[VIDEOS] The genius of Pat Cummins - Can he be considered one of Australian greats?

Second best Australian pacer I have seen. I count myself lucky to have watched both McGrath and Cummins.

Last match everyone was accusing them of "underperforming" lol How tunes change. Cummins will win his first BGT given who th his counter part is. An absolute dolt of a captain who lost to Tom Latham's captaincy that too at home.

Cummins is doing a great job as captain for AUstralia. Leading from the front when his team needs him. Not matching pointing but he is certainly up there.

He is already in contention for an ATG spot, the third best test pacer of this era after Bumrah and Rabada.

He is above Bumrah in tests. Bumrah test career is much shorter than Cummins which in tests matters a lot.

On a sperate topic all 3 pacers in question have their averages improved due to lack of quality batsmen in this era and overly friendly bowling tracks. There are some nobody's this year averaging less than 20 per wickets.

Cummins is doing a great job as captain for AUstralia. Leading from the front when his team needs him. Not matching pointing but he is certainly up there.
Pointing had an atg team inherited from waugh.

Cummins doesn't have squat. His resources are very limited. Despite this he's the 2nd most successful captain in history. He's already achieved

1) Wtc win
2) WC 2023 win
3) 2nd longest aussie winning streak of all time
4) One of the best captaincy win% records in the modern era

As a player he's easily top 3 test bowlers in this era and probably the best odi middle overs bowler in his era.

In tests I can only think of bumrah and rabada being > him. Starc is > Cummins in pink ball atm. And prime starc pre 2020 is also > Cummins but Cummins has better longetivity

He has to prove his mettle by winning overseas series. Even in INdia , Austrlaia won after Cummins left. He didn't beat England. He has just beaten NZ.

He has won overseas in NZ and Pakistan and a drawn series with England, I think that is a pretty good overseas record

As a player he's easily top 3 test bowlers in this era and probably the best odi middle overs bowler in his era.

In tests I can only think of bumrah and rabada being > him.
Cummins over Rabada. Rabada has done very little in Asia against non-minnows.

Aus has not won series in Eng and Ind for two decades now. I don't think Cummins should be judged with that kind of criterion as captain. Also, you are not going to win much if you don't have team to win in certain conditions.

We should see his quality as pacers.

All pacers in away games - Avg less than 27 and 100+ wickets [ Cummins appears among the top 20 ]
1733840744968.png

All pacers in home and away with 150 plus test wickets and less than 24 Avg [ Cummins appears in the top 10 ]
1733841015198.png

Away avg < 27 and over all avg < 24 - Very quick way to see quality of bowlers.

He is among the 15 pacers who appears in the both lists.
I am breaking down for each country. Cummins is comfortably among the top 3-4 pacers produced by Aus.

Bumrah

Hadlee

Wasim
IK

Mcgrath
Cummins
Lillee

Marshall
Garner
Roberts
Ambrose

Pollock
Rabada
Steyn
Donald

Some one can argue that 1-2 bowlers can make this list over all 15 listed above, but if you belong in this list then you are comfortably among the top pacers to play test cricket.

Aus has not won series in Eng and Ind for two decades now. I don't think Cummins should be judged with that kind of criterion as captain. Also, you are not going to win much if you don't have team to win in certain conditions.

We should see his quality as pacers.

All pacers in away games - Avg less than 27 and 100+ wickets [ Cummins appears among the top 20 ]
View attachment 148406

All pacers in home and away with 150 plus test wickets and less than 24 Avg [ Cummins appears in the top 10 ]
View attachment 148407

Away avg < 27 and over all avg < 24 - Very quick way to see quality of bowlers.

He is among the 15 pacers who appears in the both lists.
I am breaking down for each country. Cummins is comfortably among the top 3-4 pacers produced by Aus.

Bumrah

Hadlee

Wasim
IK

Mcgrath
Cummins
Lillee

Marshall
Garner
Roberts
Ambrose

Pollock
Rabada
Steyn
Donald

Some one can argue that 1-2 bowlers can make this list over all 15 listed above, but if you belong in this list then you are comfortably among the top pacers to play test cricket.

