[VIDEOS] The Messi India trip fiasco

Lionel Messi’s India tour starts in chaos as angry fans throw seats on to pitch

Lionel Messi’s tour of India kicked off on a chaotic note on Saturday as fans ripped up seats and threw them on to the pitch after the Argentina and Inter Miami forward’s brief visit to the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata, the ANI news agency reported.

Messi is in India as part of a tour during which he is scheduled to attend concerts, youth football clinics, a padel tournament and launch charitable initiatives at events in Kolkata, Hyderabad, Mumbai and Delhi.

According to reports in Indian media, the 2022 World Cup winner walked around the pitch at the stadium waving to the fans, but was closely surrounded by a large group of people and left 20 minutes after his arrival.

Video from ANI showed fans throwing ripped up stadium seats and other objects on to the field and the athletics track at the site, with several people that had climbed over a fence surrounding the playing field hurling objects.

“Only leaders and actors were surrounding Messi … Why did they call us then?” A fan at the stadium told ANI. “We have got a ticket for 12,000 rupees [£100], but we were not even able to see his face.”

The chief minister of West Bengal state, Mamata Banerjee, apologised to Messi and ordered a probe into the incident. “I am deeply disturbed and shocked by the mismanagement witnessed today at Salt Lake Stadium,” Banerjee, who was on her way to the event when chaos broke out, posted on X.

“I sincerely apologise to Lionel Messi, as well as to all sports lovers and his fans, for the unfortunate incident. I am constituting an enquiry committee … the committee will conduct a detailed enquiry into the incident, fix responsibility, and recommend measures to prevent such occurrences in the future.”

West Bengal, Kerala and Goa states have long had large football fanbases in an otherwise cricket-dominated India. Diego Maradona twice visited Kolkata and in 2017 unveiled a statue of himself holding the World Cup, in the presence of thousands of fans.

Messi, who played in a friendly match at the Salt Lake Stadium in 2011 in which Argentina defeated Venezuela 1-0, virtually unveiled a 70-foot statue of himself in Kolkata on Saturday.

The Muslim appeasing Bengal government has turned the state and the city of Kolkata into a hell hole.

The city and the state cannot be saved until the people don’t vote them out in the next election and bring BJP in.

All the money in the world but you cannot teach class.

This pent up cult aggression must be contained.

What is this 'cult' you keep on referencing in all your posts? You do realize, opposition party rules in Bengal right?

:klopp

I feel for the fans who paid £100 for a ticket and barely saw Messi. What a rip off! However, it doesn’t excuse the behaviour of some by chucking chairs, etc.

Who is Satadru Dutta? Messi GOAT India Tour 2025 organiser arrested after Salt Lake stadium riot

Police on Saturday arrested Satadru Dutta, the primary organiser of Lionel Messi’s "GOAT India Tour 2025," after a high-profile event at Salt Lake Stadium descended into violence and chaos, forcing the football icon to flee the venue for his safety.

The arrest of the prominent sports promoter followed what fans and officials described as a "total organisational failure," turning a historic sporting moment into a scene of vandalism and public outrage.

The centrepiece of the tour’s Kolkata leg, a scheduled appearance at the Yuva Bharati Krirangan (Salt Lake Stadium), unravelled shortly after Messi’s arrival at 11:15 a.m. Despite tickets priced as high as₹10,000 ($120), thousands of fans were unable to see the player as the pitch was swarmed by an uncontrolled crowd of VVIPs, club officials, and political supporters.

The cancellation of a planned lap of honour triggered a riot-like situation. Enraged fans began hurling water bottles onto the field, ripping out fibreglass bucket seats, and dismantling the event's stage. Police initially struggled to contain the "Messi mania" turned "mess," eventually resorting to baton charges (lathi-charge) to disperse the crowd.

Organiser Detained and Arrested

Additional Director General (ADG) Law and Order, Jawed Shamim, confirmed that Satadru Dutta was detained at the Kolkata Airport and subsequently arrested.

"Satadru Dutta, the main organiser, has been arrested following the stadium chaos," Shamim stated. He added that the police are currently investigating the security lapses and are working to ensure that processes for ticket refunds are initiated for the thousands of defrauded supporters.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who was present at the event, expressed shock at the mismanagement and apologised to the fans. She has reportedly ordered a high-level probe into the incident, which critics have called a "royal mess."

Dutta had marketed the "GOAT India Tour 2025" as a landmark private achievement, securing major corporate sponsors and organising a four-city itinerary that included appearances in Hyderabad, Mumbai, and New Delhi. Earlier in the day, he had celebrated the unveiling of a 70-foot statue of Messi in Kolkata, calling the visit a "landmark moment" for Indian football.

