have to reconsider their evaluations.

She has a point.

I take the point on Naseem not having the ‘knack’ of picking wickets Vs a Shaheen for example.

However, bowlers mature at different rates. Guys like Broad and Anderson didn’t figure out their owns games until well, well into their own careers. Same for a James Wood. Not saying that Naseem will have as much success as the aforementioned trio. However, he has a lot of the raw ingredients and attitude to become a consistently very effective bowler. He’s better today than when he debuted Vs the Aussies in Oz.

Lastly, he’s a mentally resilient lad. Imagine someone not being able to attend their mum’s funeral after her unexpected passing. And then performing to a professional level in an away test match in Australia.

People see his expressions, comments and occasional failures and put a cap on his ceiling. But people can surprise you positively and inshAllah I pray that Naseem is one of the those.

The only thing I remember when you mention Naseem and Williamson is the most expensive wicket-less spell in history of Test cricket.

He went for 6 an over after 25 overs with Williamson spanking him all over the ground en route to a double-century.

You’re purposely deflecting here. If you’re highlighting the bad, then let’s also acknowledge the good.

I take the point on Naseem not having the ‘knack’ of picking wickets Vs a Shaheen for example.

However, bowlers mature at different rates. Guys like Broad and Anderson didn’t figure out their owns games until well, well into their own careers. Same for a James Wood. Not saying that Naseem will have as much success as the aforementioned trio. However, he has a lot of the raw ingredients and attitude to become a consistently very effective bowler. He’s better today than when he debuted Vs the Aussies in Oz.

Lastly, he’s a mentally resilient lad. Imagine someone not being able to attend their mum’s funeral after her unexpected passing. And then performing to a professional level in an away test match in Australia.

People see his expressions, comments and occasional failures and put a cap on his ceiling. But people can surprise you positively and inshAllah I pray that Naseem is one of the those.

Well said brother. Steyn, Anderson, Southee, Broad, Ishant Sharma, Mark Wood. All these guys went through a learning curve and were averaging over 30 in the early parts of their career, Ishant was averaging over 40.

Watch Naseem get better with experience. Remember he has got very little domestic cricket behind him so he’s basically learning on the job. He’s been getting better over the last year or so

He is actually a very sharp individual for his age the way he gives interviews I feel he knows what to say and when and doesn't give standard definitely and koshish karte hain results hamare haath mein nahi bakwas. Give him a few years and he will become world class in all formats

How good was this ball?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WNdzAsdjOJY" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

He has had a phenomenal year in both ODI's as T20's. Done even better than Shaheen.

Tests might have been the wrong format for him. He is a lock for the limited overs games coming up.

Mohammad Amir on Naseem Shah

"Naseem Shah is a different breed altogether. He outswings the ball as well as in-swing in ODIs. He also tries Yorkers and bouncer with the new ball"

"The quality I really admire about him as an ODI bowler is that he knows when and what to bowl according to the particular situation"

“He is certainly a smart bowler. For instance, he won't go for a swing delivery when he knows thy ball isn't swinging a lot. This is the difference between Naseem and the rest of the bowlers. Other bowlers try so hard to attain the shape, but Naseem is one of those who read the pitch well. He grasps quickly whether the pitch is demanding swing delivery or a half-length"

“He has quite a lot of variations in his bowling - he can rattle the stumps as well as trap the batter for LBW - because he bowls at a Test length - which is what you require early on in the ODI format"

Off to play every league available, not sure this is the right approach just before the WC. Needs to keep himself fresh so he can go full tilt.

AmNpyOP.png

A chance to play once again in England and hone his T20 skills is something Pakistan pace-bowler Naseem Shah has in mind with his participation in this year’s Vitality Blast tournament.

“Whilst my stint at Leicestershire is a short one, I didn’t want to lose the opportunity to play in England and the chance to continue my learning. When the chance came to sign for Leicestershire, I didn’t hesitate as they have a great reputation and the likes of Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq and Mohammad Abbas have previously played there and have always spoken very positively about their experience.”

Whilst Naseem made his international debut back in November 2019 aged just 16, he feels that his career is very much, work-in-progress.

“At times it feels like I’ve been around forever in top level cricket, but people forget that I am still only 20 years-old and that I am still learning the art of bowling. That’s why I feel it’s so important for me to utilise these chances to play in various leagues around the world.”

In last season’s Vitality Blast, Naseem made 3 appearances for Gloucestershire taking 5 wickets which is something he is looking to build upon under the guidance of Paul Nixon this year at Leicestershire.

“Playing alongside and against some of the best players in the world at the Blast can only act as an education for me. Also, playing under a coach with the experience of Paul Nixon will improve me as a cricketer and I always believe that working under coaches from various countries is something that improves you as a cricketer providing you are willing to learn and have the right attitude.”