Appreciate the efforts put by you in bringing all these facts based arguements. Always a delight to read such posts.

Cummins is retiring as an Aussie ATG, WTC, WT20 and ICC CWC winning captain.

Cummins I belive only averages 30+ just in India? Out of all the countries he has toured. I could be wrong
In SL, Cummins has not done well in 2 tests. But avg of 32 in India is not bad.

But I have seen Cummins bowl in Asia. He has far better spells than Rabada in Asia against non-minnows. I want to see some good spells from Rabada in India. Cummins can use reverse, so Rabada has to step up with that.

The top teams in the era of Bumrah, Cummins and Rabada are Australia, India, South Africa, England and New Zealand.

Pakistan were a good team till 2016 when they had YK, Misbah, Azhar, Yasir etc. post that they have declined and home record is very poor. SL and WI have been poor too.

Against SEINA away and neutral,

Bumrah - 125 wickets, Avg 22
Cummins - 90 wickets, Avg 26
Rabada - 83 wickets, Avg 28

Against SEINA overall,

Bumrah - 151 wickets, Avg 22.13
Cummins - 203 wickets, Avg 23.76
Rabada - 193 wickets, Avg 24.29

Based on these stats, it is quite clear that Bumrah has been the most impactful fast bowler of this generation because of his performance vs top teams.

Cummins and Rabada are excellent too and averages of 23 and 24 vs top teams suggest that they all belong to top league of pacers. Their away record is slightly worse vs top teams as compared to Bumrah who has a comparatively better and balanced home and away record both.

Bumrah needs a bit more sample in home conditions while Cummins and Rabada need to focus on their away performance because at end of their careers, these away records can go worse.

Cummins and Rabada are excellent too and averages of 23 and 24 vs top teams suggest that they all belong to top league of pacers. Their away record is slightly worse vs top teams as compared to Bumrah who has a comparatively better and balanced home and away record both.

Bumrah needs a bit more sample in home conditions while Cummins and Rabada need to focus on their away performance because at end of their careers, these away records can go worse.
It's true, but we need to see it with some other greats to keep perspective. All three of them already have 150 - 200 test wickets involving the top 5 tests nations of their era. If they can get another 50 with some what similar output, then nothing else matters. They would have done enough to be rated among the best in history.

Bumrah picking another 40-50 test wickets at home is just academic because he can average 31 at home for the next 40 wickets and still his home avg will be below 25. Similarly, Rabada and Cummins can decline a bit and still they would be among the top 12-15 pacers when it comes to performance against the top 5 side.

Not too many test pacers, even in pre t20 era, has 200 plus test wickets involving top 5 test nations with avg of 24-25.

Cummins is absolutely going down as the legend and top tier player. He has done enough. Decline from here won't take away anything he has done so far.

He has won overseas in NZ and Pakistan and a drawn series with England, I think that is a pretty good overseas record
OZ had beating NZ for eons under many captains. Not a tough assignment from an Australian perspective.

It's true, but we need to see it with some other greats to keep perspective. All three of them already have 150 - 200 test wickets involving the top 5 tests nations of their era. If they can get another 50 with some what similar output, then nothing else matters. They would have done enough to be rated among the best in history.

Bumrah picking another 40-50 test wickets at home is just academic because he can average 31 at home for the next 40 wickets and still his home avg will be below 25. Similarly, Rabada and Cummins can decline a bit and still they would be among the top 12-15 pacers when it comes to performance against the top 5 side.

Not too many test pacers, even in pre t20 era, has 200 plus test wickets involving top 5 test nations with avg of 24-25.

Cummins is absolutely going down as the legend and top tier player. He has done enough. Decline from here won't take away anything he has done so far.

Performances against top opposition is no longer a question. In modern era, the challenge seems to be performances away from home.

Not just Cummins but even Steyn, Anderson, Rabada, Ashwin. All will have dominant performance in home but away is a challenge.

Bumrah is an aberration but because he is an Asian pacer, he will need a bit more sample in home conditions too because new ball doesn’t swing for long in India. Similarly for Lyon, the challenge is again home where he averages close to 30.