The arrest has cast significant doubt over the remainder of the tour. Messi was scheduled for the following engagements:

A meeting with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a youth felicitation event. While Messi departed Kolkata for Hyderabad shortly after the stadium incident, the future of the multi-city tour remains uncertain as local authorities and sponsors reassess the security protocols following the Kolkata fiasco.

I feel for the fans who paid £100 for a ticket and barely saw Messi. What a rip off! However, it doesn’t excuse the behaviour of some by chucking chairs, etc.
FANS TO RECEIVE REFUND - Organisers in Kolkata have given written assurance that the ticket amount will be refunded for The GOAT tour. :kp

This is totally on TMC leaders. Kolkata is a football mad city, football is more popular than cricket here. People spent a large amount of money to see their hero live, but the tmc leaders and their families were all around him, making seeing him impossible. Kolkata loves Messi, its anger is towards the politicians who monoploized him. Football is the religion of Kolkata, not cricket.

He could have stayed for longer no?

The politicians were all around him, making seeing him impossible, that made the spectators lose patience and the chaos followed, Messi's security rightfully decided to take him out before the chaos was full blown.

If they get ripped off, they can ask for refunds. Even if they don't get refunds, there is no excuse to behave like animals. :inti

This also wasn't the first time. We saw what happened in 1996 semi-final.

FANS TO RECEIVE REFUND - Organisers in Kolkata have given written assurance that the ticket amount will be refunded for The GOAT tour. :kp
It is a shame for the fans.

People are blaming politicians but why not blame Messi too? Staying for 5 minutes meant he knew he was duping the Indians.

The politicians were all around him, making seeing him impossible, that made the spectators lose patience and the chaos followed, Messi's security rightfully decided to take him out before the chaos was full blown.
Ah ok I have read that he hadn't planned to stay the whole match.

There was no match. Messi was supposed to wave to his fans and maybe kick the ball a few times. That's all the fans wanted to see. But the politicians made even that impossible. There's a video where Mesi is trying to go the stands to greet his fans but the bengal soports minister pulls him back to make him meet his acquintances. Kolkata is seething right now.

Leo Messi in Hyderabad: Full Event Schedule Update

7:50 PM IST – Match kick-off
8:06 PM – Entry of the Hon’ble Chief Minister onto the pitch
8:07 PM – Lionel Messi enters the pitch
8:08 PM – Entry of Rodrigo De Paul and Luis Suárez
8:11 PM – Messi and the Hon’ble Chief Minister dribble the ball
8:13 PM – Penalty shootout (three shots per team) to decide the GOAT Cup
8:15 PM – Group photo with both teams
8:33 PM – Special penalty shootout featuring Messi (organiser as goalkeeper)
8:38 PM – Parade walk around the stadium, with Messi waving to fans
8:48 PM – Guests introduced on stage
8:51 PM – Messi greets organisers and team owners; photo session
8:53 PM – GOAT Cup presentation by Lionel Messi
8:54 PM – Felicitation of Lionel Messi by the Hon’ble Chief Minister
8:55 PM – Felicitation of Luis Suárez
8:56 PM – Felicitation of Rodrigo De Paul
8:57 PM – Event sign-off
8:58 PM – Final remarks by the Hon’ble Chief Minister
8:59 PM – Remarks by Rahul Gandhi
9:00 PM – Exit of all dignitaries from the stadium
9:05 PM – Dispersal announcements
9:10 PM – Final closure of the event

There was no match. Messi was supposed to wave to his fans and maybe kick the ball a few times. That's all the fans wanted to see. But the politicians made even that impossible. There's a video where Mesi is trying to go the stands to greet his fans but the bengal soports minister pulls him back to make him meet his acquintances. Kolkata is seething right now.
Thanks. I've misunderstood from the small scraps I've read.

That's a shame for the fans. A nice moment has been ruined for them.

These are the types of things that can catch out of touch politicians say off guard and end up with them losing their seats in the next election. People remember these things over actual political performance.

Seems like the stories told by tourists is true, the locals of India are still like jungli janwar.

No wonder everyone in India is vying to move out asap.

Paganism is a disease. Wasting money in building 70 ft statue of a random human when country is in poverty, and then throwing bottles and garbage into a stadium to show said foreign celeb your aukhaat. Terrible.

Epic comedy.

They don't have money to build toilets but have money to build a statue of a foreign guy. :yk

Talk about misplaced priorities.