Naseem feels the role of coaches is an important one, but ultimately players have to take ownership for their own performances and improvement.

“I think sometimes cricketers can over-rely on coaches. I enjoy working under various coaches but as a cricketer once you are on the field, it’s down to you to perform and everything is in your hands to put into practice what you have been learning and working on. It’s too easy to fall back and blame coaches when things go wrong and that’s not something I will ever do.”

With time and experience, Naseem feels that he has moved away from the mould of the tearaway fast-bowler, and for a good reason.

“I feel that with experience I have matured as a bowler. When I first came into cricket, if a batter hit me for four, I would want to knock his head off the next ball, sledge him and stare him down. But now whilst some aggression is still there, I know that some days the batter gets the better of you and other times you will get the better of that batter so I have calmed down a little.”

Having already seen several injuries in his career, Naseem is hoping for a smoother ride as he looks to fulfil his potential for Pakistan.

“Looking ahead, staying fit is the key for me, Pakistan has some big tournaments and series coming up, such as the Asia Cup, The World Cup and a tour of Australia. I suffered with injuries in the early part of my career but now I am stronger, older and wiser, and I feel that I can only get better as a cricketer and want to achieve great things for my country.”

Fantastic start, he gets a wicket on his 1st ball against Bangladesh.

Had an injury scare but back on - which is great to see.

Naseem now has 32 ODI wickets in 13 games. At this rate he will reach 50 wickets in 20 games, which would be the 2nd fastest behind Ajantha Mendis (19 games).

This guy is something else. He bowls at 140+ in 40 degree heat, dives around, gets injured on his bowling shoulder.
Come back after an hour, continues to bowl at 140+ and cleans up the tail
what hurt him really made him stronger :ROFLMAO:
he's a machine

He's the champion bowler, without a doubt.

I admire his ability to maintain pace consistently above 140 right from the first ball, all while displaying remarkable consistency in his line and length.

Great bowler and getting better everyday.

His lengths can be a bit inconsistent at times, but he’ll get better as time goes on.

When he made his debut it Australia I always thought there was something special about him.

Hopefully a long career ahead of him subject to injuries !

He shouldn't have come back on to the pitch after he hurt his shoulder.

Good to see him in the playing XI after months of recovering from injury. I hope he has actaully fully recovered and isn't playing for the sake of cashing in cheques otherwise it will not bode well for his future.

Naseem end up with figures of 1/36 after 4 overs -- getting the wicket of Wiese.
I don't think anyone was expecting too much from him in his comeback game, he did look rusty but he hit the 140's, swung it both ways with the new ball, and bowled a few good slower balls.
An okay comeback but i reckon he needs a few more games to find his rythem.

yEw9dhy.png

Naseem Shah, during an interview with a local media outlet, praised Virat Kohli:

"Virat Kohli is such a big Star but he has no attitude. He is very humble and simple guy. When he is on the field, he is so focused and passionate but off the field he is very humble."

Naseem Shah shared his experience of the first match against India in the Islamabad United Podcast:

"I have good memories of my T20I debut against India. India versus Pakistan is the most important match when it comes to the crowds and intensity on the field and that was my debut match. I was naturally a bit nervous since it was my debut. But the good thing for me was that I had played a lot of cricket before, I had played Tests and ODIs, which helped me."

What a tough guy he proved to be during hat toughest time of his life. May he become stronger and make his mother (may her soal Rests in Peace) proud.

------------------------

Misbah-Ul-Haq on Naseem Shah’s debut, when his Mother died a day earlier:

“It was a very difficult time. It was a scenario that is very challenging to face in life. Waqar Younis played a significant role; he went to Naseem Shah and stayed with him. The players also tried their best to give Naseem Shah as much time as possible, but it was a difficult time. His family also talked to him about it and tried to stay in touch with him as much as they could. Finally, a decision was made, and options were given to Naseam Shah that if he wanted to go, arrangements could be made for him. The board also made arrangements for it. However, his family said that it was Naseem Shah’s mother’s wish that he plays for Pakistan. Now that he can’t even reach on time, it’s better for him to be there. It was very tough for Naseem Shah. I remember he cried all day, and it was very difficult for him.”​

I didn't realise he was still only 22. I've watched him in this season's PSL and he has some serious ability, he can swing the ball both ways, and of course he's always had pace. Maybe the critics have written him off a bit early, there' still room for growth.

He was 16 in 2016, which means he is 24 now. Same age as Shaheen.

Still very young for a fast bowler though, but about time he translates the potential and hype into actual match winning performances for Pakistan.

Pakistan youngsters who are given the golden boy treatment usually don’t have successful careers, for example, Umar Akmal, Shehzad, Amir, Shadab. Babar is the only exception to the rule if we talk about the last 15-20 years.