So, Cummins still will have to improve his record in Asia to be in the league of a top 10-12 level fast bowler.

Pat Cummins surpasses Gary Sobers becoming the third most successful bowling captain in Tests

Most wickets for a captain in Tests

Imran Khan - 187
Richie Benaud - 138
Pat Cummins - 119
Gary Sobers - 117
Daniel Vettori - 116

Pat Cummins is the Player of the Match in a game which saw plenty of sensational performances in 4th Test against India

VnuRNx7.jpg

Brilliant player and Captain

Another WTC is loading for Aussies under his captaincy

He's a better all round bowler than McGrath. He will never have the resume to win that argument though with the amount of time he missed with injuries.

Pat Cummins Likely To Miss Sri Lanka Test Tour. Says "Pretty Hard To Plan..."

Australia captain Pat Cummins hinted that he may skip the tour of Sri Lanka later this month to be present for the birth of his second child. Australia are scheduled to play two Tests in Sri Lanka on January 29 and February 6, around the same time his wife -- Becky -- is due to give birth. "It's pretty hard to plan exactly the day, but definitely (I might miss the Sri Lanka tour)," Cummins told 'The Daily Telegraph' at the launch of the Pink Test, starting here on Friday. In Cummins absence, Steve Smith or Travis Head will lead Australia.

Cummins revealed that his mother's death last year had a profound impact on reshaping his priorities in life. The pacer had returned midway through the tour of India to be with his mother when she passed away.

"In some ways, it really makes you focus in on what I think is important. It's family, it's enjoyment, it's trying to find joy in life and I think that's been a slight shift in the way I've approached playing and touring and it's just given me that real decluttering mindset.

"When you go out, you just want to play well, and of course, there's going to be pressure, but you don't want to forget what mum and dad used to say to us every time we went out to play as kids: 'Go and enjoy it. Try your best, but make sure you enjoy it.' I try to remind myself of that every time I go on a tour or play." "Whatever you choose to do, there's always an opportunity cost," Cummins reflected.

"In the last few years, that's really rung true. When you go away on tour, you're missing out on family time or moments. That's a deliberate choice, so you have to make sure you're making the most of that tour or that game, if that makes sense." Cummins has previously admitted that he regretted missing the early weeks of his son Albie's life due to his commitment to the World Cup.

"I missed a big chunk (of Albie's early days) last time and I want to work out how we can spend a bit more time at home for that initial period this time," he had said.

SOURCE: https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/pat...st-tour-says-pretty-hard-to-plan-7382610?s=08

I can understand Cummins point of view and the importance of family time so if he is skipping this series, it is fine.

But his record in Asia remains questionable and it only suggests that the importance of a pacer reduces when touring in Asia. Just like how the importance of a spinner reduces when touring in SENA. Hence, Ashwin or any Asian spinner should not be rated only based on its performance in alien conditions.

He is already an ATG and probably the best player in the world going around.
Great bowler, world cup winning captain and clutch tailend batsman in every format.
He always rises to big occasions.

If India wins at SCG they are in with a real shot for WTC as I don’t see Aus winning a test in SL without Pat C

Most wickets in WTC so far

200 - Pat Cummins (88 Inns)

196 - Nathan Lyon (85 Inns)
195 - R Ashwin (78 Inns)
165 - Mitchell Starc (83 Inns)
156 - Jasprit Bumrah (66 Inns)
148 - Kagiso Rabada (59 Inns)
134 - Stuart Broad (63 Inns)
131 - Ravindra Jadeja (72 Inns)

Cummins is really among Australia's all-time great captains now. He has been fantastic. He has won every major trophy. His trophy cabinet is over-flowing now

He's a better all round bowler than McGrath. He will never have the resume to win that argument though with the amount of time he missed with injuries.
No, he is not.

Glenn McGrath >> Everyone not named Dennis Lillee and Malcolm Marshall.

Even Marshall and Lillee were probably on par with McGrath, not better than him.