Is this Lionel Messi's statue or Messi Kumar Yadav's? :facepalm :inti

images

Shah Rukh Khan, AbRam Khan share iconic moment with Lionel Messi in Kolkata​

1765634587015.png

In a rare and star-studded moment, Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan met football legend Lionel Messi on Saturday in Kolkata, marking one of the most-awaited encounters during the GOAT India Tour 2025. The Argentine superstar, who was in the city as part of his pan-India tour, was present at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (Salt Lake Stadium) where he interacted with fans, signed autographs, and posed for photographs with Mohun Bagan and Diamond Harbour players, as well as several dignitaries and delegates.

---
---

Another 'Sanghi' eager to take a picture with Messi @sweep_shot

Mamata Didi never fails to invite SRK or her favourite people, irrespective of the event. Still remember how she felicitated ex Pakistani cricketers before 2016 WT20 game in eden gardens...so much so that the game had to be reduced to 18 overs.

So much turu lowe :love:

Now that fans are upset of not able to see Messi, she should ask SRK to dance for them. Maybe he can do some steps from Jhoome Jo Pathan etc. Atleast fans can go home happy.

#DanceBasanti

💃💃

Loosk like the media is stating this:

Football idol Lionel Messi's tour of India gets off to a chaotic start | DW News​

People of kolkatta seem to be jungli
The state is overrun by Bangladeshis. The CM herself is a dramaybaaz and a thug. What can anyone expect from the people?

Messi should have gone to Chennai or Hyderabad or even Bangalore. Kolkata is a dump.

Messi's trip in a nutshell... obviously who wouldn't be happy by bagging millions for just 10 min walk in the park
Screenshot_20251214-021236.jpg

The state is overrun by Bangladeshis. The CM herself is a dramaybaaz and a thug. What can anyone expect from the people?

Messi should have gone to Chennai or Hyderabad or even Bangalore. Kolkata is a dump.
Oh, here we go again. Just because the state isn't run by the BJP, people start generalizing about everyone there. And wasn't Bangalore the same place where more than 10 people were killed in a stampede during the celebration march for the Pyjama League trophy win? The point is, it doesn't matter which state it is you will find similar incidents everywhere in India.

Suddenly, andhbhakhts and noob NRIs feel that Kolkata is a dump. 🤡 :inti

For your knowledge:

Chennai Stampede:

Bangalore Stampede:

Oh, here we go again. Just because the state isn't run by the BJP, people start generalizing about everyone there. And wasn't Bangalore the same place where more than 10 people were killed in a stampede during the celebration march for the Pyjama League trophy win? The point is, it doesn't matter which state it is you will find similar incidents everywhere in India.

Suddenly, andhbhakhts and noob NRIs feel that Kolkata is a dump. 🤡 :inti

For your knowledge:

Chennai Stampede:

Bangalore Stampede:

Stampedes happen all around the world. At least the crowd don’t start throwing bottles and damage the stadium.

All of the cities I mentioned are run by Congress and DMK.

You hate everything Indian. You think IPL is pajama league. A league that generates billions every year and valued at $18.5 b b b billion dollars is a pajama league.
🤡
🤡

May be you are confusing ipl with BPL and PSL. :mv :vk2

Stampedes happen all around the world. At least the crowd don’t start throwing bottles and damage the stadium.

All of the cities I mentioned are run by Congress and DMK.

You hate everything Indian. You think IPL is pajama league. A league that generates billions every year and valued at $18.5 b b b billion dollars is a pajama league.
🤡
🤡

May be you are confusing ipl with BPL and PSL. :mv :vk2
You didn't call Chennai, Bangalore and Hyderabad a dump then? I wonder why? :genius

And are you new to forums? I have been calling all T20 leagues 'Pyjama League' for years. And if I hated everything Indian, I wouldn't be living here in India. I would have run away to another country like you did, Champu. :rabada2 :inti

Perhaps they beefed up security and learned their lesson after this debacle.

Btw I have noticed that under the slightest bad news Indians quite quickly descend into regionalism.

Did you notice slightly bad news and it gets randomly highlighted in Pak as main news.

Also not sure what u mean by beefed up, Kolkata screwed up it has a security issue.. Hyderabad remains awesome as usual.

You didn't call Chennai, Bangalore and Hyderabad a dump then? I wonder why? :genius

And are you new to forums? I have been calling all T20 leagues 'Pyjama League' for years. And if I hated everything Indian, I wouldn't be living here in India. I would have run away to another country like you did, Champu. :rabada2 :inti
Bhaag Abdul Bhaag, I did not call other big cities dump. Most North Indian cities are dump. Difference lies in the public attitude. It’s all relative.
Again, a league worth 18.5Billion is a joker league to you. Look in the mirror. You will see one. 🤡 :inti

Did you notice slightly bad news and it gets randomly highlighted in Pak as main news.