Aus pitches nowadays are very seamer friendly and he has done alot better at home than away in the last 5 years.
But I dont think anybody can scrutinize him now as he isn't just a good bowler now, but a proper match winner.

His vital match winning contributions with the bat and his captaincy have elevated his status.

Australia captain Pat Cummins, while talking to a local sports media outlet:

"It's been an amazing month or so, just focusing entirely on family and not having to worry about training or an upcoming tour. Being completely present has been really special."

"That’s the goal—start bowling in the next week or so, build up gradually, and be ready for IPL."

Cummins provides fitness update ahead of WTC Final and IPL

The right-arm pacer explained that his ankle required careful management over time and became a bigger issue during the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne.

"It's something that we've opted never to have surgery on or intervene too much, just a lot to rehab.

"Having this break meant that I could get a couple of cortisones and really rehab it well the last couple of weeks."

Looking ahead, Cummins is hopeful of steadily increasing his workload during the IPL before playing a full role in the three-Test series against West Indies following the WTC final.

He acknowledged the importance of strategic rest in a packed schedule, hinting at the possibility of managing workload heading into a busy season of cricket.

"Sometimes by missing the odd tour, you actually end up playing more cricket for the whole year.

"I think in the past you used to play everything, whereas now, absolutely, you try and make sure the players are at their peak for as long as you can for the year and to play as much of the important stuff each year. It's just the way of the world. Everyone's used to it."

Australia’s ongoing Champions Trophy campaign has seen an inexperienced pace attack due to the absence of Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc. However, some of the younger bowlers have stepped up, including Ben Dwarshuis, who claimed three wickets against England, and Nathan Ellis, who impressed with an economical spell in a high-scoring game.

"[Nathan] has always been so valuable that he can bowl at any stage.

"He doesn't necessarily need to take the new ball to have big impact. He can bowl through the middle and at the end."

Beyond the WTC final, Cummins is already thinking about Australia’s upcoming white-ball commitments, including the T20 World Cup in India and Sri Lanka next year and the 2027 ODI World Cup in South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia. As the defending champions, Australia will look to retain their title, and Cummins remains committed to leading them into the tournament.

"It comes around pretty quick, we're already almost halfway," he said. "That's definitely what we've been speaking to. Obviously, when it's a long way away, Test cricket and other [tournaments] take priorities. But once it gets a bit closer, that becomes a bit more of a focus."

ICC

Pat Cummins now equals Ben Stokes for the most Test wins as a current full-time captain
1751129314173.png

Surely, Pat Cummins can now confidently be considered one of the greats of Australian cricket, and his rise to that status is as remarkable as it is well-deserved.

He combines pace, bounce, and surgical accuracy. He has consistently ranked among the top ICC Test bowlers over the last 5+ years.

When he took over as Test captain in 2021, there were doubts. But Cummins led with a cool head and ruthless execution.

Under his leadership:

2023 WTC win vs India

2023 Ashes retained in England

2023 ODI World Cup win (against India in India)

Think of his match-winning spells at Edgbaston (Ashes 2023) or the semi-final & final performances in the 2023 World Cup.

Like other Aussie greats—McGrath, Warne, Lillee—Cummins delivers in pressure moments.

He proved that fast bowlers can lead—his calm, strategic mind stands alongside legends like Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting in big moments.

Cummins was out of the game for six years after his Test debut due to injury—a potential career-killer.

He came back stronger, more disciplined, and built a reputation for being one of the fittest and most reliable fast bowlers in the world.

If he stays healthy and keeps this trajectory, he may retire not just as a great—but as one of the greatest to wear the Baggy Green.

gem of a bowler and a leader.
Atg.

Their is no reason not to consider him as one. Hes a solid bowler, a solid batter. He is not as good as Shaun Pollock who i view as the best bowling allrounder of all time but he is miles >>>> The likes of frauds like jadeja.

As a captain despite having 1% of the resources that ponting and Clarke had he has already won 2 trophies for Australia and dominated in ashes.

All rounders don’t average 20-25 with bat in Test cricket. You expect them to average above 30 with bat and score a lot of fifties( and few hundreds as well) in Test cricket.

Let alone 20, Cummins averages 17 in tests, lol at people calling him an allrounder, he is an ATG bowler though.

17 averaging batsmen are not allrounders :yk

No one ever called Anil Kumble an allrounder and he averages more than Cummins and also has a century at Oval.

Btw, Harbhajan averages 18 and has two hundreds but no Indian ever called him an allrounder.

You have to be delusion to call him an allrounder, btw no one called Shane Warne an allrounder too.

Let alone 20, Cummins averages 17 in tests, lol at people calling him an allrounder, he is an ATG bowler though.

17 averaging batsmen are not allrounders :yk

No one ever called Anil Kumble an allrounder and he averages more than Cummins and also has a century at Oval.

Btw, Harbhajan averages 18 and has two hundreds but no Indian ever called him an allrounder.

You have to be delusion to call him an allrounder, btw no one called Shane Warne an allrounder too.
This is why you num tum tums need to watch cricket and not stats from cricinfo. But you are incapable of that.

Stats dont reflect the best picture. Its why you need to actually observe a player live. Wasim and Pat Cummins batting ability wise are far > Kumble, Harbajan etc etc who cannot bat hat and have played 1-2 fluke innings here and their.

Khair their is no point in discussing with idiots

Surely, Pat Cummins can now confidently be considered one of the greats of Australian cricket, and his rise to that status is as remarkable as it is well-deserved.

He combines pace, bounce, and surgical accuracy. He has consistently ranked among the top ICC Test bowlers over the last 5+ years.

When he took over as Test captain in 2021, there were doubts. But Cummins led with a cool head and ruthless execution.

Under his leadership:

2023 WTC win vs India

2023 Ashes retained in England

2023 ODI World Cup win (against India in India)

Think of his match-winning spells at Edgbaston (Ashes 2023) or the semi-final & final performances in the 2023 World Cup.

Like other Aussie greats—McGrath, Warne, Lillee—Cummins delivers in pressure moments.

He proved that fast bowlers can lead—his calm, strategic mind stands alongside legends like Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting in big moments.

Cummins was out of the game for six years after his Test debut due to injury—a potential career-killer.

He came back stronger, more disciplined, and built a reputation for being one of the fittest and most reliable fast bowlers in the world.

If he stays healthy and keeps this trajectory, he may retire not just as a great—but as one of the greatest to wear the Baggy Green.
When I write detailed analysis then nobody bothers to acknowledge it.

He isnt an all rounder but a great number 8 or 9. He doesnt score much but he stays at the crease like a true fighter.
He is a great reader of the game much like warne. Clarke had one of the best aussie teams and had a wc at home. They were destined to win that.

Definitely a great bowler and genuine atg from Aussies. He is not an AR though.even warne is much better than him.his avg is simply compounded by bng , pak where he averages 31 and 53.his avg is 10,11,14 in india,sa, eng.its a genuine no 10 stuff.he may have scored crucial knocks but can't be taken as ar for such knocks.

This is why you num tum tums need to watch cricket and not stats from cricinfo. But you are incapable of that.

Stats dont reflect the best picture. Its why you need to actually observe a player live. Wasim and Pat Cummins batting ability wise are far > Kumble, Harbajan etc etc who cannot bat hat and have played 1-2 fluke innings here and their.

Khair their is no point in discussing with idiots
Yeah, as if you actually watched Kumble and Harbhajan.

Beta, baith jao, your mind is not sharp enough to calculate average, so whatever comes out of your brain must be garbage.

Yeah, as if you actually watched Kumble and Harbhajan.

Beta, baith jao, your mind is not sharp enough to calculate average, so whatever comes out of your brain must be garbage.
I have watched both of em. It is why I have stated that Harbajan is a chucker.

Full sleeve wearing con artist.

I have watched both of em. It is why I have stated that Harbajan is a chucker.

Full sleeve wearing con artist.
Harbhajan has 9 50s and 2 centuries in tests cricket compared to 3 for Cummins and still no Indian calls him an allrounder.

Same goes for Warne, he was as good a batsman as Cummins but still not an allrounder.

Learn a bit more before mouthing off.