Also not sure what u mean by beefed up, Kolkata screwed up it has a security issue.. Hyderabad remains awesome as usual.
Bengal has been a joke for decades now and on par with Bihar when it comes to lawlessness.

It is because he is a south Indian sanghi and he didn't want to badmouth south I guess. :yk

You indeed called T20 leagues pajama leagues. I can vouch for you; you are a man of integrity (unlike the sanghis). :inti

Bhaag Abdul Bhaag, I did not call other big cities dump. Most North Indian cities are dump. Difference lies in the public attitude. It’s all relative.
Again, a league worth 18.5Billion is a joker league to you. Look in the mirror. You will see one. 🤡 :inti
Meanwhile u had kumars going gaga over messi and than vandalizing.

Paying lakhs to see a guy for 5 mins.

This Messi incident was global news man.

Kolkatta people and doctors seem to be jahils

Stop generalizing bro. Kolkata has lots of good people as well. Infact, Bengal used to be intellectual capital of India. Tagore, Netaji Bose, Swami Vivekananda, Raja Ram Mohan Roy - it has given some gems.

Years of left rule and now Mamata didi has ruined the state. Bengalis have become complacant. A political change is required there ASAP.

Stop generalizing bro. Kolkata has lots of good people as well. Infact, Bengal used to be intellectual capital of India. Tagore, Netaji Bose, Swami Vivekananda, Raja Ram Mohan Roy - it has given some gems.

Years of left rule and now Mamata didi has ruined the state. Bengalis have become complacant. A political change is required there ASAP.

The influx of low class Bangladeshiz ruined Kolkata and the state of West Bengal.

Luis Suarez was also present. Sad to see no one is mentioning him. He was a great footballer too in his prime.
He was excellent.

I think they did mention him but it got overshadowed. If it makes you feel better it is highly likely he was groped and prodded by a Kerala politician just like Messi was.

1996 and 2025. There is no difference.

Why shouldnt i generalize? This isnt just one man doing it. U have a whole crowd vandalizing the stadium

Kolkatta people and doctors seem to be jahils

1996 and 2025. There is no difference.

Why shouldnt i generalize? This isnt just one man doing it. U have a whole crowd vandalizing the stadium
@Rajdeep I said the same thing but you were busy liking posts calling Kolkata a dump. You shouldn't get hurt by @Major's post now. :inti

IMG_20251214_145912.jpg

They always have excuses and scapegoats ready.

They are never at fault. It is always someone else's fault. LOL. :yk

Big losers. :inti

Who burned down the stadium in 1996 WC semi-final? Were those Bangladeshis too? :yk
At Karachi, December 20. No result, the match being stopped because of crowd trouble. Toss: India. Put in on a damp pitch, Pakistan were in dire straits when Prabhakar picked up three wickets in his opening spell of five overs. However, the Indian team were forced to leave the field owing to repeated stone-throwing by the huge crowd, particularly from the galleries. The police were still struggling to control the student faction when the Indians, though reluctantly, took the field for the second time. As missiles more deadly than stones kept coming, they walked off again. With a full-scale battle between the police and the students resulting in the use of tear-gas and gun shots outside the National Stadium being heard, the abandonment of the match was a formality.
Link: https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/pakistan-v-india-1989-90-150767

@Rajdeep I said the same thing but you were busy liking posts calling Kolkata a dump. You shouldn't get hurt by @Major's post now. :inti

View attachment 160021

Kya ho gaya hai tujhe aaj re? Sunday slow day? 😂

I liked brother @Champ_Pal post because he is right that Waste Bengal is a gone case as it is completely infiltrated by Bangladeshis. The CM there has ruined the state.

However, my objection was when brother @Major was blamming all people of Kolkata as bad. That is not the case as Bengal in the past has given many legends. Its just the political environment in that state for the last 30 year has left it in woeful condition.

Kya ho gaya hai tujhe aaj re? Sunday slow day? 😂

I liked brother @Champ_Pal post because he is right that Waste Bengal is a gone case as it is completely infiltrated by Bangladeshis. The CM there has ruined the state.

However, my objection was when brother @Major was blamming all people of Kolkata as bad. That is not the case as Bengal in the past has given many legends. Its just the political environment in that state for the last 30 year has left it in woeful condition.
Jyada shaana na ban. You got caught red handed. :yk :inti