Harbhajan has 9 50s and 2 centuries in tests cricket compared to 3 for Cummins and still no Indian calls him an allrounder.

Same goes for Warne, he was as good a batsman as Cummins but still not an allrounder.

Learn a bit more before mouthing off.
Those scores were achieved on roads lol. Look at how starc played in wtc once the pitch freshened up

Cummins is a better batsmen. Ask Harbhajan to perform vs Afghanistan like how starc and maxwell did.

Oh and ask him to wear half sleeves while bowling next time :vk2

Those scores were achieved on roads lol. Look at how starc played in wtc once the pitch freshened up

Cummins is a better batsmen. Ask Harbhajan to perform vs Afghanistan like how starc and maxwell did.

Oh and ask him to wear half sleeves while bowling next time :vk2
Yeah Harbhajan too made runs on flat track and bowled on spinning tracks.

Harbhajans six against Amir is bigger.

Chalo koi nahi, next time before quoting me show your college degree otherwise I won’t reply. I need to understand whether you actually have a working brain.

Yeah Harbhajan too made runs on flat track and bowled on spinning tracks.

Harbhajans six against Amir is bigger.

Chalo koi nahi, next time before quoting me show your college degree otherwise I won’t reply. I need to understand whether you actually have a working brain.
Why would I care about what an online random thinks 🤣🤣. You can believe what you want lol.

Harbajan is a fraud 😭😭. Pat Cummins is better. But I dont mind harbajan being called a bowling all rounder lol.

Harbajan, Wasim, Cummins are all bowling allrounders, 200% agreed.

What's your next move 🤷🏻‍♂️🤷🏻‍♂️

Momin bhai has destroyed himself by becoming Australian puppet. His life is so miserable that he feels Bue Webster and Travis Head are some kind of greats of the game lol :inti

How am I an Australian puppet? Just cause I lived their for 6+ years and only recently came back?

If i was an aussie puppet why on earth would i come back 😭😭.

Secondly when have I stated anything like that?

I said Travis Head is top 5 greatest all format batters of all time. This is factually correct as only KP, Gayle, Warner and Kohli are > him.

40+ avg jn both test and odi. 100+ Sr in odi, 160+ Sr in t20, Followed by notable performances including 2 crucial centuries that helped Australia win 2 cups.

Out of 10 trophies 2 of them are thanks to Travis Head? That's a phenomenal record? One that 95% of indian players have never achieved?

Dhoni achieved it with his batting, Yuvi achieved it, kohli in recent times 2024 and 2025 achieved it, Sachin didnt achieve it but tbf, he was top scorer in 2003 and 2007 so team let him down, Similarly I have respect for sehwag as well.

Other then select few, Which notable Indian chawals have helped india out in all formats? Certainly not Jadeja.

Secondly I never called Beau Webster a great. That's purely lying.

Indian posters all have one common trait, And that is to lie about the sport but when brutally beaten down, they lie about the poster.

@jeeteshssaxena is exactly the same.

Its a damn shame I live in your head rent free. If i was both of you, id have surrendered by now and just contacted my missing KP leader.

I always give players an adjustment in averages if they are also holding an extra responsibility like keeping or captaincy.

Cummins has achieved a tremendous amount just as a bowler, you add in his captaincy responsibility and it takes his career to another stratosphere. He doesn't just have the responsibility of thinking of his own overs, he has the responsibility of planning the teams output and strategy while running in and trying to take wickets himself.

He has not only bowled exceptionally well, but he has captained his side to WTC and ODI WC victories, while also winning the T20 WC as a vice captain.

He has one of the best cricket CVs of all time. If he can't be considered a great of the game then the bar is far too high.

Pat Cummins will skip Australia’s upcoming white-ball series against South Africa to focus on fitness and preparation for the Ashes later this year, aiming for a return during the T20I tour of New Zealand in October and possibly featuring in limited-overs matches against India and a Sheffield Shield game with New South Wales.

His captaincy in the 2023 world cup final was Allan Border like. Has been an absolute privilege to see Cummins. One of our absolute GOATs for sure.